Skip to main content

Full text of "History of San Bernardino and Riverside counties / with selected biography of actors and witnesses of the period of growth and achievement.."

See other formats


M.L 


m 


ALLEN  COUNTY  PUBLIC  LIBRARY 


3  1833  01149  4934 


X 


i 


S 


HISTORY  OF 

SAN  BERNARDINO 

AND 

RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 


JOHN  BROWN,  Jr. 

Editor  for  San  Bernardino  County 


JAMES  BOYD 

Editor  for  Riverside  County 


Selected  Biography  of  Actors  and  Witnesses 

of  the  Period  of  Growth 

and  Achievement 


VOLUME  III 


THE  WESTERN  HISTORICAL  ASSOCIATION 
1922 


Copyright,  1922 

THE   LEWIS  PUBLISHING   COMPANY 

Chicago,  III. 


178374« 


Stephen  Henderson  Herrick — It  would  be  difficult  to  conceive  of 
broader  and  greater  benefits  flowing  from  the  influence  and  character  of 
one  individual  and  affecting  in  a  constructive  and  progressive  way  the 
development  and  future  of  the  Riverside  community  than  those  attribut- 
able to  Stephen  Henderson  Herrick  during  his  residence  of  nearly  forty 
years  in  California.  He  was  one  of  the  men  of  vision  as  well  as  prac- 
tical resourcefulness  who  comprised  an  important  syndicate  of  fowa 
capitalists  attracted  to  the  development  of  that  section  lying  east  and 
north  of  the  original  Riverside  Colony.  The  primary  problems  involved 
in  its  development  was  a  dependable  irrigation  system.  That  system  was 
first  inaugurated  in  the  famous  Gage  Canal.  Mr.  Herrick  as  head  and 
member  of  the  Iowa  syndicate  furnished  the  support  and  co-operation 
to  Matthew  Gage  which  were  indispensable  for  the  construction  of  that 
irrigation  project  on  a  broad  and  stable  basis.  On  part  of  the  land 
benefited  by  this  enterprise  Mr.  Herrick  in  1887  set  out  the  first  plant- 
ings of  orange  trees,  and  of  the  extensive  holdings  he  has  had  and  helped 
develop  he  still  retains  a  large  part,  indicating  that  his  interest  in  the 
country  is  not  that  of  a  speculator  but  one  who  is  willing  to  wait  for  the 
fruits  of  his  constructive  enterprise  to  ripen.  While  so  much  of  his  time 
has  been  given  to  the  material  development,  his  interest  has  been  deep 
and  abiding  in  the  broader  growth  and  progress  of  Riverside.  He  has 
been  a  factor  in  the  organization  of  some  of  the  leading  banks  of  this 
locality,  notably  the  Citizens  National  and  the  Security  Savings  of  River- 
side, and  for  a  number  of  years  was  president  of  both  institutions.  He 
is  now  Chairman  of  the  Board  of  Directors  of  the  latter  bank. 

Mr.  Herrick  represents  one  of  the  oldest  lines  of  Colonial  New  Eng- 
land ancestry,  although  he  traces  his  line  back  over  1,000  years  to  Eric, 
a  Norse  chieftain  or  king.  One  of  his  ancestors  was  a  judge  of  court 
in  Massachusetts,  and  was  directly  responsible  for  putting  an  end  to 
the  infamous  practice  of  witchcraft.  The  English  branch  of  Herricks 
came  to  America  in  1660,  settling  at  Salem  and  Beverly,  Massachusetts. 
S.  H.  Herrick  was  born  at  Crown  Point,  Essex  County,  New  York, 
son  of  Stephen  Leonard  Herrick,  a  Congregational  minister  who  for 
twenty-five  years  was  in  charge  of  the  church  at  Crown  Point.  Later 
he  removed  to  Fairhaven,  Vermont,  and  from  there  to  Grinnell,  Iowa, 
where  for  many  years,  until  his  death  in  1886,  he  was  connected  with 
Grinnell  College  as  a  teacher  and  trustee.  The  mother  of  S.  H.  Her- 
rick was  Delia  Ives,  a  native  of  Vermont.  Her  parents  were  of  Scotch 
ancestry  and  moved  from  Connecticut  to  Vermont  in  December,  1799. 
for  a  large  part  of  the  way,  blazed  trees  marking  the  route  for  their 
slow  going  caravan  of  ox  teams.  While  on  this  pilgrimage  they  re- 
ceived the  news  of  the  death  of  Washington. 

Stephen  Henderson  Herrick  was  reared  and  educated  in  Iowa,  at- 
tending public  schools  and  after  completing  a  full  course  in  Liberal  Arts 
at  Grinnell  College  in  1865,  he  received  the  A.  B.  degree.  After  a  further 
two  years  course  in  law  and  theology  he  received  the  degree  of  Master 
of  Arts.  His  alma  mater  also  elected  him  to  membership  in  the  Phi 
Beta  Kappa  honorary  societv.  Instead  of  entering  upon  a  professional 
career  he  took  up  mercantile  business  at  Grinnell,  and  continued  that 
connection  for  twenty-  three  years.  He  was  also  deeply  interested  in  his 
alma  mater,  and  in  1883,  after  the  buildings  of  Grinnell  College  had 
been  destroyed  bv  a  cyclone,  he  came  west  to  Oakland,  California,  and 
for  several  months  was  busy  throughout  the  state  in  making  collections, 
particularly  for  the  college  museum.  He  acquired  a  great  abundance  of 
material  for  this  purpose  besides  interesting  the  various  transportation 
1049 


1050      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

companies  and  also  through  the  aid  of  the  faculty  of  the  University  of 
California.  Mr.  Herrick  then  returned  East,  and  in  1885  became  asso- 
ciated with  others  in  the  organization  of  the  East  Riverside  Land  Com- 
pany. His  chief  associates  in  this  were  ex-Governor  Merrill  of  Iowa, 
Colonel  S.  F.  Cooper,  former  U.  S.  consul  at  Glasgow,  and  Senator  De 
Los  Arnold  of  Iowa,  and  the  late  A.  J.  Twogood  of  Riverside.  These 
men  organized  for  the  purpose  of  developing  the  mesa  land  east  of 
Riverside  and  purchased  several  thousand  acres  in  that  vicinity  from  the 
Southern  Pacific  Railway  Company.  This  was  subdivided,  the  town  of 
Highgrove  being  platted.  In  this  development  Mr.  Herrick  and  his 
associates  worked  closely  in  co-operation  with  Matthew  Gage  so  that 
the  Gage  Canal  would  directly  benefit  the  East  Riverside  tract.  Mr. 
Herrick  remained  president  of  the  company  tor  several  years,  and  the 
company  was  dissolved  in  1915,  after  all  the  land  had  been  sold.  Under 
the  Gage  Canal  system  Mr.  Herrick  planted  the  first  orange  trees,  and 
he  continued  his  planting  over  several  large  tracts,  and  still  retains  a 
large  share  of  this  property.  Other  tracts  have  been  touched  with  his 
enterprise  as  a  developer,  all  in  the  section  east  of  Riverside,  where  he 
has  owned  or  developed  about  four  hundred  acres. 

Mr.  Herrick  is  president  and  his  son,  S.  L.  Herrick,  vice  president 
and  manager  of  the  "Herrick  Estates,  Incorporated."  The  various  prop- 
erties and  interests  of  the  family  are  concentrated  for  more  effective 
business  management.  Mr.  Herrick  is  also  president  of  the  Lemona 
Heights  Company,  owning  180  acres  of  citrus  fruits  above  the  Gage 
Canal,  upon  which  the  company  developed  the  water.  At  one  time  he 
owned  considerable  land  in  West  Riverside,  Corona  and  Rialto. 

Mr.  Herrick  at  the  time  of  the  World's  Fair  in  Chicago  in  1893  had 
charge  of  the  large  exhibit  of  Griffin  &  Skelley,  this  being  the  firm  that 
is  now  manufacturing  the  famous  Del  Monte  brand  of  food  products. 
Following  his  work  at  Chicago  Mr.  Herrick  remained  East  four  years, 
and  during  that  time  was  one  of  the  managing  directors  of  the  Grinnell 
Savings  Bank,  of  which  he  had  been  president  prior  to  coming  to  Cali- 
fornia. 

In  1903  Mr.  Herrick  was  one  of  the  prominent  organizers  of  the 
Citizens  Bank  of  Riverside  and  was  its  first  president.  In  1904  this 
bank  took  over  the  Orange  Growers  Bank  and  soon  after  became  a 
national  bank,  with  enlarged  capital.  The  Security  Savings  was  organ- 
ized in  1907,  owned  bv  the  Citizens  National.  Of  this  bank  Mr.  Her- 
rick was  the  first  president.  In  1916  the  First  National  Bank  of  River- 
side was  taken  over  bv  the  Citizens  National  and  the  Riverside  Savings 
Bank  was  absorbed  bv  the  Security  Savings  Bank.  At  this  time  Mr. 
Herrick  resigned  the  presidency  of  the  National  Bank  to  devote  his  entire 
time  to  the  Savings  institution,  but  in  1920  resigned  to  accept  the  posi- 
tion of  chairman  of  its  Board  of  Directors.  He  is  also  vice  president 
of  the  Citizens  National  Bank  and  vice  president  of  the  Citizens  Bank 
of  Arlington.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Fast  Riverside  Water 
Company,  and  has  been  president  practically  since  its  inception.  He  is 
president  of  the  Riverside-Highland  Water  Company  and  president  of 
the  Monte  Vista  Citrus  Association. 

Mr.  Herrick  is  affiliated  with  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  having 
served  in  the  Civil  War  in  the  46th  Regiment  of  Infantry  of  Iowa 
Volunteers.  A  man  of  deep  religious  convictions,  he  has  all  his  life 
given  much  attention  to  church  and  educational  causes.  He  is  Deacon 
Emeritus  and  one  6f  the  advisory  board  of  the  Congregational  Church, 
and  has  frequently  officiated  as  a  lay  minister,  even  while  president  of 
the  bank  holding  services  in  various  places.     In  former  years  he  found 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1051 

time  to  share  the  duties  of  politics  natural  to  a  man  of  his  high  standing. 
At  the  age  of  twenty-one  he  was  elected  a  delegate  to  the  Iowa  State 
Republican  Convention.  He  also  served  as  mayor  of  Grinnell  and  was 
at  one  time  a  member  of  the  Republican  County  Central  Committee  and 
has  represented  his  party  in  the  California  State  Convention.  He  is 
deeply  interested  in  his  alma  mater.  The  beautiful  Herrick  Chapel, 
which  adorns  the  Grinnell  College  campus  was  made  possible  by  his 
benefactions.  It  is  a  family  memorial,  as  three  generations  were  educated 
there — Mr.  Herrick's  father,  himself  and  his  son. 

September  3,  1869,  Mr.  Herrick  married  Miss  Harriet  E.  Fellows,  a 
native  of  Princeton,  Illinois,  and  daughter  of  Ephraim  Fellows,  who  was 
born  in  New  Hampshire  and  who  became  extensively  identified  with  the 
pioneer  development  of  Colorado.  Mrs.  Herrick  is  of  English  and 
Revolutionary  ancestry  and  a  member  of  the  Daughters  of  the  American 
Revolution.  They  have  two  children,  the  son,  Stephen  Leonard  Herrick, 
being  referred  to  above  as  active  associate  with  his  father.  The  daugh- 
ter, Lida,  is  the  wife  of  J.  Lansing  Lane,  recently  of  Hollister,  California, 
now  of  Santa  Cruz  County.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lane  have  two  children, 
Derick  and  Elizabeth. 

Isaac  Allen  Holeman  has  been  a  resident  of  Riverside  twenty  years, 
and  while  he  has  invested  capital  in  this  district  he  has  taken  little  part 
in  active  business  affairs.  He  is  a  loyal  and  enthusiastic  Calif ornian,  and 
a  man  of  the  highest  standing  in  Riverside,  where  his  fellow  citizens 
respect  his  judgment  and  integrity  and  know  him  as  one  of  the  most 
public  spirited  men  in  the  community. 

Mr.  Holeman  was  born  in  Warren  County,  Illinois,  May  11,  1858, 
son  of  Reuben  and  Suzanna  (Crabb)  Holeman.  His  parents  moved 
to  Illinois  at  an  early  date,  and  spent  most  of  their  lives  on  a  farm  in 
Warren  County.  Isaac  Allen  Holeman  grew  up  in  Central  Illinois,  grad- 
uated from  the  city  schools  of  Monmouth,  and  after  completing  his  edu- 
cation returned  to  the  farm  and  gained  his  prosperity  from  the  corn 
belt  of  Illinois.  In  1900  he  moved  to  Riverside  and  purchased  an  orange 
grove,  but  has  practically  retired  from  its  active  management,  though 
he  holds  considerable  stock  in  the  Cressmer  Manufacturing  Company. 

Mr.  Holeman  is  a  democrat  in  politics,  like  his  father  before  him. 
He  has  never  been  interested  in  public  office  as  an  honor,  though  he 
performed  his  duty  for  a  number  of  years  as  road  overseer  in  Warren 
County,  Illinois.  At  Richmond,  Indiana,  in  1886,  Mr.  Holeman  married 
Miss  Melvina  A.  Stephenson,  who  was  born  in  Indiana,  representing  an 
old  American  family  of  Revolutionary  stock  and  English  descent.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Holeman  have  two  sons:  George  S.,  born  in  1887,  graduated 
in  medicine  from  Stanford  University,  subsequently  took  special  work  in 
surgery,  and  is  now  engaged  in  a  successful  practice  at  Portland,  Oregon. 
November  16,  1920,  he  married  Miss  Estella  Buckley,  of  San  Francisco. 
The  younger  son,  Roy  Holeman,  born  in  1889,  completed  the  scientific 
agricultural  course  at  the  State  University  and  is  now  a  practical  agri- 
culturist at  Van  Nuys,  California.  In  1916  he  married  Miss  Nellie  Ross, 
of  Riverside. 

J.  D.  Langford. — The  career  of  J.  D.  Langford  of  Redlands  exempli- 
fies the  making  of  a  successful  business  man  through  strenuous  experi- 
ence and  a  disposition  never  to  stop  or  waiver  on  account  of  failure  or 
obstacles. 

He  borrowed  a  hundred  dollars  to  come  to  California,  and  had  three 
dollars  left  when  he  arrived  on  March  26,  1888.    The  remainder  of  that 


1052       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

year  he  was  employed  on  the  Raymond  place.  The  following  sixteen 
years  the  scene  of  his  work  and  experience  was  at  Highland.  Most 
of  his  employment  was  in  the  orange  industry.  Mr.  Langford  bought 
his  first  acreage,  only  two  and  a  half  acres,  near  Highland  Station  in  1890. 
planting  it  to  oranges  and  nursery  stock.  It  was  unprofitable,  since 
the  nursery  was  late  in  planting,  market  was  dull  and  prices  low.  An- 
other factor  in  his  ill  success  there  was  the  burning  of  a  barn,  in  which 
his  horses  were  destroyed.  He  then  showed  the  disposition  of  one 
who  could  face  defeat  without  being  discouraged.  Going  into  the  moun- 
tains, he  took  charge  of  the  saw  mill  property  of  the  Highlands  Lumber 
Company  at  Fredalba  Park  for  two  years.  Returning  to  East  High- 
lands, he  became  foreman  of  the  orange  ranches  of  C.  H.  Sherrod  and 
Frank  Gore,  and  after  the  first  year  was  appointed  receiver,  general 
superintendent  and  manager,  a  post  of  duty  he  held  six  years.  He  later 
superintended  these  properties  for  H.  M.  Olney  and  C.  A.  Sherrod,  and 
on  leaving  them  became  superintendent  in  charge  of  the  nursery  and 
salesman  for  H.  H.  Linville.  About  that  time  he  began  speculating  in  the 
buying  and  shipping  of  oranges,  and  after  a  year  turned  his  entire  time 
and  attention  to  the  productive  end  of  the  orange  industry,  a  line  in 
which  his  talents  and  energies  have  been  most  successfully  displayed 
since  he  came  to  California. 

A  number  of  years  ago  Mr.  Langford  became  associated  with  A.  H. 
Gregory  on  the  Williams  tract.  The  laying  out,  grading,  planting,  in- 
stallation of  the  irrigation  system  on  this  tract  were  under  his  personal 
supervision.  He  planted  665  acres.  During  this  time  he  and  Mr.  Greg- 
ory also  bought  the  four  hundred  eighteen  acres  owned  by  the  Riverside 
Highland  Water  Company  just  east  and  south  of  Colton.  A  beginning 
had  been  made  of  a  peach  plantation,  and  they  continued  the  planting 
of  this  fruit  over  two  hundred  and  twenty-five  acres.  Mr.  Langford 
made  a  contract  with  the  City  of  San  Bernardino  to  take  charge  of  the 
sewage  water  for  twenty-five  years,  and  laid  a  line  from  the  city  to  this 
ranch.  This  business  was  incorporated  under  the  name  the  Delta  Water 
Company,  and  Mr.  Langford  was  interested  in  the  ownership  of  the  prop- 
erty for  five  years,  being  president  of  the  Delta  Water  Company.  The 
operations  on  the  William  tract  were  conducted  as  the  Redlands  Security 
Company,  a  close  corporation,  with  Mr.  Gregory  and  Mr.  Langford  as 
half  owners,  Mr.  Gregory  being  the  president  and  Mr.  Langford,  sec- 
retary and  manager.  During  this  time  Mr.  Langford  was  also  engaged 
in  the  fertilizing  business.  In  1909  he  organized  the  Carlsbad  Guano 
Fertilizer  Company,  purchasing  guano  caves  in  Carlsbad,  Mexico,  and 
operating  a  mixing  plant  at  Redlands.  He  was  president  and  general 
manager  of  the  company. 

After  selling  his  fertilizer  business  and  his  interest  in  the  Delta  Water 
Company  Mr.  Langford  removed  to  San  Francisco,  and  in  1911  en- 
gaged in  the  wholesale  brokerage  business,  handling  heavy  machinery 
supplies,  including  locomotives,  steam  cranes  and  shovels  and  a  general 
line  of  heavy  machinery,  trucks,  etc.  The  five  years  he  spent  in  San 
Francisco  was  a  strenuous  time,  and  altogether  he  lost  about  ten  thousand 
dollars  of  his  individual  capital.  His  associates  were  young  men  who 
lost  their  heads,  and  practically  the  entire  responsibility  of  the  manage- 
ment devolved  upon  Mr.  Langford.  When  the  young  men  sold  to  others 
the  new  partners  added  additional  gravity  to  the  already  tangled  condi- 
tions, and  it  was  only  by  a  supreme  effort  that  Mr.  Langford  guided 
the  enterprise  away  from  disaster. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1053 

He  had  in  the  meantime  retained  his  orange  interests  in  San  Ber- 
nardino County,  and  his  first  task  on  returning  to  Redlands  was  to  put 
his  groves  in  first  class  condition.  He  was  then  selected  as  general  man- 
ager by  the  Crown  Jewel  Association,  and  took  charge  of  this  business 
October  23,  1916,  and  his  business  headquarters  are  today  at  the  plant 
of  the  Crown  Jewel  Packing  House  at  Alabama  and  San  Pedro  streets 
in  Redlands.  In  1912  he  and  Mr.  Gregory  divided  their  holdings,  Mr. 
Gregory  taking  over  the  books  and  corporate  name  of  the  Redlands  Se- 
curity Company,  while  Mr.  Langford  received  a  hundred  acres  as  his  share 
of  the  two  hundred  and  five  acres  then  owned  by  the  company.  Mr. 
Langford  incorporated  as  the  J.  D.  Langford  &  Company  and  under 
this  title  has  continued  his  business  as  an  orange  grower.  He  has  since 
purchased  twenty  acres  of  improved  oranges  in  the  same  section,  and 
having  cleared  up  his  other  interests  is  now  giving  his  entire  time  to  the 
orange  production  and  marketing. 

This  brief  outline  is  intended  to  convey  some  of  the  facts  and  cir- 
cumstances under  which  Mr.  Langford  has  toiled  toward  a  success  and 
prosperity  that  he  splendidly  merits.  His  early  life  was  one  of  compara- 
tive poverty.  When  he  was  only  twelve  years  of  age  he  had  to  perform  a 
man's  part  on  the  home  farm.  He  worked  horses  when  he  was  so 
small  that  he  had  to  turn  the  collars  in  order  to  reach  the  buckles.  It 
was  Mr.  Langford  who  planted  the  first  orange  grove  in  the  West  River- 
side District,  twenty  acres  for  Dodd  &  Dw^er. 

In  1886,  at  the  age  of  eighteen,  Mr.  Langford  married  in  Missouri 
Miss  Ida  L.  A.  Hingle.  Their  only  child  died  in  infancy  and  his  wife 
a  year  and  a  half  later.  Soon  afterward  Mr.  Langford  came  to  California. 
A  year  later  he  went  back  to  Kansas  and  married  Miss  Ida  McReynolds. 
The  children  of  this  union  are  two  sons  and  one  daughter.  The  oldest, 
J.  Roy  Langford,  born  November  24,  1890,  was  educated  at  Redands 
and  married  Miss  Cora  Dudley.  The  second  son,  Cleveland  Paul  Lang- 
ford, born  January  14,  1896,  was  educated  in  Redlands,  married  Edna 
Hass  and  has  a  daughter,  Lucille  Pauline.  Cleveland  P.  Langford  joined 
the  National  Army  for  service  in  the  World  war  April  11,  1918,  being 
with  the  363rd  Regiment  of  Infantry  in  the  91st  Division.  After  train- 
ing at  Camp  Lewis,  Washington,  he  left  for  New  York  June  26th,  em- 
barked for  England  July  6th,  from  England  went  direct  to  France,  and 
after  two  weeks  of  rest  and  training  went  almost  directly  to  the  Ar- 
gonne  front.  He  was  with  an  automatic  rifle  squad,  served  in  the  trenches 
about  two  weeks,  went  over  the  top  on  the  26th  of  September,  and  was 
a  participant  in  the  strenuous  program  of  the  Argonne  fighting  until 
gassed  on  the  first  of  October.  The  following  months  he  spent  at  a 
base  hospital,  then  rejoined  his  company,  and  soon  after  the  signing  of 
the  armistice  was  stricken  with  the  influenza,  that  period  of  illness  being 
passed  in  an  English  hospital  on  the  border  between  Belgium  and  France. 
He  had  barely  been  discharged  when  he  had  the  mumps  and  another 
hospital  experience,  and  after  recovering  was  put  with  the  36th  Division 
and  returned  home  with  that  command,  reaching  New  York  June  6,  1919. 

The  third  child  of  Mr.  Langford  is  Gladys  Langford,  born  December 
15,  1898.  She  was  educated  at  Redlands,  and  is  the  wife  of  H.  L. 
Covington,  an  orange  grower  there.  Mr.  Langford  has  given  his  two 
sons  a  chance  to  start  in  life,  providing  each  with  a  good  ten  acre  grove, 
with  opportunity  for  employment  on  his  other  holdings,  and  thus  they 
had  every  incentive  to  work  out  their  own  salvation. 


1054       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Hugo  Sontag. — The  story  of  development  of  land  and  homes  in  San 
Bernardino  County  introduces  Hugo  Sontag,  one  of  the  old  timers  of 
this  region,  who  has  lived  here  nearly  half  a  century.  His  post  office 
address  is  Alta  Loma,  but  his  home  is  a  ranch  three  miles  northeast,  at 
the  mouth  of  Cucamonga  Canyon. 

Mr.  Sontag  was  born  in  East  Prussia  July  24,  1840,  son  of  Gustav 
Sontag,  who  had  fought  in  the  German  armies  against  Emperor  Napo- 
leon. Hugo  was  the  youngest  of  six  children.  He  acquired  a  good  edu- 
cation in  the  schools  of  Prussia  and  Silesia,  and  received  a  thorough 
technical  training  in  the  University  of  Halle,  from  which  he  graduated 
in  1862.  In  University  he  specialized  in  minerology,  geology  and  sur- 
veying. He  was  examined  as  preliminary  to  his  work  as  a  mining  en- 
gineer in  the  presence  of  the  Burghauptman,  and  on  passing  was  qualified 
for  government  work.  He  then  entered  the  service  of  the  Imperial  Gov- 
ernment and  was  employed  in  sinking  test  wells  to  discover  coal  veins, 
but  these  wells  showed  deep  salt  deposits  instead  at  the  depth  of  950 
feet. 

Mr.  Sontag  in  1871  came  to  America.  For  a  time  he  was  in  Penn- 
sylvania, and  as  an  expert  geologist  did  some  prospecting  for  oil,  and 
located  what  later  became  a  well  developed  oil  field.  From  there  he  went 
on  to  St.  Louis  and  entered  the  service  of  the  old  Pacific  Railroad  Com- 
pany as  a  surveyor,  and  did  some  of  the  preliminary  work  running 
lines  for  proposed  railways  to  Old  Indian  Territory.  He  surveyed  the 
line  from  Fort  Smith,  Arkansas,  to  Okmulgee. 

In  the  fall  of  1875  Mr.  Sontag  arrived  at  Los  Angeles,  and  three 
months  later  he  went  to  Cucamonga,  where  in  1876  he  bought  six  or 
eight  acres  from  the  Southern  Pacific  Railroad  Company  and  thirty 
acres  from  private  parties.  This  land  he  cleared,  set  to  vineyard  and 
deciduous  fruits,  and  kept  the  property  until  it  was  well  developed,  when 
he  sold. 

In  the  meantime,  in  1877,  Mr.  Sontag  took  up  a  homestead  of  a  hun- 
dred thirty-six  acres  at  the  mouth  of  Cucamonga  Canyon.  Subsequent 
purchases  have  enlarged  this  to  two  hundred  and  forty-one  acres.  On 
it  he  has  built  his  home,  and  has  a  considerable  area  developed  as  orange, 
lemon  and  deciduous  fruit  groves  and  has  also  developed  a  water  supply. 
Later  he  bought  forty  acres  of  wild  land  from  Charles  Frankish,  on 
which  he  developed  a  considerable  flow  of  water,  building  a  reservoir 
and  piping  the  water  to  users  below.  A  storm  destroyed  the  pipe  line 
and  practically  all  improvements  except  the  reservoir.  Mr.  Sontag  in 
this  and  other  ways  has  been  a  real  pioneer  in  the  development  of  this 
section.  He  was  one  of  the  first  to  go  into  the  bee  industry  on  a  com- 
mercial scale,  and  formerly  he  sold  honey  by  the  carload  lots.  He  still 
has  an  apiary  of  194  stands. 

Mr.  Sontag,  who  is  a  genial  bachelor,  has  been  in  the  Cucamonga  Dis- 
trict from  a  time  when  he  practically  had  no  white  neighbors,  the  country 
being  occupied  chiefly  by  Indians  and  a  few  Mexicans.  His  nearest  rail- 
way station  was  Cucamonga,  but  now  Guasti,  and  the  only  resident  at 
the  station  was  the  railway  agent,  who  lived  in  a  box  car.  Mr.  Sontag 
is  a  republican  in  politics. 

Herman  Harris,  one  of  San  Bernardino's  most  prosperous  mer- 
chants and  substantial  business  men,  is  an  example  of  the  right  type 
of  citizen  who  adopts  America  as  his  home  country,  assimilates  its 
ideals,  achieves  success  through  rigid  industry  and  integrity,  and 
earns  the  respect  and  generous  esteem  of  his  fellow  men. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1055 

Herman  Harris  was  born  in  Germany,  May  2,  1871,  son  of  Morris 
and  Johanna  Harris.  His  father  was  a  lover  of  freedom,  and  during 
the  Revolutionary  troubles  of  1848  suffered  temporary  exile.  The 
Harris  ancestors  originally  came  fom  Spain,  and  Herman  Harris'  maternal 
grandfather  was  a  cloth  merchant  in   London. 

Herman  Harris  graduated  from  a  German  gymnasium  in  April, 
1887,  at  the  age  of  sixteen,  and  soon  afterward  left  for  America,  reach- 
ing New  York  in  October  of  that  year,  with  only  two  dollars  and 
forty  cents  in  cash.  A  week  later  he  started  for  San  Francisco,  and 
had  twenty  cents  on  arriving  at  the  Golden  Gate  City.  The  first  meal 
he  ate  was  paid  for  by  a  man  he  met  on  the  ferry,  who  also  paid  the 
fifty  cents  required  for  his  night's  lodging  in  the  old  Brooklyn  Hotel 
on  Bush  Street.  His  first  work  was  cleaning  up  the  back  yard  of  a 
store,  for  which  he  received  a  dollar,  and  his  total  earnings  the  first 
month  amounted  to  twenty  dollars.  After  getting  acquainted  and  find- 
ing employment  where  his  efficiency  would  count,  he  increased  his 
salary  to  a  hundred  and  fifty  dollars  a  month. 

After  coming  to  San  Bernardino  Mr.  Harris  was  employed  two 
years  by  Rudolph  Auker,  remained  two  years  at  Tehachapi,  and  made 
his  first  business  that  of  general  merchandising.  He  was  at  Santa 
Ana  in  the  drygoods  business  beginning  in  1893,  and  had  a  difficult 
struggle  during  the  panic  which  began  in  that  year.  He  remained 
in  Santa  Ana  for  nine  years,  and  in  April,  1905,  returned  to  San  Ber- 
nardino, where  two  years  later  he  took  in  his  brothers,  Philip  and 
Arthur,  as  partners  in  the  Harris  Company.  This  business  has  grown 
and  prospered,  the  quarters  being  enlarged  several  times,  and  it  is 
today  one  of  the  largest  mercantile  firms  in  the  county.  The  Harris 
Company  has  purchased  several  pieces  of  property,  the  most  important 
being  at  the  corner  of  East  and  Third,  known  as  the  Ward  Block, 
which  the  company  plans  to  improve  with  a  modern  structure. 

During  his  residence  at  Santa  Ana,  Mr.  Harris  served  three  years 
as  a  member  of  the  National  Guard.  He  was  president  of  the  Mer- 
chants Protective  Association,  was  for  several  years  a  director  of  the 
National  Orange  Show,  and  for  a  similar  time  a  director  of  the  Cham- 
ber of  Commerce.  He  is  a  republican  in  politics,  a  former  president 
of  the  B'Nai  B'rith,  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masons  and  Elks. 

Ernest  Smith  Moulton — The  late  Ernest  Smith  Moulton  was  for 
years  one  of  the  leading  bankers  of  Riverside,  and  took  a  prominent 
part  in  civic  affairs,  identifying  himself  with  practically  every  enterprise 
which  promised  to  prove  beneficial  to  the  city  in  a  practical  way.  He 
had  been  connected  with  railroading  with  the  Chicago,  Burlington  & 
Quincy  Railroad  and  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  for  many  years  in  Illinois, 
and  when  he  came  to  Riverside  brought  with  him  a  ripened  experience, 
vigorous  energy  and  many  ideas  which  were  of  practical  value  in  the 
progressive  development  of  this  district. 

Mr.  Moulton  was  born  at  Galesburg,  Illinois,  January  5,  1859,  a  son 
of  Billings  and  Harriet  (Smith)  Moulton,  natives  of  Massachusetts. 
The  Moultons  are  of  French  descent,  but  the  family  was  founded  in 
this  country  long  prior  to  the  American  Revolution,  in  which  war  repre- 
sentatives of  it  served  with  distinction. 

Growing  up  in  his  native  city,  Ernest  Smith  Moulton  attended  its 
excellent  public  schools  and  Knox  College,  also  of  Galesburg.  His  work 
of  a  practical  character  began  with  this  connection,  already  referred  to, 
with  the  railroads  of  Illinois,  and  he  remained  with  them  until  1881, 
when    he   came   to   California.      Immediately    upon    his  arrival   here    he 


1056       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

identified  himself  with  the  packing  industry,  first  experimenting  with 
raisins  and  later  with  oranges,  and  for  seventeen  years  was  very  active" 
in  this  line  of  business.  At  the  time  he  withdrew  from  it  he  was  the 
oldest  orange  packer  in  California.  Mr.  Moulton  held  many  positions 
of  trust  in  the  orange  associations,  and  was  a  member  of  the  Citrus 
Protective  League  of   Southern  California. 

Elected  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Riverside,  he  held 
that  position  for  five  or  six  years,  and  during  that  time  secured  the 
erection  of  the  present  elegant  bank  building.  Mr.  Moulton  had  other 
interests,  and  was  one  of  the  directors  of  the  Highland  Water  Com- 
pany. At  one  time  he  served  as  president  of  the  Chamber  of  Com- 
merce, and  was  connected  with  the  Business  Men's  Association.  Instru- 
mental in  forming  the  Bankers'  Association  of  Riverside,  he  became 
prominent  in  the  state  and  national  associations,  and  served  for  a  time 
as  president  of  the  State  Board  of  Bankers,  and  that  body  made  him 
one  of  the  vice  presidents  of  the  National  Association. 

Mr.  Moulton  was  one  of  the  most  progressive  of  men,  his  broad 
vision  and  outlook  on  life  enabling  him  to  see  his  duty  and  how  to 
carry  it  out,  especially  with  reference  to  civic  matters.  For  many  years 
he  served  as  a  school  director,  and  was  president  of  the  board  for  a 
number  of  years,  and  during  his  occupancy  of  that  office  the  Polytechnic 
High  School  was  erected.  At  the  time  of  his  death  he  was  a  member 
of  the  Riverside  Library  Board.  The  Government  experimental  station 
at  Riverside  stands  as  a  monument  to  his  good  sense  and  excellent  judg- 
ment, and  in  this  connection  and  others,  he  was  closely  allied  with  Frank 
Miller  and  others  in  advancing  the  interests  of  the  city.  It  would  be 
difficult  to  name  any  improvement  of  his  day  which  did  not  receive  his 
full  support.  Others  which  have  followed  later  were  conceived  by  him, 
and  have  been  brought  about  because  of  the  preliminary  work  he  did 
in  their  behalf.  He  was  a  man  whose  hand  and  heart  were  open  to  the 
appeal  of  the  unfortunate,  but  he  also  believed  in  the  policy  of  providing 
work  for  those  in  need,  rather  than  to  make  them  paupers  through  indis- 
criminate alms-giving.  With  his  wife  to  look  into  the  merits  of  a  case, 
he  distributed  his  benevolences  wisely  and  admirably,  and  was  never 
happier  than  when  he  had  assisted  anyone  to  become  self-supporting  and 
self-respecting.  A  man  of  great  popularity,  he  was  active  in  the  Masonic 
fraternity  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  had 
attained  to  the  Commandery  and  Shrine  in  the  former  order. 

On  November  14,  1883,  Mr.  Moulton  was  united  in  marriage  at 
Riverside  with  Julia  C.  Ferris,  a  native  of  Illinois,  and  a  daughter  of 
Sylvanus  H.  and  Sabra  B.  (Cline)  Ferris.  Mrs.  Moulton  came  to  River- 
side with  her  parents  in  1881,  and  since  her  marriage  has  been  very 
active  in  church  and  Y.  W.  C.  A.  work.  She  was  one  of  the  directors 
on  the  board  of  the  old  Riverside  Hospital,  and  is  a  director  of  the  new 
Community  Hospital.  For  the  past  six  or  eight  years  she  has  been 
president  of  the  Charity  Tree,  an  organization  of  ladies  banded  together 
for  the  purpose  of  looking  after  local  charities  and  filling  the  breach 
between  public  and  private  donations.  She  has  devoted  much  time  and 
effort  to  this  work,  which  exemplifies  the  modern  spirit  of  giving,  and 
is  one  of  the  most  constructive  factors  in  the  community  work  of  today. 
A  Presbyterian,  she  is  very  active  in  the  work  of  the  Magnolia  Avenue 
Church  of  that  denomination,  with  which  Mr.  Moulton  was  also  con- 
nected, and  which  he  served  for  a  long  time  as  a  member  of  the  board 
on  Easter  services. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Moulton  had  four  sons  and  one  daughter,  and  all  of 
them  with  the  exception  of  the  second  son  have  the  proud  distinction 


■    *;.. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       105? 

of  being  natives  of  the  Golden  State,  and  all  of  the  boys  are  graduates 
of  the  California  State  University,  while  Doris  is  a  graduate  of  Vassar. 
They  are  as  follows:  Arthur  Ferris,  Robert  Harrison,  Ernest  Francis, 
Sylvanus  Ferris,  and  Doris  Sabra.  Arthur  F.  Moulton  is  now  engaged 
in  the  lumber  business  at  Ukiah,  Mendocino  County,  California.  He 
married  Chryssa  Eraser,  a  niece  of  W.  Grant  Fraser  of  Riverside, 
and  they  have  four  daughters,  namely  :  Frances,  Joan  Virginia,  Doris 
Ann  and  Barbara  Mills.  Robert  H.  Moulton,  of  the  R.  H.  Moulton  Bond 
Company  of  Los  Angeles,  considered  one  of  the  finest  bond  houses  in 
California,  was  at  the  time  of  the  campaigns  for  the  sale  of  Liberty 
Bonds,  made  Government  manager  for  the  district  of  Southern  Cali- 
fornia, the  youngest  man  to  be  so  honored  with  such  a  heavy  responsi- 
bility. He  married  Florence  Wachter,  of  Los  Angeles,  and  they  have 
two  sons,  Donald  Wachter  and  Robert  H.,  Junior.  Ernest  Francis 
Moulton  is  also  a  partner  with  the  bond  house  operated  under  the 
name  of  the  R.  H.  Moulton  Bond  Company.  He  married  Gladys 
Robb,  of  Riverside.  Sylvanus  Ferris  Moulton  went  into  the  air  service 
at  the  time  of  the  World  war,  and  was  trained  at  San  Antonio,  Texas, 
and  Columbus,  Ohio,  following  which  he  was  stationed  at  Lake  Charles, 
Louisiana.  He  is  with  his  brother  Arthur  in  the  lumber  business.  His 
wife  was  Miss  Olive  Taylor,  of  Riverside,  prior  to  her  marriage.  She 
is  a  daughter  of  a  prominent  Baptist  clergyman  who  founded  the 
Present  Day  Club  of  Riverside,  and  did  much  toward  securing  the 
betterment  of  the  city.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Moulton  have  one  daughter, 
Carolyn.  Miss  Doris  Sabra  Moulton  is  a  graduate  of  Vassar  College, 
as  well  as  of  the  State  University.  On  April  9,  1921,  she  was  married 
to  William  H.  Bonnette,  in  business  in  Riverside. 

Sylvanus  H.  Ferris  was  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Riverside,  and  was 
a  man  of  great  prominence.  He  established  his  residence  on  Magnolia 
Avenue,  and  every  bit  of  wood  that  went  into  the  construction  of  the 
house  was  hauled  from  San  Bernardino.  His  home  was  the  center  of 
much  hospitality,  which  he  offered  to  his  Eastern  friends,  and  he  was 
instrumental  in  bringing  more  than  one  hundred  people  from  Galesburg, 
Illinois,  to  Riverside.  He  came  to  this  city  in  1879.  and  later  brought 
in  trees  from  Illinois  and  New  York,  and  scientifically  studied  and 
experimented  with  reference  to  the  citrus  fruit  industry. 

By  birth  Mr.  Ferris  was  a  New  Yorker,  as  he  was  born  in  Herki- 
mer County,  that  state,  January  14,  1828,  and  was  given  a  public  school 
and  academic  education.  His  parents  went  to  Illinois  at  a  very  early 
day,  and  he  grew  up  in  that  state.  Before  deciding  definitely  upon 
his  occupation  Mr.  Ferris  paid  a  visit  to  his  uncle,  Harvey  H.  Ferris, 
of  Herkimer  County,  New  York,  who  told  him  that  Eastern  lands 
would  depreciate  and  Western  lands  would  advance  in  price,  and  ad- 
vised him  to  return  to  Illinois.  Following  this  advice  he  lived  in 
Galesburg  from  1862  to  1881.  this  town  having  been  the  family  home 
from  the  time  it  was  founded  by  his  grandfather. 

In  1879  Mr.  Ferris  came  on  a  visit  to  California,  accompanying 
O.  T.  Johnson  of  Galesburg.  and  then  went  on  to  Carson  City,  Nevada, 
where  his  uncle,  G.  W.  G.  Ferris,  was  then  residing.  This  gentleman 
was  the  father  of  the  man  who  later  invented  the  Ferris  Wheel,  one 
of  the  attractions  of  the  Columbian  Exposition  at  Chicago  in  1893.  Later 
the  party  came  to  Riverside  and  Sylvanus  H.  Ferris  purchased  a  ranch 
on  Magnolia  Avenue,  arranged  for  the  purchase  of  an  adjoining  ranch 
for  Mr.  Johnson,  and  still  another  at  the  head  of  the  avenue  for  his 
uncle.  G.  W.  G.  Ferris.  He  permanentlv  settled  at  Riverside  in  1881, 
and  built  his  residence  in   1882,  which  has  since  been  one  of  the  sub- 


1058      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

stantial  homes  and  still  is  on  that  avenue.  His  home  ranch  comprised 
forty-three  acres,  and  on  it  he  raised  high-grade  oranges.  In  addition 
Mr.  Ferris  owned  orange  properties  at  Tustin,  Orange  County,  and  at 
Etiwanda,  San  Bernardino  County,  California,  a  cottage  at  Lagona  Beach, 
California,  and  a  ranch  in  San  Antonio  Canyon,  from  which  Ontario, 
by  purchase,  afterward  acquired  its  water. 

A  very  public-spirited  man,  Mr.  Ferris  worked  hard  to  secure  the 
Santa  Fe  Railroad  from  Orange  to  Riverside,  and  was  a  director  and 
manager  of  the  Newton  Railroad  from  Riverside  to  San  Bernardino, 
which  is  now  owned  by  the  Southern  Pacific  Railroad  Company.  While 
he  was  active  as  a  republican,  he  never  sought  political  recognition. 
For  many  years  he  was  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  was 
instrumental  in  founding  it  on  Magnolia  Avenue. 

In  1858  Mr.  Ferris  married  Sabra  Booth  Cline,  who  became 
especially  prominent  in  church  and  W.  C.  T.  U.  work,  and  helped  to 
built  up  a  better  sentiment  in  this  locality.  She  was  a  philanthropist 
and  one  to  whom  charitable  impulses  were  a  second  nature.  Her  death 
occurred  in  1919,  when  she  was  over  ninety  years  of  age.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Ferris  had  four  children,  namely :  Eva,  who  is  the  wife  of  W.  S. 
Ray;  Robert  O.,  who  lives  on  the  old  homestead  at  Woodhull,  Illinois; 
Mrs.  Julia  Moulton,  who  is  mentioned  at  length,  and  Mrs.  Stella  Bel- 
lows, who  lives  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  In  addition  to  their  own 
children  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ferris  reared  two  others,  whom  they  took 
from  the  Home  for  the  Friendless  of  New  York  City.  One  is  Mrs. 
Delia  Shieff  and  the  other  is  George  F.  Lozier,  of  Denver,  Colorado, 
both  of  whom  grew  up  a  credit  to  their  adopted  parents  and  worthy 
of  the  love  and  care  given  them. 

Benjamin  H.  Ferris  has  been  a  resident  of  Riverside  twenty-seven 
years,  is  still  actively  engaged  in  the  real  estate  business,  and  he  repre- 
sents a  pioneer  family  and  some  of  the  pioneer  enterprise  of  the  great 
West. 

Mr.  Ferris  was  born  at  Galesburg,  Knox  County,  Illinois,  January 
23,  1845.  His  father,  George  Washington  Gale  Ferris,  was  born  in 
Herkimer  County,  New  York,  in  1818.  He  was  a  farmer  in  the  East. 
In  1850  he  made  his  first  trip  to  California,  coming  across  the  plains. 
In  1864  he  again  started  from  the  East,  accompanied  by  his  family,  and 
with  mule  teams  drove  across  country  until  he  reached  the  Carson 
Valley  of  Nevada,  where  he  settled  and  became  an  extensive  rancher. 
He  engaged  in  ranching  there  until  1880,  when  he  removed  to  Riverside 
and  lived  with  his  nephew.  S.  H.  Ferris.  Here  he  employed  his  capital 
and  the  remaining  years  of  his  active  life  in  orange  culture.  He  owned 
twenty  acres  at  the  head  of  Magnolia  Avenue  and  also  five  acres  in 
Arlington.  George  W.  G.  Ferris  was  a  fine  type  of  pioneer  character, 
strong,  able  in  business,  faithful  in  his  engagements  and  of  incorruptible 
integrity.  For  a  number  of  years  in  Nevada  he  did  the  work  of  land- 
scape gardening  on  the  State  Capitol  grounds.  He  was  a  member  of 
the  Presbvterian  Church.  His  death  occurred  in  April.  1896.  His 
wife,  Martha  (Hyde)  Ferris,  came  from  Plattsburg.  New  York,  where 
they  were  married.  Their  family  consisted  of  five  sons  and  five 
daughters.  The  youngest  son  was  G.  W.  G.  Ferris,  Jr..  an  engineer 
who  designed  and  built  the  famous  Ferris  Wheel  at  the  Chicago  World's 
Fair. 

Benjamin  H.  Ferris  was  reared  at  Galesburg,  Illinois,  and  attended 
the  public  schools  and  Knox  Colleee  in  that  citv.  While  still  a  school 
boy   he   drilled  with   a  company   in   1863   preparatory  to   service   in   the 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1059 

Civil  war,  but  was  never  called  to  active  duty.  In  1864  he  accompanied 
his  parents  across  the  plains,  lived  on  the  home  ranch,  and  since  Decem- 
ber 20,  1894,  has  been  a  resident  of  Riverside.  He  is  thoroughly  versed 
in  the  practical  science  of  orange  culture,  and  for  thirteen  years  he 
had  charge  of  the  home  grove.  Since  then  he  has  given  his  principal  time 
to  the  real  estate  business  in  Riverside.  Mr.  Ferris  is  a  republican  but 
has  never  sought  any  public  office.  He  has  been  affiliated  with  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  since  1871. 

In  Illinois  in  1871  he  married  his  first  wife,  and  to  that  union  were 
born  six  children.  Those  surviving  are  Charles  L.,  a  salesman  for  the 
Lewis  Lye  Company  of  Indianapolis,  and  dementia,  widow  of  John 
Shawler,  of  Youngstown,  Illinois.  In  May,  1901,  at  Los  Angeles,  Mr. 
Ferris  married  Maria  Margaret  Blaney,  a  nattive  of  England.  They 
are  active  members  of  the  Magnolia  Avenue  Presbyterian  Church. 

Horace  E.  Harris.  While,  during  a  residence  of  nearly  thirty  years. 
Horace  E.  Harris  has  been  known  in  San  Bernardino  as  a  banker  and 
capitalist,  the  high  tide  of  his  activities  was  reached  before  he  sought 
Southern  California  as  his  home,  and  he  has  been  satisfied  to  conserve 
his  fortune  and  exercise  his  duties  and  privileges  as  a  public  spirited 
citizen,  one  keenly  interested  in  every  phase  of  the  remarkable  prog- 
ress and  development  of  this  section. 

Few  surviving  veterans  of  the  great  Civil  war  can  present  a  record 
of  such  arduous  service  as  does  Mr.  Harris.  He  was  born  in  Essex 
County,  Vermont,  August  6,  1842,  but  during  his  childhood  the  fam- 
ily moved  to  a  farm  near  Colebrook,  New  Hampshire,  where  his  par- 
ents spent  the  rest  of  their  days  and  were  a  fine  type  of  the  rugged 
New  England  farmers.  There  Horace  E.  Harris  grew  up,  attended 
district  school,  and  was  eighteen  years  of  age  when  he  left  the  farm 
and  went  to  Augusta.  Maine,  to  enlist  as  a  soldier.  He  joined  the 
Fifth  Maine  Battery  of  Mounted  Artillery,  and  soon  afterward  re- 
ceived his  baptism  of  fire  and  was  in  the  service  until  wounded  and 
incapacitated  in  the  fall  of  1864.  though  he  was  not  formally  released 
from  the  armv  until  after  the  close  of  the  war.  His  first  battle  was 
under  General  Pope  at  Cedar  Mountain,  that  being  followed  bv  minor 
engagements  at  Raooahannock  Station  and  at  Thompson's  Gap.  Tn 
the  second  battle  of  Bull  Run  he  was  shot  in  the  neck  and  sent  to  the 
hospital,  and  this  bullet  has  never  been  removed.  After  leaving  the 
hospital  he  was  in  the  sanguinary  struggle  at  Chancellorsville.  fol- 
lowing which  came  the  three  days  battle  of  Gettysburg.  From  May 
until  July  he  was  under  General  Grant  in  the  Wilderness  campaign. 
Followine  that  the  corps  of  which  he  was  a  member  was  detached  and 
sent  to  Washington,  and  arrived  iust  in  time  to  head  off  the  threatened 
raid  of  General  Early,  whose  advance  guard  had  reached  Fourteenth 
Street  in  the  capital.  Then  followed  the  pursuit  of  Early's  forces 
through  Maryland,  across  Harper's  Ferrv  into  Virginia,  engaging  him 
at  Opeciuan  Creek,  and  thence  up  the  Shenandoah  Valley  for  eighty 
miles  to  Cedar  Creek.  There  on  the  early  morning  of  October  19. 
1Sf>4.  while  the  Union  forces  were  in  bed.  a  Confederate  leader  made 
n  sudden  attack.  Mr.  Harris  heard  a  comrade  call  to  him,  "I've  got 
it  had  "  and  the  next  minufe  Mr  Harris  answered  hirri  ivith  '"^n  have 
I."  He  had  been  badlv  wounded  in  the  lower  part  of  his  left  leg.  and 
at  the  time  this  was  written  his  leg  was  being  kept  bandaeed.  Thus 
he  was  not  a  participant  beyond  the  first  few  minutes  in  the  famous 
battle  of  Cedar  Creek.  General  Sheridan  was  then  in  Winchester  and. 
as  every  American  schoolboy  knows,  the  Union  forces  were  steadily 


1060       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

driven  back  for  six  or  seven  miles  while  he  was  making  his  wild  ride 
up  the  valley,  reaching  the  disorganized  forces  about  noon  and  by 
the  power  of  his  personality  turning  a  retreat  into  an  advance.  As 
one  of  the  wounded  Mr.  Harris  was  taken  in  an  ambulance  seven 
miles  to  the  rear  and  laid  alongside  the  road,  from  which  point  of 
vantage  he  saw  General  Sheridan  galloping  to  the  front.  In  the  ambu- 
lance, recalls  Mr.  Harris,  was  a  German  who  had  been  painfully 
wounded,  and  who  divided  the  time  about  equally  between  groaning, 
cursing  and  drinking  from  a  quart  flask  of  whiskey.  Mr.  Harris  con- 
fesses that  he  helped  his  comrade  subdue  the  bottle.  It  was  two  days 
before  his  leg  received  proper  attention.  For  a  day  and  a  half  he  was 
on  a  wagon  making  slow  and  painful  progress  to  the  Baltimore  & 
Ohio  Railroad.  By  train  he  was  taken  to  the  Baltimore  Hospital, 
where  he  remained  three  months.,  and  then  sent  to  the  Philadelphia 
Hospital.  Here  the  surgeons  decided  his  leg  should  be  amputated, 
but  he  insisted  it  should  not.  He  won  this  contention,  and  while  the 
leg  is  not  the  best  support  in  the  world,  Mr.  Harris  has  a  great  deal 
of  regard  for  that  member  since  it  has  served  him  in  a  measure  for 
some  fifty-five  years.  While  he  was  wounded  in  October,  1864,  it 
was  not  until  June,  1865,  that  he  was  sent  home  to  Augusta,  Maine. 

After  recovering  somewhat  from  the  wounds  and  hardships  of  war, 
Mr.  Harris  had  some  varied  experiences  in  New  England  and  in 
Canada.  In  1871  he  married  Priscilla  Parker  at  Coaticook,  Quebec 
Province,  where  she  was  born.  Mrs.  Harris  is  the  daughter  of  Alfred 
C.  Parker  of  that  place.  They  soon  removed  to  Newell,  Iowa,  where 
they  lived  for  thirteen  years,  and  where  he  was  first  engaged  in  the 
banking  business,  purchasing  the  bank  when  he  was  twenty-eight 
years  of  age.     Mrs.  Harris'  brother,  S.  A.  Parker,  was  a  partner. 

On  leaving  Iowa,  Mr.  Harris  came  into  the  mining  regions  of  the 
southwest.  He  located  at  Prescott,  Arizona,  and  was  associated  with 
Governor  F.  A.  Tritle  in  a  gold  mining  venture  until  he  went  broke. 
Nothing  daunted,  he  joined  A.  G.  Hubbard  and  George  W.  Bowers 
in  the  development  of  the  Harquahala  gold  mine.  It  was  something 
of  a  close  corporation,  there  being  three  shares,  one  issued  to  each 
partner,  and  Mr.  Hubbard  was  president  and  Mr.  Harris  secretary. 
They  erected  a  twenty-stamp  mill,  and  after  a  run  of  twenty-six 
months  declared  a  cash  dividend  of  more  than  five  hundred  thousand 
dollars.  The  property  was  then  sold  to  an  English  syndicate  for  a 
million  two  hundred  and  fifty  thousand  dollars.  Two  years  later  Mr. 
Hubbard  bought  back  the  mines  for  six  thousand  dollars,  and  after 
holding  them  for  a  time  sold  the  property  for  forty  thousand  dollars. 

Mr.  Harris,  having  been  fortunate  in  his  Arizona  mining  ventures, 
left  that  territory  and  came  direct  to  San  Bernardino  in  1893.  A  man 
of  capital,  he  found  opportunities  for  its  investment  and  soon  became 
associated  with  the  San  Bernardino  National  Bank  and  is  still  finan- 
cially interested  in  that  institution,  though  really  retired  from  all  ac- 
tive business. 

Mr.  Harris  has  been  a  life-long  republican,  and  his  father  pos- 
sessed the  same  fundamental  principles  of  politics.  Mr.  Harris  is  a 
member  of  the  Masonic  Order  and  of  the  Congregational  Church. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Harris  had  a  daughter,  Pearl,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
thirty  years.  She  was  the  wife  of  Ralph  E.  Swing,  of  San  Ber- 
nardino. Her  only  child,  Everett,  now  sixteen  years  of  age,  is  a 
pupil  in  Stanford  University.  Judge  Edwin  Parker,  deceased,  was 
a  brother  of  Mrs.  Harris. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1061 

Edwin  J.  Gilbert. — Coming  to  California  over  thirty  years  ago,  Ed- 
win J.  Gilbert  played  no  small  part  in  the  public  and  financial  life 
of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  to  no  man  is  the  city  and  county 
more  indebted  for  skillful  and  perfect  handling  of  her  public  affairs. 
From  his  childhood  he  displayed  an  exceptional  aptitude  for  finance, 
and  he  had  a  varied  experience  along  various  lines  dealing  with 
finances  and  figures,  giving  him  an  exceptional  knowledge  of  valuesi 
and  finance.     He  passed  away  December  7,  1921. 

He  made  a  close  study  of  his  life  work  and  his  conservatism,  with 
a  mind  like  wax  to  receive  impressions  and  like  steel  to  retain  them, 
his  watchword  was  integrity  and  his  work  was  not  to  be  measured 
by  figures.  He  was  closely  identified  with  the  official  life  of  the 
county,  especially  in  finance  and  in  assessments.  He  had  progressive 
ideas  and  kept  abreast  of  all  the  modern  methods  of  handling  and 
dealing  with  financial  question  and  all  lines  of  his  offices,  and  he  was 
gifted  with  practical  foresight  and  an  intuitive  sense  of  values,  com- 
bined with  rare  judgment.  So  it  is  no  wonder  that  his  fellow  men, 
following  his  career,  early  learned  that  he  was  one  man  who  would 
work  for  the  good  and  advancement  of  the  commonwealth  and  de- 
manded at  the  polls  his  election  to  various  important  offices.  This 
appreciation  of  Mr.  Gilbert  was  not  confined  to  one  circle  of  citizens, 
but  it  was  a  popular  demand  from  all  classes  that  he  be  placed  in  the 
offices.  There  were  no  loose  ends  about  his  offices,  for  he  not  only 
knew  how  to  do  things  himself  but  also  how  to  get  work  done. 

Mr.  Gilbert  found  recreation  in  the  hard  work  pertaining  to  the 
assessorship  and  the  intricacies  of  land  and  other  values,  and  one 
thing  his  constituents  know,  his  assessments  were  always  strictly  just 
to  everyone,  rich  and  poor  alike. 

Mr.  Gilbert  was  born  in  Rockford,  Illinois,  June  18,  1848,  the  son 
of  Milo  and  Margaret  (Palmer)  Gilbert,  his  father  a  native  of  Ver- 
mont and  his  mother  of  Cleveland,  Ohio.  Milo  Gilbert  moved  to 
Illinois  from  Vermont  about  1846,  and  located  on  a  farm  near  Rock- 
ford.  He  did  not  confine  his  attention  to  farming,  but  did  railroad 
contracting  and  was  also  a  manufacturer  and  a  merchant,  and  he 
achieved  success  in  all  lines.  He  was  a  representative  and  prominent 
man  of  that  county.  He  came  out  to  California  in  1886  and  located 
at  Colton,  where  he  lived,  actively  engaged  in  business  and  enjoying 
the  Southland,  until  his  death  in  Colton  in  1906.  His  wife  died  in 
1908. 

Mr.  Gilbert  was  educated  in  the  east,  leaving  Rockford  with  his 
father  at  the  age  of  six  years  and  locating  in  Charles  City,  Iowa.  Here 
he  attended  school,  and  was  graduated  from  the  high  school.  He 
attended  the  Cedar  Valley  Seminary  at  Osage  for  two  years.  He 
then  started  to  work,  his  first  step  on  the  road  to  success  being  em- 
ployment by  the  C.  M.  &  St.  Paul  Railroad,  on  the  office  force.  Here 
he  remained  eight  years,  acquiring  a  thorough  education  in  that  line 
of  work,  and  some  knowledge  of  his  work  must  have  become  known 
to  outsiders,  for  he  was  then  elected  county  treasurer  of  Floyd  Coun- 
ty, Iowa.  This  position  he  held  for  two  terms  and  then  decided  to 
farm  awhile.  He  farmed  in  Floyd  County  for  four  years  and  then 
went  to  Colton,  California,  where  his  father  had  been  located  over 
two  years.  His  first  work  in  his  new  home  was  as  a  deputy  for  the 
county  tax  collector,  and  he  followed  this  for  eight  years.  Then  he 
went  into  the  assessor's  office  as  chief  deputy,  and  filled  that  position 
ably  for  two  years. 


1062      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

At  this  time  he  decided  to  go  in  business  for  himself,  and  accord- 
ingly opened  offices  in  San  Bernardino  in  1909,  making  a  specialty 
of  public  accounting,  with  that  city  as  his  headquarters.  He  was  then, 
until  1913,  the  state  inheritance  tax  appraiser,  and  from  1913  to  1914, 
a  portion  of  each  year,  was  president  of  the  Board  of  Water  Commis- 
sioners. By  this  time  he  had  established  such  a  high  standing  that 
he  was  appointed  by  the  Board  of  Supervisors  as  county  assessor, 
taking  office  the  first  Monday  in  January,  1915.  He  was,  in  fact,  de- 
manded by  the  people  for  the  office,  and  he  held  that  office  until  1919 
on  that  appointment,  but  in  1919  was  elected  for  the  four  year  term, 
and  this  position  he  held  up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  to  the  mutual 
benefit  and  satisfaction  of  all  concerned.  Mr.  Gilbert  was  identified 
with  financial  circles  of  the  city  by  a  directorship  in  the  American 
National  Bank  of  San  Bernardino. 

He  married  on  May  4,  1870,  Estelle  Merrill,  of  Harmony,  Maine, 
who  died  in  May,  1914.  They  were  the  parents  of  three  children : 
Lulu  G.,  wife  of  Charles  Miles,  of  Los  Angeles,  who  has  two  children, 
Margery,  wife  of  Dudley  Strickland,  of  San  Francisco,  and  who  has 
three  children;  and  Miss  Florence,  who  was  at  home  with  her  father. 
Mr.  Gilbert  was  a  member  of  San  Bernardino  Lodge  No.  836,  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  was  a  member  of  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  from  1886.  In  politics  he  was  always  inde- 
pendent. 

George  A.  French  came  to  Riverside  on  a  three  months'  vacation 
from  his  New  York  practice,  but  liked  the  Gem  City  so  well  that  before 
his  vacation  expired  he  purchased  a  half  section  of  land  and  remained 
here.  For  several  years  he  lived  out  in  the  open,  ranching,  and  is  still 
interested  in  ranching  and  citrus  fruit  growing,  though  for  nearly  a 
quarter  of  a  century  the  law  and  politics  have  absorbed  almost  entirely 
his  energies.  He  is  one  of  the  influential  republican  leaders  in  Riverside 
County,  has  represented  the  party  in  caucas  and  primary  and  in  state 
and  county  conventions  under  the  old  election  laws,  and  is  still  a  member 
of  the  County  Central  Committee. 

While  his  early  life  was  spent  in  New  York  City.  Judge  French 
represents  a  distinctive  part  of  old  New  England,  Vermont.  The  Frenches 
are  of  Welsh  descent.  During  the  Revolutionary  period  the  family  fur- 
nished supplies  to  the  Continental  Army  in  Vermont.  His  grandfather 
was  a  successful  lawyer  of  that  state,  and  for  a  number  of  years  held  the 
office  of  district  attorney  of  Chittenden  County. 

Judge  French  is  a  son  of  Charles  O.  French,  who  w\as  born  at 
Williston,  Chittenden  County,  Vermont,  February  24,  1839,  and  as  a 
young  man  became  a  resident  of  Burlington,  where  he  graduated  from 
the  University  of  Vermont.  During  the  Civil  war  he  served  in  the 
Twelfth  Vermont  Volunteers  with  the  Army  of  the  Potomac,  and  at 
the  close  of  the  struggle  was  commissioned  captain.  After  the  war  he 
became  proprietor  of  a  book  and  stationery  store  at  Burlington,  but, 
seekine  a  larger  field  of  activities,  sold  out  in  1876  and  removed  to  New 
York  City,  where  he  entered  a  general  publishing  business,  an  enterprise 
that  proved  hiehlv  successful  and  grew  to  one  of  extensive  dimensions, 
largely  under  his  direction  and  as  a  result  of  his  management.  He  was 
in  this  business  until  1910,  when  he  sold  his  interests  and  came  to  Rivern 
side  to  live  with  his  son.  While  in  New  York  he  was  president  of  the 
Dolores  Valley  Mining  Company  from  1882  to  1887. 

George  A.  French,  a  son  of  Charles  O.  and  Mary  H.  French,  was 
born  at  Burlington,  Chittenden  County,  Vermont,  July  5,   1868.     Up  to 


A.  G.  HUBBARD 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1063 

the  age  of  eight  years  he  attended  public  school  in  that  city,  afterward 
in  New  York,  and  in  1880  entered  St.  Paul's  preparatory  school  at 
Concord,  New  Hampshire,  graduating  six  years  later.  In  1889  he  received 
the  Bachelor  of  Arts  degree  from  Trinity  College  at  Hartford,  Con- 
necticut, his  alma  mater  three  years  later  conferring  upon  him  the  degree 
Master  of  Arts.  He  began  the  preparatory  course  of  lectures  in  the  fall 
of  1890  in  the  law  department  of  Columbia  University  at  New  York, 
but  the  next  year  entered  the  New  York  Law  School,  graduating  LL.B. 
in  1892. 

Judge  French  was  admitted  to  practice  in  the  Supreme  Court  of  New 
York  State,  and  although  a  young  man  his  abilities  quickly  attracted 
a  large  and  important  clientele  in  New  York  City.  After  a  year  of 
very  hard  work  he  took  a  vacation,  traveling  in  Europe  from  October, 
1893,  to  June,  1894.  He  then  visited  Riverside,  and  its  attractions  proved 
a  dominating  influence  sufficient  to  wean  him  altogether  from  the  East. 
He  bought  a  two  hundred  and  forty  acre  ranch,  and  for  three  years 
lived  outdoors,  busied  with  its  work  and  superintendence.  He  then 
moved  into  Riverside  and  resumed  the  practice  of  law,  to  which  he  has 
given  his  time  ever  since.  He  still  owns  a  hundred  sixty  acres  of  farming 
land  near  Winchester  and  also  a  five  acre  orange  grove  in  Riverside. 

In  1907  he  was  appointed  judge  of  the  Police  Court  by  Mayor 
S.  C.  Evans,  and  by  reappointment  from  succeeding  mayors  held  that 
position  until  1915.  Since  1918  he  has  been  assistant  city  attorney. 
During  the  World  war  he  gave  to  the  cause  and  needs  of  the  Govern- 
ment call  upon  his  time  and  finances,  and  was  also  a  member  of  the 
Second  Company  of  the  California  Home  Guards.  Socially  and 
fraternally  he  is  a  member  of  numerous  organizations,  including 
the  New  England  College  Club,  College  Men's  Association  of  Southern 
California,  National  Geographic  Society,  Psi  Upsilon  fraternity,  Royal 
Arcanum  and  Independent  Order  of  Foresters. 

At  Riverside,  July  25,  1899,  Judge  French  married  Miss  Alice 
Lindenberger,  of  Winchester.  Her  father,  Hon.  F.  T.  Lindenberger, 
represented  this  district  in  the  State  Legislature  in  1897.  The  four 
children  of  Judge  and  Mrs.  French  are:  Dorothy  E.,  a  student  in  the 
Riverside  Junior  College;  Mary  H.,  Charles  Oliver  and  David  G., 
pupils  in  the  Riverside  schools. 

A.  G.  Hubbard  came  into  the  great  West  and  Southwest  shortly  after 
the  close  of  the  Civil  war.  He  had  the  training  of  a  mining  engineer,  and 
the  mining  industry  absorbed  his  enthusiasm,  his  strength  and  his  abilities 
in  California  and  in  other  sections  of  the  Southwest  until  he  had  ac- 
cumulated a  substantial  fortune.  In  the  meantime  he  had  visited  what 
is  now  the  Redlands  districts,  had  made  some  investments,  and  for  many 
vears  has  been  one  of  the  foremost  capitalists  in  directing  and  lending 
his  resources  to  enterprises  and  individuals  who  have  redeemed  a  desert 
country  into  one  of  the  most  profitable  and  beautiful  sections  of  South- 
ern California. 

Mr.  Hubbard  was  born  in  Wisconsin  in  1847.  As  a  youth  he  studied 
and  acquired  a  knowledge  of  chemistry,  metallurgy  and  mine  engineering. 
It  was  in  1865  that  he  started  across  the  plains  on  horseback,  riding 
all  the  way  from  the  Missouri  River  to  the  Citv  of  Mexico.  Thence 
returning  to  Texas,  he  came  on  West  to  the  Pacific  Coast  in  the  fall  of 
1867.  In  1886  Mr.  Hubbard  took  charge  of  a  copper  mine  for  an 
English  syndicate,  and  thereafter  for  several  .vears  was  a  mine  super- 
intendent, had  charge  of  reduction  works,  and  did  much  expert  service 
in  reporting  on  prospects  through  Arizona,  California,  Mexico  and  New 


1064      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Mexico.  From  the  active  practice  of  his  profession  he  accumulated 
enough  capital  to  engage  in  mining  for  himself,  and  he  opened  and  de- 
veloped and  managed  a  number  of  mines  in  various  states,  giving  prac- 
tically his  entire  time  to  the  business  until  1893. 

While  on  a  vacation  in  1878  Mr.  Hubbard  visited  Redlands  and  the 
Santa  Ana  River  Valley.  With  the  eye  of  a  practical  engineer  he  con- 
templated the  construction  of  a  flume  to  carry  lumber  from  the  San 
Bernardino  Mountains  into  the  valley.  Subsequent  investigation  re- 
vealed the  fact  that  the  Bear  Valley  Water  Company  had  already  ap- 
propriated the  waters.  While  this  frustrated  his  plans,  Mr.  Hubbard 
was  so  impressed  with  the  valley  that  he  invested  a  hundred  and  fifty 
thousand  dollars  on  his  own  account,  and  even  then  prophesied  that  an 
enormous  wealth  would  some  day  be  returned  to  the  orange  industry  in 
this  vicinity.  Mr.  Hubbard  improved  a  large  part  of  his  holdings.  But 
the  lure  of  the  mining  game  was  still  strong  upon  him,  and  leaving  his 
investments  at  Redlands  he  returned  to  his  occupation,  having  pur- 
chased and  in  association  with  his  old  mining  partner,  George  W. 
Bowers,  undertook  the  development  of  the  famous  Harqua  Hala  Bonan- 
za property  in  Arizona.  They  opened  this  at  an  expense  of  about  two 
hundred  and  seventy-five  thousand  dollars,  and  in  a  short  time  had 
taken  out  ores  to  the  value  of  a  million  two  hundred  and  fifty  thousand 
dollars.  With  this  success  to  his  credit  Mr.  Hubbard  sold  his  share 
of  the  property,  and  determined  to  retire  altogether  from  mining.  After 
two  vears  of  extensive  travel  throughout  North  America,  Mexico  and 
the  Gulf  countries,  he  returned  to  Redlands  and  at  once  proceeded  to 
carry  out  some  plans  for  improvement  that  he  had  cherished. 

Almost  his  first  act  was  to  demolish  the  old  Terrace  Villa,  one  of 
the  pioneer  hotel  properties  of  Redlands  and  where  he  had  been  a  guest 
when  it  was  in  the  course  of  construction.  This  was  one  of  his  first 
purchases  in  Redlands.  and  one  the  site  he  constructed  the  beautiful 
residence  where  he  still  resides  and  for  which  he  retains  the  old  name  of 
the  Villa  Terrace.  Subsequent  years  he  has  employed  with  wise  public 
spirit  and  public  generosity  his  resources  as  a  capitalist,  investing  in 
property  and  also  funding  other  men  in  their  improvements  and  under- 
takings. To  A.  G.  Hubbard  Redlands  owes  in  no  small  degree  its  won- 
derful prosperity. 

He  married  in  1887.  in  Redlands.  Lura  Spoor,  daughter  of  Rev. 
O.  H.  Spoor,  of  Redlands.  Thev  have  three  children :  Herbert  L., 
a  graduate  of  Stanford  and  now  engaged  in  farming  in  San  Bernardino 
Countv:  Mabel  G..  wife  of  Brooke  E.  Sawyer,  of  Santa  Barbara;  and 
Lura   Hubbard,  attending  school. 

Mr.  Hnbhard  is  a  thirtv-second  degree  Mason  through  both  the  York 
nnd  Scottish  Bite  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Badlands  I.odo-p  of  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.     Tn  politics  he  is  a  republican. 

Tames  McDouhall  has  given  fully  a  third  of  a  centurv  of  con- 
tinuous business  activity  to  Riverside.  He  owns  a  large  and  profitable 
business  in  the  painting  and  decorating  trades,  and  more  or  less  contin- 
uously since  coming  to  California  has  also  been  interested  in  the  develop- 
ment and  ownership  of  orange  groves. 

Mr.  McDougall  was  bom  at  Woodstoek  Ontario.  Canada.  August  3. 
1856.  son  of  Tamps  and  Cecilia  McDoupall  His  parents  represented  fam- 
ilies that  vverp  pioneers  in  Hamilton  and  Niagara  Ealls  on  the  Canadian 
side.  His  father  had  a  successful  career  in  those  localities  as  an  archi- 
tect nnri  btiilder. 

Tames  McDonpall  arnnireH  n  nractiral  pdn'-ation  in  the  schools  of 
Woodstock,  and  at  the  age  of  fifteen  began  a  five  years'  apprenticeship 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1065 

in  the  painting  and  decorating  business.  He  learned  these  trades  thor- 
oughly, and  they  have  been  the  foundation  of  his  life  work.  For  several 
years  he  had  a  good  business  at  Woodstock,  but  in  his  enthusiasm  for 
success  took  on  heavier  burdens  than  his  strength  would  permit,  and  by 
1886  he  realized  his  health  was  more  important  than  his  business,  and 
early  in  1887  he  sold  out  and  came  to  Riverside,  California.  In  that  year 
he  bought  some  town  lots  and  erected  a  home,  where  he  and  his  good  wife 
have  lived  continuously  for  thirty-four  years.  He  was  soon  re-established 
on  a  profitable  basis  in  the  painting  and  decorating  business,  and  still 
directs  a  thoroughly  equipped  and  efficient  organization  in  that  line.  He 
has  developed  several  orange  groves  during  the  last  thirty  years,  and 
always  has  one  as  a  side  line  interest. 

Mr.  McDougall  is  a  man  of  more  than  one  resource.  As  a  child  he 
was  musically  inclined,  and  at  the  age  of  fourteen  was  playing  a  clarionet 
in  a  military  band  attached  to  the  Twenty-Second  Rifle  Regiment  at 
Woodstock.  He  is  a  liberal  republican  in  politics,  with  reform  tendencies, 
is  a  member  of  the  Masons  and  Elks,  and  he  and  Mrs.  McDougall  have 
been  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  since  the  church  of  that  de- 
nomination was  established  at  Riverside. 

At  Woodstock,  Canada,  February  9.  1881.  Mr.  McDougall  married 
Miss  Mary  McLean.  Her  parents  came  from  Scotland  on  a  sailing  vessel 
to  Canada  in  1850.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  McDougall  had  six  children,  four  sons 
and  two  daughters,  one  son  dying  in  infancy.  The  two  older  sons,  S.  R. 
and  J.  B.  McDougall.  both  served  with  Company  M  of  the  Seventh  Regi- 
ment of  the  National  Guard  at  Riverside.  S.  R.  McDougall  now  con- 
ducts a  blacksmith  and  automobile  shop.  J.  Boyd  McDoueall  was  deputy 
tax  collector  of  Riverside  Countv  for  seven  years  and  died  during  the 
influenza  epidemic  of  1918-19.  The  third  son,  H.  W.  McDougall.  is  a 
refrigerating  engineer.  The  two  daughters.  Jean  and  Winifred,  are  both 
married. 

Henry  B.  Slater — Riverside  for  a  number  of  years  has  been  the 
chosen  home  of  a  scientist  and  inventor  whose  name  and  work  are 
known  to  practically  every  student  of  metallurgy  and  the  chemistry 
of  metals.  The  career  of  Henry  B.  Slater  has  been  unlike  that  of 
most  men  who  has  attained  distinction  in  the  field  of  scholarship. 
The  zest  for  adventure  which  impelled  him  as  a  youth  to  sail  to  all 
ports  and  quarters  of  the  civilized  globe  no  doubt  has  been  a  factor 
in  the  pursuit  of  knowledge  which  has  characterized  his  later  years. 

He  was  born  at  Birmingham.  England.  January  16.  1850.  son  of 
Frederick  and  Ann  (Stokes1)  Slater,  both  of  old  English  families. 
The  Slater  family  runs  back  in  Derbyshire  for  many  generations. 
His  grandfather  was  a  member  of  Wellington's  staff.  Frederick 
Slater  was  a  carter  in  England,  an  occupation  better  described  in 
this  country  as  that  of  a  transfer  man.  Henrv  B.  Slater  has  three 
brothers  and  two  sisters  living;  Tames,  a  retired  business  man  at 
Birmingham ;  Fred,  a  gentleman  farmer,  now  practically  retired,  of 
Knowle  and  Birmingham  :  George,  a  Birmingham  business  man ;  Mrs 
Marie  Fisher,  wife  of  a  business  man  at  Irvington,  New  Jersey  ;  and 
Sarah  Jane,  of  Birmingham. 

Intellectual  curiosity  and  the  faculty  of  enterprise  early  matured 
in  the  character  of  Henry  B.  Slater,  and  he  was  a  mere  child  when 
he  made  up  his  mind  to  see  what  the  world  was  like  outside  of  his 
local  environment.  At  the  age  of  ten  he  ran  away  and  tramped  to 
London,  the  romance  of  the  sea  appealing  to  him  and  he  secured  a 
berth  aboard  the  steamship  "Pilot"  of  the  General  Steam  Navigation 


1066      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Company's  line.  He  went  on  board  as  "call  boy"  at  a  time  when  no 
ships  were  equipped  with  electric  bells  or  telephones,  and  when  verbal 
messages  had  to  be  communicated  from  one  part  of  the  ship  to  another 
by  messenger  boys.  On  the  Pilot  he  made  several  trips  between 
London  and  Hamburg.  He  next  joined  the  Sarah  Scott,  a  full  rigged 
ship  bound  for  the  East  Indies.  On  his  eleventh  birthday,  in  1861, 
he  was  going  through  the  Mozambique  Channel.  The  cruise  con- 
tinued to  the  East  Indies,  Australia,  the  Philippine  Islands,  Japan, 
and  in  1863  he  sailed  from  Cebu,  Philippine  Islands,  for  London 
by  way  of  Honolulu,  San  Francisco  and  the  Horn.  The  boat  dis- 
charged part  of  its  cargo  in  San  Francisco,  thence  departing,  Decem- 
ber 16,  1863,  around  the  Horn  and  arriving  in  London  in  May,  1864. 
Young  Slater  was  afterward  on  different  vessels  on  the  French, 
German  and  Danish  coasts  and  in  the  White  Sea  at  Archangel.  While 
at  Jaffa  in  the  Mediterranean  he  and  three  other  shipmates  took  A.  W. 
O.  L.  and  visited  in  Jerusalem  a  week.  Returning  to  Jaffa  they  found 
their  vessel  waiting  for  them. 

Still  another  trip  around  the  world  was  made  by  way  of  Cape 
Good  Hope  to  the  East  Indies  and  back  around  the  Horn.  In  1868 
he  sailed  from  Newport,  Wales,  for  Halifax,  Nova  Scotia,  in  the  bark 
Janet  of  Liverpool,  Nova  Scotia.  During  the  next  two  years  he  was  in 
the  coastal  service  out  of  Liverpool,  Nova  Scotia,  to  the  West  Indies 
and  South  American  ports.  Wednesday,  January  25,  1870,  Mr.  Slater 
sailed  from  New  York  to  Liverpool,  Nova  Scotia.  The  vessel  en- 
countered a  heavy  blow  from  the  northwest,  and  the  ship  was  lost. 
The  crew  took  to  the  ship's  long  boat  and  were  exposed  twenty-one 
days  before  being  rescued.  There  were  eleven  in  the  boat,  but  all 
came  through.  That  voyage  of  hardship  coincided  with  the  storm 
when  the  City  of  Boston  of  the  Inman  line  disappeared.  This  boat 
left  Halifax  the  last  Saturday  in  January,  1870,  and  was  never  heard 
from  again. 

Mr.  Slater  made  one  more  trip  from  Liverpool,  Nova  Scotia,  to 
the  West  Indies,  with  the  understanding  that  he  was  to  receive  his 
discharge  in  the  United  States.  On  arrival  in  New  York  in  September, 
1870,  he  was  given  his  discharge  and  went  to  Cambridge,  Massa- 
chusetts. He  remained  there  until  1874,  by  which  time  he  had 
completed  his  apprenticeship  as  a  machinist  with  J.  J.  Walworth  & 
Company,  now  the  Walworth  Manufacturing  Company.  He  then  re- 
visited England,  returning  to  the  United  States  late  in  the  fall,  and  spent 
the  time  until  the  spring  of  1875  in  and  around  Liverpool,  Nova  Scotia. 
His  early  industrial  experience  was  at  Providence.  Rhode  Island,  where 
he  worked  for  a  time  in  the  tool  department  of  the  Brown  &  Sharpe  Man- 
ufacturing Company  and  also  in  the  Corliss  Engine  Works. 

Mr.  Slater  set  out  for  California  in  1876.  Circumstances  caused 
him  to  abandon  his  journey  and  remain  in  Missouri,  where  he  enrolled 
as  a  student  in  Drurv  College  in  Springfield.  He  pursued  his  studies 
there  until  July.  1879,  and  then  returned  East  and  for  a  year  was  in 
Brown  LTniversity  at  Providence.  Rhode  Island.  At  Brown  he  studied 
Greek  under  Benjamin  Ide  Wheeler,  whose  name  is  familiarly  linked 
with  the  University  of  California.  While  in  Missouri  Mr.  Slater 
contracted  malaria,  and  this,  together  with  pecuniary  embarrassment, 
caused  him  to  give  up  the  intention  of  completing  his  university 
career. 

About  that  time  he  became  associated  with  others  in  the  business 
of  electro  plating,  and  that  was  his  specialty  for  some  time.  Nickel 
plating  was  then   in   its  infancy,  and  having  made   some  improvements 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1067 

in  the  process  he  was  employed  by  the  Providence  Tool  Company  of 
Rhode  Island  to  set  up  its  plant  to  do  its  own  plating.  In  1882 
he  was  employed  by  the  Singer  Manufacturing  Company  of  Elizabeth, 
New  Jersey,  to  install  the  plating  process  there. 

During  1882-83-84-85,  while  with  the  Singer  Company,  Mr.  Slater 
became  interested  in  chlorine,  with  special  reference  to  its  action 
upon  mineral  contents  of  ores.  His  continued  studies  and  experiments 
of  nearly  forty  years  make  him  probably  the  foremost  authority  on 
the  use  of  chlorine  in  economic  metallurgy.  In  1889  he  obtained  a 
patent  for  a  process  of  extracting  zinc  from  low  grade  ores,  such  as 
those  found  in  the  Leadville  district  of  Colorado,  whither  he  had 
removed  in  1888.  About  that  time  he  was  also  experimenting  in 
electrical  generators  and  motors,  and  was  granted  several  patents 
for  improvements  on  such  machinery. 

Mr.  Slater  was  in  Colorado  until  1902,  when  he  removed  to  Cali- 
fornia. For  the  past  twenty  years  his  time  has  been  devoted 
principally  to  research  along  metallurgical  lines.  He,  has  been  as- 
sociated for  the  last  sixteen  years  with  R.  B.  Sheldon,  a  prominent 
Riverside  business  man,  whose  career  is  elsewhere  sketched  in  this 
publication.  In  the  past  eight  years  Mr.  Slater  has  been  granted 
ten  different  patents  on  improvements  in  metallurgical  processes. 
The  underlying  principles  in  these  processes  involve  the  use  of 
chlorine  generated  electrolitically  in  combination  with  other  sub- 
stances in  the  formation  of  a  leeching  solution  with  which  to  extract 
the  metallic  values  from  ores.  Copper  ores  have  been  the  chief 
subject  of  his  experimental  work.  Recently  he  has  been  engaged  in 
the  problem  of  simplifying  a  process  for  making  of  what  is  known 
as  Dakin's  solution,  a  chemical  and  medicinal  preparation  so  success- 
fully used  in  surgery  during  the  late  war  by  Dr.  Alexis  Carrel. 
His  aim  is  to  arrange  for  production  of  this  solution  by  those 
without  technical  training  through  the  simple  application  of  an  electric 
current  that  will  prepare  it  in  the  proper  strength  for  immediate  use. 

Mr.  Slater  has  received  many  recognitions  of  his  scientific  attain- 
ments. Drury  College  conferred  upon  him  the  honorary  degree  of 
Master  of  Science  in  1889.  He  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the 
American  Institute  of  Electrical  Engineers  in  1884.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  American  Institute  of  Mining  and  Metallurgical  Engineers, 
a  member  of  the  American  Chemical  Society,  the  American  Asso- 
ciation for  the  Advancement  of  Science,  the  National  Geographic 
Society,  the  Joint  Technical  Societies  of  Los  Angeles.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Gamut  Club  of  Los  Angeles,  Present  Day  Club  of 
Riverside,  and  Riverside  Lodge  No.  643,  Benevolent  and  Protective 
Order  of  Elks.  Many  years  ago  he  was  member  for  three  years  of 
Company  K,  Fifth  Regiment,  of  the  Massachusetts  State  Militia. 
He  votes  as  a  republican. 

September  19,  1889,  at  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  Mr.  Slater  married  Miss 
Minnie  Osmond,  a  native  of  that  city.  Her  father  was  an  Englishman 
by  birth  and  a  prominent  physician  at  Cincinnati.  Mrs.  Slater  died 
in  March,  1893,  and  is  survived  by  one  son,  Edwin  Osmond  Slater. 
He  had  been  a  student  for  three  years  in  the  University  of  California 
when  he  was  called  to  the  army,  entered  the  Officers  Training  School 
at  The  Presidio,  San  Francisco,  was  commissioned  a  second  lieutenant 
in  Company  K,  363rd  Infantry,  at  Camp  Lewis,  and  afterwards 
assigned  to'  Company  M,  and  went  to  France  with  the  Ninety-first 
Division.  While  overseas  he  was  promoted  to  first  lieutenant,  and 
saw  active  service  through  the  San  Mihiel  and  Argonne  campaigns 


1068       SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

and  in  Flanders.  After  the  signing  of  the  armistice  he  was  detailed 
for  other  duties  and  returned  to  this  country-  in  the  fall  of  1919,  and 
received  an  honorable  discharge. 

James  H.  Bubtker  ha.-  to  his  credit  forty  consecutive  years  as  a 
railroad  man,  and  nearly  half  of  that  service  has  been  in  California. 
For  a  number  of  years  he  has  been  district  freight  and  passenger 
agent  for  the  Salt  Lake  Railroad  now  the  Union  Pacific  System  at 
Riverside. 

Mr.  Burtner  took  up  railroading  not  far  from  the  community 
where  he  was  born.  His  birthplace  was  a  farm  near  New  Goshen 
in  Vigo  Count}-,  Indiana,  where  he  first  saw  the  light  of  day  February 
10.  1859.  He  represents  an  old  American  family  of  Pennsylvania 
Dutch  descent  and  Revolutionary  stock.  His  father,  John  Burtner, 
was  born  in  Cumberland  County,  Pennsylvania.  A  brother,  Rev. 
George  W.  Burtner.  who  with  his  foster  brother,  John  Carroll,  of 
Dayton.  Ohio,  served  in  the  Union  Army  all  through  the  war.  John 
Burtner  was  an  itinerant  minister  of  the  United  Brethern  Church 
and  a  farmer,  was  reared  at  Dayton,  Ohio  and  subsequently  moved 
to  Illinois.  The  old  Burtner  homestead  in  Dayton.  Ohio,  is  now 
Shiloh  Springs  Sanitarium.  The  mother  of  James  H.  Burtner  was 
Margaret  Ann  Berry,  born  in  Rockingham  Count}-,  Virginia,  of 
an  English  family  that  came  to  America  in  1680.  James  H.  Burtner 
attended  public  schools  and  high  school  in  Illinois,  and  completed 
a  teacher's  course  at  YVestfield  College  in  Illinois  in  1879.  While  he 
had  a  year  or  so  of  experience  as  a  teacher  in  Illinois,  on  January  1. 
1881.  he  went  to  work  for  the  Big  Four  Railroad  Company  at  Paris, 
Illinois,  remaining  there  five  years,  and  altogether  spent  twenty-two 
years  with  the  Big  Four  station  work.  On  March  15,  1903.  he  began 
his  duties  as  first  agent  of  the  Salt  Lake  lines  at  Pomona,  was  made 
hrst  agent  at  Riverside  in  1904.  and  later  was  commercial  agent  here 
and  for  2-2  years  was  district  freight  and  passenger  agent  at  Salt 
Lake  City-.  He  then  came  to  Riverside  as  district  freight  and  passen- 
ger agent,  and  that  has  been  his  place  of  duty  ever  since  except  during 
the  period  of  the  war.  When  the  Government  took  over  the  railroads 
the  Traffic  department  was  practically  suspended,  and  he  was  assigned 
to  duly-  with  the  operating  department  at  Castmore.  operating  between 
Riverside  and  Castmore  through  to  Rialto  and  Bly,  and  was  prac- 
tically general  executive  of  the  operating  division  over  that  section 
during  the  war. 

In  younger  years  while  at  Paris,  Illinois,  Mr.  Burtner  was  in 
the  Sixth  Regiment.  Illinois  National  Guard,  for  five  years,  and  part 
of  the  time  was  leader  of  the  Sixth  Regiment  Band.  He  was  quite 
active  in  republican  politics  in  Illinois,  and  was  alderman  at  Litch- 
field during  the  great  railroad  strike  period.  Mr.  Burtner  has  been 
a  director  for  many  years  of  the  Riverside  Chamber  of  Commerce,  is 
a  past  exalted  ruler  of  the  Elks,  served  as  noble  grand  of  the  Odd 
Fellows  in  Illinois,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.  At  Robinson,  Illinois,  May  31,  1883,  he  married  Flora 
A.  Burson,  daughter  of  Henderson  Burson.  a  merchant  now  deceased. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Burtner  have  one  daughter,  Mabel  H.,  a  graduate  of 
the  Cumnock  School  of  Los  Angeles. 

William  J.  Tebo — In  the  affairs  of  Chino  and  the  Chino  Valley 
during  the  last  forty  years  no  one  has  played  a  more  rigorous  part  than 
William  J.  Tebo,   merchant,  farmer,   with  constantly  growing  business 


t 


\uu  yh.^.^jUf 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1009 

interests,  and  at  the  same  time  a  strenuous  law  and  order  man  who  has 
proved  himself  indispensable  to  the  task  of  making  this  a  clean  and  sate 
place  in  which  to  live. 

Mr.  Tebo  was  born  at  Dundas,  Province  of  Ontario,  Canada,  June 
20,  1865,  son  of  George  and  Elizabeth  (btrong)  Tebo.  His  father  was 
a  native  of  Canada,  wnere  he  spent  his  life  as  a  farmer.  He  was  left 
an  orphan  when  a  child  and  was  reared  by  friends  until  old  enough 
to  make  his  own  way.  He  lived  to  the  remarkable  age  of  ninety-eight 
years,  passing  away  August  27,  1921.  His  wife  was  born  in  England 
and  came  to  Canada  with  her  parents  at  the  age  of  seventeen. 

William  J.  Tebo,  one  of  a  family  of  four  sons  and  four  daughters, 
acquired  a  good  common  school  education,  and  in  1881,  at  the  age  of 
sixteen,  left  Canada  and  went  to  Plymouth  County,  Iowa.  That  was 
a  prairie  county  and  new,  cattle  raising  being  the  principal  industry.  He 
secured  employment  the  first  year  working  among  the  cattle  and  con- 
structing pole  sheds  covered  with  flax  straw  for  protection  from  the 
winter  storms.  The  following  summer  he  farmed  and  then  rented  land 
and  went  on  his  own  hook.  He  bought  horses  and  tools,  put  in  a  crop, 
but  later  discovered  that  the  horses  he  had  bought  were  afflicted  with  a 
virulent  disease,  the  glanders.  The  authorities  took  the  animals,  de- 
stroyed them,  buried  the  harness  and  burned  his  shed  barns  as  the  offi- 
cial means  to  stamp  out  the  disease.  It  was  a  heavy  financial  blow  to 
Mr.  Tebo.  There  was  one  consolation,  however,  he  had  planted  his 
corn  crop  on  a  high  ridge  of  land.  A  frost  had  killed  most  of  the  corn 
in  that  section,  but  his  being  on  the  high  ground  was  uninjured,  and  he 
was  able  to  sell  the  crop  for  seed  corn  at  a  premium. 

In  the  fall  of  1883  Mr.  Tebo  left  Iowa  and  came  to  Sacramento, 
California,  working  here  one  year.  He  then  went  back  to  Iowa,  primarily 
to  testify  in  behalf  of  a  friend  who,  like  himself,  had  bought  diseased 
horses  on  time.  The  seller  had  sued  his  friend  for  damages,  but  Mr. 
Tebo's  testimony  established  a  defense  that  prevented  the  fraud.  While 
in  Iowa  in  1884  Mr.  Tebo  married  Miss  Alice  Hammond,  a  native  of 
that  state.  Again  for  a  season  he  tried  farming  there,  and  had  a  con- 
tract for  breaking  a  large  prairie.  In  that  year  Iowa  became  a  prohibi- 
tion state  and  was  afflicted  with  hard  times.  Mr.  Tebo  sold  his  teams, 
and  two  weeks  later  was  on  his  way  to  California.  After  one  year  in 
Yolo  County,  where  he  broke  and  shipped  horses  to  the  Los  Angeles 
market,  Mr.  Tebo,  about  1886,  moved  south  and  bought  a  half  interest 
in  120  acres  of  land  east  of  and  near  Chino. 

At  this  time  this  section  was  a  splendid  stock  range,  and  land  sur- 
veys were  just  being  run  and  the  surveyors  were  working  on  a  plat 
of  Chino  townsite.  Mr.  Tebo  soon  traded  his  land  interests  for  Chiho 
lots,  and  built  one  of  the  first  homes  in  the  town,  at  the  corner  of  B  and 
Sixth  streets.  He  has  lived  on  this  property  for  more  than  thirty-five 
years,  and  about  ten  years  ago  he  built  one  of  the  most  modern  homes  of 
the  town.  There  has  been  no  interruption  to  his  work  as  a  farmer  in 
all  these  years.  In  1891  work  was  started  on  the  construction  of  the 
sugar  refinery,  .and  for  about  a  year  he  did  much  of  the  hauling  of 
material  for  that  purpose.  In  1892  he  opened  a  feed,  grocery  and  general 
merchandise  store,  operating  it  for  two  years  and  selling  to  B.  K. 
Galbreath. 

Mr.  Tebo  is  the  father  of  four  children.  The  oldest,  Mabel,  who  was 
born  at  Woodland,  Yolo  County,  September  20,  1885,  is  a  graduate  of 
the  Chino  High  School,  is  a  graduate  nurse,  and  followed  that  pro- 
fession until  her  marriage  to  William  Cissna,  who  died  leaving  two 
children,  Aletha  and  Robley.  She  is  now  Mrs.  Rolf  Lindner.    The  second 


1070      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

child,  Ethel,  who  was  born  at  Chino  June  28,  1893,  is  a  graduate  of  the 
Chino  High  School  and  the  Los  Angeles  State  Normal  School,  is  a 
trained  nurse,  and  is  now  the  wife  of  Stanley  Goode,  a  graduate  of 
law  in  Stanford  University.  Their  two  children  are  Betty  and  William. 
The  third  child  is  Frederick  A.  Tebo,  actively  associated  with  his  father 
in  business.  The  fourth,  Genevieve,  who  was  born  at  Chino  July  16. 
1897,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Chino  High  School  and  was  married  in  1919 
to  Grover  Breselin,  who  died  in  1920. 

Frederick  A.  Tebo  was  born  February  22,  1895,  progressed  with  his 
education  in  the  Chino  High  School,  but  on  account  of  poor  health  left 
school  and,  though  much  under  age,  with  his  parents'  consent  joined 
Company  D  of  the  Pomona  National  Guard  and  was  on  border  duty 
during  the  Mexican  troubles.  He  was  sent  to  the  hospital  and  operated 
on  for  appendicitis,  was  invalided  home,  and  in  the  World  war  was 
rejected  and  placed  in  Class  5.  He  was  in  the  Edison  Company's  office 
at  Chino  until  it  was  removed,  and  is  now  bearing  some  of  the  heavy 
burdens  of  his  father's  business.  They  lease  and  farm  1,200  acres, 
growing  alfalfa,  grain  and  sugar  beets,  operating  one  75-horse  power 
tractor  and  two  smaller  tractors,  and  all  other  modern  equipment.  They 
also  do  an  extensive  trading  business,  needing  three  heavy  service  trucks 
for  transporting  goods  and  commodities.  They  have  established  a  whole- 
sale and  retail  feed,  fuel,  hay  and  grain  business  under  the  firm  name 
of  Fugate  &  Tebo  at  the  corner  of  Seventh  and  D  streets  in  Chino. 
Frederick  A.  Tebo  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Beach,  who  was  socially 
prominent  at  Pomona. 

Mr.  William  J.  Tebo  delivered  all  the  material  for  the  construction 
of  the  Edison  high  power  line  from  Colton  to  Long  Beach.  In  this  and 
in  many  other  ways  he  has  kept  in  close  touch  with  the  progressive 
development  of  this  section.  He  saw  the  valley  when  it  was  an  immense 
stock  range.  Richard  Gird  owned  an  enormous  herd  of  Durham  and 
Holstein  cattle  and  over  350  blooded  Percheron  horses  which  ranged 
all  over  the  valley.  There  was  no  railroad,  a  trail  going  through  the 
brush  to  Pomona.  Later  came  Gird's  dummy  line  from  Ontario,  and 
still  later  the  present  Southern  Pacific  road  from  Pomona  to  Ontario. 
Mr.  Tebo  was  a  member  of  the  first  City  Council  of  Chino,  and  is  still 
on  the  council.  Chino  in  early  times  was  noted  for  its  saloons  and 
brawls,  and  there  were  many  instances  of  murders  and  fights.  He  was 
appointed  deputy  sheriff  and  later  elected  constable,  has  been  in  that 
office  now  for  over  twenty  years  and  has  made  good  his  resolve  to  clear 
up  the  community.  Although  he  has  never  called  for  assistance,  he  has 
again  and  again  encountered  and  overawed  bad  men.  It  has  been  a 
hazardous  duty  and  several  times  he  has  been  shot  at  and  was  twice 
wounded  by  gun  shot.  He  is  known  as  the  bad  man's  nemesis  of  the 
Chino  Valley.  Mr.  Tebo  was  admitted  to  American  citizenship  in  Judge 
Campbell's  court  at  San  Bernardino  in  1890,  and  his  citizenship  has  been 
of  a  positive  character  and  one  accompanied  by  usefulness  and  loyalty 
in  every  sense. 

William  B.  Payton,  M.  D. — With  forty  vears  of  •professional  serv- 
ice to  his  credit  Dr.  Payton  has  been  a  physician  and  surgeon  of  high 
rank  both  in  the  Middle  Wrest  and  on  the  Pacific  Coast.  He  is  still 
in  active  practice  at  Riverside,  and  has  also  become  financially  and 
personally  interested  in  constructive  development  work  in  the  agricultural 
sections  of  this  countv  and  the  adjacent  counties. 

Dr.  Payton  was  born  at  Kokomo,  Indiana,  November  16,  1856, 
and  is  of  Scotch-Irish  descent.  He  was  only  six  years  old  when 
his  mother,  Isabelle   (Bailey)   Payton,  died.     She  was  born  in  Indiana. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1071 

His  father,  L.  B.  Pay  ton,  now  deceased,  was  a  native  of  Kentucky, 
and  during  the  Civil  war  served  as  a  non-commissioned  officer  in  the 
46th  Indiana  Infantry.     He  was  a  farmer  by  occupation. 

Dr.  Payton  acquired  a  public  school  education,  also  attended 
the  Indiana  Normal  School,  and  graduated  in  medicine  from  the 
University  of  Michigan  in  1881.  For  ten  years  he  practiced  at 
Greentown,  Indiana.  About  that  time  his  wife  developed  tuberculosis, 
following  two  attacks  of  La  Grippe,  and  he  brought  her  to  Riverside 
for  the  winter.  She  began  to  recover,  and  he  determined  to  remain 
here  permanently.  His  affection  for  the  community  dates  from  that 
time,  and  he  found  the  people  as  well  as  the  climate  delightful  and  kind- 
ness personified.  Going  back  to  Indiana  and  adjusting  his  affairs  he  re- 
turned, and  on  the  advice  of  Dr.  Gill  went  to  Perris  on  April  6,  1892.  Mrs. 
Payton  continuing  to  improve,  he  felt  justified  in  going  East  in 
1893  to  attend  the  World's  Fair  in  Chicago,  and  visit  in  Indiana. 
During  this  trip  Mrs.  Payton  contracted  a  cold  and  died  in  December, 
1894.  Dr.  Payton  then  resumed  practice  in  the  East,  and  remained 
there  about  ten  years.  For  the  past  sixteen  years  he  has  been  in  active 
practice  in  Riverside.  He  has  been  honored  with  the'  office  of  president 
of  the  County  Medical  Society,  is  also  a  member  of  the  California 
State  and  American  Medical  Associations,  and  his  knowledge  and 
long  experience  give  him  a  high  rank  in  his  profession. 

Dr.  Payton  while  at  Perris  was  a  pioneer  in  the  irrigation  projects 
there.  He  now  owns  ranches  in  Kern  County  and  Coachella,  and 
has  a  date  orchard  at  Thermal.  He  was  formerly  owner  of  some 
real  estate  in  Los  Angeles.  While  in  Indiana  he  held  the  office  of 
county  coroner.  Dr.  Payton  is  a  republican,  a  member  of  the  Methodist 
Church,  has  filled  chairs  in  the  Masonic  Lodge,  and  is  affiliated  with 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  Knights  of  Pythias  and  Wood- 
men of  the  World. 

By  his  first  marriage  his  only  daughter,  Mabel  died  at  the  age  of 
twenty.  On  Novemer  16,  1898,  at  Perris,  California,  he  married 
Grace  Plimpton,  a  native  of  Chicago.  Her  father  was  the  late  Colonel 
H.  A.  Plimpton,  prominently  identified  with  fruit  culture  at  Perris. 
Dr.  and  Mrs.  Payton  have  two  children:  Harold,  a  student  in  the 
University  of  California,  and  Mary  Lois,  attending  the  Riverside 
High  School. 

James  A.  Bell. — While  he  has  not  been  a  resident  of  the  City  of 
Riverside  long  enough  to  class  as  a  pioneer  he  is  a  native  son  of 
California  and  possesses  all  the  characteristics  such  fortunates  are 
popularly  supposed  to  have.  He  is  the  son  of  a  pioneer  and  was 
educated  in  the  Golden  State,  and  when  it  came  time  for  him  to  enter 
the  business  world  for  himself  he  chose  Riverside  for  his  business 
enterprise  and  as  a  home.  In  short  space  of  time,  as  the  years  go, 
he  has  built  up  a  good  and  ever  increasing  patronage,  gained  by 
square  dealing,  courtesy  and  strict  attention  to  business  ethics.  Mr.  Bell 
can  surely  congratulate  himself  upon  his  business  and  social  standing  in 
the  city  of  his  choice. 

Well  known  and  popular  as  Mr.  Bell  is  in  other  ways,  he  has  also 
made  himself  well  known  by  his  work  in  the  Knights  of  Columbus 
organization  here.  He  has  headed  it  since  August,  1920,  when  he  was 
made  grand  knight  of  the  order.  Two  years  ago,  when  the  order 
here  had  but  forty-three  members,  Mr.  Bell  joined  with  Grand  Knight 
Richard  J.  Welsh  in  making  it  popular,  and  they  succeeded,  for  when 
Mr.    Bell    became    grand    knight   the    membership    numbered    two    hun- 


1072       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

dred,  a  larger  percentage  increase  than  in  any  other  lodge  in  the  state. 
Mr.  Bell  previously  served  as  warden  and  as  deputy  grand  knight. 
The  membership  is  steadily  on  the  increase  all  the  time. 

James  A.  Bell  was  born  in  San  Francisco,  April  9,  1880,  a  son  of 
Henry  and  Rose  (Boyle)  Bell.  Henry  Bell  was  a  native  of  Ireland 
and  came  to  the  United  States  when  a  young  man,  settling  in  Brock- 
line,  Massachusetts.  So  quickly  did  he  become  a  thorough,  loyal 
American  that  in  1864,  January  26,  he  joined  Company  A.,  Massa- 
chusetts Volunteers,  under  Major  Henry  Splaine,  serving  under  him 
and  engaging  in  many  battles,  until  he  was  mustered  out  July  11, 
1865.  He  came  out  to  California  in  1870,  and  followed  his  profession, 
that  of  landscape  gardening,  until  his  death  in  June,  1917.  Mrs.  Bell, 
who  is  also  a  native  of  Ireland,  survives  him  and  is  a  resident  of 
Danville,  California. 

James  A.  Bell  received  his  education  in  the  public  and  high 
schools  of  Berkeley,  California,  his  first  work  being  in  a  drug  store  of 
that  city,  where  he  was  engaged  during  his  four  years  course  in  the 
high  school.  At  the  end  of  his  school  days,  his  graduation,  he  con- 
tinued in  the  drug  business  successively  in  Tracy,  Newman  and  Los 
Angeles  until  1909,  when  he  determined  to  come  to  Riverside  and  start 
in  business  for  himself,  which  proved  a  very  wise  move.  He  opened 
his  store  at  214  West  Eighth  Street  under  the  name  of  the  Salt  Lake 
Store,  and  which  he  has  conducted  ever  since  and  with  ever  increas- 
ing success.  In  addition  to  the  Knights  of  Columbus  Mr.  Bell  is  a 
member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  of  Riverside. 

On  November  30,  1911,  at  Santa  Ana,  California,  he  married  Miss 
Jennie  M.  Hansen,  a  native  of  Chicago  and  a  daughter  of  Mrs.  M. 
Hansen,  who  was  one  of  the  old  pioneer  families  of  Fresno,  California. 
They  are  the  parents  of  two  children  :  James  A.  Bell,  Jr.,  and  Eugene  J. 
Bell. 

Harry  E.  Courtney. — The  vice  president  of  the  Riverside  Abstract 
Company,  Harry  E.  Courtney  is  one  of  those  sterling  citizens  who  is 
a  distinct  asset  to  the  community  in  which  he  lives.  Thoroughly 
equipped  for  the  profession,  he  has  steadily  made  his  way  from  the 
bottom  to  the  top,  and  there  is  no  detail  of  the  business  with  which 
he  is  not  thoroughly  familiar. 

Although  he  has  not  been  here  for  a  long  period  of  time,  Mr. 
Courtney  is  an  energetic  member  of  the  "booster  club,"  and  no  task 
done  for  the  good  of  the  city  of  his  choice  is  hard  enough  to  make 
him  shrink  from  working  for  its  success.  His  progressive  ideas  are 
always  expressed  in  no  uncertain  manner,  and  his  intuitive  sense  of 
affairs  has  been  of  great  assistance  in  many  enterprises.  His  whole 
idea  is  simply  to  serve.  This  same  dominant  thought  possessed  him 
during  the  World  war,  service  arid  yet  more  service,  soliciting  funds, 
working  in  all  the  drives  and  for  the  sale  of  Liberty  Bonds.  He 
"carried  on"  night  and  day,  always  ready  for  the  next  task. 

Mr.  Courtney  was  born  in  Delaware  County,  Pennsylvania,  Sep- 
tember 14,  1878,  the  son  of  Henry  C.  and  Letitia  (Roberts)  Courtney. 
His  father  was  a  farmer  and  served  during  the  Civil  war  in  the  South- 
ern Army  as  a  captain.  He  was  captured  and  held  prisoner  in  the 
North  until  the  close  of  the  war.  He  was  descended  from  an  old 
American  family  of  English  ancestry.  His  wife,  now  deceased,  was 
a  native  of  Pennsylvania. 

Harry  E.  Courtney  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Delaware 
County,  Pennsylvania,  and  in  a  business  college  of  that  county.     His 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1073 

first  experience  \v;is  as  a  clerk  in  a  general  store  in  West  Gove,  Penn- 
sylvania, and  from  there  he  went  to  Philadelphia  and  worked  for  the 
Supplee  Hardware  Company  for  four  years.  This  was  one  of  the 
largest  jobbing  houses  in  the  country. 

In  1904  he  came  to  Riverside,  and  decided  to  make  it  his  home, 
working  for  the  Newberry  Grocery  Company  for  two  years  and  a 
half.  Prom  this  he  went  to  his  real  life  work,  to  the  Riverside  Ab- 
stract Company,  and  has  continued  with  them  ever  since.  He  worked 
for  them  through  the  various  positions  until  he  is  now  its  vice  presi- 
dent. 

The  Riverside  Abstract  Company  was  organized  in  1894,  with  a 
capital  of  $62,000,  which  in  1911  was  increased  to  $100,000,  fully  paid 
and  out  of  this  company  in  1920  was  formed  the  Title  Insurance 
Company  of  Riverside,  in  which  Mr.  Courtney  is  one  of  the  stock- 
holders and  directors,  its  president  being  Frank  D.  Troth,  a 
sketch  of  whom  appears  elsewhere  in  this  work.  Under  the  laws  of 
this  state  the  company  deposited  with  the  state  treasurer  $100,000  a> 
a  permanent  guarantee  fund.  In  addition  to  this  it  is  required  to 
lay  by  ten  per  cent  of  every  dollar  collected,  as  premium  or  fees,  as 
a  special  reserve  fund  for  additional  protection  to  its  clients.  The 
combined  capital  and  surplus  of  the  parent  company  and  the  Title 
Insurance  Company  is  $215,000,  including  the  guarantee  fund  de- 
posited with  the  state  treasurer.  The  Title  Insurance  Company  of 
Riverside,  is  the  first  organization  of  its  kind  in  the  county,  and  is  a 
progressive  movement  in  insuring  titles  to  lands  within  its  borders. 

Mr.  Courtney  is  a  member  of  the  Riverside  Chamber  of  Commerce 
and  is  secretary  of  the  Riverside  Realty  Board.  He  is  a  member  of 
the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  Present  Day  Club,  and 
in  religious  faith  he  is  connected  with  the  First  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church.  Politically  he  is  a  republican,  and  an  active  one,  taking  a 
live  part  in  all  the  local  elections,  as  well  as  in  all  others. 

Mr.  Courtney  married  Miss  Anna  B.  Cook,  a  native  of  Ohio  and 
a  daughter  of  Augustus  Cook. 

Samuel  C.  Pine,  Sr.,  was  one  of  the  most  rugged  of  the  early 
pioneers  that  came  into  the  San  Bernardino  Valley,  and  the  family  he 
founded   here   has   proved   typical   of   his   virtues   and   hardy    manhood. 

He  was  born  in  St.  Lawrence  County,  New  York,  July  30,  1825,  and 
died  at  his  home  at  Rincon,  January  16,  1897.  His  father,  Joseph  Pine, 
was  a  native  of  Boston,  son  of  Captain  Pine,  who  participated  in  the 
battle  of  Lexington  at  the  beginning  of  the  Revolutionary  war.  Joseph 
Pine  was  a  minister  of  the  Congregational  Church,  and  in  1883  moved 
to  the  Western  Reserve  of  Ohio,  where  his  son  Samuel  grew  to  man- 
hood. Samuel  Pine  in  1850  equipped  an.  ox  team  in  Illinois  and  started 
across  the  plains  to  Fort  Bridges,  Wyoming.  There  for  several  years 
he  remained  operating  a  trading  post.  He  then  went  on  to  Salt  Lake, 
where  he  lived  about  four  years,  engaged  in  stock  raising.  He  never 
became  a  member  of  the  Mormon  Church,  though  he  paid  tithing  and 
while  in  Salt  Lake  punctually  attended  church. 

In  1858  he  left  Salt  Lake  bound  for  San  Bernardino,  California. 
As  he  was  leaving  the  authorities  at  Salt  Lake  demanded  his  best  ox 
team,  telling  him  the  Lord  needed  it.  However,  the  chief  intention  was 
to  delay  or  restrain  his  leaving  altogether.  He  had  been  frugal  and  had 
saved  money,  and  he  at  once  bought  another  yoke  of  oxen  and  joined 
the  train.  He  first  settled  in  the  Yucaipa  Valley,  where  he  became  a 
stock  raiser.     He  and  Frank  Talmadge  erected  and  operated  the   first 


1074      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

saw  mill  in  the  San  Bernardino  Mountain,  in  Little  Bear  Valley.  It 
was  a  water  power  mill.  He  moved  to  San  Bernardino,  then  to  Lytle 
Creek  in  1865,  next  to  Jurupa,  and  in  1867  he  purchased  a  squatter's 
claim  at  Rincon,  adjoining  the  Chino  ranch.  He  had  left  the  Little  Bear 
Valley  mill  fearing  Indian  attacks,  since  the  red  men  had  already  made 
hostile  demonstrations  against  the  mill  plant.  At  Rincon  he  acquired 
148  acres.  The  title  was  not  clear,  and  it  required  several  years  to  get 
a  Federal  patent.  He  improved  the  land,  planting  fruit  and  farming 
on  an  extensive  scale  there  until  his  death  in  1897. 

Samuel  C.  Pine  was  a  western  giant,  six  feet  four  and  a  quarter 
inches  tall,  spare,  large  boned,  weighing  235  pounds,  and  in  pioneer 
days  he  never  carried  a  pistol,  as  was  the  custom,  being  confident  of 
settling  all  disputes  with  his  bare  hands,  though  it  is  said  he  could  not 
run.  He  was  an  expert  hunter  and  a  sure  shot.  He  became  noted  in 
the  Yucaipa  Valley  as  having  the  best  brand  of  cattle  in  the  district. 
He  reared  his  family  with  the  same  honest,  hardy  principles  as  himself, 
and  his  sons  readily  followed  his  example  as  pioneers,  helping  improve 
the  wilderness  and  bringing  life  into  the  barren  desert. 

Mr.  Pine  married  Jane  Morrison,  daughter  of  John  and  Ellen  Morri- 
son, of  Buffalo,  New  York.  She  died  Thanksgiving  Day  of  1913.  The 
five  sons  of  this  union  were  all  reared  in  San  Bernardino  County.  The 
oldest,  Samuel,  was  born  in  Utah,  December  26,  1856.  Edward  and 
Edwin,  twins,  were  born  July  28,  1860,  in  Cottonwood  Row  at  old  San 
Bernardino.  Myron  was  born  May  22,  1868,  and  Dudley  was  born  at 
Rincon,  June  2,  1872. 

Samuel  Pine,  Jr.,  was  almost  a  life-long  resident  of  San  Bernardino 
County.  He  came  here  with  his  father,  the  late  Samuel  C.  Pine,  Sr.,  in 
the  manner  described  elsewhere,  and  he  married  here  into  another 
pioneer  family,  the  Gregorys.  The  two  families,  from  pioneer  days  to 
the  present,  have  been  among  the  most  substantial  citizens  of  this 
section. 

Samuel  Pine,  Jr.,  was  born  in  Utah,  December  26,  1856,  and  was 
less  than  two  years. of  age  when  his  parents  came  from  Salt  Lake  to 
San  Bernardino  in  1858.  As  soon  as  he  was  old  enough  he  began 
taking  part  in  the  labors  of  the  household,  and  was  associated  with  his 
father  until  1877,  when  he  pre-empted  130  acres  of  Government  land 
on  Pine  Avenue  and  Corona  Road.  This  he  developed  and  improved, 
and  on  it  put  down  one  of  the  first  artesian  wells  in  this  section.  He 
became  prosperous  as  a  general  farmer  and  dairyman.  On  leaving  the 
ranch  he  lived  for  some  years  in  San  Diego  County,  where  he  served 
as  county  road  overseer.  He  then  returned  to  his  home  ranch  and  in 
1902  was  elected  a  member  of  the  Board  of  County  Supervisors  of  San 
Bernardino  County,  representing  the  Fourth  District,  and  proved  an  in- 
valuable member  of  that  very  efficient  board.  He  was  active  in  the 
republican  party. 

Mr.  Pine  died  at  the  ranch  home  March  24,  1919.  He  added  sub- 
stantially to  his  holdings  and  he  prospered,  though  he  never  sought 
financial  assistance  from  his  father  and  needed  none,  and  depended 
upon  his  strength  and  manhood  to  achieve  success  for  himself  and 
family.  His  wife,  Beatrice  Gregory,  was  born  in  San  Bernardino 
October  13,  1859,  daughter  of  John  and  Marv  Ann  (Dunkerlv)  Gregory. 
Her  parents  were  natives  of  England,  became  converts  to  the  Mormon 
Church  there,  and  soon  after  their  marriage  thev  sailed  for  America, 
being  six  weeks  on  a  sailing  vessel  from  Liverpool  to  New  Orleans.  At 
first  they  tried  farming;  in  Mississippi.  The  leaders  of  the  church  ad- 
vised them  that  all  Mississippi  .would  sink  and  that  Utah  alone  would 


jrf/2^-t*<sts<i<  f/- 


'f^-K 


1783746 

SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1075 

be  safe,  and  as  good  church  people  at  that  time  they  left  Mississippi  and 
drove  a  team,  consisting  of  one  ox  and  one  cow,  all  the  way  to  Salt 
Lake  City.  They  milked  the  cow  night  and  morning  en  route,  and 
reached  their  destination  after  many  dangers  and  hardships.  They  were, 
part  of  a  large  train  made  up  of  ox  teams.  .The  men  would  drive  the 
oxen,  whip  in  one  hand  and  rifle  in  the  other,  and  frequently  Indians 
rode  about  them  in  circles  with  bent  bow  and  arrow  in  place.  They 
remained  in  Salt  Lake  two  years,  undergoing  a  period  of  great  stress 
and  imminent  starvation.  Then,  in  1851,  they  started  for  San  Bernardino, 
locating  there  with  the  old  Mormon  colony.  For  a  time  they  continued 
to  pay  tithing  to  the  Mormon  Church,  but  finally  recognized  the  inherent 
paucity  of  the  church  organization  and  abandoned  their  affiliations  alto- 
gether. John  Gregory  and  wife  had  five  children:  Alice,  Eliza,  Beatrice 
(who  is  Mrs.  Samuel  Pine),  John  and  Harriet.  Mrs.  Pine  and  her 
sisters  all  shared  in  the  work  of  the  home  during  the  early  days  in  San 
Bernardino  and  walked  two  miles  to  school.  She  and  her  sisters  fre- 
quently drove  the  ox  teams  to  haul  wood,  to  the  harrow  in  preparing  soil 
for  the  sowing  of  seed,  and  even  went  to  San  Bernardino  with  ox  teams. 
There  were  few  horses  at  the  time  and  no  carriages. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pine  reared  four  children.  The  oldest,  Rena  Belle 
Pine,  born  November  24,  1883,  is  a  highly  respected  and  influential  edu- 
cator and  a  teacher  in  the  San  Bernardino  High  School.  Samuel  John, 
born  March  3,  1895,  is  a  graduate  of  high  school  and  is  a  farmer. 
Mark  Pine,  born  January  15,  1897,  enlisted  in  the  navy  at  the  time 
of  the  World  war,  made  many  trips  across  the  Atlantic  as  a  convoy  of 
troop  ships,  and  was  in  mid-ocean  when  the  armistice  was  signed,  and 
he  and  his  comrades  partook  in  the  universal  rejoicing  at  the  news 
received  over  wireless.  After  leaving  the  navy  he  returnd  home  and 
is  now  a  farmer  and  dairyman  on  the  home  ranch.  Lorraine  Beatrice, 
the  youngest  child,  was  born  November  6,  1898,  is  a  graduate  of  high 
school  and  the  Universitv  of  California,  Southern  Branch,  and  is  now 
a  teacher.  She  is  the  wife  of  Merle  Haynes.  who  is  now  attending  the 
Oregon  Agricultural  College. 

Samuel  Pine,  Jr..  at  one  time  knew  every  resident  in  San  Bernardino 
County  when  it  comprised  Riverside  County.  He  was  as  well  known  and 
respected  as  this  acquaintance  would  indicate,  and  he  measured  up  to  the 
best  standards  of  good  citizenship.  Mrs.  Pine  and  familv  are  members 
of  the  Congregational  Church,  and  all  of  them  are  republicans. 

John  F.  Hanna. — While  he  has  made  considerable  investment,  has 
been  interested  and  is  still  interested  in  orange  culture  and  has  taken  an 
active  part  in  local  affairs,  John  F.  Hanna  practically  laid  aside  the  heavy 
responsibilities  of  his  business  career  when  he  came  to  Riverside  more 
than  fifteen  years  ago. 

Mr.  Hanna  was  associated  with  some  of  the  greatest  ranching  and 
livestock  enterprise  of  the  Middle  West,  and  has  a  verv  interestine  family 
record.  He  was  born  in  Crawford  Countv.  Ohio.  September  18.  1847. 
His  parents  were  Samuel  and  Catherine  (HofmaiU  Hanna.  both  natives 
of  Pennsylvania,  his  mother  of  Pennsylvania  Dutch  descent.  His  father 
was  of  an  old  American  familv  of  Scotch-Irish  descent,  established  in 
the  Colonies  before  the  Revolutionary  war.  One  branch  of  the  familv 
was  represented  bv  the  great  Ohio  politician  and  party  leader.  Mark 
Hanna.  Samuel  Hanna  was  a  youth  when  he  accompanied  his  father 
to  Ohio  and  settled  in  the  timber  and  develooed  a  farm  out  of  the  woods 
in  Crawford  County.  Because  of  physical  incapacity  Samuel  Hanna 
could  not  qualify  for  seryire  in  the  Civil  war.     He  was  a  United  Presbv- 


1076      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

terian,  and  for  many  years  was  closely  identified  with  that  sturdy  sect. 
He  was  musically  gifted,  with  a  fine  tenor  voice,  and  sang  in  church  and 
at  many  large  conventions. 

John  F.  Hanna  was  educated  in  private  schools  in  Ohio  and  in  the 
Savannah  Academy  in  that  state.  His  early  life  was  spent  on  a  farm, 
and  after  the  death  of  his  father  he  took  the  management  of  the  old 
homestead.  At  the  age  of  twenty-seven  John  F.  Hanna  married  a 
daughter  of  David  Rankin,  who  was  one  of  the  world's  greatest  farmers 
and  stockmen.  At  that  time  David  Rankin's  interests  were  largely  cen- 
tered in  Illinois  in  the  corn  belt.  John  F.  Hanna  after  his  marriage  be- 
came foreman  of  the  Rankin  ranch  at  Biggsville,  Illinois,  remaining 
there  two  and  a  half  years,  and  then  took  charge  of  another  Rankin  farm 
twelve  miles  south,  operating  it  in  partnership  with  Mr.  Rankin.  After 
three  years  Mr.  Hanna  moved  to  Northwestern  Missouri,  where  David 
Rankin  had  bought  some  thirty  thousand  acres  of  land.  A  large  part 
of  this  was  planted  to  corn,  and  the  immense  industry  thus  entailed 
made  Rankin  known  as  the  "corn  king  of  Missouri."  David  Rankin  also 
became  founder  of  the  new  town  of  Tarkio,  and  John  F.  Hanna  was 
associated  with  him  in  the  early  days  of  that  substantial  old  college  town. 
He  was  associated  there  in  the  mercantile  business  with  Mr.  Rankin  and 
Mr.  Hunter.  He  also  bought  1,280  acres  four  miles  east  of  Tarkio,  and 
farmed  it  for  many  years,  and  his  sons  still  operate  this  tract.  Mr. 
Hanna  was  identified  with  the  first  store  at  Tarkio,  and  this  store  sold 
ninety  thousand  dollars  worth  of  goods  the  first  vear.  David  Rankin 
and  family  were  among  the  most  generous  contributors  to  the  United 
Presbyterian  School,  Tarkio  College,  and  John  F.  Hanna  for  many  years 
was  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Trustees  of  the  college. 

Mr.  Hanna  came  to  Riverside  in  1906  and  bought  an  orange  grove  of 
nine  and  a  half  acres  on  Victoria  Avenue.  This  grove  he  sold  recently, 
but  is  still  interested  in  other  groves.  He  is  a  lover  of  Riverside  both 
for  its  natural  attractions  and  as  a  community.  He  has  been  a  member 
of  the  City  Council  and  acted  as  mavor  for  about  six  weeks  while  W.  L. 
Peters  was  absent  from  the  city.  For  three  vears  he  was  president  of 
the  City  Council.  Mr.  Hanna  has  been  a  determined  opponent  of  the 
liquor  traffic  all  his  life.  He  became  identified  with  the  prohibition  cause 
while  living  in  Ohio,  continued  this  interest  while  in  Missouri,  and  after 
coming  to  California  served  as  president  of  the  Riverside  Countv  Drv 
Federation  and  was  once  its  treasurer.  He  has  been  active  in  republican 
politics,  and  his  personal  patriotism  is  as  deep  seated  as  that  of  the  familv 
of  which  he  is  a  member.  As  a  vouth  he  ran  awav  from  home  and  tried 
to  get  into  the  Union  Armv.  hut  his  fa+her  took  him  back.  He  has  been 
an  elder  in  the  United  Presbvterian  Church  since  he  was  twentv-one. 
and  altogether  has  served  as  Sundav  School  superintendent  twenty- 
five  years  and  still  teaches  a  class.  He  and  Mrs.  Hanna  practically  or- 
ganized the  United  Presbyterians  at  Riverside. 

Mr.  Hanna  married  Miss  Nettie  V.  Rankin,  who  was  born  in  Illinois. 
Her  brother,  John  Rankin,  is  president  of  the  Rankin  Farm  Corporation. 
Her  youngest  brother.  \V.  F.  Rankin,  died  several  years  a^o.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Hanna  return  to  Missouri  everv  summer,  drive  about  over  the 
ranch  and  the  district,  and  visit  old  friends  and  associates.  The  two 
sons  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hanna  are  Charles  R.  and  lohn  Winfield  Hanna. 
Charles  married  Miss  Winifred  McCausjhan.  a  native  of  Iowa.  Her 
father  spent  his  last  davs  in  Duraneo.  Mexico.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Charles 
Hanna  have  four  children  :  Dorothv.  Phillis.  Charles  Frederick  and  Robert. 
John  Winfield,  Jr.,  who  married  F.lla  G.  Gibson,  a  native  of  Towa.  has  two 
children.  John,  Jr.  and  Patricia.     The  younger  son  of  Mr.  Hanna,  John 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1077 

Winfield  Hanna,  is  vice  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Tarkio 
and  vice  president  of  the  Rankin  Farm  Corporation.  These  sons  live 
at  Tarkio,  are  graduates  of  Tarkio  College  and  Princeton  University 
and  they  have  the  active  management  of  the  Hanna  farms  and  also  the 
portion  of  the  great  Rankin  estate  owned  by  Mrs.   Hanna. 

Judge  Hiram  C.  Hibbard,  well  known  and  popular  attorney  of  River- 
side, comes  almost  under  the  head  of  pioneer,  for  he  has  practiced  con- 
tinuously in  that  city  since  1886,  and  no  one  stands  higher  with  the 
legal  profession  or  the  people  of  the  district.  He  has  also  served  twelve 
years  as  justice  of  the  peace  and  has  gained  the  soubriquet  of  the  "marry- 
ing justice"  on  account  of  the  many  ceremonies  he  has  performed. 

Judge  Hibbard  has  all  his  life  been  active  in  politics,  and  prior  to  re- 
moving to  Riverside  held  many  public  positions,  and  since  then  has 
served  his  party  well  in  various  capacities. 

He  was  born  in  Fulton  County,  Illinois,  March  28.  1847.  His  father 
was  James  A.  Hibbard,  a  native  of  New  York,  by  occupation  a  farmer. 
He  was  for  a  time  county  commissioner  of  Johnson  County,  Kansas, 
where  he  moved  after  the  Civil  war.  He  comes  of  an  old  American 
family  of  pre-Revolutionary  stock  and  of  Scotch  ancestry.  The  mother 
of  Judge  Hibbard  was  Jeannette  F.  (Webster)  Hibbard,  a  native  of  New 
York  and  descended  from  an  old  American  family  of  English  descent. 

Judge  Hibbard  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  high  -school 
in  Kansas,  and  for  a  short  time  in  the  University  of  Kansas.  Prior  to 
going  to  the  University  he  enlisted  for  service  in  the  war  of  1862,  first 
as  a  teamster  with  the  army  in  Arkansas  and  Missouri,  but  was  home  in 
1863  on  account  of  illness.  On  January  28,  1864,  he  joined  Company  I, 
Eighth  Illinois  Cavalrv.  and  served  until  the  end  of  the  war,  receiving 
his  discharge  in  July,  1865.  He  was  with  the  Army  of  the  Potomac,  under 
General  Lew  Wallace,  engaging  in  the  battle  of  Monocacy,  which  Wallace 
claimed  prevented  Early   from  getting  into  Washington. 

Judge  Hibbard  returned  to  Illinois,  and  later  joined  his  father  in 
Kansas,  on  a  farm  near  Olathe.  He  attended  private  and  public  schools 
then,  and  the  University  of  Kansas  at  Lawrence.  He  taught  school  in 
Kansas  for  six  vears.  and  while  so  engaged  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in 
that  state,  and  has  followed  that  profession  ever  since.  He  practiced 
law  in  Kansas  until  the  fall  of  1886,  and  then  came  directly  to  River- 
side. He  had  been  West  during  the  summer  of  that  vear  on  an  exploring 
expedition,  and  Riverside  came  nearest  to  being  what  he  was  looking  for, 
an  ideal  location  for  a  permanent  home. 

Here  he  commenced  practice  on  February  8.  1887,  and  for  over 
thirtv-one  vears  had  the  same  offices  in  the  Central  Block. 

In  politics  lie  is  a  republican,  and  has  alwavs  taken  an  active  part, 
serving  as  a  deleeate  in  both  state  and  countv  conventions  in  Kansas,  on 
countv  convention^;  in  California,  and  has  served  on  the  County  Central 
Committees  in  both  California  and  Kansas.  He  was  superintendent  of 
nublic  instruction  for  five  vears  in  Kansas  and  was  also  countv  clerk 
for  one  term  in  Pussell  Conn^v.  Kansas.  With  hut  a  few  intervals  during 
his  service  he  has  occupied  the  position  of  justice  of  the  peace  of  River- 
side County   for  twelve  vears. 

He  is  a  member  of  Riverside  Post.  C,.  A  P.  of  which  lie  was  com- 
mander in  1800.  He  has  been  a  member  of  this  post  since  coming  to 
Riverside.  He  was  also  commander  of  the  post  in  Kansas  during  his 
residence  there.  He  is  a  Mason  and  is  a  past  his/h  priest  of  the  Roval 
Arch  Chapter.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
and  has  been   through   all  the  chairs  of  the   local   lodge.     He   was   past 


1078      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

grand  of  the  Kansas  Lodge  with  which  he  was  affiliated.  He  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Improved  Order  of  Red  Men,  and  has  been  through  the 
chairs  of  the  local  lodge  and  was  great  sachem  of  the  state  during  the 
years  1912-13.  Judge  Hibbard  is  also  a  member  of  the  Independent 
Order  of  Foresters,  and  has  been  through  the  chairs  of  the  local  court, 
of  which  he  is  a  past  chief  ranger.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Foresters  of 
America  and  is  a  past  chief  ranger.  He  was  a  Maccabee  until  the  age 
of  retirement,  and  has  been  through  the  chairs  of  that  order.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Junior  Order  United  American  Mechanics,  through  the 
chairs,  and  is  a  past  chief  counsellor,  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Fra- 
ternal Brotherhood,  of  which  he  has  been  through  the  chairs  and  of  which 
he  is  a  past  president. 

He  married  on  September  18,  1878,  in  Russell,  Kansas,  Sonora  L. 
White,  a  native  of  Indiana.  She  died  in  Riverside  in  January,  1889. 
They  had  one  son,  Duane  Hibbard,  a  resident  of  Oakland,  California. 

Judge  Hibbard  married  on  July  15,  1908,  in  San  Diego,  Julia  Yerger, 
a  native  of  Kentucky  and  a  daughter  of  Charles  Stoessel. 

Jesse  Lee  Granttham. — The  life  record  of  Jesse  Lee  Granttham  in 
all  its  varied  phases  is  one  which  reflects  honor  and  dignity  upon  Riverside, 
where  he  is  engaged  in  an  active  practice  as  an  attorney,  and  upon  his 
own  capabilities,  which  are  unrestricted.  The  history  of  no  citizen  of 
this  region  has  been  more  fearless  in  conduct,  more  constant  in  service, 
and  more  stainless  in  reputation.  He  has  a  love  for  the  city  of  his 
adoption  which  he  manifests  in  many  ways  for  the  municipal  develop- 
ment and  welfare,  and  in  return  is  accorded  the  respect  and  esteem  of 
his  fellow  men. 

The  birth  of  Jesse  Lee  Granttham  occurred  in  Jackson  County.  Flor- 
ida, September  2.  1873.  He  is  a  son  of  Tesse  Jackson  and  Sally  (Lane) 
Granttham,  the  former,  now  deceased,  beiner  a  native  of  Georgia.  He 
was  a  minister  of  the  Missionary  Baptist  Church,  and  came  of  an  old 
American  family,  which  was  founded  in  the  American  Colonies  by  an- 
cestors who  came  here  from  England  and  located  in  New  Hampshire, 
where  the  town  of  Granttham  was  named  in  their  honor.  Representa- 
tives of  the  family  fought  in  the  American  Revolution  with  distinction 
and  courage,  and  others  through  the  succeeding  vears  have  been  equally 
steadfast  as  men  of  peace.  The  Granttham  University  of  New  Hamp- 
shire, named  in  honor  of  the  family,  proves  that  it  was  well  represented 
bv  men  of  letters.  Mrs.  Granttham.  also  now  deceased,  belonged  to  the 
old  Southern  family  of  Lanes,  of  English  descent,  and  she,  too,  was  born 
in  Georgia. 

When  Jesse  Lee  Granttham  was  still  a  small  child  the  Grantthams 
settled  in  the  country  near  where  Arabia,  Georgia,  is  now  located,  and 
he  was  reared  in  an  old  fashion  country  home  of  cultured  interests, 
where  his  ambition  was  stimulated  and  his  intellect  developed.  He  was 
sent  to  the  grade  and  high  schools  of  Arabia,  and  spent  three  years 
at  the  State  Normal  School  and  two  years  at  the  State  University,  both 
at  Athens,  Georgia,  and  then  went  to  Mercer  University  at  Macon. 
Georgia,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1906,  with  the  degree  of 
Bachelor  of  Laws.  In  order  to  secure  the  money  to  prepare  himself 
for  the  profession  he  decided  to  enter,  it  was  necessary  for  him  to  take 
the  course  at  the  State  Normal  School  at  Athens,  Georgia,  where  he 
graduated,  and  then  taught  school  at  intervals  until  he  completed  his 
training. 

Following  his  admission  to  the  bar.  which  followed  the  securing  of 
his  degree,  he  began  the  practice  of  law  in  Randolph  County,  Georgia, 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1079 

and  remained  in  that  neighborhood  for  four  years.  Deciding  upon  going 
into  a  newer  territory,  he  went  to  Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  and  participated 
in  some  of  the  stirring  events  of  the  development  of  that  city  during 
one  year.  His  attention  was  then  turned  to  Riverside,  California,  and 
he  came  here,  but  his  fame  as  an  educator  preceded  him  and  he  was  in- 
duced to  assume  the  duties  as  principal  of  the  Riverside  Business  Col- 
lege, and  he  held  that  position  for  eight  years.  In  1919  he  and  C.  W. 
Benshoff  formed  a  partnership  for  the  practice  of  the  law,  and  remained 
together  until  December,  1920,  when  their  association  was  dissolved  and 
Mr.   Granttham  has   since  remained  alone. 

An  ardent  democrat,  he  was  very  active  in  party  matters  while  residing 
in  Georgia,  representing  it  in  county  and  state  conventions  and  as  a 
member  of  the  Democratic  County  Central  Committee.  He  is  a  Chapter 
and  Commandery  Mason,  and  also  belongs  to  the  Woodmen  of  the  World. 
The  First  Methodist  Church  of  Riverside  is  his  religious  home,  and  lit- 
is now  superintendent  of  the  membership  board  of  that  institution. 

In  September,  1900,  Mr.  Granttham  married  at  Hartsfield,  Georgia, 
Dora  Red,  a  native  of  Georgia  and  a  daughter  of  J.  H.  Red.  now  deceased, 
who  was  a  farmer  of  Georgia,  and  during  the  war  between  the  states 
served  in  the  Confederate  Army.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Granttham  have  seven 
living  children,  namely:  Verdie,  who  is  the  wife  of  Harold  J.  May,  of  Riv- 
erside, a  soldier  in  the  United  States  Army ;  Otis  J.  and  Olin  Earl,  both 
of  whom  are  students  in  the  Riverside  High  School ;  Jesse  Lee,  Llovd 
Zinn  and  Dora  Emma,  all  of  whom  are  students  of  the  graded  schools ; 
and  Theora  Wilma,  who  is  the  youngest.  They  lost  one  son,  James  Gor- 
don Granttham. 

In  addition  to  his  educational  and  professional  labors  Mr.  Granttham 
has  been  useful  in  other  directions.  He  has  invested  in  several  com- 
mercial enterprises  at  Riverside,  and  at  one  time  was  interested  in  agri- 
cultural matters,  but  has  since  disposed  of  his  farm  land.  While  his  suc- 
cess in  all  these  matters  has  entitled  him  to  be  regarded  as  a  prosperous 
man,  Mr.  Granttham  possesses,  moreover,  those  traits  of  personal  charac- 
ter which  make  him  a  popular  man.  Genial,  courteous  and  kindly,  no  one 
is  more  welcome  at  anv  gathering  than  he.  His  ability  as  a  lawyer  was 
confirmed  while  he  was  still  in  practice  in  Georgia,  and  his  services 
are  now  in  great  demand  by  those  who  desire  one  who  will  give  to  his 
client's  cause  all  the  vigor  and  earnestness,  diligence  and  devotion  in 
his  power. 

William  Henry  Lindley — The  development  of  a  new  country  is 
a  task  requiring  men  of  real  manhood,  physical  strength,  endurance,  per- 
severance, and  a  fortitude  of  character  that  is  not  deterred  by  any  ob- 
stacle or  discouragement.  One  of  the  true  pioneers  who  measured  up 
in  every  sense  to  these  qualifications  was  the  late  William  Henry  Lind- 
ley of  Ontario. 

He  was  born  Januarv  22,  1853,  at  Mazomanie  in  Dane  County,  Wis- 
consin. His  parents,  Henrv  and  Sarah  (Bagnall)  Lindley.  were  born 
and  reared  in  Yorkshire,  England,  were  married  there,  and  after  the 
birth  of  several  of  their  children  came  to  America  in  a  sailing  vessel. 
They  were  territorial  settlers  in  Wisconsin,  where  they  took  up  and 
improved  a  tract  of  Government  land,  and  lived  there  when  life  was 
oeculiarlv  trying  and  subject  to  manv  hardships.  The  late  William 
Henry  Lindley  was  one  of  seventeen  children.  Tn  such  a  large  house- 
hold and  in  a  section  so  recently  redeemed  from  the  wilderness  he  came 
face  to  face  with  the  serious  responsibilities  of  life  and  his  lot  was 
that  of  incessant  toil  from  an  early  age.  Only  in  later  years  did  he 
Vol.  HI     :: 


lObU      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

acquire  the  education  which  characterized  him  during  his  life  in  Cali- 
fornia as  a  man  of  exceptional  culture  and  refinement. 

On  January  29,  1879,  in  St.  Barnabas  Church  at  Mazomanie,  Wis- 
consin, he  married  Miss  Emmie  Puzey.  She  was  born  at  Madison, 
Wisconsin,  September  20,  1857,  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Mary  (Mac- 
donald)  Puzey,  her  father  a  native  of  England  and  her  mother  of  Scot- 
land. She,  with  her  parents,  later  lived  in  England  for  some  time  while 
she  was  a  child. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Lindley  resorted  to  farming  as  a  means  of 
livelihood.  He  and  his  brother  John  early  became  associated  as  partners, 
and  their  relationship  was  one  of  extreme  satisfaction  as  well  as  busi- 
ness success.  In  1886  they  spent  a  winter  visiting  Mr.  Lindley's  parents 
in  California.  They  went  back  to  Wisconsin,  subsequently  sold  their 
interests,  and  on  Starch  17,  1888,  arrived  to  make  their  home  at 
Ontario.  William  H.  Lindley  at  once  bought  land  on  West  A  Street, 
where  he  erected  a  small  home  recently  replaced  by  the  large  and 
elegant  modern  residence  which  is  the,  home  of  his  family.  The  brothers 
as  partners  bought  ten  acres  of  unimproved  land  on  I  Street.  With 
great  determination  and  much  labor  they  set  it  to  oranges  and  then 
repeatedly,  as  they  could  finance  their  operations,  they  bought  and  devel- 
oped tracts  of  desert  land.  In  order  to  meet  expenses  during  this  stage 
of  their  fortunes  they  took  contracts  for  planting  and  caring  for  the 
orchards  of  non-resident  owners,  and  in  this  way  they  bought  additional 
tracts  of  their  own  and  maintained  the  young  orchards  until  they 
came  into  bearing.  Later  the  income  from  their  producing  groves  was 
employed  to  acquire  other  planted  land,  until  finally  a  very  large  and 
valuable  acreage  of  citrus  fruit  was  credited  to  the  ownership  of  these 
pioneer  brothers,  who  altogether  performed  an  enormous  amount  of  the 
labor  involved  in  making  Ontario  one  of  the  leading  horticultural 
centers  of  this  state.  The  Lindley  brothers  also  conducted  a  large 
nursery  for  the  supply  of  orange  and  lemon  stock. 

In  1902  John  Lindley,  desirous  of  accepting  a  business  opportunity 
in  Azusa,  sold  his  holdings  to  his  brother,  and  this  terminated  the  long, 
satisfactory  and  successful  partnership.  William  Lindley  then  con- 
tinued the  supervision  of  his  orange  groves  and  other  holdings  until 
his  death,  which  occurred  at  Ontario  June  10.  1918.  He  never  inherited 
any  money,  and  his  life  was  an  example  of  self-development  of  his 
powers  and  resources.  As  a  vouth  he  had  many  rough  experiences 
in  the  new  country  of  Wisconsin,  and  the  ability  to  work  hard  was  an 
important  factor  in  the  success  he  achieved  in  California.  He  was  a 
devout  Catholic,  and  contributed  liberallv  to  the  building  and  main- 
tenance of  St.  George's  Church  at  Ontario.  He  was  also  a  Knight  of 
Columbus,  as  are  his  three  sons.  He  was  a  life-long  republican  and 
devoted  to  the  tariff  principles  of  that  partv. 

Seven  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  H.  Lindley. 
the  first  three,  one  dying  in  infancy,  born  in  Wisconsin  and  the  vounger 
ones  in  Ontario.  Frances,  the  oldest,  was  graduated  from  Ramona 
Convent,  and  is  the  wife  of  Joseph  C.  Muehe,  a  prominent  citizen  and 
cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Azusa.  Angus  Reginald  was 
graduated  from  St.  Vincent's  College  at  Los  Angeles,  and  later  from 
the  University  of  Southern  California  law  school.  He  is  now  one  of 
the  prominent  members  of  the  Los  Angeles  bar.  He  married  Miss  Ida 
Botiller,  member  of  an  old  Spanish  and  French  family  of  Los  Angeles. 
He  was  taking  officers  training  at  Camp  Zachary  Taylor,  Kentucky, 
when  the  war  ended.  Mary  Lindlev.  who  finished  her  education  in 
Ramona  Convent,  is  the  wife  of  Charles  Henderson  Ripple,  an  account- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1081 

ant  for  the  Exchange  Product  Company  of  San  Dimas  and  a  resident 
of  Pomona.  Their  two  children  are  Charles  Lindley  and  Mary  Geral- 
dine  Ripple.  The  fourth  child  in  the  family  is  Joseph  Puzey  Lindley, 
who  was  educated  in  Santa  Clara  College,  now  Santa  Clara  University, 
graduating  Bachelor  of  Science,  and  is  a  law  graduate  of  the  University 
of  Southern  California.  He  had  a  profitable  law  practice  for  several 
years,  but  in  1914  determined  to  give  up  his  profession  and  join  his 
father,  and  took  an  active  share  in  the  management  of  the  citrus  or- 
chards. Since  the  death  of  his  father  in  1918  he  has  assumed  the 
chief  responsibilities  of  managing  the  splendid  property.  He  married 
Miss  Lucilla  Wilson,  a  native  of  Ireland  and  member  of  a  prominent 
family  of  Portland,  Oregon. 

William  Rhoderick  Lindley,  born  November  25,  1896,  was  educated 
in  Santa  Clara  University.  He  volunteered  for  service  in  the  World 
war  and  was  assigned  to  Base  Hospital  No.  50.  He  was  first  in  training 
at  Camp  Fremont  at  Palo  Alto,  and  then  went  to  France  and  was  on 
duty  for  thirteen  months  in  the  hospitals  at  Nevers  and  Bar  le  Due.  After 
his  return  he  was  honorably  discharged  and  is  now  a  successful  orange 
grower  at  Ontario.  In  July,  1921,  he  married  Miss  Mary  Macan,  a 
native  of  London,  England. 

The  sixth  and  youngest  of  the  family  is  Miss  Jessie  Lindley,  a 
graduate  of  Ramona  Convent. 

William  L.  Peters,  of  Riverside,  is  one  of  the  many  substantial 
residents  of  Riverside  County  to  whom  this  region  owes  a  heavy  debt, 
for  back  of  practically  every  project  of  moment  which  has  been  pro- 
jected and  carried  through  to  a  successful  completion  he  has  stood 
ready  to  contribute  generously  of  his  time,  his  mental  equipment  and 
his  money. 

William  L.  Peters  was  born  at  Columbus,  Ohio,  October  3,  1864, 
a  son  of  George  M,  and  Caroline  L.  (Krag)  Peters.  George  M. 
Peters,  a  native  of  Ohio,  died  in  1897.  He  was  the  organizer  and 
head  of  the  Columbus  Buggy  Company.  A  self-made  man,  a  carriage 
painter  by  trade,  he  learned  the  business  of  carriage  manufacturing 
in  the  old-fashioned  way.  He  was  thus  familiar  with  every  detail  of 
the  business,  so  that  when  he  began  to  manufacture  buggies  his  suc- 
cess was  certain,  and  he  steadily  progressed  and  built  up  a  large  trade. 
He  was  one  of  the  first  manufacturers  in  the  United  States  to  adopt 
the  subdivision-of-labor  plan,  and  to  standardize  his  parts  so  as  to 
make  them  interchangeable.  A  man  of  unusual  character,  he  stood 
high  in  his  community,  was  always  active  in  the  work  of  the  Young 
Men's  Christian  Association  and  was  a  very  active  member  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  His  family  is  one  of  the  old-established 
ones  of  this  country,  and  is  of  English  origin  and  Revolutionary 
stock.  His  wife,  a  native  of  Ohio,  died  in  December,  1915.  Her 
family  originated  in  Alsace-Lorraine,  France. 

William  L.  Peters  attended  the  graded  and  high  schools  of  Colum- 
bus, Ohio,  and  the  Ohio  State  University,  from  which  he  was  grad- 
uated in  1885,  with  the  degree  of  Mechanical  Engineer.  During  his 
university  course  he  had  military  training,  and  at  its  close  was  rank- 
ing officer,  his  title  being  captain  and  adjutant. 

Returning  home,  Mr.  Peters  entered  his  father's  factory  with  the 
intention  of  learning  the  business  in  all  of  the  departments  from  the 
bench  up,  so  as  to  be  able  to  supervise  all  of  its  operations  when  he 
would  succeed  his  father  in  the  course  of  time.  After  two  years  he 
found  it  was  impossible  for  him  to  continue  these  plans,  as  his  wife 


1082       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

lost  her  health,  and,  acting  under  the  orders  of  her  physician,  he  came 
West  and  located  at  Riverside,  California.  He  brought  with  him  a 
carriage  which  was  almost  wholly  of  his  own  construction,  and  three 
days  after  his  arrival  he  engaged  in  the  carriage-selling  business.  In 
December,  1887,  Mr.  Peters  and  George  R.  Thayer  formed  a  partner- 
ship and  purchased  the  carriage  and  implement  business  of  Clarence 
Stewart,  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Riverside.  This  enterprise  prospered 
from  the  start,  and  to  such  an  extent  that  in  1888  they  opened  a  branch 
at  San  Bernardino,  purchasing  the  business  there  owned  by  C.  E. 
Lehman.  The  San  Bernardino  branch  was  continued  until  1898.  In 
1891  Mr.  Peters  bought  out  Mr.  Thayer's  interest  and  continued  the 
business  alone.  He  acted  as  agent  for  the  Columbus  Buggy  Corn- 
pan)'  and  for  other  well-known  manufacturers  of  buggies,  and  con- 
tinued the  Riverside  business  until  1900,  when  it  was  sold  to  Thomas 
J.  Wilson,  who  moved  the  stock  to  San  Bernardino.  Mr.  Peters  con- 
tinued in  the  bicycle  business,  which  had  been  included  with  the  car- 
riage and  implement  business,  until  1902. 

From  1900  until  1913  Mr.  Peters  was  engaged  with  Senator  S. 
C.  Evans  in  the  development  of  a  large  apple  and  cherry  growing 
company,  operating  a  tract  of  land  in  the  Yucaipa  Valley  formerly 
owned  by  T.  J.  Wilson.  This  project  was  one  of  the  pioneer  develop- 
ments of  this  fertile  valley,  and  the  success  of  its  promoters  encour- 
aged others,  and  is  cited  to  this  day  to  stimulate  present  investors. 
This  company  owned  about  570  acres,  and  put  in  about  seventy-five 
acres  in  apples  and  cherries.  They  made  a  somewhat  extensive  water 
development  for  irrigation,  and  were  the  first  to  put  out  a  commercial 
pack  in  the  proper  form  under  the  name  of  "Old  Grayback."  Messrs. 
Peters  and  Evans,  Andrew  Brothers  and  several  other  pioneers  are 
probablv  responsible  for  the  development  of  the  whole  Yucaipa  Val- 
ley. 

In  1902  Mr.  Peters  with  P.  T.  Evans,  D.  D.  Gage,  formerly  of 
Riverside,  the  Chase  Nursery  Company  and  others  developed  eighty 
acres  in  oranges  for  the  Oasis  Orange  Company  in  what  is  known 
as  Oasis.  They  sunk  artesian  wells,  and  as  far  as  is  known  this  was 
the  first  commercial  grove  of  oranges  in  the  Coachella  or  Imperial 
Valley.  He  was  also  interested  with  D.  D.  Gage  in  the  development 
of  what  was  the  Foothill  Tract,  and  what  is  now  known  as  the  Alvord 
Ranch.  This  property  consisted  of  225  acres  of  oranges  and  alfalfa. 
Since  the  development  of  these  various  properties  Mr.  Peters  has 
devoted  his  time  to  the  care  of  his  varied  realty  holdings  and  business 
interests  at  Riverside  and  elsewhere.  In  1906  he  was  one  of  the  or- 
ganizers of  the  National  Bank  of  Riverside,  and  has  since  served  it 
as  one  of  its  directors,  and  during  1918,  one  of  the  most  critical  periods 
in  the  financial  history  of  the  country,  he  was  its  president.  Mr. 
Peters  is  now  developing  some  properties  in  Tulare  and  Kern  coun- 
ties, and  still  owns  some  orange  and  agricultural  properties  in  River- 
side and  San  Bernardino  counties. 

In  politics  Mr.  Peters  is  a  republican,  and  has  always  taken  an 
active  part  in  local  affairs.  He  has  represented  his  party  in  city  and 
county  conventions,  and  served  on  the  Progressive-Republican  County 
Central  Committee.  His  work  in  politics,  however,  has  been  of  a  still 
more  arduous  character.  In  1898  he  was  elected  a  trustee  for  River- 
side, and  he  served  as  such  until  1902,  and  during  that  period  a  large 
part  of  the  business  of  the  municipal  electric  light  plant  was  de- 
veloped. Many  strong  foundation  policies  were  established  and  set- 
tled in  those  four  years  when  the  plant  was  poorly  financed.     Hard 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1083 

fighting  was  required  to  get  any  measure  adopted  which  called  for 
necessary  funds,  but  the  trustees  were  men  who  were  capable  of 
handling  the  situation,  and  before  they  left  office  had  the  satisfaction 
of  seeing  the  plant  in  excellent  condition,  and  a  going  and  profitable 
city-  property. 

In  1901  two  pioneer  contracts  for  electric  light  and  power  were 
made;  one  with  Prof.  C.  G.  Baldwin  on  Mill  Creek;  and  one  with 
ludge  John  F.  Campbell  of  San  Bernardino  on  Lytle  Creek,  by  which 
the  city  would  have  been  assured  ample,  low-priced  electric  power 
developed  by  modern  Hydro-electric  generators  on  these  two  streams, 
and  by  which  the  city  in  thirty  years,  without  other  payment,  would 
become  the  owner  and  operator.  The  contracts  were  signed,  but 
owing  to  the  failure  of  parties  to  finance  the  project  the  deals  were 
not  consummated. 

In  1903  or  1904  the  Board  of  Trustees  entered  into  a  contract  to 
acquire  a  water  power  electric  plant  on  the  Santa  Ana  River,  just  be- 
low Riverside,  for  $180,000.  Mr.  Peters  was  almost  alone  in  his  op- 
position to  it,  and  fought  it  practically  single-handed,  making  it  an 
issue  in  the  city  election.  The  project  was  defeated,  and  the  wisdom 
of  his  opposition  was  demonstrated  when  the  plant  was  washed  out 
and  rendered  worthless  in  later  years. 

From  1902  to  1907  Mr.  Peters  was  trustee  and  secretary  of  the 
Riverside  Public  Library,  and  in  1906  and  1907  was  secretary  of  the 
Board  of  Freeholders  that  formed  the  present  city  charter,  and  under 
that  charter  took  office  as  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Public  Utilities 
at  its  inception  in  1907  and  served  until  1910,  when  he  declined  a  re- 
appointment at  the  hands  of  Mayor  S.  C.  Evans.  It  was  during  his 
incumbency  in  office  that  the  Board  of  Public  Utilities  systemitized 
the  accounting  of  the  electric  light  department  and  placed  it  on  a 
modern  basis.  This  same  board  developed  the  present  concrete  posts 
for  street  lighting. 

In  1912  Mr.  Peters  succeeded  Mayor  Evans  as  mayor  of  River- 
side, and  served  for  one  term,  or  until  1914.  During  this  term  as 
mayor  the  present  municipal  water  system  was  acquired  and  plans 
laid  for  the  acquisition,  consolidation  and  extension  of  the  three 
existing  water  companies.  They  were  the  domestic  system  of  the 
Riverside  Water  Company,  supplying  the  west  side  and  the  valley 
side  of  the  city ;  the  Artesia  Water  Company,  supplying  most  of  the 
east  side ;  and  the  H.  P.  Keyes  Water  Company,  supplying  the  Keyes 
Addition.  Bonds  were  issued  for  $1,160,000,  and  the  city  took  over 
the  three  companies,  consolidated  them  and  made  the  necessary  con- 
nections and  extensions.  Another  feature  of  his  administration  was 
the  stand  he  took  with  reference  to  prohibition.  Through  his  earnest 
efforts  and  despite  intense  and  bitter  opposition  the  law  was  rigidly 
enforced.  Threats  of  a  recall  were  made,  but  came  to  naught.  An- 
other public  duty  capably  discharged  by  Mr.  Peters  was  that  of 
president  of  the  Board  of  City  Accounting,  which  office  he  held  dur- 
ing 1907. 

On  October  12,  1886,  Mr.  Peters  married  at  Richmond,  Indiana, 
Cora  Belle  Van  Aernam,  a  native  of  that  city,  and  a  daughter  of 
Thomas  B.  and  Ffuldah  A.  Van  Aernam.  Mr.  Aernam,  now  deceased, 
was  in  early  life  a  wholesale  merchant.  His  widow,  now  an  aged  lady 
over  eighty  years  of  age,  resides  with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Peters. 
The  Van  Aernams  are  of  Revolutionary  stock  and  of  Holland-Dutch 
descent.  Mrs.  Peters  is  a  descendant  of  William  Penn.  and  was 
educated  in  a  Quaker  academy  at  Richmond,  Indiana,  and  in  Earlham 


1084      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

College,  also  in  Richmond,  which  is  a  Quaker  settlement.  Mrs. 
Peters  belongs  to  the  Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution.  She 
and  Mr.  Peters  have  no  children. 

Mr.  Peters  belongs  to  a  number  of  organizations,  college,  muni- 
cipal, social  and  benevolent,  among  them  being  the  Phi  Kappa  Psi 
college  fraternity,  the  National  Municipal  League,  the  American 
Economic  Association,  the  National  Economic  League,  the  American 
Political  Science  Association,  the  Pioneers'  Society,  the  Present  Day 
Club,  which  he  helped  to  organize,  the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  of 
which  he  was  at  one  time  vice  president,  and  at  one  time  he  was  a 
director  of  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Association.  For  many  years 
he  has  been  one  of  the  leading  members  of  the  First  Congregational 
Church  of  Riverside,  and  still  maintains  his  connection  with  it.  He 
is  a  man  of  public  spirit,  devoted  to  the  public  good.  Freely,  gladly, 
without  stint,  he  has  given  himself  to  matters  of  local  moment.  He 
has  loved  Riverside  ever  since  locating  here.  Believing  it  to  be  the 
duty  of  the  business  man  to  labor  and  to  sacrifice  for  the  cause  of 
good  government,  he  has  therefore  worked  in  the  field  of  politics,  for 
the  triumph  of  the  party  and  the  policies  he  believes  to  be  right.  He 
had  always  believed  it  possible  to  have  a  clean,  honest  business  ad- 
ministration of  the  affairs  of  a  city,  and  few  even  among  those  who 
opposed  him  at  the  polls,  and  fought  his  policies  while  in  office,  can 
deny  that  he  proved  this  to  be  possible  during  his  own  incumbency, 
which  will  always  reflect  creditably  on  his  capacity,  his  honesty  and 
his  honor. 

John  W.  Covert  is  one  of  the  most  representative  men  of  River- 
side, and  as  president  of  the  Riverside  Title  Company  comes  into  close 
contact  with  some  of  the  leading  citizens  of  this  region,  by  whom  he 
is  held  in  high  regard.  For  many  years  a  prosperous  agriculturalist 
of  Western  Pennsylvania,  he  came  to  California  a  man  of  ripened 
judgment  and  experience,  and  has  given  to  his  new  home  the  benefit 
of  these  qualities. 

Born  in  Fayette  County,  Pennsylvania,  in  September,  1847,  John 
W.  Covert  is  a  son  of  Isaac  A.  and  Diademia  (Wilgus)  Covert,  both 
natives  of  Pennsylvania.  Isaac  A.  Covert  belonged  to  an  old  Amer- 
ican family  which  was  founded  in  this  country  by  several  brothers  of 
English  birth,  who  settled  in  the  northern  part  of  New  York;  from 
whence  migration  was  later  made  into  Pennsylvania.  Mrs.  Covert 
was  of  French  ancestry.  By  occupation  Isaac  A.  Covert  was  a  far- 
mer, became  prominent  in  his  neighborhood,  and  for  a  number  of 
years  served  as  a  justice  of  the  peace. 

John  W.  Covert  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  native  county 
and  the  Normal  College  of  Western  Pennsylvania,  and  then,  after 
several  years'  experience  as  a  school  teacher  he  began  farming  and 
was  so  well  satisfied  with  his  results  that  he  would  probably  still  be 
a  resident  of  the  Keystone  State  had  not  the  ill  health  of  his  wife 
necessitated  the  removal  to  a  milder  climate.  In  order  to  investigate 
Mr.  Covert  made  a  trip  to  Riverside,  and  was  so  delighted  with  the 
city  and  its  surroundings  that  he  looked  no  further,  and  in  1890 
located  here  permanently.  Owing  to  changed  conditions  he  decided 
that  horticulture  offered  more  inducements  than  agriculture,  and  pur- 
chasing twenty  acres  of  land  in  North  Riverside  he  planted  it  to 
oranges,  conducting  this  grove  for  about  fifteen  years,  when  he  sold 
it,  and  since  then  has  been  occupied  with  looking  after  his  own  in- 
terests and  those  of  the  Riverside  Title  Company,  with  which  he  has 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1085 

been  connected  since  its  organization,  at  which  time  he  was  made  a 
director.  Later  he  was  elected  its  vice  president,  and  during  the  early 
part  of  1921  was  elected  its  president. 

During  the  time  he  was  condutcing  his  orange  grove  Mr.  Covert 
bought  two  acres  of  land  at  1038  East  Eighth  Street,  which  he  planted, 
and  on  which  he  erected  a  handsome  residence.  The  trees  and  palms 
are  full-grown  today,  and  his  is  one  of  the  most  attractive  homes  of 
Riverside,  and  it  is  very  dear  to  him.  He  also  erected  the  two-story 
brick  business  building  at  666  Eighth  Street  which  is  known  as  the 
Covert  Block,  and  this  he  still  owns.  Until  he  sold  his  grove  he  be- 
longed to  the  Riverside  Orange  Growers'  Association  and  was  one  of 
its  directors,  but  has  withdrawn  from  it  since  he  is  no  longer  one 
of  the  orange  growers.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  and  while  he 
takes  a  deep  interest  in  his  party's  successes  he  has  never  been  active 
in  public  affairs,  with  the  exception  of  one  term  when  he  served  as 
trustee  under  the  chairmanship  of  both  Bradford  Morris  and  C.  F. 
McFarland. 

On  March  8,  1871,  Mr.  Covert  married  Frances  Luse,  a  native  of 
Pennsylvania  and  a  daughter  of  James  Luse,  a  farmer  of  that  state. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Covert  have  one  daughter,  Mary,  who  is  the  wife  of 
Emerson  Holt,  chief  abstractor  of  the  Riverside  Title  Company. 
Early  uniting  with  the  Methodist  Episcopal  denomination,  Mr.  Covert 
has  always  been  active  in  its  good  work,  and  upon  settling  at  River- 
side connected  himself  with  the  First  Methodist  Church  of  this  city, 
and  is  now  president  of  its  Board  of  Trustees.  He  is  a  man  of  means, 
broad  in  his  sympathies  and  generous  in  his  donations.  A  believer 
in  hard  work,  intelligently  directed,  he  has  not  much  patience  for  a 
slacker,  but  when  he  is  convinced  that  a  man  has  tried  hard  he  does 
not  hold  failure  against  him,  but  is  glad  to  lend  him  a  helping  hand. 
Deeply  interested  in  Riverside,  he  has  played  an  important  part  in 
securing  its  further  development,  and  has  not  relaxed  his  efforts  in 
its  behalf.  It  is  to  such  men  as  Mr.  Covert  that  is  largely  due  the 
credit  for  the  wonderful  strides  forward  that  have  been  made  by  this 
region,  this  advancement  attracting  the  attention  of  Eastern  capitalists 
and  bringing  them  here  as  investors  and  residents. 

James  M.  Baber,  one  of  the  oldest  residents  of  Riverside,  came  to 
this  county  in  1882  and  engaged  in  the  business  of  raising  oranges, 
following  it  through  all  of  the  changes  in  the  industry  to  the  present 
day.  While  many  others  have  come  here,  made  a  brief  stay  and 
then  left,  to  be  replaced  by  others  whose  interest  was  quite  as  tran- 
sient, Mr.  Baber  has  held  to  his  original  plan,  and  in  the  declining 
years  of  his  useful  and  helpful  life  has  a  most  comfortable  home, 
income-producing  property,  and  beautiful  and  congenial  surroundings. 

Born  at  Mackinaw,  Tazewell  County,  Illinois,  November  21,  1844, 
James  M.  Baber  is  a  son  of  Charles  and  Mary  Ann  (Marsh)  Baber, 
both  of  whom  were  natives  of  Exeter  County,  England,  from  whence 
they  came  to  the  United  States  and  located  at  Mackinaw,  Illinois, 
when  it  was  a  pioneer  town,  and  there  Mr.  Baber  conducted  a  hotel 
until  his  death  in  1851.  He  was  a  prominent  man  in  that  community, 
and  served  as  postmaster  for  some  years.     His  widow  died  in  1876. 

Growing  up  at  Mackinaw,  James  M.  Baber  attended  its  schools 
and  later  assisted  his  mother  in  the  work  of  conducting  the  hotel,  or 
inn  as  it  was  then  called.  Still  later  he  established  himself  in  a  mer- 
cantile business,  and  continued  to  live  at  Mackinaw  until  1865.  when 
he  moved  to  Sterling,  Illinois,  remaining  a  merchant  until  1878.     He 


1086       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

then  went  to  Iowa,  and  for  four  years  was  engaged  in  the  book  and 
stationery  business,  but  in  1882  left  Iowa  for  California.  Locating 
at  Riverside,  he  bought  twenty  acres  of  orange  land  and  groves  on 
Brockton  Avenue,  and  also  on  behalf  of  his  two  sisters  and  brother- 
in-law,  M.  S.  Bowman,  who  were  partners  with  him  in  the  purchase. 
They  soon  thereafter  joined  him  and  began  the  cultivation  of  oranges, 
planting  the  acreage  not  already  in.  The  ground  was  the  original 
C.  E.  Packard  place,  and  in  the  division  of  it  Mr.  Bowman  retained 
that  part  on  which  the  old  brick  building  was  located.  Mr.  Baber 
now  owns  eight  acres  of  land,  his  home  being  at  245  Brockton  Ave- 
nue, and  he  purchased  the  adjoining  residence  at  247  Brockton  Ave- 
nue, which  is  now  occupied  by  his  sister,  Miss  Harriet  A.  (Hattie) 
Baber.  Mr.  Baber  also  built  a  new  residence  on  the  property,  at  37 
Webber  Street,  which  he  rents  to  tenants.  His  grove  is  valencies 
and  navels,  but  most  valencies.  At  one  time  he  belonged  to  the  River- 
side Fruit  Exchange,  but  of  late  years  has  been  selling  his  crops  in- 
dependent of  the  exchange. 

Mr.  Baber  is  a  republican,  but  has  never  taken  an  active  part  in 
politics,  his  interests  centering  more  in  church  work,  both  he  and 
his  wife  being  consistent  and  zealous  members  of  the  First  Baptist 
Church  of  Riverside.  Mrs.  Baber  is  also  a  member  of  the  Riverside 
Woman's  Club. 

In  Michigan  Mr.  Baber  married  in  1874  Miss  Carrie  Bowman,  who 
died  in  1884.  She  had  one  son,  Charles  Bowman  Baber,  who  was  born 
in  1877,  and  he  is  now  a  civil  engineer  and  draughtsman  of  Los 
Angeles,  California.  The  second  marriage  of  Mr.  Baber  occurred  at 
Riverside,  September  25,  1907,  when  he  was  united  with  Alice  (Mars- 
ton)  Stacey,  a  native  of  Portsmouth,  New  Hampshire.  She  is  a  daughter 
of  Stephen  L.  Marston,  of  Portsmouth. 

Menno  S.  Bowman,  the  brother-in-law  of  Mr.  Baber,  was  a  man 
of  high  standing  at  Riverside,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death  he  was 
secretary  of  the  Riverside  Building  and  Loan  Association.  He  was 
born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  September  13,  1838,  and  was  a  graduate  of 
Otterbein  Academy  at  Westerville,  Ohio,  class  of  1859.  He  married 
at  Mackinaw,  Illinois,  August  3,  1863,  Miss  Amelia  Baber,  a  sister 
of  J.  M.  Baber.  After  establishing  himself  in  his  home  on  Brockton 
Avenue  in  1895  Mr.  Bowman  established  a  boot  and  shoe  business, 
which  he  continued  for  four  years.  In  1898  he  was  elected  public 
administrator,  and  served  as  such  until  January,  1911,  when  he  was 
made  secretary  of  the  Riverside  Building  and  Loan  Association.  In 
the  meantime,  in  1904,  he  disposed  of  his  orange  grove.  He  stood 
high  in  Masonry,  belonging  to  the  Blue  Lodge,  Chapter  and  Com- 
mandery,  but  his  greatest  work  was  done  in  connection  with  the 
Riverside  Methodist  Church,  for  he  was  a  man  who  exerted  himself 
in  behalf  of  those  not  as  fortunate  as  himself.  His  wife  devoted  her- 
self to  church  work  and  was  president  of  the  Missionary  Society,  and 
when  she  and  her  husband  died  all  of  their  property  was  left  to  the 
church.  This  bequest  was  a  very  valuable  one  and  amounted  to  thou- 
sands of  dollars. 

Bert  L.  Morgan — One  of  the  old  philosophers  taught  that  the  best 
way  to  achieve  success  was  to  work  at  only  that  which  pleases,  and  in 
this  there  is  more  truth  than  is  generally  admitted.  Unless  a  man  di- 
rects his  efforts  in  behalf  of  something  which  interests  him  he  has 
to  struggle  against  a  handicap  which  oftentimes  prevents  his  attaining 
tangible  results.     The  first  requisite  for  ultimate  success,  without  doubt, 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1087 

is  an  aptitude  and  liking  for  the  work ;  the  second  is  the  determination 
to  acquire  a  thorough  knowledge  of  the  business  in  every  phase ;  and 
third,  the  persistence  to  keep  working  hard  and  saving  something  from 
every  pay  check.  If  these  three  rules  are  closely  followed  the  results 
are  sure  to  be  gratifying.  Such  has  been  the  experience  of  Bert  L. 
Morgan,  vice  president  and  general  manager  of  the  B.  L.  Morgan  Manu- 
facturing Company  of  San  Bernardino,  who  has  built  his  present  flourish- 
ing concern  up  from  very  small  beginnings,  and  his  own  prosperity  from 
nothing. 

Bert  L.  Morgan  was  born  in  Wellington,  Ohio,  February  17,  1873, 
the  son  of  farming  people,  natives  of  Ohio.  His  father  was  born  De- 
cember 27,  1848,  and  died  September  22,  1918.  His  mother  was  born 
April  11,  1849,  and  died  in  March,  1904.  Bert  L.  Morgan  has  made 
his  present  line  of  business  his  life  work,  commencing  it  May  15,  1887, 
when  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Western  Automatic  Machine  Screw 
Company,  with  which  he  remained  until  March  1,  1906.  On  May  19, 
1904,  he  was  made  foreman,  which  position  he  held  until  he  left  the 
employ  of  that  concern,  and  was  associated  with  R.  D.  Perry  and  W.  W. 
Fay,  who  founded  the  Perry-Fay  Company,  of  which  Mr.  Morgan  was 
general  superintendent.  The  business  of  this  company  increased  very 
rapidly,  additional  capital  was  secured,  and  a  new  and  larger  plant  was 
built.  Mr.  Morgan  remained  with  the  Perry-Fay  Company  until  Sep- 
tember 1,  1917.  In  the  meanwhile  he  had  cherished  a  desire  to  have  a 
business  of  his  own,  and  this  hope  was  realized  May  5,  1919,  when  he 
opened  his  machine  shop  at  938  Third  Street,  San  Bernardino,  with  a 
very  small  equipment,  consisting  of  two  small  automatic  screw  ma- 
chines and  a  limited  machine  tool  equipment.  However,  he  knew  his 
business,  stuck  to  it,  and  laid  his  plans  for  the  future.  On  January 
12,  1920,  he  succeeded  in  having  the  B.  L.  Morgan  Manufacturing 
Company  Incorporated,  with  A.  E.  Ferris,  president;  W.  M.  Parker, 
vice  president ;  J.  F.  Hosfield,  secretary  and  treasurer ;  and  B.  L. 
Morgan,  general  manager.  On  February  26,  1920,  the  plant  was  moved 
to  the  present  quarters,  northeast  corner  of  Rialto  and  East  streets, 
the  premises  having  been  purchased  from  the  San  Bernardino  Brewing 
Company.  At  the  annual  meeting  in  January,  1921,  the  following  offi- 
cials were  elected :  A.  E.  Ferris,  president ;  B.  L.  Morgan,  vice  presi- 
dent and  general  manager ;  and  E.  E.  Katz,  secretary  and  treasurer.  On 
account  of  ill  health  Mr.  Katz  resigned  and  R.  G.  Dromberger  was 
elected  as  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  company. 

When  the  B.  L.  Morgan  Manufacturing  Company  was  incorporated 
the  monthly  sales  only  averaged  $1,000,  but  in  the  short  time  this  con- 
cern has  been  in  existence  the  sales  have  so  multiplied  as  to  average 
$8,000  monthly.  At  the  time  of  incorporation  the  working  force  was 
comprised  of  Mr.  Morgan  and  one  helper.  At  the  present  time  employ- 
ment is  given  to  twentv-two.  The  premises  occupied  by  the  plant 
cover  a  space  of  140x150  feet.  The  building  that  houses  the  plant 
is  100x60  feet,  and  there  are  a  number  of  outbuildings  on  the  lot. 
Among  the  machine  equipment  of  this  company  are  fourteen  automatic 
screw  machines,  ranging  in  capacity  from  three-eighths  to  two  and  one- 
half  inches.  This  company  conducts  a  strictly  manufacturing  institu- 
tion, and  produces  an  endless  variety  of  screw  machine  products,  among 
which  are  the  following :  Hexagon,  square,  fillister  and  button  head 
cap  screws ;  square  head  and  headless  set  screws ;  thumb  screws ;  collar 
screws ;  hexagon  nuts ;  stubs  and  pins ;  screws  and  turned  metal  parts 
for  scientific  instruments,  clock,  watch,  optical,  gun,  electric,  camera, 
typewriter,    adding   machine,    automobile,    aeroplane    and    tractor    work ; 


1088       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

spark  plug  parts ;  hardened  and  ground  work ;  all  articles  turned  from 
silver,  aluminum,  bronze,  brass  or  steel  rods ;  also  taps,  dies  and  gauges. 
There  is  also  a  finely  equipped  tool  department  capable  of  turning  out 
the  highest  quality  of  tools. 

Mr.  Morgan  was  married  first  to  Nellie  M.  Shute,  who  was  born 
at  Elyria,  Ohio,  and  died  May  5,  1912,  leaving  three  children :  Victor 
S.,  who  was  born  April  25,  1894,  is  a  machinist  and  tool  maker  who  has 
been  largely  associated  with  his  father  in  business.  He  married  Mar- 
jory Vogler  of  Elyria,  Ohio.  They  have  two  children,  Rosemary  and 
Robert.  Ruth  O.,  who  was  born  May  5,  18%,  is  the  wife  of  E.  A. 
Ledyard,  of  San  Bernardino.  They  have  three  children,  Jean  Ellen, 
Wayne  and  Philip.  Edwin  L.,  who  was  born  October  8,  1899,  enlisted 
in  the  headquarters  company  of  the  Fifth  Marines  on  April  19,  1917, 
and  sailed  for  France  on  August  5  of  that  year.  He  fought  throughout 
the  war  with  the  famous  Second  Division.  He  went  through  all  en- 
gagements and  the  only  wound  he  received  was  a  scratch  on  the  leg. 
He  was  awarded  a  medal  for  bravery  in  action,  and  was  discharged 
in  August,  1919,  returning  to  New  York  just  two  years  after  he  sailed. 
He  is  now  engaged  with  the  Standard  Oil  Company  in  San  Bernardino. 

In  April,  1917,  Mr.  Morgan  married  Miss  Lura  Potter,  a  native  of 
Ashtabula.  Ohio,  and  a  daughter  of  Eugene  M.  Potter,  and  they  have 
four  children,  namely :  Louise  Alice,  Anna  E.,  David  E.  and  Burt, 
Junior.  Mr.  Morgan  has  devoted  himself  so  exclusively  to  business  that 
he  has  had  but  little  time  for  outside  matters,  although  he  does  take 
an  intelligent  interest  in  local  affairs.  He  is  one  of  the  sound  and  de- 
pendable men  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  holds  a  high  position 
among  his  business  associates.  He  is  a  life  member  of  Lodge  No.  836, 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  of  the  Knights  of  the  Macca- 
bees, the  Royal  Arcanum,  Huron  Tribe,  No.  200,  Red  Men,  and  of  the 
Rotary  Club.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Directors  of  the 
San  Bernardino  Chamber  of  Commerce,  vice  president  of  the  Manu- 
facturing and  Wholesalers  Association  of  San  Bernardino,  vice  presi- 
dent and  general  manager  of  the  Sta-tite  Nut  Company,  to  which  he  is 
devoting  his  time  almost  exclusively,  is  interested  in  the  M.  &  M. 
Manufacturing  Company  of  Wilmington,  Los  Angeles  County,  a  general 
machine  and  manufacturing  institution,  and  was  president  of  the  Board 
of  Health  at  Elyria,  Ohio,  during  the  epidemic  of  contagious  diseases. 

Henry  D.  Bradley  is  one  of  the  prominent  civil  engineers  of  River- 
side, who  has  devoted  much  time  and  effort  to  the  building  up  of  the 
Coachella  Valley,  the  only  logical  place  in  the  United  States  in  which 
to  grow  dates  upon  a  large  commercial  scale.  He  has  specialized  in 
hydraulic  work  and  planning  irrigation  systems  so  as  to  bring  as  much 
land  as  possible  under  the  water.  Knowing  all  of  its  natural  ad- 
vantages, Mr.  Bradley  is  an  enthusiastic  booster  for  the  Coachella 
Valley  and  Riverside  County  generally.  When  he  first  went  to  the 
Valley  over  twelve  years  ago  very  little  development  had  been  made. 
Since  then  he  has  been  an  active  factor  in  the  wonderful  changes 
which  have  been  effected  in  that  district,  and  the  present  rapid  rate 
of  improvement  promises  to  make  a  garden  spot  of  all  of  the  tillable 
land  from  Banning  to  the  Salton  Sea. 

Mr.  Bradley  was  born  at  New  Haven,  Connecticut,  September  1, 
1870,  a  son  of  Dana  and  Caroline  (Tuttle)  Bradley,  both  of  whom 
are  deceased.  Dana  Bradley  was  a  farmer  and  prominent  in  his 
home  community.  He  came  of  Revolutionary  stock  and  English 
descent.  Mrs.  Bradley's  ancestors  came  to  the  American  Colonies 
long  prior  to  the  Revolutionary  war  and  settled  in  New  Haven. 


SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1089 

After  attending  the  public  and  high  schools  of  his  native  city 
Henry  D.  Bradley  matriculated  at  Yale  University,  and  was  grad- 
uated therefrom  in  1893,  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts.  He 
then  took  up  general  engineering  work  in  Connecticut,  and  for  a 
long  period  worked  for  the  New  England  electric  roads. 

In  1904  Mr.  Bradley  came  to  California,  and  for  four  years  was 
engaged  in  civil  engineering  and  map  work  in  the  City  of  Los  Angeles, 
and  then,  in  1908,  came  to  Riverside.  From  then  on  he  has  been 
engaged  in  civil  engineering  and  map  work,  and,  as  before  stated, 
specializes  in  planning  irrigation  systems  for  the  development  of 
land.  Mr.  Bradley  has  mapped  out  the  region  north  and  west  of 
Riverside  from  Colton  to  Wineville,  the  Palo  Verde  Valley  and  the 
Coachella  Valley.  His  maps  are  very  complete  and  accurate,  and 
they  are  recognized  as  official  by  both  the  county  and  city  of  River- 
side. There  is  a  wealth  of  detail  in  his  maps,  particularly  in  that  of 
the  Coachella  Valley,  which  evokes  the  admiration  of  all  those  who 
have  occasion  to  use  them. 

Mr.  Bradley  has  also  done  much  work  in  the  Mojave  Desert  along 
the  line  of  the  Salt  Lake  Railroad,  developing  land  and  assisting  in 
laying  out  the  road  along  the  old  Arrowhead  trail  from  Barstow  and 
Daggett,  via  Silver  Lake  to  Nevada.  This  will  eventually  be  paved 
and  will  make  a  great  national  highway  across  the  desert  that  will 
be  much  traveled.  He  is  now  engaged  in  developing  a  number  of 
large  date  orchards  in  the  Coachella  Valley,  including  some  of  his 
own  land,  which  will  ultimately  be  in  dates.  In  addition  Mr.  Bradley 
is  the  owner  of  some  undeveloped  mining  and  oil  prospects  in  the 
desert  which  in  time  will  doubtless  become  very  valuable. 

In  addition  to  all  these  interests  Mr.  Bradley  is  secretary  of  the 
Riverside  County  Title  Guarantee  Company,  of  which  D.  W.  Lewis 
is  president ;  is  a  member  of  the  Riverside  Realty  Board,  and  of  the 
Present  Day  Club.  While  he  votes  the  republican  ticket  and  is  in- 
terested in  the  success  of  his  party,  he  is  not  active  in  politics.  Cal- 
vary Presbyterian  Church  of  Riverside  holds  his  membership. 

On  September  2,  1909,  Mr.  Bradley  married  at  Riverside  Matilda 
Cary,  a  native  of  Quebec,  Canada.  It  would  be  difficult  to  over-esti- 
mate the  importance  of  the  work  accomplished  by  Mr.  Bradley  in 
the  development  of  his  irrigation  systems,  which  bring  under  cultiva- 
tion so  many  acres  of  hitherto  waste  land.  A  man  of  broad  vision, 
he  has  been  able  to  see  the  future  in  date  culture  and  to  impress  others 
with  the  possibilities  of  this  industry,  which  when  properly  expanded 
will  bring  many  thousands  of  dollars  into  this  region  and  afford  op- 
portunities for  the  energies  and  capital  of  some  of  the  best  men  of 
the  nation.  To  him  belongs  part  of  the  credit  of  awakening  the 
people  to  the  wealth  which  lies  at  their  door,  and  his  name  will  go 
down  in  history  in  connection  with  the  date  industry  of  the  country. 

J.  Eugene  Copeland. — For  the  last  thirty-two  years  J.  Eugene  Cope- 
land  has  found  congenial  surroundings  and  profitable  employment  of 
his  energies  in  the  orange  industry  at  Riverside,  and  has  developed 
his  fine  home  place  of  twenty  acres  from  the  wild  state  to  its  present 
perfect  bearing  condition.  His  grove  is  of  naval  oranges,  and  is  one 
of  the  finest  in  the  county.  His  residence,  which  is  a  handsome  and 
commodious  two-story  building,  is  located  in  one  corner  of  the  prop- 
erty, on  the  southwest  corner  of  Blaine  Street  and  Chicago  Avenue, 
and  is  surrounded  by  fine  trees,  palms,  flowers  and  shrubbery,  which 


1090       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

were  planted  by  his  wife  and  himself,  and  attract  admiring  attention 
of  all  who  pass  the  place.  Twenty  years  ago  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Copeland 
planted  a  slip  of  a  seedling  English  walnut  tree,  and  today  this  is 
probably  the  largest  of  its  kind  at  Riverside,  having  a  magnificent 
spread  of  seventy-five  feet,  and  yielding  about  300  pounds  of  nuts 
annually.  Mr.  Copeland  finds  great  pleasure  in  his  horticultural 
work,  and  devotes  all  of  his  time  to  it. 

J.  Eugene  Copeland  was  born  in  Fond  du  Lac  County,  Wisconsin, 
August  19,  1862,  a  son  of  Justin  M.  Copeland,  a  native  of  New  Hamp- 
shire and  a  son  of  a  Methodist  minister.  He  was  a  scholar  and  spent 
his  life  in  educational  work,  teaching  school  in  many  states,  and 
traveling  all  over  the  country  in  search  of  a  climate  in  which  he  would 
not  be  subjected  to  the  rigors  of  a  severe  winter.  During  this  period 
he  was  superintendent  of  schools  in  Key  West,  Florida.  Finally  he 
came  to  California.  Reaching  this  state  in  May,  1881,  he  realized 
that  his  long  search  was  ended,  and  it  was  under  the  sunny  skies  of 
this  Southland  that  he  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life.  He  secured 
a  school  on  Central  Avenue  in  Arlington  district  during  the  fall  of 
1881,  and  taught  it  for  one  year,  when  he  went  to  Orange  County  and 
continued  the  same  work  there  until  1891.  His  eyesight  then  com- 
mencing to  fail  him,  he  went  to  Los  Angeles  and  took  the  agency  of 
the  Standard  Dictionary,  continuing  that  connection  until  forced  to 
relinquish  it  on  account  of  his  eyes.  During  his  last  years  he  led  a 
retired  life,  and  passed  away  March  25,  1915.  He  came  from  Revolu- 
tionary stock,  his  generation  being  the  eighth  removed  from  the 
original  settler  who  came  to  this  country  from  England.  His  widow, 
who  was  Mary  E.  French  prior  to  her  marriage,  is  a  native  of  Maine, 
and  also  comes  of  Revolutionary  stock  and  English  ancestry.  She 
survives  her  husband  and  is  living  at  Santa  Ana,  California. 

J.  Eugene  Copeland  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Orange 
County,  California,  and  the  University  of  Southern  California.  He 
was  interested  with  his  father  in  farming  in  Orange  County  until 
1895,  when  he  took  up  his  residence  on  the  home  place,  601  Chi- 
cago Avenue,  comprising  twenty  acres,  which  he  had  bought  in  1882, 
and  here  he  has  since  resided.  Mr.  Copeland  is  also  interested  in 
thirty  acres  of  sugar  beet  land  at  Oxnard,  Ventura  County,  California. 
He  is  one  of  the  directors  and  vice  president  of  the  Riverside  County 
Mutual  Fire  Insurance  Company,  and  is  a  director  of  the  Monte  Vista 
Packing  Company.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  but  has  never  been 
active  in  his  party,  and  has  never  sought  public  honors. 

On  September  14,  1889,  Mr.  Copeland  married  at  Los  Angeles 
Carrie  W.  YVillson,  a  native  of  Virginia  and  a  daughter  of  J.  A.  Will- 
son,  now  deceased,  of  Santa  Ana.  Mrs.  Copeland's  family  is  of 
Revolutionary  stock  and  of  Scotch-Irish  descent.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cope- 
land belong  to  Calvary  Presbyterian  Church  of  Riverside.  They  lead 
an  ideal  existence  in  the  midst  of  their  beautiful  surroundings.  While 
it  has  taken  hard  and  unremitting  work  to  develop  their  property  to 
its  present  high  state  of  cultivation,  the  results  are  so  satisfactory 
that  neither  of  them  regret  the  efforts  expended  on  their  home.  They 
are  held  in  high  esteem  by  their  associates,  and  are  fine  representatives 
of  the  elder  generation  of  substantial  citizens  of  the  Gem  City. 

John  F.  Lippincott. — Happy  is  the  man  who  knows  how  to  turn 
disaster  into  success ;  who  can  rise  up  stronger  than  ever  after  a 
knockout  from  fate.  Not  to  all  is  given  either  the  will  or  the  oppor- 
tunity to  accomplish  what  at  the  time  seems  the  impossible,  but  at 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1091 

Riverside  there  are  more  of  these  men  than  in  many  other  communi- 
ties of  many  times  its  size.  Here  are  men,  healthy,  happy  and  pros- 
perous, who  a  few  years  ago  were  told  that  if  they  wanted  to  survive 
another  winter  they  must  move  to  a  more  salubrious  climate.  For- 
tunately for  them  they  found  their  El  Dorado  of  health  and  fortune 
in  the  Gem  City,  and  almost  from  the  day  of  their  arrival  showed 
improvement.  Now  they  have  practically  forgotten  that  once  they 
moved  but  under  a  physician's  advice.  One  of  these  men  who  owes 
his  present  wealth  and  prestige  to  the  fact  that  his  health  failed  him 
in  the  more  rigorous  climate  of  Nebraska  is  John  F.  Lippincott,  one 
of  the  orange  growers  of  this  region,  and  a  man  of  unquestioned 
popularity. 

John  F.  Lippincott  was  born  in  Franklin  County,  Pennsylvania, 
March  10,  1848,  a  son  of  John  and  Mary  (Dillon)  Lippincott,  both  of 
whom  are  deceased,  the  latter  belonging  to  an  old  American  family 
which  was  established  in  this  country  prior  to  the  Revolution  by 
ancestors  from  Ireland.  John  Lippincott  was  born  in  the  vicinity  of 
Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania,  and  belonged  to  the  prominent  Lippincott 
family  of  the  Quaker  City,  which  was  of  Pennsylvania-Dutch  stock. 
Both  as  a  shoe  merchant  and  citizen  he  was  a  prominent  man  of  his 
locality.  During  the  war  between  the  North  and  the  South  John 
Lippincott  gave  his  support  to  the  Union,  and  served  as  a  captain  in 
the  Home  Guards. 

Growing  up  in  the  Keystone  State,  John  F.  Lippincott  imbibed 
the  sterling  lessons  of  patriotism  in  his  home  atmosphere,  and  during 
the  war,  although  under  age,  tried  repeatedly  to  get  into  the  service. 
With  pardonable  determination  he  went  before  the  recruiting  officers 
three  times,  and  might,  so  persistent  was  he,  have  succeeded  but  for 
the  fact  that  not  having  reached  his  full  growth  he  was  below  the 
required  stature.  It  has  always  been  a  source  of  regret  to  him  that 
he  was  born  a  little  too  late  for  that  war,  and  a  little  too  early  to 
serve  in  the  others  of  his  country,  for  he  is  a  real  American  in  the 
highest  sense  of  the  word. 

After  completing  his  schooldays  his  father  insisted  upon  his  learn- 
ing the  shoemaking  trade,  but,  although  he  complied  with  the  parental 
dictum,  he  did  not  work  at  it  after  he  had  completed  his  apprentice- 
ship, but,  going  to  Fillmore  County,  Nebraska,  engaged  in  farming, 
being  one  of  the  pioneers  of  that  region,  as  his  arrival  in  it  was  dur- 
ing May,  1870.  After  eight  years  he  went  to  Alexandria,  Thayer 
County,  Nebraska,  and  was  occupied  with  conducting  a  restaurant  for 
the  subsequent  six  years.  Leaving  Alexandria,  Mr.  Lippincott  then 
embarked  in  the  drug  business  at  Tobias,  Saline  County,  Nebraska, 
and  continued  in  it  for  twenty  years,  but  in  1906  his  health  broke 
down,  and  his  physician  insisted  upon  his  leaving  Tobias  for  Cali- 
fornia. Realizing  the  absolute  necessity  for  the  change,  Mr.  Lippincott 
sold  his  drug  business,  severed  his  other  connections,  although  he  re- 
tained possession  of  some  property  in  Nebraska  which  he  still  owns, 
and  came  to  Riverside,  resolved  to  make  a  most  strenuous  effort  to 
regain  his  strength.  Buying  five  acres  of  oranges  at  1296  Kansas 
Avenue,  corner  of  Pennsylvania  Avenue,  he  made  it  his  home  place, 
and  here  he  has  since  continued  to  raise  naval  oranges.  He  also  pur- 
chased and  still  holds  ten  acres  of  naval  oranges  on  Arlington  Heights 
on  Dufferin  Street,  corner  of  Irving.  This  latter  property  is  one  of 
the  oldest  groves  at  Riverside.  At  one  time  he  was  a  director  and 
vice  president  of  the  Blue  Ribbon  Packing  House,  and  is  now  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Riverside  Heights  Fruit  Association  Number  10.     A  man 


1092      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

of  independent  thought,  he  prefers  to  select  his  own  candidates  irre- 
spective of  party  lines,  but  aside  from  exercising  his  right  of  suffrage, 
is  not  active  in  politics.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Masonic 
and  Knights  of  Pythias  Lodges  at  Tobias,  and  served  the  first  as 
worshipful  master  and  the  latter  as  chancellor  commander. 

On  March  10,  1873,  Mr.  Lippincott  married  in  Fillmore  County, 
Nebraska,  Hannah  J.  Morse,  a  native  of  Iowa,  and  a  daughter  of  Amos 
Morse,  a  farmer  of  that  state.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lippincott  have  had 
three  children,  namely :  Mary  is  the  wife  of  Oscar  L.  Brocker,  an 
orchardist  on  Linden  Street  and  who  has  the  following  children,  Jen- 
nie, Lee  and  John,  who  are  students  in  the  Riverside  High  School,  and 
Howard,  Sidney,  Billy  and  Chloris,  who  are  students  in  the  Riverside 
grade  schools,  and  Nellie,  the  baby.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lippincott  lost  a 
son  when  he  was  fourteen  years  old.  Roscoe,  the  third  child,  of  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Lippincott,  is  a  rancher  in  Silver  Valley  in  the  Mojave 
Desert.  He  married  Miss  Mabel  Burden,  and  they  have  two  children, 
Katherine  and  Robert. 

Mr.  Lippincott  is  an  enthusiast  with  relation  to  Riverside  and  the 
Golden  State,  and  believes  that  there  is  no  medicine  like  the  healing 
sunshne  of  the  Gem  City.  In  fact  it  appears  as  though  it  would  be 
difficult  for  anyone  to  be  borne  down  with  the  weight  of  disease  in 
the  midst  of  such  wonderful  surrounding  as  those  afforded  at  River- 
side. Ideal  climatic  conditions,  a  super-abundance  of  golden  oranges 
and  vari-colored  flowers,  graceful  shrubbery  and  luxuriant  vines, 
everything  to  make  life  pleasant  and  add  to  the  joy  of  living.  Mr. 
Lippincott's  only  regret  is  that  he  did  not  come  to  this  "Garden  of 
Eden"  even  sooner  than  he  did,  for  its  advantages  meet  with  his  entire 
approval,  and  he  is  only  anxious  to  share  them  with  his  old  associates 
whom  he  is  always  urging  to  follow  his  example.  Since  coming  to 
Riverside  he  has  made  himself  a  valued  advocate  of  civic  improve- 
ments, feeling  that  it  is  the  least  he  can  do  to  exert  himself  to  advance 
the  material  prosperity  and  secure  the  adjuncts  of  a  metropolitan 
community  for  the  city  which  has  given  him  so  much.  Personally 
he  has  made  a  host  of  friends  at  Riverside,  as  he  has  done  wherever 
he  has  lived,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  are  very  popular. 

Nelson  C.  Peters. — While  Nelson  C.  Peters,  of  San  Bernardino, 
has  been  a  resident  of  that  city  a  comparatively  brief  period  of 
time,  he  has  already  attained  a  high  position  and  standing  in  law  circles. 
He  specializes  in  one  branch  of  the  law  and  has  a  large  and  ever 
increasing  clientele,  which  is  not  confined  by  any  means  to  this  dis- 
trict. Mr.  Peters  can  truthfully  be  termed  a  self-made  man,  and  one 
who  made  a  very  successful  job  of  it,  for  from  an  early  age  he  made 
his  own  way  and  secured  his  very  thorough  education  by  his  own  efforts. 

He  was  born  in  that  country  which  has  given  the  United  States  so 
many  worth  while  citizens,  Denmark,  at  Hallund,  June  12.  1875,  and  he 
has  all  the  self-reliance  and  sturdy  independence  of  his  ancestors.  His 
father  was  Nelson  Peters,  a  cooper  by  trade,  now  deceased,  and  his 
mother  was  Mary  Ann  (Rassmus)  Peters,  also  deceased.  He  attended 
the  country  schools  in  Denmark  until  he  was  fourteen  years  of  age, 
when  he  decided  to  come  to  America  and  work  out  his  own  destiny.  It 
was  an  important  step  for  so  young  a  boy,  but  he  had  two  brothers 
already  in  America,  one  in  South  Dakota  and  one  in  Washington. 

Mr.  Peters  located  in  Hurley,  South  Dakota,  and  worked  on  farms 
and  taught  school  for  three  years.  So  well  did  he  studv  and  equip  him- 
self   mentally   that   he   was   graduated    from   the    Dakota    University   at 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1093 

Mitchell,  South  Dakota,  at  the  end  of  that  short  period.  He  knew  what 
he  wanted  to  do  in  life  and  he  at  once  entered  a  law  office  and  was 
admitted  to  practice  in  Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  in  1901. 

He  located  at  once  in  Enid,  Oklahoma,  and  went  to  work  in  the 
county  attorney's  office  there.  He  remained  a  year,  getting  valuable 
experience  and  then  moved  to  Apache,  Oklahoma,  and  practiced  there 
for  five  years,  building  up  a  good  business,  but  he  moved  to  Waurika, 
Oklahoma,  and  there  remained  until  1915,  when  he  located  in  San  Ber- 
nardino. 

In  this  city  he  has  practiced  continuously  ever  since.  He  does  a 
commercial  law  practice  and  handles  the  larger  part  of  all  the  commercial 
business  of  the  district.  He  is  also  the  pioneer  attorney  of  the  Torrens 
Title  in  the  County  of  San  Bernardino  and  has  done  practically  all  the 
business  in  that  line  in  the  county.  He  has  registered  many  hundred 
applications  under  that  act.  A  history  of  the  Torrens  Title  in  San 
Bernardino  County  is  given  by  Mr.  Peters  in  the  narrative  account  of 
this  work. 

He  married  in  1907  Hazel  R.  Reece,  a  daughter  of  Prof.  William 
Reece,  of  Anadarko,  Oklahoma.  They  are  the  parents  of  one  child, 
Mary  Reece  Peters. 

Mr.  Peters  is  a  member  of  Apache  Lodge,  A.  F.  and  A.  M.,  of  Apache. 
Oklahoma :  of  Silver  Wave  Chapter,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star  and  was 
worshipful  master  of  the  Masonic  Lodge.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the 
I.  O.  O.  F.  and  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  In  politics  he  gives  his  al- 
legiance to  the  democratic  party,  and  in  religious  faith  he  is  affiliated 
with  the  Methodist  Church. 

History  of  the  Torrens  System  in  San  Bernardino  County — 
The  first  property  registered  under  the  Torrens  System  in  this  county 
was  the  home  of  Walter  B.  Coombs  of  San  Bernardino.  The  petition 
was  filed  on  the  23rd  day  of  February,  1916,  by  Attorneys  Chase,  Peters 
and  Craney,  and  decree  of  the  Superior  Court  providing  for  the  issu- 
ance of  the  certificate  of  title  in  its  nature,  a  perpetual  guaranty  of 
title  by  the  state,  was  signed  by  Judge  J.  W.  Curtis  on  June  7,  1916. 
L.  R.  Patty,  the  first  county  registrar,  was  an  experienced  abstractor, 
having  for  years  been  in  the  title  business,  and  he  understood  all  the 
flaws  and  defects  of  the  old  system  and  was  not  only  an  enthusiastic 
advocate  of  the  system  but  he  also  placed  his  own  property  under  its 
protection.  With  much  care  and  skill  he  installed  the  first  Torrens 
Title  records  in  the  county,  a  system  with  a  property  index,  verified 
signatures  of  all  grantees,  with  such  certain  evidence  of  title  that  it  bid 
fair  ultimately  to  replace  the  old  system  of  certifying  to  copies  of  records. 

Such  men  as  Sid  Harton,  chairman  of  the  County  Board  of  Super- 
visors, and  Mr.  Wiggins,  with  a  tract  of  land  near  San  Bernardino  of 
over  500  acres,  had  their  land  registered  during  this  summer,  but  for 
some  time  many  people  were  quite  timid  about  using  the  new  system, 
but  on  April  2nd  of  the  year  1917.  R.  F.  Garner  and  his  wife,  Anna  B. 
Garner,  placed  all  of  their  San  Bernardino  County  real  estate,  aggre- 
gating nearly" half  a  million  dollars  in  value,  under  the  protection  of  this 
law.  and  from  that  time  on  it  spread  fast  in  popularity  and  in  December, 
1921.  the  number  of  certificates  issued  in  the  county  was  749.  In  the 
year  1920  an  attempt  to  use  the  system  by  fraudulently  registering 
property  of  another  was  made  by  parties  from  other  counties,  but  was 
promptly  checked  by  the  court,  holding  there  could  be  no  innocent  pur- 
chaser where  an  adverse  claimant  was  in  open  possession  and  that  the 
law  was  not  made  to  defraud  but  to  guarantv  good  titles. 


1094       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

However,  much  opposition  to  the  system  developed,  so  much  so 
that  in  the  spring  of  1921  the  Torrens  title  holders  decided  that  their 
titles  were  unjustly  slandered  and  organized  themselves  in  a  body 
known  as  the  San  Bernardino  County  Torrens  Title  League.  They 
held  their  first  meeting  in  Ontario  on  March  19,  1921.  Mrs.  R.  F. 
Garner  was  elected  President  and  O.  T.  Nichols,  of  Ontario,  was  elected 
secretary.  Resolutions  were  passed  in  substance  declaring  that  the 
parties  fighting  the  Torrens  System  were  doing  so  for  selfish  gain  and 
reciting  the  many  loans  made  on  Torrens  Titles  by  different  institutions, 
including  the  U.  S.  Federal  Land  Bank,  and  not  a  single  loss  having 
occurred  from  insufficiency  of  the  title ;  and  the  courts  all  upholding  the 
Torrens  Decrees,  requiring  enforcement  of  holders'  rights  of  possession 
with  the  power  of  the  sheriff  backed  up,  if  need  be,  with  the  militia  of 
the  state  or  U.  S.  Army  ;  and  declaring  they  would  aid  and  build  up 
the  institutions  fair  to  their  customers  and  not  discriminating  against 
the  law.  N.  L.  Levering,  while  president  of  the  Bank  at  Highland,  and 
also  of  the  San  Bernardino  Valley  Bank,  had  not  only  recommended 
the  Torrens  System  and  made  loans  on  it,  but  had  also  registered  some 
property  of  his.  After  he  had  sold  out  his  control  of  these  banks  and 
in  the  summer  of  1921,  he  undertook  the  organization  of  a  new  bank 
in  San  Bernardino  to  be  known  as  the  Santa  Fe  Bank.  He  met  so  much 
opposition  that,  it  is  said,  the  political  power  controlling  the  issuing  of 
bank  charters,  had  the  charter  withheld  from  him  during  the  whole  year 
of  1921.  Some  lenders  still  demanded  a  private  certificate  in  addition 
to  the  Torrens  Certificate  when  making  loans  on  Torrens  Title.  Torrens 
title  holders  considered  this  an  unjustifiable  extortion,  similar  to  a  re- 
quirement that  one  should  use  a  fifth  wheel  in  running  his  automobile. 
But  the  Home  Investment  Association,  a  building  and  loan  association 
of  Redlands,  came  forward  and  announced  its  willingness  to  make  loans 
on  the  Torrens  Title  in  San  Bernardino  as  well  as  at  Redlands.  The 
Ontario  National  Bank  also  negotiated  large  loans  on  Torrens  certificates 
without  requiring  private  companies  to  back  up  the  guaranty  of  the 
state,  and  in  June,  1921,  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  state,  again  upheld 
the  law,  declaring  its  purpose  was  to  make  reliance  on  decree  wholly 
safe  and  that  it  was  a  judgment  in  re  binding  on  all  the  world  conclusive 
of  every  interest  or  claim  in  the  property,  other  than  as  specified,  and 
its  conclusive  charter  did  not  wait  an  expiration  of  one  year,  but  attached 
with  decree,  becoming  final  on  registration.  This  left  the  opposition 
with  no  argument  whatsoever  against  the  system.  Yet  a  lull  in  the  pro- 
ceedings continued  through  the  fall  of  year  1921,  but  with  the  year  1922 
applications  again  came  in  for  filing,  and  a  course  for  future  growth  had 
become    inevitable. 

Mortimer  P.  Maine. — After  many  years  of  aggressive  and  suc- 
cessful business  operations  Mortimer  P.  Maine  is  now  living  prac- 
tically retired,  although  he  retains  his  ownership  of  his  valuable 
orange  grove  of  ten  acres,  in  the  midst  of  which  he  and  his  family 
are  enjoying  a  quiet  and  happy  life.  The  city  is  an  ideal  spot  for 
those  with  leisure  on  their  hands,  and  Mr.  Maine  rejoices  that  he 
selected  Riverside  as  his  permanent  home  when  the  ill  health  of  his 
wife  brought  them  West  in  search  of  a  milder  climate.  Compared 
with  his  earlier  vears,  the  time  he  has  snent  in  California  has  been 
one  of  ease  and  independence,  and  he  is  one  of  the  enthusiastic 
boosters  for  this  region. 

Mr.  Maine  was  born  in  Henderson  Township,  Jefferson  County, 
New  York,  May  10,  1843,  a  son  of  Mortimer  P.  and  Sarah  (Drum- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1095 

mond)  Maine,  both  of  whom  are  deceased.  The  father  was  born  in 
New  York  State,  a  member  of  an  old  American  family  of  English 
descent,  established  in  this  country  in  1670,  when  its  representatives 
settled  in  Connecticut.  Later  removal  was  made  to  New  York,  where 
the  Maines  have  been  prominent,  especially  in  agricultural  pursuits. 
The  Drummonds  are  of  Revolutionary  stock  and  Scotch  descent,  and 
Mrs.  Maine  was  also  born  in  New  York  State. 

The  younger  Mortimer  P.  Maine  attended  the  public  schools  of 
Wisconsin,  to  which  state  his  parents  moved  in  1849,  and  with  the 
outbreak  of  the  war  between  the  North  and  the  South  he  enlisted  in 
the  Union  army  and  served  four  years  in  Company  B,  Thirteenth 
Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry,  in  the  Army  of  the  Cumberland,  un- 
der Gen.  George  H.  Thomas.  He  received  his  honorable  discharge 
at  the  close  of  the  war  in  Madison,  Wisconsin,  December  25,  1865. 

For  a  number  of  years  following  his  return  to  private  life  Mr. 
Maine  followed  railroading,  but  later  went  to  Kansas  and  was  en- 
gaged in  farming  in  that  state  for  seven  years.  Returning  to  Wis- 
consin, he  was  there  engaged  in  farming  until  1901,  when,  on  account 
of  his  wife's  delicate  health,  he  came  to  Riverside.  Here  he  bought 
ten  acres  of  oranges  at  1338  Kansas  Avenue,  and  went  into  the 
orange  industry.  Of  recent  years  he  has  practically  turned  over  the 
management  of  the  busines.s  to  his  son,  and  is  enjoying  a  well-earned 
ease.  The  crop  is  mostly  navals,  although  there  are  a  few  valencies. 
The  location  is  an  ideal  one,  and  here  a  pleasant  home  is  maintained. 
The  crop  is  shipped  through  the  Sierra  Vista  Packing  House,  of  which 
at  one  time  Mr.  Maine  was  a  director.  He  was  also  for  a  time  con- 
nected with  the  banking  interests  of  the  city,  but  sold  his  stock  some 
time  ago.  With  the  majority  of  the  veterans  of  the  war  of  the  '60s 
he  joined  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  and  served  as  commander 
of  the  Post  in  his  home  town  in  Wisconsin.  Always  voting  the  re- 
publican ticket,  he  was  quite  active  in  party  matters  in  Wisconsin, 
serving  as  delegate  to  the  countv  conventions  and  as  a  member  of  the 
City  Central  Committee,  but  since  he  located  at  Riverside  he  has  not 
participated  to  any  extent  in  politics. 

In  1874  Mr.  Maine  married  Laura  Elizabeth  De  Haven,  a  native 
of  Wisconsin  and  a  daughter  of  Alpheus  De  Haven,  a  farmer  of 
Revolutionary  stock  and  French  Huguenot  descent.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Maine  have  three  children,  namely:  Morna  G.,  who  is  the  wife  of 
George  F.  Conway,  a  sketch  of  whom  appears  elsewhere  in  this 
work;  Beatrice  M.,  who  is  the  wife  of  Truman  F.  Gridley,  who  is 
living  in  Coachella.  is  foreman  of  the  Narbonne  ranch ;  Rexford  De 
Haven,  who  conducts  his  father's  business. 

Since  coming  to  Riverside  Mr.  Maine  has  displayed  commendable 
civic  pride  and  has  advocated  all  kinds  of  public  improvements,  for 
he  realizes  the  necessity  of  keeping  abreast  of  progress  in  every 
way.  Personally  genial  and  convincing,  he  has  always  made  warm 
friends,  and  his  evident  sincerity  and  sterling  worth'have  gained  for 
him  the  confidence  and  esteem  of  the  community  in  which  he  has 
been  for  so  long  a  prominent  figure. 

Capt.  Alfred  Marcy  Api.in. — There  could  be  no  historical  sub- 
ject of  greater  interest  than  that  involved  in  the  reclamation,  development 
and  improvement  of  the  former  desert  regions  of  Southern  California  into 
what  is  now  a  well  connected  landscape  of  citrus  groves.  Hardly  anvone 
had  a  more  important  and  practical  part  in  that  development,  particularly 
in  the  districts  around  Highland,  than  the  late  Capt.  Alfred  Marcy  Aplin. 


1096       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Captain  Aplin,  who  received  his  title  as  a  Union  officer  of  the  Civil 
war,  was  born  in  Ashtabula  County,  Ohio,  October  14,  1837.  While  com- 
pleting a  college  course  he  answered  Lincoln's  first  call  for  volunteers, 
served  a  three  months'  enlistment  and  then  re-enlisted  and  was  with  the 
fighting  forces  of  the  North  until  the  final  surrender.  He  was  once  cap- 
tured, and  for  seven  days  endured  confinement  in  the  Belle  Isle  Prison 
near  Richmond,  Virginia.  He  was  in  some  of  the  most  noted  battles  of 
the  war,  and  at  Missionary  Ridge  his  captain,  Cahil,  was  killed  as  he  stood 
looking  over  Mr.  Aplin's  shoulder  reading  a  newspaper.  This  newspaper 
had  been  slipped  to  them  by  a  negro  as  they  lay  secreted  in  the  brush, 
and  Confederate  sharpshooters  had  located  them  by  means  of  the  paper. 
Captain  Aplin  was  an  aide  to  General  Thomas  in  the  battles  of  Chicka- 
mauga  and  Stone  River,  and  at  the  close  of  the  war  he  participated  in  the 
Grand  Review  at  Washington.  He  went  in  as  a  private,  was  twice 
promoted  for  bravery,  and  retired  with  the  rank  of  captain.  For  many 
years  he  was  a  member  of  the  G.  A.  R.  Post  at  San  Bernardino. 

In  Ohio  in  1865  Captain  Aplin  married  Miss  Mary  Elizabeth  Winn, 
of  Athens,  that  state.  She  was  born  in  Albany,  Ohio,  November  14,  1842. 
When  he  left  Ohio,  Captain  Aplin  lived  for  two  years  at  Mount  Pleasant, 
Iowa,  and  from  there  moved  to  Chetopah,  Kansas.  With  that  town  as  his 
headquarters  he  carried  on  an  extensive  business  as  a  cattleman,  running 
his  herds  over  a  large  territory  in  Kansas  and  Indian  Territory. 

Captain  Aplin  came  to  California  in  1875.  He  had  a  temporary  resi- 
dence on  Base  Line,  and  for  the  first  three  months  worked  in  the  moun- 
tains at  the  Little  Bear  Sawmill  owned  by  Talmadge.  In  the  meantime 
he  was  looking  about  for  a  permanent  location,  and  in  1875  homesteaded 
a  quarter  section  in  East  Highland,  what  is  now  known  as  the  Smith  Ranch. 
Almost  immediately  he  became  instrumental  in  developing  an  irrigation 
water  system,  and  also  planted  much  of  his  land  to  deciduous  fruit.  One 
association  of  those  early  times  was  with  F.  E.  Brown,  the  well  known 
pioneer  and  founder  of  Redlands.  They  established  a  plant  at  the  north 
end  of  Orange  Street,  and  for  two  seasons  bought  and  evaporated  fruit. 
Captain  Aplin  designed  and  constructed  the  first  commercial  evaporator  at 
Redlands,  a  plant  which  people  came  miles  to  see.  He  operated  this  plant 
on  Lugonia  Avenue  near  the  Beal  place  in  1878-79.  He  also  invented, 
though  he  never  patented,  a  knife  for  the  cutting  of  clingstone  peaches. 
The  design-  was  subsequently  adopted  and  largely  manufactured  in  the 
East.  While  associated  with  Mr.  Brown  he  was  also  instrumental  in  bring- 
ing water  to  the  higher  mesas  in  Redlands.  He  was  a  pioneer  in  the  build- 
ing of  the  Congregational  Church  at  Highland,  and  was  active  in  its  choir. 

About  1880  he  bought  eighty  acres  of  railroad  land,  a  portion  of  which 
is  still  owned  by  Mrs.  Mary  E.  Aplin  of  East  Highland.  This  he  improved, 
setting  out  one  of  the  first  Naval  orange  groves  in  the  district.  He  had 
observed  the  influence  of  frost  on  the  sunflowers  on  lower  and  higher 
land,  and  was  one  of  the  first  to  advocate  the  higher  mesa  as  the  best  loca- 
tion for  citrus  fruit,  a  policy  and  plan  since  generally  followed  and 
approved.  He  recommended  and  promoted  the  first  two  higher  line  water 
ditches  from  Santa  Ana,  partly  as  a  means  of  saving  wasteage  due  to  the 
loss  through  the  sand  and  also  to  serve  the  higher  foothill  lands.  He  was 
partially  responsible  for  the  present  high  line  known  as  the  North  Fork 
Ditch  or  Canal.  His  first  attempt  to  construct  this  was  met  by  ridicule, 
and  a  number  of  his  neighbors  declared  the  ditch  ran  uphill  and  refused 
to  work,  taking  their  teams  and  going  home.  It  was  only  after  a  con- 
vincing talk  with  the  aid  of  a  surveyor  that  they  returned  and  helped  him 
complete  the  work.  Captain  Aplin  with  John  Weeks  and  John  Cram  made 
the  first  filing  on  the  waters  of  Plunge  Creek,  and  Captain  Aplin  built  the 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1097 

Plunge  Creek  Ditch  without  the  air  of  a  surveyor,  using  a  home  made 
level.  This  was  about  1883-84.  He  also  contracted  and  laid  the  first  pav- 
ing in  the  North  Fork  Ditch,  employing  two  hundred  Chinese  at  a  dollar 
and  a  quarter  a  day  of  ten  hours. 

Captain  Aplin's  signature  was  attached  to  the  contract  with  the  North 
Fork  and  Bear  Valley  Water  companies,  wherein  the  Bear  Valley  Water 
Company  was  permitted  to  divert  to  the  compounding  dam  certain  tribu- 
taries of  North  Fork,  agreeing  to  maintain  the  North  Fork  ditches  and 
deliver  600  inches  of  water  to  it  in  the  months  of  June,  July  and  August, 
thus  settling  a  difficult  problem  of  water  rights  in  the  district.  Captain 
Aplin  was  also  consulted  by  the  founders  of  the  Bear  Valley  Dam  as  to 
the  feasibility  of  such  a  construction,  and  he  guided  the  parties  to  the  site 
on  which  the  present  dam  is  located. 

He  was  one  of  the  first  men  from  the  Highland  district  to  make  practi- 
cal use  of  investments  in  the  great  Imperial  Valley.  The  eighty  acres  he 
owned  there  he  improved  by  planting  grapes,  deciduous  fruits,  and  experi- 
menting in  other  lines.  In  1908  Captain  Aplin  moved  from  East  High- 
land to  a  modern  home  he  built  in  East  Hollywood.  He  remained  there 
four  years,  and  then  removed  to  San  Francisco,  where  the  death  of  this 
honored  pioneer  occurred  February  28,  1918.  Captain  Aplin  had  many 
solid  works  to  his  credit  in  business  affairs,  and  he  was  always  known  as  a 
man  of  the  highest  character.  He  had  come  to  California  a  thousand 
dollars  in  debt,  and  he  paid  that  off  in  eight  years.  Eventually  he  achieved 
a  fortune,  and  was  thoroughly  admired  for  the  qualities  of  his  citizenship. 

Captain  and  Mrs.  Aplin  had  six  children,  the  first  three  having  been 
born  in  Iowa.  The  oldest,  Benjamin,  died  at  the  age  of  twenty-eight. 
The  second,  Myrtle  Alfreda  Aplin,  M.D.,  graduated  from  the  Cooper 
Medical  College  of  San  Francisco,  and  was  one  of  the  first  two  women  out 
of  thirty  of  her  sex  who  competed  in  examination,  to  be  selected  and 
appointed  by  the  Governor  for  executive  responsibilities  in  the  State  Hos- 
pitals. For  seven  years  she  was  physician  in  charge  of  the  women's  depart- 
ment at  the  Napa  Hospital  for  the  Insane,  resigning  to  devote  herself  to 
her  invalid  mother. 

The  third  child  Dr.  Guy  E.  Aplin,  who  graduated  in  medicine  in  Chi- 
cago, practiced  for  a  number  of  years  in  St.  Louis,  and  after  returning  to 
California  practiced  at  Santa  Paula,  and  later  at  Calpella  had  a  successful 
experience  as  a  pear  orchardist.  Later  he  was  manager  for  the  Phoebe 
Hearst  home  ranch,  and  is  now  a  prominent  orange  grower  on  the  place  his 
father  planted  at  Highland.  He  married  Pearl  Burr,  who  was  reared  and 
educated  in  the  East. 

The  fourth  child  of  the  family  was  Donald  Graham  Aplin,  who  was 
born  at  Chetopah,  Kansas,  graduated  from  Pomona  College  and  California 
University,  receiving  the  degree  Bachelor  of  Science  in  mine  engineering 
and  chemistry  in  1899.  He  taught  in  the  chemistry  department  at  Berkeley 
for  a  year,  then  spent  a  year  with  the  Borax  Company,  and  was  with  the 
Dean  and  Jones  Mining  Company  and  the  Virginia  Dale  Mines  and  for  a 
number  of  years  performed  the  arduous  duties  incident  to  work  on  the 
desert  and  in  the  mountains.  He  was  a  pioneer  in  the  Imperial  Valley, 
improving  farm  land  there,  and  was  horticultural  commissioner  and  presi- 
dent of  the  Imperial  Water  Company.  He  finally  resigned  to  return  to 
Highland  and  take  charge  of  his  father's  place.  After  eight  years  he 
bought  ten  acres  at  the  corner  of  Boulder  and  Pacific  avenues,  where  he 
owns  one  of  the  best  groves  in  Highland,  and  he  also  acquired  twenty-five 
acres  nearby,  which  he  set  out  to  citrus  fruits.  In  1908  he  married  Miss 
Laura  Corwin,  member  of  a  pioneer  family  of  Southern  California.  She 
was  educated  in  the  Redlands  High  School  and  in  Longmire's  Business 


1098       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

College  at  San  Bernardino.    Their  three  children  are:   John  Alfred,  born 
in  1909;  Florence,  born  in  1913,  and  Esther,  born  in  1918. 

The  fifth  child  of  Captain  Aplin  was  Alfred  Porter,  who  was  born  at 
East  Highland  and  was  drowned  in  the  North  Fork  Canal  at  the  age  of 
two  years.  The  youngest  of  the  family,  Ethel  Grace,  also  a  native  of 
Highland,  is  a  graduate  of  the  preparatory  school  of  Pomona  College  and 
received  her  M.  D.  degree  from  Ward's  Medical  College  at  San  Francisco. 
She  was  married  to  Frank  Lynn,  an  electrician,  who  was  accidentally  elec- 
trocuted in  San  Francisco.  Mrs.  Lynn  is  a  leader  in  the  socialist  party  in 
California  and  was  a  candidate  on  that  ticket  for  secretary  of  state,  receiv- 
ing 40,000  votes.  She  possesses  great  talent  in  literary  lines  as  well  as 
in  sociological  problems,  and  was  author  of  a  book  entitled  "Adventures  of 
a  Woman  Hobo." 

Marcus  L.  Frink,  of  the  pioneers  constituting  the  old  San  Bernardino 
Colony  one  still  living  and  with  a  vast  amount  of  authoritative  and  interest- 
ing information  concerning  early  times,  early  conditions  and  old  personali- 
ties and  events  is  Marcus  L.  Frink  of  Redlands,  a  native  son,  and  whose 
memory  and  participation  in  local  history  run  back  half  a  century  or  more. 

Mr.  Frink  was  born  in  San  Bernardino,  March  14,  1860.  His  birth- 
place was  what  in  later  years  was  the  old  race  track,  but  sixty  years  ago  was 
a  low,  swampy  tract  of  land  then  owned  by  his  great-grandfather,  Martin 
Potter.  Mr.  Frink  is  a  son  of  Horace  Monroe  and  Polly  Ann  (DeWitt) 
Frink.  His  father  was  born  in  New  York  State  in  1831  and  came  to 
California  in  the  years  immediately  following  the  discovery  of  gold.  The 
day  he  was  twenty-one  he  came  into  the  state  riding  a  horse,  and  Indians 
attacked  the  party  and  he  was  robbed  of  everything,  including  the  clothes 
he  had  on  his  back.  He  borrowed  a  shirt,  trousers  and  moccasins  in  order 
to  make  a  presentable  appearance  when  he  reached  the  border  of  civiliza- 
tion, in  1852  at  Hangtown,  California.  He  was  a  brick  mason  by  trade, 
and  his  first  enterprise  was  contracting  to  burn  a  lime  kiln  for  the  price  of 
a  dollar  a  barrel.  He  worked  at  that  one  year,  burned  700  barrels,  and 
then  returned  to  the  States.  When  he  came  back  to  California  he  was 
accompanied  by  his  grandmother  and  two  half  brothers,  and  this  time  the 
trip  was  made  by  wagon  train.     They  reached  San  Bernardino  in  1854. 

In  San  Bernardino  he  married  Polly  Ann  DeWitt,  a  native  of  Indiana. 
She  was  one  of  the  real  pioneer  women  of  California,  and  came  West  by 
wagon  train  with  many  hazards  and  arduous  circumstances,  the  first  stage 
of  the  journey  ending  at  Salt  Lake  and  from  there  by  a  second  stage 
traveling  to  San  Bernardino.  With  her  came  her  grandfather,  the  Martin 
Potter  above  mentioned,  and  her  brother.  They  located  on  the  old  race 
track  site,  owned  by  Potter.  Horace  M.  Frink  and  wife  had  seven  chil- 
dren, three  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  The  oldest  of  those  to  grow  up  was 
A.  M.  Frink,  who  was  born  in  1858  and  died  November  10,  1918,  leaving 
one  daughter.  Marcus  L.  is  the  second  and  the  only  son  to  survive.  George 
Grant  Frink  born  in  1866.  died  in  1875.  The  fourth,  Polly  Ann,  born  in 
1869,  is  the  wife  of  Henry  Gansner,  and  is  the  mother  of  a  son  and 
daughter. 

Horace  M.  Frink  was  an  old  time  freighter  and  a  pioneer  in  every 
sense  of  the  word.  He  drove  and  sent  heavy  teams  from  San  Bernardino 
into  Utah  and  later  to  the  various  mining  camps  in  Arizona.  He  was  also 
a  pilot  when  the  old  stage  line  was  established,  having  blazed  the  way  for 
several  early  stage  routes  in  the  Southwest.  His  business  at  home  was 
largely  ranching  and  cattle  raising.  In  1866  he  traded  the  lower  half  of 
the  old  race  track  farm  with  a  man  named  Wallace  for  100  acres  on  the 
old  Cottonwood  Road,  giving  Wallace  $400  in  value  in  cattle  to  even  up 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1099 

the  transaction.  This  land  is  still  owned  by  his  heirs.  He  moved  his 
family  into  an  old  slab  house  on  the  new  tract,  but  during  1871-72  con- 
structed a  substantial  adobe  house.  The  adobe  bricks  were  made  on  the 
old  Barton  tract,  and  Marcus  Frink  and  his  brother  hauled  them  to  the 
site  of  the  building  where  their  father  laid  them  in  the  wall.  This  building 
is  still  occupied,  and  with  recent  changes  is  modern  in  appearance  and  a 
splendid  abode  of  comfort.  On  this  land  in  1868  Horace  Frink  set  out 
some  seedling  orange  trees,  made  additional  plantings  in  1870,  and  this 
was  one  of  the  pioneer  successful  efforts  at  orange  growing  in  this  vicinity. 
In  later  years  these  plantings  have  been  greatly  extended  by  Marcus 
L.  Frink  and  his  brother,  much  of  the  tract  being  now  given  over  to  Naval 
oranges. 

In  November,  1900,' Marcus  L.  Frink  and  his  sister  divided  the  estate 
of  105  acres,  Mrs.  Gansner  taking  25  acres,  while  Mr.  Frink  now  has 
60,  30  acres  of  which  are  in  oranges  and  30  acres  in  alfalfa. 

Mr.  Frink  during  his  boyhood  had  little  opportunity  to  attend  school. 
After  he  was  fourteen  he  had  to  work  regularly  at  home.  In  1880  he 
married  Miss  Caroline  Wilson,  who  was  born  at  the  old  San  Bernardino 
Colony,  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Rhoda  (Van  Leuven)  Wilson.  The  name 
Van  Leuven  is  particularly  significant  as  pioneer  families  in  this  section  of 
the  state.  The  Wilsons  and  Van  Leuvens  came  over  the  plains  and  moun- 
tains in  ox  trains.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Frink  had  seven  children.  The  four 
now  living  are:  Lena,  born  November  3,  1881,  educated  at  Redlands,  and 
wife  of  Fred  W.  Watkins,  who  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  is  a  short- 
hand reporter  and  clerk  of  court  under  Judge  Curtis  in  San  Bernardino. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Watkins  have  a  son  and  a  daughter.  Amy  Frink,  born 
February  14,  1884,  was  educated  in  the  Redlands  High  School  and  in 
1906  became  the  wife  of  George  A.  Murphy,  of  Redlands  Junction.  Their 
children  are  Florence  Loraine,  born  in  1907,  and  Mark  Murphy,  born  in 
1912.  Milton  J.  Frink,  born  September  3,  1890,  is  an  orange  grower  in 
the  Redlands  district.  He  married  Ruth  Weed,  of  Michigan,  and  her 
two  sons  are  Kenneth  Milton,  born  March  20,  1916,  and  Donald  Eugene, 
born  September  20.  1919.  The  fourth  and  youngest  child  is  Howard 
Lloyd,  born  May  11,  1897.  He  enlisted  September  6,  1918,  and  was  in 
training  at  Camp  Kearney  until  after  the  signing  of  the  armistice. 

Marcus  L.  Frink  has  many  pictures  in  his  memory  of  the  San  Ber- 
nardino of  bygone  days.  When  he  was  a  boy  the  town  contained  only 
one  store,  owned  by  Louis  Jacobs,  who  later  became  prominent  as  a 
banker.  He  lived  here  when  this  was  a  wide  open  town  with  twenty-eight 
saloons,  drinking,  shooting,  gambling,  and  often  the  scene  of  riotous 
excitement  from  day  to  day.  It  was  the  rendezvous  of  miners  and 
freighters,  and  Indians  were  frequent  visitors  and  were  allowed  to  drink 
without  hindrance.  Mr.  Frink  states  that  the  Indians  then  living  here 
would  willingly  do  ranch  work  for  fifty  cents  a  day  and  were  good  laborers, 
working  from  daylight  to  dark,  but  spent  all  their  earnings  in  the  saloons. 
The  building  of  the  railroad  to  Colton  in  1874  began  the  modern  era  of 
progress  and  development,  all  of  which  Mr.  Frink  has  witnessed  and  in 
which  he  has  participated  as  one  of  the  old  pioneers  who  are  glad  to  see 
the  wonderful  advantages  in  this  region  made  available  to  a  constantly 
increasing  population.  Mr.  Frink  is  a  member  of  the  Native  Sons,  the 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows.  In  politics  he  is  a  republican,  and  has  served  on  the 
Republican  County  Central  Committee. 

Jacob  Dean  Kirkpatrick  has  been  a  resident  of  Ontario  for  thirty 
years,  locating  in  that  section  of  San  Bernardino  County  after  leaving 


1100      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

his  farm  in  Iowa,  and  continued  dairying  and  ranching  here  for  a  number 
of  years,  until  he  retired,  and  is  now  enjoying  the  ample  prosperity 
that  has  rewarded  his  energetic  efforts.    _ 

Mr.  Kirkpatrick  was  born  August  3,  1856,  son  of  James  W.  and 
Rachael  J.  (Burge)  Kirkpatrick.  His  father  was  an  Iowa  pioneer  and 
enlisted  from  that  state  in  the  Union  Army  during  the  Civil  war.  Jacob 
D.  Kirkpatrick  acquired  his  education  in  Iowa,  at  New  London,  and  was 
identified  with  farming  in  that  state  until  about  1892  when  he  removed 
to  Ontario  and  bought  a  dairy  ranch  of  thirty  acres.  He  continued 
dairying  until  a  few  years  ago,  when  he  sold  out.  He  now  lives  in  the 
center  of  the  city  of  Ontario,  at  224  East  A  Street,  and  has  a  beautiful 
residence  erected  five  years  ago,  one  of  the  most  desirable  homes  of 
Ontario,  and  a  house  representing  to  a  large  extent  his  ideas  of  planning 
and  arrangement.  Mr.  Kirkpatrick  served  for  a  number  of  years  as 
superintendent  of  streets  in  Ontario,  is  a  Joyal  democrat,  a  public  spirited 
citizen,  for  many  years  has  been  closely  affiliated  with  the  Methodist 
Church  and  is  a  Woodman  of  the  World  and  has  filled  various  chairs 
in  that  order. 

In  Fairfield,  Jefferson  County,  Iowa,  January  1,  1882,  he  married 
Miss  Anna  J.  Orr,  who  was  born  near  Harrisburg,  Pennsylvania,  August 
11,  1861.  Her  parents,  James  and  Eleanor  (McCutheon)  Orr,  were 
natives  of  County  Tyrone,  Ireland.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kirkpatrick  have  had 
four  chjldren:  Nellie  R.,  wife  of  J.  H.  Sanborn,  of  Millcreek,  Cali- 
fornia ;  Julius  D.,  who  married  Lavina  Wymore  and  is  living  in  Ontario  ; 
Florence  D.,  who  recently  graduated  from  the  University  of  California, 
at  Berkeley;  and  Rachel,  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kirkpatrick's  grand- 
children are  as  follows:  Ronald  (deceased),  Arthur  Dean,  Eleanor 
Bertha,  and  Leona  Marie,  who  are  children  of  Nellie  R.  Sanborn ;  and 
Anna  Elizabeth,  Lavina  Ruth,  Clara  Dorris  and  Denzil  Victor,  children 
of  Julius  D.  Kirkpatrick. 

Mrs.  Kirkpatrick  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Jefferson 
County,  Iowa,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Women's  Relief  Corps.  Mr. 
Kirkpatrick  was  one  of  the  charter  members  of  the  George  Strong  Post, 
Sons  of  Veterans,  of  Brighton,  Iowa. 

H.  H.  Linville  was  the  type  of  business  man  and  citizen  that  is  a 
fundamental  asset  to  any  community.  His  life  in  San  Bernardino  County 
was  a  constructive  one,  resulting  in  improved  conditions,  and  individually  it 
was  successful,  success  being  gained  after  reverses  that  might  have  dis- 
couraged less  determined  men. 

The  late  Mr.  Linville  was  born  in  Oregon,  son  of  W.  J.  Linville.  As  a 
boy  he  came  to  California  with  his  parents,  who  lived  in  San  Francisco  for 
a  time  and  then  came  to  Riverside.  In  the  Riverside  district  his  father 
set  out  an  orange  orchard  when  few  plantings  of  citrus  fruit  had  been 
made  in  that  section.  He  also  bought  and  operated  a  planing  mill  near 
Colton.  Later  H.  H.  Linville  was  associated  with  his  father  in  this  busi- 
ness, and  on  moving  to  San  Bernardino  they  operated  a  planing  mill.  Mr. 
H.  H.  Linville  and  Mr.  Whitney  as  partners  owned  a  mill  at  San  Ber- 
nardino, and  also  bought  timber  and  operated  a  saw  mill  in  the  San 
Bernardino  Mountains.  After  the  burning  of  the  mill  at  San  Bernardino 
Mr.  Linville  engaged  in  the  citrus  nursery  business  at  Highland.  For  a 
period  his  efforts  were  rewarded  with  encouraging  progress.  Then  came 
a  severe  freeze,  which  practically  destroyed  the  entire  plantation.  That 
was  the  second  severe  financial  reverse.  This  time  he  was  left  only  with 
the  assets  of  good  character.  At  this  time  the  Brookings  Mill  &  Lumber 
Company  was  beginning  the  operation  of  a  large  sawmill  at  Highland. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1101 

This  firm  allowed  .Mr.  Linville  to  have  a  strip  of  land  with  water,  and  in 
return  for  its  use  he  acted  as  watchman  of  the  company's  property.  On 
this  land  he  again  planted  a  nursery,  and  as  the  result  of  long,  hard  hours 
of  lahor  he  gradually  built  anew  his  finances.  Later  he  purchased  land 
from  Mr.  Tyler  and  expanded  the  nursery  to  larger  proportions,  and  from 
time  to  time  increased  his  holdings,  securing  forty-six  acres  of  valuable 
citrus  groves.  Eventually  he  was  one  of  the  large  property  owners  of  this 
section,  owning  several  substantial  business  blocks  in  the  City  of  San 
Bernardino  and  in  Highland.  Great  industry  and  business  ability  put  him 
on  a  secure  financial  footing  years  before  his  death,  which  occurred  at 
Highland  in  1915.  He  was  a  Knight  of  Pythias  and  a  member  of  the 
Congregational  Church. 

At  Highland  Mr.  Linville  married  Miss  Cora  B.  Wallace,  a  native  of 
Iowa,  and  brought  to  California  when  seventeen  months  old  by  her  parents, 
William  and  Mary  E.  (Gemmel)  Wallace.  Her  people  were  among  the 
pioneers  of  the  Highland  section.  As  Miss  Wallace  Mrs.  Linville  was  a 
popular  teacher  both  in  Riverside  and  Highland.  She  is  the  mother  of  two 
children :   Henry  Herschel  and  Wallace  Linville. 

The  memory  of  the  late  Mr.  Linville  is  that  of  one  of  the  founders  of 
the  colony,  a  pillar  of  real  strength  and  a  source  of  encouragement  to 
others.  He  was  far-seeing,  possessed  advanced  ideas  and  ideals,  and  was 
most  generous  in  giving  them  expression. 

John  R.  Metcalf,  of  Highland,  is  one  of  the  successful  self-made 
men  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  is  proud  of  the  fact  that  he  owes 
all  of  his  present  prosperity  to  his  own,  unaided  efforts.  He  has  always 
studied  conditions  carefully,  weighed  opportunities  and  made  his  invest- 
ments wisely,  with  a  view  to  the  future  as  well  as  the  present.  It  is  such 
men  as  he  who  are  responsible  for  the  remarkable  expansion  in  every 
direction  of  the  commercial  and  industrial  interests  of  Southern  California. 

The  birth  of  John  R.  Metcalf  occurred  at  San  Bernardino,  November 
22,  1863,  and  he  is  a  son  of  John  F.  and  Eliza  Metcalf,  natives  of  Cum- 
berland, England,  who  first  immigrated  to  Australia  and  later  to  America, 
with  their  respective  parents.  It  was  during  the  excitement  over  the 
discovery  of  gold  in  Australia  that  the  Metcalf  family  left  England  for 
Australia,  but  when  it  died  out  in  1852,  without  having  materially  bettered 
their  fortunes,  they  decided  to  once  more  follow  the  lure  of  the  golden 
goddess.  They  left  Sidney,  Australia,  on  one  of  the  old-type  sailing 
vessels,  and  after  a  long  and  wearying  voyage  of  thirteen  weeks  landed  at 
Wilmington,  California.  It  is  a  curious  fact  that  their  former  voyage, 
from  England  to  Australia,  also  took  thirteen  weeks,  and  it,  too,  was 
made  in  a  sailing  vessel. 

Although  they  came  here  primarily  with  the  idea  of  prospecting  for 
gold,  John  F.  Metcalf  found  better-paying  work  at  freighting,  for  there 
was  such  a  demand  for  all  kinds  of  supplies  and  no  railroads  to  carry 
them  that  the  profits  from  this  line  of  business  were  very  large.  He  drove 
a  team  from  the  seacoast  to  various  Government  posts  on  the  frontier, 
later  extending  his  territory  to  different  points  in  Arizona  and  becoming 
the  owner  of  his  own  outfit.  On  these  trips  it  was  the  custom  for  a 
number  of  the  freighters  to  travel  together  so  as  to  be  able  in  this  way 
to  offer  an  effective  resistance  to  any  attack  by  the  Indians,  who  infested 
the  country  at  this  period.  In  spite  of  all  the  precautions  he  had  many 
narrow  escapes,  and  some  very  thrilling  experiences.  In  1870  he  rented 
from  John  Brown,  Senior,  the  toll  road  through  Cajon  Pass.  Like  other 
pioneer  enterprises,  however,  freighting  passed  with  the  coming  of  more 
civilized  conditions,  and  John  Metcalf  turned  his  attention  to  other  pro- 


1102       SAX  BERXARDIXO  AXD  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

jects.  In  1873  he  began  lumbering  and  saw-milling  in  the  San  Bernardino 
Mountains,  one  mile  southeast  of  the  present  Little  Bear  Valley  dam  site, 
but  he  died  two  years  later,  just  as  he  was  getting  his  new  undertakings  in 
excellent  shape. 

John  F.  Metcalf  married  Miss  Eliza  Arnold,  and  they  had  five  children : 
John  R..  who  was  the  eldest ;  Elizabeth,  who  was  born  in  1865,  died  in 
1875;  Isabel,  who  was  born  in  1866.  died  the  following  year;  James  W., 
who  was  born  December  14,  1868,  is  now  living  at  Colton,  and  has  for 
twenty-five  years  been  in  the  service  of  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  Company, 
being  now  in  entire  charge  of  the  Southern  California  signal  service,  which 
he  has  so  perfected  that  it  costs  to  the  company  practically  nothing  in  acci- 
dents, being  100  per  cent  efficient;  and  Margaret,  who  was  born  May  11, 
1871,  married  M.  J.  Simonton,  chief  auditor,  Hawaiian  Islands,  which 
responsible  position  he  has  held  for  years.  When  the  United  States  Gov- 
ernment took  over  these  islands  Judge  Robinson  was  appointed  judge,  and 
Mr.  Simonton  was  made  his  clerk.  When  Woodrow  Wilson  became  presi- 
dent, he  appointed  a  new  judge,  and  Mr.  Simonton  was  made  chief  auditor. 
He  and  his  wife  have  one  child,  Richard  M.  Simonton,  a  bright  young  man 
with  brilliant  prospects.  He  studied  in  the  various  schools  on  the  islands, 
and  then  took  a  course  in  marine  studies.  Coming  to  Presidio,  California, 
he  took  the  examination  for  Annapolis,  and  was  one  out  of  a  class  of  800 
to  pass  it  satisfactorily,  his  rating  being  380.  He  is  now  on  the  high  seas 
for  further  training  as  an  official. 

John  R.  Metcalf  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  San  Bernardino,  and 
his  first  employment  was  secured  in  the  general  merchandise  store  of  H. 
Conner  of  that  city.  Then  for  two  years  he  was  with  Xewburg  &  Rath- 
burn,  grocers,  leaving  that  firm  for  Smith  Hale,  with  whom  he  continued 
until  he  went  into  the  grocery  business  for  himself  in  1885,  at  which  time 
he  established  himself  at  Riverside,  and  very  successfully  conducted  his 
store  for  two  years,  when  he  sold  and  went  into  Bear  Valley 

With  his  arrival  in  Bear  Valley  and  his  entry  into  the  cattle  business, 
began  the  era  of  his  real  prosperity,  and  he  extended  his  operations  in  many 
directions.  Mr.  Metcalf  began  on  1,000  acres  of  land,  but  had  an  exten- 
sive range  on  Whitewater  for  winter  feeding.  During  this  part  of  his 
career  he  had  many  experiences,  and  passed  through  a  number  of  changes, 
both  natural  and  artificial.  In  1891  the  Colorado  River  broke  over  its 
banks,  something  similar  to  the  floods  which  formed  the  present  Salton 
Sea,  and  the  lands  were  flooded  about  Xew  River,  and  as  a  result  quan- 
tities of  grass  and  pools  of  water  continued  during  that  season.  G.  W. 
Lang,  an  old  Arizona  cattleman  driving  cattle  across  the  desert  to  the 
coast,  found  this  feed,  which  enabled  him  to  bring  in  9,000  head  of  cattle. 
So  favorably  was  he  impressed  with  the  country  that  he  followed  the 
river  back  into  the  Bee  River  country,  and  there  obtained  Mexican  govern- 
ment concessions.  His  example  was  followed  by  Mr.  Metcalf,  who  also 
bought  cattle  at  different  times,  as  Lang  drove  them  out.  He  paid  $1,503 
for  400  head  of  cattle  from  Mr.  Lang  at  one  time.  The  following  year, 
with  O.  M.  Smith,  he  bought  500  head  of  cattle  driven  out  from  the  Colo- 
rado River  across  the  Chachuwalla  Desert  to  Whitewater.  The  loss  through 
making  this  desert  drive  was  small,  as  the  partners  sold  490  head  of  this 
herd  to  R.  F.  Garner.  All  of  these  occurrences  took  place  during  the  early 
history  of  the  cattle  industry  in  California. 

Mr.  Metcalf  in  partnership  with  Gus  Knight  built  the  famous  Pine  Knot 
Hotel  of  the  now  world-renowned  Bear  Valley  Mountain  resort.  When 
they  put  up  the  first  hotel  this  valley  was  a  primitive  forest  and  meadow 
land  locality.  He  packed  in  all  of  his  supplies  by  way  of  Victorville  and 
the  desert  trail.     Subsequently  Mr.  Metcalf  sold  his  interest  in  this  hotel 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1103 

to  Mr.  Knight.  Mr.  Metcalf  also  organized  and  superintended  the  con- 
struction of  the  first  toll  road  in  the  valley.  The  merchants  in  the  valley 
below  subscribed  stock  to  the  amount  of  about  $1,500,  Mr.  Knight  sub- 
scribed $1,000,  and  Mr.  Metcalf  assumed  the  balance,  of  about  $2,000. 
This  road  was  opened  in  1891  as  one  charging  one  dollar  for  a  two-horse 
team.  At  that  time  the  valley  had  but  five  families,  those  of  Messrs.  Met- 
calf and  Knight,  and  the  Rathbun,  Beard  and  Case  families,  and  there 
was  also  the  carekeeper  at  the  dam.  By  comparing  the  population  in  1891 
with  the  returns  from  the  last  census  some  adequate  idea  of  the  develop- 
ment in  this  region  may  be  gained.  In  1910  Mr.  Metcalf  sold  his  chief 
holdings  to  John  D.  Clark,  who  in  turn  sold  them  to  the  present  owners, 
the  Talmage  brothers.  In  the  meanwhile  he  had  disposed  of  his  cattle 
business  and  moved  to  Los  Angeles,  where  until  1918  he  was  very  success- 
fully engaged  in  business  as  a  grocer.  In  the  latter  year  he  came  to  High- 
land, and  since  then  has  been  occupied  with  orange  and  lemon  growing. 
In  1887  Mr.  Metcalf  married  Miss  Belle  Knight,  who  was  born  in  1863 
and  is  a  member  of  the  prominent  Knight  family.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Metcalf 
have  no  children.  They  are  very  prominent  socially,  and  are  hospitable 
entertainers  at  their  beautiful  Highland  home.  They  are  enthusiastic 
with  reference  to  the  future  of  San  Bernardino  County,  fully  believing 
that  the  beginning  of  its  expansion  has  barely  commenced.  Having  taken 
so  active  a  part  in  much  of  the  earlier  constructive  work,  they  are  in  a 
position  to  know  its  possibilities  and  what  may  be  expected  of  them. 
Mr.  Metcalf  has  been  a  hard  worker.  While  he  has  been  accorded  a 
success  greater  than  comes  to  every  man,  he  has  earned  every  bit  of  it,  and 
also  fully  deserves  the  confidence  he  inspires,  for  it  comes  as  the  result  of 
years  of  purposeful  endeavor,  intelligent  planning  and  the  determination 
to  permit  no  obstacles  to  stand  in  the  way  of  his  attaining  his  object. 
His  recollections  of  the  early  cattle  days,  as  well  as  of  the  beginnings  of 
Pine  Knot  Hotel,  are  interesting  and  worthy  of  a  place  in  recorded  history. 
for  they  are  authentic  and  colorful,  giving  a  true  picture  of  the  days  before 
modern  invention  dominated  everything. 

Mrs.  Elizabeth  F.  Van  Leuven,  whose  childhood  memories  touch 
pioneer  life  in  both  Utah  and  California,  has  been  a  resident  of  the  latter 
state  since  1858,  and  is  now  one  of  the  venerable  and  revered  pioneer 
women  of  San  Bernardino  County,  where  she  maintains  her  home  in  the 
beautiful  Mission  district  of  Redlands.  Her  gracious  personality  and  the 
experiences  that  have  been  hers  in  connection  with  the  development  and 
progress  of  this  favored  section  of  the  state  render  it  specially  gratifying 
to  pay  to  her  in  this  publication  a  merited  tribute. 

Mrs.  Van  Leuven  was  born  in  the  State  of  Illinois,  on  the  17th  of 
March,  1846,  and  is  a  daughter  of  William  J.  and  Rachel  Robinson.  The 
father  was  born  in  Missouri,  in  1818,  was  there  reared  to  adult  age,  and  he 
was  a  farmer  by  vocation  during  the  period  of  his  youth  and  early  man- 
hood. He  became  a  member  of  the  Church  of  Latter  Day  Saints  and 
when,  at  the  outbreak  of  the  Mexican  war,  the  Government  of  the  United 
States  made  requisition  upon  the  Mormon  Church  for  500  men  to  serve 
as  soldiers  in  the  coming  conflict  Mr.  Robinson  was  one  of  those  who 
entered  service.  He  became  a  member  of  what  was  known  as  the  Mormon 
Battalion.  This  command  was  furnished  wagons  and  teams  and  assigned 
to  the  transporting  of  arms,  equipment  and  supplies  to  the  stage  of  con- 
flict. In  the  early  summer  of  1846  the  militant  caravan  set  forth  from 
Jefferson  County,  Misouri,  on  the  long  and  perilous  overland  journey 
through  the  wilderness  to  Mexico.  The  men  traveled  on  foot  and  through 
the  settled  districts  traversed  by  the  cavalcade  they  added  to  the  supplies 


1104       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

to  be  transported  to  the  front.  The  march  was  continued  to  Albuquerque, 
New  Mexico,  and  thence  through  the  desert  country,  with  countless  obsta- 
cles to  be  overcome  in  passing  through  the  arid  districts  of  the  Southwest. 
Thus  was  achieved  by  these  hard  men  a  feat  of  endurance  well  nigh 
unprecedented  in  history.  The  men  of  this  party,  as  official  records  show, 
did  much  to  further  the  success  of  the  United  States  in  the  war  with 
Mexico,  and  their  record  was  one  of  loyal  and  arduous  service.  The  mem- 
bers of  the  Mormon  Battalion  were  mustered  out  while  in  Mexico.  Some 
of  them  returned  to  Missouri  by  the  same  route  that  they  had  come,  and 
Mr.  Robinson  and  a  number  of  other  members  of  the  command  returned 
by  wagon  train  through  Mexico  to  Yuma,  Arizona,  thence  to  Wilmington, 
California,  and  onward  through  Salt  Lake  City,  Utah,  and  he  finally 
arrived  at  his  home  in  Missouri  in  1848.  In  May,  1852,  in  company  with 
his  wife  and  their  five  children,  he  became  associated  in  the  forming  of  a 
wagon  train  of  many  ox  and  mule  teams,  the  train  being  divided  into 
units  of  ten  wagons  each,  with  a  captain  assigned  in  charge  of  each  of  these 
divisions.  Mr.  Robinson  was  made  captain  of  his  unit.  The  members  of 
the  party  were  followers  of  Brigham  Young,  and  they  set  forth  to  form  a 
new  Mormon  colony,  it  having  been  the  hope  of  the  Latter  Day  Saints  that 
after  the  annexation  of  territory  at  the  close  of  the  Mexican  war  they 
would  be  given  a  refuge  and  home  in  California.  The  immigrant  train 
proceeded  on  its  hazardous  westward  journey  and  suffered  greatly  by  the 
scourge  of  cholera  which  marked  the  year  1852,  many  members  of  the 
party  having  died  of  the  dread  disease,  including  Mr.  Robinson,  who  died 
July  17,  1852,  while  the  company  was  in  the  immediate  vicinity  of  the 
Platte  River,  one  of  his  daughters  having  died  six  days  previously.  The 
bereaved  wife  and  mother,  with  her  four  young  children,  continued  her 
weary  and  desolate  journey,  and  the  daughter  Elizabeth,  of  this  sketch, 
who  was  then  six  years  old,  well  recalls  the  passing  of  the  party  through 
Echo  Canyon,  she  having  been  greatly  alarmed  by  the  echoes,  which  she 
thought  to  be  persons  mocking  the  party.  The  memorable  journey  and 
its  incidents  left  vivid  impressions  on  her  childish  mind,  and  her  reminis- 
cences of  this  remarkable  pioneer  experience  of  the  western  wilds  are  most 
graphic  and  interesting.  The  travel-worn  caravan  arrived  at  Salt  Lake 
City  about  the  first  of  September,  1852,  and  Mrs.  Robinson  and  her  chil- 
dren there  remained  until  1858,  when  they  became  members  of  another 
wagon  train  and  set  forth  for  California.  Mrs.  Robinson  later  contracted 
a  second  marriage.  Philomon  M.,  the  eldest  of  the  Robinson  children,  was 
born  in  Missouri,  as  were  the  other  four  children,  and  he  accompanied  his 
mother  on  the  journey  to  California;  Elizabeth  F.,  to  whom  this  review  is 
dedicated,  was  the  next  in  order  of  birth;  Louise  was  the  daughter  who 
died  en  route  to  Utah ;  and  the  two  younger  children,  Emma  and  William 
H.,  accompanied  their  mother  to  California.  Mrs.  Robinson  established 
the  family  home  at  San  Bernardino,  and  here  she  later  married  William 
Pugh,  there  having  been  three  children  of  this  union — Melvin,  Cardnell 
and  Eleanor. 

Elizabeth  Robinson  was  reared  to  adult  age  amid  the  pioneer  influences 
and  conditions  that  obtained  in  San  Bernardino  County,  and  her  educational 
advantages  were  those  of  the  locality  and  period.  On  the  14th  of  January, 
1863,  she  became  the  wife  of  Anson  Van  Leuven,  a  California  pioneer  of 
1852.  In  1854  Benjamin  Van  Leuven,  father  of  Anson,  likewise  came  to 
California,  and  here  he  purchased  eighty  acres  of  land  in  the  Mormon 
settlement  in  San  Bernardino  County.  After  his  marriage  Anson  Van 
Leuven  settled  on  this  land,  and  the  property,  now  finely  improved,  is  still 
known  as  the  Van  Leuven  ranch.  This  place  is  situated  on  Mountain 
View  Avenue  in  the  Mission  district,  and  here  Mrs.  Van  Leuven  maintains 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 105 

her  home  at  the  present  time.  It  is  needless  to  say  that  the  old  home  is 
endeared  to  her  by  many  hallowed  memories  and  associations.  On  this 
place  Mr.  Van  Leuven  planted  his  first  orange  grove  in  the  year  1862, 
and  the  trees  which  he  thus  planted  were  the  first  to  bear  oranges  within 
the  borders  of  San  Bernardino  County,  the  first  ripened  products  having 
here  been  garnered  in  1867.  Apples  and  peaches  raised  on  the  Van 
Leuven  ranch  in  the  early  days  were  dried,  and  grapes  were  manufactured 
into  wine.  These  products  were  sold  and  shipped  out  by  wagon  freight, 
as  was  also  the  grain  raised  for  market.  There  was  nothing  sybaritic  in 
the  conditions  that  were  in  evidence  here  in  the  early  days,  and  Mrs.  Van 
Leuven  states  that  she  wore  simple  calico  dresses  which  she  made  by 
hand,  as  did  she  all  other  clothes  used  by  herself  and  her  children.  She 
was  the  mother  of  three  children  before  she  ever  saw  a  sewing  machine, 
and  it  can  thus  be  understood  that  she  acquired  skill  with  the  needle  as  a 
matter  of  virtual  necessity.  In  her  possession  to-day,  as  a  prized  relic, 
is  a  surrey  that  gave  long  and  effective  service,  this  vehicle  having  been 
manufactured  in  Cleveland,  Ohio,  in  1849,  and  Nathan  Meek  having  used 
the  same  in  making  the  overland  trip  to  California.  Mr.  Van  Leuven 
purchased  the  vehicle  in  1863,  and  it  continued  as  the  family  carriage  for 
many  years — until,  in  fact,  it  gave  place  to  the  modern  automobile. 

In  coming  to  California  Mr.  Van  Leuven  crossed  the  plains  with  an  ox 
team,  and  a  somewhat  attenuated  heifer,  which  he  purchased,  was  hauled 
on  a  wagon  the  entire  distance  from  Bitter  Springs.  This  animal  played 
well  its  part  in  the  family  entourage  and  lived  to  the  age  of  thirty-four 
years. 

Mr.  Van  Leuven  served  as  sheriff  of  San  Bernardino  County  from 
1858  to  1861,  and  it  will  be  understood  by  the  students  of  early  history 
of  California  that  his  duties  were  of  strenuous  and  often  hazardous  order, 
as  horse  and  cattle  thieves  and  other  outlaws  were  active  in  pursuit  of  their 
nefarious  work.  The  large  cattle  and  horse  ranch  known  as  the  San  Jose 
Ranch  was  the  site  of  the  present  fine  little  city  of  Pomona,  and  ran  its 
cattle  in  the  bottom  lands  of  the  Mojave  River.  Thieves  stole  a  large 
number  of  horses  from  this  ranch,  and  they  were  tracked  through  Cajon 
Pass.  The  owner  of  the  ranch,  in  riding  about  and  looking  after  his  cattle, 
recognized  his  stolen  horses  in  the  distance.  He  notified  Sheriff  Van 
Leuven,  who  took  up  the  trail,  recovered  the  horses  and  captured  four  of 
the  six  thieves.  After  their  conviction  he  alone  took  charge  of  them  on 
the  trip  to  the  state  prison,  the  sheriff  and  his  prisoners  having  gone  to  San 
Pedro  on  horseback  and  having  thence  continued  up  the  coast  by  steamer. 
The  ranch  owner,  fearing  an  attempt  would  be  made  to  rescue  the  prison- 
ers, brought  sixteen  men  to  guard  them  on  the  trip  to  Los  Angeles,  but 
Sheriff  Van  Leuven  declined  this  aid  and  proceeded  alone  with  his  pris- 
oners. The  sheriff  traced  the  men  by  the  track  of  the  defective  hoof  of  a 
horse  which  one  of  the  number  was  riding,  he  having  recognized  this 
peculiar  deformity  as  being  that  of  a  horse  stolen  from  the  San  Jose  Ranch, 
and  on  this  occasion  he  manifested  much  finesse,  as  did  he  on  many  other 
occasions.  His  vigorous  administration  rid  the  district  and  county  of 
many  lawless  and  desperate  characters,  for  rarely  did  a  guilty  man  escape 
him.  He  served  as  a  deputy  United  States  marshal  during  the  period  of 
the  Civil  War,  and  was  one  of  the  prominent  and  influential  men  of  his 
county.  In  1863  he  was  elected  to  represent  San  Bernardino  County  in 
the  Legislature,  and  as  a  member  of  the  Lower  House  he  made  an  excel- 
lent record  of  service  in  the  General  Assembly  of  1864.  He  was  a  stalwart 
republican,  a  man  of  inviolable  integrity,  marked  loyalty  and  much  pro- 
gressiveness  and  public  spirit.  Long  before  the  close  of  his  life  he  and  his 
wife  had  severed  their  allegiance  to  the  Church  of  the  Latter  Day  Saints. 


1106       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Honest  and  upright  in  all  of  the  relations  of  life,  Mr.  Van  Leuven  left  a 
benignant  and  enduring  impress  upon  the  community  in  which  he  lived 
and  wrought,  and  lie  was  one  of  the  honored  pioneer  citizens  of  San  Ber- 
nardino County  at  the  time  of  his  death,  in  1896. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Van  Leuven  became  the  parents  of  five  children,  all  born 
in  the  old  home  place  in  San  Bernardino  County.  Myron  Franklin,  eldest 
of  the  number,  was  born  November  25,  1863,  and  he  resides  with  his  wid- 
owed mother  on  the  old  home  place,  his  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Mary  Hughes,  being  deceased.  Sarah,  the  second  child,  was  born  June 
8,  1865,  and  her  death  occurred  in  1882.  Byron,  who  was  born  April  2, 
1869,  is  a  bachelor  and  remains  with  his  mother  on  the  home  ranch. 
Henry,  born  April  21,  1871,  is  a  prominent  business  man  of  Redlands. 
He  married  Miss  Lucv  M.  Iuch,  of  Redlands,  and  they  have  one  son, 
William  H.,  born  November  12,  1914.  Maude,  born  March  2,  1883,  is 
the  wife  of  C.  J.  Boone,  who  is  a  successful  orange-grower,  residing  on 
part  of  the  old  homestead  near  Redlands.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Boone  have  three 
children,  Carroll  Jackson,  William  Bruce  and  Richard  Lewis.  Mrs.  Boone 
is  an  active  and  influential  member  of  the  Parent-Teachers'  Association  of 
Redlands,  and  is  earnest  in  work  for  community  betterment,  besides  being 
popular  in  the  social  life  of  the  locality  which  has  represented  her  home 
from  the  time  of  her  birth. 

Mrs.  Elizabeth  F.  Van  Leuven  has  witnessed  the  marvelous  develop- 
ment of  San  Bernardino  County,  much  of  which  was  a  desert  waste  when 
her  family  here  established  their  pioneer  home,  and  she  has  taken  her  part 
in  the  march  of  progress,  has  lived  to  enjoy  the  gracious  rewards  of  former 
years  of  endeavor,  and  is  one  of  the  well  known  pioneer  women  of  the 
county,  with  secure  place  in  the  affectionate  regard  of  all  who  have  come 
within  the  compass  of  her  gracious  and  kindly  influence. 

Benton  Ballou  is  one  of  the  progressive  and  representative  fruit 
growers  of  the  Ontario  district  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  his  is 
the  distinction  of  being  one  of  the  pioneers  of  this  line  of  productive 
enterprise  in  this  section  of  the  county,  which  was  little  more  than  a 
desert  when  he  here  established  his  home.  He  has  been  an  influential 
force  in  connection  with  the  civic  and  industrial  development  of  the 
district  and  of  the  fair  little  city  of  Ontario,  where  his  attractive  and 
modern  home,  at  119  Princeton  Street,  is  nearly  opposite  the  Chaffey 
High  School,  this  being  definitely  one  of  the  finest  residence  properties 
in  the  city. 

Mr.  Ballou  was  born  at  National,  Iowa,  May  3,  1865,  a  date  that 
indicates  distinctly  that  his  parents  were  numbered  among  the  pioneers 
of  the  Hawkeye  State.  The  name  of  Ballou  has  been  worthily  associ- 
ated with  American  annals  since  1637,  when  the  original  progenitors  of 
the  American  branch  landed  at  Providence,  Rhode  Island.  Land  was 
purchased  of  Roger  Williams,  and  this  property  in  Rhode  Island  still 
remains  in  the  possession  of  the  Ballou  family.  Sanford  B.  and  Sophia 
(Phillips)  Ballou  were  the  parents  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch.  The 
mother  died  December  19,  1867,  at  National,  Iowa,  and  the  father  died 
in  Pasadena,  California,  in  May,  1907. 

The  pioneer  public  schools  of  Iowa  afforded  Benton  Ballou  his  early 
educational  discipline,  which  was  supplemented  by  a  commercial  course 
and  still  later  by  a  course  in  civil  engineering.  Mr.  Ballou  has  been  a 
resident  of  the  Ontario  community  of  San  Bernardino  County  since 
December,  1898,  but  it  was  not  until  1899  that  he  initiated  his  activities 
as  a  fruit  grower  in  this  locality.  From  a  virtually  desert  waste  he  has 
developed  a  splendid  ranch  estate  of  1,000  acres,  and  his  attention  is 


^£€^<__ 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1107 

given  principally  to  the  growing  of  grapes  and  peaches  of  the  best  types, 
his  operations  being  now  of  broad  scope  and  importance.  A  portion 
of  his  ranch  was  formerly  owned  by  his  father.  His  prominence  and  in- 
fluence in  connection  with  fruit  propagation  is  indicated  by  the  fact 
that  in  1921  he  was  president  of  the  California  Growers  Association, 
Inc.,  one  of  the  largest  and  most  important  organizations  of  its  kind 
in  the  United  States.  As  a  young  man  Mr.  Ballou  served  as  a  member 
of  the  Nebraska  National  Guard,  in  Company  E,  Second  Regiment  of 
Infantry.  He  was  reared  in  the  faith  of  the  republican  party,  but  while 
residing  in  the  Southern  states  he  transferred  his  allegiance  to  the  demo- 
cratic party,  in  the  ranks  of  which  he  has  since  been  aligned.  Mr. 
Ballou  is  a  man  of  broad  and  tolerant  views,  considerate  and  generous  in 
his  judgment  of  his  fellow  men,  and  just  and  honorable  in  all  of  the 
relations  of  life,  with  the  result  that  he  has  inviolable  place  in  popular 
confidence  and  esteem.  He  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and 
he  and  his  wife  hold  membership  in  the  Congregational  Church  in  their 
home  city. 

In  the  parsonage  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  in  the  City  of 
San  Bernardino,  on  the  23rd  of  November,  1900,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Ballou  and  Miss  Alice  Ferris  Jenkins,  daughter  of 
Daniel  Jenkins.  Mrs.  Ballou  was  born  in  Sandoval,  Marion  County. 
Illinois,  March  18,  1865,  and  was  educated  in  the  public  and  high  schools 
of  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  They  have  one  child,  Sanford,  a  student  in 
Junior  College  of  Ontario,  California.  In  their  delightful  home  they  take 
pleasure  in  entertaining  the  young  folk  of  the  community,  as  well  as 
friends  of  their  own  generation. 

Marion  Lee  Cook.  For  over  thirty  years  Marion  Lee  Cook,  civil 
and  mining  engineer,  has  been  a  resident  of  San  Bernardino,  and  his  suc- 
cess and  popularity  in  his  profession  and  in  the  social  and  civic  life  of  the 
city  are  due  to  the  fact  that  from  the  first  his  sterling  qualities  of  character 
were  indelibly  impressed  upon  all  with  whom  he  came  in  contact.  It  did 
not  take  him  very  long  to  show  that  in  all  lines  pertaining  to  his  profession 
he  was  efficient  in  the  highest  degree,  consequently  he  has  built  up  a  large 
clientele  not  only  in  San  Bernardino  but  throughout  the  district. 

Mr.  Cook  is  always  strong  in  the  advocacy  of  anything  which  will  push 
his  home  city  to  the  front,  and  is  a  prominent  and  potential  factor  in  all 
civic  movements.  He  has  served  his  city  in  positions  of  trust,  always  the 
loyal  and  energetic  citizen.  He  is  a  strong  republican,  and  takes  an  active 
part  in  the  councils  of  the  party.  When  the  World  war  was  going  on 
he  gave  time  and  money  to  the  cause  where  his  intuitive  sense  of  affairs 
and  fertility  of  resource  were  of  great  assistance  to  his  co-workers.  He 
served  in  every  way  he  could  and  also  was  a  member  of  the  Red  Cross 
and  War  Loan  committees. 

Mr.  Cook  was  born  near  Raleigh,  North  Carolina,  October  28,  1861, 
the  son  of  John  H.  and  Lucy  A.  (Stauffer)  Cook.  His  father  was  a 
planter  and  stock  raiser,  and  he  also  handled  wheat  coming  in  from  the 
North,  shipping  it  to  the  South  to  be  made  in  flour ;  the  Civil  war  ruined 
his  business  and  his  home,  and  he  moved  to  Ohio  when  his  son  Marion  Lee 
was  a  small  child.  He  went  to  Colorado  for  a  time,  hoping  it  would 
benefit  his  health,  but  returned  to  Ohio,  locating  in  Wooster.  Here  he 
died  in  1873.  His  wife  was  a  native  of  Ohio,  and  she  is  now  living  in  Los 
Angeles  and  is  eighty  years  of  age. 

Mr.  Cook  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Georgetown,  Denver 
and  Wooster,  Ohio.  From  these  he  entered  the  Spencerian  Business  Col- 
lege in  Cleveland  and  graduated  therefrom.     He  then  went  back  to  Colo- 


1108      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

rado,  and  was  for  some  time  a  bookkeeper  and  accountant.  From  this  he 
entered  the  engineering  department  of  the  D.  &  R.  G.  Railroad,  after  that 
putting  in  a  year  in  the  University  of  Virginia,  engineering  department. 
From  there  he  went  back  to  Colorado,  and  spent  two  years  in  the  School 
of  Mines  at  Golden  in  that  state.  He  put  in  one  year  in  old  Mexico  and 
New  Mexico,  and  having  thoroughly  equipped  himself  for  his  profession 
he  came  to  California,  locating  in  San  Bernardino  in  August,  1890.  Since 
his  coming  to  California  he  has  acquired  various  properties,  oil  leases  and 
mining  claims,  among  these  latter  owning  a  half  interest  in  the  Eldorado 
Gold  Star  mine  in  Nevada. 

Mr.  Cook  married  in  1895  Ella  Allison,  a  daughter  of  Hugh  J.  Allison, 
of  San  Bernardino.  They  have  one  son,  Lloyd,  now  in  his  third  year  in 
the  Oregon  Agricultural  College  at  Corvallis,  Washington,  Class  of  1922. 

Mr.  Cook  was  elected  county  surveyor  four  times,  serving  from  1894 
to  1910,  and  was  assistant  highway  commissioner  from  1915  to  1918.  He 
was  also  a  member  of  the  Freeholders  committee  that  framed  the  present 
city  charter  for  the  City  of  San  Bernardino. 

James  F.  Wheat,  postmaster  of  Redlands,  and  while  this  is  his  first 
term  in  that  office,  he  has  proved  his  exceptional  ability  as  a  public  official 
in  San  Bernardino  County,  and  won  the  recognition  due  him.  He  was 
selected  for  his  first  position  as  a  live  wire,  a  worth-while  man  and  an 
indefatigable  worker,  and  he  filled  the  position  with  recognized  efficiency 
and  devoted,  painstaking  care.  In  his  present  office  he  has  shown  himself 
to  be  master  of  every  detail,  the  right  man  for  the  right  office. 

Mr.  Wheat  was  born  in  Leonora,  Minnesota,  December  3,  1871,  the 
son  of  James  M.  and  Almira  E.  ( Foot)  Wheat,  both  natives  of  New  York. 
James  M.  Wheat  went  to  Minnesota  in  the  early  days  of  that  country,  and 
practiced  there  as  a  physician  for  many  years.  He  was  actively  interested 
in  politics  and  a  power  in  his  party.  He  was  state  senator  for  eight  years. 
He  came  with  his  family  to  California  in  the  fall  of  1887  and  located  in 
Redlands,  continuing  his  practice  there  and  also  serving  as  health  officer 
of  that  city  for  nearly  twenty-five  years.  He  died  there  in  1910,  at  the 
age  of  eighty-six.  His  widow  is  now  living  in  Redlands.  They  were  the 
parents  of  two  children,  Ida  M.,  who  died  two  years  ago,  and  James  F. 

James  F.  Wheat  was  educated  in  the  grade  schools  of  Minnesota  and  of 
Redlands  and  then  attended  business  college  in  Los  Angeles.  He  entered 
the  business  world  by  means  of  a  real  estate  and  insurance  business  in 
Redlands.  and  his  activities  in  that  line  soon  attracted  attention  and  created 
public  confidence.  He  made  hosts  of  friends  and  deserved  every  one  of 
them.  He  was  a  young  boy  when  brought  to  Redlands,  and  he  grew  up 
in  that  city. 

In  1910  he  was  elected  city  treasurer  of  Redlands,  and  was  re-elected 
five  times,  resigning  in  the  middle  of  his  fifth  term  to  accept  the  position 
of  county  recorder,  which  he  held  until  January  1,  1922,  resigning  to  accept 
the  postmastership  of  Redlands,  which  position  he  now  holds. 

Mr.  Wheat  prospered  in  his  business  life,  and  owns  a  fine  orange  grove 
in  Redlands.  He  married  August  20,  1896,  Gertrude  Masten.  a  daughter 
of  Benjamin  F.  Masten.  of  Indiana.  They  have  two  children,  Mildred 
and  Marjorie.  Both  are  graduates  of  the  Union  High  School,  and  Mar- 
jorie  is  now  attending  the  University  of  Redlands.  Miss  Mildred  is  an 
accomplished  pianist,  and  is  practicing  her  profession  in  Los  Angeles, 
where  she  gives  instruction  and  is  accompanist  for  prominent  singers  of 
the  coast.  Mrs.  Wheat  is  a  prominent  club  woman,  being  a  member  of  the 
Contemporary  Club  and  also  one  of  the  Landmarks  Association  committee 
of  the  Women's  Federated  Clubs.     She  was  chairman  of  the  committee. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1109 

Mr.  Wheat  fraternally  is  connected  with  the  Redlands  Lodge,  No.  583, 
B.  P.  O.  E.     Politically  he  is  a  strong  republican. 

Dudley  G.  Clayton.  A  county  official  who  proved  his  worth  to  the 
citizens  of  Riverside  City  and  County  in  other  positions  of  trust  before  his 
election  to  his  present  office,  Dudley  G.  Clayton  created  confidence  in  him- 
self, won  by  his  ability  and  successful  administration  of  all  offices  he  held. 
A  citizen  of  Riverside  for  over  thirty  years,  he  has  served  it  well,  both 
as  a  business  man  and  as  an  official. 

Mr.  Clayton  was  born  in  Keswick,  New  Brunswick,  October  19,  1867, 
the  son  of  J.  P.  and  Lucy  A.  (Golder)  Clayton,  also  natives  of  New 
Brunswick.  J.  P.  Clayton  was  of  English  descent,  grew  to  manhood  on  a 
farm  and  followed  this  occupation  for  many  years,  but  at  the  same  time 
acquired  many  valuable  lumber  interests.  He  came  around  the  Horn  in 
1867  and  went  to  Sacramento,  where  he  assisted  in  painting  the  capitol 
building.  He  was  there  for  a  year  and  then  went  back  to  sell  the  farm, 
but  was  induced  not  to  do  so.  His  son,  John  Clayton,  who  came  with  him 
around  the  Horn  in  1867,  remained  in  San  Francisco  and  followed  the 
occupation  of  ranching  in  the  northern  part  of  California  until  his  death 
in  December,  1888. 

In  1880  J.  P.  Clayton  moved  with  his  family  to  Missoula,  Montana, 
and  there  carried  on  a  lumber  business  until  he  retired.  His  wife  was  the 
daughter  of  Daniel  Golder,  her  mother  being  the  daughter  of  Captain 
Strange,  captain  of  a  vessel  in  the  West  Indies  for  the  British  govern- 
ment. An  only  child,  she  was  born  on  board  a  man-of-war  and  was  a 
small  child  when  her  father  settled  in  New  Brunswick.  He  chose  this 
place  for  a  home,  although  he  owned  a  large  grant  of  land  on  the  site  of 
Philadelphia.  He  neglected  this  latter  property,  however,  and  allowed  it  to 
pass  from  his  possession,  as  he  had  other  interests  that  represented  con- 
siderable money  and  which  engrossed  his  attention  at  that  time.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  J.  P.  Clayton  were  the  parents  of  eight  sons,  of  whom  all  but  one 
attained  mature  years.  They  were :  John,  who  died  in  San  Francisco ; 
Daniel  and  James,  farmers  in  New  Brunswick ;  William  A.  and  Charles  G., 
who  died  in  New  Brunswick  at  the  respective  ages  of  twenty-seven  and 
twenty-one;  W.  E.,  a  dentist  in  Los  Angeles,  and  Dudley  G.  Clayton. 

Dudley  G.  Clayton  lived  in  New  Brunswick  until  he  reached  the  age 
of  sixteen,  and  then  went  to  Waterville,  Maine,  where  he  clerked  for  a 
year.  He  then  returned  home,  and  while  there  settled  up  the  business  of 
his  father,  who  had  then  decided  to  remove  to  Montana.  Dudley  G.  joined 
the  family  in  Montana  in  1887  and  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  with  his 
father. 

In  1889  he  came  to  California  and  selected  Riverside  as  his  permanent 
home.  His  first  venture  into  the  business  life  of  the  city  was  by  means 
of  the  purchase  of  the  interest  of  Mr.  Zimmerman  in  the  Park  (now 
Holyrood)  Hotel.  In  a  year  he  sold  out  and  accepted  a  position  in  the 
improving  of  Evergreen  Cemetery.  He  became  a  stockholder  in  the  com- 
pany and  was  made  superintendent  in  February,  1891.  When  he  took  hold 
of  the  work  no  improvements  had  been  attempted,  but  under  his  able 
direction  it  was  enlarged  and  beautified  until  it  assumed  the  appearance 
of  a  lovely  park. 

He  continued  in  this  for  twelve  years  and  in  1902  he  went  into  the 
undertaking  business  under  the  firm  name  of  Clayton  &  Flagg,  on  the 
corner  of  Eighth  and  Orange  streets.  Later  he  bought  Mr.  Flagg's  interest 
and  continued  alone  for  a  short  time,  and  then  sold  the  business  and  went 
into  the  office  of  Sheriff  P.  M.  Coburn  as  under  sheriff  on  November  1, 
1904.     He  next  went  into  the  police  department  as  deputy  chief  marshal 


1 1 10       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

under  M.  R.  Shaw.  Following  this,  when  in  May  Captain  Johnson  was 
appointed  chief  of  police,  he  was  re-appointed  deputy,  when  the  charter 
was  adopted.  He  continued  in  this  position  until  the  death  of  the  chief, 
when  he  was  appointed  chief,  in  1908.  He  continued  in  the  police  depart- 
ment as  its  chief  until  shortly  after  Mayor  Evans  assumed  his  office.  He 
then  acted  as  deputy  chief  until  the  following  May,  when  he  went  back 
as  under  sheriff,  this  time  under  Sheriff  F.  P.  Wilson.  He  resigned  from 
this  position  July  27,  1918,  to  enter  the  race  for  county  clerk,  in  which  he 
was  successful.  This  position  he  now  holds  most  ably,  and  he  was  elected 
for  the  four  year  term. 

Mr.  Clayton  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  the  Maccabees  and  has 
served  as  secretary  of  the  local  tent  continuously  since  1893,  and  also  as  its 
commander.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Foresters  and 
has  been  scribe  of  Star  Encampment  No.  73  for  fifteen  years.  He  has 
been  a  member  of  the  Yoemen  for  ten  years.'  In  politics  he  is  a  strong 
republican,  and  always  takes  an  active  part  in  all  party  affairs.  In 
religious  faith  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Baptist  Church,  of  which  he  has 
been  a  member  since  1883.  He  was  its  treasurer  for  some  time  and  is 
now  a  trustee. 

Mr.  Clayton  married  on  January  16,  1889,  at  New  Brunswick.  Miss 
Bertha  J.  Dunphy.  a  native  of  Keswick,  New  Brunswick,  where  she  resided 
until  her  marriage  to  Mr.  Clayton.  She  is  the  daughter  of  Frederick 
Dunphy.  a  farmer  by  occupation.  They  are  the  parents  of  one  daughter. 
Inez  E.,  now  the  wife  of  Everett  J.  Horsley,  the  proprietor  and  publisher 
of  the  Daily  Herald  at  Anaheim.  The  Herald  is  one  of  the  brightest, 
most  up  to  date  live  wire  papers  in  the  state,  ably  edited  and  extensively 
circulated. 

Allen  J.  Davis,  vice  president  of  the  Charters-Davis  Company,  is 
one  of  the  influential  figures  in  connection  with  the  great  citrus  fruit 
industry  in  Riverside  County.  The  company  of  which  he  is  vice  president 
initiated  business  in  1909,  under  the  title  o£  the  Call  Lemon  Association, 
and  the  present  corporation  received  its  charter  in  1918,  when  it  was 
incorporated  with  a  capital  stock  of  $200,000,  G.  A.  Charters  being  its 
president ;  Allen  J.  Davis,  its  vice  president,  treasurer  and  general  man- 
ager ;  and  A.  G.  Ritter,  its  secretary.  The  company  has  212  acres  de- 
voted to  citrus  fruit  and  108  acres  given  to  peaches,  plums  and  alfalfa. 
Under  a  lease  for  ten  years  the  company  has  also  twenty-two  acres 
of  orange  grove.  Seventy-five  employes  are  retained,  and  the  company 
conducts  a  large  and  substantia]  fruit  packing  business,  its  well  equipped 
packing  house  two  miles  southeast  of  Corona,  utilizing  24,000  square 
feet  of  floor  space  and  an  average  of  100  carloads  of  fruit  beiner 
shipped   annuallv.      All   of   this    fruit   is   raised   by   the   company    itself. 

Allen  J.  Davis  was  born  at  Charlotte,  North  Carolina,  April  19,  1877. 
and  is  a  son  of  Jesse  Davis,  who  was  for  many  years  a  leading  merchant 
at  Charlotte,  where  he  died  in  December,  1920,  at  the  age  of  seventy- 
seven  years.  The  mother  of  Allen  J.  Davis  was  Arpie  Jones,  a  native  of 
North  Carolina,  and  a  member  of  an  old  family  which  originally  came 
from  Wales.  She  was  a  descendant  of  John  Paul  Tones,  of  historic 
fame.  Her  father  was  a  maior  in  the  Confederate  Army  in  the  Civil 
war.  The  public  schools  of  his  native  city  afforded  Mr.  Davis  his  earlv 
education,  and  he  continued  his  residence  in  North  Carolina  until  1900. 
when  he  came  to  California  and  found  employment  on  a  dairy  farm  near 
Corona.  Later  he  became  foreman  of  a  fruit  packing  house  established 
bv  Mr.  Call,  and  he  eventually  became  a  stockholder  and  the  general 
manager  of  the  Call  Lemon  Company,   for  which   in   1913  was  erected 


Ol^^-^-^-^x^ 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1111 

the  present  packing  house  of  the  Charters-Davis  Company.  Messrs. 
Charters  and  Davis  owned  one-half  of  the  stock  of  the  Call  Lemon 
Company,  and  in  1918  they  purchased  the  remaining  stock  and  reorgan- 
ized the  business  under  the  present  title  of  the  Charters-Davis  Company. 
Mr.  Davis  is  a  director  of,  each  of  the  Temescal  Water  Company,  the 
Corona  Water  Company  and  the  Corona  National  Bank.  He  has  charge 
of  the  E.  T.  Earl  estate,  consisting  of  900  acres  in  Temescal  Canyon, 
250  acres  of  which  are  planted  in  Valencia  oranges  and  the  remainder 
is  grain,  alfalfa  and  grazing  lands.  He  is  a  stalwart  supporter  of  the 
cause  of  the  republican  party,  has  received  the  thirty-second  degree  in 
the  Scottish  Rite  of  the  Masonic  fraternity,  is  a  life  member  of  the 
Shrine,  and  he  is  a  member  of  the  Baptist  Church  in  Charlotte,  North 
Carolina.  His  wife  holds  membership  in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
at  Corona. 

January  7,  1896.  recorded  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Davis  to  Miss  Ada 
Shurbette,  of  Rockhill,  South  Carolina,  and  her  death  occurred  in  No- 
vember. 1898.  The  onlv  child  of  this  union,  Carl,  is  now  a  resident  of 
Santa  Catalina  Island,  California.  On  the  7th  of  June,  1907,  was  sol- 
emnized the  marriage  of  Mr.  Davis  and  Miss  Gertrude  Sargent,  who  was 
born  in  Missouri,  near  Pittsburg,  Kansas,  and  was  educated  in  the  public 
schools  of  Corona,  California.  She  is  a  daughter  of  George  Sargent,  of 
Corona.    No  children  have  been  born  of  this  marriage. 

Ralph  F.  Burnham.  Of  Ralph  F.  Burnham,  of  Riverside,  it  may 
be  said  that  he  is  one  of  his  community's  fortunate  men.  He  is  fortunate 
in  having  a  good  parentage,  a  fair  endowment  of  intellect  and  feeling,  a 
liberal  education,  in  attaching  himself  to  a  healthful  and  honorable  voca- 
tion, and,  above  all,  fortunate  in  casting  his  lot  with  the  people  of  Riverside 
at  a  time  when  its  enterprises  were  at  the  full  tide  of  development,  and 
under  circumstances  which  have  enabled  him  to  co-operate  in  her  material 
growth  without  that  engrossment  of  time  and  faculty  which  hinders  the 
fullest  indulgence  of  the  intellectual  faculty,  the  refining  and  elevating 
influences  of  the  aesthetic  nature,  and  the  kindly  cultivation  of  the  graces 
of  social  and  private  life.  While  he  has  borne  a  fair  share  of  the  labors 
of  civic  life,  he  has  at  the  same  time  preserved  his  love  of  letters,  his  pur- 
suit of  manly  and  invigorating  pastimes,  and  his  indulgence  in  the  ameni- 
ties of  a  refined  and  gentle  life. 

Mr.  Burnham  was  born  at  Batavia,  Illinois,  March  6,  1883.  a  son  of 
William  H.  and  Catherine  (French)  Burnham,  the  former  a  native  of 
Connecticut  and  the  latter  of  Illinois.  William  H.  Burnham  was  a  manu- 
facturer at  Batavia  for  a  number  of  years,  and  when  he  retired  from 
business  affairs  removed  to  Orange,  California,  whence  he  subsequently 
went  to  Los  Angeles,  his  present  home.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  living, 
as  are  their  three  children:  Ralph  F. ;  Mary,  the  wife  of  Henry  O. 
Wheeler,  of  Los  Angeles;  and  William  H.,  Jr.,  of  Riverside. 

Ralph  F.  Burnham  commenced  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
Batavia,  Illinois,  and  was  still  a  lad  when  taken  by  his  parents  to  Orange. 
California.  There  he  completed  his  primary  school  education,  subse- 
quently pursuing  a  course  at  the  California  Polytechnic  Institute,  Pasa- 
dena, California,  and  later  at  Columbus  University.  New  York  City. 
After  his  graduation  from  the  latter,  as  a  member  of  the  class  of  1904,  he 
returned  to  California  and  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  automobiles  at 
Los  Angeles,  where  for  eight  years  he  was  secretary  of  the  Auto  Vehicle 
Company.  When  he  vacated  this  field  it  was  to  enter  the  insurance  busi- 
ness at  Los  Angeles,  but  in  April,  1912,  he  gave  up  this  line  and  came 
to  Riverside,  where  he  and  his  father  and  his  brother  purchased  142  acres 


1 1 12       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

of  valuable  land  three  miles  southeast  of  the  city,  of  which  they  are 
devoting  120  acres  to  citrus  fruit  ranching.  Mr.  Burnham  has  made  a 
success  of  his  activities  and  is  accounted  one  of  the  highly  skilled  and  well 
informed  men  in  his  line  of  business.  He  is  a  director  in  the  United 
States  Supply  Company  of  Omaha,  Nebraska. 

Politically  Mr.  Burnham  is  a  republican.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Los 
Angeles  Athletic  Club,  the  University  Club  of  Los  Angeles,  the  Newport 
Harbor  Yacht  Club,  the  Riverside  Victoria  Club,  the  Alpha  Delta  Phi 
College  Fraternity,  the  Alpha  Delpha  Phi  Club  of  New  York  City,  the 
Riverside  Chamber  of  Commerce  and  the  Riverside  Polo  Club.  Worthy 
civic,  educational  and  charitable  movements  have  always  had  his  hearty 
support,  and  he  was  one  of  the  substantial  contributors  to  the  building 
fund  of  the  new  hospital  at  Riverside. 

On  October  16,  1905,  Mr.  Burnham  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss 
Ruth  Wilson,  daughter  of  Franklin  I.  and  May  (Allen)  Wilson,  of  Chi- 
cago, Illinois,  the  former  a  native  of  Elgin,  Illinois,  and  the  latter  of  Lake 
Geneva,  Wisconsin.  Mr.  Wilson,  a  manufacturer,  upon  retirement  from 
active  life  removed  to  Hollywood.  California,  where  he  died,  his  widow 
now  being  a  resident  of  Los  Angeles,  this  state.  Mrs.  Burnham  was  born 
at  Lake  Geneva,  Wisconsin,  but  as  a  child  was  taken  to  Chicago,  where 
she  received  her  education  in  the  public  schools  and  at  Lewis  Institute. 
She  is  a  member  of  the  Riverside  Victoria  Club.  She  and  her  husband 
are  the  parents  of  four  children:  Barbara,  John  W.,  Richard  W.  and 
Elizabeth  L. 

Rev.  Lloyd  H.  Edmiston. — The  title  of  Rev.  Lloyd  H.  Edmiston  to 
a  place  among  the  biographies  of  the  citizens  of  Riverside  rests  upon  the 
fact  that  he  has  labored  faithfully  and  effectively  as  a  member  of  the 
New  Jerusalem  Church.  Ordained  in  1915,  his  actual  connection  with  the 
ministry  has  covered  only  a  period  of  seven  years,  but  during  this  time 
he  has  had  the  same  solicitude  for  the  spiritual  interests  of  Riverside 
which  a  father  has  for  his  children.  In  addition  to  his  ministerial  labors 
he  has  achieved  some  success  as  a  small  fruit,  citrus  fruit  and  nut  raiser 
and  poultry  rancher. 

Reverend  Edmiston  was  born  at  Henry,  Illinois,  January  6,  1874,  a 
son  of  Rev.  Berry  and  Edna  (Lee)  Edmiston.  His  father,  a  native  of 
Tennessee,  was  for  some  years  a  minister  of  the  New  Jerusalem  faith,  but 
in  1878  removed  to  Riverside  and  embarked  in  ranching,  a  vocation  which 
he  followed  until  his  death  in  August,  1912.  Mrs.  Edmiston,  a  native  of 
New  Hampshire,  died  at  Riverside  in  November,  1912,  in  the  same  faith. 
They  were  the  parents  of  three  children:  Joseph  L.,  a  poultry  rancher  of 
West  Riverside;  Charles  H.,  also  of  Riverside,  and  Rev.  Lloyd  H. 

Lloyd  H.  Edmiston  was  a  child  when  brought  by  his  parents  to  River- 
side, where  he  secured  his  introductory  education  in  the  graded  and  high 
schools.  Choosing  the  ministry  as  his  vocation,  he  attended  the  New 
Jerusalem  Church  Theological  Seminary  at  Cambridge,  Massachusetts,  dur- 
ing 1914  and  1915,  and  upon  his  return  to  Riverside  commenced  to  apply 
himself  to  the  church.  He  was  thus  engaged  at  the  time  that  he  was 
ordained,  June  6,  1915,  at  Washington,  D.  C,  since  when  he  has  served 
as  pastor  of  the  New  Jerusalem  Church  of  Riverside.  He  has  accomplished 
much  for  the  good  of  his  community,  where  he  has  many  friends,  not 
alone  among  the  members  of  his  congregation  but  those  of  other  creeds 
and  denominations.  In  addition  to  acting  as  spiritual  leader  of  his  flock 
he  takes  upon  himself  the  responsibilities  of  friendship,  and  acts  as  coun- 
sellor and  guide  in  matters  of  a  business  nature.  Such  a  man  is  bound 
to  wield  a  strong  influence  in  his  community,  and  in  Rev.  Mr.  Edmiston's 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1113 

case  this  influence  is  one  that  lias  always  been  constructive  and  progressive 
in  character.  When  not  engaged  in  his  ministerial  labors  he  devotes  him- 
self to  the  cultivation  of  his  nine  and  one-half  acres  of  land,  another  feature 
of  his  snug  little  ranch  being  the  raising  of  poultry.  He  is  a  member  of 
the  socialist  party. 

On  December  7.  1906,  Rev.  Edmiston  was  united  in  marriage  with 
Mrs.  Alice  Wright  Test,  daughter  of  William  and  Laura  Elizabeth  Wright, 
of  Union  County,  Illinois,  and  to  this  union  there  have  been  born  two  chil- 
dren :  Ednah  and  Lloyd  Ariel,  both  residing  at  home  and  attending  the 
public  schools.  Mrs.  Edmiston  had  a  daughter,  Cleone  Test,  by  her  first 
marriage.  Cleone  Test  is  a  graduate  of  the  Riverside  High  School  and  the 
School  for  Nurses  at  California  Hospital,  Los  Angeles,  California,  she 
was  born  in  Alto  Pass,  Illinois.  Mrs.  Edmiston  was  also  born  near  Alto 
Pass,  Illinois,  where  she  received  her  education  in  the  public  schools. 

Jacob  Bertschinger. — The  name  Bertschinger  is  favorably  known 
not  only  in  the  Chino  Valley,  but  in  several  sections  of  Southern  Cali- 
fornia. The  pioneer  and  founder  of  the  family  is  Jacob  Bertschinger,  Sr., 
who,  surrounded  with  comforts  and  with  the  security  of  ample  means, 
can,  nevertheless,  look  back  upon  a  number  of  successive  chapters  of 
arduous  experience  as  a  pioneer  toiler  in  this  district.  Besides  getting 
prosperity  for  himself  he  has  done  something  for  the  community  in  the 
way  of  constructive  enterprise  and  in  rearing  an  honest,  thrifty  and  indus- 
trious family. 

Jacob  Bertschinger,  Sr.,  was  born  in  the  City  of  Zurich,  Switzerland, 
January  2,  1864,  being  one  of  thirteen  children.  His  parents  were  farmers, 
and  during  his  youth  he  lived  with  them  and  contributed  of  his  toil  to  the 
support  of  the  household.  In  1886,  at  the  age  of  twenty-two,  he  married 
Rosina  Schoch,  who  was  born  in  Zurich,  Switzerland,  October  4,  1858, 
one  of  fourteen  children. 

Seeking  advantages  and  a  future  that  they  should  never  realize  in 
their  native  country  they  immigrated  to  America,  reaching  New  Jersey  in 
1887,  without  the  command  of  a  single  word  of  English.  For  a  year  and 
a  half  they  remained  in  New  Jersey,  working  as  silk  weavers  in  one  of  the 
great  silk  goods  factories  of  that  city.  The  next  phase  of  their  journey 
took  them  to  Illinois,  where  they  remained  a  year,  and  next  they  turned 
their  faces  to  California,  traveling  by  rail  as  far  as  Pomona.  Mr.  Bert- 
schinger was  attracted  to  Chino  by  learning  of  the  construction  of  the 
proposed  sugar  refinery  in  1891.  He  started  to  walk  the  distance  between 
the  two  points,  falling  in  on  the  way  with  Mr.  Durrell,  who  was  well 
acquainted  with  the  country.  It  required  a  real  pioneer's  knowledge  to  get 
over  the  country  at  that  time,  since  there  were  no  roads  and  no  houses 
between  Pomona  and  Chino.  The  "Santa  Ana"  began  blowing  while  they 
were  en  route,  and  Jacob  Bertschinger  became  confused  and  insisted  they 
were  traveling  in  the  wrong  direction.  He  could  not  understand  English, 
and  only  by  the  greatest  efforts  Mr.  Durrell  persuaded  him  to  keep  on, 
otherwise  he  would  have  died  in  the  Puente  hills. 

Jacob  Bertschinger  and  wife  reached  Chino  without  money,  without 
acquaintances,  only  with  a  willingness  and  desire  for  work.  He  secured 
employment  and  assisted  in  building  the  concrete  foundation  for  the  great 
American  sugar  refinery  at  Chino  and  remained  in  the  service  of  the  plant 
for  six  years.  He  also  engaged  in  farming,  and  that  gave  him  a  variety 
of  experience.  Three  times  he  lost  all  he  had  gained,  first  trying  the 
culture  of  sugar  beets.  He  had  a  fine  crop  when  a  Santa  Ana  cut  them 
off  at  the  ground.  With  three  failures  he  doggedly  kept  on,  rented  and 
bought  land,  did  dairying  and  general   farming,  worked  incessantly,  and 


1114       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

to  such  a  man  and  character  prosperity  could  not  be  denied,  and  in  1912, 
when  he  sold  out,  he  was  able  to  retire  in  comfort.  In  the  meantime  he 
had  reared  and  educated  his  family.  One  of  his  resources  when  in  need 
of  ready  money  was  baling  hay  for  others.  He  and  his  sons  baled  hay 
through  the  daylight  hours,  and  then  at  night  irrigated  their  own  crops, 
and  his  children  often  walked  three  miles  to  school,  since  much  of  the  time 
they  had  no  buggy  horse  to  drive.  Nevertheless  the  parents  insisted  that 
their  children  attend  school  regularly,  and  they  not  only  acquired  an 
education,  but  learned  the  value  of  the  dollar  earned  by  arising  at  three 
o'clock  in  the  morning,  milking  a  string  of  cows,  working  in  the  fields  all 
day,  and  retiring  only  at  dark.  The  family  are  Swiss  Lutherans  in 
religion  and  Mr.  Bertschinger  and  his  sons  are  republicans. 

Of  the  children  born  to  this  honored  couple  five  died  in  infancy  and 
early  youth.  There  are  three  living.  All  were  born  at  Chino.  Jacob,  Jr., 
born  in  1893,  was  educated  in  the  Chino  schools  and  is  now  a  prosperous 
cement  worker  at  Los  Angeles.  In  1913  he  married  Freda  Weber,  a  native 
of  Switzerland,  who  came  to  America  alone  in  1911.  They  have  two 
children,  Walter  and  Emma. 

The  second  child,  Rosina,  born  in  1895,  was  educated  in  the  Chino 
High  School,  and  is  the  wife  of  John  G.  Smith,  a  native  of  Wuertemberg, 
Germanv.  Thev  live  at  Chino  and  have  three  children,  Olga,  Evelvn  and 
Mildred'. 

Otto  William  Bertschinger,  the  youngest  of  the  family,  was  born 
August  24,  1897,  attended  grammar  school  at  Chino  and  a  business  col- 
lege at  Riverside,  and  during  the  World  war  was  inducted  into  the  in- 
fantry and  was  ordered  to  report  at  Kelly  Field,  Texas,  about  the  time 
the  armistice  was  signed.  In  July.  1919,  the  firm  of  J.  Bertschinger  & 
Sons,  composed  of  Jacob  Bertschinger  and  his  two  boys,  engaged  in  the 
cement  business  at  Chino,  manufacturing  cement  pipe  and  doing  general 
contract  work.  In  July,  1920.  Otto  W.  Bertschinger  bought  out  his 
partners,  and  has  since,  through  his  personal  efforts,  brought  the  busi- 
ness to  a  high  state  of  prosperity.  He  has  over  $4,000.00  invested  in 
machinery  and  equipment,  including  all  the  latest  mechanical  devices  for 
mixing  and  handling  concrete.  This  invested  capital  has  been  earned  by 
the  business.  He  began  making  cement  pipe  by  hand.  He  now  manu- 
facturers piping,  curbing,  sidewalks  and  does  all  classes  of  concrete  founda- 
tion work. 

Frederick  A.  Charles  Drew — The  lapse  of  several  years  since  his 
death  has  not  obscured  the  brilliant  and  successful  career  of  the  late 
Mr.  Drew  as  a  Southern  California  business  man  and  as  a  citizen  of 
Ontario  who  was  loved  and  admired  by  a  host  of  friends. 

He  was  born  at  Exeter,  Canada,  October  28,  1878,  son  of  Edred  and 
Lydia  (Johns)  Drew.  His  father  was  brought  from  England  when  a 
child,  and  lived  several  years  at  Exeter,  Canada.  The  widowed  mother, 
though  enjoying  rugged  health,  has  had  a  long  life  and  is  still  living 
at  Ontario.  Edred  Drew  died  during  the  Spanish-American  war,  in 
Santa  Barbara,  California. 

The  late  Frederick  Drew  was  six  years  of  age  when  his  parents 
moved  to  Ontario,  California,  in  1884.  He  acauired  his  early  educa- 
tion there  and  in  Los  Angeles,  attending  the  old  adobe  school  and  later 
the  Chaffey  Agricultural  College.  His  father  was  in  the  undertaking 
business  at  Ontario,  and  after  his  death  in  1898  the  son  Frederick  took 
charge  and  continued  its  management  until  1905. 

In  that  year  he  established  the  Drew  Carriage  Company,  and  under 
his  management  this  became  one  of  the  largest   firms   dealing  in  farm 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1115 

implements  and  machinery  in  Southern  California.  He  was  regarded 
as  the  keenest  and  most  able  salesman  in  this  line  on  the  Pacific  Coast, 
and  his  success  with  his  business  caused  him  to  be  chosen  as  Pacific 
Coast  representative  of  the  International  Harvester  Company.  This  re- 
lationship brought  him  in  touch  with  all  the  implement  houses  on  the 
Coast.  In  1918  and  1919  he  held  the  record  for  retail  tractor  sales  in  the 
United  States.  In  the  spring  of  1919  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Drew  went  to 
Chicago,  partly  on  a  business  trip  to  the  home  offices  of  the  International 
Harvester  Company,  and  while  en  route  he  was  stricken  with  the  influ- 
enza and  while  in  St.  Luke's  Hospital  at  Chicago  during  delirium  he 
leaped  from  a  first  story  window,  causing  his  death.    He  died  April  21. 

After  his  death  Mrs.  Drew  was  offered  two  hundred  thousand  dollars 
for  the  business,  but  she  chose  to  retain  it,  and  has  exemplified  remark- 
able business  qualifications  in  carrying  it  on  successfully,  her  inten- 
tion being  to  turn  it  over  eventually  to  her  sons  when  they  reach  the 
proper  age. 

Mr.  Drew  married  Miss  Florence  Higgins  at  Santa  Barbara  in  June, 
1898.  She  is  a  daughter  of  W.  W.  Higgins.  Mrs.  Drew  has  three 
children,  Dorothea,  born  in  1899 ;  Edred,  born  in  1902 ;  and  Charles,  born 
in  1904.  The  late  Mr.  Drew's  many  friends  were  derived  from  his  ex- 
tensive business  and  social  relationships.  He  was  affiliated  with  the 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  was  a  member  of  the  Episcopal 
Church  and  voted  as  an  independent  republican.  He  was  a  member  of 
the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  was  president  of  the  Business  Men's  Club 
for  one  year,  and  was  a  member  of  the  Pomona  Gun  Club.  Mr.  Drew 
was  very  fond  of  horses  and  a  good  judge  of  them.  Mrs.  Drew  was  born 
in  Picton,  Canada,  Province  of  Ontario,  November  1,  1878,  was  educated 
there  and  came  to  California  in  1895  with  her  family. 

Charles  Milan  Craw  is  one  of  the  oldest  living  natives  sons  of  San 
Bernardino.  He  has  been  active  in  the  affairs  of  the  county  over  forty 
years,  chiefly  as  a  farmer  and  rancher. 

Mr.  Craw  was  born  March  28,  1860,  in  an  adobe  house  on  Fourth 
Street  in  San  Bernardino,  son  of  Charles  Jesse  and  Olive  (Packard) 
Craw.  His  father  was  a  native  of  St.  Joseph  County,  Michigan,  and  the 
grandfather  was  Orin  Craw,  who  brought  his  family  across  the  plains 
when  Charles  J.  was  a  small  boy.  The  Craws  first  located  at  Salt  Lake, 
though  they  were  not  of  the  Mormon  faith,  and  in  1852,  by  ox  train,  they 
continued  their  journey  westward  to  San  Bernardino.  Orin  Craw  was  one 
of  the  earliest  traders  in  Southern  California  and  Arizona,  and  continued 
that  work  until  his  death.  He  was  on  the  road  with  a  freight  team  between 
Los  Angeles  and  San  Bernardino,  and  was  found  dead  in  camp  by  the 
trail.  He  was  therefore  faithful  to  his  duty  to  the  end,  and  had  lived  a 
sturdy,  healthy  and  happy  life,  and  many  of  the  traits  of  this  hardy  old 
ancestor  descended  to  his  sons  and  grandchildren.  Charles  Jesse  Craw 
also  worked  as  a  general  freighter,  and  for  many  years  hauled  goods  by 
team  from  San  Pedro  and  Los  Angeles  to  Arizona  and  other  points  in  the 
desert.  He  died  in  1900.  His  first  wife,  Olive  Packard,  was  a  native  of 
Ohio  and  died  in  1867.  The  second  wife  of  Charles  J.  Craw  was  Mary 
Ellen  Packard,  who  is  living  at  Los  Angeles.  Charles  Milan  Craw  is  the 
second  of  four  children.  The  oldest  was  Amelia  Craw.  The  other  two 
are  Louella  and  Orin  Ransom  Craw. 

Charles  Milan  Craw  was  seven  years  of  age  when  his  mother  died, 
and  he  came  to  manhood  with  a  limited  common  school  education.  He 
worked  with  and  for  his  father  driving  freight  teams,  and  when  the  build- 
ing of  railroads  destroyed  that  business  he  devoted  his  attention  to  farming. 


1116       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

In  1888  he  married  Miss  Catherine  A.  Cavenaugh,  who  was  horn  in  Utah 
Territory  November  2,  1867,  and  came  with  her  parents  to  California  in 
1883.  The  family  settled  in  Santa  Ana  in  Los  Angeles  County.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Craw  had  four  children:  The  oldest  died  in  infancy;  Angie  H., 
born  at  Chino  July  2,  1892,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Chino  High  School  and 
State  Normal  at  Los  Angeles,  and  was  a  teacher  until  her  marriage  in 
1917  to  A.  T.  Ezell,  a  native  of  Tennessee,  now  a  prosperous  druggist 
at  Seelev  in  Imperial  County.  Thev  have  a  son,  Robert  Ezell,  born 
April  1.  1920,  in  the  Imperial  Valley'.  The  third  child,  Helen  A.,  born 
at  Chino  January  2,  1894,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Chino  High  School  and  the 
Los  Angeles  Normal  and  is  a  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Colton.  The  fourth 
of  the  family.  Ethel  Craw,  born  at  Chino  June  11,  1895,  graduated  from 
high  school  and  the  Los  Angeles  Normal,  spent  one  year  at  Chino,  and 
in  1916  became  the  wife  of  Thomas  B.  Seitel,  of  Chino.  Mr.  Seitel  is  in 
the  United  States  mail  service  at  Chino.  They  have  a  son  Willard  Stanley 
Seitel.  born  May  2.  1918. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Craw  engaged  in  business  for  himself,  and  in 
1890  removed  to  Chino,  where  he  leased  a  large  acreage  of  land  from 
Richard  Gird.  It  was  virgin  soil,  never  having  been  plowed,  and  he  did 
his  farming  among  the  vast  herds  of  cattle  and  other  stock  owned  by 
the  Gird  interests.  He  continued  farming  here  until  1901,  his  chief  crop 
being  sugar  beets.  In  1901  he  moved  to  Los  Angeles  County  and  raised 
beets  for  the  Los  Alimitos  Sugar  Refinery,  and  that  experience  of  five 
years  proved  profitable,  though  his  first  venture  in  raising  beets  at  Chino 
had  been  prosecuted  at  a  loss.  In  1907  he  returned  to  Chino  and  bought 
his  present  home,  located  at  169  Seventh  Street.  Mr.  Craw  had  pre- 
viously purchased  ten  acres,  one  of  the  first  small  tracts  sold  by  Gird  in  the 
subdivision  of  his  famous  ranch.  To  this  he  later  added  ten  other  acres, 
and  he  holds  it  today  and  has  developed  it  into  a  fine  alfalfa  and  English 
walnut  ranch.  Mr.  Craw  continued  farming  on  a  large  scale  in  this  dis- 
trict, leasing  large  tracts  of  land. 

He  has  been  a  public  spirited  worker  in  the  development  of  the  com- 
munity and  since  1915  has  been  county  road  commissioner  for  the  Chino 
Road  District.  He  has  served  his  third  term  as  a  trustee  of  Chino  City. 
Mr.  Craw  is  a  republican,  comes  of  a  Baptist  family,  and  is  affiliated  with 
Chino  Lodge  No.  177,  Knights  of  Pythias.  Mr.  Craw  as  a  youth  was  a 
pupil  of  John  Brown,  and  he  pays  a  distinct  tribute  to  Mr.  Brown  as  a 
real  school  master  and  one  who  inspired  his  pupils  to  develop  both  their 
minds  and  their  character. 

Robert  W.  English,  a  retired  resident  of  San  Bernardino  County 
living  three  miles  south  of  Ontario,  at  the  corner  of  Euclid  and  Eucalyp- 
tus avenues,  his  post  office  being  Chino,  has  had  a  richly  varied  experience 
in  the  far  West,  since  for  many  years  he  was  a  railroad  man,  also  par- 
ticipated in  mining  and  merchandising,  and  has  been  a  resident  of  the 
Chino  Valley  for  a  quarter  of  a  century. 

Mr.  English  was  born  in  Platte  City,  Missouri,  August  16,  1857,  son  of 
William  K.  and  Elizabeth  (  Fox)  English,  the  former  a  native  of  Kentucky 
and  the  latter  of  Tennessee.  He  was  second  in  a  family  of  four  sons. 
From  Missouri  the  family  moved  to  Arizona  in  pioneer  times,  and  Wil- 
liam K.  English  was  for  fifteen  years  president  and  general  manager  of 
the  Great  Horn  Silver  Mining  Company,  the  largest  silver  mine  in  the 
world  at  the  time.  William  K.  English  died  at  Frisco,  Utah,  in  1894, 
while  his  widow  died  and  was  buried  at  Corona,  California,  in  1906. 

Robert  W.  English  acquired  a  good  education  and  in  1874  graduated 
from  the  State  Normal  School  at  Lawrence,  Kansas.    Almost  immediately 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       11 17 

he  was  attracted  into  the  operating  side  of  railroad  work,  and  became  a 
locomotive  engineer,  driving  an  engine  over  many  western  divisions.  He 
was  in  the  service  of  the  Santa  Fe  Company  fifteen  years,  having  a  run 
between  Trinidad  and  Santa  Fe,  New  Mexico,  over  the  Ratoon  Mountains, 
which  at  one  time  was  the  steepest  climb  of  any  steam  railroad  in  America. 
As  a  result  of  his  long  experience  pulling  trains  over  these  snow  covered 
mountains  he  became  stricken  with  snow  blindness,  and  for  three  months 
was  totally  blind,  and  though  he  eventually  recovered  his  vision  he  was 
left  color  blind,  and  thus  incapacitated  for  his  former  duties  as  an  engineer. 
For  two  years  he  was  yard  master  at  Blake  City,  Utah,  a  Denver  and  Rio 
Grand  Railroad.  Mr.  English  in  early  days  was  locomotive  engineer  dur- 
ing the  construction  of  some  important  western  lines.  He  ran  a  locomo- 
tive on  construction  trains  when  soldiers  rode  guard  on  these  work  trains 
to  protect  the  property  and  the  workers  against  Indian  attack. 

After  leaving  the  railroad  service  Mr.  English  became  identified  with 
mining,  and  for  four  years  had  some  successful  experiences  in  the  gold 
mines  of  Southern  Utah.  He  became  interested  with  Godby  &  Hampton, 
and  this  firm  sold  their  interests  to  Mr.  Bigelow,  New  York's  largest  shoe 
manufacturer.  Mr.  English  took  stock  in  a  new  company  and  was  superin- 
tendent of  the  mining  properties  for  three  years.  At  that  time  the  concern 
became  involved  in  litigation,  and  the  business  was  suspended.  Mr.  Eng- 
lish possessed  30,000  shares  of  stock,  which  had  paid  liberal  dividends,  but 
after  dissolution  of  the  company  his  stock  became  a  total  loss.  He  then 
went  to  Tombstone.  Arizona,  and  while  there  became  acquainted  with 
Richard  Gurd,  who  formerly  owned  many  hundreds  of  acres  in  the  Chino 
Valley.  From  Tombstone  he  went  to  Lincoln  County,  Nevada,  and  was 
in  the  range  stock  business  for  five  years.  He  was  obliged  to  leave  that 
altitude  on  account  of  heart  trouble.  In  1896  he  came  to  this  valley,  bring- 
ing sixteen  horses  with  him,  and  leased  land  from  Mr.  Gurd,  farming  it 
four  years.  About  that  time  he  bought  fifty  acres  from  Mr.  Gurd,  but 
subsequently  sold  it.  Mr.  English  in  1900  moved  to  Corona,  California, 
and  enjoyed  a  prosperous  career  in  the  implement  business  until  he  closed 
out  in  October,  1920,  and  is  now  living  quietly  retired. 

In  1878  Mr.  English  married  Miss  Millie  Carter,  who  was  born  in 
Beaver  City,  Utah,  and  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  that  state. 
She  is  a  descendant  of  early  Utah  pioneers.  Her  grandfather,  Amascy 
Liman,  was  a  soldier  in  the  Mexican  war,  a  member  of  the  famous  Mormon 
Brigade,  and  first  became  acquainted  with  California  as  a  soldier  during 
this  war.  He  then  returned  to  Salt  Lake,  and  subsequently  was  with  the 
early  Mormon  organization  at  old  San  Bernardino.  He  was  president  of  a 
branch  of  the  Mormon  Church  in  Southern  California,  being  recalled  to 
Utah  by  Brigham  Young.  He  was  one  of  the  twelve  apostles  in  the  church 
until  his  death  in  1904.  Mrs.  English's  father  was  Philo  Carter,  another 
noted  California  pioneer  of  San  Bernardino  County.  It  was  Philo  Carter 
who  discovered  the  first  gold  on  Lytle  Creek.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  English 
became  the  parents  of  eight  children.  The  oldest.  Lulu,  born  in  Utah  in 
1880,  is  the  wife  of  W.  L.  Berry,  an  old  and  prominent  resident  of  the 
Chino  Valley,  where  he  is  a  dairyman  and  rancher.  Mary,  who  was  born 
in  Utah  in  1882,  died  at  the  age  of  nine  months  at  Beaver  City.  Luell, 
born  in  1886,  in  Utah,  is  Mrs.  Arthur  Brown,  of  Riverside.  Edward, 
born  in  1888,  is  a  blacksmith  at  Riverside.  William  K.,  Jr.,  born  in  Utah 
in  1892,  is  a  blacksmith  at  Zelzah,  California;  Walter,  born  in  Nevada  in 
1898,  is  in  business  with  his  brother  at  Zelzah ;  Philo,  who  was  born  at 
Corona,  California,  in  1900,  is  an  accountant  and  clerk  with  the  Santa  Fe 
Railroad  Company;  May,  the  youngest  of  the  family,  was  born  at  Corona 
in  1902,  and  is  now  chief  bookkeeper  at  Corona  for  the  Southern  California 


1118       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

By-Products  Company.    The  four  sons  all  learned  the  trade  of  blacksmith 
and  except  one  are  still  identified  with  that  work. 

Dudley  Pine  was  the  youngest  son  of  the  late  Samuel  C.  Pine,  Sr., 
whose  noble  career  as  a  pioneer  of  the  San  Bernardino  Valley  has  been 
described  on  other  pages. 

Dudley  Pine  was  born  at  his  father's  Rincon  homestead  ranch  June  2, 
1872.  He  has  never  married,  and  he  grew  up  and  received  his  education 
in  this  locality  and  since  early  manhood  has  been  fully  occupied  with  his 
ranching  and  farming.  He  has  done  much  to  develop  lands  in  this 
section. 

His  brother  Myron,  who  was  born  at  San  Bernardino  May  22,  1868, 
married  in  1891  Miss  Agnes  Lester,  daughter  of  the  venerable  pioneer 
of  the  Rincon  Grant,  Edward  Lester.  Myron  Pine  and  wife  had  five  chil- 
dren, Hazel  G.,  Myrtle  G.,  Ivy  G..  Mary  and  Myra  Agnes.  Myron  Pine 
now  lives  in  Imperial. 

Another  brother  of  Dudlev  Pine  was  Edwin  Pine,  who  was  born  Julv 
28,  1860.  He  married  Miss  Annie  Bell  Gilbert,  daughter  of  J.  D.  Gilbert, 
another  early  settler  of  San  Bernardino.  They  have  three  children,  Gil- 
bert Edwin,  Miss  Beryl  and  Madelen.  Edwin  Pine  was  a  prosperous 
rancher  in  the  Chino  Valley  and  died  April  16,  1920,  at  his  ranch. 

The  Pine  family  have  been  large  factors  in  both  the  early  settlement 
and  later  development  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  individually  and 
collectively  have  stood  for  the  very  best  in  citizenship.  They  have  helped 
develop  the  lands  of  the  Rincon  Grant  from  virgin  and  desert  soil,  and  all 
of  them  share  in  the  credit  for  the  improvement  noted  in  this  section  of 
San  Bernardino  County. 

Byron  Waters — One  of  the  specific  and  important  functions  of  this 
publication  is  to  enter  enduring  record  concerning  those  whose  stand  is  es- 
sentially representative  in  the  various  professional  circles  in  California, 
and  there  is  no  profession  that  touches  so  closely  the  manifold  interests 
of  society  in  general  as  does  the  legal. 

In  both  the  paternal  and  maternal  line  he  traces  his  genealogy  back 
to  families  who  founded  America.  Mr.  Waters  claims  the  Empire  State 
of  the  South  for  his  nativity  as  he  was  born  at  Canton,  Cherokee  County, 
Georgia,  on  the  19th  day  of  June,  1849,  the  youngest  son  of  the  three 
children  of  Henry  H.  and  Frances  (Brewster)  Waters. 

Henry  Hawley  Waters  was  born  in  Renssalaer  County,  New  York, 
near  the  City  of  Albany,  in  the  year  1819,  his  parents  having  been  num- 
bered among  the  pioneers  of  that  section,  whither  they  removed  from 
Massachusetts,  where  the  respective  families  were  found  in  the  Colonial 
days.  Henry  H.  Waters  was  the  youngest  in  a  family  of  five  children, 
and  owing  to  the  conditions  and  exigencies  of  life  in  a  pioneer  communi- 
ty, his  early  educational  advantages  were  limited — a  handicap  which 
he  effectively  overcame  through  self-discipline  and  through  definite  ad- 
vancement by  personal  effort.  He  served  an  apprenticeship  as  a  mechanic 
and  assisted  in  the  construction  of  one  of  the  first  steam  road  locomotives 
ever  operated  in  the  State  of  New  York.  He  had  no  little  inventive 
ability,  but  there  could  be  no  reason  to  doubt  that  he  did  well  to  turn 
his  attention  to  other  lines.  When  about  twenty  years  of  age  he  went 
to  Georgia,  where  he  proved  himself  eligible  for  pedagogic  honors  and 
was  successfully  engaged  in  teaching  for  a  period  of  about  two  years. 
In  the  meanwhile  he  had  determined  to  prepare  himself  for  the  legal 
profession,  and  by  close  application  he  gained  an  excellent  knowledge  of 
law,   so  that  he  gained  admission  to  the  bar  of   Georgia.     For  several 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1119 

years  he  was  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession  at  Canton,  that 
state,  and  in  184V,  at  the  time  of  the  ever  memorable  gold  excitement 
in  California,  he  became  one  of  the  intrepid  argonauts  who  made  their 
way  by  various  routes  to  the  new"  Eldorado.  He  was  one  of  the  first  in 
Georgia  to  set  out  for  California.  The  company  of  which  he  was  a 
member  made  the  voyage  to  Havana,  Cuba,  crossed  the  Tehauntepec 
Isthmus  in  Mexico  by  means  of  a  pack  train,  and  made  the  remainder 
of  the  journey  on  a  sailing  vessel.  In  later  years  Mr.  Henry  H.  Waters 
frequently  reterred  to  the  fact  that  all  the  men  of  his  party  who  drank 
whisky  while  on  the  trip  across  the  Isthmus  were  attacked  by  disease 
that  soon  terminated  their  lives.  He  finally  disembarked  in  the  port  of 
San  Francisco  and  thence  made  his  way  to  the  original  placer  mines  in 
Tuolumne  County.  The  mining  camp  was  then  known  as  "Jim  Town," 
and  the  little  city  at  that  point,  at  the  present  time,  bears  the  more 
dignified  appellation  of  Jamestown.  Mr.  Walters  passed  about  two 
years  in  this  state  and  then  returned  to  Georgia,  having  made  the  return 
journey  across  the  plains.  He  resumed  the  practice  of  his  profession, 
but  a  few  years  later  he  again  made  the  trip  across  the  plains  for  the  pur- 
pose of  visiting  his  brother,  James  W.  Waters,  of  San  Bernardino 
County.  He  remained  a  limited  time  on  this  occasion  and  then  made 
his  third  trip  overland  by  returning  to  his  home  in  Georgia.  In  1858 
he  was  appointed  executive  secretary  to  Governor  Joseph  E.  Brown 
of  that  state,  whose  son,  Joseph  M.  Brown,  afterward  became  governor. 
He  retained  this  office  until  1865  when  Governor  Brown  was  deposed 
from  office  by  the  Federal  authorities  after  the  close  of  the  Civil  war. 
During  the  progress  of  that  war,  as  executive  secretary  to  the  Governor, 
Mr.  Henry  Waters  had  much  to  do  with  the  direction  of  military  af-, 
fairs  in  the  state.  He  held  the  rank  of  colonel  on  the  staff  of  the  Gov- 
ernor and  was  instrumental  in  mustering  in  thirty  regiments  for  the 
Confederate  service.  He  thus  lived  up  to  the  full  tension  of  the  great 
conflict  between  the  North  and  the  South,  during  which  his  loyalty  to 
the  Confederate  cause  was  of  the  most  insistent  order.  In  the  meantime 
H.  Waters  had  purchased  a  plantation  in  Coweta  County,  Georgia, 
and  after  the  disorganization  of  the  state  government  and  the  installa- 
tion of  the  carpet  bag  machine  at  the  close  of  the  war,  he  retired  to 
his  plantation.  Two  years  later  he  sold  the  property  and  located  in 
Harris  County,  Georgia,  where  he  engaged  in  the  manufacturing  of 
lumber.  Later  he  established  his  home  at  Geneva,  Talbot  County,  Georgia, 
where  he  gave  his  attention  principally  to  the  management  of  his  large 
cotton  plantation  in  that  county.  He  died  in  the  City  of  Macon,  that 
state,  in  1869,  as  the  result  of  a  stroke  of  paralysis,  and  his  name  is  on 
record  as  that  of  one  of  the  progressive  and  honored  citizens  of  Georgia. 
His  devoted  wife  died  in  1860  at  Milledgeville,  Georgia,  in  which  state 
her  entire  life  was  passed.  She  was  born  in  Gainesville,  Georgia,  and 
was  the  daughter  of  Dr.  John  Brewster,  a  native  of  South  Carolina  and 
a  scion  of  one  of  the  old  and  distinguished  families  of  that  common- 
wealth. Dr.  Brewster  was  one  of  the  able  representatives  of  his  pro- 
fession in  Georgia  where  he  was  engaged  in  active  practice  for  many 
years.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry  Waters  became  the  parents  of  three  chil- 
dren, Emmett,  the  eldest  of  the  three  was  accidentally  killed  at  Paris, 
Kentucky,  on  the  day  following  his  graduation  from  Millersburg  College. 
Prior  to  this,  when  but  eighteen  years  of  age,  he  tendered  his  services  in 
defense  of  the  Confederate  cause  by  enlisting  in  the  First  Georgia  Regu- 
lars at  the  inception  of  the  Civil  war.  He  gained  promotion  through 
the  various  grades  until  he  was  made  adjutant  in  his  command,  and  he 
participated  in  many  engagements.     On  July  26,   1864,  in  the  battle  of 


1120       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Peach  Tree  Creek,  in  the  front  of  Atlanta,  he  was  shot  through  the  right 
leg,  and  the  injury  was  so  severe  as  to  necessitate  the  amputation  of  the 
member. 

Henrietta,  the  second  child,  became  the  wife  of  Edwin  A.  Nesbit,  and 
they  came  to  California  in  1867  and  resided  for  many  years  in  San  Ber- 
nardino, where  both  died.  They  reared  eleven  children  to  maturity. 
Mrs.  Nesbit  was  long  numbered  among  the  successful  and  popular  teach- 
ers in  the  schools  of  California.  She  followed  this  profession  for  over 
twenty  years  in  San  Bernardino,  and  for  a  decade  was  one  of  the  most 
loved  and  valued  teachers  in  the  schools  of  Los  Angeles. 

The  third  and  youngest  of  the  children  is  he  to  whom  this  sketch 
is  dedicated — Byron  Waters,  who  was  reared  to  the  age  of  sixteen  years 
in  his  native  state  and  was  afforded  the  advantages  of  its  best  private 
schools,  in  which  he  continued  his  attendance  until  the  close  of  the  war 
between  the  states.  The  family  experienced  serious  financial  reverses, 
as  did  nearly  all  other  in  the  South  at  this  time,  and  after  leaving  school 
he  worked  for  nearly  three  years  in  the  cotton  field  on  his  father's 
plantation.  He  became  associated  as  a  boy  with  those  who  afterwards 
formed  the  Ku  Klux  Klan,  and  under  these  conditions  his  father  sug- 
gested that  he  take  some  cotton  to  market  and  utilize  the  proceeds  in 
going  to  California.  The  devoted  father,  bereft  of  wife  and  elder  son, 
realized  that  by  this  procedure  the  younger  son  would  escape  the  diffi- 
culties and  troublous  experiences  incidental  to  the  so-called  recon- 
struction period  in  the  South,  for  it  was  but  natural  that  intense 
sectional  prejudice  had  been  aroused  among  the  youth  of  the  South, 
owing  to  contemplation  of  the  frightful  ravages  worked  by  the  war 
just  ended,  especially  the  devastating  effect  of  Sherman's  victorious  march 
through  Georgia  from  Atlanta  to  the  sea.  Accordingly,  Mr.  Byron 
Waters  came  to  California  in  1867,  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years,  and 
here  began  work  as  a  cow-boy  on  his  uncle's  ranch  at  Yucaipa  in  San 
Bernardino  County,  said  uncle  having  been  James  W.  Wraters,  pre- 
viously mentioned  as  one  of  the  sterling  pioneers  of  this  section  of 
the  state. 

The  ambition  of  young  Waters  was  not  to  be  thus  satisfied, 
however,  and  in  April,  1869,  he  began  the  study  of  law  in  the  office 
of  Judge  Horace  C.  Rolfe  of  San  Bernardino.  Later  he  continued 
his  technical  reading  under  the  direction  of  Judge  Henry  M.  Willis 
of  the  same  city.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  January,  1871,  and 
during  the  many  intervening  j-ears  that  he  has  been  in  active  practice 
in  the  various  courts  of  the  state  it  has  been  his  to  gain  and 
retain  high  prestige  and  distinction  as  one  of  the  ablest  members  of 
the  California  bar  as  well  as  one  of  the  most  successful.  His  list  of 
cases  presented  before  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  state  is  one  of  the 
largest  that  can  be  claimed  by  any  member  of  the  bar  of  this  favored 
commonwealth,  and  in  this  and  other  tribunals  there  stands  to  his  lasting 
honor  many  noteworthy  victories  as  an  advocate  of  great  strength  and 
versatility.  More  than  fifty-one  years  of  consecutive  devotion  to  the 
work  of  his  profession  have  made  Byron  Waters  one  of  its  peers  in  the 
state  and  the  bar  has  been  honored  and  dignified  alike  by  his  character 
and  his  services. 

He  has  made  his  home  and  professional  headquarters  in  San 
Bernardino  during  most  of  these  years;  has  stood  as  an  exponent  of 
the  most  loyal  and  public  spirited  citizenship,  and  none  has  a  more 
secure  place  in  popular  confidence  and  esteem. 

In  1881  Mr.  Byron  Waters  effected  the  organization  of  the  Farmers 
Exchange    Bank   of   San    Bernardino,   one   of   the   solid   and    leading 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 121 

financial  institutions  in  the  state.  He  was  its  first  president,  and 
held  that  office  for  several  years.  During  the  formative  period  of 
the  bank  he  guided  its  affairs  with  a  firm  hand  and  with  the  utmost 
discrimination  and  progressivencss — showing  the  same  characteristic 
energy  and  integrity  that  have  marked  his  career  in  all  its  relations. 

Always  unwavering  in  his  allegiance  to  the  democratic  party, 
Byron  Waters  has  done  much  to  promote  its  cause  in  California 
while  he  has  resided  in  a  county  and  state  that  show  large  republican 
majority  under  normal  conditions.  In  his  home  county  there  early 
came  recognition  of  his  ability  and  sterling  character,  as  is  shown  by 
the  fact  that  in  1877  he  was  elected  to  represent  the  same  in  the  State 
Legislature.  At  the  ensuing  session  he  became  a  recognized  leader 
of  his  party  in  the  House,  and  before  the  close  of  the  session 
he  stood  at  the  head  as  a  member  of  that  body.  His  reputation  for 
talent  and  personal  and  official  integrity  brought  about  the  following 
year,  1878,  his  election  as  a  delegate  at  large  to  the  State  Constitutional 
Convention,  and  he  had  the  distinction  in  this  connection  of  receiving 
a  larger  majority  than  any  other  candidate  for  such  representation 
in  the  state.  Though  he  was  one  of  the  youngest  members  of  that 
convention  Mr.  Waters'  thorough  knowledge  of  constitutional  law, 
his  exceptional  power  in  debate,  and  his  prescience  as  to  future  growth 
and  demands  won  for  him  a  commanding  influence  in  the  deliberations 
of  that  convention. 

His  adherence  to  and  earnest  advocacy  of  certain  opinions  while 
in  the  convention  temporarily  cost  him  somewhat  of  his  popularity, 
but  the  time  and  the  subsequent  working  of  constitutional  provisions 
which  he  opposed  have  demonstrated  that  he  was  right  in  the  course 
he  pursued  at  the  time. 

In  1886  Mr.  Waters  was  made  democratic  candidate  for  the  office 
of  justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  State  of  California,  but  while 
he  was  eminently  qualified  for  the  position  and  was  defeated  by  a 
small  majority  he  was  unable  to  overcome  the  far  greater  strength 
of  the  republican  party  and  thus  ordinary  political  exigencies  com- 
passed his  defeat. 

Mr.  Waters  has  been  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  fraternity  since 
1873.    He  is  liberal  in  his  religious  views. 

On  the  31st  day  of  December,  1872,  was  solemnized  his  marriage 
to  Miss  Louisa  Brown,  a  native  daughter  of  San  Bernardino,  who  was 
born  July  23,  1852,  she  being  one  of  the  daughters  of  John  Brown, 
Sr.,  the  noted  hunter  and  trapper  of  the  Rocky  Mountains  and  Louisa 
Sandoval  Brown,  his  wife,  who  was  a  member  of  one  of  the  dis- 
tinguished families  of  Taos,  New  Mexico.  Of  this  union  there  has 
been  issue  as  follows,  all  of  whom  are  surviving  except  their  daughters 
Florence  and  Clara  and  son  Brewster,  those  living  now,  (1922)  being 
Sylvia,  Frances,  Helen,  Emmett,  Byron,  Jr.,  and  Elizabeth. 

A  characteristic  of  the  Waters  family  is  that  they  have  been 
builders  of  homes  and  business  structures  as  exemplified  by  them  in 
San  Bernardino.  J.  W.  Waters,  as  is  shown  by  reference  to  him  in 
this  work,  caused  to  be  built  in  San  Bernardino  notable  buildings  and 
Byron  Waters  has  built  therein  two  structures  for  his  law  offices  and 
also  from  time  to  time  three  residences,  first  a  cottage  on  West  Fifth 
Street  early  in  life,  later  the  large  brick  residence  on  Fourth  Street 
opposite  the  Elks  Club,  and  later  built  the  Bunker  Hill  residence, 
where  with  his  family  he  now  resides,  the  place  being  situated  on  an 
eminence  at  the  westerly  side  of  the  San  Bernardino  Valley,  present- 
ing a  view  of  the  fertile  valley  of  that  name,  overlooking  the  cities 


1122       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

of  Colton,  Rialto,  San  Bernardino,  Redlands  and  Highland,  situated 
therein,  with  the  enclosing  mountains  surrounding  the  valley. 

For  many  years  Mr.  Waters  and  his  family  have  spent  the  summers 
at  their  picturesque  mountain  home  embracing  the  valley  known  as 
Seeley  Flat,  having  an  elevation  of  one  mile  above  sea  level,  twelve 
miles  north  of  San  Bernardino,  consisting  of  160  acres  of  land,  nestled 
among  the  surrounding  pine-clad  hills  sloping  to  the  enclosed  meadow, 
in  the  center  of  which  is  a  knoll  elevated  above  the  meadow  and  on  top 
of  which  is  situated  the  cabin  home  of  the  place  at  which  they  have  en- 
joyed the  summer  months,  always  extending  entertainment  to  relatives 
and  friends  in  full  measure  of  old  fashioned  Southern  and  California 
hospitality. 

David  Glen  Henderson. — To  such  men  as  David  Glen  Henderson,  an 
octogenarian  now  living  at  Etiwanda.  life  is  a  continuous  adventure 
and  enterprise,  and  every  new  day  brings  opportunities  for  work  and 
accomplishment.  Mr.  Henderson  is  one  of  the  few  survivors  of  that 
now  distant  past  when  the  establishment  of  homes  in  Southern  Cali- 
fornia meant  a  persistent  struggle  with  the  adverse  forces  of  nature. 

He  was  born  in  Calder,  Scotland,  March  28,  1842,  son  of  David 
and  Margaret  (Adams)  Henderson,  and  was  one  of  their  six  children. 
David  Henderson  was  a  coal  miner.  Born  in  Scotland,  he  was 
seriously  injured  by  a  fall  of  slate  and  never  entirely  recovered.  In 
1848  he  came  to  America,  and  in  1849  brought  his  family  to  this 
country.  He  first  located  at  Dry  Hill,  now  within  the  city  limits  of 
St.  Louis,  Missouri,  and  he  died  there  in  1850.  His  widow  soon  after- 
ward was  married  to  James  Easton,  a  member  of  the  Mormon  Church. 
Early  in  the  spring  of  1851  James  Easton,  his  wife  and  the  Henderson 
children  went  from  St.  Louis  to  a  point  near  Council  Bluffs,  Iowa, 
where  they  joined  a  train  made  up  of  fifty  ox  teams  and  embarked 
for  Salt  Lake  City.  The  captain  of  the  train  forbade  the  killing  of 
buffalo,  and  they  had  no  serious  trouble  with  Indians,  reaching  the 
Salt  Lake  country  in  the  fall  of  1851.  Here  James  Easton  took  up 
farming.  In  1853  the  second  stage  of  the  journey  was  begun,  again 
by  ox  teams.  On  both  of  these  stages  of  the  transcontinental  trip 
David  Glen  Henderson  drove  a  three  yoke  ox  team,  though  on  the 
trip  from  the  Missouri  River  he  was  only  a  youth  of  eight  or  nine 
years  old.  The  second  stage  of  the  journey  had  San  Bernardino  as 
it  destination.  The  route  was  through  the  desert,  and  Mr.  Henderson 
has  a  vivid  recollection  of  some  of  the  hardships  encountered.  While 
passing  through  a  canyon  in  the  mountains  a  party  of  Indians  met 
them  and  demanded  food  and  whiskey.  Halt  was  made  in  an  open 
spot  and  a  parley  ensued.  The  travelers  offered  the  Indians  potatoes 
and  turnips,  but  this  did  not  please  the  red  men,  and  from  the  way 
they  handled  their  bows  and  arrows,  their  only  weapons,  the  party 
feared  an  attack.  An  older  brother  of  David  G.  Henderson  acted 
as  interpreter,  and  while  talking  with  the  savages  displayed  an  old 
pepper  box  revolver,  showing  how  rapidly  it  could  be  fired.  It  was 
a  piece  of  strategy  that  served  to  discourage  the  Indians  from  any 
further  hostile  act,  and  they  withdrew,  sullen  but  peaceful.  In 
crossing  the  desert  from  one  water  hole  to  another  the  party  filled 
all  the  churns,  pails  and  everything  that  would  hold  water,  and  they 
traveled  chiefly  at  night,  resting  the  oxen  through  the  heat  of  the 
day.  Of  these  early  voyagers  of  the  desert  few  now  remain.  The 
journey  itself,  as  well  as  the  work  necessary  to  be  done  after  reaching 
the  destination,  was  evidence  of  the  great  courage  and  determination 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       112.? 

that  entitle  these  pioneers  to  lasting  admiration.  The  Easton  and 
Henderson  families  settled  about  a  mile  east  of  the  old  Fort  at  San 
Bernardino.  Here  David  G.  Henderson  came  to  manhood.  Prac- 
tically the  only  school  advantages  he  had  were  in  the  years  from 
five  to  seven  before  he  left  the  Middle  West.  In  Utah  and  California 
his  program  was  one  of  work,  but  he  also  studied  privately  and  is 
today  an  exceptional  penman.  He  became  versed  in  all  phases  of 
woodcraft  and  hunting,  and  hunting  has  always  been  a  favorite  sport. 
Even  in  1921  he  went  into  the  Sierra  Mountains  and  shot  his  deer. 
Perhaps  the  steadiest  employment  he  had  as  a  youth  was  driving 
ox  teams  in  hauling  food  and  provisions. 

In  1862  Mr.  Henderson  married  Miss  Matilda  Hawker,  who  was 
born  July  27,  1845,  at  Melbourne,  Australia.  Directly  after  his 
marriage  he  bought  five  acres,  but  soon  sold  that  and  purchased 
twenty  acres,  both  tracts  being  near  San  Bernardino.  During  1864- 
65  he  was  engaged  in  placer  mining  on  Lytle  Creek,  then  a  boom 
district,  though  his  own  luck  as  a  miner  failed  him.  In  the  fall 
of  1865  Mr.  Henderson  went  to  the  coal  mines  at  Mount  Diablo  in 
Contra  Costa  County,  and  remained  there  two  years,  getting  good 
wages  and  returning  with  some  capital.  He  then  farmed  and  did 
teaming.  In  February,  1884,  Mr.  Henderson  took  up  eighty  acres 
of  state  land,  proved  it  up  and  secured  the  title  and  planted  part 
of  it.  After  keeping  this  ranch  for  twenty  years  he  sold  out  in  1904. 
Then,  leaving  his  family  in  San  Bernardino  County,  he  again  went 
to  the  frontier,  filing  on  eighty  acres  of  desert  land  seven  miles 
southwest  of  the  Imperial  townsite.  This  he  improved  and  two  years 
later  sold.  On  returning  to  San  Bernardino  County  he  filed  on  a 
160  acre  tract,  the  northeast  quarter  of  Section  29,  North  of  Etiwanda. 
Later  he  discovered  that  this  was  not  Government  land  but  was 
owned  by  the  railroad,  and  he  made  arrangements  to  purchase  forty 
acres  from  the  railroad  company.  This  land  lies  at  the  corner  of 
Summit  and  Etiwanda  avenues,  and  he  has  set  it  to  fruit,  built  a 
home  and  otherwise  instituted  improvements  that  mark  his  secure 
material  prosperity. 

For  nearly  fifty  years  Mr.  Henderson  had  the  companionship  of 
his  good  wife,  who  was  taken  from  him  by  death  on  January  10,  1921. 
Eleven  children  were  born  to  their  marriage,  and  all  are  living  but 
one.  The  oldest,  David  Henderson,  is  a  farmer  at  Bishop  in  Inyo 
County ;  Alexander  also  lives  at  Bishop ;  William  is  in  business  at 
Rialto;  Walter  Scott  is  a  resident  of  Etiwanda;  Nettie  is  the  wife  of 
Edward  Purdue,  living  on  a  place  adjoining  the  Henderson  ranch  ; 
Robert  R.  is  a  rancher  at  Etiwanda;  Maggie  is  Mrs.  James  Anderson, 
of  San  Bernardino;  Belle  is  the  wife  of  William  St.  Claire,  of  Little 
Rock,  Los  Angeles  County  ;  Grover  C.  is  a  citrus  grower  at  Etiwanda ; 
Earle  E.  lives  at  Etiwanda;  and  Glen  is  the  deceased  child. 

Fenton  M.  Slaughter,  late  of  Rincon,  was  one  of  the  finest  types  of 
the  fearless  pioneer  who  brought  the  really  constructive  civilization 
into  the  valleys  of  Southern  California.  He  was  identified  with  the 
first  tide  of  gold  seekers  on  the  Pacific  Coast,  a  few  years  later  came 
into  Southern  California,  and  for  many  years  his  industry  and  rare 
business  judgment  made  him  one  of  the  powerful  men  in  the  ranching 
affairs  of  the  Rincon  Valley,  where  his  family  still  reside  and  are 
properly  accounted  among  the  most  substantial  people  in  this 
vicinity. 

Fenton  M.  Slaughter  was  born  January  10,  1826.  The  English 
family  of  Slaughter  was  established  in  Colonial  Virginia  as  early  as 


1124       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

1616.  His  grandparents  were  Robin  and  Ann  Slaughter.  His  father, 
Louis  Slaughter,  was  born  in  Culpeper  County,  Virginia,  April  25, 
1779,  and  married  Elizabeth  Gillem,  of  Rockbridge  County,  Virginia. 
Louis  Slaughter  died  in  1834,  leaving  his  widow  with  the  care  of 
eleven  children. 

Fenton  M.  Slaughter  under  such  circumstances  had  to  become 
independent  as  soon  as  possible,  and  in  1835,  when  he  was  nine  years 
of  age,  his  mother  moved  to  Callaway  County,  Missouri,  and  in  1842 
to  St.  Louis.  Fenton  M.  Slaughter  had  a  common  school  education, 
and  at  St.  Louis  entered  the  shops  of  McMurray  &  Dorman  to  learn 
the  trade  of  mechanical  engineer.  After  his  apprenticeship  he  was 
an  engineer  on  river  steamboats  from  St.  Louis  to  New  Orleans.  He 
answered  the  first  call  for  volunteers  at  the  beginning  of  the  War 
with  Mexico,  and  he  served  in  Company  B  of  the  Second  Regiment, 
Missouri  Mounted  Volunteers,  under  Capt.  John  C.  Dent  and 
Col.  Stirling  Price.  His  service  was  in  the  Santa  Fe  country, 
keeping  down  the  Indians,  and  he  participated  in  the  battles  of  Taos 
and  Canadian  Fork  with  the  Navajo,  and  in  the  latter  engagement 
was  taken  prisoner.  After  twenty-three  days  he  succeeded  in  eluding 
his  captors,  escaped  on  a  mule,  and  after  a  ride  of  125  miles  reached 
Albuquerque.  A  short  time  before  his  discharge,  in  1847,  he  was  in 
a  skirmish  with  the  Indians  at  Sevedas  ranch  in  the  Valley  of  the 
Rio  Grande. 

The  war  over,  he  returned  to  St.  Louis  and  resumed  his  calling, 
and  in  1849  joined  an  overland  party  bound  for  California.  He  spent 
some  time  mining  in  Eldorado  County,  and  returned  East  by  way  of 
Panama  and  New  Orleans  to  St.  Louis.  In  the  spring  of  1851  he 
again  set  out  for  California,  overland,  and  in  Eldorado  County  did 
some  mining  and  also  was  engineer  of  the  first  steam  sawmill  erected 
in  the  Sierra  Nevadas.  In  March.  1853,  he  moved  to  Mariposa 
County,  and  in  the  fall  of  the  same  year  entered  the  service  of  General 
Beal,  superintendent  of  Indian  affairs  in  California.  His  duties  took 
him  to  the  San  Joaquin  River  Reservation  and  the  Tejon  Reservation 
in  Los  Angeles  County. 

Leaving  this  work,  which  was  uncongenial,  Mr.  Slaughter  in  1854 
began  working  at  his  trade  in  Los  Angeles,  but  soon  became  inter- 
ested in  wool  growing  on  the  Puente  Ranch  in  the  San  Gabriel  Valley 
with  Rowland,  one  of  the  pioneer  owners  of  that  great  tract.  The 
chief  business  of  Mr.  Slaughter  for  many  years  was  sheep  ranching 
and  wool  growing.  His  interests  gradually  extended  to  San  Ber- 
nardino County,  and  he  was  one  of  the  first  to  introduce  French  and 
Spanish  Merino  sheep  to  this  region.  He  opened  a  blacksmith  shop 
at  San  Gabriel  in  1854,  the  first  institution  of  its  kind  there,  and 
operated  it  for  many  years.  In  all  his  enterprises  he  was  remarkably 
successful.  In  1868  Mr.  Slaughter  bought  the  Buena  Vista  tract  of 
the  Raymondo  Yorba  ranch  at  Rincon  in  San  Bernardino  County, 
and  soon  afterward  transferred  his  herds  to  this  locality.  He  con- 
tinued sheep  growing  until  selling  out  his  stock  in  1882,  and  about 
three  years  later  sold  most  of  his  ranch  lands,  still  retaining  his 
homestead  and  1,000  acres  four  miles  south  of  Chind,  which  he  devel- 
oped as  one  of  the  best  farms  and  ranches  in  the  county.  He  was  very 
thorough  in  his  methods  of  agriculture  and  horticulture,  and  he  kept 
some  very  fine  blooded  horses,  some  of  them  being  noted  for  their 
performance  on  the  track,  including  Joe  Hamilton,  Exile,  Bob  Mason, 
Peri,  Pinole  and  others.     He  also  had  a  forty  acre  vinevard  and  in 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1125 

1887  built  a  winery  with  a  capacity  of  20,000  gallons,  his  wines 
commanding  a  high  premium   in   the  market. 

Through  these  enterprises  he  did  his  part  in  developing  the  sub- 
stantial prosperity  of  his  section.  He  was  always  generous,  public 
spirited  and  progressive.  He  was  of  Southern  birth  and  ancestry  but 
was  a  stanch  Union  man,  and  though  always  living  in  a  normally 
republican  district  he  had  frequent  political  honors.  He  was  a  dele- 
gate to  county  and  state  conventions  of  the  democratic  party,  and 
in  1870  was  elected  a  member  of  the  Assembly  from  San  Bernardino 
County,  serving  during  the  session  of  1871-72.  Governor  Stoneman 
in  1885  appointed  him  supervisor  of  District  No.  2  to  fill  the  vacancy 
caused  by  the  death  of  E.  H.  Gates,  and  in  1886  he  was  elected  on 
his  party  ticket  as  his  successor.  He  was  appointed  postmaster  of 
Rincon  in  1873  but  refused  the  office.  He  was  a  school  trustee, 
worked  for  the  establishment  of  good  schools,  was  a  member  of  the 
Masonic  fraternity  at  San  Bernardino,  of  the  California  Pioneer 
Society  and  of  the  Mexican  War  Veterans. 

This  distinguished  and  useful  pioneer  of  San  Bernardino  County 
passed  away  May  29,  1897,  at  his  ranch  home,  when  seventy-one  years 
of  age.  His  first  wife  was  Catherine  Thomas,  who  lived  but  a  short 
time,  and  was  the  mother  of  a  son,  Edward  McGuire  Slaughter,  who 
was  born  at  Fulton,  Callaway  County,  Missouri,  May  12,  1850.  In 
December,  1860,  Fenton  M.  Slaughter  married  Miss  Dolores  Alva- 
rado,  daughter  of  Francisco  and  Juan  Maria  (Abila)  de  Alvarado, 
of  San  Gabriel.  She  was  of  pure  Castilian  ancestry,  representing  two 
of  the  oldest  Spanish  families  in  that  section  of  Southern  California. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Slaughter  became  the  parents  of  ten  children.  The 
oldest,  Senovia,  born  September  27,  1862,  is  the  wife  of  Louis  Mere- 
dith, and  she  lives  on  a  portion  of  the  old  estate.  Florisa,  born  on 
the  Palo  Alto  ranch  May  21,  1863,  owns  a  share  of  the  old  ranch  and 
was  married  to  Edgar  Meredith  in  1904.  Their  home  is  six  miles 
south  of  Chino,  near  the  Pioneer  Schoolhouse.  The  third  child,  Julia, 
born  August  10,  1866,  lives  at  the  old  homestead  and  is  the  widow 
of  Benjamin  Fuqua.  Robert  F.,  born  in  1868,  married  Louise  Saun- 
ders, and  their  son,  Robert  Slaughter,  volunteered  at  the  age  of 
nineteen  and  served  through  the  war,  was  at  Chateau-Thierry,  went 
over  the  top  twice  and  was  severely  gassed  and  is  now  partly  recov- 
ered but  still  attending  a  soldiers'  training  school  at  Los  Angeles. 
Joseph  J.,  born  February  14,  1871,  married  Lela  Gass  and  has  a 
family  of  four  daughters  and  one  son.  Dolores  B.,  born  April  19, 
1873,  married  John  Strong  and  is  the  mother  of  a  son  and  daughter. 
Fenton  L.,  born  July  1,  1875,  married  Beatrice  Henry  and  has  two 
daughters.  Lorinda,  born  in  1877,  is  the  wife  of  Louis  Wells  and 
the  mother  of  one  son.  Ethel  Eunice,  born  in  1879,  died  at  the  age 
of  eighteen  months.  Floren  P.,  born  May  29,  1883,  married  Lydia 
Ashcroft  and  has  a  daughter. 

The  mother  of  these  children  died  June  30,  1916.  Florisa  Slaughter, 
now  Mrs.  Edgar  Meredith,  was  a  pupil  in  the  old  Pioneer  Schoolhouse 
standing  near  her  residence.  There  were  100  scholars  and  only  one 
teacher.  She  has  many  memories  of  this  crude  schoolhouse  and  the 
educational  system  there  is  vogue.  Many  of  the  children  played  cards 
under  the  desks,  and  it  was  there  that  she  learned  the  game  of  casino. 
The  teacher  was  a  man,  kept  his  large  ink  bottle  filled  with  whiskey, 
and  had  some  older  scholars  teach  while  he  la}'  down  on  a  bench 
and  slept.     All   the  pupils  drank   from  one  bucket  of  water,  using  a 


1126      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

single  tin  cup  and  there  was  no  case  that  Mrs.  Meredith  recalls  of  an 
infection  due  to  the  use  of  the  common  drinking  cup. 

Edgar  De  Witt  Meredith  was  born  in  Geneseo  County,  New  York, 
July  9,  1859,  and  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Chino  Valley. 
He  came  to  San  Bernardino  County  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years.  He 
has  followed  mining,  also  the  carpenter's  trade,  and  is  now  retired 
and  living  in  the  old  Slaughter  homestead. 

Jesse  F.  Mayhew,  who  is  now  enjoying  an  honorable  retirement  in  a 
comfortable  home  at  354  Central  Avenue,  Chino,  is  one  of  the  few  sur- 
vivors whose  intimate  recollections  of  San  Bernardino  runs  back  fifty 
years.  He  has  lived  a  life  of  intense  activity,  and  almost  altogether  out 
in  the  open,  enduring  the  discomforts  and  dangers  of  the  desert  and  the 
range. 

He  was  born  January  1,  1848,  at  White  Sulphur  Springs,  Mississippi, 
son  of  Jesse  and  Eunice  (Clay)  Mayhew,  the  former  a  native  of  North 
Carolina  and  the  latter  of  Mississippi.  They  had  a  family  of  five  sons 
and  two  daughters.  Jesse  Mayhew,  Sr.,  was  a  California  forty-niner, 
crossing  the  plains  by  way  of  the  Santa  Fe  route  and  driving  a  Government 
team  through  to  Yuba,  California.  He  followed  mining  with  varied  suc- 
cess for  several  years.  In  1853  his  wife,  his  son  Jesse  F.  and  one  of  the 
daughters  set  out  to  join  him,  coming  by  way  of  New  Orleans  and  the 
Isthmus  of  Panama,  Jesse  F.  Mayhew  being  packed  across  the  Isthmus 
on  the  back  of  a  native.  From  there  a  steamer  took  them  north,  and  at 
Yuba  City  they  joined  Jesse  Mayhew,  Sr.  On  the  arrival  of  his  family 
the  father  turned  to  ranching  and  teaming,  and  in  1860  came  south  to 
Los  Angeles  and  in  1861  moved  to  San  Bernardino.  He  mined  one  season 
in  the  Holcomb  Valley,  and  then  went  to  El  Monte  and  did  farming  in 
that  locality  and  also  operated  a  freighting  team  until  1865.  He  was  one 
of  the  freighters  between  Los  Angeles  and  Prescott,  Arizona.  It  was 
about  that  time  that  Jesse  F.  Mayhew  began  participating  in  the  active 
life  of  the  frontier.  Though  a  boy,  he  drove  a  team  of  six  or  eight  mules 
for  his  father,  passing  over  the  old  toll  road  through  Cajon  Pass,  a  road 
then  owned  by  John  Brown,  Sr.  It  was  customary  to  combine  eight  or 
ten  such  teams  in  a  single  party,  since  only  in  numbers  were  they  safe 
from  Indian  attack.  The  teams  would  be  on  the  trail  all  day  and  at  night 
guards  were  slung  out  to  protect  the  camp.  The  freighters  had  to  haul 
hay  enough  to  feed  the  stock  as  far  east  as  Soda  Lake,  thence  depending 
on  the  natural  grass,  and  grain  was  also  part  of  the  equipment  for  feed. 
Freight  rates  were  twenty-five  cents  per  pound  from  Los  Angeles  to  Pres- 
cott, and  the  trip  usually  consumed  sixty  days.  When  the  Indians  became 
especially  hostile  United  States  soldiers  were  appointed  to  escort  such 
trains.  One  detachment  of  soldier  guards  was  stationed  at  Rock  Springs, 
and  Mr.  Mayhew  recalls  the  fact  that  all  the  privates  deserted,  leaving 
only  the  lieutenant,  who  quit  in  disgust  and  resigned  his  commission. 

In  1866  Jesse  Mayhew,  Sr.,  bought  a  half  league  of  ground  for  fifteen 
hundred  dollars  from  the  Chino  heirs.  This  land  was  near  the  present  town 
of  Chino  and  in  the  old  Rincon  section.  Jesse  Mayhew  built  a  grist  mill, 
the  first  one  in  this  entire  valley.  It  was  a  water  power  mill  and  was  con- 
structed in  1875.  He  also  did  stock  raising  and  dealt  in  horses  and  mules, 
driving  them  to  market  in  Idaho  and  Utah.  The  first  drive  consisted  of 
500  head.  Jesse  Mayhew,  Sr.,  died  at  Downey,  California,  and  his  wife 
died  at  Oceanside  but  was  buried  at  Downey. 

Jesse  F.  Mayhew  in  such  pioneer  circumstances  had  no  opportunity  for 
school.  He  began  doing  some  of  the  very  hardest  and  most  arduous  work 
when  onlv  a  vouth.     In   1868  he  married  Emilv  Hickey,  who  was  born 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1127 

September  12,  1848,  in  Texas,  daughter  of  Isaac  Hickey,  a  Baptist  minister. 
She  was  a  small  child  when  her  parents  crossed  the  plains  by  ox  team 
to  California.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Mayhew  had  seven  children:  Felix,  who 
was  born  on  the  Rincon  ranch,  is  in  the  mining  business  at  Yuma,  Arizona, 
and  is  married.  Mrs.  Eva  McDonald,  the  second  child,  was  born  at  Santa 
Ana  and  died  in  Arizona.  Elmer,  born  at  Rincon,  is  a  teamster  at  Tucson, 
Arizona,  and  is  married  and  has  four  children.  Clay,  born  in  Pinal 
County,  Arizona,  now  lives  in  Safford  County,  that  state,  and  is  married. 
Goldie,  born  in  Pinal  County,  is  the  wife  of  Arrow  Smith,  of  Garden 
Grove,  California.  Gracie,  born  on  Rincon  ranch,  died  at  the  age  of 
seven.    Dixie  is  the  wife  of  William  E.  Phillips,  of  Rincon  ranch. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Mayhew  leased  and  farmed  a  tract  near  Santa 
Ana,  but  in  1877  removed  to  Pinal  County,  Arizona,  where  for  thirty-five 
years  he  engaged  in  the  cattle  business  and  teaming.  While  there  he  was 
elected  and  served  twelve  years  on  the  Board  of  County  Supervisors.  He 
has  always  been  a  stanch  democrat  in  politics.  While  in  Arizona  he  twice 
lost  all  his  accumulated  property,  but  in  time  he  learned  his  lesson  and 
more  than  recouped  his  losses.  In  1913,  on  returning  to  California,  he 
bought  property  in  Garden  Row,  but  sold  that  and  in  1920  located  at  his 
present  home  in  Chino.  His  life  throughout  has  been  among  the  new 
settlements  and  his  experiences  are  all  of  the  frontier.  He  knows  San 
Bernardino  County  from  the  days  of  early  Mormon  settlement  and  from 
the  horse  drawn  stage  to  the  auto  stage  and  railway.  His  experience 
preceded  the  building  and  operation  of  telegraph  and  telephone  lines,  rail- 
ways and  improved  highways.  At  an  age  when  most  modern  boys  are 
thinking  of  entering  high  school  he  was  driving  an  eight  horse  mule  team 
far  into  the  desert  and  frequently  among  hostile  Indians.  He  has  the 
sturdy  honesty  and  self  reliance  of  the  old  time  frontiersman. 

John  Brown,  Sr.,  was  born  in  Worcester,  Massachusetts,  December 
22,  1817,  and  when  a  boy  started  west  to  realize  the  dreams  and 
fancies  of  youth.  He  stayed  awhile  in  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  then  began 
rafting  on  the  Mississippi  River,  and  went  to  New  Orleans.  While 
on  a  voyage  to  Galveston  he  was  shipwrecked  and  returned  to  Fort 
Leavenworth  by  the  Red  River  route.  He  was  at  the  battle  of  San 
Jacinto,  and  saw  General  Santa  Ana  when  first  taken  prisoner.  He 
remained  two  years  at  Fort  Leavenworth,  then  went  to  the  Rocky 
Mountains  and  for  fourteen  years  hunted  and  trapped  from  the  head 
waters  of  the  Columbia  and  Yellowstone  rivers,  along  the  mountain 
streams  south  as  far  as  the  Comanche  country  in  northern  Texas, 
with  such  mountaineers  and  trappers  as  James  W.  Waters,  V.  J. 
Herring,  Kit  Carson,  Alexander  Godey,  Joseph  Bridger,  Bill  Williams, 
the  Bents,  the  Subletts  and  others  of  equal  fame.  He  engaged  some- 
times as  a  free  trapper,  and  at  other  times  with  the  Hudson  Bay  and 
other  fur  companies,  hunting  the  grizzly  bear,  buffalo,  elk,  deer, 
antelope,  mountain  sheep,  and  trapping  the  cunning  beaver,  among 
the  Arapahoes,  Cheyennes,  Sioux,  Cherokees,  Apaches,  Navajos,  Utes, 
Comanches,  and  other  Indian  tribes. 

He  helped  to  build  Fort  Laramie,  Fort  Bent,  Fort  Bridger  and 
several  others  to  protect  themselves  from  hostile  Indians.  This  period 
is  hastened  over,  for  the  Bear  and  Indian  encounters  and  hair-breadth 
escapes  with  the  above  named  hunters,  would  fill  a  volume  fully  as 
interesting  and  thrilling  as  Washington  Irving's  "Captain  Bonne- 
ville" or  "Kit  Carson's  Travels."  Suffice  it  say  that  such  brave  and 
intrepid  hunters  and  adventurers  as  Mr.  Brown  and  his  companions 
served    as   guides   for   General    John    C.    Fremont   across    the    Rocky 


1128       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

mountains,  and  had  he  adhered  more  closely  to  their  advice  he  would 
not  have  ventured  in  dead  of  winter  to  cross  this  precipitous  range 
when  he  lost  so  many  of  his  men  and  animals  in  the  deep  snow,  those 
surviving  suffering  untold  agonies.  Still  General  Fremont  has  gone 
down  in  history  as  the  great  Pathfinder  with  but  very  little  said  of 
those  intrepid  mountaineers  who  preceded  him  and  who  showed  him 
the  paths  to  take,  and  which  to  avoid. 

The  gold  fever  reached  the  mountaineers  in  1849.  Messrs.  Brown, 
Waters,  Lupton,  and  White  "fitted  out"  their  prairie  schooners  and 
joined  one  of  the  immigrant  trains  bound  for  the  land  of  gold.  They 
spent  the  4th  of  July,  1849,  in  Salt  Lake  City,  and  arrived  at  Sutten's 
Fort  September  15,  1849,  and  began  mining  on  the  Calaveras  River. 
In  November,  Mr.  Brown  moved  to  Monterey,  and  with  Waters  and 
Godey  opened  the  St.  John's  Hotel  and  livery  stable  at  San  Juan 
Mission.  Here  he  was  elected  Justice  of  the  Peace.  His  health 
failing  him,  he  was  advised  by  his  family  physician,  Dr.  Ord,  to  seek 


John  Brown,  Sr. 

a  milder  climate  in  Southern  California.  In  April,  1852,  he  went  with 
his  family  to  San  Francisco,  and  boarded  the  schooner  "Lydia," 
Captain  Haley,  commander,  and  after  a  week's  voyage  down  the  coast, 
landed  at  San  Pedro,  where  he  engaged  Sheldon  Stoddard  to  move 
him  to  San  Bernardino,  where  he  arrived  and  settled  in  the  "Old  Fort" 
May  1,  1852,  purchasing  from  Marshall  Hunt  his  log  cabin  for  $50.00, 
located  on  the  west  side  of  the  fort,  next  door  neighbor  to  Sheldon 
Stoddard,  Captain  Jefferson  Hunt  and  Edward  Daley. 

On  April  26,  1853,  the  Legislature  of  California  passed  the  Act 
creating  the  county  of  San  Bernardino.  By  Section  5  of  said  Act, 
Mr.  Brown  was  appointed  with  Col.  Isaac  Williams,  David  Seeley, 
and  H.  G.  Sherwood,  a  Board  of  Commissioners  to  designate  the 
election  precincts  in  the  county  of  San  Bernardino  for  the  election 
of  officers  at  the  first  election  and  to  appoint  the  inspectors  of  election 
at  the  several  precincts  designated,  to  receive  the  returns  of  election, 
and  to  issue  certificates  of  election  to  the  first  officers. 

In  1854,  Mr.  Brown  moved  with  his  family  to  Yucipa,  where  he 
went  into  the  stock  business  and  farming,  returning  to  San  Bernardino 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1129 

in  1857,  where  he  lived,  taking  an  active  interest  in  all  public  affiairs 
for  the  welfare  and  progress  of  his  home. 

In  1861,  seeing  the  necessity  for  an  outlet  to  Southern  Utah  and 
Arizona  for  the  productions  of  San  Bernardino  County,  he.  with  Judge 
Henry  M.  Willis  and  George  L.  Tucker  procured  a  charter  from  the 
Legislature  for  a  toll  road  through  the  Cajon  Pass,  which  he  built 
and  kept  open  for  eighteen  years,  thus  contributing  materially  to  the 
business  and  growth  of  San  Bernardino. 

In  1862  he  went  to  Fort  Moharie,  near  where  Needles  is  now 
located,  and  established  a  ferry  across  the  Colorado  River,  still  further 
enhancing  the  business  of  the  city  and  county.  He  was  a  liberal 
contributor  to  the  telegraph  fund  when  assistance  was  required  to 
connect  the  city  with  the  outside  world,  and  favored  reasonable 
encouragement  to  the  railroad  so  to  place  San  Bernardino  on  the  trans- 
continental line.  At  his  own  expense  he  enclosed  the  public  square, 
(now  Pioneer  Park)  with  a  good  stout  fence. 

In  1873-4  he  delivered  the  United  States  mail  to  the  miners  in 
Bear  and  Holcomb  valleys,  when  the  snow  was  three  and  four  feet 
deep  in  places,  thus  showing  that  he  still  retained  that  daring  and 
intrepid  disposition  he  acquired  in  the  Rocky  Mountains. 

In  his  later  years  he  devoted  much  of  his  time  to  writing  a  book 
entitled,  "Medium  of  the  Rockies,"  in  which  he  narrates  many  thrilling 
incidents  of  his  adventurous  life,  and  some  chapters  on  spiritual  and 
advanced  thought.  Born  near  Plymouth  Rock,  on  the  anniversary  of 
the  landing  of  the  Pilgrim  Fathers,  he  seems  to  have  partaken  of  their 
religious  freedom  and  liberality  of  thought,  and 'his  years  among  the 
grandeur  and  sublimity  of  the  Rocky  mountains  aided  in  developing 
an  intense  love  of  nature,  the  handiwork  of  the  great  Creator.  Here, 
as  a  child  of  nature,  among  the  fastnesses  of  the  mountain  forests, 
or  among  the  crags  and  peaks  he  saw  the  Great  Ruler  in  the  clouds 
and  heard  him  in  the  winds.  Without  any  education  except  that 
derived  from  the  broad  and  liberal  books  of  nature,  he  was  able  to 
read  in  the  faces  of  his  fellowmen  those  ennobling  sentiments  of  love, 
truth,  justice,  loyalty  and  humanity.  His  spirit  seemed  to  be  dedicated 
"to  the  cause  that  lacks  assistance,  the  wrongs  that  need  resistance, 
the  future  in  the  distance,  and  the  good  that  he  could  do." 

As  old  age  began  creeping  on  and  many  of  his  old  friends  were 
passing  away,  and  the  activities  of  life  had  to  be  transferred  to  others, 
Mr.  Brown  joined  George  Lord,  William  Heap,  R.  T.  Roberts, 
W.  F.  Holcomb,  George  Miller,  Taney  Woodward,  Mayor  B.  B. 
Harris,  David  Seeley,  Sydney  P.  Waite,  Marcus  Katz,  Lucas  Hoag- 
land,  Henry  M.  Willis,  his  old  Rocky  mountain  companion,  James 
W.  Waters,  his  son,  John  Brown,  Jr.,  and  others  and  organized  the 
San  Bernardino  Society  of  California  Pioneers,  believing  that  many 
hours  could  still  be  pleasantly  passed  by  those  whose  friendship  had 
grown  stronger  and  stronger  as  the  years  rolled  by,  and  thus  live  the 
sentiment  of  the  poet: — 

"When  but  few  years  of  life  remain. 

Tis  life  renewed  to  talk,  to  laugh  them  o'er  again." 

Mr.  Brown  raised  a  large  family,  six  daughters:  Mrs.  Matilda 
Waite,  Mrs.  Laura  Wogencraft  Thomas,  Mrs.  Louisa  Waters,  Mrs. 
Sylvia  Davenport,  Mrs.  Mary  Dueber,  and  Mrs.  Emma  Rouse  Royalty, 
and  four  sons:    John,  Joseph,  James,  and  Newton  Brown. 

He  outlived  all  of  his  Rocky  Mountain  companions,  all  of  the 
commissioners  appointed  to  organize  San  Bernardino  County  and  all 


1130      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

of  the  first  officers  of  the  county.  He  remained  alone  to  receive  the 
tender  greetings  of  his  many  friends  who  held  him  not  only  with  high 
esteem  and  respect  but  with  veneration  and  love.  He  was  greatly 
devoted  to  the  Pioneer  Society;  its  pleasant  associations  were  near 
and  dear  to  his  heart.  Although  feeble  with  declining  years,  he 
appeared  at  the  meeting  of  the  Society  on  Saturday,  April  15,  1899, 
and  discharged  his  duties  as  President,  and  on  the  following  Thursday, 
April  20,  1899,  at  seven  o'clock  P.  M.  at  the  home  of  his  daughter 
Laura,  his  spirit  departed  to  that  new  and  higher  sphere  of  existence 
he  so  fondly  looked  to  while  in  earth  life.  A  large  concourse  of  friends 
attended  the  funeral  of  their  old  friend  from  the  Brown  homestead, 
corner  of  D  and  Sixth  streets,  the  present  residence  of  his  son  John. 
The  funeral  services  were  conducted  by  Mrs.  J.  A.  Marchant,  Super- 
intendent of  the  First  Spiritual  Society  of  San  Bernardino,  and  also 
by  Rev.  A.  J.  White,  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  of  Colton.  The 
choir  was  under  the  direction  of  Mrs.  H.  M.  Barton  and  Mrs.  Lizzie 
Heap  Keller.  The  floral  offerings  were  profuse;  one  emblematic  of 
the  Pioneers,  a  tribute  from  the  Pioneer  Society. 

According  to  direction  from  the  deceased  frequently  given  by  him 
to  his  children,  the  casket  and  everything  else  necessary  for  interment, 
was  like  his  character,  white  as  the  mountain  snow.  The  honorary 
pall  bearers  were  among  his  oldest  friends  then  living — Sheldon 
Stoddard,  W.  F.  Holcomb,  R.  T.  Roberts,  Lucas  Hoagland,  J.  A. 
Kelting,  and  Lewis  Jacobs,  and  the  active  pall  bearers  were  J.  W. 
Waters,  Jr.,  George  Miller,  Randolph  Seeley,  De  La  M.  Woodward, 
H.  M.  Barton  and  Edward  Daley,  Jr. 

John  Brown,  Jr.,  eldest  son  of  John  Brown,  Sr.,  the  famous  Rocky 
Mountain  explorer,  hunter,  and  trapper,  was  born  in  a  log  cabin 
situated  on  the  bank  of  Greenhorn  Creek,  a  tributary  of  the  Arkansas 
River  in  Huerfano  County,  territory  of  New  Mexico,  now  Colorado, 
on  October  3,  1847. 

When  about  a  year  old  he  experienced  an  almost  miraculous  escape 
from  the  Apache  Indians,  and  owes  his  life  to  the  sublime  courage 
of  his  devoted  mother.  This  section  of  the  centennial  state  was  at  that 
time  a  vast  wilderness  inhabited  mainly  by  various  savage  tribes.  His 
father  and  fellow  mountaineers,  having  accumulated  a  large  quantity  of 
buffalo  robes  and  beaver  pelts,  conceded  to  send  a  pack  train  to  Taos,  New 
Mexico,  their  trading  post  at  that  time,  from  whence,  after  selling  their 
peltries,  they  would  return  with  provisions.  Mrs.  Brown,  with  her  baby 
boy,  accompanied  this  expedition,  and  on  the  way  through  the  mountains 
they  were  attacked  by  a  band  of  Apache  Indians,  who  captured  the 
whole  pack  train  and  killed  some  of  the  hunters.  While  fleeing  on 
horseback  from  these  pursuing  and  desperate  warriors,  some  of  the 
men  shouted  to  Mrs.  Brown,  "Throw  that  child  away  or  the  Indians 
will  get  you,"  but  the  faithful  mother  indignantly  exclaimed  while 
endeavoring  to  escape  as  fast  as  the  fleet  horse  could  run  with  her, 
"Never;  when  that  baby  boy  is  thrown  away.  I  will  go  with  him." 
Fortunately,  the  pursued  cavalcade  soon  reached  a  deep  ravine,  where 
the  hunters  were  safe  from  the  arrows  and  bullets  of  the  Indians, 
who  feared  to  approach  further,  and  withdrew,  having  captured  the 
pack  train  with  the  buffalo  robes  and  beaver  pelts,  one  of  the  principal 
objects  they  were  after.  These  hunters,  with  Mrs.  Brown  and  her 
babv.  were  glad  to  reach  Tans,  the  trading  post,  alive. 

To  show  the  dangers  the  frontiersman  underwent  in  this  wild 
and   unexplored   region,   Mr.   Brown,   when   endeavoring   to   farm   on 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1131 

the  banks  of  the  stream,  often  dug  a  rifle  pit  in  the  middle  of  his  corn 
or  wheat  field  in  which  he  could  jump  to  defend  himself  with  his  trusty 
Kentucky  rifle,  which  he  always  carried  with  him,  ready  for  an  attack 
at  any  time. 

Early  in  1849  the  news  of  the  discovery  of  gold  at  Sutter's  mill 
reached  the  mountaineers,  so  Mr.  Brown,  James  W.  Waters,  V.  J. 
Herring,  Alexander  Godey  and  others  formed  a  traveling  party,  for 
protection  on  the  way,  and  soon  were  crossing  the  plains,  reaching 
Salt  Lake  City  July  4,  1849,  and  Sutter's  Fort,  California,  September 
15,  1849,  Mr.  Brown  bringing  his  family  with  him,  among  them  his 
son  John,  who  was  then  going  on  two  years  of  age.  In  1852,  Mr. 
Brown  moved  south  to  San  Bernardino,  and  became  a  resident  of 
Fort  San  Bernardino,  next  door  neighbor  to  Uncle  Sheldon  Stoddard, 
Captain  Jefferson  Hunt,  and  Edward  Daley.  Although  John  was  but 
five  years  of  age,  he  remembers  the  first  teachers,  Ellen  Pratt  and 
William  Stout,  who  taught  before  the  two  old  adobe  school  rooms 
were  built  on  Fourth  Street,  and  among  the  incidents  he  remembers 
the  balloon  ascension  in  the  Fort. 

In  1854,  the  family  removed  to  the  Yucipa  valley,  about  twelve 
miles  southeast  from  San  Bernardino,  where  John's  father  farmed 
and  raised  stock  for  three  years.  Returning  to  San  Bernardino  in  1857, 
they  moved  into  the  home  on  the  corner  of  D  and  Sixth  streets,  which 
has  been  the  Brown  Homestead  since  that  time,  a  period  of  sixty-five 
years,  and  where  our  subject  grew  to  vigorous  manhood.  Attended 
the  public  and  private  schools  in  San  Bernardino  and  finally  graduating 
from  St.  Vincents  College,  Los  Angeles;  and  Santa  Clara  College, 
Santa  Clara  County. 

He  followed  the  vocation  of  teaching  for  a  number  of  years,  served 
one  term  as  county  school  superintendent,  and  presided  over  the  Board 
of  Education,  was  city  attorney  one  term,  in  all  of  which  honorable 
positions  he  acquitted  himself  to  the  general  satisfaction.  He  studied 
law  under  Judge  Horace  C.  Rolfe,  and  was  admitted  to  practice  in  the 
Supreme  Court  of  the  State  and  Federal  Courts.  It  can  be  truly 
said  of  him  that  he  espoused  the  cause  of  the  poor  and  oppressed,  and 
advised  settlement  of  all  cases  before  going  to  law,  if  possible.  He  is 
pre-eminently  the  friend  of  the  aged,  and  is  beloved  by  the  children, 
who  regard  him  as  a  true  Santa  Claus.  Even  the  poor  Indian  finds  in 
him  a  faithful  champion  of  their  rights.  Not  only  the  local  Coahuilla 
and  Serrani  Indian  tribes,  but  those  at  Warren's  Ranch,  in  May,  1903, 
sent  for  him  to  come  to  their  rescue  when  they  were  deprived  of  their 
old  home  where  they  and  their  ancestors  had  lived  for  centuries,  and 
removed  to  the  Pala  reservation. 

On  July  4,  1876,  he  married,  in  San  Bernardino,  Miss  Mattie  Ellen 
Hinman,  of  Grand  Rapids,  Michigan.  Nellie  Hinman  Brown,  their 
only  child,  was  born  in  San  Bernardino,  June  1,  1877,  and  on  March 
2,  1904,  was  married  to  Charles  H.  Wiggett.  They  have  two  children, 
Martha  Eliza  Wiggett,  born  in  San  Bernardino.  July  13,  1905 ;  and 
Charles  Brown  Wiggett  born  in  Bellemont,  Arizona,  September  23,  1906. 

The  friends  of  John  Brown,  Jr.,  have  always  known  him  as  an 
ardent  patriot ;  the  American  Flag  floats  over  his  home  on  all  national, 
state  or  municipal  holidays,  and  waves  from  pine  to  pine  at  all  his 
mountain  camps.  With  that  veteran  school  teacher  of  precious 
memory,  Henry  C.  Brooke,  he  raised  the  Star  Spangled  Banner 
over  many  of  the  school  houses  in  the  county,  in  the  early  '70s,  thus 
beginning  a  custom  that  was  afterwards  adopted  by  the  state,  and 
calculated  to  inspire  partriotism  in  the  hearts  of  the  rising  generation. 


1132       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

He  is  indebted  to  his  father  for  starting  him  in  his  patriotic  career. 
It  was  his  father  who  rode  on  horseback  to  Fort  Tejon  and  obtained 
a  flag  from  his  old  friend,  S.  A.  Bishop,  and  brought  it  to  display  at 
the  first  celebration  of  the  4th  of  July,  in  San  Bernardino,  in  1853. 
He  was  chairman  of  the  Republican  County  Central  Committee  in 
1860,  and  with  his  boys,  John,  Joseph  and  James,  hauled  wood  to 
kindle  fires  to  arouse  the  Americans  to  support  Abraham  Lincoln 
for  President  and  to  support  the  Union,  and  in  1864  displayed  the 
same  activity  in  supporting  President  Lincoln  for  the  second  term. 
In  1868  John  cast  his  maiden  vote  for  the  candidate  of  the  republican 
party,  General  U.  S.  Grant,  and  has  remained  loyal  to  that  party 
believing  that  by  so  doing  he  was  contributing  to  the  highest  welfare 
of  the  American  people  under  one  Flag,  one  constitution,  with  liberty 
and  union,  now  and  forever,  one  and  inseparable. 

He  inherited  from  his  father,  the  lure  of  the  wild,  the  out  of  door, 
close  contact  with  nature.  The  hunting  and  fishing  grounds  of  the 
San  Bernardino  Range  of  Mountains  are  familiar  to  him.  Eastward 
from  Old  Baldy,  Job's  Peak,  Saw  Pit  Canyon,  Strawberry  Peak, 
Little  Bear  Valley,  Little  Green  Valley,  Big  Bear  Valley,  Sugar  Loaf 
Mountain,  San  Bernardino  and  towering  Grayback,  11,600  feet  into 
the  sky,  was  the  enchanted  and  inspiring  region  of  many  a  joyful 
hour  with  his  genial  companions,  Bill  Holcomb,  George  Miller,  Syd. 
Waite,  Taney  Woodward,  Major  Harris,  E.  A.  Nisbet,  Joe  Brown, 
Richard  Weir,  William  Stephen,  Jap  Corbett  and  Dave  Wixom. 

In  the  summer  of  1882,  he  visited  the  Atlantic  and  Middle  States 
with  his  wife  and  their  little  daughter  Nellie — Bunker  Hill,  where 
his  father's  grandfather  fell  in  the  War  of  the  Revolution,  Plymouth 
Rock,  Mt.  Vernon  and  Washington  Tomb,  Independence  Hall,  Niagara 
Falls,  Ford's  Theatre,  where  Lincoln  was  assassinated,  and  Fanueil  Hall, 
the  cradle  of  American  Liberty. 

On  January  21,  1888,  he  was  present  at  the  old  court  house  on 
Court  Street,  San  Bernardino,  with  his  father,  and  those  veteran 
pioneers,  James  W.  Waters,  George  Lord,  Svdney  P.  Waite,  William 
F.  Holcomb,  G.  W.  Suttenfield,  Henry  M.  "Willis,  N.  G.  Gill,  Tom 
Roberts,  and  De  La  M.  W'oodward,  and  aided  in  the  organization  of 
the  San  Bernardino  Society  of  California  Pioneers,  which  venerable 
body  elected  him  as  secretary,  which  responsible  position  he  has  filled 
to  the  present  time  (1922),  a  period  of  thirty-four  years,  with  but  one 
exception,  when  the  members  elected  him  as  president,  W.  F.  Hol- 
comb acting  as  secretary  that  year. 

Solicitous  of  the  comfort  and  entertainment  of  the  children  who 
attend  the  meetings  with  childish  interest  and  curiosity,  he  does  not 
forget  greetings  to  the  great-grandmothers  and  great-grandfathers  who 
dignify  the  weekly  assemblages  of  the  Argonaut,  where  the  declining 
years  are  made  happier. 

William  Hartley  is  the  efficient  and  popular  general  manager  of  the 
West  Ontario  Citrus  Association.  The  well  equipped  packing  house  is 
situated  two  and  one-half  miles  west  of  the  City  of  Ontario,  San  Ber- 
nardino County. 

Mr.  Hartley  was  born  in  the  fair  old  City  of  Detroit,  Michigan,  on  the 
13th  of  February,  1886,  and  after  his  graduation  from  the  high  school  he 
continued  his  studies  in  the  Detroit  Normal  School.  In  1907  he  came  to 
Southern  California,  and  after  having  here  been  connected  with  the  fruit 
industry  a  short  time  he  went  to  the  northern  part  of  the  state  and  became 
identified  with  mercantile  enterprise.     His  preference   for  the  southern 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1133 

part  of  the  state  and  for  outdoor  occupation  led  him  to  return  and  to 
take  the  position  of  foreman  of  a  fruit-packing  house  at  Charter  Oak, 
Los  Angeles  County,  in  the  employ  of  the  Du  Quesne  Fruit  Company 
of  that  place.  Upon  coming  to  Narod,  San  Bernardino  County,  he  be- 
came foreman  in  the  packing  house  of  the  West  Ontario  Citrus  Asso- 
ciation, of  which  J.  K.  Adams  was  then  manager.  After  the  death  of 
Mr.  Adams  he  was  advanced  to  his  present  office,  that  of  general  manager 
of  this  important  association,  which  was  organized  August  24,  1893,  as  a 
co-operative  association  made  up  of  the  leading  citrus-fruit  growers  of 
this  district.  The  progressive  men  who  promoted  the  organization  were 
Morris  L.  S.  Dyar,  W.  E.  Collins,  Granger  Hyer,  C.  E.  Harwood  and 
others.  The  original  title  of  the  organization  was  the  Ontario  Fruit 
Exchange  and  the  first  corps  of  officers  were  as  here  noted :  President, 
W.  E.  Collins;  vice  president,  L.  S.  Dyar;  secretary,  Granger  Hyer; 
treasurer,  Ontario  State  Bank.  On  September  19,  1901,  a  reorganization 
was  affected  and  the  title  changed  to  the  West  Ontario  Citrus  Association. 
This  is  one  of  the  earliest  of  the  mutual  or  co-operative  fruit  associations 
organized  in  the  state,  and  its  history  has  been  one  of  consecutive  progress 
and  increasing  efficiency  of  service.  From  the  packing  and  shipping  of  a 
few  carloads  annually  the  business  has  expanded  until  the  shipments  for 
the  season  of  1920  aggregated  415  carloads  of  oranges.  In  that  year  the 
association  doubled  the  capacity  of  its  packing  house  and  general  equip- 
ment, and  in  1921  additional  storage  capacity  was  provided  by  the  erec- 
tion of  new  buildings.  The  season  of  1921-22  recorded  tne  estimated 
shipment  of  550  carloads,  the  output  being  sold  through  the  medium  of  the 
San  Antonio  Fruit  Exchange  at  Pomona.  Mr.  Hartley  has  gained  high 
reputation  as  an  efficient  and  enterprising  executive  in  this  connection,  and 
has  done  much  to  further  the  success  of  the  association  and  its  constituent 
members. 

In  1917  Mr.  Hartley  married  Miss  Ruby  Ogilvie,  who  was  born  in 
Idaho,  but  was  at  the  time  of  her  marriage  a  resident  of  Ontario,  Cali- 
fornia. She  was  reared  and  educated  in  the  State  of  Washington,  and  as  a 
talented  pianist  was  a  successful  teacher  of  music  prior  to  her  marriage. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hartley  have  one  son,  William,  Jr.,  who  was  born  August 
1,  1918. 

Mr.  Hartley  is  a  son  of  Philip  Henry  and  Janet  (Lynch)  Hartley,  the 
former  of  whom  was  born  in  England  and  the  latter  in  Scotland.  The 
parents  were  young  folk  when  they  came  to  the  United  States  and  settled 
at  Port  Huron,  Michigan,  in  which  state  they  still  maintain  their  home, 
the  father  being  a  painter  and  decorator  by  vocation.  William  Hartley  of 
this  review  is  the  eldest  in  a  family  of  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  and 
through  his  own  ability  and  efforts  he  has  achieved  success  and  prestige 
in  the  state  of  his  adoption. 

Nels  J.  Sholander  became  one  of  the  pioneers  in  the  development  of 
the  new  opulent  Chino  district  of  San  Bernardino  County  and  was  an 
earnest,  upright  and  loyal  citizen  who  commanded  high  place  in  popular 
esteem.  He  was  born  and  reared  in  Sweden,  where  he  received  good  edu- 
cational advantages  and  where  he  gained  his  early  experience  in  connec- 
tion with  the  practical  affairs  of  life.  He  was  born  May  16,  1836,  and  he 
died  at  his  home  in  Chino,  California,  in  May,  1893.  In  1861  he  married 
Miss  Carrie  Svedling,  who  was  born  April  4,  1842,  and  they  continued 
their  residence  in  their  native  land  until  1881,  when,  accompanied  by  their 
three  children,  they  immigrated  to  the  United  States  and  established  their 
home  on  a  farm  in  Boone  County,  Iowa,  where  they  remained  seven  years, 
successive  periods  of  drouth  having  entailed  no  little  hardship  and  having 


1134       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

made  the  farm  enterprise  unsuccessful  as  a  whole.  Upon  leaving  Iowa  the 
family  came  to  San  Bernardino  County,  California,  and  Mr.  Sholander 
here  purchased  thirty-two  acres  of  wild  land  on  what  is  now  South  Euclid 
Avenue,  in  the  Village  of  Chino.  When  he  settled  here  the  entire  valley 
was  a  cattle  range,  and  in  improving  his  own  property  he  did  well  his  part 
in  furthering  the  general  development  of  the  district.  He  made  his  original 
tract  of  land  a  valuable  property,  as  is  evident  when  it  is  stated  that  in 
1921  his  widow  sold  the  same  for  $300  an  acre.  He  acquired  real  estate 
also  in  the  more  central  part  of  Chino,  including  the  attractive  residence 
property  which  now  represents  the  home  of  his  widow,  at  the  corner  of 
Seventh  Street  and  Chino  Avenue.  Mr.  Sholander  gave  every  possible  aid 
in  the  furtherance  of  the  civic  and  material  development  and  advance- 
ment of  the  community,  and  through  his  well  ordered  efforts  he  gained 
independence  and  definite  prosperity.  When  they  came  to  this  country 
he  and  his  wife  had  no  knowledge  of  the  English  language,  and  Mrs. 
Sholander  was  somewhat  more  than  fifty  years  of  age  before  she  acquired 
ready  use  of  the  language.  She  is  now  one  of  the  venerable  pioneer 
women  of  Chino.  where  her  circle  of  friends  is  limited  only  by  that  of  her 
acquaintances.  Mrs.  Sholander  is  an  earnest  member  of  the  Baptist 
Church,  as  was  also  her  husband,  and  his  political  allegiance  was  given  to 
the  republican  party.  Of  the  three  children  the  first  is  Peter,  who  was 
born  May  16,  1862,  and  who  gained  his  early  education  in  the  schools  of 
Sweden,  AJter  coming  to  the  United  States  with  his  parents  he  con- 
tinued to  be  associated  with  his  father  in  farm  enterprise  in  Iowa  until  he 
was  twenty-five  years  old.  In  1887  he  located  in  the  City  of  Des  Moines, 
that  state,  where  he  was  variously  employed  for  the  ensuing  four  years. 
In  1889  he  married  Jennie  Anderson,  who  was  born  in  Sweden  on  the 
5th  of  November,  1867,  and  who  came  to  America  with  her  parents  in 
1881.  In  1891  Peter  Sholander  established  his  home  at  Chino,  California, 
where  for  twenty  years  he  was  in  the  employ  of  the  American  Beet  Sugar 
Company.  In  the  meanwhile  he  bought  twenty  acres  of  land  within  the 
city  limits  of  Chino,  and  this  property,  which  he  has  effectively  improved, 
is  his  present  place  of  residence.  His  only  child,  Jesner,  was  born  at  Des 
Moines,  Iowa,  May  16,  1890,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Chino 
and  early  manifested  special  mechanical  ability.  Jesner  Sholander  has  been 
employed  as  a  mechanic  in  various  beet-sugar  factories  and  is  now  mechani- 
cal superintendent  of  the  motor  department  of  the  Chino  High  School.  On 
account  of  a  defective  ear  he  was  denied  service  as  a  soldier  when  the 
nation  became  involved  in  the  World  war.  In  1912  he  married  Mabel 
Caldwell,  and  their  one  child,  Josephine,  was  born  November  19,  1914. 
Anna  Martha,  second  child  of  the  honored  subject  of  this  memoir,  was 
born  June  20,  1867,  and  was  seventeen  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  her 
death.  Charles  John  was  born  May  6,  1875,  and  was  about  six  years  old 
when  the  family  came  to  the  United  States.  He  attended  Chaffey  College, 
the  Southern  California  University  and  Leland  Stanford,  Jr.,  University, 
and  he  became  a  successful  teacher  of  biology  in  the  University  of  Southern 
California.     This  talented  young  man  died  in  September,  1901. 

Charles  Ruedy. — The  thriving  little  City  of  Upland  in  San  Ber- 
nardino County  was  formerly  known  as  North  Ontario.  The  first  develop- 
ment and  settlement  were  made  there  a  little  more  than  thirty  years  ago, 
and  one  of  the  first  arrivals  to  identify  himself  permanently  was  Charles 
Ruedy.  Mr.  Ruedy  came  to  California  for  the  benefit  of  his  wife's  health, 
had  been  a  successful  business  man  in  Southern  Illinois  for  a  number  of 
years,  invested  some  of  his  means  in  citrus  groves  at  Upland,  but  for  the 
most  part  has  been  a  promoter,  stockholder,  investor  and  officially  identified 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1135 

with  some  of  the  larger  business  organizations  that  represent  the  industrial 
activity  of  the  community.  Mr.  Ruedy  has  been  a  real  town  builder,  and 
has  probably  been  responsible  for  as  much  constructive  work  in  Upland 
as  any  other  citizen. 

He  was  born  at  Highland,  Illinois,  February  25,  1852.  Highland  is 
one  of  the  interesting  old  communities  of  Southern  Illinois,  settled  almost 
exclusively  by  people  who  came  from  Switzerland,  and  the  population 
today  is  largely  of  Swiss  descendants.  His  parents,  Daniel  and  Mary 
(Marguth)  Ruedy,  were  natives  of  Canton  Graubuenden,  Switzerland  and 
settled  in  Illinois  in  the  early  forties.  Daniel  Ruedy  was  a  farmer.  Of 
his  sixteen  children  three  died  in  infancy  and  thirteen  lived  to  maturity 
and  were  married. 

Charles  Ruedy  had  only  a  common  school  education,  and  his  life  to  the 
age  of  twenty-one  was  devoted  largely  to  assisting  on  the  home  farm. 
When  he  left  home  he  clerked  in  a  store  a  year  and  a  half  and  soon  after- 
ward married  Miss  Julia  M.  Landolt,  also  of  Highland,  where  her  parents 
were  farmers.  In  1874  Mr.  Ruedy  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  for 
himself,  and  for  seventeen  years  conducted  a  general  store. 

About  that  time  physicians  advised  that  his  wife  must  seek  a  drier 
climate,  and  for  six  months  they  traveled  over  the  West  and  Southwest, 
visiting  Texas,  Arizona,  New  Mexico  and  California.  They  went  back  to 
Highland,  and  Mr.  Ruedy  wound  up  his  affairs  there,  and  about  six  months 
later  returned  to  California. 

It  was  in  1891  that  he  joined  the  little  colony  at  Upland  and  at  once 
began  taking  an  active  part  in  its  affairs.  He  bought  two  orange  groves 
of  ten  acres  each,  one  in  Ontario  and  the  other  north  of  Upland  on 
Fourteenth  Street,  West,  including  what  was  known  as  Chaffee's  boarding 
house,  one  of  the  first  houses  built  in  Upland.  At  this  time  Upland  had 
no  business  houses,  and  most  of  the  magnificent  orange  groves  in  that 
section  were  then  waste  land.  Mr.  Ruedy  soon  sold  his  groves,  and  in 
1894  engaged  in  the  feed  and  fuel  business.  He  conducted  this  for  seven 
years,  and  then  sold  out  to  a  stock  company,  of  which  J.  M.  Hartley  was 
manager.  Mr.  Ruedy  early  became  interested  in  the  dried  fruit  business, 
being  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  North  Ontario  Packing  Company,  in 
which  he  became  a  director.  This  concern  handles  dried  fruits  and  is  one 
of  the  largest  organizations  of  its  kind  in  Southern  California,  with  head- 
quarters in  Los  Angeles.  Mr.  Ruedy  is  one  of  the  larger  stockholders.  He 
is  president  of  the  Citizens  Land  &  Water  Company,  was  one  of  the 
incorporators  and  for  several  years  a  director  of  the  Citizens  National 
Bank  of  Upland,  is  president  of  the  Magnolia  Mutual  Building  and  Loan 
Association  of  Upland,  and  owns  some  of  the  principal  business  blocks  of 
the  city.  He  owns  the  entire  northwest  corner  of  Second  Avenue  and 
Ninth  Street,  where  most  of  the  business  structures  stand.  He  owns  the 
packing  house  occupied  by  the  G.  A.  Hanson  Fruit  Company.  The  old 
packing  house  was  burned  in  1915,  entailing  a  heavy  loss  to  Mr.  Ruedy,  but 
he  rebuilt  it  with  a  fireproof  plant.  With  a  view  to  stimulating  the  com- 
mercial development  of  the  town  and  affording  additional  employment  to 
its  citizens  he  was  one  of  the  liberal  investors  in  the  shoe  factory  and 
foundry,  both  of  which  concerns  were  operated  at  a  loss. 

Mr.  Ruedy  is  an  attendant  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  and  has  been 
a  life-long  republican.  Mrs.  Ruedy  found  health  and  strength  under 
California  skies  and  enjoyed  life  here  until  her  death  in  November  17, 
1917.  For  his  second  wife  Mr.  Ruedy  married  Maude  A.  Thomas.  She 
was  born  in  Princeton,  Illinois,  July  6,  1872,  and  she  and  a  sister  were 
left  orphans  at  the  age  of   six   and   seven  years.     They   then   came   to 


1 136      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

California  to  live  with  an  aunt  and  uncle  near  Sacramento,  subsequently 
lived  for  a  number  of  years  near  Marysville,  and  later  at  Livermore, 
where  their  aunt  and  uncle  died. 

Mr.  Ruedy  started  life  when  he  left  the  farm  with  practically  no 
capital  and  with  limited  business  experience.  His  industry,  his  care  and 
skill  in  making  investments  have  brought  him  financial  independence  and 
at  the  same  time  he  has  been  one  of  the  most  substantial  factors  in  the 
growth  and  upbuilding  of  Upland. 

Walter  Taylor  Garner — The  Garner  family  has  been  in  San  Ber- 
nardino County  for  thirty-five  years.  The  homestead  which  represents 
the  accumulated  development  and  enterprise  of  the  family  throughout 
this  period  is  located  a  mile  and  a  half  west  of  Wineville,  on  the 
Wineville-Ontario  road.  This  is  the  property  of  Walter  Taylor  Garner, 
whose  father  originally  acquired  it  and  began  the  development  which 
has  contributed  some  of  the  most  constructive  factors  in  the  prosperity 
of  this  section. 

The  late  Richard  Taylor  Garner  was  born  in  England  where  he 
married  Mary  Ann  Holmes.  In  1876  they  came  to  America  and  es- 
tablished their  home  at  Hutchinson,  Minnesota,  where  Richard  T. 
Garner  became  a  merchant.  He  lived  there  nine  years,  and  while  he 
was  prospered  the  rigorous  winters  compelled  him  to  leave  and  seek  a 
more  congenial  climate  in  California.  The  family  arrived  in  this  state 
February  15,  1885.  Besides  the  parents  there  were  two  children, 
Marion,  who  was  born  in  England  in  1871,  and  Walter  Taylor  Garner, 
who  was  born  at  Hutchinson,  Minnesota,  May  9,  1877. 

When  the  family  came  to  California  they  took  a  preemption  of 
forty  acres  of  Government  land,  then  a  sandy  desert,  and  this  forty 
acres  is  the  nucleus  of  the  present  much  larger  holdings  of  Walter  T. 
Garner.  For  several  months  the  family  had  to  haul  water  four  miles 
for  domestic  use.  A  house  was  constructed  and  a  well  put  down. 
Richard  Taylor  Garner  had  a  full  share  of  the  English  characteristic 
of  bull  dog  tenacity,  and  never  knew  defeat.  The  county  was  new, 
there  were  no  capable  advisers,  but  he  went  ahead,  clearing  off  the 
brush  and  setting  out  his  land  to  vineyard  and  fruit  trees,  only  to  see 
his  efforts  nullified  by  hoards  of  rabbits  and  other  pests.  The  first 
method  of  defense  against  the  rabbits  was  constructing  a  fence  of 
laths  driven  into  the  ground  closely,  but  the  jack  rabbits  would  crowd 
between  the  sticks,  and  in  the  absence  of  baling  wire  or  rope  they  re- 
sorted to  the  use  of  squaw  vine,  a  long  native  vine,  which  when  woven 
around  the  lath  proved  effective.  Not  long  afterward  chicken  wire 
or  woven  fence  became  available.  Posts  were  set  at  intervals, 
but  the  north  winds  blew  weeds  against  the  wire.  This  soon  proved 
an  obstacle  to  the  drifting  sand,  so  that  in  a  single  season  the  fence 
would  be  drifted  under,  and  the  protection  against  the  invading  pests 
had  to  be  procured  by  hanging  wire  on  top  of  the  posts  each  fall. 
The  rabbits  would  not  destroy  the  grape  vines  in  winter,  but  would 
eat  the  tender  fruit  and  leaves  in  the  spring  and  thus  stop  the  vitality. 
All  fruit  trees  had  to  be  wrapped  in  burlap  the  entire  year.  Rabbits 
and  range  sheep  would  eat  Indian  corn  as  fast  as  planted,  but  Egyptian 
corn  was  immune  from  these  pests.  There  was  no  market  when  the 
grapes  came  into  bearing.  Drying  did  not  prove  successful.  Later 
Guasti  &  Stearns  established  their  wineries  and  began  contracting 
to  pay  for  the  grapes  and  while  the  sum  was  small  it  made  available 
a  real  market  and  proved  an  important  financial  resource. 


.<rv 


^~  i 


/(o   7H    J  OJ^nnJinJ . 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1137 

All  these  developments  had  been  carried  well  along  during  the  life 
time  of  the  parents.  The  mother  died  in  1908  and  the  father  in  1915. 
The  daughter,  Marion,  was  married  in  1891  to  John  Bright  of  Eos 
Angeles,  and  she  is  the  mother  of  a  daughter,  Bernice,  born  in  1894. 

Walter  T.  ( lamer,  who  has  never  married,  has  always  lived  on  the 
homestead  and  has  done  much  to  improve  it  and  add  to  the  acreage.  He 
now  has  a  hundred  acres  in  fruit  and  vineyard.  The  first  savings  he 
acquired  of  four  hundred  dollars  he  invested  in  desert  land,  contracting 
for  forty  acres  at  twelve  dollars  an  acre.  He  later  bought  more,  and 
did  the  planting  as  he  could  finance  it.  Mr.  Garner  completed  his  educa- 
tion in  a  shack  schoolhouse  that  was  a  long  distance  from  the  Garner 
home.  The  nearest  post  office  when  the  family  came  here  was  Cuca- 
monga.  The  mail  was  brought  to  the  old  section  house  and  the  neigh- 
bors would  take  turns  in  calling  for  it  at  the  railroad  shanty.  Mr.  Gar- 
ner himself  was  old  enough  to  appreciate  the  labors  and  adversities  of 
the  early  years,  and  he  did  his  share  in  battling  the  animal  pests  and  in 
stopping  the  avalanche  of  sand  and  in  securing  water  for  irrigation  pur- 
poses. He  is  one  of  the  men  who  deserve  lasting  credit  from  all  sub- 
sequent generations  for  what  he  has  accomplished  through  hard  expe- 
rience in  learning  the  ways  of  the  country  and  in  proving  the  best  methods 
of  redeeming  the  land  and  securing  therefrom  the  greatest  volume  of 
production.     He  is  a  member  of  the  democratic  party. 

Thomas  E.  Ketcheson  has  not  been  a  passive  witness  of  the  march 
of  events  since  he  came  to  San  Bernardino  County  and  located  in  the 
Upland  Colony.  He  has  participated  in  the  strenuous  work,  the  long  toil 
necessary  to  get  the  land  into  condition  for  planting,  the  care  and  cultiva- 
tion of  the  orchards,  and  it  was  out  of  the  proceeds  of  labor  that  he  bought 
and  paid  for  this  first  land.  Since  then  he  has  developed  several  valuable 
holdings,  has  achieved  a  competence,  and  at  the  same  time  has  furnished 
his  family  a  delightful  home  and  supplied  liberal  educational  opportunities 
for  his  children. 

Mr.  Ketcheson  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  March  31,  1872,  son  of 
Samuel  and  Phoebe  (McTaggart)  Ketcheson,  also  natives  and  farmers  of 
that  province.    Thomas  was  the  third  in  a  family  of  eight  children. 

As  a  youth  in  Canada  he  completed  a  public  school  course  and  also 
attended  the  Ontario  Business  College  at  Belleville,  Canada.  After  leav- 
ing college  he  went  back  to  the  farm,  and  soon  afterward  went  out  to 
British  Columbia  and  joined  an  uncle  at  Vancouver,  with  whom  he  farmed 
for  five  years.  In  1893  Mr.  Ketcheson  came  to  California  and  joined  his 
uncle,  John  Vermillion,  who  then  owned  a  forty  acre  tract  in  North 
Ontario,  now  Upland,  between  Twelfth  and  Thirteenth  streets,  east  of 
Euclid  Avenue.  Part  of  this  was  set  out  to  oranges  and  a  portion  was  in 
vineyard,  and  at  that  time  there  were  only  a  few  scattering  groves  of 
orange  trees  in  this  entire  district.  Mr.  Ketcheson  worked  for  his  uncle 
in  looking  after  the  grove  until  it  was  sold.  The  first  purchase  he  made 
on  his  own  account  was  two  lots  bought  from  the  Harwood  brothers. 
Still  later  he  bought  ten  acres  of  wild  land  at  the  corner  of  Eleventh  and 
San  Antonio  Avenue.  Largely  through  his  own  labors  he  cleared  and 
leveled  this  property,  and  in  1905  set  it  to  Washington  Navel  oranges. 
Several  years  later,  when  the  grove  was  fully  developed,  he  sold  the  prop- 
erty for  $22,000  dollars.  His  next  investment  was  ten  acres  on  Thirteenth, 
between  Mountain  and  San  Antonio  avenues,  and  he  also  sold  this  at  an 
advance.  Mr.  Ketcheson  still  owns  an  eight  acre  grove  of  nine  year  old 
lemon  trees  on  Mountain  Avenue.  His  residence,  which  he  bought  in  1912, 
had   just   been  completed   by   P.    E.   Walline   and    stands   at   the   south- 


1138      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

east  corner  of  Palm  and  West  Tenth  Street  in  Upland.  This  is  a  pic- 
turesque and  valuable  home  and  Mr.  Ketcheson  and  family  have  thoroughly 
enjoyed  its  delightful  comforts. 

Mr.  Ketcheson  married  on  June  9,  1896,  Miss  Ella  Washburn,  a  native 
of  Indiana.  Her  parents  moved  when  she  was  a  child  to  Kansas,  and  in 
1887  she  came  to  California  with  an  uncle.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ketcheson 
have  three  children.  The  oldest,  Pauline,  born  at  Upland  June  20,  1899, 
graduated  from  the  Chaffey  Union  High  School,  attended  the  University 
of  Southern  California  at  Los  Angeles  and  is  a  graduate  of  the  State 
Normal  College  at  Santa  Barbara,  and  has  the  character  and  intellectual 
gifts  that  make  her  an  accomplished  as  well  as  a  well  educated  woman. 
She  is  now  the  wife  of  Richard  E.  Elliott,  and  they  have  a  son 
Richard,  Jr.,  born  August  1,  1921.  Mr.  Elliott  was  born  at  McAlester, 
Oklahoma,  February  10,  1897,  and  had  an  unusual  record  of  service  in  the 
World  war.  He  enlisted  at  Hot  Springs,  Arkansas,  January  31,  1918, 
joining  the  533rd  Engineers  with  the  Fifth  Army  Corps.  After  a  brief 
training  at  Washington,  D.  C,  he  embarked  for  overseas  March  30th, 
landing  in  France  the  6th  of  April,  and  was  with  the  Engineers  in  some  of 
the  difficult  and  hazardous  service  that  marked  the  advance  of  the  Ameri- 
can Forces  in  several  battles  and  campaigns,  including  Belleau  Wood, 
Soissons  and  in  one  of  the  campaigns  on  the  Marne.  He  remained  over- 
seas seventeen  months,  but  was  never  wounded  or  otherwise  injured.  He 
was  mustered  out  January  7,  1920,  at  Fort  Scott  in  San  Francisco,  and  is 
now  engaged  in  ranching  at  Upland. 

The  two  younger  children  of  Mr.  Ketcheson  are  Howard,  born  at 
Upland  November  4,  1903,  and  Edna,  born  September  1,  1909.  The  son 
was  educated  in  the  grammar  school  and  the  Chaffey  Union  High  School. 

Mr.  Ketcheson  came  to  Bernardino  County  when  land  was  wild  and 
cheap  and  wages  for  labor  were  low,  with  long  hours,  and  under  such 
conditions  he  bought  and  paid  for  his  first  land  and  eventually  made  him- 
self secure  in  property  interests  and  the  good  citizenship  of  the  locality. 

John  H.  Klusman  has  been  and  is  one  of  the  men  of  power  and 
influence  in  the  shaping  of  the  characteristic  destinies  of  that  great 
fruit  growing  community  of  Southern  California,  Cucamonga. 

Mr.  Klusman  was  born  in  Germany  November  9,  1872,  was  reared 
there  and  received  his  early  education,  and  had  some  training  that 
fitted  him  for  the  position  of  a  skilled  worker  when  he  came  to 
America  in  1894  and  located  at  Cucamonga.  His  first  employment 
was  in  the  Haven  vineyard.  While  working  in  the  vineyard  he 
estimated  with  shrewd  foresight  the  remarkable  promise  of  future 
prosperity  that  would  come  to  the  vineyardist  and  wine  manufacturers 
of  this  region.  Somewhat  later,  in  association  with  M.  E.  Post,  he 
bought  1,000  acres  of  wild  land.  This  land  was  cleared  and  prepared 
under  his  supervision,  the  labor  being  performed  by  Chinese  and 
Japanese.  This  was  the  foundation  and  nucleus  of  the  famous  Mission 
Vineyard  Company's  properties.  Mr.  Klusman  and  Mr.  Post  set  the 
entire  tract  of  1,000  acres  to  wine  grapes,  and  also  erected  the  noted 
Mission  Winery,  one  of  the  finest  and  most  modern  plants  of  its  kind 
on  the  Pacific  Coast.  This  winery  has  a  capacity  of  1,500,000  gallons, 
some  of  the  individual  tanks  holding  55,000  gallons.  It  is  the  last 
word  in  modern  construction.  The  plant  while  in  active  operation 
consumed  not  only  the  products  of  the  Mission  Vineyards  but  great 
quantities  raised  by  other  growers,  and  paid  from  $11.00  to  $12.00 
a  ton  for  these  wine  grapes. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1139 

In  advance  of  the  prohibition  wave  Mr.  Klusman  and  his  associates 
sold  out  in  1918  to  Garrett  &  Company,  who  have  converted  the 
property  into  a  plant  for  the  manufacture  of  unfermented  grape  juice. 

Mr.  Klusman,  after  selling  his  interest  in  this  business,  turned 
to  other  lines  and  now  owns  fifty  acres  of  citrus  orchard  and  is 
president  of  the  Cucamonga  Building  &  Loan  Company,  is  a  director 
of  the  Cucamonga  Water  Company,  and  is  one  of  the  owners  of 
the  new  Sycamore  Hotel.  He  takes  an  active  part  in  social  and  civic 
affairs,  is  a  director  of  the  Country  Club,  and  a  member  of  Pomona 
Lodge  No.  789  of  the  Elks.  Mr.  Klusman  came  to  Cucamonga  a 
stranger  in  the  country,  and  he  worked  for  small  wages  as  a  farm 
hand  until  he  could  make  use  of  the  small  capital  representing  his 
savings  to  get  into  an  industry  whose  possibilities  he  could  realize. 
His  great  energy  enabled  him  to  overcome  many  difficulties  in  the 
path  of  the  success  of  the  Mission  Vineyard  Company. 

On  July  25,  1911,  Mr.  Klusman  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Craig,  of 
a  prominent  Los  Angeles  family.  She  was  born  in  Freedom, 
Pennsylvania,  January  11,  1884,  and  was  educated  in  the  public 
schools  and  a  girls'  school  in  Los  Angeles,  California.  Her  father 
was  Stephen  Craig,  and  her  mother  Fredericka  Miller.  The  father 
is  deceased,  but  the  mother  lives  in  Los  Angeles.  Mrs.  Gertrude 
Wellman,  a  sister  of  Mrs.  Klusman,  also  lives  in  Los  Angeles.  After 
their  marriage  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Klusman  made  an  extensive  tour  of 
Europe,  in  the  course  of  which  Mr.  Klusman  visited  his  old  home, 
and  also  traveled  through  England.  France,  Belgium  and  Switzerland. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Klusman  have  two  children,  both  natives  of  Cucamongfa, 
John,  Jr.,  born  December  27,  1912,  and  Margaret,  born  March  22,  1916. 

Thomas  Kirk  Vernon,  a  resident  of  Upland  over  thirty  years,  coming 
to  manhood  here,  Thomas  Kirk  Vernon  is  an  orange  grower  of 
practical  experience  and  of  more  than  usual  success,  is  a  citizen  who 
takes  a  practical  view  and  yet  has  fine  ideals  about  community  affairs, 
and  he  not  only  enjoys  that  esteem  paid  to  a  prosperous  business  man 
but  also  exercises  his  wholesome  influence  in  behalf  of  better  schools 
and  better  conditions  generally  in  his  communitv. 

Mr.  Vernon  was  born  at  Wellington,  Ohio,  November  28,  1874, 
son  of  James  and  Ida  (Kirk)  Vernon.  His  father  was  a  minister 
of  the  Christian  Church.  Thomas  Kirk  Vernon  when  one  year  of 
age  went  to  live  with  his  grandfather,  Thomas  Kirk.  His  grand- 
parents came  to  California  in  1889,  when  Thomas  was  fifteen  years 
of  age.  They  settled  at  North  Ontario,  now  Upland,  where  Thomas 
Kirk  bought  twentv  acres  of  land  on  Fifteenth  Street  and  Euclid 
Avenue.  Thomas  Kirk  died  here  in  1892,  but  his  widow  is  still  living 
with  her  grandson  and  in  her  vigor  belies  her  age.  She  was  born 
in  Wellington.  Ohio,  ninety-five  years  ago. 

Thomas  Kirk  Vernon  finished  his  education  in  the  Eighteenth 
Street  School  at  Upland.  He  had  only  the  advantages  of  the  common 
schools,  but  reading  and  practical  experience  fitted  him  well  for  the 
duties  and  responsibilities  of  life.  Almost  ever  since  coming  to  Cali- 
fornia he  had  been  identified  with  orange  growing,  and  he  knows 
that  business  from  the  standpoint  of  one  who  has  worked  in  every 
department  and  has  developed  groves  from  wild  land  to  prosperous 
production. 

Mr.  Vernon  married  at  the  age  of  twenty-one  and  then  bought 
ten  acres  on  San  Antonio  Avenue  and  Sixteenth  Street.  This  was 
wild  land  and  very  stony,  and  he  did  all  the  work  of  clearing  and 


1140       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

removing  the  rock  and  then  prepared  it  for  setting  out  to  citrus 
orchard.  This  was  the  beginning  of  his  career  as  an  orange  grower, 
and  since  then  he  has  cleared  a  large  amount  of  other  land.  He 
personally  supervised  and  performed  much  of  the  labor  of  developing 
his  home  place  of  ten  acres  on  Sixteenth  Street  between  San  Antonio 
and  Euclid  avenues.  He  now  has  thirty  acres  of  orange  groves.  His 
maximum  production  for  one  season  from  this  thirty  acres  was 
nineteen  thousand  boxes. 

Mr.  Vernon  married  Miss  Emma  Palis,  of  Henderson,  Kentucky, 
and  member  of  an  old  Kentucky  family.  She  was  born  in  Henderson, 
Kentucky,  October  8,  1874,  and  was  educated  in  the  public  schools 
and  is  a  high  school  graduate.  To  their  marriage  were  born  two 
children:  William  Vernon,  born  December  1,  1900,  at  Upland,  grad- 
uated from  the  Chaffey  Union  High  School,  spent  one  year  in  Pomona 
College,  and  is  now  in  his  third  year  in  the  Colorado  School  of  Mines 
at  Golden,  preparing  for  a  professional  career  as  a  mineralogist. 
During  the  World  War  he  was  a  member  of  the  Students'  Army 
Training  Corps.  The  second  child,  Ida  Vernon,  was  born  May  7, 
1910,  and  is  in  the  seventh  grade  of  the  grammar  school  at  Upland. 

Aside  from  his  business  Mr.  Vernon  has  had  an  active  part  in  the 
civic  affairs  of  Upland  since  the  town  was  incorporated.  He  was 
made  first  secretary  of  the  townsite,  a  member  of  the  first  City 
Council,  serving  six  years,  and  was  mayor  and  chairman  of  the  board 
three  terms.  He  is  now  a  member  of  the  grammar  school  board  and 
for  eight  years  was  a  road  overseer  in  San  Bernardino  County,  and 
was  superintendent  of  the  construction  of  the  Mountain  Avenue  Road. 
He  is  a  stockholder  and  treasurer  of  the  Camp  Baldy  Company,  a  popular 
mountain  resort  in  San  Antonio  Canon.  Mr.  Vernon  and  family  are  mem- 
bers of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  He  is  a  stockholder  in  both  of  Upland's 
banks. 

Dr.  E.  W.  Reid  was  a  well  qualified  and  successful  practitioner  of 
medicine,  but  after  coming  to  California  did  little  or  no  professional 
work,  and  the  achievements  that  give  him  a  high  place  in  San  Bernardino 
County  were  in  the  fundamental  development  work  in  one  of  the  county's 
prominent  horticultural  districts,  Alta  Loma. 

Mr.  Reid  was  born  in  Madison  County,  Illinois,  December  16,  1852, 
son  of  William  and  Maria  ( Cox )  Reid,  also  natives  of  Illinois,  where 
his  father  was  a  farmer.  Dr.  Reid  acquired  a  good  education,  graduat- 
ing A.  B.  and  A.  M.  from  Shurtleff  College  in  Southern  Illinois  in  1875. 
In  1878  he  received  his  M.  D.  degree  from  St.  Louis  Medical  College, 
and  then  for  several  years  enjoyed  a  growing  practice  in  his  chosen 
vocation. 

It  was  to  seek  relief  from  a  chronic  affliction  of  asthma  that  he  came 
out  to  California  in  1882.  After  investigating  a  number  of  districts  he 
bought  twenty  acres  on  Hellman  Avenue  in  the  Alta  Loma  district.  Xo 
development  work  had  been  done  in  this  section,  all  the  land  lying  in  a 
wilderness  state.  Dr.  Reid  had  the  enterprise  and  the  courage  to  go 
ahead  with  development  for  which  there  were  few  precedents.  He 
cleared  and  planted  his  land  to  citrus  fruits,  and  subsequently  bought 
and  planted  another  twenty  acres.  When  he  located  here  the  Southern 
Pacific  Railroad  was  the  only  transportation  line  available,  and  the  near- 
est station  was  at  Ontario.  The  story  of  development  along  Hellman 
Avenue  begins  with  his  settlement  there.  Dr.  Reid  in  188.5  built  a 
small  home   on   his   property,   and   he   and   his    family    lived   in   this   for 


&rt.  £e^V 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1141 

eleven  years.  Then,  in  1894,  he  erected  the  more  commodious  and 
attractive  residence  where  Mrs.  Reid  and  her  daughter  reside. 

Dr.  Reid  was  not  only  a  worker  on  his  own  property,  but  was  inde- 
fatigable in  his  efforts  in  behalf  of  the  general  and  prosperous  develop- 
ment of  the  entire  colony.  The  community  owes  him  much  for  his 
successful  efforts  in  securing  and  insuring  reliable  water  rights  for  the 
colony.  In  politics  he  voted  as  a  democrat  for  a  number  of  years,  but 
was  a  sound  money  man  and  after  1896  joined  the  republican  ranks. 
On  that  ticket  he  was  elected  county  supervisor  in  1902,  and  he  filled 
that  office  capably  and  faithfully  until  his  death  ten  years  later.  He 
was  not  only  one  of  the  early  growers  of  citrus  fruits,  but  was  extremely 
interested  in  the  handling  and  marketing  of  the  crop,  and  succeeded  in 
organizing  the  first  local  packing  house  in  his  district.  While  Dr.  Reid 
came  to  California  primarily  for  his  health,  he  was  practically  free  from 
his  affliction  thereafter,  and  lived  usefully  and  in  the  enjoyment  of  his 
work  and  his  home  here  for  nearly  thirty  years.  He  died  September  2, 
1912,  and  because  of  his  attainments  and  the  wisdom  and  good  judgment 
he  had  shown  in  his  relations  with  the  community  his  death  was  a  dis- 
tinct loss. 

November  18,  1876,  Mr.  Reid  married  Miss  Mary  Jane  Rennick. 
Mrs.  Reid  was  born  March  1,  1851,  in  St.  Francis  County,  Missouri, 
daughter  of  George  W.  and  Priscilla  (Barry)  Rennick.  She  is  also  a 
graduate  of  Shurtleff  College  of  Illinois,  receiving  her  A.  B.  degree  in 
1876.  Mrs.  Reid  has  two  daughters,  Gertrude,  born  at  St.  Louis, 
Missouri,  January  13,  1878,  was  educated  in  several  public  and  private 
schools,  graduated  A.  B.  from  the  University  of  California  at  Berkeley 
in  1902,  and  for  a  time  taught  in  the  high  schools  of  Whittier  and 
Ontario.  On  her  father's  death  she  returned  home  to  assume  the  respon- 
sibilities of  looking  after  the  property,  and  she  has  demonstrated  unusual 
business  ability  and  efficiency  in  handling  the  forty-acre  orchard,  which  is 
in  a  model  and  profitable  condition. 

The  second  daughter,  Eunice  Reid,  was  born  in  Illinois,  October  29, 
1880,  was  educated  in  the  same  schools  with  her  sister,  spent  two  years 
in  Pomona  College  and  graduated  from  the  University  of  California. 
She  taught  for  two  years  in  Santa  Monica.  June  19,  1906,  she  was 
married  to  R.  C.  Owens.  Mr.  Owens  is  a  native  of  New  York  State, 
graduated  from  Pomona  College  in  1900  and  from  the  Hastings  Law 
School  in  San  Francisco  in  1902,  and  is  now  a  prominent  member  of  the 
San  Francisco  bar. 

Mrs.  Reid  and  family  are  active  members  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and 
for  many  years  she  was  associated  with  Dr.  Reid  in  civic  and  philan- 
thropic undertakings,  and  is  still  prominent  in  church,  club  and  civic 
matters. 

Henry  G.  Klusman. — Cucamonga  is  a  word  that  suggests  orange 
groves  and  vineyards,  and  perhaps  one  of  the  most  highly  developed 
horticultural  sections  of  the  world.  This  development  is  the  result 
of  years  of  patient  labor  and  the  expenditure  of  much  capital,  and 
in  that  development  the  character  of  men  has  been  tested.  Among 
those  who  stood  the  test  in  the  days  of  toil  and  hardship  one  is 
Henry  G.  Klusman,  a  strong,  able  and  respected  man  in  the 
community  today. 

Henry  G.  Klusman  is  one  of  four  brothers  who  came  out  of 
Germany,  and  all  achieved  more  than  an  ordinary  degree  of  success. 
He  was  born  January  31,  1875,  son  of  William  and  Johanna  Klusman, 
who  spent  their  lives  as  farmers  in  Germany.     Henry  G.   Klusman 


1 142       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

acquired  a  common  school  education  and  early  determined  that  his 
lot  should  be  cast  in  free  America  without  the  necessity  of  enforced 
military  service.  At  the  age  of  sixteen  he  came  to  America,  and 
there  were  no  stops  on  the  way  for  any  length  of  time  until  he  had 
reached  Cucamonga.  Here  he  went  to  work  in  the  old  Havens 
vineyards  at  $15.00  a  month  and  board.  He  had  no  knowledge  of 
English,  but  he  exercised  the  skill  and  strength  of  his  hands  to  toil 
through  the  daylight  hours  in  the  vineyards,  and  frequently  worked 
into  the  night  and  on  Sundays  in  the  winery.  About  two  years  later 
he  secured  employment  on  an  adjoining  ranch  at  $25!00  a  month  and 
board.  Out  of  his  savings  he  made  his  first  purchase  in  1896  of 
forty  acres  of  wild  land,  at  $12.50  an  acre.  He  set  this  to  vines,  and 
his  first  crop  of  grapes  he  delivered  to  the  Guasti  Winery,  hauling 
them  through  the  deep  sand  and  getting  $6.00  a  ton,  $2.00  in  cash 
and  $1.00  a  month  until  paid.  Mr.  Klusman  kept  this  vineyard  until 
1915.  when  he  sold  it  for  $125.00  an  acre. 

In  1900  he  bought  the  four  acre  tract  on  Turner  Street  in  Cuca- 
monga, where  he  has  his  home  today.  He  set  this  to  oranges  and 
has  built  a  modern  home.  About  fifteen  years  ago  he  established 
a  plant  for  the  manufacture  of  concrete  irrigation  pipe,  and  he  has 
developed  this  into  a  flourishing  and  important  industry,  the  capacity 
now  being  2,000  feet  daily.  Employment  is  given  to  twenty  people 
in  the  concrete  pipe  yards. 

In  San  Francisco  January  1,  1902,  he  married  Miss  Olga  Forester, 
who  was  born  at  Eau  Claire,  Wisconsin,  July  8,  1883.  They  have 
four  children :  Emma,  born  November  25,  1902,  now  grown  to  a 
most  engaging  young  lady,  a  graduate  of  the  Chaffey  Union  High 
School;  Henry  W.,  born  January  15,  1905,  already  an  active  aid  in 
his  father's  business;  Catherine,  born  January  10,  1907,  a  student 
in  the  Chaffey  Union  High  School;  and  Vivian,  born  May  25,  1909, 
who  has  about  completed  her  grammar  school  work. 

Mr.  Klusman  is  a  member  of  Upland  Lodge  No.  98,  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  and  in  politics  is  a  democrat.  When  he  came 
to  America  on  borrowed  money,  $360.00,  which  it  cost  him  to  reach 
Cucamonga,  the  work  of  his  early  years  was  to  repay  this  fund. 
Persistent  application  has  brought  him  its  due  rewards,  and  in  char- 
acter and  citizenship  he  stands  one  of  the  leading  men  of  Cucamonga 
and  one  who  deserves  a  great  deal  of  the  credit  for  redeeming  this 
desert  to  unexampled  productiveness. 

Edward  H.  Pine. — On  other  pages  are  recounted  the  experiences  of 
that  energetic  and  stalwart  pioneer  Samuel  C.  Pine,  Sr.,  in  the  San 
Bernardino  Valley.  One  of  his  sons,  Edward  H.  Pine,  is  one  of  the 
oldest  surviving  native  sons  of  this  region,  and  his  life  has  been  on  a 
par  with  his  father's  in  point  of  substantial  worth  and  influence. 

He  and  his  brother  Edwin  are  twins  and  were  born  July  28,  1860, 
in  old  San  Bernardino,  on  the  noted  Cottonwood  Row.  Edward  H. 
Pine  had  his  first  conscious  recollections  of  frontier  times  when  the 
first  settlers  had  located  in  this  vicinity.  He  recalls  when  there  were 
no  stores  between  Los  Angeles  and  San  Bernardino  and  no  roads, 
only  sand  blown  trails.  He  recalls  the  incidents,  recounted  elsewhere, 
where  his  faher  made  a  hurried  exit  with  his  family  from  the  mill  in 
the  San  Bernardino  Mountains  on  account  of  Indian  depredations. 
Mr.  Pine  had  limited  school  advantages,  but  has  always  kept  in  touch 
with  the  life  of  his  vicinity  and  the  world  around  him.  His  career 
has  been  that  of  a  rancher,  and  he  now  owns  and  occupies  a  portion 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1143 

of  his  father's  original  claim  at  Rincon.  This  has  been  greatly 
improved,  and  his  business  is  farming  on  an  extensive  scale. 

On  September  5,  1883,  Mr.  Pine  married  Miss  Ella  C.  Walkinshaw. 
who  was  born  in  San  Bernardino  June  24,  1863,  daughter  of  Thomas 
B.  and  Jeanette  (Henderson)  Walkinshaw.  also  numbered  among  the 
early  settlers  of  this  vicinity.  Her  parents  were  born  in  Scotland 
and  came  to  America  in  early  youth.  The  Henderson  and  Walkin- 
shaw families  crossed  the  plains  with  ox  teams  and  settled  in  San 
Bernardino  during  the  early  Mormon  occupation  of  the  early  '50s. 
Edward  H.  Pine  and  wife  had  six  children:  Mamie,  born  August  10, 
1884,  is  the  wife  of  Frank  Wall  and  has  a  family  of  six  children  ; 
Roy  Edward  Pine,  born  February  18,  1889,  married  Ruth  McGuire, 
and  is  the  father  of  three  children  ;  Jennie,  born  October  17,  1892. 
is  the  wife  of  John  Ramey  and  the  mother  of  three  children ;  Willie 
Samuel,  born  October  11,  1895,  married  Blethen  Reynolds  and  has 
three  children  ;  Margaret,  born  June  25,  1898,  died  November  24,  1898; 
Lillian  W.,  born  December  14,  1899,  is  the  wife  of  William  D. 
Johnson  and  has  a  daughter,  Geraldine,  born  November  6,  1921.  AH 
the  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pine  were  born  on  the  Rincon  ranch  in 
the  Chino  Valley. 

The  title  to  their  home  has  never  passed  out  of  the  family  name 
since  his  father  acquired  it  as  a  pre-emption.  Mr.  Pine  is  a  member 
of  Corona  Lodge  No.  291,  Knights  of  Pythias,  he  and  his  family  are 
members  of  the  Christian  Church,  and  he  takes  pride  in  the  fact 
that  he  has  always  voted  the  republican  ticket  in  national  elections 
and  is  a  stanch  upholder  of  that  political  faith.  During  his  early  youth 
he  and  his  older  brother  and  father  would  sometimes  take  a  team 
and  go  across  the  desert  to  the  foothills  for  wood,  carrying  a  rifle 
for  every  axe  in  the  equipment  to  protect  themselves  against  Indians 
and  outlaw  Mexicans.  It  was  a  three  days'  journey  to  purchase  and 
bring  home  supplies  from  the  nearest  store  at  San  Bernardino,  and 
there  was  not  a  house  between  Rincon  and  that  town.  There  were 
no  railroads,  goods  being  hauled  in  wagons  drawn  by  mule  teams. 
Mr.  Pine  is  hospitable,  generous  and  honest,  absolutely  fearless,  and 
a  fine  type  of  pioneer  character,  and  is  everywhere  known  for  his 
integrity  and  personal  worth.  He  was  among  the  first  to  develop 
a  supply  of  artesian  water  in  his  district. 

Walter  Shearing  knew  the  country  around  Redlands  before  there 
was  a  Redlands  townsite,  and  in  his  long  experiences  here  he  has 
met  and  overcome  many  obstacles  to  success  and  has  prospered  apace 
with  the  country  and  has  helped  in  the  developments  that  constitute 
the  real  history  of  this  county. 

Mr.  Shearing  is  a  native  of  England,  and  was  three  years  of  age 
when  his  parents  moved  to  Canada.  He  grew  up  in  Canada,  being 
one  of  a  family  of  four  sons  and  three  daughters,  and  is  the  only  one 
in  California.  In  1887  he  came  West,  and  for  the  first  six  years  was 
ranch  foreman  for  Doctor  Craig  at  Crofton. 

In  1892  Mr.  Shearing  married  Miss  Louise  Durston.  She  was  born 
in  England  June  25,  1861,  daughter  of  Giles  and  Martha  Durston. 
Her  father  was  a  miner  in  England.  Mrs.  Shearing  was  the  third 
in  a  family  of  four  sons  and  two  daughters.  The  family  came  to 
the  United  States  and  located  at  Boston  in  1881,  and  in  1888  came 
to  California  and  to  San  Bernardino.  Her  father  was  employed  as 
a  landscape  gardener  until  his  death  in  July,   1892.     Mrs.   Durston 


1144       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

lived  with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Shearing,  at  Redlands,  until  her  death 
in  1921,  at  the  age  of  eighty-seven  years. 

After  their  marriage  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shearing,  leaving  Crofton,  went 
to  Moreno  and  acquired  ten  acres  of  land,  which  they  set  out  to  fruit. 
They  remained  there  eight  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  frost, 
drought  and  grasshoppers  had  devastated  their  orchard.  Coming  to 
Redlands  and  subsequently  selling  their  Moreno  property,  Mr. 
Shearing  engaged  in  ranching,  and  fourteen  years  ago  bought  a  ten 
acre  grove  of  Washington  navel  oranges  on  West  Colton  Avenue. 
He  still  owns  this,  and  it  is  a  splendidly  productive  property.  In 
May,  1919,  he  bought  his  modern  home  at  the  corner  of  East  Colton 
Avenue  and  Sixth  Street. 

Mr.  Shearing  knew  this  country  when  the  nearest  railway  was 
at  Colton  and  the  only  irrigation  system  was  the  old  Zanja,  built  in 
Indian  times.  There  were  no  oil  roads,  and  the  highways  were  dust 
and  dirt  thoroughfares  filled  with  chuck  holes  and  bumps.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Shearing  accepted  their  lot  in  that  period  with  contentment, 
and  enjoy  their  present  prosperity  all  the  more  for  the  hardships 
they  passed  through.  Mr.  Shearing  secured  his  naturalization  papers 
as  soon  as  possible,  and  has  always  acted  and  worked  as  an  American 
citizen.  He  is  a  stalwart  republican,  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Redlands  and  attends  the  Christian  Science 
Church,  while  Mrs.  Shearing  is  a  Baptist.  Mr.  Shearing  left  Canada 
and  came  to  California  to  benefit  his  health,  and  for  many  years  has 
enjoyed  robust,  good  health.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shearing  have  two 
children:  Milton  L.,  born  March  15,  1898,  was  educated  at  Redlands 
and  is  in  the  employ  of  the  Pacific  Electric  Company.  He  married 
Miss  Inez  Ramsey,  of  Colton.  The  daughter,  Martha  A.  Shearing, 
born  November  9,  1896,  attended  the  Redlands  High  School  and  in 
June,  1919,  was  married  to  Lawrence  E.  Williams,  an  orange  grower 
in  the  Redlands  district. 

Ernest  Omeria  Ames. — There  are  very  few  persons  who  are  not 
interested  in  the  public  schools,  for  the  majority  of  them  have 
acquired  a  part  if  not  all  of  their  educational  training  from  them  ; 
many  have  children  who  are  pupils,  or  prospective  ones,  and  those 
who  have  no  direct  connection  with  the  system  are  beneficiaries  from 
these  schools  because  in  them  are,  and  have  been,  educated  the 
people  with  whom  they  are  associated.  Without  the  training  of  the 
public  schools  present-day  civilization  would  not  be  possible.  It  was 
not  until  the  public  school  system  was  properly  inaugurated  that  the 
people  began  to  emerge  from  the  dusk  of  ignorance  into  the  bright 
light  of  knowledge.  There  are  many  ramifications  and  details  with 
reference  to  the  conduct  of  a  number  of  schools  in  any  of  the  cities 
of  the  country.  Not  only  is  it  necessary  to  provide  excellent 
instructors  and  courses  of  study,  but  even  more  important  than  these 
are  the  buildings  in  which  the  children  are  housed  for  so  many  hours. 
If  they  are  not  kept  in  the  best  of  repair  and  provided  with  adequate 
equipment  the  health,  and  many  times  the  lives,  of  the  children  suffer, 
and,  therefore,  those  in  authority  are  exceedingly  careful  with  refer- 
ence to  the  kind  of  man  they  place  in  a  position  of  importance  to  see 
that  the  proper  means  are  taken  to  insure  the  welfare  of  the  pupils. 
Since  1903  this  very  responsible  position  with  reference  to  the  public 
schools  of  San  Bernardino  has  been  filled  by  Ernest  Omeria  Ames, 
the  efficient  and  experienced  city  supervisor  of  public  school  buildings. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1145 

Ernest  Omeria  Ames  was  born  in  San  Bernardino,  February  2, 
1860,  and  there  he  acquired  his  education  as  a  pupil  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  city.  Going  into  the  contracting  business,  he 
carried  it  on  very  successfully  until  1903,  when  he  was  induced  to 
assume  the  responsibilities  of  his  present  position,  and  he  now  has 
the  following  schools  under  supervision :  The  four  buildings,  attended 
by  from  700  to  800  pupils,  comprising  the  San  Bernardino  High 
School,  the  F  Street  Grammar  and  Technical,  the  Base  Line  Grammar, 
the  Fourth  Street  Grammar,  the  Highland  Avenue,  the  I  Street,  the 
Meadowbrook,  the  Metcalf,  the  Mount  Vernon,  the  Ramona,  the 
Terrace  and  the  Urbita.  Mr.  Ames  has  grown  up  with  his  work, 
and  it  would  not  be  easy  to  replace  him.  He  has  the  responsibility 
of  seeing  that  all  of  the  city  school  buildings  are  kept  in  proper 
repair,  necessitating  a  regular  inspection  of  all  of  the  buildings  so  as 
to  insure  a  proper  and  prompt  attention  to  all  details. 

Dr.  Frank  M.  Gardner,  health  officer  of  the  City  of  San  Bernardino, 
is  one  of  its  native  sons  who  had  devoted  himself  entirely  to  the  practice 
of  medicine  since  his  graduation  until  accepting  his  present  position,  and 
"now  has  a  good  and  growing  practice  in  addition  to  his  official  duties. 

While  he  is  a  loyal  native  son  of  California  in  all  that  the  name 
usually  implies,  he  had  the  misfortune  of  having  to  pass  a  number  of 
years  in  the  frozen  East.  He  could  not  successfully  object  to  this,  as 
he  was  only  one  year  old  when  taken  back  there,  was  educated  there  and 
afterward  formed  attachments  and  business  association  which  held  him 
there  for  some  time.  But  he  returned  just  as  soon  as  he  could,  and  he 
is  one  of  San  Bernardino's  most  ardent  boosters,  ready  and  eager  at  all 
times  to  do  all  he  can  for  the  advancement  of  the  city  of  his  birth. 

Dr.  Gardner  was  born  in  San  Bernardino  May  29,  1878,  and  his  par- 
ents removed  with  their  family  to  New  York  in  the  following  year.  In 
1886  he  returned  to  San  Bernardino,  where  he  attended  grammar  school 
until  1887,  and  then  returned  to  New  York.  In  that  city  Dr.  Gardner 
attended  school,  and  after  graduating  from  high  school  at  once  entered 
the  New  York  Homeopathic  Hospital  as  a  student.  He  was  graduated 
with  the  class  of  1904,  and  then  spent  two  years  in  the  famous  Hahne- 
mann Hospital,  after  which  he  branched  out  into  a  practice  of  his  own. 
He  located  in  Bay  Shore,  Long  Island,  and  while  he  remained  there 
enjoyed  a  rapidly  growing  practice,  but  soon  decided  to  return  to  his  real 
home,  which  he  did. 

In  1915  Dr.  Gardner  was  appointed  health  officer,  which  position  he 
is  now  ably  filling.  He  is  also  building  up  a  lucrative  and  growing  prac- 
tice and  is  well  known  as  a  most  competent  physician. 

He  is  the  son  of  George  J.  and  Anna  (Yount)  Gardner.  George 
J.  Gardner  who  was  a  nephew  of  Jonas  Osborn,  was  a  native  of  New 
York  and  came  out  to  San  Bernardino  in  1870,  lured  hither  by  the 
golden  stories  of  the  great  successes  in  the  mining  fields.  He  located 
in  the  Tecopa  mining  district,  where  he  made  quite  a  success  in  mining 
and  in  addition  conducted  a  general  merchandise  store  in  Tecopa,  the 
mining  ventures  being  backed  by  the  large  capital  of  Jonas  Osborn.  He 
remained  in  that  place  for  nine  vears,  at  the  end  of  that  time  return- 
ing to  New  York.  In  that  state  he  was  a  farmer,  and  he  followed  that 
occupation  until  his  death  in  1885.  Dr.  Gardner's  mother,  a  native  of 
Nebraska,  was  a  daughter  of  Joseph  Yount.  one  of  the  early  pioneers 
of  California,  who  came  to  the  state  in  1876. 

Joseph  Yount  served  as  a  soldier  in  the  Mexican  war  and  made  the 
trip  to  San   Francisco  before  the  gold  discoveries,   returning  home   via 


1146      SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Cape  Horn.  He  joined  the  rush  during  the  gold  excitement  of  1849  and 
again  came  to  California,  where  he  remained  two  years,  being  fortunate 
in  his  gold  mining  and  acquiring  a  respectable  stake.  During  his  first 
visit  to  San  Francisco  after  the  Mexican  war  he  suffered  many  priva- 
tionSj  even  wrapping  his  bare  feet  with  gunny  sacks  to  protect  them 
from  the  cobble  stones  with  which  the  streets  were  paved. 

In  1862  he  brought  his  family  across  the  plains,  being  a  unit  of  a 
thirty  wagon  train  of  which  he  was  elected  captain.  He  went  to  Eastern 
Oregon,  near  LeGrande.  and  was  among  the  first  settlers  of  the  Grande 
Ronde  Valley.  They  remained  there  for  thirteen  years  and  in  1876 
started  a  drove  of  cattle  to  Arizona.  Miss  Yount  driving  a  team  all  the 
way.  As  they  learned  that  it  was  a  year  of  drought  in  Arizona,  Mr. 
Yount  bought  a  five  thousand  acre  ranch  in  the  Pahrump  Valley  in 
Lincoln  County.  Nevada,  which  was  given  the  name  of  the  Manse  and 
became  a  famous  freighting  station  between  California  and  Nevada. 
He  put  the  five  thousand  acres  all  under  cultivation.  The  land  is  now 
owned  by  the  Mormon  Church. 

Miss  Yount  married  George  J.  Gardner  August  27.  1877.  and  pio- 
neered once  again  in  the  Tecopa  Mining  District.  Mrs.  Gardner  is  still 
living  and  is  in  San  Bernardino  with  her  son.  She  is  the  third  of  ten 
children,  in  their  order  being:  Laura.  Maud,  Joanna.  William.  Thomas. 
Samuel.  LeRoy.   Fannie.   John  and   Nellie. 

Dr.  Gardner  has  one  brother  living.  Carl  Leroy  Gardner,  a  farmer 
in  the  State  of  New  York,  and  one  brother  deceased.  Joseph  Adolphus 
Gardner. 

On  August  12.  1915.  Dr.  Gardner  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss 
Ernestine  Herbert,  a  daughter  of  Dr.  G.  H.  Herbert,  of  Salt  Lake  City. 
Mrs.  Gardner  comes  from  pioneer  Utah  stock,  her  people  crossing  the 
plains  to  the  Mormon  stronghold  in  1857.  Her  grandfather  was  Joseph 
Prothers.  a  civil  engineer  of  distinction  who  was  chief  engineer  for  the 
Union  Pacific  during  its  construction  across  the  country.  He  was  the 
engineer  who  built  the  road  from  Omaha  to  Salt  Lake,  including  the 
famous  Echo  Canyon  Grade.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Gardner  have  three  children : 
Marv  Anna  and  Nellie  Barbara,  students,  and  Frank  Herbert.  Mrs. 
Herbert  spends  the  winters  in  San  Bernardino  with  her  daughter. 

Dr.  Gardner  is  a  member  of  the  San  Bernardino  Countv  Medical 
Society.  He  is  a  member  of  San  Bernardino  Lodge.  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks:  of  San  Bernardino  Parlor  110.  Native  Sons 
of  the  Golden  West,  and  of  the  San  Bernardino  Castle  No.  27,  Knights 
of  Pythias.     He  is  a  republican  in  politics. 

Norman  Douglas  Allen  came  to  San  Bernardino  County  thirty-four 
years  ago.  He  was  then  a  young  man  of  twenty-six.  was  married. 
and  brought  his  wife  and  several  children  to  the  West.  Mr.  Allen 
as  a  youth  had  learned  to  cope  with  circumstances  that  combined 
poverty  and  privation.  He  has  always  been  a  worker,  dependent  upon 
his  industry  and  self  reliance,  and  that  industry  he  has  effectively 
used  in  some  of  the  real  substantial  development  of  the  country 
around  Ontario  and  Upland. 

Mr.  Allen  was  born  in  Parma,  Jackson  County.  Michigan,  August 
4,  1861,  son  of  Norman  and  Ellen  (Thompson)  Allen.  His  father  was 
a  native  of  Massachusetts  and  his  mother  of  Michigan.  When  he 
was  six  years  old  his  mother  died,  and  six  years  later  he  was  left 
an  orphan  by  the  death  of  his  father.  His  father  had  been  married 
three  times,  and  Norman  was  one  of  the  three  sons  of  the  last  mar- 
riage.    When  Norman  Allen  was  a  small  child  his  father  moved  out 


SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 147 

to  Kansas  and  homesteaded.  He  was  an  educated  man,  taught  school 
on  the  prairies  of  Kansas,  and  had  studied  law.  though  he  never  prac- 
ticed that  profession.  For  two  years  he  was  justice  of  the  peace  and 
supervisor.     He  died  in  Kansas. 

Norman  Douglas  Allen  after  the  death  of  his  father  lived  with  his 
uncle,  Almon  Allen,  and  had  limited  educational  advantages,  and 
when  he  married,  at  the  age  of  twenty-two.  provided  for  his  family 
and  home  by  farming  and  farm  work.  After  he  had  been  married 
some  four  years  he  came  to  California,  reaching  Ontario  the  last  day 
of  December,  1887.  This  country  had  made  little  progress  in  develop- 
ment up  to  that  time.  Mr.  Allen  engaged  in  such  work  as  a  new 
country  provides,  and  he  leveled  and  planted  many  acres  of  orchard, 
cared  for  orchards  for  other  owners,  and  also  helped  construct  some 
of  the  country's  highways.  For  a  time  he  had  charge  of  the  city's 
rock  crusher.  Twenty-four  years  ago  he  bought  the  land  where  he 
now  lives,  and  on  which  he  erected  a  cheap  house.  This  was  replaced 
eleven  years  ago  with  a  modern  and  artistic  home.  Mr.  Alien  in  his 
career  has  been  energetic,  honest  and  a  thoroughly  reliable  type  of  the 
pioneer.  He  has  reared  a  family  of  children  that  is  a  credit  to  him 
and  the  community.  He  has  never  aspired  to  public  office,  and  his 
greatest  enthusiasm  is  for  the  wild  life  of  the  mountains.  When 
duties  permit  he  has  sought  sport  and  recreation  in  the  hunting  of 
deer,  and  is  familiar  with  all  their  haunts. 

On  August  4,  1883.  Mr.  Allen  married  Lena  Scheurer,  a  native 
of  Illinois.  Ten  children  have  been  born  to  their  union:  Walter  C. 
born  in  Kansas  September  4,  1884.  is  a  successful  business  man  at 
Upland,  owning  a  transfer  and  trading  outfit.  He  is  married  and  has 
four  living  children.  George  L.,  born  September  11,  1885.  also  in 
Kansas,  is  manager  of  the  Los  Angeles  Linen  Supply  Company.  He 
is  married  and  has  four  sons  and  one  daughter.  Herman,  born  in 
Kansas  November  8.  1887,  died  at  Upland  July  28,  1908.  Ella,  born 
November  15.  1889,  in  California,  is  the  wife  of  Hugh  McLean,  a 
prosperous  show  merchant  at  Upland,  and  they  have  three  children. 
Fred  M„  born  June  25,  1891.  is  a  box  maker  at  Ontario.  He  is 
married  and  has  two  children.  Mrs.  Eva  M.  Sachs,  born  October  8. 
1895,  is  the  wife  of  a  carpenter  and  contractor,  and  they  have  one 
son.  Norman  M..  born  May  15,  1897,  was  trained  at  Camp  Kearney. 
San  Diego,  with  Company  A  of  the  16th  Ammunition  Train,  but  did 
not  get  overseas.  He  is  married  and  has  a  daughter  and  lives  at 
Ontario.  Howard  C.  born  August  12,  1899,  was  in  the  selective 
service  and  had  orders  to  proceed  to  Texas  the  day  the  armistice 
was  signed.  He  is  married.  The  two  younger  children  are  Christina, 
born  April  23.  1902.  now  attending  the  Chaffey  High  School,  and 
Edna  May.  born  August  20.   1904.  also  in  high  school. 

Thomas  Jefferson  Cromer  has  been  one  of  the  real  builders  in  San 
Bernardino  County.  His  home  has  been  in  the  Upland  district  for  about 
thirty  years.  His  work  at  the  beginning  was  for  others,  since  he  lost  his 
first  investment,  and  he  planted,  tended  and  capably  managed  what  for 
many  years  has  been  recognized  as  one  of  the  very  fine  groves  and  orchards 
around  Upland.  This  was  his  material  contribution  to  the  developing 
community,  and  at  the  same  time  he  has  been  progressive  and  public 
spirited  wherever  the  larger  needs  of  the  community  enlisted  his  support. 

Mr.  Cromer  was  born  in  Madison  County,  Indiana,  April  29.  1853. 
son  of  Frederick  and  Martha  (  Xoggle)  Cromer.  His  father  was  a  car- 
penter by  trade,  but  the  greater  part  of  his  active  life  was  devoted  tc 


1148       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

farming.  In  the  fall  of  1856  the  family  migrated  to  Iowa,  then  a  new 
state.  They  made  this  move  in  a  prairie  schooner  drawn  by  a  four  horse 
team,  crossing  the  Mississippi  River  on  a  ferry  boat.  They  moved  into 
a  frontier  and  sparsely  settled  district,  having  a.  small  house  for  the 
shelter  of  the  family,  while  the  horses  had  to  remain  outdoors  the  first 
winter.  Frederick  Cromer  secured  500  acres  of  the  new  land  in  that 
section,  and  in  subsequent  years  his  earnest  labors  brought  him  a  com- 
petence. He  was  both  a  farmer  and  stock  raiser.  In  1874,  after  the  death 
of  his  wife,  he  returned  with  his  family  to  Indiana,  but  in  1879  came 
back  to  Iowa  and  settled  at  Colfax,  six  miles  from  his  old  home.  In 
1883  Frederick  Cromer  left  his  Iowa  home  and  came  to  Pomona,  Cali- 
fornia, where  he  purchased  land  and  became  a  horticulturist.  He  con- 
tinued to  live  at  Pomona,  a  highly  respected  citizen,  until  his  death.  He 
was  buried  on  his  eighty-ninth  birthday.  The  mother  of  Thomas  Jefferson 
Cromer  died  at  the  age  of  thirty-eight  in  Iowa,  leaving  a  family  of  ten 
children,  Thomas  J.  being  next  to  the  oldest. 

Mr.  Cromer  has  his  first  recollections  of  the  frontier  conditions  of  the 
old  homestead  in  Iowa.  He  appreciated  the  difficult  task  his  father  and 
mother  had  set  themselves  in  building  a  home  there.  One  of  his  early 
memory  pictures  is  of  a  lighted  candle  in  the  window  of  the  rude  Iowa 
home,  his  mother  mending  clothes  by  the  light  inside,  while  the  projecting 
rays  through  the  window  enabled  his  father  to  chop  wood  for  fuel.  It 
was  his  father's  habit  to  utilize  all  the  daylight  and  part  of  the  night 
hours  in  winter  to  get  out  wood  and  do  other  work  that  would  permit  him 
to  work  full  time  during  the  busy  summer  seasons.  Thomas  Jefferson 
Cromer  took  a  share  in  these  activities  as  soon  as  his  strength  permitted, 
and  he  was  plowing  in  the  fields  or  working  in  the  harvest  all  the  summer 
seasons  and  in  the  timber  during  the  winters.  He  had  little  opportunity 
for  schooling,  though  private  study  and  reading  have  given  him  a  fair 
equipment.  As  a  youth  in  the  winter  he  would  get  into  his  frozen  boots, 
wearing  no  socks,  and  go  into  the  timber,  work  all  day,  frequently  when 
the  thermometer  stood  30°  below  zero,  and,  as  he  recalls  that  strenuous 
life,  he  feels  that  it  had  its  pleasant  side,  since  he  had  the  constitution  to 
adapt  himself  to  the  environment  and  enjoyed  the  vigor  and  stimulus  of 
sustained  labor.  From  the  time  Mr.  Cromer  was  eighteen  years  of  age  he 
spent  one  year  in  Maryland,  near  Hagerstown,  with  his  grandfather  and 
grandmother  Cromer.  He  then  went  to  Delaware  County,  Indiana,  with 
an  uncle,  working  on  farms,  spent  one  year  in  Marion  County,  Indiana, 
near  Indianapolis,  on  a  farm,  in  the  spring  of  1874  returned  to  the  old 
home  in  Iowa,  but  went  back  to  Indiana  with  his  father  and  worked  the 
farm  for  several  years.  In  the  spring  of  1880  he  returned  to  Colfax, 
Iowa. 

On  March  30,  1882,  Mr.  Cromer  married  Miss  Jennie  Kelsey,  daughter 
of  William  Kelsey,  a  native  of  Indiana,  whose  parents  were  born  in 
Belfast,  Ireland.  Her  mother,  Jane  (Thompson)  Kelsey,  was  born  in 
Illinois.    Jennie  Kelsey  was  born  in  Lisbon,  Iowa,  August  18,  1863. 

After  his  marriage  Mr.  Cromer  bought  160  acre  farm  ten  miles  from 
Newton,  Jasper  County,  Iowa,  and  developed  and  operated  that  Iowa 
farm  five  years.  He  then  sold  out  and  in  December,  1887,  arrived  in 
California,  spending  the  first  seven  years  at  Pomona.  He  invested  the 
proceeds  of  his  Iowa  property,  but  when  the  boom  of  the  eighties  col- 
lapsed he  lost  his  invested  funds  completely  and  then  did  ranch  work  as  a 
means  of  support.  In  May,  1894,  Mr.  Cromer  moved  to  North  Ontario, 
now  Upland,  and  contracted  to  buy  ten  acres  on  Eleventh  Street  in  the 
Mountain  View  tract.     He  had  no  money  to  pay  down,  but  had  the  energy 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1149 

and  courage  that  supplied  part  of  the  indispensable  capital.  The  land 
had  been  leveled,  and  he  at  once  dug  the  holes  and  set  out  the  orange  trees. 
While  tending  and  watching  his  grove  develop  he  worked  for  others,  doing 
orchard  work,  and  finally  he  was  able  to  build  a  home  on  his  tract.  Then, 
in  1919,  after  having  taken  approximately  as  much  money  from  the  suc- 
cessive sales  of  fruit,  he  sold  his  ten  acre  orchard  and  home  for  $30,000. 
After  this  sale  he  bought  his  present  home,  a  modern  and  attractive  resi- 
dence at  the  corner  of  Laurel  and  Tenth  streets  in  Upland,  commanding  a 
beautiful  view  of  the  mountains.  About  the  same  time  he  bought  twenty 
acres  on  Sixteenth  Street,  just  west  of  Mountain  Avenue.  This  tract 
contained  seven  and  a  half  acres  of  Washington  navel  oranges  and  the 
remainder  in  lemon  trees  eight  years  old.  This  is  a  handsome  grove  and 
he  still  owns  it.  Mr.  Cromer  is  one  of  the  popular  old  timers  of  Upland, 
and  his  honesty,  industry,  and  friendliness  have  earned  him  the  esteem 
he  enjoys. 

Mr.  Cromer  is  justly  proud  of  the  attainments  and  character  of  his 
only  son,  Ray  Frederick  Cromer,  who  was  born  at  Pomona  December  29, 
1891.  He  showed  studious  inclinations  during  his  youth  and  made  good 
use  of  the  opportunities  his  father  could  give  him.  He  went  through  the 
grammar  school,  graduated  from  the  Chafrey  Union  High  School,  received 
his  B.  A.  degree  at  Pomona  Collge  in  1917,  and  during  the  following  year 
remained  out  of  school  trying  and  hoping  to  get  into  the  active  army 
service.  He  was  twice  rejected,  being  greatly  under  weight,  When  the 
draft  came  he  passed  the  inspection  and  was  put  on  the  reserve  list  in  the 
chemical  warfare  division,  but  was  never  called  out,  to  his  lasting  disap- 
pointment. After  the  war  he  resumed  his  studies  in  the  University  of 
California  at  Berkeley,  where  he  majored  in  chemistry.  For  two  years  he 
was  head  of  the  Science  Department  and  teacher  of  chemistry  at  Brawley 
in  the  Imperial  Valley,  and  then  became  instructor  in  chemistry  and  physics 
in  the  Fremont  High  School  of  Oakland.  While  there  he  was  selected  as 
head  of  the  Radio  Club,  an  organization  doing  work  after  school  hours  for 
advancement  and  study  of  the  radio.  He  began  these  duties  August  21, 
1921.  At  Upland  Ray  F.  Cromer  married,  on  June  16,  1918,  Miss  Marie 
Cooley,  a  native  of  South  Dakota,  but  reared  in  Upland,  and  is  a  graduate 
of  the  Chafrey  Union  High  School.  She  was  employed  as  stenographer 
and  teller  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Upland  prior  to  her  marriage. 
They  now  reside  at  Oakland. 

A.  J.  Williams  has  been  one  of  the  most  industrious  citizens  of  the 
Ontario  community  for  over  twenty  years.  His  industry  has  brought  him 
the  comfort  and  prosperity  which  he  and  his  family  now  enjoy  on  their 
little  ranch  home  at  517  Vesta  Street. 

Mr.  Williams  was  born  in  Nemaha  County,  Kansas,  December  17, 
1880,  a  son  of  James  Ezra  and  Marietta  (Shiffer)  Williams.  His  parents 
were  both  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  in  the  same  year,  1845.  His  father 
was  born  the  10th  of  May,  and  died  at  Ontario,  California,  September  28, 
1914.  They  were  married  in  1868.  James  Ezra  Williams  at  the  age  of 
fifteen  became  a  locomotive  fireman,  and  was  soon  promoted  to  engine- 
man,  and  had  a  run  on  the  Lehigh  Valley  Railroad  until  he  entered  the 
Union  Army  during  the  Civil  war.  He  enlisted  in  the  Ninth  Pennsylvania 
Cavalry,  but  when  it  was  discovered  that  he  was  a  locomotive  engineer 
he  was  assigned  special  duty  with  the  military  railroad  service  and  con- 
tinued until  the  end  of  the  war.  In  March,  1868,  soon  after  his  marriage, 
he  removed  to  Missouri,  where  he  farmed  three  years,  and  then  went  to 
Northeastern  Kansas  and  bought  a  large  farm  in  Nemaha  County,  where 
for  thirty-five  years  he  remained  actively  engaged  in  farming  and  as  a 


1150       SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

dealer  and  shipper  of  livestock.  He  was  a  man  of  great  energy,  reliable, 
an  expert  judge  of  values,  and  for  many  years  was  one  of  the  leading 
shippers  out  of  that  section  to  eastern  markets.  In  1905  he  left  Kansas 
and  came  to  Ontario,  California,  where  he  bought  an  orange  grove  and  was 
also  a  stockholder  and  director  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Ontario. 
He  was  the  father  of  five  children :  Harrv ;  Mrs.  Gertrude  E.  S.  Randel ; 
Kate,  Mrs.  J.  H.  Mills ;  A.  J.  Williams,  and  Miss  Lida  Williams. 

A.  J.  Williams  was  reared  and  educated  in  Nemeha  County,  Kansas, 
attended  public  schools  there,  and  finished  in  the  Kansas  State  Agricultural 
College  at  Manhattan.  He  then  returned  to  his  father's  stock  farm,  and 
did  all  the  work  of  general  farming  and  stock  raising. 

November  21,  1900,  he  married  Miss  Kittie  Mabel  de  Jeaan,  who 
was  born  in  Iowa  April  20,  1884,  daughter  of  Bird  and  Addie  (Hotch- 
kiss)  de  Jeaan,  the  former  a  native  of  Madison,  Wisconsin,  and  the  latter 
of  Fayette  County,  Iowa.  Bird  de  Jeaan  was  a  Baptist  minister.  Mrs. 
Williams'  grandfather,  Martin  T.  de  Jeaan,  was  an  early  settler  of  Ontario, 
coming  here  in  1892,  when  the  district  was  practically  undeveloped,  and 
bought  land  and  set  out  a  deciduous  orchard.  Later  he  removed  some  of 
the  early  plantings  and  set  to  oranges.  This  orange  grove  is  now  the 
home  of  A.  J.  Williams.  Martin  de  Jeaan  is  still  living,  but  his  wife 
died  in  Ontario  in  1905.  Martin  de  Jeaan  was  carrier  for  the  first  United 
States  mail  from  Ontario  to  North  Ontario,  and  continued  in  that  service 
for  a  number  of  years. 

After  their  marriage  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Williams  removed  to  Ontario  and, 
being  without  capital,  he  sought  employment  at  any  honorable  occupation 
that  would  furnish  his  family  with  a  living.  He  picked  and  did  other  work 
in  the  fruit  orchards,  worked  at  dry  ranching,  with  fumigating  crews,  was 
employed  in  the  Chino  sugar  refinery,  but  eventually  engaged  in  the  retail 
meat  business  and  has  been  in  the  service  of  several  firms  at  Ontario,  being 
now  connected  with  the  San  Antonio  Meat  Company.  He  is  also  a  director 
in  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Ontario.  He  owns  his  modern  home  and  the 
orange  grove  which  he  bought  from  his  wife's  grandfather.  He  and  his 
family  are  members  of  the  Nazarene  Church. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Williams  have  six  children :  Grace,  born  April  10, 
1902,  now  a  senior  in  the  Chaffey  Junior  College;  Maye,  born  October  27, 
1905,  also  in  high  school;  Hazel,  born  October  31,  1907,  a  high  school 
girl;  James  A.,  born  October  13,  1912;  Jean,  born  April  7,  1915,  and 
Lawrence  Andrew,  born  January  14,  1918,  known  in  the  family  circle 
as  Bobby  Williams.    These  children  were  all  born  at  Ontario. 

Gus  Knight — The  career  of  Gus  Knight,  one  of  the  best-known  men 
of  San  Bernardino  County,  reads  like  a  romance,  and  yet  in  this  case, 
as  in  so  many  others,  "truth  is  stranger  than  fiction."  Coming  into 
this  region  when  it  was  a  desert  wilderness,  Mr.  Knight  not  only  has 
passed  through  all  of  the  stages  of  its  development,  but  has  brought 
about  many  of  them,  and  to  his  courage,  energy,  foresight  and  splen- 
did business  management  is  directly  due  the  establishment  and  expan- 
sion of  Knight's  Camp  in  Bear  Valley,  one  of  the  best  and  most  re- 
nowned American  mountain  resorts,  to  which  people  come  from  all 
over  the  civilized  world. 

Mr.  Knight  is  a  native  son  of  the  county,  having  been  born  at 
San  Bernardino  May  4,  1861,  the  family  home  being  on  the  present 
site  of  the  Santa  Fe  depot.  He  is  a  son  of  Augustus  (known  as  Gus) 
Knight,  who  was  born  in  Maine,  in  1831,  and  Elizabeth  Knight,  who 
was  born  in  England  in  1835,  and  when  she  was  fourteen  years  old 
her  parents  brought   her   to   the    United   States.     In    1860  Augustus 


U^t^C^^^  L^O<--^-^>y/AA^ 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RD7ERSIDE  COUNTIES       1151 

Knight  ari'l  his  wife  were  married  at  San  Bernardino,  to  which  place  he 
had  journeyed  from  Maine  in  an  ox  cart,  encountering  Indians  by  the 
way  and  passed  through  a  number  of  exciting  incidents.  He  stopped 
for  a  time  in  Humboldt  County,  California,  and  was  there  engaged  in 
prospecting,  for  this  was  in  1852,  when  the  gold  excitement  was  at  its 
height  and  men  came  West  in  search  of  the  precious  metal,  not  then 
realizing  that  the  great  state  held  many  other  riches  aside  from  that 
lure  which  was  to  give  it  its  name  of  "Golden."  From  Humboldt 
County  he  traveled  down  the  coast  to  the  San  Bernardino  Valley. 
His  wife  crossed  the  plains  by  way  of  Salt  Lake  City,  Utah,  in  1852, 
her  parents  with  their  ox  team  forming  part  of  an  immigrant  train. 
While  he  was  prospecting  he  discovered  the  Temescal  tin  mine  in 
Temescal  Canyon,  and  this  has  been  operated  off  and  on  ever  since. 
He  was  also  interested  in  timbering,  and  conducted  this  line  of  busi- 
ness for  several  years  in  the  Mill  Seeley  Flats,  and  built  the  first 
saw-mill  to  manufacture  shingles  at  B  and  Fourth  streets,  San  Ber- 
nardino, operating  it  in  partnership  with  Doctor  Dickey,  and  they 
floated  the  shingle  logs  down  to  the  mill.  Another  venture  of  his 
from  1862  to  1864  was  the  operating  of  a  stage  line  to  Arizona,  but  he 
then  abandoned  it,  as  there  was  not  sufficient  patronage  to  justify 
the  expense  and  risk  of  attack  from  the  numerous  hostile-  Indians. 
In  1874  he  built  a  hotel  at  Gold  Mountain,  and  conducted  it  for  two 
years,  and  was  also  engaged  in  the  stock  business  and  desert  freight- 
ing, continuing  the  last  two  occupations  until  his  death.  He  and 
his  wife  had  two  children,  his  namesake  son  and  a  daughter,  Belle, 
who  was  the  younger  of  the  two.  She  was  born  July  26,  1863,  and  is 
now  the  wife  of  J.  R.  Metcalf,  an  orange  grower  and  business  man  of 
San  Bernardino. 

Educated  in  the  public  and  private  schools  of  San  Bernardino,  Gus 
Knight  rapidly  acquired  a  working  knowledge  of  the  fundamentals, 
and  when  only  thirteen  years  old  began  to  be  self-supporting  as  an 
associate  with  his  father  in  the  cattle  business  in  Bear  Valley,  and 
from  that  early  age  has  been  identified  with  the  development  of  this 
region.  In  1888  he  and  John  Metcalf  built  the  first  hotel,  which  be- 
came the  widely-famed  Pine  Knot  Hotel,  and  he  soon  brought  out 
his  partner  and  conducted  it  alone  until  1910,  when  he  sold  it  to 
Charles  Henry.  In  the  meanwhile,  through  his  enterprise  and  fore- 
sight, he  built  a  splendid  and  enduring  monument  to  himself  and 
his  times,  a  mountain  resort  of  world-rennown.  In  1902  he  started 
what  he  named  Knight's  Camp  in  Bear  Valley,  erecting  cabins,  and 
improving  the  buildings  later  on,  developing  the  various  features, 
until  it  attained  to  remarkable  proportions  and  fame,  and  this,  too, 
he  sold,  in  1919,  retaining  only  some  selected  lots  and  his  mountain 
home.  Air.  Knight  made  other  investments,  in  1897  purchasing  fifteen 
acres  on  Base  Line,  and  this  he  set  to  orange  trees,  and  in  1920 
he  built  his  beautiful  modern  home  overlooking  the  Line  Valley,  with 
the  San  Bernardino  Mountains  at  his  very  door.  This  is  one  of  the 
most  beautiful  spots  in  the  entire  country,  and  Mr.  Knight  takes  great 
pleasure  in  the  wonderful  landscape  spread  out  before  him. 

Mr.  Knight  has  been  married  twice,  his  first  wife  having  been 
Miss  Nancy  C.  Henry.  By  this  marriage  he  has  two  children, 
namely:  James  H.  Knight,  who  is  a  resident  of  Los  Angeles,  Cali- 
fornia, is  married  and  has  one  son,  Freemont ;  and  Charles  H.,  who  is 
a  resident  of  Big  Bear,  where  he  owns  and  operates  a  garage  and  auto- 
mobile business.  He  also  is  married,  and  has  two  children,  Thomas 
and  Charlotte.     In   1913   Mr.   Knight  married  Mary   C.  Workman,  a 


1152       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

daughter  of  Joseph  Workman,  a  pioneer  of  Los  Angeles.  Mrs. 
Knight's  grandfather,  William  Workman,  founded  the  first  bank  of 
Los  Angeles,  known  as  the  Workman  &  Temple  Bank.  It  was  located 
in  the  Temple  Block,  Los  Angeles. 

Out  of  Mr.  Knight's  development  of  his  hotel  and  camp  grew 
another  industry  that  he  carried  on  for  years,  and  that  was  road 
building,  and  his  efforts  in  this  line  have  made  it  possible  for 
thousands  of  people  to  view  in  comfort  the  grandeurs  of  this  wonder- 
ful mountain  country,  and  brought  to  it  many  of  tourists  who  other- 
wise would  have  been  deterred  on  account  of  the  hardships.  While 
he  has  reaped  a  fortune  from  his  various  projects,  he  has  earned 
all  he  has  and  deserves  more  than  most  men  his  prosperity  and  the 
plaudits  of  his  fellow  citizens,  for  he  has  bestowed  upon  others 
through  his  developments  and  through  his  public  spirit  much  more 
than  he  has  secured  for  himself. 

Dr.  Hollis  J.  Foster  was  one  of  the  brilliant,  interesting  and  vigorous 
personalities  in  the  early  history  of  the  Cucamonga  community  of  San 
Bernardino  County.  On  account  of  his  health  he  practiced  medicine  very 
little  after  coming  to  California,  but  he  used  his  capital  and  business  judg- 
ment in  a  way  to  advance  the  best  interests  of  this  section,  and  developed 
some  of  the  land  that  is  now  contained  in  one  of  the  greatest  fruit  growing 
districts  in  Southern  California. 

He  was  born  at  Norwich,  Vermont,  July  3,  1843,  and  had  many  of  the 
fine  characteristics  of  the  old  New  England  stock.  He  acquired  his  early 
education  in  Vermont  and  later  graduated  from  the  Eclectic  Medical  Insti- 
tute at  Cincinnati,  Ohio.  For  several  years  he  enjoyed  an  extensive 
professional  practice  in  several  Middle  West  communities,  but  when  his 
health  failed  he  came  to  California  and  first  settled  on  a  ranch  near  Santa 
Ana,  but  six  years  later  sold  that  and  moved  to  Cucamonga.  Here  he 
bought  forty  acres  on  the  old  San  Bernardino  Road,  including  a  portion 
of  the  old  Orchard  ranch.  While  developing  this  property  he  also  owned 
and  operated  a  drug  store  in  Cucamonga,  and  was  owner  of  that  business 
when  he  died  March  23,  1906. 

On  November  12,  1872,  in  Iowa,  Doctor  Foster  married  Miss  Isabel 
Lanning,  who  was  born  in  Clinton,  Iowa,  April  30,  1852,  daughter  of 
Samuel  and  Sarah  (Welch)  Lanning,  the  former  a  native  of  Newark, 
New  Jersey,  and  the  latter  of  West  Virginia.  Mrs.  Foster  was  educated 
in  the  public  schools  of  Clinton,  Iowa.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Foster  had  three 
children.  The  oldest,  M.  H.  Foster,  who  was  born  at  Piano,  Illinois, 
October  10,  1874,  acquired  his  education  in  the  Chaffey  College,  Ontario, 
California,  and  now  has  active  charge  of  the  home  ranch  of  forty  acres. 
He  is  a  young  business  man  noted  for  thoroughness  in  everything  he 
undertakes,  and  has  made  the  home  ranch  one  of  the  notable  properties 
in  this  vicinity.  On  May  8,  1901,  he  married  Miss  Susie  Austin,  a  native 
of  Kansas,  and  they  are  the  proud  parents  of  a  son.  Burton  Foster,  who 
was  born  at  Cucamonga  February  2,  1921.  This  heir  of  the  Foster  family 
is  a  particular  idol  of  his  grandmother,  Mrs.  Foster. 

The  second  of  the  children  is  Nell  Foster,  who  was  born  in  Near 
Clinton,  Iowa,  March  17,  1878,  also  finished  her  education  in  the  old 
Chaffey  College  at  Ontario,  and  on  February  21,  1905,  at  Los  Angeles, 
was  married  to  Stanley  M.  Frew,  an  accountant  who  now  lives  in  Los 
Angeles.  The  third  child,  Ethel,  born  in  Melbourne,  Iowa,  March  29, 
1885,  was  educated  at  Chaffey  College,  and  on  April  7,  1906,  was  married 
to  F.  C.  Hillyard,  who  is  in  the  Government  service  at  San  Francisco. 
They  have  one  daughter,  Beth  Loraine,  born  April  12,  1918. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1153 

About  six  years  after  Doctor  Foster's  death,  Mrs.  Foster  bought  her 
present  home  on  West  Ninth  Street  in  Upland,  where  she  is  living  retired, 
her  son  operating  the  home  ranch.  Doctor  Foster  was  a  member  of  the 
Masonic  Fraternity. 

M.  H.  Bordwell  has  had  an  interested  and  helpful  part  in  practically 
the  entire  history  of  the  thriving  little  City  of  Upland,  going  there  when 
the  scattered  settlements  were  still  known  as  North  Ontario.  Throughout 
this  period  he  has  been  identified  with  the  commercial  side  of  the  fruit 
industry. 

Mr.  Bordwell  was  born  in  Calhoun  County,  Michigan,  October  6,  1849, 
son  of  David  B.  and  Martha  B.  Bordwell,  who  were  natives  of  New  York 
State.  Of  their  three  sons  II.  W.  and  L.  C.  are  now  deceased.  M.  H.  Bord- 
well grew  up  on  his  father's  farm,  and  secured  a  common  school  educa- 
tion. In  the  intervals  of  his  schooling  he  worked  in  the  fields  and  about 
the  home,  and  that  made  up  the  routine  of  his  life  until  he  was  twenty-one. 
After  about  a  year  he  was  employed  in  an  agricultural  implement  business 
at  Marshall,  Michigan.  In  1880  he  moved  west  to  Madison  County, 
Nebraska.  In  Nebraska  Mr.  Bordwell  had  some  more  extensive  relations 
with  business  affairs,  buying  and  shipping  livestock  and  at  times  was  a 
participant  in  several  mercantile  ventures.  He  lived  in  that  state  ten 
years,  and  early  in  1890  came  to  California.  For  a  time  he  and  his  family 
resided  at  Riverside,  but  soon  joined  the  colony  at  Upland. 

Mr.  Bordwell  and  Mr.  Fawsett  formed  a  partnership  to  buy  and  dry 
green  fruit,  and  developed  an  extensive  business  as  dealers  and  shippers 
of  dried  fruit  out  of  this  district.  Eventually  their  business  was  sold 
to  a  newly  organized  corporation,  the  Ontario  Packing  Company,  of  which 
Mr.  Bordwell  was  one  of  the  founders  and  in  which  he  has  been  a 
director  from  the  beginning.  He  is  still  buyer  for  his  district.  This 
company  has  branches  throughout  Southern  California,  with  main  offices 
in  Los  Angeles.  Mr.  Bordwell  was  also  one  of  the  early  members  of 
the  Magnolia  Mutual  Building  &  Loan  Association  at  Upland,  was  a 
director,  and  the  nineteenth  annual  report  names  him  as  secretary  and 
treasurer,  the  position  he  has  filled  for  a  number  of  years.  He  is  a 
director  in  the  Citizens  Savings  Bank,  a  life-long  republican  and  a  member 
of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  Mr.  Bordwell  is  a  plain,  unpretentious  busi- 
ness man,  and  yet  his  associates  recognize  him  as  one  of  the  colony's 
steadily  helpful  and  loyal  members,  always  ready  to  do  his  part  in  advanc- 
ing the  best  interests  of  the  community. 

On  November  29,  1876,  he  married  Miss  Judith  J.  Aldrich,  also  a 
native  of  Calhoun  County.  Michigan.  Their  only  son  is  Reid  B.  Bord- 
well, who  was  born  June  29,  1882,  at  Madison,  Nebraska.  He  received 
most  of  his  education  in  Upland,  where  he  attended  the  high  school,  also 
took  a  business  course  in  the  Chaffey  College  at  Ontario,  and  is  an 
accountant  by  profession.  Though  not  subject  to  the  draft  at  the  time 
and  with  a  wife  and  child  he  volunteered  July  1,  1918,  at  Los  Angeles, 
and  was  assigned  to  Battery  A,  Fourth  Regiment,  Field  Artillery.  He 
received  his  honorable  discharge  December  20,  1918.  In  1907  he  married 
Beatrice  Cerry,  a  native  of  London,  Canada.  They  have  one  daughter 
Judith  Louise' Bordwell  born  June  11,  1908. 

Minnie  Denison  Goodrich. — The  family  names  of  Denison  and 
Goodrich  have  been  identified  with  development  work  and  the  good 
citizenship  of  the  Upland  section  of  San  Bernardino  County  for 
thirty-five  years.  Lands  have  been  leveled,  cleared  and  planted, 
orange    groves    developed,    homes    established    through    the    instru- 


1154       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

mentality  of  these  families.  Mrs.  Minnie  Goodrich  is  the  widow  of 
ihe  late  John  B.  Goodrich,  a  hard  working  and  thrifty  citizen  whose 
name  is  held  in  the  highest  respect  in  this  community. 

Mrs.  Goodrich  was  born  near  Oil  City,  Pennsylvania,  March  27, 
1873,  daughter  of  B.  S.  and  Florence  Denison.  In  1874,  the  year 
following  her  birth,  her  parents  moved  to  Newport,  Kentucky,  where 
her  father  was  a  merchant  until  1886.  For  some  time  he  had  suffered 
ill  health,  and  his  physicians  advised  him  that  the  only  possible  means 
of  restoring  his  strength  was  to  seek  the  milder  climate  of  Southern 
California.  Accordingly  in  1886  he  traded  his  Newport  property  for 
a  tract  of  ten  acres  in  what  was  then  known  as  North  Ontario,  now 
Upland.  This  land  was  on  Twenty-first  Street,  near  Euclid  Avenue. 
The  Santa  Fe  Railroad  had  not  yet  built  to  Upland,  and  the  nearest 
railroad  station  was  at  Ontario.  The  Denisons  were  pioneers  in  fact, 
since  most  of  the  land  was  wild,  covered  with  sage  brush,  and  the 
plantings  had  been  chiefly  in  deciduous  fruit  and  grapes.  The  land 
acquired  by  Mr.  Denison  had  been  set  to  deciduous  fruits,  but  he 
later  developed  it  as  an  orange  grove.  Some  years  later  he  and  his 
three  older  children  left  California  and  went  to  Honolulu.  Mr. 
Denison  is  now  eighty-three  years  of  age  and  is  still  active,  with  his 
two  sons,  in  the  railroad  and  transportation  business  in  the  Hawaiian 
Islands. 

Miss  Minnie  Denison  was  thirteen  years  of  age  when  she  came  to 
California,  and  she  finished  her  education  in  a  one  room  school 
building  on  Eighteenth  Street,  being  one  of  the  three  girls  and  seven 
boys  who  made  up  the  scholarship  enrollment  of  the  colony  at  that 
time.     Later  she  attended  the  Normal  School  at  Los  Angeles. 

On  September  28,  1889,  Miss  Denison  was  married  to  John  B. 
Goodrich.  The  late  Mr.  Goodrich  was  a  native  of  Beaver  Dam, 
Wisconsin.  His  father  was  a  hard  working  farmer  in  that  state,  and, 
needing  the  assistance  of  his  children,  he  took  his  son  out  of  school 
at  the  age  of  thirteen  and  put  him  to  work  on  the  farm.  John  B. 
Goodrich  after  leaving  home  managed  to  get  an  academic  education 
and  also  studied  privately,  and  in  that  way  procured  a  substantial 
equipment  for  life's  work.  On  coming  to  California  he  bought  ten 
acres  on  West  Sixteenth  Street  at  Upland,  and  cleared,  leveled  and 
set  this  to  citrus  fruits.  He  also  erected  a  substantial  home,  in  which 
he  and  Mrs.  Goodrich  lived  until  it  was  destroyed  by  fire  September 
15,  1917.  He  then  replaced  it  with  the  modern  home  where  Mrs. 
Goodrich  resides.  From  this  house  is  obtained  an  unrivalled  view 
of  the  valley  below.  Mr.  Goodrich,  who  died  October  15,  1920,  had 
the  quality  of  industry,  was  a  good  manager,  and  thoroughly  inter- 
ested in  the  welfare  of  others  outside  his  immediate  family.  While 
improving  his  own  holdings  he  acted  as  caretaker  for  the  groves  of 
other  owners,  and  for  seven  years  served  as  horticultural  inspector  for 
the  district.     He  was  a  member  of  the  Masonic  order. 

Since  his  death  Mrs.  Goodrich  has  taken  over  the  business  manage- 
ment of  the  property  and  has  kept  her  younger  children  in  school. 
Mrs.  Goodrich  was  the  fourth  in  a  family  of  seven  children,  named 
George,  Bertha,  Harry,  Minnie,  Julia,  Lee  and  Mary.  The  four  oldest 
children  are  still  living.  Mrs.  Goodrich  has  four  children:  Helen, 
born  January  1,  1904,  now  in  the  senior  year  in  the  Chaff ey  High 
School  at  Ontario ;  Bertha,  born  at  Upland  April  8,  1906,  in  the  sopho- 
more year  of  high  school;  Harland,  born  September  3,   1908;  and 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1155 

Landon,  born  September  13,  1911.     Mrs.  Goodrich  is  a  member  of 
the  Presbyterian  Church. 

Datus  E.  Myers  was  born  at  Harrison,  Ohio,  March  15,  1842,  and 
died  in  Riverside,  California.  May  30,  1919.  He  was  the  son  of 
Henry  and  Martha  Myers,  who  were  both  natives  of  Pennsylvania. 

Those  were  pioneer  days  in  Ohio,  when  the  waterways  were  the 
only  highroads  and  most  of  the  early  settlers  came  to  this  rich  and 
virgin  wilderness  by  way  of  the  Ohio  River,  with  their  few  worldly 
goods  on  a  raft.  In  such  manner  the  parents  of  Mr.  Myers  arrived 
and  cast  in  their  lot  with  the  early  settlers  of  Cincinnati,  where  in 
a  nearby  village  Mr.  Myers  was  born.  He  was  the  youngest  of  twelve 
children,  and  his  early  life  was  full  of  the  constructive  influences  of 
those  pioneer  days.  No  person  can  successfully  form  a  character 
without  overcoming  obstacles,  especially  one  of  Mr.  Myers'  virile 
and  keen  mind.  Through  the  loss  of  inherited  property  this  large 
family  of  children  were  forced  to  face  the  world  and  battle  with  it. 
Datus  Myers,  being  the  youngest  and  last  at  home,  had  to  not  only 
carve  his  own  way  but  help  to  take  care  of  his  old  parents.  Boy 
that  he  was.  he  assumed  the  task  with  a  dauntless  courage,  and 
although  he  had  to  give  up  hope  of  further  schooling,  yet  he  never 
for  one  moment  permitted  that  to  interfere  with  his  education.  An 
omniverous  reader  and  with  a  perfect  memory,  he  proceeded  to  use 
every  spare  moment  in  the  company  of  the  best  and  most  profound 
books,  to  such  good  purpose  that  in  the  evening  of  his  life,  after  he 
had  retired  from  business,  he  spent  his  time  in  study  and  writing — 
his  mind  growing  more  wonderful  and  brilliant  with  each  succeeding 
year. 

He  made  a  very  exhaustive  study  of  the  history  of  the  North 
American  Indian  and  the  book  which  he  wrote  on  the  subject  was 
accepted  by  one  of  the  leading  publishing  houses,  but  on  account  of 
war  conditions  it  was  not  published.  His  last  book  was  a  discussion 
of  practical  civics,  but  the  same  conditions  obtained  and  the  book 
was  never  printed. 

As  a  young  man  and  growing  with  his  years  the  quality  of 
patriotism  was  developed  to  its  highest  point.  At  the  outbreak  of  the 
Civil  war  he  promptly  enlisted  on  the  side  of  the  Union  and  fought 
with  the  Eighty-third  Ohio  Volunteer  Infantry  for  three  years. 
During  one  of  the  hardest  engagements  he  carried  not  only  his  own 
colors  but  those  of  the  Twenty-third  Wisconsin,  whose  color  bearers 
had  been  shot  down  again  and  again.  Catching  up  the  flag  as  it  was  going 
down,  he  rallied  the  men  of  the  Wisconsin  Regiment  to  a  final  charge. 
For  this  act  of  bravery  he  was  given  a  furlough  to  carry  the  Wisconsin 
colors  back  to  the  organization  that  presented  them,  and  they  are  now 
at  the  State  House  in  Madison. 

After  his  return  from  the  war  he  went  up  the  Mississippi  River  by 
steamboat  to  claim  his  bride,  Ida  Louise  Watkins.  They  were 
married  on  September  6,  1865.  Four  daughters  were  born  to  them, 
two  of  whom,  Mrs.  H.  A.  Atwood  and  Miss  Julia  Myers,  together  with 
Mrs.  Myers,  survive  him. 

Mr.  Myers  was  a  man  who  thought  big  thoughts  and  engaged  in 
big  things.  His  career  in  the  real  estate  business  was  marked  by  big 
ventures,  which  finally  won  him  a  competence.  As  superintendent  of 
a  men's  reformatory  in  St.  Cloud,  Minnesota,  he  worked  out  policies 
that  put  him  in  the  first  rank  with  penologists :  as  a  politician  he 
cared  nothing  for  place  but  loved  to  play  the  game ;  as  a  citizen  he 


1156       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

stood  for  the  highest  and  best.  He  loved  California  and  Riverside, 
and  many  years  ago  made  the  decision  that  this  was  to  be  the  home 
in  his  declining  years  and  his  final  resting  place. 

The  most  striking  characteristic  of  Mr.  Myers  was  his  dauntless 
courage— the  courage  of  the  losing  fight,  and  to  the  end  he  faced  life 
and  all  its  exigencies  with  an  unconquered  spirit. 

Rev.  T.  J.  Fitzgerald — One  of  the  best  loved  men  in  Redlands  is 
Father  Fitzgerald,  who  for  nearly  thirty  years  has  been  the  spiritual 
head  of  the  Catholic  parish  here,  and  is  esteemed  almost  equally 
by  Protestants  as  well  as  among  his  own  church  people.  It  is  per- 
mitted to  set  down  some  of  his  impressions  gained  from  his  long 
experience  here. 

"San  Bernardino  County  pioneers  compare  favorably  with  up- 
builders  in  any  part  of  the  state.  It  has  been  the  good  fortune  of 
some  of  us  to  hear  from  their  own  lips  the  accounts  of  hardships  en- 
dured and  dangers  encountered  that  success  might  come  to  their 
labors.  The  hardy  pioneers  were  brave  workers.  They  had  a  pur- 
pose in  life,  and  they  put  all  their  energies,  mental  and  physical,  to  the 
attainment  of  that  purpose. 

"Redlands  is,  I  am  sure,  the  pride  of  San  Bernardino  County. 
Few  places  in  the  whole  world  have  such  natural  attractions  as  Red- 
lands.  A  friend  of  mine  once  met  a  world  renowned  traveler  on  the 
top  of  Mount  Riga.  This  friend  questioned  the  traveler  as  to  the 
most  beautiful  place  he  had  seen.  After  thinking  a  little  while  he 
said  'the  most  beautiful  spot  I  have  ever  seen  is  a  little  place  called 
Redlands  in  San  Bernardino  County,  California,  America.'  This 
friend  communicated  this  information  to  me,  and  my  response  was  'I 
have  always  thought  so.' 

"I  came  to  Redlands  twenty-seven  years  ago  last  June,  and  from 
that  day  to  this  it  has  always  been  'young  and  fair  to  me.'  In  a 
humble,  small,  obscure  way  nothing  has  been  left  undone  by  me, 
on  my  part,  to  aid  in  upbuilding  the  town.  In  that  time  our  lot  and 
labors  have  been  cast  chiefly  among  the  poorer  element  of  the  town. 
The  Catholic  priest,  like  the  church  to  which  he  belongs,  takes  an  in- 
terest in  everything  that  tends  to  the  upbuilding  of  mankind,  he  ex- 
cludes no  one  from  his  ministrations.  His  own,  of  course,  are  his 
direct  and  immediate  care ;  and  in  caring  for  his  own  his  attention  is 
constantly  and  chiefly  directed  to  things  moral  and  things  associated 
with  morality.  The  Trinity  of  the  world's  progress  is  the  home,  the 
school  and  the  church.  These  are  placed  in  the  order  of  their  im- 
portance, though  they  affect  each  other  as  part  of  one  great  whole, 
and  they  act  and  reach  out  one  to  the  other.  The  Catholic  Church  be- 
lieves in  the  absolute  necessity  of  religious  training  for  children,  so 
side  by  side  with  the  church  goes  the  school.  The  school  is  set  up  to 
add  religion  to  the  daily  training  of  the  child.  Redlands  has  many 
fine  schools,  and  very  efficient  teachers,  and  the  schools  have  grown 
in  every  way  in  the  past  twenty  years.  Catholics  are  proud  to  take 
their  place  as  educators. 

"Beginning  with  a  mere  handful— exactly  one  dozen — our  school 
kept  growing,  so  that  today  we  have  two  schools,  with  an  attendance 
of  two  hundred  and  fifty  children.  The  Catholic  Church  in  Red- 
lands  has  been  enlarged  three  times  since  it  was  first  built.  It  has 
a  membership  of  twelve  hundred." 

The  pastor  may  be  set  down  as  one  of  the  pioneers  of  the  county. 
He  was  born  in  Kerry,  Ireland,  October  25,  1857.     He  received  his 


Spc^,^/^ 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1157 

primary  education  in  the  local  schools  and  a  private  school  conducted 
by  the  Fathers  of  St.  Dominic.  At  St.  Brendan's  Seminary,  Killarney, 
he  received  his  preparatory  training  for  four  years,  and  from  there 
entered  the  great  university  of  Maynooth.  After  seven  years  he 
completed  a  post-graduate  course  and  was  ordained  to  the  priesthood 
in   1883.     His  first  missionary  labors  were  in  Scotland. 

In  1887  he  was  called  home  to  his  native  parish,  but  after  a  year 
of  labor  his  health  failed  and  he  set  out  for  Colorado.  The  climate 
was  very  beneficial  for  his  lung  trouble,  but  the  altitude  soon  pro- 
duced hemorrhages,  and  in  1893  he  left  Colorado  and  came  to  Cali- 
fornia, settling  first  at  Beaumont  and  then  in  San  Bernardino  County. 
The  following  year,  at  the  request  of  Father  Stockman,  a  venerable 
pioneer,  he  took  charge  at  Redlands.  This  was  then  a  small  place, 
and  there  were  few  Catholics.  However,  Father  Fitzgerald  accepted 
it  and  has  stayed  with  it  since  then.  Considerable  success  has  at- 
tended his  work,  and  it  has  attracted  the  appreciation  of  his  ecclesi- 
astical superiors.  Other  and  larger  charges  were  offered,  but  he  refused 
them,  determined  to  keep  the  little  place  where  he  began. 

In  1920  Pope  Benedict  raised  him  to  the  dignity  of  a  Domestic  Prel- 
ate and  this  was  followed  by  making  him  a  Prothonotary  Apostolic, 
the  highest  dignity  in  the  power  of  the  Pontiff  to  bestow.  All  the  same, 
the  old  Father  remains  unchanged.  He  is  still  preaching,  teaching,  and 
waiting  cheerfully  on  the  sick  and  suffering. 

Rev.  John  B.  Toomay,  pastor  of  Bethel  Congregational  Church  at 
Ontario,  has  rounded  out  a  career  of  a  quarter  of  a  century  of  faithful 
work  in  the  ministry,  and  is  known  as  one  of  the  able  thinkers  and 
public  leaders  of  San  Bernardino  County. 

Rev.  Mr.  Toomay  was  born  in  Ray  County,  Missouri,  in  1868, 
son  of  Edward  and  Martha  Toomay.  His  father  was  a  native  of 
Cork,  Ireland,  came  to  America  in  early  life  and  served  as  a  soldier 
in  the  Civil  war.  The  mother  belonged  to  a  family  of  Missouri 
pioneers  who  went  to  that  state  from  Tennessee. 

Rev.  John  B.  Toomay  was  an  A.  B.  graduate  from  Otterbein 
University  in  Ohio,  and  subsequently  received  his  Bachelor  of 
Divinity  degree  from  Yale  College.  Of  the  twenty-five  years  he  has 
spent  in  the  ministry  fifteen  were  years  of  labor  in  church  building  and 
preaching  in  Missouri,  while  for  ten  years  his  duties  have  lain  in 
California.  He  has  been  pastor  of  the  Congregational  Church  at 
Ontario  for  the  past  four  years.  Two  years  ago  he  built  an  attractive 
home  in  Ontario,  and  his  parents,  now  over  eighty  years  of  age, 
live  with  him. 

Mr.  Toomay  was  camp  pastor  at  Camp  Kearney  for  a  short  time 
during  the  late  war,  and  was  prominent  in  all  war  activities  during  the 
term  of  the  war.  Among  other  duties  he  is  probation  officer  for 
the  west  end  of  San  Bernardino  County.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
El  Camino  Real  Club,  made  up  of  local  educators  and  thinkers.  He  is 
a  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  progressive  wing  of  the  republican 
party.  Rev.  Mr.  Toomay  is  widely  traveled,  and  a  number  of  years 
ago  he. went  abroad  for  an  extensive  tour  of  the  Mediterranean  coun- 
tries, in  the  course  of  which  he  visited  the  cities  of  Rome  and  Athens 
and  also  Constantinople,  Egypt,  and  the  Holy  Land. 

At  Westerville,  Ohio,  in  1891,  he  married  Miss  Minnie  O.  Bender, 
daughter  of  Daniel  Bender,  of  Ohio.  Mrs.  Toomay  died  at  Ontario 
in  1919.  She  is  survived  by  a  daughter,  Helen  Toomay,  now  a  student 
in  Pomona  College.    Recently  Rev.  Mr.  Toomay  married  Inez  Craw- 


115S       SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

ford,  a  returned  missionary  from  Japan.     She  is  a  daughter  of  John 
Crawford,  a  well  known  pioneer  of  Southern  California.  Mrs.  Toomay 
has  lived  at  Ontario  since  she  was  two  years  of  age  except  for  the 
its  she  spent  in  her  missionary  labors  in  Japan. 

William  B.  Cclross. — While  almost  every  branch  of  industrial  and 
commercial  activity  is  well  represented  in  San  Bernardino  County, 
it  must  be  admitted  that  those  connected  with  the  production  and 
marketing  of  fruits  are  of  paramount  importance,  as  this  is  especially 
a  fruit-growing  section  of  the  country.  Much  stress  has  been  laid 
upon  the  energy,  foresight  and  aggressiveness  of  the  men  who  are 
devoting  themselves  to  the  deciduous  industry,  and  the  half  has  not 
been  told,  but  the  same  is  equally  true  of  those  who  afford  a  market 
for  the  products  of  the  orchards  and  bring  the  producer  into  contact 
with  the  marts  of  trade.  One  of  the  men  whose  entire  life  has  been 
spent  in  this  line  of  work  is  William  B.  Culross.  of  Colton.  who  is 
now  manager  of  the  Colton  plant  of  the  Golden  State  Canneries,  a 
man  known  all  over  this  part  of  the  state  as  an  exponent  of  effective- 
ness and  sound  business  methods. 

William  B.  Culross  was  born  at  Rochester.  New  York.  August  27. 
1882.  and  comes  of  Colonial  stock  on  his  mother's  side,  and  of  Scotch 
descent  on  his  father's  side.  He  is  a  son  of  careful  parents  who  sent 
him  to  school  at  Rochester  for  a  couple  of  years,  but  in  1890  the 
family  came  to  California  and  settled  at  San  Bernardino,  where  they 
spent  a  year,  the  lad  attending  the  San  Bernardino  schools.  In  1893 
a  return  was  made  to  Rochester,  but  in  1894  the  family  once  more 
came  to  California,  and  took  up  permanent  residence  at  Rialto. 
William  B.  Culross  had  two  more  years  in  the  San  Bernardino  schools 
and  a  year  in  the  Riverside  Business  College,  and  then  was  ready  for 
his  contact  with  the  actualities  of  life.  He  became  associated  with 
A.  Gregory,  an  orange  grower  and  shipper  at  Redlands.  as  stenog- 
rapher, and  in  this  connection  learned  one  end  of  the  business,  so 
that  when  he  came  to  Colton  it  was  as  secretary  of  the  Gregory  Fruit 
Company,  and  he  held  that  position  until  the  concern  was  absorbed 
by  the  Golden  State  Canneries,  at  which  time  he  was  made  manager 
of  the  Colton  plant,  and  still  holds  this  responsible  position.  While 
-  the  republican  ticket,  he  has  never  concerned  himself  greatly 
about  politics,  but  when  elected  to  the  Colton  City  Council  rendered 
such  efficient  service  to  his  ward  and  city-  that  he  has  been  re-elected 
several  times  and  is  now  serving  his  ninth  consecutive  year  in  that 
body,  the  last  seven  years  being  the  presiding  officer.    He  is  a  Mason. 

In  1906  Mr.  Culross  married  at  Colton  Miss  Effie  Gilbert,  the 
ceremony  being  celebrated  on  the  day  of  the  San  Francisco  earth- 
quake. Mrs.  Culross  is  a  native  of  Iowa  and  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Elmer  E.  Gilbert,  of  Colton.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Culross  have  two 
daughters.  Ada  and  Bertha.  The  leading  characteristic  displayed  by 
Mr.  Culross  is  dependability.  With  it  he  possesses  ability,  persistency 
and  sincerity,  and  never  goes  into  anything  unless  he  heartily  believes 
in  it  and  is  certain  that  its  successful  termination  will  be  of  lasting 
good  to  the  majority.  He  is  deservedly  popular,  and  stands  very 
high  in  public  confidence. 

Feed  W.  Frexch. — After  a  broad  and  general  successful  business 
experience  in  the  East  Fred  W.  French  came  to  California  with  his 
familv  in  1911.  and  after  a  few  vears  entered  the  real  estate  business. 


SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1159 

He  is  now  senior  member  of  French-Spangler  Realty  Company  at 
San  Bernardino. 

Mr.  French  was  born  at  Paulding,  Ohio,  November  20.  1867 
of  Andrew  Y.  and  Lottie  B.  French.    His  father  had  to  his  credit  a 
record  of  four  and  a  half  years'  service  as  a  Union  soldier  in  the 
Civil  war.    He  first  enlisted  when  about  fifteen  years  of  age.    F 
rrer.  :r.    i'rt       "'    s.:    :v:'.f.-i-    iri  '.    i"-      :r   ~    '   i""    -'  "      -       ' 

1882.  and  took  a  commercial  course  in  the  Valparais 
of  Indiana.    For  ten  years  he  had  the  ex:    -  xjkkeeper  and 

stenographer  in  Chicago.  Returning  to  Paulding  in  1893,  he  was 
in  the  newspaper  business  there  three  years,  and  for  seven  year- 
conducted  a  mercantile  establishment.  In  1904  Mr.  French  removed 
to  Defiance,  Ohio,  where  he  was  again  in  the  general  merchandise 
business. 

V.'r.er.  he  :a.rr.  e  '.  "_V.::  ~~.  -.  :r  '.'.'.'.  he  '.  v  :  r.  -.-  ~r.e  ~  - 
at  Rialto.  but  in  1914  moved  to  San  Bernardino  and  became  associated 
with  C.  M.  Dalldorf  in  the  real  estate  business.  Their  partnership 
was  dissolved  in  Tune,  1916.  and  since  then  Mr.  French  has  been 
associated  with  Preston  A.  Spangler  in  the  firm  of  French-Spangler 
Realty  Company,  real  estate,  loans  and  insurance.  It  is  one  of  the 
'.ti.'..-  z  --rr.-     :  -'.- t  '-:  -  I   ir.    ;i~ i  e: -  '.-     r.      I:ur.r 

Mr.  French  for  many  years  has  been  a  Knight  Templar  Mason 
-~~  '-.'.'.■:  '--.'.  :-  =  'r '-'-'■  --'- :'-'.~.t  i  r -L.tr  :  -.he  I:  ".'•:-  He  \  e:£.~  e  i~  .  -.:-.  - 
with  the  Presbyterian  Church  in  Ohio,  but  after  coming  to  California 
■-\~ -:.:---\  r.:=  rr.tr-  '■•;--'■-  :  :r.t  _  r.rreei::  r.a.1  ir.:'..  --.  ?.:  =  '.: 
and  later  to  the  Congregational  Church  at  San  Bernardino. 
Mr.  French  resides  at  332  Magnolia  Street,  with  his  two  children. 
Cecil  S.  and  Kathleen  French  Chapin,  both  of  whom  are  employed 
:r.  \r.t  '  :.-r.t--  life     i  S=.r.   \---  \-  '..-  . 

Cecil  S.  French,  born  in  1890.  at  Paulding,  Ohio,  has  lived  in 
California  since  1911.  and  for  the  last  four  years  has  been  in  the 
employ  of  the  Santa  Fe  Railway  Company.  Kathleen  French  Chapin 
was  born  in  1895  at  Paulding,  graduated  from  the  Defiance,  Ohio. 
High  School  in  1911.  and  in  the  same  year  came  to  California.  She 
:  ~;".e:e  :  a  :  rr.rr.er:  =.!  :  ^r;e  :r.  a.  urta  :  '.tzt  .-.  -  .'  i 
has  since  been  connected  with  the  Farmers  Exchange  National  Bank 
of  San  Bernardino. 

Pbestox  A.  Spaxgles  was  born  in  Delaware  County.  Ohio,  August  17, 
:  fin  ot  John  L.  and  Mary  L.  Spangler.  He  received  only  a 
district  school  education,  and  engaged  as  clerk  in  a  dry  goods  business 
---.  :'.  t  i_-e  i  rf:eer  ~~t  :  '.'.  'e;  :r.e  -ir.  t  ::::;;:  -  _-:.'.  :\  re 
of  health,  and  came  to  California  with  his  widowed  mother  and  wife 
in  October.  1901.  Engaging  at  that  time  in  the  life  insurance  business 
in  Los  Angeles,  he  followed  the  same  fine  until  May.  1916.  when  he 
became  associated  with  F.  W.  French  in  the  real  estate  business  in 
y-.r.   i  fr.-.-  ::-        i  V.  i   ::■; 

Chailes  H.  DrxHAM  was  born  at  Fort  Wayne,  Indiana.  November 
30.  1883.  a  son  of  Frank  W.  and  Jennie  M.  Dunham.  He  moved  to 
Paulding  County.  Ohio,  with  parents  in  1891,  and  attended  public 
school  and  the  Ohio  Northern  University,  at  Ada.  Ohio.  Mr.  Dunham 
was  deputy  treasurer  of  Paulding  County.  Ohio,  from  1901  to  1905. 
and  was  then  engaged  in  the  wholesale  and  retail  tobacco  business 
until  July.  1919.    He  moved  to  San  Bernardino,  California,  in  October 


1160       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

1919,  and  became  associated  in  business  with  the   French  Spangler 
Realty  Company. 

Abram  Stoner  Fox — The  pioneer  orange  shipper  of  Colton,  send- 
ing out  the  first  car  of  the  golden  fruit  from  that  city,  and  also  the 
packer  of  the  first  car  of  oranges  ever  shipped  from  Rialto  and  Bloom- 
ington,  Abram  Stoner  Fox  is  well  known  to  every  citrus  grower,  packer 
and  shipper  as  an  authority  on  citrus  fruits  and  horticulture  generally. 

He  did  not  have  an  easy  time  of  it,  for  he  had  to  see  the  Southern 
Pacific  have  first  choice  of  the  precious  water  he  needed  for  his  groves, 
and  only  too  often  not  a  drop  flowed  down  to  his  ranch  in  the  hot  weather. 
He  and  his  wife  packed  his  first  shipment  in  1881,  and  the  work  was 
done  in  their  kitchen  and  they  were  very  proud  of  their  infant  industry. 
In  after  years,  when  he  was  a  grower  and  shipper  of  prominence  and 
success,  it  must  have  been  a  rare  pleasure  to  recall  those  early  days. 

Mr.  Fox  can  be  placed  in  the  ranks  of  the  pioneers,  for  he  came  to 
California  in  1876  and  located  in  Colton  when  there  were  only  three 
houses  in  the  place.  He  is  prominently  identified  with  that  district,  not 
only  in  his  horticultural  work  but  in  the  civic  life  of  Colton,  which  city 
he  served  faithfully  and  most  successfully,  and  much  of  the  important 
improvement  and  advancement  of  Colton  was  accomplished  while  he 
was  in  office  there.  In  fraternal  and  social  circles  he  was  an  important 
factor,  and  when  he  removed  to  Redlands  some  ten  years  ago  he  left 
a  void  in  the  life  of  Colton  which  it  has  been  impossible  to  fill.  In  Red- 
lands  he  has  become  just  as  prominent  as  in  Colton,  and  is  growing 
oranges  in  the  same  successful  manner  he  did  in  his  first  California  home. 

Mr.  Fox  was  born  in  New  Castle,  Pennsylvania,  on  July  4,  1855, 
of  Scotch  and  Irish  descent.  He  is  the  son  of  Andrew  and  Catherine 
(Pence)  Fox,  both  of  whom  were  natives  of  the  same  state  as  the  son. 
The  elder  Fox  was  a  miller  by  occupation.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fox  were  the 
parents  of  eleven  children,  five  boys  and  six  girls,  of  whom  Abram 
Stoner  Fox  was  the  tenth  child. 

He  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Pennsylvania,  and  as  he  had  a 
brother  in  Colton,  California,  he  decided  to  come  out  to  the  coast.  He 
arrived  in  Colton  September  26,  1876,  at  the  time  the  Trans-Continental 
Railroad  was  being  completed.  There  were  three  houses  in  Colton  at 
that  time,  but  the  depot  was  being  constructed. 

Mr.  Fox  was  about  twenty  years  old  when  he  arrived  in  Colton,  with 
no  thought  of  becoming  one  of  the  foremost  citrus  growers,  packers  and 
shippers.  Instead  he  intended  to  study  medicine  under  the  brother  resi- 
dent in  Colton,  Dr.  William  Fox,  who  came  to  California  in  1874,  one 
of  the  first  physicians  in  Colton.  Dr.  Fox  was  the  first  settler  on  Col- 
ton Terrace  Tract,  and  he  set  out  an  orange  grove  of  seedlings  and  also 
a  grove  of  limes  in  1875.  so  he  also  was  a  pioneer  grower. 

Instead  of  commencing  the  study  of  medicine  Mr.  Fox  commenced 
the  study  of  horticulture  by  undertaking  the  care  of  his  brother's  grove. 
In  this  manner  he  was  employed  for  eighteen  years.  In  the  meantime 
he  had  been  accumulating  land  and  had  twenty-eight  acres  set  out  in 
oranges,  which  made  it  necessary  at  that  time  to  sever  connections  with 
his  brother  and  commence  looking  after  his  own  interests,  which  were 
becoming  important.  Later  on  he  added  to  his  holdings,  so  that  on 
leaving  Colton  he  had  fifty  acres  in  oranges.  It  was  in  1881  that  he 
shipped  and  he  and  Mrs.  Fox  packed  his  first  shipment  in  the  kitchen 
of  their  home. 

As  noted  above,  he  had  to  obtain  water  under  difficulties,  for  it  came 
from  Raner  Ranch   (originally  Merks  Ranch)  and  the  Southern  Pacific 


A-J^<^ 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1161 

having  call  on  the  first  ten  inches  of  water,  which  was  brought  down  in 
an  open  ditch.  Very  often  in  warm  weather  it  dwindled  away,  although 
there  might  be  one  hundred  inches  at  the  head,  and  Mr.  Fox  would  not 
get  a  drop  of  it. 

When  Mr.  Fox  shipped  the  first  carload  of  oranges  from  Colton  the 
packing  was  done  in  a  shed  on  Dr.  Fox's  ranch  and  it  was  shipped  in  an 
ordinary  box  car,  refrigerated  cars  being  unknown  then.  Later  the 
depot  was  used  for  this  purpose.  Mr.  Fox,  having  shipped  the  first 
car  of  fruit  out  of  Colton,  did  the  same  thing  at  Rialto  and  Blooming- 
ton,  and  then  formed  an  Exchange,  including  Colton,  Redlands  Junction, 
Bloomington  and  Rialto.  The  Pavilion,  which  was  a  part  of  the  Fair 
grounds  was  purchased  and  converted  into  a  packing  house — the  first 
in  San  Bernardino  County. 

Mr.  Fox  continued  packing,  and  followed  that  industry  in  addition 
to  growing  until  1910,  when  he  decided  to  give  up  that  branch  of  the 
citrus  industry.  He  moved  over  to  Redlands  and  henceforward  gave 
his  time  and  attention  to  the  growing  of  oranges.  As  one  of  the  earliest 
orange  growers  of  the  county  he  is  always  interested  in  its  growth  and 
development. 

When  Mr.  Fox  was  twenty-one  he  joined  San  Bernardino  Lodge, 
Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  the  first  lodge  in  the  county.  He  is 
a  past  grand  of  the  Colton  lodge  and  is  today  the  only  living  charter 
member.  Its  most  influential  members  were  Hebrews,  and  in  Mr.  Fox^ 
opinion  they  were  among  his  best  advisers  on  matters  of  both  morals  and 
citizenship.  He  also  joined  the  Masonic  Order  and  at  the  present  time 
is  a  member  of  Redlands  Lodge  No.  300,  F.  and  A.  M.  He  is  also  a 
member  of  the  Foresters,  Woodmen  and  the  Fraternal  Brotherhood 
He  was  a  charter  member  of  the  Colton  Band,  organized  in  1880.  Of 
the  band  Scipio  Craig  was  leader,  and  this  was  San  Bernardino  County's 
first  brass  band.  He  was  city  trustee  of  Colton  when  the  Municipal 
Water  Company  was  organized  and  the  plant  was  installed,  and  he  was 
active  in  the  organization  and  installation,  as  in  all  other  enterprises 
which  would  advance  the  interests  of  Colton. 

On  October  26,  1877,  Mr.  Fox  wedded  Miss  Anna  Amanda  Hager, 
who  was  born  at  Jersey  Shore,  Pennsylvania,  March  20,  1857.  They 
are  the  parents  of  seven  children :  Lettie  Charlotte,  born  in  August, 
1880,  is  married  to  Ralph  Sweney.  She  lives  in  Arizona  and  has  two 
children,  Ralph,  Jr.,  and  Charlotte  Kitty,  born  in  1881,  is  now  Mrs. 
Arthur  Cortner,  whose  husband  is  an  undertaker  in  Redlands.  Stella, 
born  in  1884,  was  married  to  Mont  P.  Chubb,  a  prosperous  druggist  of 
Redlands.  Ella,  born  in  1888,  is  now  the  wife  of  W.  T.  S.  Munhall,  an 
orange  grower  of  Redlands.  Florence,  born  in  1894,  is  now  Mrs.  George 
Simon,  of  Pasadena,  California.  She  has  one  child,  George  Stoner  Fox. 
Lydia,  born  in  1898.  is  an  accomplished  musician,  employed  as  an  ac- 
countant at  Leipsic's  store  and  residing  with  her  parents.  Lucille,  born 
in  1905,  is  attending  high  school  and  lives  with  her  parents.  All  the 
children  are  high  school  graduates. 

Hiram  C.  Matteson. — It  is  not  so  difficult  a  matter  for  a  man  to 
achieve  success  when  he  does  not  meet  with  obstacles,  but  it  is  to 
his  credit  when,  in  spite  of  adverse  circumstances,  hampered  by  the 
ill  health  of  dependents,  he  manages  to  build  up  a  large  and  pros- 
perous business,  and  this  is  just  what  Hiram  C.  Matteson  has  done, 
so  that  his  dairy  business  is  one  of  the  largest  in  San  Bernardino, 
and  he  is  accounted  as  one  of  the  reliable  and  honorable  men  of  this 
region. 


1162      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Hiram  C.  Matteson  was  born  near  Lake  Winnebago  in  the 
northern  part  of  Wisconsin,  January  1,  1863,  a  son  of  Dr.  Cyrene  K. 
Matteson,  a  veteran  of  the  war  between  the  states.  While  the  several 
wounds  he  received  during  his  period  of  service  did  not  result 
seriously,  his  health  was  greatly  impaired  because  of  an  attack  of 
smallpox  and  black  erysipelas  from  which  he  suffered.  On  account 
of  this  ill  health  he  moved  to  Northwestern  Iowa  when  his  son  was 
a  lad,  and  there  the  latter  attended  the  public  schools  from  1869  to 
1875.  Still  seeking  a  more  congenial  climate,  Doctor  Matteson  came 
to  San  Bernardino,  the  date  of  his  arrival  being  March  30,  1884.  He 
had  studied  medicine  in  the  Cincinnati  Medical  College,  from  which 
he  was  graduated  with  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Medicine,  and  he 
oftentimes  stated  that  Doctor  Colliver  and  Mrs.  Dohrman  of  San 
Bernardino  were  also  graduated  from  the  same  college.  He  was 
engaged  in  an  active  practice,  in  Wisconsin,  Iowa  and  Tennessee, 
but  not  in  California.  Mr.  Colliver's  professional  act  was  to  vaccinate 
one  of  Doctor  Matteson's  grandchildren  shortly  before  his  death. 
Doctor  Matteson  was  a  man  of  high  standing,  both  socially  and  in  his 
profession,  and  in  his  death  San  Bernardino  lost  one  of  its  most  repre- 
sentative citizens. 

Hiram  Calvin  Matteson  was  engaged  in  farm  work  in  and  about 
San  Bernardino  for  the  first  few  years  after  his  arrival  in  this  section 
of  the  country.  In  1903  he  established  himself  in  a  dairy  business, 
but  met  with  reverses  owing  to  the  inability  to  collect  his  accounts 
and  the  expense  and  anxiety  attendant  upon  the  sickness  of  his  wife, 
but  he  is  a  man  who  does  not  know  there  is  such  a  word  as  "quit," 
and,  therefore,  with  characteristic  energy  he  began  again,  although 
with  only  $75.00  as  his  capital.  His  new  business  dates  back  only 
to  1919,  but  he  has  now  made  such  progress  that  he  has  his  retailing 
department  well  located  in  commodious  quarters  at  412  H  Street, 
and  is  handling  a  trade  that  averages  $3,000  a  month.  He  has  accom- 
plished what  is  a  modern  miracle,  by  working  practically  day  and 
night,  for  his  hours  run  from  5  A.  M.  to  10  P.  M. 

Mr.  Matteson  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Walton,  who  was  born  in 
Northern  California,  and  they  have  four  children,  namely :  Caroline, 
Francis,  Charles  Kenneth  and  John.  Caroline  was  married  to 
E.  E.  Perry,  a  veteran  of  the  World  war.  Mr.  Perry  was  wounded 
in  the  back  by  a  piece  of  shell  while  serving  in  the  trenches  in  France. 
As,  a  result  of  this  injury  he  is  unable  to  do  anything  but  light  work. 
Owing  to  his  absorption  in  his  business  Mr.  Matteson  has  not  been 
able  to  take  much  part  in  outside  matters,  but  is  interested  in  the 
progress  of  the  city  and  is  willing  to  do  what  lies  in  his  power  to 
secure  the  welfare  of  his  home  community. 

Harry  C.  Hornbeck. — One  of  the  first  evidences  given  by  a  com- 
munity of  its  prosperity  is  the  erection  of  handsome,  modern  buildings 
for  business  and  residential  purposes.  As  long  as  the  people  are 
satisfied  with  old,  unimproved  and  decaying  properties,  they  cannot 
be  said  to  take  much  interest  in  their  surroundings,  nor  are  they 
regarded  as  very  progressive  by  outsiders.  When,  however,  old 
buildings  begin  to  fall,  and  new  ones  go  up  in  their  place,  the  proof 
is  positive  that  a  new  element  has  been  injected,  that  a  fresh  start 
has  been  made,  and  it  is  remarkable  what  a  change  comes  about  not 
only  in  the  appearance  of  the  place,  but  the  people  themselves.  Local 
pride    is    stimulated,    competition    is    awakened,    and    outside    capital 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1163 

is  attracted.  Newcomers  passing  threugh  are  impressed  with  the 
advantages  of  the  region,  and  even  if  they  do  not  become  permanent 
residents,  they  carry  forth  the  information  regarding  the  locality, 
which  is  of  so  favorable  a  nature  that  others  do  come  in  resolved  to 
remain.  Connected  with  such  improvements  in  a  close  degree,  and 
oftentimes  bringing  them  about,  are  the  contractors  and  builders, 
without  whom  no  real  improvements  of  a  lasting  nature  can  be 
affected.  One  of  these  representative  men  of  San  Bernardino  who 
has  more  than  done  his  part  in  the  improvement  of  this  city  is 
Harry  C.  Hornbeck,  one  of  the  most  capable  and  experienced  men  in 
his  line  in  Southern  California. 

Harry  C.  Hornbeck  was  born  in  Hoopeston,  near  Danville,  Illinois, 
July  1,  1881,  a  son  of  Newton  and  Sarah  G.  (Smith)  Hornbeck. 
Newton  Hornbeck  was  born  in  New  York  State,  and  is  now  a  resident 
of  Los  Angeles,  California.  He  is  a  veteran  of  the  Union  Army, 
having  served  in  Company  E,  One  Hundred  and  Fourth  Illinois  Vol- 
unteer Infantry.  Although  only  sixteen  years  old  at  the  time  of  his 
enlistment,  he  finally  was  accepted,  although  it  was  his  third  time  of 
trying.  Like  so  many  lads  of  that  period,  he  was  intensely  patriotic 
and  determined  to  be  a  soldier.  His  parents  regarded  him  as  too 
youthful  for  such  service,  so  he  ran  away,  and  when  sent  back  by 
army  officials,  again  ran  away,  and  repeated  the  action  when  he  was 
again  returned  to  his  parents.  In  spite  of  his  youth  he  proved  a  good 
soldier  and  participated  in  many  important  engagements,  including 
those  of  Peach  Tree  Creek,  Lookout  Mountain,  and  those  of  General 
Sherman's  campaign  from  Atlanta  to  the  sea.  He  was  wounded  in 
the  leg  by  a  spent  ball,  but  was  otherwise  uninjured.  Becoming  a 
contractor  and  builder,  he  followed  that  line  of  business  for  many 
years,  and  for  years  was  a  prominent  figure  in  Livingston  County, 
Illinois,  where  he  served  as  sheriff  and  as  a  justice  of  the  peace.  For 
more  than  twenty  years  he  served  as  commander  of  his  post  of  the 
Grand  Army  of  the  Republic  at  Streator,  Illinois.  His  father,  Henry 
Hornbeck,  established  the  family  at  Streator,  coming  to  Illinois  from 
New  York  State  in  1855.  The  Hornbeck  family  is  an  old  American 
one  of  Revolutionary  stock. 

Mrs.  Sarah  G.  (Smith)  Hornbeck,  mother  of  Harry  C.  Hornbeck, 
was  born  in  Connecticut,  and  died  in  1919.  She,  too,  came  of  Revolu- 
tionary stock,  and  her  family  is  of  English  descent,  her  great  uncle 
being  General  Warren  of  the  Colonial  Army,  and  she  was  also  related 
to  the  same  family  as  General  Wooster  of  Revolutionary  fame.  In 
addition  to  Harry  C.  Hornbeck  there  are  three  children  of  the  family 
of  Newton  Hornbeck  and  his  wife  still  living,  namely :  William  E., 
who  is  a  contractor  of  Los  Angeles,  California,  is  married  and  has 
three  living  children,  one  of  his  sons,  Earl  Hornbeck,  having  been 
killed  in  action  in  the  Argonne  sector  in  France  September  28,  1917, 
by  the  side  of  his  lieutenant ;  Claude  C,  who  is  a  motorman  of 
Los  Angeles,  is  married  and  has  six  children ;  and  Ida,  who  is  the 
wife  of  Albert  Plummer,  an  electrician  of  Los  Angeles,  and  they  have 
two  children. 

It  is  interesting  to  note  in  connection  with  the  Hornbeck  family 
that  during  the  historical  debate  between  Abraham  Lincoln  and 
Stephen  A.  Douglas,  held  at  Ottawa,  Illinois,  there  were  thirty-six 
states  represented  by  as  many  young  ladies  of  the  city,  and  nine  of 
them  were  sisters  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Newton  Hornbeck. 


1164      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Harry  C.  Hornbeck  attended  the  public  schools  of  Streator, 
Illinois,  and  then  went  into  the  building  and  contracting  business 
with  his  father  at  Streator,  where  he  continued  to  reside  for  about 
six  years.  For  the  following  three  years  he  worked  in  different 
Illinois  cities,  and  then  located  at  Springfield,  Illinois,  and  continued 
a  resident  of  that  city  for  ten  years.  While  there  he  was  engaged 
for  a  time  in  repair  work  on  the  old  Lincoln  home,  and  for  seven  years 
did  cabinet  and  case  work  for  the  Powers  planing  mill.  Leaving 
Springfield,  he  came  to  California  and,  settling  at  Long  Beach,  estab- 
lished himself  in  business  as  a  manufacturer  of  furniture,  conducting 
his  factory  for  about  eighteen  months  and  then  selling  and  locating 
permanently  at  San  Bernardino,  where  for  three  years  he  was  in  the 
employ  of  Contractor  Myzelle.  Mr.  Hornbeck  then  went  into  the 
contracting  and  building  business  for  himself,  and  since  then  the 
greater  part  of  his  work  has  been  in  the  erecting  of  dwellings  and 
store  fronts,  and  he  has  proven  in  it  that  he  thoroughly  understands 
every  detail  of  his  calling.  He  has  established  a  reputation  for  being 
strictly  honorable  and  for  living  up  to  the  spirit  as  well  as  the  letter 
of  his  contracts. 

Mr.  Hornbeck  has  had  a  full  and  active  life,  and  while  acquiring 
a  material  prosperity  has  not  neglected  what  is  still  more  important 
than  the  amassing  of  money,  the  winning  and  holding  of  public 
confidence,  and  his  standing  is  of  the  highest  commercially  as  well  as 
personally.  In  the  course  of  his  work  he  has  met  with  twenty  acci- 
dents, has  had  twenty-five  bones  in  his  body  broken,  but  in  spite 
of  the  serious  nature  of  many  of  his  injuries,  has  emerged  with  a 
cheerful  spirit  and  so  little  evidence  of  any  disastrous  results  that 
it  is  difficult  to  believe  he  ever  met  with  misfortune  of  any  kind. 
Formerly  Mr.  Hornbeck  belonged  to  the  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  but  no  longer  maintains  his  membership  in 
these  orders. 

On  July  2,  1905,  Mr.  Hornbeck  married  at  Springfield,  Illinois. 
Miss  Melissa  J.  Shutt,  a  native  of  Illinois,  and  a  daughter  of  Jacob 
Shutt.  Mrs.  Hornbeck  belongs  to  one  of  the  most  prominent  families 
of  Macoupin  County,  Illinois,  her  people  having  been  among  the 
pioneers  of  Central  Illinois.  The  Shutt  family  is  one  of  the  old  and 
honorable  ones  of  America,  having  been  founded  here  long  prior  to 
the  Revolution.  Air.  and  Mrs.  Hornbeck  have  three  children,  namely: 
Luella  May,  who  is  a  student  of  the  San  Bernardino  High  School, 
class  of  1925 ;  Lois  E.,  who  is  a  student  of  the  San  Bernardino  High 
School,  class  of  1926;  and  Marian  J.,  who  is  attending  school. 

Cecil  N.  Funk. — The  interests  and  activities  of  Cecil  N.  Funk  as  an 
orange  grower  have  been  a  factor  in  the  development  of  the  Riverside 
section  of  the  state  for  upwards  of  twenty  years.  The  name  Funk 
is  one  of  deserved  prominence  in  this  county,  due  both  to  the  work 
of  Cecil  Funk  and  also  that  of  his  father. 

Cecil  N.  Funk  was  born  at  Chesterhill,  Ohio,  August  13,  1879,  son 
of  Joseph  J.  and  Ruth  Ann  (Nichols)  Funk,  the  former  a  native  of 
Pennsylvania  and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  A  more  complete  review  of 
J.  J.  Funk  appears  elsewhere  in  this  publication. 

Cecil  Funk  had  a  grammar  and  high  school  education,  and  spent 
most  of  his  youth  as  well  as  his  mature  manhood  in  Riverside.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  Riverside  High  School  class  of  1899.  The 
United  States  entered  the  War  with  Spain  while  he  was  in  high  school, 
and  he  left  his  studies  to  enlist  in  Company  M  of  the  Seventh  Regi- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1165 

ment,  California  Volunteers.  During  the  period  of  the  war  he  was 
stationed  at  The  Presidio  in  San  Francisco.  Following  his  discharge 
he  engaged  in  the  orange  business,  and  that  has  been  his  chief  interest 
ever  since.  He  bought  five  acres  on  Sedgwick  Street  from 
C.  F.  Marcy,  later  selling  it  to  D.  C.  Corlett.  He  bought  two  other 
orange  properties  of  ten  acres  each,  one  on  Center  Street  at  High- 
grove  and  the  other  near  Colton  Avenue  on  the  Merrifield  tract. 
The  latter  he  retains  and  now  has  about  twenty-five  acres  in  oranges 
besides  other  property  interests  in  and  about  Riverside. 

In  1915  Mr.  Funk  removed  to  Idaho,  and  for  four  years  was  in  the 
wholesale  fruit  and  produce  business  at  Idaho  Falls.  Once  a  resident 
of  Riverside  no  one  is  completely  satisfied  with  any  other  place  of 
residence,  a"nd  Mr.  Funk  was  only  too  glad  to  arrange  his  affairs 
so  that  he  could  return  in  1919.  Since  that  year  in  addition  to  his 
private  interests  he  has  been  manager  of  the  Riverside  Heights 
Orange  Growers  Association  and  is  one  of  the  directors  of  the 
association. 

Mr.  Funk  is  a  citizen  who  keeps  in  touch  with  everything  affecting 
the  welfare  of  Riverside,  is  willing  to  work  for  its  improvements  and 
progress,  though  in  formal  politics  he  has  had  no  part  beyond  voting 
the  republican  ticket.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Kiwanis  and  Present 
Day  Clubs,  has  been  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  for  twenty-one  years  and  is  a  member  of  the  Benevolent 
and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  He  is  a  member  of  the  United  Brethren 
Church. 

He  married  Harriet  Jean  Wolf  September  9,  1908.  Mrs.  Funk 
came  from  Johnstown,  Ohio,  being  a  daughter  of  J.  W.  Wolf.  They 
have  two  daughters,  students  in  the  Riverside  schools,  Louise 
Josephine  and  Esther  Ruth. 

John  Marshall  Phy  was  a  pioneer  of  the  Pacific  Coast,  and  after 
nearly  half  a  century  of  residence  in  Oregon  as  a  stock  rancher  found  a 
delightful  home  at  Highland,  California,  where  he  lived  several  busy  and 
contented  years,  developing  his  home  and  orange  groves,  until  called  by 
death  in  1914. 

At  that  time  he  had  reached  the  age  of  nearly  three  quarters  of  a 
century.  He  was  born  in  1840,  and  at  the  age  of  eighteen  left  Missouri, 
going  by  way  of  New  Orleans  and  the  Isthmus  of  Panama  to  Portland, 
Oregon.  He  reached  Portland  with  fifty  cents  in  money.  After  writ- 
ing four  letters  back  home  he  was  penniless.  Before  coming  West  he 
had  borrowed  from  a  maiden  lady  eighty-five  dollars,  and  thus  his  intro- 
duction to  the  coast  country  was  as  a  stranger  in  a  strange  land  and 
eighty-five  dollars  in  debt.  For  a  time  he  worked  for  board  and  clothes, 
also  attended  school,  and  for  three  months  labored  in  a  saw  mill,  doing 
extra  time  so  that  he  was  paid  for  four  months.  One  summer  he  raised 
a  crop  of  corn.  There  was  no  market  for  the  grain,  so  he  fed  it  to  hogs 
and  sold  them  at  a  profit.  For  several  years  his  routine  was  working  in 
stores  during  the  winter  months  and  farming  in  summer.  Gradually  he 
laid  by  some  money  and  then  opened  a  stock  of  goods  to  supply  miners. 
There  was  no  currency,  and  he  paid  the  accepted  rates  by  weight  with 
gold  dust.  Still  later  he  bought  a  stock  ranch  at  The  Dalles,  Oregon,  and 
there  he  laid  a  still  firmer  foundation  for  his  material  prosperity.  After 
selling  out  he  returned  to  Union  County,  Oregon.  There  he  continued 
ranching  and  looking  after  his  family.  After  his  second  marriage,  in 
1896,  he  homesteaded  land  in  Catherine  Creek  Meadows.  It  was  a  rich 
summer  pasture,  but  in  winter  heavy  snows  fell  and  all  stock  had  to  be 


1166      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

removed  by  November,  and  there  was  no  open  range  until  the  following 
April.  Mr.  Phy  was  eminently  successful  as  a  stockman.  In  1905  he 
paid  a  visit  to  Southern  California,  and  was  so  delighted  with  the  coun- 
try that  within  three  weeks  he  had  bought  a  place  at  Highland  and  soon 
afterward  left  the  environment  of  half  a  century  and  moved  permanently 
to  San  Bernardino  County.  His  first  purchase  was  six  acres  and  later 
he  added  four  acres  more  on  Boulder  Avenue.  Mr.  Phy  lived  here 
nearly  ten  years.  He  came  to  enjoy  the  utmost  respect  of  the  community, 
and  took  part  in  social  and  civic  affairs.  He  was  a  thirty-second  degree 
Mason,  an  Odd  Fellow,  a  member  of  the  Congregational  Church,  and 
always  a  stanch  democrat  in  politics.  During  the  early  frontier  days  he 
served  as  a  deputy  sheriff,  and  showed  himself  absolutely  unafraid  in 
the  performance  of  his  official  duties. 

In  1866  Mr.  Phy  married  Miss  Margaret  Ann  Shoemaker.  She  died 
in  1891,  the  mother  of  seven  children.  The  oldest,  J.  F.  Phy,  is  a 
successful  business  man  in  Union  County,  Oregon,  being  the  controlling 
factor  in  the  Land  and  Security  Company  of  that  county.  He  served 
two  terms  each  as  deputy  sheriff  and  sheriff  and  later  was  county  judge. 
The  second  child,  M.  H.  Phy,  is  now  deceased.  The  third,  Dr.  W.  T. 
Phy,  is  reputed  to  be  one,  of  the  most  eminent  and  skillful  surgeons  in 
the  West,  and  lives  at  Hot  Lake,  Oregon.  During  the  World  war  he 
was  on  duty  at  Letterman's  Hospital  at  the  Presidio,  San  Francisco. 
The  fourth  of  the  family  was  J.  A.  Phy,  now  deceased.  Mary  Mar- 
garet is  the  wife  of  P.  J.  Shropshire,  a  prominent  lumber  dealer  and  one 
of  the  principal  owners  of  the  San  Bernardino  Lumber  &  Box  Company. 
Mr.  Shropshire  is  now  deceased  and  his  widow  is  active  manager  of  his 
former  interests.  Mrs.  Shropshire  has  three  children :  Edna  Phy,  Hes- 
ter D.  and  P.  J-  Shropshire,  Jr.  The  sixth  of  the  family,  Margaret 
Louisa,  is  a  graduate  nurse  and  is  the  wife  of  Dr.  Sanders  of  San  Jose, 
California,  and  has  one  son,  C.  E.  Sanders,  Jr.  The  seventh  and  young- 
est is  Hester  Caroline,  wife  of  O.  M.  Green,  a  prominent  banker  of 
Spokane,  Washington.     They  have  a  son,  John  Thomas  Green. 

In  1896  the  late  Mr.  Phy  married  Miss  Lydia  Tackson.  Mrs.  Phy 
has  had  a  wide  range  of  experience  in  the  far  West.  She  was  born 
at  Leadhill,  Boone  County,  Arkansas,  daughter  of  J.  D.  and  Louisa 
fMcNabb)  Jackson,  the  former  a  native  of  Arkansas  and  the  latter  of 
Tennessee.  When  she  was  seven  vears  of  age  her  parents  moved  over 
into  Indian  Territory,  where  her  father  located  in  the  Cherokee  Strip. 
He  soon  afterward  died,  and  when  Mrs.  Phy  was  nine  years  of  age 
her  mother,  then  an  invalid,  returned  with  her  four  children  to  Har- 
rison, Arkansas.  During  this  journey  Mrs.  Phy  had  her  first  ride  on 
a  railroad  train.  She  remained  at  Harrison  until  she  was  fifteen,  when 
her  mother  married  and  the  family  then  came  out  to  Oregon.  There 
she  remained  until  her  marriage  to  Mr.  Phy  in  1896.  Mrs.  Phy  has  one 
son.  Conrad  Vernon  Phy,  born  January  25,  1898.  He  was  reared  and 
educated  in  California,  attending  school  at  Highland,  the  Harvard 
Military  Academy  at  Los  Angeles,  and  in  1915  enlisted  in  the  navy  and 
served  out  his  term  of  enlistment.  When  America  entered  the  war 
with  Germany,  being  still  under  draft  age,  he  voluntered  in  the  army 
in  th  Motor  Transport  Division,  and  served  until  the  signing  of  the 
armistice,  In  November,  1920.  this  son  married  Miss  Christine  Bacus, 
of  San  Bernardino.  He  is  now  enlisted  as  a  navy  marine  engineer,  was 
Rationed  at  San  Pedro  and  later  transferred  to  Honolulu,  where  he  and 
his  wife  reside. 

Mrs.  Phy  since  the  death  of  her  husband  has  shown  a  great  business 
ability   in  operating  and   maintaining  the   ranch  and  orange   grove   at 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 167 

Highland,  and  is  one  of  that  community's  most  respected  citizens.  She 
is  a  member  of  San  Bernardino  Chapter  of  the  Eastern  Star  and  was 
a  member  of  the  Rebekahs  in  Oregon.  She  takes  an  active  interest  in 
betterment  work  of  all  kinds  and  is  chairman  of  the  Home  Department 
of  the  Farm  Bureau  of  Highland  Center,  and  a  member  of  the  Woman's 
Club  of  Highland. 

Allen  Cornelius  first  knew  California  in  the  role  of  a  miner  in  the 
golden  days  of  the  early  fifties.  Some  thirty  years  later  he  returned 
to  the  state,  settling  in  the  southern  part,  and  from  thereafter  until 
his  death  was  one  of  the  useful  and  honored  pioneers  and  business 
men  of  Ontario,  where  Mrs.  Cornelius  still  resides. 

Allen  Cornelius  was  born  at  Williamsburg,  Indiana,  September  8, 
1830,  son  of  Allen  and  Maria  (Piatt)  Cornelius.  His  father,  a  ship 
builder  by  trade,  went  to  Indiana  and  took  up  a  homestead.  He 
had  no  knowledge  of  farming,  little  inclination  for  agricultural  pur- 
suits, and  he  continued  to  do  mechanical  work  and  turned  over  the 
management  of  the  farm  to  his  wife,  who  was  very  efficient. 

Allen  Cornelius  as  a  youth  had  limited  opportunities  to  attend 
school.  He  worked  on  the  home  farm  until  1850,  when  he  and  another 
boy  of  the  same  age  joined  a  party  of  ten  with  a  wagon  and  three 
horses  and  started  overland  for  California.  They  took  turns  driving, 
one  of  them  always  walking  to  save  the  team.  It  was  a  six  months 
trip  to  California.  At  Salt  Lake  they  stopped  and  worked  through  the 
harvest  to  get  supplies  and  necessary  food.  This  made  them  late  and 
storms  had  closed  the  trail,  compelling  them  to  abandon  the  team 
and,  packing  all  they  could  carry,  they  struggled  on  afoot  and  were 
almost  famished  when  they  arrived  on  Feather  River.  At  a  place  now 
known  as  Feather  River  Inn,  Allen  Cornelius  rested  a  couple  of  days 
and  then  went  to  work  in  the  mines,  and  remained  here  three  years. 
When  he  returned  East  it  was  by  the  Isthmus  of  Panama.  At  that 
time  it  was  customary  for  the  natives  to  carry  passengers  over  the 
mountain  pass,  but  Mr.  Cornelius  disgusted  the  carriers  and  did  his 
own  walking.  After  his  return  to  Indiana  the  Civil  war  broke  out. 
and  he  early  enlisted  in  the  Seventeenth  Illinois  Cavalry  and  served 
all  through. 

In  1866  Mr.  Cornelius  married  Miss  Sarah  M.  Bates,  who  was  born 
near  Kokomo,  Indiana,  June  10,  1846,  daughter  of  Isaac  and  Nancy 
(Noble)  Bates.  Mrs.  Cornelius  received  a  very  good  education  for 
the  time  and  had  taught  school  before  her  marriage.  She  was  about 
twenty  when  she  married.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cornelius  went  to  North- 
western Illinois  and  lived  on  a  farm  in  Jo  Daviess  County,  where  all 
their  children  were  born.  In  1880  his  health  failed  and  he  went  to 
Kansas,  but  without  relief,  and  then  started  for  California,  reaching 
this  state  in  the  spring  of  1886.  After  several  months  of  search  for 
a  location  he  settled  in  Ontario  in  August  of  that  year  and  soon 
opened  a  hardware  and  plumbing  establishment.  Ontario  was  then 
a  new  community,  with  little  business,  and  he  had  something  of  a 
struggle  to  maintain  his  place.  Besides  selling  goods  he  did  much 
contracting  in  plumbing  and  tinsmith  work,  made  the  plans  and  later 
installed  the  city  water  mains  at  Upland  and  was  also  contractor  for 
the  laying  of  the  mains  of  the  Ontario  water  system.  His  energy 
and  thrift  brought  him  a  successful  position  in  business  affairs,  and 
he  enjoyed  the  activities  of  business  as  long  as  his  health  was  restored. 
Mr.  Cornelius  died  at  Ontario  July  26,  1913.  He  was  a  member  of 
the  Grand  Army  Post  and  a  Methodist. 


1168       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

The  oldest  of  the  four  sons  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cornelius  is  Arthur 
Cornelius,  who  was  born  in  Jo  Daviess  County,  Illinois,  October  21, 
1867,  and  is  now  postmaster  of  a  sub-station  at  San  Francisco.  He 
married  Sarah  Esdale,  and  they  have  a  son,  Arthur  Allen,  born 
October  17,  1906. 

Lbuis  Noble  Cornelius,  born  July  30,  1869,  died  at  Ontario 
April  17,  1892. 

Charles  S.  Cornelius,  born  March  6,  1872,  is  in  the  plumbing  busi- 
ness at  Ontario.  He  and  his  brother  Arthur  enlisted  for  service  in 
the  Spanish-American  war,  going  with  a  California  regiment.  Charles 
Cornelius  married  Miss  Lena  Akey,  of  Minnesota.  They  have  five 
children  :  Charles  Hazen,  born  at  Los  Angeles  November  25,  1902, 
is  a  graduate  of  the  Chaffee  Union  High  School ;  Lawrence,  born  at 
Los  Angeles  April  17,  1905,  attending  the  Chaffee  High  School; 
Lewellyn,  twin  brother  of  Lawrence,  who  before  he  was  sixteen  years 
of  age  enlisted  as  an  ordinary  seaman  in  the  navy  on  January  1,  1921, 
was  for  three  years  abroad  the  California  and  is  a  student  of  radio ; 
Oma  Marie,  born  March  26,  1909,  in  Los  Angeles,  and  died  Februarv 
8,  1917;  and  Ralph  Chadley,  born  at  Ontario  July  11,  1910. 

Ralph  J.  Cornelius,  fourth  and  youngest  son  of  the  late  Allen 
Cornelius,  was  born  December  4,  1876,  and  is  associated  with  his 
brother  in  the  plumbing  business  at  Ontario.  In  1901  he  married 
Miss  Annie  Wier,  a  native  of  Canada,  and  they  have  three  children : 
Marion,  born  April  27,  1902,  a  student  in  Pomona  College ;  Paul,  born 
April  22,  1906,  attending  the  Chaffee  Union  High  School ;  and  Jean 
Cornelius,  born  October  12,  1910. 

Mrs.  Allen  Cornelius  occupies  one  of  the  comfortable  homes  of 
Ontario.  She  is  a  very  active  member  of  the  Ontario  Pioneer  Society, 
a  member  of  the  Woman's  Relief  Corps,  and  is  also  active  in  church. 
From  her  own  experience  she  has  been  a  witness  of  all  the  develop- 
ments in  this  section  of  the  county  for  thirty-five  years. 

William  Plasman  has  been  a  resident  of  Ontario  ten  years,  and  in 
that  time  has  gained  a  secure  and  enviable  place  in  the  business  in- 
terests of  the  city  as  a  real  estate  and  insurance  man,  with  offices 
at  204  South  Vine  Avenue. 

Mr.  Plasman  was  born  at  Holland,  Michigan,  April  14,  1879,  son 
of  Frederick  and  Henrietta  (Brinkman)  Plasman,  farming  people. 
William  was  one  of  eleven  children,  two  of  whom  died  in  infancy. 
He  grew  up  on  his  father's  farm  in  Western  Michigan,  graduated 
from  the  Holland  High  School  at  the  age  of  fourteen,  and  from  that 
time  he  was  diligently  working  to  aid  his  parents  in  maintaining  their 
large  family.  For  several  seasons  he  did  work  caring  for  the  grounds 
of  summer  homes  of  Chicago  people  living  around  Holland.  Even 
after  reaching  the  age  of  twenty-one  Mr.  Plasman  continued  to  give 
his  parents  some  of  his  earnings,  and  he  did  this  until  he  married 
and  had  a  family  of  his  own. 

In  1902  he  married  Miss  Margaret  Slenk,  also  a  native  of  Holland. 
Michigan,  where  her  parents  were  farmers.  She  was  one  of  a  family 
of  twelve  children.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Plasman  have  five  sons  and  daugh- 
ters, the  first  three  born  in  Michigan  and  two  in  California.  The 
oldest,  Miss  Hazel,  who  was  born  on  Halloween  in  1903,  is  a.  student 
in  the  Chaffee  Union  High  School;  John  W.,  born  July  4,  1907.  is  in 
the  first  year  of  the  Chaffee  High  School,  is  a  real  boy  and  a  live 
member  of  the  Boy  Scouts ;  Floyd  Leslie,  born  January  2,  1909,  is 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1169 

also  a  member  of  the  Boy  Scouts  and  a  grammar  school  student ; 
Gertrude  Dorothy,  born  December  23,  1914,  and  William,  Jr.,  born 
January  27,  1918. 

It  was  due  to  failing  health  that  Mr.  Plasman  first  came  to  Cali- 
fornia, spending  some  time  in  San  Francisco,  and  San  Diego,  and 
then  going  to  Pasadena,  where  he  remained  six  months.  Being  much 
improved  physically,  he  returned  to  Michigan,  but  on  October  12, 
1911,  he  and  his  family  left  that  state  and  after  a  month  at  Pasadena 
established  their  home  in  Ontario.  Mr.  Plasman  secured  temporary 
employment  with  the  Hot  Point  Electric  Company,  until  he  could 
embrace  an  opportunity  to  get  into  business  for  himself.  While  in 
Michigan  he  had  subdivided  a  30-acre  tract,  which  was  a  part  of 
his  father's  farm,  and  sold  several  of  the  lots,  and  he  therefore  had 
something  more  than  a  general  knowledge  of  the  real  estate  business 
when  he  came  to  California.  On  August  1,  1912,  he  began  doing 
business  as  a  real  estate  broker  in  Ontario  and  also  as  a  representative 
of  some  standard  fire  insurance  companies.  He  handles  city  and 
close  in  properties,  conducts  a  rental  agency,  and  successive  years 
have  brought  him  a  very  substantial  patronage.  Mr.  Plasman  since 
casting  his  first  vote  has  been  a  prohibitionist,  and  has  courageously 
fought  liquor  and  its  interests.  He  was  registered  under  the  draft 
during  the  war,  but  was  not  called  to  the  colors.  Mr.  Plasman  has 
made  his  own  way  in  the  world.  When  he  left  for  California  he  had 
only  three  hundred  dollars,  but  he  has  contrived  to  better  himself 
and  at  the  same  time  has  worked  steadily  for  the  advancement  of 
the  community. 

John  G.  Gaylord  came  to  Ontario  a  quarter  of  a  century  ago,  and 
has  since  acquired  and  developed  some  of  the  most  valuable  orange 
groves  in  this  section.  He  is  one  of  the  very  substantial  citizens  of 
San  Bernardino  County.  His  Americanism  is  one  of  practical  patriotic 
achievements  and  of  an  ancestry  that  runs  back  to  the  early  Colonial 
period.  Mr.  Gaylord  is  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  and  two  of  his  sons 
were  in  the  World  war,  while  one  was  in  the  Spanish-American 
conflict. 

John  G.  Gaylord  was  born  in  Litchfield  County,  Connecticut,  July 
28,  1843,  son  of  Lyman  and  Chloe  (Chamberlain)  Gaylord,  also  natives 
of  Connecticut  and  of  old  New  England  ancestry.  The  Chamberlains 
were  of  English  stock.  The  Gaylord  lineage  has  been  traced  back  into 
the  thirteenth  and  fourteenth  centuries,  when  they  were  residents  of 
Normandy,  France.  They  were  a  family  of  wealth  and  noble  prestige 
at  that  time.  About  1550  some  of  the  Gaylords  left  Normandy  with 
other  refugees  and  went  to  England,  settling  chiefly  about  Exeter 
and  Tiverton.  For  a  number  of  generations  the  chief  occupation  of 
the  family  was  weavers  of  worsted  goods  and  makers  of  Kersey  cloth. 
One  of  the  Gaylords  sought  freedom  from  the  political  and  religious 
restrictions  of  the  England  of  the  early  seventeenth  century  and 
brought  his  family  to  America  on  the  ship  Mary  and  John,  arriving 
at  Nantucket  May  30,  1630.  The  American  generations  of  the  name 
have  been  identified  largely  with  agriculture  and  horticulture. 

Lyman  Gaylord,  father  of  John  G.,  was  a  blacksmith  by  trade.  He 
and  his  wife,  Chloe,  had  four  daughters  and  two  sons,  one  of  the 
former  dying  in  childhood.  In  1855  the  family  left  Connecticut, 
bound  for  Iowa.  They  went  around  the  Great  Lakes  to  Kenosha, 
Wisconsin,  where  the  party  of  colonists  to  the  number  of  sixteen 
secured  three  heavy  ox  teams  and  slowly  and  with  great  difficulty 


1 170       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

made  their  way  through  the  woods,  reaching  in  December  of  that 
year  their  chosen  location  at  Nora  Springs,  Floyd  County,  Iowa, 
where  Edson  Gaylord,  a  brother  of  Lyman,  had  preceded  them  and 
had  constructed  a  log  cabin.  In  this  rough  shelter  the  entire  party 
were  housed  during  the  winter.  While  the  congestion  was  great, 
doubtless,  like  other  pioneers  of  the  time,  they  always  made  room 
for  strangers  and  guests.  It  was  a  severe  winter,  with  deep  snow 
and  very  cold,  and  the  deer  would  break  through  the  crust  and  could 
easily  be  killed,  thus  affording  an  abundant  supply  of  venison,  while 
there  was  also  prairie  chicken  to  vary  the  diet.  Lyman  Gaylord  pre- 
empted land  at  Nora  Springs  and  lived  there,  a  substantial  farmer, 
increasing  his  holdings  to  a  large  farm.  He  was  born  November  12. 
1815,  and  died  at  Nora  Springs  November  26,  1892.  His  wife,  Chloe, 
was  born  February  14,  1816,  and  died  at  the  old  homestead  in  Iowa 
March  12,  1902. 

John  G.  Gaylord  was  twelve  years  of  age  when  the  family  made 
its  migration  from  New  England  to  Iowa.  Practically  all  his  educa- 
tional advantages  came  to  him  in  Connecticut.  He  shared  in  the 
vicissitudes  of  pioneer  existence  in  Iowa,  and  became  fully  disciplined 
in  the  hard  toil  required  of  farmers  who  were  breaking  up  the 
virgin  soil  and  clearing  away  the  wilderness.  When  the  Civil  war 
came  on  he  enlisted  on  April  12,  1862,  in  Company  A,  Twenty-first 
Iowa  Infantry.  His  regiment  was  in  the  Western  Army,  campaigning 
through  Missouri  and  down  the  Mississippi,  was  at  Pittsburg,  at 
Mobile,  and  in  other  campaigns  in  Gulf  states.  Mr.  Gaylord  did  his 
full  duty  as  a  soldier,  but  escaped  wounds,  and  after  being  dis- 
charged he  returned  home  to  Nora  Springs  on  July  4,  1865.  After 
the  war  he  farmed  with  his  father  until  he  married  and  bought  land 
of  his  own. 

On  May  21,  1872,  Mr.  Gaylord  married  Miss  Alice  Jane  LaDue, 
who  was  born  December  26,  1845,  and  died  in  the  same  year  as  her 
marriage.  On  September  16,  1873,  Mr.  Gaylord  married  Miss  Sarah 
Ankeney,  who  was  born  at  Ankeneytown,  Knox  County,  Ohio,  March 
3,  1848,  and  died  at  Ontario,  California,  February  5,  1918,  nearly 
forty-five  years  after  her  marriage. 

Mr.  Gaylord  was  a  prosperous  Iowa  farmer  for  thirty  years  before 
coming  to  California  in  1896.  He  bought  ten  acres  of  oranges  at 
the  northwest  corner  of  Fifth  Street  and  San  Antonio  Avenue  in 
Ontario,  and  undertook  a  business  entirely  new  to  him,  but  he  made 
a  thorough  study  of  orange  culture  and  by  experience  and  practice 
has  become  an  authority  in  the  citrus  industry.  When  he  located 
at  Ontario  much  of  the  surrounding  land  was  wild  and  unproductive, 
and  his  individual  success  has  contributed  to  the  general  prosperity 
of  the  community.  Mr.  Gaylord  now  owns  i2l/2  acres  of  highly 
productive  orchards  and  has  other  investments.  He  has  bought  and 
sold  and  still  owns  considerable  real  estate  in  Los  Angeles,  and  has 
some  profitable  oil  properties  in  Southern  California.  As  this  record 
reveals,  Mr.  Gaylord  has  been  a  man  of  action  and  industry,  and  his 
prosperity  is  the  result  of  his  individual  accumulations.  He  is  a  mem- 
ber of  Ontario  Post  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  is  a  prohibi- 
tionist and  has  been  a  life-long  member  of  the  Christian  Church.  He 
has  done  his  duty  as  a  citizen  and  has  reared  and  educated  a  family 
of  sturdy  sons  and  daughters. 

All  his  seven  children  were  born  at  Nora  Springs,  Iowa.  Arthur, 
the  oldest,  born  June  18,  1874,  died  in  infancy.  Alice,  born  January  7, 
1875,  is  Mrs.  H.  E.  Blazer,  of  Ontario.    Miss  Flora  was  born  Septem- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1171 

ber  16,  1878.  George,  born  February  2,  1881,  a  veteran  of  two  wars, 
has  a  more  complete  record  in  the  following  paragraphs.  Sarah,  born 
December  9,  1882,  is  the  wife  of  G.  A.  Holbrook,  of  Ontario,  and  the 
ten  children  born  to  their  union  were  Marion,  Arthur,  Guy  (died  in 
infancy),  Aldura,  Horace,  Emma,  John  G.,  Eleanor,  Mona  and  Guy 
Paul.  The  sixth  child,  Chloe,  born  August  16,  1885,  was  first  married 
to  Percy  Dewar,  who  left  one  son,  William  Ernest,  and  she  is  now 
the  wife  of  Ray  R.  Delhauer  and  has  a  daughter,  Mary  Alice.  The 
seventh  and  youngest  of  the  family  is  John  G.  Gaylord,  Jr. 

George  Gaylord  was  only  seventeen  years  of  age  when  the  Spanish- 
American  war  broke  out,  but  he  enlisted  at  the  first  call,  in  Company 
D  of  the  Seventh  California  Volunteers,  and  was  in  service  until  the 
close  of  the  war.  Later  he  removed  to  the  Imperial  Valley,  and  he 
gave  up  a  profitable  position  there  to  offer  his  services  to  the  Govern- 
ment in  the  World  war.  He  enlisted  as  a  private  in  June,  1917,  in 
Company  D  of  the  One  Hundred  and  Forty-Third  Field  Artillery,  was 
in  training  at  Camp  Kearney,  where  he  was  made  a  corporal,  and  in 
July,  1918,  left  Hoboken  for  France,  landing  at  Liverpool.  Four  days 
later  he  embarked  at  Southampton  and  crossed  the  channel  to  Le 
Havre,  thus  going  to  Southern  France,  to  Camp  De  Souge,  near  Bor- 
deaux, not  far  from  the  ancestral  lands  of  the  original  Gaylords.  While 
in  training  camp  there  he  was  advanced  to  sergeant.  After  the  signing 
of  the  armistice  he  was  put  in  the  military  police  service,  a  duty  that 
gave  him  opportunities  to  visit  many  interesting  points,  including  St. 
Sulpice,  where  he  guarded  a  prison  camp,  also  did  guard  duty  in  the 
Pyrenees  Mountains  and  passes  and  was  at  Chateau-Thierry  and 
other  points  of  the  battle  front.  On  returning  to  the  United  States 
he  received  honorable  discharge  at  San  Francisco  July  1,  1919,  and 
since  resuming  civilian  life  has  become  an  orange  grower  at  Ontario 
and  is  one  of  the  prominent  and  influential  business  men  of  that  city. 

George  A.  Gaylord  married  Miss  Beatrice  Hardey  Barhain  on 
October  30,  1921.  She  was  born  in  Akron,  Iowa,  February  14,  1882, 
daughter  of  Charles  Hardy  and  Susan  (Ross)  Hardy.  Mrs.  Gaylord 
came  to  Ontario,  California,  at  age  of  five  years  with  parents  and  was 
educated  in  the  public  and  high  schools  of  Ontario.  At  the  time  of 
her  marriage  to  Mr.  Gaylord  she  was  the  widow  of  Charles  Barham, 
and  has  one  son,  John,  by  the  former  marriage. 

The  younger  son,  John  G.  Gaylord,  Jr.,  who  was  born  July  21, 
1892,  was  educated  in  the  Chaffee  Union  High  School  and  early 
took  up  the  citrus  fruit  industry.  On  April  16,  1918,  he  married 
Miss  Lottie  Doner,  a  popular  and  well  educated  Ontario  girl.  They 
have  a  daughter,  Mary  Louise,  born  August  25,  1920.  Though  mar- 
ried, John  G.  Gaylord,  Jr.,  put  in  no  claims  for  exemption  in  the  draft, 
and  in  August,  1918,  joined  the  colors  in  the  Quartermaster's  Depart- 
ment at  Camp  Lewis,  where  he  was  put  in  a  replacement  division. 
He  received  his  honorable  discharge  January  6,  1919,  and  at  once 
returned  to  Ontario  and  resumed  his  business  connections. 

John  Perry  Ensley  has  done  the  work  of  a  pioneer  in  the  develop- 
ment of  Ontario's  horticulture,  and  first  and  last  has  performed  a 
great  deal  of  conscientious,  hard  working  service  for  the  community 
from  a  civic  standpoint. 

Mr.  Ensley,  whose  home  is  at  126  West  D  Street,  has  been  a  resi- 
dent of  Ontario  for  thirty-five  years.  He  was  born  near  Auburn, 
Indiana,  October  9,  1853,  son  of  George  and  Lydia  (Noel)  Ensley. 
His   parents   were   born    in    Pennsylvania,    and    the    Ensleys    are   of 


1172       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

original  German  stock,  though  the  family  has  been  in  America  for 
a  number  of  generations.  George  Ensley  was  born  in  1815  and  died 
in  California  in  1888.  The  mother  died  in  Indiana  in  1884.  They 
were  the  parents  of  nine  children,  John  Perry  being  the  seventh  in 
age.  George  Ensley  moved  out  to  California  in  the  fall  of  1886. 
acquiring  property  in  Ontario,  where  he  spent  the  rest  of  his  life. 
He  had  been  in  earlier  years  a  farmer,  but  had  the  all  around  mechani- 
cal genius  that  enabled  him  to  succeed  in  almost  every  occupation. 
At  one  time  he  operated  a  saw  mill  of  his  own  construction,  and  after 
coming  to  California  he  was  an  orange  grower. 

John  Perry  Ensley  is  a  thoroughly  well  educated  gentleman.  He 
graduated  from  the  Auburn  High  School  in  Indiana  and  attended 
the  Indiana  State  University.  He  taught  eight  winter  terms  of 
school,  and  refused  the  office  of  principal  of  the  Auburn  schools. 
While  he  did  well  as  a  teacher,  it  was  not  an  occupation  altogether 
to  his  liking,  and  his  preference  was  for  the  practical  side  of  farming. 

In  1884  he  married  Miss  Clara  B.  Clark,  a  native  of  Indiana,  and  in 
1886,  for  the  benefit  of  her  health  he  came  to  Ontario  and  bought 
twenty  acres  of  wild  land  at  the  northeast  corner  of  Eighteenth  Street 
and  Euclid  Avenue.  This  he  cleared  and  planted  to  citrus  fruits 
during  1887.  His  father  in  the  meantime  had  purchased  five  acres 
of  oranges  on  West  Fourth  Street  and  also  ten  acres  of  unimproved 
land  on  West  G  Street.  After  his  father's  death  Mr.  Ensley  bought 
out  the  interests  of  the  heirs  and  developed  the  unimproved  tract  to 
citrus  fruits.  All  of  this  land  he  actually  improved  by  his  own  labors 
and  efforts,  and  he  now  has  thirty-five  acres  of  producing  groves, 
besides  other  valuable  investments,  including  his  modern  residence, 
which  was  constructed  some  years  ago.  His  prosperity  is  the  direct 
result  of  his  earnest  efforts  and  hard  labors  since  coming  to  California. 

By  his  first  marriage  Mr.  Ensley  had  two  children,  one  dying  in 
infancy.  His  son,  Oliver  P.  Ensley,  born  in  Indiana  May  6,  1886, 
graduated  from  the  Chaffey  High  School  at  Ontario,  from  the  Univer- 
sity of  Southern  California,  where  he  pursued  both  classical  and  law 
courses,  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  1912,  and  during  that  year 
pursued  a  commercial  course  in  the  Eastman  Business  College  at 
Poughkeepsie,  New  York.  He  is  now  successfully  established  as  an 
attorney  at  Hemet,  California.  He  is  prominent  in  the  Masonic  Order 
and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows.  Oliver  Ensley  married 
Miss  Catherine  Todd,  of  Indiana,  in  June,  1919,  and  they  have  one 
son,  Edward  Clark  Ensley,  born  March  23,  1921. 

John  P.  Ensley  lost  his  first  wife  at  Ontario  August  1,  1888, 
and  his  father  died  on  the  26th  of  the  same  month.  July  25,  1894, 
John  Perry  Ensley  married  Elizabeth  Borthwick,  a  native  of  Liver- 
pool, England.  Her  father  was  a  native  of  Scotland  and  her  mother 
of  Ireland.  Her  father  was  a  jeweler,  coming  to  America  and  being 
an  early  settler  in  Ontario,  where  he  was  one  of  the  pioneer  men  of 
his  trade.  By  his  second  marriage  Mr.  Ensley  had  five  children, 
three  still  living;  Isabel,  born  April  2,  1899,  is  a  graduate  of  the 
Chaffey  Union  High  School  and  the  University  of  Southern  California. 
Gladys  Theresa,  born  December  24,  1901,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Chaffey 
Union  High  School  and  the  Chaffey,  Jr.,  College.  Elizabeth  Borth- 
wick, born  August  7,  1906,  is  in  her  second  year  at  the  Chaffey  High 
School.     These  children  are  all  natives  of  Ontario. 

John  P.  Ensley  is  a  prominent  democrat,  and  for  a  number  of 
years  was  a  member  of  the  Democratic  Central  Committee.  He  is  a 
stickler  for  good,  clean  government  and  decent  citizenship.    He  served 


-  -: '-  :^0}-  &*'          ,  ^  *M0?-ffi>>M 

u     %* 

f  ''                   ■"'.'   .#■'                      ':■'••    ] 

u 

mf               '  mm 

mw    ^              -•'  ^ 

^L\\W '  M 

hv^I- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1173 

as  trustee  of  Ontario  fifteen  years,  having  been  elected  a  member 
of  the  first  board  at  the  incorporation  of  Ontario  and  serving  nine 
years.  Later  he  acceded  to  the  insistent  demand  of  his  fellow  citizens 
and  became  a  candidate  for  trustee,  serving  this  second  time  a  total 
of  six  years  and  was  very  progressive  in  building  good  roads.  For 
three  years  he  was  a  director  of  the  San  Antonio  Water  Company, 
and  has  always  been  active  in  movements  to  benefit  citrus  growers 
as  well  as  the  general  welfare  of  the  community.  At  present  he  is 
director  of  the  A.  Street  Citrus  Association. 

Mrs.  Ensley,  born  October  23,  1865,  came  to  the  United  States  with 
her  parents,  John  P.  and  Margaret  (Dunn)  Borthwick,  in  1869,  locat- 
ing in  Scranton,  Pennsylvania.  They  came  to  Ontario,  California,  in 
April.  1884.  The  father  died  April  9,  1908,  and  the  mother  died  in 
Wilkes-Barre,  Pennsylvania.  Mrs.  Ensley  was  educated  in  the  public 
schools  of  Pennsylvania.  She  was  the  first  young  lady  to  live  in 
Ontario. 

John  M.  Horton  is  one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of  Ontario,  one  of 
the  old  timers  there,  and  has  contributed  to  the  development  of  the 
community  largely  through  his  individual  energies  and  labors.  He 
has  assured  himself  of  a  competence  and  is  now  enjoying  a  com- 
fortable retirement. 

Mr.  Morton  was  born  in  Bedford,  Indiana,  February  10,  1846,  son 
of  John  and  Almyra  (Finley)  Horton.  His  mother  was  a  native  of 
Tennessee,  and  died  when  her  son  John  was  two  years  of  age,  leaving 
three  children,  George  Finley  Horton,  William  Hampton,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  four,  and  John  M. 

George  Finley  Horton  volunteered  in  the  Union  Army  at  the 
time  of  the  Civil  war,  and  was  killed  in  the  battle  of  Corinth  October 
6,  1862.  John  Horton,  who  was  born  in  Indiana  November  6,  1817, 
died  in  March,  1885.  He  was  four  times  married.  Of  his  children 
only  two  are  now  living,  Joseph  Oscar  and  John  M.  The  former 
is  a  resident  of  Salem,  Nebraska.  John  Horton  was  a  blacksmith  by 
trade,  and  in  1857  moved  with  his  third  wife  and  family  to  Marengo, 
Iowa  County,  Iowa,  where  he  bought  land  and  spent  sixteen  years, 
and  then  moved  to  Van  Buren  County,  Iowa,  where  he  died  in  1885. 

John  M.  Horton  was  eleven  years  old  when  taken  to  Iowa,  and 
he  finished  his  education  in  a  district  school  in  that  state.  During  his 
earlier  years  he  farmed  and  was  in  the  grocery  business  one  year. 
At  Marengo,  Iowa,  February  4,  1875,  he  married  Miss  Kate  Morse, 
who  was  born  at  Brownhelm,  Loraine  County,  Ohio,  daughter  of 
C.  R.  and  Harriet  A.  (Bradford)  Morse.  Her  father  was  a  carpenter 
by  trade,  and  moved  to  Iowa  in  1855,  purchasing  land  and  being  a 
farmer  in  that  state.  There  were  four  children  in  the  Morse  family, 
Sarah,  Kate,  Ella  J.  and  James  E.  Kate  Horton  was  well  educated 
and  taught  nine  terms  of  school  in  Iowa. 

On  April  7,  1885,  Mr.  Horton  arrived  with  his  family  at  Ontario, 
California,  and  bought  Lot  5  in  Block  43,  putting  up  a  small  house  at 
223  West  B  Street.  This  pioneer  home  he  replaced  twelve  years 
ago  with  a  modern  residence,  in  which  he  and  his  family  now  live. 
Mr.  Horton  came  here  without  much  surplus  cash,  and  had  to  con- 
trive means  of  making  a  living  from  the  first.  He  engaged  in  teaming, 
caring  for  orchards  and  vineyards,  hauled  brick  from  Pomona  for  the 
old  Stamm  Block,  in  which  was  housed  Ontario's  first  bank,  hauled 
material  for  sidewalks,  and  for  fourteen  years  his  work  was  largely 
in  the  care  and  supervision  of  vineyards  and  groves  for  other  owners. 


1174       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

About  twenty  years  ago  he  found  his  own  orange  grove  demanding 
most  of  his  time.  This  program,  briefly  outlined,  indicates  that 
Mr.  Horton  has  applied  himself  to  the  practical  side  of  the  life  of  this 
community,  and  has  done  a  great  deal  of  hard  physical  work  as  well 
as  employed  the  best  resources  of  his  mind.  Through  such  program 
he  has  been  able  to  accumulate  his  personal  means  and  educate  his 
children. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Horton  had  four  children.  The  oldest,  G.  Ray 
Horton,  who  was  born  at  Marengo,  Iowa,  December  14,  1875,  grad- 
uated A.  B.  from  Pomona  College  in  1898,  and  for  seven  or  eight 
years  was  one  of  the  brilliant  young  newspaper  men  of  Los  Angeles. 
He  was  reporter  and  member  of  the  editorial  staff  of  the  Los  Angeles 
Times  and  the  Examiner,  and  while  doing  court  reporting  he  became 
interested  in  the  law,  and  studied  in  Senator  Flint's  offices  and 
attended  law  school  at  night.  Senator  Flint  gave  him  the  manage- 
ment of  Bradstreet  and  Dun's  collection  department.  Thus  he  paid 
his  way  until  his  admission  to  the  bar,  and  was  at  once  made  assistant 
district  attorney  under  Captain  John  D.  Fredericks,  of  Los  Angeles 
County.  Later  he  was  assistant  prosecutor  in  Federal  Courts,  and 
finally  became  assistant  district  attorney  in  the  last  term  of  Mr.  Fred- 
ericks as  county  prosecutor.  He  was  one  of  the  staff  of  attorneys 
actively  engaged  in  the  effort  to  select  a  jury  in  the  famous  trial  of 
McNamara  brothers.  He  early  entered  a  partnership  with  Robert  P. 
Jennings,  and  the  law  firm  of  Jennings  &  Horton  took  the  highest 
rank  in  the  Los  Angeles  bar.  Ray  Horton  was  noted  for  his  ability 
in  criminal  practice.  He  was  attaining  rapidly  some  of  the  highest 
honors,  and  emoluments  of  the  legal  profession  when  he  was  called 
by  death  January  4,  1915.  In  June,  1902,  he  married  Miss  Jessie 
Balch,  a  native  of  Indiana,  and  is  survived  by  two  children,  Helen 
Balch  Horton,  born  January  11,  1904,  and  Georgie  Ray  Horton,  born 
March  4,  1914. 

The  second  child  of  Mr.  Horton  is  Minnie  May  Horton,  who  was 
born  in  Mahaska  County,  Iowa.  March  18,  1877,  was  educated  in 
Pomona  College  and  the  State  Normal  School  at  Los  Angeles,  and  for 
seven  years  she  and  her  mother  were  successfully  engaged  in  the 
millinery  business  at  Ontario.  On  December  20,  1904.  at  Ontario, 
California,  she  was  married  to  Robert  G.  Shoenberger,  and  they 
have  one  daughter,  Theresa,  born  September  10,  1911.  The  third 
child,  Hattie  Elmyra  Horton,  was  born  June  2,  1879,  in  Guthrie 
County,  Iowa,  and  died  February  18,  1880.  The  youngest  of  the 
family,  Lena  Jane  Horton,  born  in  Guthrie  County,  Iowa,  April  12, 
1882,  was  educated  in  California  and  on  October  14,  1903,  was  mar- 
ried to  Albert  W.  Butterfield,  who  died  October  31,  1921.  Mrs.  Butter- 
field  has  one  child,  John  W.,  born  at  the  home  of  his  grandparents  in 
Ontario  in  1904.  A.  W.  Butterfield  was  an  electrician  and  had  charge 
of  the  entire  electrical  system  for  the  Southwest  Cotton  Company,  a 
corporation  owning  the  Goodyear  Rubber  Company's  holdings  in 
Arizona. 

John  M.  Horton  has  been  a  life-long  republican.  From  his  expe- 
rience he  can  give  a  consecutive  account  of  the  development  of 
Ontario  for  over  thirty-five  years.  When  he  first  came  here  there  was 
only  one  ten  acre  tract  solidly  set  to  oranges  in  the  entire  colony.  He 
has  never  been  a  speculator,  and  economy  and  industry  have  enabled 
him  to  gather  together  sufficient  of  this  world's  goods  to  insure  his 
comfort.  He  has  recently  disposed  of  one  of  his  orange  groves.  He 
and  his  family  are  members  of  the  Congregational  Church.      He  is 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1175 

a  member  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World.     Both  he  and  his  wife  are 
members  of  The  Women  of  Woodcraft. 

Thomas  Monks  is  an  old  time  resident  of  the  Ontario  community,  and 
his  hightly  improved  home  and  estate  is  located  on  Turner  Avenue, 
half  a  mile  south  of  Salt  Lake  Railway.  Perhaps  no  other  resident 
of  this  section  has  had  a  richer  or  more  varied  experienced  of  real 
pioneer  times  than  Mr.  Monks.  He  knew  this  country  more  than 
fifty  years  ago,  and  his  personal  industry  has  been  a  factor  in  redeem- 
ing the  desert  and  the  wilderness. 

He  was  born  at  Wrilliamsport,  Pennsylvania,  July  19,  1851,  son 
of  Thomas  and  Mary  (Fritz)  Monks.  When  he  was  four  years  of 
age  his  mother  died,  leaving  four  children,  John,  George,  Thomas  and 
Annie.  Thomas  Monks,  Sr.,  then  married  a  widow  with  four  children, 
and  to  the  second  union  were  born  three  other  children,  two  sons, 
now  deceased,  and  one  daughter,  still  living.  Thomas  Monks,  Sr., 
in  1861.  when  his  son  Thomas  was  ten  years  of  age,  moved  out  to 
Iowa.  He  lived  there  as  a  farmer  three  years,  and  in  the  spring  of 
1864  left  for  California  in  a  wagon  train,  his  part  of  the  equipment 
being  two  two-horse  teams  and  wagons.  When  the  family  came  into 
California  four  horses  were  drawing  one  wagon.  They  came  through 
Austin,  Nevada,  where  three  of  the  children,  John,  George  and  Annie, 
remained,  and  the  others  came  on  to  Sacramento  and  a  year  later 
moved  to  Sonoma  County.  In  Sonoma  County  Thomas  Monks  went 
to  work  on  the  dairy  ranch  of  G.  A.  Collins.  He  accompanied  his 
father's  family  to  Southern  California  in  the  fall  of  1867,  to  San 
Bernardino,  and  Mr.  Monks  for  four  or  five  years  was  a  hand  on  the 
dairy  and  stock  ranch  of  Mr.  Collins  in  the  neighborhood  of  San 
Jacinto.  From  here  he  went  to  Ventura,  and  from  his  work  in  that 
section  made  a  good  stake.  Following  that  he  was  at  Riverside  two 
years,  at  San  Bernardino  eight  or  ten  years,  and  he  rented  a  ranch 
and  also  worked  on  the  ranch  of  Dick  Stuart. 

On  New  Year's  Day  1885  Mr.  Monks  married  Miss  Jessie  White,  a 
native  of  Ohio.  After  his  marriage  he  took  charge  of  Dick  Stuart's 
ranch  until  it  was  sold,  and  he  then  removed  to  Stuart's  ranch  at 
Rincon.  In  1889  Mr.  Monks  bought  twenty  acres  of  desert  land 
on  what  is  now  Turner  Avenue,  and  here  he  erected  as  his  first  home 
a  little  house  16x16  feet.  This  house  occupied  about  the  site  on 
which  his  now  modern  and  complete  home  stands.  The  spring  after 
purchasing  Mr.  Monks  set  this  to  Muscat  grapes,  and  he  tried  drying 
the  grapes  for  raisins,  but  was  inexpert  in  that  business  and  subse- 
quently he  sold  them  green  to  the  Guasti  winery,  getting  six  dollars  a 
ton  one  year  and  later  fifteen  dollars  a  ton.  This  price  was  paid  half 
on  delivery  and  half  six  months  later.  In  subsequent  years  Mr.  Monks 
made  a  good  compensation  out  of  his  wine  grapes.  To  the  original 
twenty  acres  he  added  until  he  now  has  sixty  acres  highly  developed 
to  vineyard  and  deciduous  fruits.  He  bought  this  as  part  of  the 
Cucamonga  desert  land.  There  was  no  water  even  for  domestic 
purposes,  and  for  several  years  he  hauled  drinking  water.  He  was 
impelled  to  make  the  purchase  of  this  desert  land  because  it  was 
cheap,  about  twenty-five  dollars  an  acre,  and  he  was  not  well  enough 
off  to  purchase  any  of  the  high  priced  irrigated  lands.  He  would  now- 
refuse  five  hundred  dollars  an  acre  for  his  tract.  It  was  a  difficult 
problem  to  pay  even  for  his  desert  land,  and  the  payments  he  met  by 
doing  hard  work  for  others,  frequently  receiving  wages  of  only  a 
dollar  and  a  half  a  day  and  boarding  himself.    Through  this  strenuous 


1176       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

period  he  met  his  payments,  and  also  reared  and  educated  his  family. 
His  has  been  a  life  full  of  work,  long  hours,  privations,  and,  until  com- 
paratively recent  years,  luxuries  were  few.  Now  well  along  on  the 
easy  street  of  life,  there  are  none  who  could  begrudge  his  well  earned 
prosperity. 

Mrs.  Monks  was  born  July  1,  1866,  and  was  educated  in  the  public 
schools  of  West  Riverside,  California,  she  having  come  to  Riverside 
at  age  of  ten  years  with  her  mother.  They  have  previously  lived  in 
Owatonna,  Steele  County,  Minnesota.  Her  mother  died  when 
Mrs.  Monks  was  fifteen  years  old,  and  she  then  made  her  home  with 
Mr.  Ben  Abies,  of  Riverside,  and  later  with  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Richard 
Stewart  of  San  Bernardino. 

Three  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Monks.  The  oldest, 
Annie,  born  November  9,  1886.  in  San  Bernardino,  was  educated  in 
the  common  schools  and  the  Riverside  High  School  and  is  the  wife 
of  Walter  Joy,  a  native  of  Illinois  and  living  at  Collins,  California. 
The  second  child,  Henry,  born  July  27,  1889,  at  Rincon.  was  educated 
in  the  public  schools,  is  a  graduate  of  the  Pomona  Business  College 
and  for  ten  years  was  head  bookkeeper  for  the  O  K  orange  fruit 
exchange  of  Upland  and  now  has  charge  of  his  father's  ranch.  He 
also  has  forty  acres  of  his  own.  He  is  unmarried.  Mary  Monks,  born 
on  the  homestead  December  4,  1891,  was  educated  in  Ontario,  is  a 
graduate  of  the  Pomona  Business  College,  and  for  two  years  was 
employed  by  the  Hot  Point  Electric  Plant  at  Ontario  as  a  stenographer 
and  typist.  In  1912  she  was  married  to  Mr.  Logan  Nettle,  a  native  of 
Missouri.    They  have  one  child,  Maxine  Nettle,  born  October  8,  1913. 

James  R.  Pollock  has  in  a  characteristically  unassuming  way  wielded 
large  and  benignant  influence  in  connection  with  the  social  and  mate- 
rial progress  of  Ontario,  one  of  the  attractive  little  cities  of  San 
Bernardino  County,  is  a  lawyer  by  profession,  has  served  in  various 
offices  of  public  trust  in  this  community,  and  has  been  identified  with 
the  upbuilding  of  a  number  of  institutions  of  important  order  in  a 
financial  way. 

James  Rogers  Pollock  was  born  in  Washington  County,  Pennsyl- 
vania, July  24,  1865,  and  is  a  son  of  Alexander  W.  and  Mary  J. 
(Moore)  Pollock,  both  of  remote  Scotch  ancestry.  The  public 
schools  of  the  old  Keystone  State  afforded  Mr.  Pollock  his  early 
education,  which  was  supplemented  by  his  attending  the  Pennsyl- 
vania State  Normal  School  and  later  the  historic  old  Washington  and 
Jefferson  College,  in  which  excellent  Pennsylvania  institution  he  was 
graduated  as  a  member  of  the  class  of  1890  and  with  the  degree  of 
Bachelor  of  Arts.  His  course  in  preparation  for  the  legal  profession 
was  taken  in  the  law  department  of  Buffalo  University  in  the  City  of 
Buffalo,  New  York. 

Mr.  Pollock  has  been  a  resident  of  San  Bernardino  County  since 
1896,  has  given  more  or  less  of  his  time  and  attention  to  the  practice 
of  law,  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  at  Ontario  from  1904  to  1919, 
and  in  the  meanwhile  served  also,  from  1904  to  1914,  as  city  recorder. 
For  ten  years  he  was  president  of  the  San  Antonio  Hospital  Associa- 
tion, at  Ontario,  this  county ;  he  was  for  eight  years  president  of  the 
Ontario  National  Bank,  of  which  he  is  still  a  stockholder  and  chairman 
of  the  board ;  and  he  is  at  the  present  time  a  director  of  the  Pioneer 
Title  Insurance  Company  and  also  of  the  Ontario  Bond  &  Mortgage 
Company,  to  which  two  important  and  prosperous  institutions  he 
gives  much  of  his  time  and  energy.     Mr.  Pollock  has  taken  deep  and 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1177 

loyal  interest  in  everything  touching  the  welfare  of  his  home  city  of 
Ontario  and  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  his  influence  and  effective 
co-operation  have  been  given  in  the  furtherance  of  measures  and 
enterprises  advanced  for  the  general  good  of  the  community.  He  has 
had  no  ambition  for  political  activity  but  is  a  staunch  and  well 
fortified  advocate  of  the  principles  of  the  republican  party.  Both  he 
and  his  wife  are  active  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church, 
as  was  also  his  first  wife. 

At  Dungannon,  County  Tyrone,  Ireland,  was  solemnized  the  mar- 
riage of  Mr.  Pollock  and  Miss  Kate  L.  McCormick,  and  his  bride 
accompanied  him  on  his  return  to  the  United  States.  She  passed  to 
the  life  eternal  in  the  year  1905,  and  left  one  son,  Thomas  A.  Pollock. 
In  1908  Mr.  Pollock  wedded  Miss  Annie  D.  Walls  in  the  City  of 
Los  Angeles,  and  she  is  the  popular  chatelaine  of  their  attractive  home 
at  Ontario,  besides  being  prominent  in  the  representative  social  iife 
of  the  community. 

Orin  Porter  was  a  resident  of  Redlands  more  than  twenty  years. 
While  here  he  showed  his  substantial  faith  in  the  community  by  invest- 
ing liberally  of  his  means  in  orchard  property,  and  was  deeply  interested 
as  well  in  the  full  rounded  development  of  the  community.  Mr.  Porter 
spent  his  life  largely  in  the  great  West,  and  for  years  was  a  noted  au- 
thority on  mining  operations. 

He  was  a  New  Englander  by  birth  and  ancestry,  born  at  Troy  in 
Orleans  County,  Vermont,  in  1838.  He  grew  up  in  the  rugged  district 
of  New  England,  and  at  the  age  of  seventeen  went  out  to  the  new  state 
of  Iowa.  He  lived  there  four  years  and  then  returned  East,  and  again 
spent  six  years  in  Vermont.  When  he  finally  left  the  East  his  journey 
ended  in  Nevada,  and  he  participated  in  the  great  mining  excitement  at 
White  Pine  during  1868.  There  he  served  his  apprenticeship  as  a 
practical  miner  and  prospector,  and  his  next  scene  of  operations  was  in 
Idaho.  He  was  interested  in  both  gold  and  silver  mines,  and  long  ex- 
perience made  him  an  expert  in  every  phase  of  prospecting,  developing 
and  the  production  of  precious  metals.  For  twenty-five  years  he  gave 
his  personal  time  and  supervision  to  his  mining  interests,  and  when  he 
retired  he  located  at  Redlands  and  bought  two  ten-acre  orange  groves. 
Eventually  he  became  owner  of  forty  acres,  and  took  a  very  enthusiastic 
interest  in  every  department  of  the  citrus  fruit  growing  and  made  the 
business  a  profitable  one. 

The  death  of  this  honored  citizen  of  Redlands  occurred  April  19. 
1914.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Masonic  Order,  attended  the  Con- 
gregational Church  and  was  very  active  in  all  lines  of  betterment  work 
around  the  colony  and  had  the  greatest  of  faith  in  the  future  of  the  en- 
lire  Redlands  district. 

In  1891  he  married  Sarah  M.  G.  Rogers,  also  a  native  of  Vermont. 
She  attended  public  school  at  Fairfax  and  was  also  a  student  of  New 
Hampton  Institute,  at  Fairfax,  a  Baptist  college,  which  has  since  been 
renamed  and  endowed  as  the  Bellows  Seminary.  Mr.  Porter  is  survived 
by  Mrs.  Porter  and  one  daughter,  Ora,  who  was  born  at  Redlands  Feb- 
ruary 5,  1893.  Miss  Ora  Porter  attended  Mrs.  Winston's  private  school 
and  at  the  time  of  her  father's  death  was  a  student  in  the  University  of 
Redlands,  taking  a  musical  course.  Later  she  finished  her  vocal  education 
as  a  private  pupil  in  Los  Angeles  under  the  teacher  and  singer  Estelle 
Hartt  Drevfus.  Miss  Ora  Porter  was  married  March  25,  1918,  to 
Tra  Leroy  Thomason.  Mr.  Thomason  was  born  in  Nebraska  May  23. 
1895.  and  graduated  A.  B.  from   Stanford  University  in  California  and 


1178      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

was  in  the  university  taking  his  law  course  when  he  entered  the  army, 
joining  the  Ordnance  Department  at  Palo  Alto,  May  10,  1918.  He  was 
at  Camp  Hancock.  Georgia,  later  transferred  to  the  infantry  and  sent 
to.  the  Officers  Training  Camp  at  Camp  Gordon,  Georgia,  and  after  the 
signing  of  the  armistice  received  his  discharge  December  20,  1918.  He 
and  his  family  now  live  at  Hollywood,  California,  where  he  is  head  of 
the  publicity  department  of  the  Hollywood  branch  of  the  Security  Trust 
and  Savings  Bank  of  Los  Angeles.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomason  have  one 
daughter,  Dorothy  Jean,  born  January  31,   1919,  at  Redlands. 

Mrs.  Porter  continues  to  make  her  home  at  Redlands,  on  Wabash 
Street,  and  is  the  efficient  manager  of  the  original  twenty-acre  home- 
stead acquired  by  Mr.  Porter  some  thirty  years  ago. 

Joseph  D.  Meriwether  has  for  a  number  of  years  been  a  successful 
nurseryman  in  Ontario,  and  acquired  his  early  training  in  the  world's 
greatest  nursery,  at  Louisiana,  Missouri,  where  he  was  born  August 
30,  1873. 

Mr.  Meriwether  is  a  son  of  Joseph  and  Laura  M.  (Turner)  Meri- 
wether. The  Meriwether  family  is  of  noted  Virginia  ancestry,  one 
branch  of  the  family  being  represented  by  the  Meriwether  Lewis, 
who  was  one  of  the  famous  Lewis  &  Clark  expedition  to  the  North- 
west. 

Joseph  D.  Meriwether  received  a  public  school  education  in  Louisi- 
ana, attended  McCune  College  there,  and  immediately  after  leaving 
school  he  entered  the  service  of  Stark  Brothers  at  Louisiana,  said 
to  be  the  largest  nursery  in  the  world.  He  was  with  Stark  Brothers 
for  eighteen  years,  and  then  removed  to  California,  and  is  now  with 
the  Armstrong  Nurseries.  He  owns  and  occupies  a  handsome  bun- 
galow at  215  East  G  Street. 

Mr.  Meriwether  is  strictly  a  business  man,  and  outside  of  his 
business  he  finds  his  enjoyment  in  home,  much  of  his  leisure  being 
taken  up  with  reading,  particularly  history.  He  has  never  aspired 
to  hold  any  public  office  of  any  kind,  votes  as  an  independent,  and 
has  held  several  chairs  in  the  Masonic  and  Odd  Fellows  fraternities. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church. 

At  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  March  14,  1894.  he  married  Miss  Laura 
Seamens,  daughter  of  Albert  Seamens.  They  hav<y  three  sons, 
Albert  J.,  Edward  W.  and  Leslie  S. 

John  G.  Beesley,  an  honored  resident  of  Ontario,  California,  is 
retired  from  business,  and  is  diverting  the  ample  means  acquired 
during  his  active  career  to  the  enjoyment  of  the  many  comforts 
presented  by  residence  in  this  favorite  section  of  Southern  California. 

Mr.  Beesley  was  born  at  Bury,  St.  Edmonds,  England,  January  6, 
1851,  son  of  Richard  and  Mary  Beesley.  His  early  childhood  and 
most  of  his  mature  career  were  spent  in  Ontario,  Canada,  where  he 
completed  his  education,  and  where  for  several  years  he  was  engaged 
in  building  and  contracting.  Later  he  became  postmaster  of  Marl- 
borough, Saskatchewan,  Canada,  and  he  had  been  engaged  in  farming 
there  previously. 

Mr.  Beesley  as  an  American  citizen  has  affiliated  with  the  repub- 
lican party.  He  has  held  various  chairs  in  the  lodges  of  Masons  and 
Odd  Fellows  and  is  a  Shriner  and  in  church  relationship  is  a 
Methodist. 

At  Clinton,  Ontario,  Canada,  he  married  Elizabeth  Crosier, 
daughter  of  William  Crosier.    At  Riverside,  California,  June  10,  1921, 


JScLAoIc    pk  !&u£r 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 179 

he  married  Aida  Bell,  daughter  of  William  and  Sarah  Bell,  her  father 
an  electrician  and  automobile  mechanic.  Mr.  Beesley's  children  are : 
Arthur,  of  Moosejaw,  Saskatchewan,  Canada;  William  R.,  also  of 
Moosejaw,  Canada;  John  Wesley,  of  Tueford.  Saskatchewan,  Canada; 
Annie  Maude,  deceased  :  Bertha,  wife  of  J.  R.  Sparrow,  of  Moosejaw, 
Canada;  Mabel,  wife  of  Frank  Miller,  (if  Swift  Current.  Saskatchewan, 
Canada.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Beesley  reside  at  311  East  C  Street,  in  one 
of  the  many  choice  homes  of  the  beautiful  City  of  Ontario.  Mr. 
Beesley  has  reached  the  age  of  seventy  and,  while  retired  from 
business,  he  has  the  spirit  and  vigor  of  a  man  many  years  his  junior. 

Otto  S.  Roen  is  one  of  the  younger  and  progressive  business  element 
of  Ontario.  He  had  a  technical  education  and  for  a  number  of  years 
was  connected  with  public  utility  management  both  in  the  East  and 
after  coming  to  Ontario,  was  then  associated  with  a  very  prosperous 
wholesale  grain  and  feed  business  at  Ontario,  and  since  January  1, 
1922,  has  been  city  service  manager  of  Ontario. 

Mr.  Roen  was  born  at  Columbus,  Nebraska,  February  28,  1884, 
son  of  Ole  T.  and  Marion  H.  Roen,  the  former  a  native  of  Norway 
and  the  latter  of  Massachusetts.  Ole  S.  Roen  was  the  oldest  of  a 
family  of  two  sons  and  three  daughters.  He  graduated  from  the 
Columbus  High  School  and  for  three  years  was  a  student  in  the 
Armour  Institute  of  Technology  at  Chicago. 

He  left  that  school  in  1903  and  in  1907  became  manager  of  the 
Columbus  Gas  Company  in  his  home  town.  This  position  he  resigned 
in  1910  and,  locating  at  Ontario,  California,  became  associated  with 
the  Ontario-Upland  Gas  Company  as  secretary  and  treasurer.  In 
April,  1918,  this  public  utility  was  sold  to  the  Southern  Counties  Gas 
Company.  Mr.  Roen  then  joined  forces  with  W.  T.  Ross,  and  they 
bought  the  Ontario  feed  and  fuel  business  which  had  been  established 
thirty  years  ago  by  Lee  and  McCarthy.  From  the  restrictions 
imposed  by  the  war  period  this  business  leaped  forward  during  the 
past  three  years,  each  year  representing  a  big  increase  over  the 
preceding.  In  1920  the  firm  did  more  than  $200,000  worth  of  business. 
They  handled  both  wholesale  and  retail  grain,  feed  and  fuel. 

In  1918  Mr.  Roen  married  Miss  Dorothy  J.  Harper,  of  a  well 
known  Ontario  family.  She  was  born  in  that  town  and  is  a  graduate 
of  the  Chaffee  Union  High  School  and  the  State  Normal,  and  for 
four  years  was  a  teacher  in  the  grammar  school  before  her  marriage. 
They  have  one  son,  Charles  Roen,  born  in  Ontario  in  October,  1919. 

Mr.  Roen  at  the  time  of  the  World  war  applied  for  duty  in  the 
gas  and  flame  service,  was  drafted  and  ordered  to  the  colors  in  the 
aviation  department.  He  was  under  orders  to  entrain  for  Kelly  Field, 
Texas,  but  the  train  was  late  and  while  waiting  he  was  notified  of 
the  signing  of  the  armistice. 

Emmett  A.  Boylan  spent  his  early  life  in  Kansas,  chiefly  as  a  teacher, 
but  for  a  number  of  years  has  enjoyed  some  important  responsibilities 
at  Corona  as  manager  of  the  Sparr  Fruit  Company. 

He  was  born  at  White  Rock,  Kansas,  January  26,  1884,  son  of 
John  E.  and  Mary  E.  (Lock)  Boylan.  His  parents  are  now  living 
in  Oregon,  his  father  being  a  retired  farmer.  Mr.  Boylan  is  a  direct 
descendant  of  Edward  Lock  and  Stonewall  Jackson,  and  therefore 
of  prominent  Virginia  ancestry. 

Emmett  A.  Boylan  acquired  a  public  school  education  in  Republic 
City  and  Belleville,  Kansas,  and  was  a  member  of  the  class  of.  1902 


1180       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

in  the  Kansas  Agricultural  College  at  Manhattan.  The  vocation  and 
duties  of  teaching  engaged  him  for  six  years. 

Mr.  Boylan  came  to  Corona,  California,  in  1907,  and  since  that  time 
has  been  the  managing  official  of  the  Sparr  Fruit  Company.  He  is  a 
republican  in  politics,  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church 
and  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Lodge  and  the  Security  Benefit 
Association. 

On  October  22,  1907,  Air.  Boylan  married  Miss  Virginia  Roe,  a 
daughter  of  Jasper  Newton  and  Margaret  (Shultz)  Roe,  of  Clyde, 
Kansas,  where  Mrs.  Boylan  was  born  November  13,  1879.  She  was 
educated  in  the  public  schools  of  her  native  town.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Boylan  have  a  daughter,  Vera  Leona. 

William  Reece — On  the  history  of  constructive  development  in  the 
Redlands  district  one  of  the  best  authorities  from  personal  observation 
and  experience  is  Air.  William  Reece  of  Crafton. 

Mr.  Reece  was  born  in  England,  Alarch  10,  1861.  Two  years  later 
his  parents,  Ralph  and  Alary  Reece,  came  to  America  and  settled  in 
Connecticut,  where  he  grew  up  as  a  boy  and  acquired  his  schooling. 
His  first  regular  employment  was  in  a  brick  yard.  The  duties  of  an 
old  time  brick  yard  involved  perhaps  as  strenuous  labor  as  any  occupa- 
tion known  to  man.  Air.  Reece  had  his  full  share  of  this  kind  of  labor, 
and  in  that  and  other  mechanical  trades  and  industry  he  put  in  his  years 
until  he  was  about  twenty-seven,  when  he  started  for  California.  In 
1888  he  left  the  train  at  San  Bernardino  and  took  the  stage  to  Redlands. 
He  camped  near  the  Redlands  Reservoir,  and  at  once  secured  a  pick  and 
shovel  job  with  the  firm  of  Butler  &  Brown,  then  building  the  reservoir. 
At  the  end  of  one  week  he  left  the  job.and  on  Sunday  walked  to  East 
Highland,  where  he  began  a  long  period  of  service  with  W.  H. 
Glass,  who  was  then  superintending  the  construction  of  North  Fork- 
ditch.  Air.  Reece  did  the  paving  work  on  the  bottom  of  this  ditch  for 
one  week,  and  then  laid  up  the  sides,  and  continued  as  a  mason  work- 
man for  a  year.  He  was  then  made  foreman  by  Mr.  Glass,  who  for 
years  was  one  of  the  leading  contractors  in  ditch  construction  in  the 
valley.  Either  as  a  contractor  or  as  superintendent  Mr.  Glass  con- 
structed the  Redlands  Reservoir  and  all  the  main  foothill  ditches  and 
waterways.  Air.  Reece  was  employed  as  a  foreman  on  construction  in 
much  of  this  work. 

In  July,  1893,  the  Bear  Valley  Company  went  into  bankruptcy,  with 
T.  P.  Morrison  as  the  first  receiver,  who  was  succeeded  in  a  short  time 
by  Grimes  &  Graves,  who  succeeded  in  disposing  of  enough  of  the 
property  and  the  company  supplies  to  meet  the  large  arrearages  in  debt 
to  the  laborers.  At  this  time  Mr.  Glass  was  superintendent  for  the  Bear 
Valley  Company.  He  gave  Air.  Reece  instructions  to  clean  up  every- 
thing, take  down  derricks  in  the  valley,  and  secure  all  the  powder  and 
caps  and  return  them  to  storage  in  Redlands,  since  it  was  feared  that 
some  of  these  explosives  would  be  used  to  blow  up  the  dam  by  some 
laborer  who  had  not  been  paid.  Mr.  Reece  was  acquainted  with  Ames 
and  Johnson,  respectively  paymaster  and  bookkeeper  of  the  concern, 
whose  offices  were  in  the  Hubbard  Block.  Mr.  Johnson  apprised  Mr. 
Reece  as  to  the  expected  arrival  of  a  consignment  of  money  to  pay  off 
some  of  the  laborers,  and  on  going  down  to  the  office  he  found  a  long 
line  waiting,  and  going  into  the  office  ahead  of  them,  he  was  handed 
his  own  pay  by  Mr.  Tohnson.  At  that  time  there  was  not  sufficient 
funds  to  meet  all  the  labor  obligations. 

Prior  to  this  experience  Mr.  Reece  did  work  for  Mr.  Glass  at  Moreno. 
The  contract  called  for  the  construction  of  all  the  pipes  and  flumes  on 


/74^>^i^L^^  C^^c^cj^- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1181 

the  seven  hundred  acres  then  being  developed  by  Redlands 'people.  Fol- 
lowing this  he  was  connected  with  the  Lake  View  project,  which  also 
went  into  bankruptcy,  though  again  he  was  fortunate  in  securing  his 
own  wages.  Mr.  Reece  was  then  employed  in  building  storm  drainage 
ditches  for  the  City  of  Redlands,  following  which  he  worked  for  J.  S. 
Edwards  on  Plunge  Creek  in  the  project  for  bringing  water  to  the  high 
land  owned  by  Mr.  Edwards  in  East  Highland. 

During  1893  Mr.  Reece  spent  three  months  in  helping  construct  the 
water  ditch  for  the  Crafton  Water  Company  from  Mill  Creek  Zarija  to 
Crafton  Reservoir.  He  built  the  Redlands  Reservoir  and  the  Crafton 
ditch  from  Santa  Ana  River  to  the  reservoir",  rocking  it  up  both  bottom 
and  sides. 

Mr.  Reece  in  the  spring  of  1895  was  appointed  and  began  his  service 
at  Zanjero  for  the  Crafton  Water  Company.  He  has  been  in  that  posi- 
tion continuously  for  twenty-seven  years  without  missing  a  single  day 
on  account  of  illness  or  any  cause,  and  it  is  a  record  of  service  of  which 
he  may  be  justly  proud. 

Mr.  Reece  enlisted  during  the  Spanish-American  war  in  Company  G 
of  the  Seventh  California  Volunteers,  and  after  four  months  in  training 
was  discharged  at  the  Presidio  at  San  Francisco. 

He  married  Miss  Sophia  Casteel,  a  native  daughter  of  California,  who 
was  born  in  San  Bernardino  .County  in  1874.  Her  mother  came  to 
California  with  an  ox  train  at  the  time  the  Van  Leuven  families  moved 
from  Salt  Lake  to  old  San  Bernardino.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Reece  are  the 
parents  of  four  children.  Ethel,  born  in  1892,  is  the  wife  of  Chauncey 
McKee  and  the  mother  of  two  children.  May,  born  in  1893,  was  mar- 
ried to  Winfield  Richter  and  has  one  child.  The  two  youngest  children 
are  John,  born  in  1906,  and  Helen,  born  in  1908.  In'  1911  Mr.  Reece 
bought  ten  acres  on  Crafton  Avenue,  where  he  has  his  present  home. 
This  is  adjoining  Redlands  at  Mentone.  Seven  acres  of  the  tract  had 
been  set  to  Navel  oranges.  Three  acres  were  still  covered  with  rocks, 
which  he  had  removed  and  the  land  improved,  and  it  is  now  a  grove  of 
Valencias.  Here  Mr.  Reece  built  his  new  and  modern  home.  His 
first  place  of  residence  was  in  Redlands.  At  that  time  his  duties  fre- 
quently called  him  to  the  mountains,  and  on  one  occasion  he  took  his 
family  with  him.  As  a  precaution  against  fire  he  removed  two  five 
gallon  cans,  one  of  kerosene  and  one  of  gasoline,  to  a  shed  in  the  rear 
of  his  home.  Redlands  City  had  recently  installed  a  fire  alarm  system, 
and  there  was  a  standing  reward  of  five  dollars  offered  to  the  first  per- 
son who  should  turn  in  an  alarm  for  a  real  fire.  Some  boys  coveting 
this  reward  made  a  real  fire  bv  securinsr  the  cans  from  the  shed  and 
pouring  the  contents  about  the  house  of  Mr.  Reece  and  then  setting  fire 
to  the  premises.  The  house  was  a  total  loss.  The  boys  were  convicted 
and  sentenced  to  the  Whittier  Reform  School. 

Samuel  B.  Hampton  became  a  prominent  and  influential  fieure  in 
connection  with  the  citrus  fruit  industry  in  Southern  California,  and 
the  splendid  achievement  that  most  significantly  indicated  his 
initiative  and  executive  abilitv  was  the  organizing  of  the  Corona 
Foothill  Lemon  Company,  which  has  added  materially  to  the  indus- 
trial prestige  and  advancement  of  Riverside  County.  Of  this  company 
Mr.  Hampton  was  president  from  the  time  of  its  incorporation  until 
his  death,  and  his  splendid  energies  were  enlisted  also  in  the 
developing  of  other  important  business  enterprises. 

Samuel  B.  Hampton  was  born  in  Linn  County,  Iowa,  on  February 
26,  1870,  a  son  of  Isaac  S.  and  Helen  (Hazelrigg)  Hampton,  natives 


1182       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

respectively  "of  Ohio  and  Iowa.  Mr.  Hampton  was  four  years  of 
age  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  Osage  Count}'.  Kansas, 
where  lie  attended  the  public  schools  until  he  was  sixteen  years  of 
age.  He  then,  in  1886,  accompanied  his  parents  to  California,  and 
the  family  home  was  established  at  Elsinore,  Riverside  County,  where 
for  a  year  he  was  variously  employed.  He  then  became  a  packer  in 
the  fruit  packing  establishment  of  Griffin  &  Skelly  at  Riverside,  three 
years  later  became  foreman  for  the  Riverside  Fruit  Company,  and 
later  he  held  a  similar  position  with  F.  B.  Devine  &  Company,  fruit 
packers.  In  1900  he  removed  to  Hollywood  and  became  house  man- 
ager of  the  Cahuenga  Valley  Lemon  Exchange.  In  1901  he  removed 
to  Whittier  and  organized  the  Whittier  Citrus  Association,  of  which 
he  served  as  manager  until  October,  1904.  He  then  became  manager 
of  the  Corona  Lemon  Company  at  Corona,  Riverside  County,  which 
position  he  held  until  his  death. 

The  foresight  and  business  acumen  of  Mr.  Hampton  were  specially 
effective  when  he  brought  about  the  organization  of  the  Corona  Foot- 
hill Lemon  Company,  which  acquired  900  acres  of  land  on  the  mesa 
south  of  Corona — a  tract  specially  adapted  to  lemon  culture  by  reason 
of  its  being  far  above  the  frost  line.  Under  the  vigorous  management 
of  Mr.  Hampton  600  acres  were  planted  to  lemons  and  100  acres 
to  oranges.  An  abundant  supply  of  water  has  been  developed  from 
wells,  and  in  commission  is  a  pumping  plant  of  600  horsepower,  in 
connection  with  which  has  been  installed  three  miles  of  pipe  line,  with 
a  capacity  of  250  miners'  inches.  The  Corona  Foothill  Lemon  Com- 
pany was  incorporated  in  1911,  with  a  capital  stock  of  $300,000, 
which  was  later  increased  to  $500,000,  and  with  official  corps  as  fol- 
lows:  Samuel  B.  Hampton,  president;  W.  A.  Mcintosh,  vice  presi- 
dent;^. R.  Case,  secretary;  and  the  First  National  Bank  of  Corona, 
treasurer.  After  the  death  of  Mr.  Hampton  in  1918  W.  A.  Mcintosh 
became  president  of  the  company,  and  in  the  position  of  vice  president 
was  succeeded  by  David  Blanckenhorn.  The  officers  remain  as 
above  noted,  Robert  L.  Hampton  having  become  general  manager  in 
1918,  shortly  after  the  death  of  his  father,  which  occurred  on  October 
16th  of  that  year. 

Aside  from  his  connection  with  the  Corona  Foothill  Lemon  Com- 
pany Mr.  Hampton  was  president  of  the  Temescal  Water  Company, 
president  of  the  Exchange  By-Products  Company,  manager  of  the 
Corona  Lemon  Company  and  a  member  of  the  Queen  Colony  Fruit 
Exchange,  besides  being  the  Corona  representative  at  the  California 
Fruit  Growers'  Exchange  at  Los  Angeles.  It  was  mainly  through 
the  efforts  of  Mr.  Hampton  that  the  Exchange  By-Products  Company 
was  established  at  Corona,  he  having  been  president  of  this  company 
from  the  time  of  its  organization  until  his  death. 

Mr.  Hampton  was  a  stalwart  advocate  of  the  principles  of  the 
republican  party,  was  a  progressive  and  public-spirited  citizen,  and  as 
a  man  he  commanded  unqualified  popular  confidence  and  esteem.  He 
was  a  birthright  member  of  the  Society  of  Friends,  and  held  this 
religious  faith  most  earnestly  and  consistently.  Mr.  Hampton  mar- 
ried Miss  Nora  Willits,  daughter  of  Gabriel  B.  Willits,  of  Riverside, 
and  since  his  death  she  has  continued  to  maintain  her  home  at  Corona. 
Of  the  three  children  Robert  L.  is  the  eldest ;  Ethlyn  remains  with  her 
widowed  mother;  and  Doris  is  the  wife  of  A.  E.  Daniels,  of  Corona. 

Robert  Lester  Hampton,  only  son  of  the  subject  of  this  memoir, 
gained  his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Corona  and  there- 
after continued  his  studies  in  the  University  of  California  as  a  member 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       L183 

of  the  class  of  1916.  After  leaving  the  university  he  became  ranch 
foreman  for  the  Corona  Foothill  Lemon  Company,  and  since  1918 
he  has  been  its  manager.  He  is  a  republican  in  political  allegiance, 
and  is  affiliated  with  the  Del  Rev  Club.  September  17.  1920.  recorded 
his  marriage  with  Miss  Jessamine  Hunt,  daughter  of  Mrs.  Alice  Hunt, 
of  Corona,  and  the  one  child  of  this  union  is  a  son,  Robert  Lester,  Jr. 
Mrs.  Hampton  was  born  in  Corona  and  attended  the  public  and  high 
schools.  She  was  afforded  the  advantages  of  Leland  Stanford,  Jr., 
University,  and  is  a  popular  figure  in  the  representative  social 
activities   of   her   home   community. 

Mark  D.  Anderson  is  prominently  identified  with  the  fruit  packing 
industry  in  Riverside  County,  where  he  is  secretary  and  manager 
of  the  Orange  Heights  Fruit  Association,  the  modern  packing  house 
of  which  is  established  at  the  intersection  of  Main  Street  and  the 
tracks  of  the  Atchison,  Topeka  &  Santa  Fe  Railroad  at  Corona. 

The  Orange  Heights  Fruit  Association  was  organized  in  1905,  on 
October  7th  of  which  year  it  was  incorporated  with  a  capital  stock 
of  $25,000  and  with  the  following  named  officers :  F.  F.  Thompson, 
president;  L.  A.  Fink,  secretary;  and  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Corona  as  treasurer.  The  new  corporation  purchased  the  packing 
house  of  the  Faye  Fruit  Company,  and  promptly  proceeded  with  the 
rebuilding  and  remodeling  of  the  plant.  On  the  31st  of  August,  1914, 
the  capital  stock  was  increased  to  $50,000,  and  the  following  officers 
were  elected  :  W.  C.  Barth,  president ;  J.  C.  Read,  secretary ;  Corona 
National  Bank,  treasurer.  The  officers  of  the  association  at  the 
opening  of  the  year  1922  are  as  here  noted:  J.  B.  Cook,  president; 
L.  A.  Fink,  vice  president;  Mark  D.  Anderson,  secretary  and  man- 
ager; Corona  National  Bank,  treasurer.  The  packing  house  gives  an 
aggregate  floor  space  of  193,500  square  feet,  the  facilities  are  of  the 
most  approved  type,  and  at  the  plant  employment  is  given  to  seventy- 
five  persons,  while  in  the  fields  during  the  fruit-packing  season  the 
association  has  an  average  of  150  employes.  The  association  handles 
fruit  from  1,100  acres,  its  property  investment  represents  fully 
$150,000  and  its  indebtedness  is  only  $8,000,  so  that  its  affairs  are  in 
a  most  prosperous  condition  and  its  influence  large  in  connection  with 
the  fruit  industry  in  this  section  of  the  state. 

Mark  D.  Anderson  was  born  in  Morgan  County,  Ohio,  on  the  1st  of 
June,  1880,  and  is  a  son  of  Adelbert  A.  and  Mary  Catherine  (DeVolle) 
Anderson.  Mr.  Anderson  was  a  child  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal 
to  Bourbon  County,  Kentucky,  where  he  attended  the  public  schools. 
Later  he  attended  the  McConnelsville  Normal  School  at  McConnelsville, 
Ohio,  after  which  he  read  law  in  the  office  of  Kinzies  Porter  of  Zanes- 
ville,  that  state.  At  Zanesville  he  finally  became  manager  of  the  business 
of  the  F.  E.  Hemmer  Company,  manufacturing  confectioners  and  whole- 
sale dealers  in  fruit  and  produce.  Prior  to  taking  up  the  study  of  law  he 
had  given  three  years  of  successful  service  as  a  teacher  in  the  public 
schools  in  Bourbon  County,  Kentucky,  and  at  Zanesville,  Ohio.  He  con- 
tinued his  connection  with  F.  E.  Hemmer  Company  three  years,  and  there- 
after was  associated  with  the  wholesale  commission  business  in  the  City 
of  Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania.  In  this  connection  he  came  to  California 
in  the  capacity  of  purchasing  agent.  In  1904  he  here  became  associated 
with  Arthur  Gregory,  who  was  then  general  manager  of  the  Mutual 
Orange  Distributors  at  Redlands.  Within  a  short  time  thereafter  Mr. 
Anderson  became  manager  of  the  Carlsbad  Guano  &  Fertilizer  Company, 
in  which  connection  he  was  in  active  service  two  years  at  Carlsbad,  New 


1 184       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Mexico,  his  executive  duties  involving  considerable  travel  in  Mexico. 
Upon  his  return  to  California  he  assumed  the  position  of  district  manager 
of  the  Mutual  Orange  Distributors,  and  with  this  corporation  he  continued 
his  alliance,  in  various  capacities,  until  1919,  when  he  became  the  incum- 
bent of  his  present  dual  office  of  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Orange 
Heights  Fruit  Association. 

Mr.  Anderson  is  a  valued  member  of  the  Corona  Chamber  of  Com- 
merce, is  a  director  of  the  Queen  Colony  Fruit  Exchange,  and  the 
Exchange  Orange  Producers  Company,  is  a  republican  in  politics,  and  is  a 
member  of  the  Corona  Country  Club. 

In  1900  Mr.  Anderson  wedded  Miss  Myrtle  O'Brannon,  of  McCon- 
nelsville,  Ohio,  and  the  two  children  of  this  union,  I.  M.  and  Madeline, 
reside  at  Zanesville,  Ohio.  The  present  marriage  of  Mr.  Anderson  was 
solemnized  in  January,  1917,  when  Miss  Daisy  Helen  Moberly,  of  Wichita, 
Kansas,  became  his  wife.     They  have  no  children. 

Silas  A.  Dudley  may  well  be  considered  one  of  the  pioneers  and  rep- 
resentative citizens  of  Corona,  Riverside  County,  where  he  has  a  well 
improved  orange  and  lemon  grove  and  an  attractive  home  which  has  been 
his  place  of  abode  since  1895,  when  he  purchased  the  property,  at  3010 
Main  Street.  That  he  has  full  claim  for  pioneer  distinction  is  evident 
when  it  is  stated  that  he  hauled  the  lumber  for  the  construction  of  the 
first  house  at  Corona,  which  was  originally  known  as  South  Riverside. 
Mr.  Dudley  came  to  Riverside  County  in  1885,  and  in  his  independent 
activities  in  the  growing  of  citrus  fruit  he  has  met  with  well  merited 
success,  his  present  fruit  grove  comprising  twelve  acres  and  the  property 
being  exceptionally  well  improved. 

Mr.  Dudley  was  born  at  Mendon,  Massachusetts,  July  5,  1857,  and  is 
a  scion  of  a  family  early  established  in  New  England,  that  gracious  cradle 
of  much  of  our  national  history.  He  is  a  descendant  of  Governor  Dudley 
of  the  Massachusetts  Colony,  and  of  Edward  Rawson,  secretary  of  the 
Massachusetts  Bay  Company.  His  parents,  Edward  and  Mary  (Ellis) 
Dudley,  passed  their  entire  lives  in  Massachusetts,  and  the  father  devoted 
his  active  career  to  farm  enterprise. 

Silas  A.  Dudley  gained  his  youthful  education  in  the  public  schools 
of  his  native  place  and  thereafter  was  associated  with  the  work  and  man- 
agement of  the  old  home  farm  until  1885,  when  he  came  to  Riverside 
County,  California,  where  he  has  been  associated  with  the  splendid  develop- 
ment and  progress  that  have  marked  the  intervening  years.  He  has  had 
no  desire' to  enter  the  arena  of  practical  politics  but  is  loyally  aligned  in 
the  ranks  of  the  republican  party,  and  as  a  citizen  has  ever  shown  deep 
interest  in  community  affairs  of  public  order. 

On  August  28,  1895,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Dudley  and 
Miss  Carrie  V.  C.  Jordan,  daughter  of  Simeon  L.  and  Emma  E.  (Sparks) 
Jordan,  at  that  time  residents  of  Milford,  Massachusetts,  Mrs.  Dudley 
having,  however,  been  reared  and  educated  in  the  State  of  New  York. 
She  was  born  in  Newburg,  New  York,  November  5,  1874.  Of  their  three 
children  it  may  be  recorded  that  Miss  Ruth,  a  teacher  in  the  Lincoln  School 
of  Corona,  remains  at  the  parental  home;  Edward  A.  is,  in  1921-2,  a 
student  in  the  University  of  California;  and  Charlotte,  a  Junior  in  High 
School,  is  the  youngest  member  of  the  parental  home  circle. 

Ezra  J.  Post,  a  resident  of  Mentone,  at  the  green  and  vigorous  old 
age  of  ninety,  is  one  of  the  few  survivors  of  that  intrepid  band 
of  pioneers  who  poured  over  the  plains  and  across  the  mountains 
to   the  Pacific  Coast  in  the  years  immediately   following  the   first  dis- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1185 

coveries  of  precious  metal  in  California.  His  life  for  a  number  of 
years  was  given  to  the  diversified  activities  of  ranching,  mechanical  labor 
and  mining  in  the  northwestern  states,  following  which  he  did  a  suc- 
cessful business  on  the  eastern  slope  of  the  Rockies,  and  finally  resorted 
to  Southern  California  as  a  means  of  restoring  health  and  has  continued 
here  a  role  of  business  activity  that  would  shame  many  a  younger  man. 

Mr.  Post  was  born  in  Madison  County  in  Southern  Illinois  in  1831. 
and  grew  up  and  acquired  his  education  in  Illinois.  He  was  born  on  a 
farm  and  learned  the  blacksmith's  trade.  It  was  in  May,  1851,  when 
he  was  about  twenty  years  of  age,  that  he  left  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  then 
one  of  the  chief  outfitting  points  on  the  Missouri  River  for  California 
and  western  immigrants.  He  drove  one  of  the  twenty-one  ox  teams  in 
a  party  made  up  of  about  a  hundred  people  who  went  over  the  old  Lewis 
and  Clark  trail,  and  after  about  five  months  arrived  at  Oregon  City, 
Oregon,  on  September  10,  1851.  It  was  a  journey  fraught  with  many 
hardships  and  dangers.  The  party  was  attacked  by  Snake  Indians  on 
Snake  River  and  two  of  the  members  killed.  They  drove  over  the  Cas- 
cade Mountains  through  a  foot  of  snow  and  in  bitter  cold.  They  had  to 
cut  alder  for  cattle  forage  and  many  of  their  oxen  died.  Reaching  the 
Chutes  River  they  found  it  swollen  to  a  depth  of  fifteen  feet,  and  for 
two  or  three  days  had  to  remain  on  one  side  with  only  crackers  and 
sugar  for  their  food  until  the  flood  subsided  and  they  could  cross  to  ob- 
tain supplies  of  meat  and  other  provisions.  In  Oregon  Mr.  Post  found 
it  warm  and  comfortable,  and  at  once  resumed  his  trade  as  a  blacksmith. 
As  a  plow  maker  he  was  called  upon  to  make  those  implements  of  agri- 
culture for  farmers  living  from  one  end  to  the  other  of  the  Willamette 
Valley.  For  four  years  he  continued  making  plows  and  doing  mechanical 
repair  work  for  steamboats.  He  then  started  a  ranch,  setting  out  an 
orchard  and  growing  grain.  When  he  planted  his  apple  trees  that  fruit 
was  selling  at  six  dollars  a  box,  but  by  the  time  the  trees  came  into  bear- 
ing there  was  no  market  and  he  fed  the  fruit  to  his  stock.  Mr.  Post 
was  a  pioneer  horticulturist  in  the  Northwest,  when  fruit  trees  were  not 
burdened  with  pests  and  there  was  no  occasion  to  spray  and  the  fruit 
itself  was  perfect.  He  and  his  brother,  John,  during  one  season  equipped 
an  ox  train  and  did  the  first  freighting  of  goods  into  Orofino,  Idaho. 
From  there  he  went  over  into  the  Salmon  River  basin  of  Idaho  and  did 
some  mining  and  prospecting.  He  remained  in  the  valley  during  the  win- 
ter, when  snow  covered  the  ground  to  a  depth  of  nine  feet,  and  while 
there  he  suffered  an  illness  that  almost  took  him  away.  Two  of  his 
friends  decided  to  get  out  of  the  valley,  one  of  them,  a  Portland  mer- 
chant worth  thirty  thousand  dollars  and  another,  Mr.  Mulkey,  worth 
about  ten  thousand  dollars,  and  froze  to  death  in  the  attempt. 

In  the  meantime  Mr.  Post  had  retained  his  Oregon  ranch.  During 
that  winter  of  unprecedented  severity  he  lost  fortv  out  of  forty-two  head 
of  livestock,  and  stock  of  all  descriptions  perished  all  the  way  from 
Idaho  down  to  The  Dalles  in  Oregon.  On  giving  up  his  Oregon  ranch 
Mr.  Post  returned  to  the  Salmon  River  Valley  and  engaged  in  mining, 
packing,  trading  and  blacksmithing.  It  .  was  an  unprofitable  venture, 
largely  through  the  dishonesty  of  his  partners,  one  of  whom  subsequently 
committed  suicide  at  Boise. 

Leaving  that  country  altogether,  Mr.  Post  in  1870  went  to  Denver, 
reaching  that  city  penniless,  and  for  two  years  made  a  living  as  a  jour- 
neyman blacksmith.  He  saved  and  made  money,  and  this  time  never 
experimented  with  partners.  From  Denver  he  removed  to  Trinidad, 
Colorado,  where  he  engaged  in  the  hardware  business.  As  a  prospering 
business  man  he  was  liberal  of  his  means  in  promoting  railroad  enter- 


1186      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

prises,  and  gave  five  hundred  dollars  toward  the  fund  to  secure  the  right 
of  way  for  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad,  three  hundred  dollars  for  the  Den- 
ver and  Rio  Grande,  a  sum  subsequently  refunded,  and  contributed  two 
thousand  dollars  to  the  proposed  Denver,  Texas  &  Gulf  Railway.  He 
was  made  treasurer  of  the  company  that  raised  a  hundred  and  eight 
thousand  dollars  to  purchase  the  right  of  way  for  this  last  named  road. 
It  turned  out  to  be  a  very  profitable  business  for  him,  since  the  road 
turned  many  accounts  toward  him  and  he  sold  goods  over  a  three  hun- 
dred mile  stretch  up  and  down  the  line  and  frequently  got  out  of  bed  in 
the  middle  of  the  night  to  supply  an  order  for  goods.  He  also  started 
a  branch  store  at  Albuquerque,  New  Mexico,  and  this,  too,  was  profitable, 
since  he  had  friendly  connections  with  the  Santa  Fe  people.  Mr.  Post 
continued  merchandising  at  Trinidad  for  sixteen  years,  though  for  the 
last  six  years  of  that  time  he  spent  his  winters  in  Southern  California. 

Gradually,  suffering  from  impaired  health,  he  sold  out  and  in  1887, 
moved  to  Los  Angeles,  determined  to  rebuild  his  constitution.  That  he 
has  done  so  his  subsequent  active  life  of  over  thirty  years  abundantly 
proves.  On  going  to  Los  Angeles  he  bought  ten  acres  in  the  city,  and 
sold  one  lot  for  enough  to  pay  for  the  entire  purchase  price.  For  a 
number  of  years  he  was  one  of  the  very  successful  real  estate  dealers  in 
Los  Angeles. 

In  1890  Mr.  Post  bought  twenty-two  acres  on  the  bench  land  known 
as  Green  Spot,  near  Mentone.  He  acquired  this  tract  from  W.  P.  Mc- 
intosh and  Marlett.  The  purchase  was  made  entirely  against  the  advice 
of  his  friends,  who  thought  the  land  lay  too  high  in  the  valley.  How- 
ever, he  planted  it  to  Navel  oranges,  and  it  is  now  one  of  the  show 
places  of  California  horticulture.  Later  he  added  another  ten  acres, 
and  this  tract  has  been  developed  to  the  Valencia  oranges.  Thirty  years 
ago  it  was  totally  wild  land,  and  his  capital  and  efforts  have  set  the  pace 
for  much  development  all  over  that  region.  Mr.  Post  has  lived  at 
Mentone  with  his  daughter  and  son-in-law,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hart,  since 
June  23,   1920. 

In  1873  he  married  Miss  Anna  A.  Barraclough,  a  native  of  New 
York  City.  She  died  February  9,  1920,  after  they  had  traveled  life's 
highway  and  shared  life's  fortunes  and  reverses  for  forty-seven  years. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Post  had  two  daughters.  Mrs.  Ada  E.  Easley,  now  a 
widow,  lives  at  Glendale.  California,  and  has  three  children.  Frederick, 
Leland  and  Bernice  Easley.  The  second  daughter,  Mabel  Josephine",  is 
the  wife  of  Sherman  E.  Hart,  and  they  have  three  children,  Gaylord. 
born  Mav  31,  1913;  Donald  Post,  born  in  1915,  and  Sherman  Lee  Hart, 
born  in  1921. 

Mr.  Sherman  Hart  is  a  native  of  Illinois  and  is  one  of  the  men 
of  distinctive  enterprise  in  the  citizenship  of  Mentone.  He  has  had  a 
diversified  business  experience  and  career,  has  lost  at  times  but  has 
begun  over  again  and  has  made  himself  financially  one  of  the  strong 
men  of  this  section  of  the  state.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hart  recently  erected 
a  beautiful  modern  home  against  the  background  of  mountain  scenery 
and  with  a  beautiful  view  of  the  valley  below. 

Fred  J.  Mueller  is  secretary  and  general  manager  of  the  Corona 
Citrus  Association,  the  oldest  and  most  important  fruit-packing  concern  in 
the  Corona  district  of  Riverside  County,  the  enterprise  dating  its  inception 
hack  to  the  year  1893,  when  the  Queen  Colony  Fruit  Association  was  incor- 
porated with  a  capital  stock  of  $10,000  and  with  the  following  named 
citizens  as  incorporators  and  directors :  E.  B.  Alderman,  George  L.  Jov, 
David  Lord,  Ambrose  Compton,  R.  B.  Taylor,  J.   S.  Jewell  and  T.   P. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 187 

Drinkwater.  The  packing  house  of  this  original  association  was  erected 
by  Frank  Scoville  and  T.  P.  Drinkwater  at  the  intersection  of  Sheridan 
Street  and  the  tracks  of  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  at  Corona.  In  1896  the 
Queen  Colony  Fruit  Exchange  was  established,  with  the  same  corps  of 
officers  and  directors,  and  under  this  title  the  business  was  continued  until 
1905,  when  a  reorganization  was  effected  and  the  title  of  the  Corona  Citrus 
Association  was  adopted.  Of  the  corporation  the  present  officers  are  as 
here  noted :  F.  M.  Bender,  president ;  S.  A.  Dudley,  vice  president ;  Fred 
J.  Mueller,  secretary  and  general  manager ;  and  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Corona,  treasurer.  The  association  gives  employment  to  100  persons,  its 
packing  house  affords  43,000  square  feet  of  floor  space,  and  the  capacity 
of  the  same  is  for  the  output  of  250  carloads  of  fruit  a  year,  both  oranges 
and  lemons  being  shipped  through  this  effective  medium.  The  association 
is  a  co-operative  organization  made  up  of  representative  fruit-growers  of 
this  district,  and  there  is  made  no  attempt  to  gain  direct  profit  from  its 
operations. 

Fred  J.  Mueller  was  born  at  Ney  Ulm,  Brown  County,  Minnesota, 
on  the  28th  of  December,  1882,  and  is  a  son  of  Jacob  and  Frances 
(Schultz)  Mueller.  He  received  his  youthful  education  in  the  public 
schools  of  his  native  city  and  those  of  Indianapolis,  Indiana,  and  thereafter 
attended  the  celebrated  Shattuck  Military  Academy  at  Faribault,  Minne- 
sota. In  1906  he  graduated  from  Cornell  University,  Ithaca,  New  York, 
from  which  institution  he  received  the  degree  of  civil  engineer.  For  the 
ensuing  two  years  he  was  employed  as  a  civil  engineer  in  connection  with 
the  Chicago,  Cleveland,  Cincinnati  &  St.  Louis  (Big  Four)  Railroad,  with 
headquarters  at  Indianapolis,  Indiana,  and  then,  in  1908,  came  to  Cali- 
fornia. In  August  of  that  year  he  purchased  stock  in  the  First  National 
Bank  of  Corona,  and  of  this  institution  he  continued  the  efficient  and 
popular  cashier  for  three  years.  He  then  sold  his  stock  in  the  bank  and 
became  actively  identified  with  the  citrus  fruit  industry  in  this  district 
as  the  owner  of  a  producing  orange  and  lemon  grove.  In  1917  he  became 
manager  of  the  Corona  Citrus  Association,  and  as  its  secretary  and  general 
manager  he  has  done  much  to  make  its  service  effective  in  promoting  the 
the  best  interests  of  the  fruit  growers  interested  in  the  co-operative 
organization. 

Mr.  Mueller  is  influential  in  the  local  councils  and  campaign  activities 
of  the  republican  party  and  is,  in  1921-2,  a  member  of  the  Republican 
Central  Committee  oi  Riverside  County.  He  has  served  one  term  as  a 
member  of  the  City  Council  of  Corona,  is  a  loyal  member  and  a  director 
of  the  Corona  Chamber  of  Commerce,  is  president  of  the  Queen  Colony 
Fruit  Exchange,  is  a  member  of  the  Corona  Country  Club,  is  affiliated  with 
the  Phi  Gamma  Delta  college  fraternity,  and  in  the  Masonic  fraternity  he 
has  received  the  thirty-second  degree  of  the  Scottish  Rite  and  is  affiliated 
also  with  the  Mystic  Shrine. 

December  9,  1908,  recorded  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Mueller  and  Miss 
Flora  Keely,  who  was  born  and  reared  in  Indianapolis,  Indiana,  where 
her  early  educational  advantages  included  those  of  the  State  Normal 
School.  She  is  a  daughter  of  J.  H.  and  Harriet  Keely.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Mueller  have  one  daughter,  Marjorie. 

Leo  Kroonen.  A  master  of  his  profession  as  an  architect,  a  thor- 
oughly capable  business  executive,  Leo  Kroonen  during  his  long  residence 
at  Corona  has  put  his  faculties  and  influence  behind  every  notable  project 
for  the  general  welfare,  and  the  community  owes  him  a  great  debt  for  the 
thoroughly  constructive  work  be  has  done  here  and  in  the  vicinity. 


1188       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Mr.  Kroonen  was  born  at  Uithoorn,  eighteen  miles  from  Amsterdam, 
Holland,  March  31,  1857,  son  of  Peter  and  Cornelia  (Koiman)  Kroonen. 
He  was  reared  and  educated  in  his  native  city,  served  an  apprenticeship 
at  the  carpenter's  trade,  also  studied  architecture,  and  had  earned  a  high 
place  in  that  profession  in  Holland  before  he  left  there  at  the  age  of 
twenty-eight  and  came  to  the  United  States.  Before  coming  to  California 
Mr.  Kroonen  had  practiced  as  an  architect  at  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  at 
Galveston  and  Fort  Worth,  Texas,  and  on  the  Pacific  Coast  he  was  located 
six  months  at  Los  Angeles  and  then  at  Claremont,  until  he  located  at 
Corona. 

As  an  architect  and  contractor  Mr.  Kroonen  has  a  long  list  of  notable 
buildings  to  his  credit.  He  put  up  the  high  school,  city  hall,  grammar 
school,  most  of  the  fruit  packing  houses  at  Corona,  the  San  Jacinto  gram- 
mar school  in  Riverside  County,  the  chemical  plant  and  packing  house  at 
El  Cerrito  ranch,  and  a  large  number  of  the  costly  and  tasteful  residences. 
Mr.  Kroonen  has  been  an  investor  and  developer  in  the  Corona  fruit  section 
and  owned  the  oldest  grove  and  shipped  the  first  oranges,  also  served 
as  a  director  for  two  years  of  the  Temescal  Water  Company,  and  for  four 
years  was  a  director  of  the  First  Exchange  Association  of  Corona  and 
helped  organize  it.  However,  his  most  important  interests  have  been  in 
the  line  of  developing  and  exploiting  some  peculiarly  rich  and  valuable 
natural  resources  of  the  vicinity  of  Corona.  An  article  published  several 
years  ago  gives  a  description  of  these  properties  which  may  be  properly 
included  here  for  historical  purposes : 

"His  holdings  cover  an  area  of  about  700  acres  altogether,  and. he  has 
already  spent  many  thousands  of  dollars  in  preliminary  development  work 
in  the  twenty-four  years  that  he  has  owned  the  properties.  On  160  acres 
of  the  cement  property  alone  an  expert  engineer  has  estimated  that  the 
outcroppings  show  sufficient,  almost  pure,  cement  rock  to  operate  a  cement 
plant  of  2500  barrels  daily  capacity  for  over  two  hundred  years,  and 
analysis  by  the  best  cement  experts  in  the  country  show  that  a  perfect 
Portland  cement  can  be  made  from  the  materials  in  the  deposit,  also  that 
all  transporting  of  rock  from  cement  beds  to  plant  can  be  done  by  gravity, 
and  that  under  these  conditions  the  highest  grade  of  Portland  cement  can 
be  manufactured  for  56  1/6  cents  per  barrel,  after  due  allowance  for 
interest  and  depreciation  on  plant,  according  to  report  made  February 
11,  1906. 

"Mr.  Kroonen's  clay  properties  are  situated  three  miles  west  of  Corona 
and  the  same  distance  from  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad,  and  contains  200  acres. 
The  deposit  is  well  developed,  having  1900  feet  of  tunnel  work  to  show  the 
extent  of  the  different  kinds  of  materials,  the  whole  mountain  being  a  mass 
of  clay,  lying  in  strata  from  50  to  500  feet  in  thickness  and  extending  from 
200  to  1000  feet  above  the  road  bed.  The  stratified  deposit  of  rich,  pure, 
blue  vitrifying  clay,  flint  clay,  plastic  clay  and  modeling  clay,  each  perfect 
in  texture  and  composition,  is  suitable  for  the  manufacture  of  all  kinds 
of  vitrified  ware,  sewer  pipe,  electric  conduit,  street  clinker,  paving  blocks, 
face  brick  glazed  and  unglazed,  roofing  tile,  floor  tile,  terra  cotta,  drain 
tile,  etc.,  as  well  as  fire  brick  of  all  kinds.  All  the  clays  can  be  taken  from 
deposits  by  open  quarry  in  one  canyon,  where  the  canyon  crosses  the 
deposit  and  exposes  the  clay  for  hundreds  of  yards  on  either  side,  with  a 
height  above  the  road  bed  of  from  200  to  800  feet,  and  as  the  deposit 
extends  for  three-fourths  of  a  mile  on  each  side  of  the  canyon  it  will  be 
readily  seen  that  the  materials  are  inexhaustible." 

Mr.  Kroonen  is  a  republican  in  politics.  On  June  30,  1889,  he  married 
Miss  Mary  Walkenshaw,  of  Auburndale,  California.  She  was  born  on 
the  Jureupa  Ranch  in  San  Bernardino  County  on  September  18,  1869,  and 


h^srrx^f 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1189 

was  educated  in  the  public  schools.  They  have  three  children:  Leo 
Lorenzo,  born  July  3,  1899,  at  Ventura;  Oscar  William,  born  November 
21,  1901,  at  home;  and  Mary  Cornelia,  born  February  24,  1905. 

Stephen  D.  Hackney  was  an  Illinois  farmer  for  about  twenty  years, 
and  since  transplanting  himself  to  the  beautiful  environment  of  Riverside 
County  he  has  continued  an  occupation  close  to  the  land,  but  in  the  form 
of  orange  culture,  and  is  one  of  the  prosperous  ranchers  in  the  Highgrove 
section. 

Mr.  Hackney  was  born  at  Bunker  Hill,  Illinois,  December  14,  1861, 
son  of  James  and  Amelia  (Britton)  Hackney,  now  deceased.  His  father 
was  born  in  New  York  City  and  his  mother  near  Chicago.  James  Hack- 
ney went  to  Illinois  when  a  youth,  was  a  farmer  there,  fought  as  a  soldier 
in  the  Mexican  war,  and  joined  the  rush  to  California  in  1849.  After  his 
return  he  lived  on  his  Illinois  farm  until  his  death.  He  was  the  father 
of  six  children :  William,  of  Litchfield,  Illinois ;  John,  of  Bunker  Hill ; 
Joseph,  of  Long  Beach,  California;  Edward,  of  Hutchinson,  Kansas; 
Thomas,  of  Guthrie,  Oklahoma;  and  Stephen  D. 

Stephen  D.  Hackney  after  completing  his  public  school  education  at 
Bunker  Hill  turned  his  attention  to  farming  and  remained  in  Illinois  until 
1904.  In  that  year  he  came  to  Riverside,  and  soon  acquired  and  has 
developed  a  fine  orange  ranch  in  Highgrove,  where  he  has  ten  acres.  Mr. 
Hackney  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  Riverside  City  Council,  and  is  a 
republican,  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  and  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America. 

December  20,  1881,  he  married  Miss  Charlotte  Elizabeth  Hume,  daugh- 
ter of  William  James  and  Hannah  (Snedeker)  Hume,  of  Bunker  Hill, 
in  which  Illinois  town  she  was  reared  and  educated.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hack- 
ney have  had  seven  children:  Millie,  deceased;  Paul;  Esther,  wife  of 
Sidney  Hilton,  of  Los  Angeles ;  John,  at  home ;  Vivian,  Hume  and  Carl, 
all  deceased.  Mr.  Hackney  has  one  grandchild,  Betty  Lou  Hilton.  His 
son  Paul  volunteered  and  served  in  the  navy  as  a  yoeman  during  the 
World  war.  For  one  year  he  was  stationed  at  Plymouth,  England,  and 
for  six  months  in  New  York  City.  He  is  now  bookkeeper  on  a  large  sugar 
plantation  at  Honakaa,  Hawaiian  Islands. 

Hon.  Samuel  Merrill — Though  he  reached  the  peak  of  his  political 
fame  in  Iowa,  where  he  served  as  governor  four  years,  Samuel  Mer- 
rill turned  an  enormous  amount  of  capital  and  enterprise  into  South- 
ern California,  where  he  was  associated  with  other  prominent  Iowa 
men  in  some  of  the  projects  of  development  that  have  brought  San 
Bernardino  County  several  of  its  most  prosperous  communities.  Sam- 
uel Merrill  spent  his  last  years  in  Los  Angeles,  but  his  only  son  is  a 
prominent  citizen  of  the  Rialto  district  of  San  Bernardino  County. 

Samuel  Merrill  was  born  at  Turner,  Maine,  August  7,  1822,  of  old 
New  England  and  English  ancestry.  He  represented  the  eighth  gen- 
eration of  this  New  England  family.  He  was  a  descendant  of  Na- 
thaniel Merrill,  who  came  from  England  and  settled  at  Newburg, 
Massachusetts,  in  1636.  Governor  Merrill's  parents  were  Abel  and 
Abigail  (Hill)  Merrill.  Through  his  mother  he  was  a  descendant  of 
Doctor  Hill,  who  came  from  England  to  Saco,  Maine,  in  1653.  Sam- 
uel Merrill  was  one  of  the  youngest  children  of  his  parents,  and  at  the 
age  of  sixteen  he  removed  with  them  to  Buxton,  Maine,  where  he 
taught  and  attended  school.  His  first  choice  of  a  profession  was 
teaching.  For  a  brief  time  he  taught  in  the  South,  but  being  an  aboli- 
tionist he  did  not  prove  congenial  to  the  people  of  that  section.     In 


1190      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

1847,  with  a  brother,  lie  engaged  in  merchandising  at  Tamworth,  New 
Hampshire,  and  he  gained  his  first  political  honors  in  that  state.  He 
was  elected  on  the  abolitionist  ticket  in  1854  to  the  New  Hampshire 
Legislature  and  was  re-elected  in  1855.  In  1856  Samuel  Merrill 
moved  to  Iowa,  and  for  a  number  of  years  was  the  leading  merchant 
of  McGregor,  that  state.  He  was  elected  a  member  of  the  Iowa  Leg- 
islature that  met  early  in  1861  to  provide  for  the  exigencies  of  the 
Civil  War.  In  the  summer  of  1862  he  was  commissioned  colonel  oi 
the  21st  Iowa  Infantry,  and  commanded  a  force  that  distinguished 
itself  in  an  encounter  with  the  Confederate  troops  in  Southern  Missouri 
during  the  early  part  of  1863.  Subsequently  with  his  regiment  he 
took  part  in  the  Vicksburg  campaign,  and  while  leading  an  impetuous 
charge  at  Black  River  Bridge  in  Mississippi  he  was  shot  through  both 
thighs,  a  wound  that  closed  his  military  career.  Resigning  his  com- 
mission, he  resumed  his  place  at  McGregor.  In  1867  he  was  elected 
governor  of  Iowa,  and  by  re-election  in  1869  he  served  from  January, 
1868,  to  January,  1872.  Soon  after  leaving  the  governor's  office  he 
closed  up  his  business  interests  at  McGregor  and  removed  to  Des 
Moines,  and  for  a  number  of  years  was  one  of  Iowa's  foremost  bank- 
ers and  business  men.  He  was  president  of  a  number  of  railroad, 
banking  and  insurance  companies,  and  was  associated  with  Russell 
Sage  and  others  in  building  the  III  Railroad,  the  Indiana,  Illinois  and 
Iowa.  He  was  founder  and  president  of  the  Citizens  National  Bank 
of  Des  Moines,  and  continued  as  a  director  and  the  principal  stock- 
holder of  that  institution  until  his  death. 

Governor  Merrill  early  became  impressed  with  the  great  possi- 
bilities of  Southern  California,  and  he  began  acquiring  interests  in 
this  section  of  the  state  about  1886.  He  invested  heavily  at  the  be- 
ginning of  the  great  real  estate  boom,  and  realized  handsomely  on 
some  of  his  investments,  though  on  the  whole  his  plans  did  not  ma- 
terialize. No  less  than  three  towns  owe  their  inception  to  develop- 
ments instituted  by  him  and  his  associates.  These  towns  are  River- 
side, South  Riverside,  now  known  as  Corona,  and  Rialto.  At  East 
Riverside  he  and  his  associates  paid  in  a  lump  sum  $75,000.00  to 
Matthew  Gage  for  water  rights,  and  this  was  the  first  real  develop- 
ment in  that  section.  The  South  Riverside  purchase  included  16,000 
acres.  The  Rialto,  or,  as  it  was  known,  Semi  Tropic  tract,  originally 
contained  29.000  acres.  Before  he  left  Rialto  Governor  Merrill  and 
associates  had  invested  fully  $670,000.00  in  water  development  and 
other  improvements.  They  paid  Henry  Pierce  and  other  men  of  San 
Francisco  $470,000.00  for  the  lands  in  the  Rialto  tract.  Governor 
Merrill  was  president  of  the  California  Loan  &  Trust  Company  until 
it  went  out  of  business  in  1894.  He  organized  and  built  the  Southern 
California  Motor  Road,  connecting  San  Bernardino  with  Riverside, 
but  later  his  controlling  interests  were  sold  to  the  Southern  Pacific 
Railroad  Company.  Following  the  death  of  his  first  wife  Governor 
Merrill  made  his  permanent  home  in  Southern  California,  although 
still  retaining  business  interests  in  Iowa.  He  closed  out  most  of 
his  interests  in  his  various  colonies  in  1893,  and  spent  the  remaining 
years  of  his  life  in  Los  Angeles,  where  he  died  November  30,  1899,  when 
in  his  seventy-eighth  year. 

In  early  manhood  Governor  Merrill  married  Miss  Elizabeth  D. 
Hill  of  Buxton,  Maine.  She  died  in  March,  1888.  In  1894  he  mar- 
ried Mary  S.  Greenwood,  of   Massachusetts,  who  survives  him. 

In  1887  Governor  Merrill  was  granted  a  pension  of  over  eight  hun- 
dred dollars  a  vear  on  account  of  wounds  received  in  the  Civil  war. 


** 


K 


tft'<fyuJj0£? 


4fl 


~«i 


Q#*HcvQ%  (fy-^cll 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1191 

This  money  lie  donated  to  support  three  beds  for  disabled  soldiers  in 
a  hospital  at  Des  Moines.  He  was  always  a  liberal  patron  of  relig- 
ious, charitable  and  educational  institutions.  For  many  years  prior 
to  his  death  he  was  a  trustee  of  Iowa  College  at  Grinnell.  While  he 
was  governor  the  cornerstone  of  the  present  capitol  at  Des  Moines 
was  laid.  Almost  the  last  act  of  his  life,  consistent  with  his  liberal 
and  public  spirited  record  at  all  times,  was  to  vote  for  water  bonds  at 
a  special  election  in  Los  Angeles  for  the  purpose  of  giving  that  city  a 
perpetual  water  supply.  Soon  after  voting  he  was  stricken  with 
paralysis  and  never  recovered.  His  enfeebled  condition  was  aug- 
mented by  an  accident  that  befell  him  on  the  Traction  Street  Railway 
a  year  or  two  previously.  At  the  time  of  his  second  marriage  Gov- 
ernor Merrill  divided  the  bulk  of  his  estate  among  his  children,  re- 
serving enough  to  provide  himself  and  wife  for  the  rest  of  their  days. 
At  the  time  of  his  death  it  was  estimated  that  his  wealth  approxi- 
mated five  hundred  thousand  dollars.  He  was  a  life-long  member  of 
the  Congregational  Church,  and  his  remains  were  laid  to  rest  in  the 
old  Iowa  family  vault  in  Des  Moines.  His  surviving  children  are  a 
daughter  and  son.  The  daughter,  Hattie  G.,  is  a  graduate  of  Welles- 
ley  College  of  Massachusetts,  the  wife  of  Dr.  John  W.  Craig,  of  Los 
Angeles.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Craig  have  three  children,  Charles,  Allan  and 
Elizabeth.  Charles,  while  with  the  colors  at  Camp  Kearney,  died  of 
pneumonia. 

The  surviving  son,  Jere  Hill  Merrill,  was  born  at  Des  Moines  No- 
vember 25,  1873.  For  a  number  of  years  he  was  in  the  mercantile 
business  at  Los  Angeles,  and  in  1906  he  purchased  a  bare  tract  of 
land,  comprising  his  present  magnificent  home  property,  located  a 
half  mile  from  Foothill  Boulevard,  near  Rialto.  This  he  has  developed 
to  citrus  fruit,  and  by  other  improvements  has  added  greatly  to  the 
beauties  of  the  country  along  Riverside  Avenue.  Like  his  father, 
he  is  a  stanch  republican,  and  is  a  ready  worker  for  public  betterment 
of  all  kinds.  He  is  a  member  of  a  number  of  fraternal  societies,  be- 
longs to  the  Congregational  Church,  and  Mrs.  Merrill  is  a  Methodist. 

On  October  14,  1897,  he  married  Miss  Sena  Jones.  She  was  born 
in  Marshalltown,  Iowa,  December  4,  1878,  daughter  of  W.  H.  H.  and 
Harriet  (Laybourn)  Jones,  the  former  a  native  of  Grayson,  Virginia. 
Her  father  was  a  contractor,  and  early  in  the  Civil  War  enlisted  in 
Company  G  of  the  13th  Illinois  Infantry.  He  was  first  made  a  cor- 
poral and  later,  in  recognition  of  his  service  and  ability,  was  pro- 
moted to  second  lieutenant  and  then  to  first  lieutenant.  He  received 
his  honorable  discharge  February  18,  1865.  For  many  years  he  was 
one  of  the  leading  contractors  and  builders  of  Pasadena,  and  died 
September  21,  1921,  at  the  age  of  eighty-one.  His  wife,  who  was 
born  in  Manchester,  Indiana,  lives  with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Merrill, 
at  Rialto.  Mrs.  Merrill  finished  her  education  at  Pasadena,  where  hei 
parents  lived  after  moving  from  Marshalltown,  Iowa. 

Archie  D.  Mitchell  is  a  native  Ontario  boy  who  has  won  numerous 
distinctions  as  a  lawyer  and  in  the  civic  affairs  of  that  locality  since  he 
qualified  for  his  profession. 

He  was  born  at  Ontario  January  18,  1891,  son  of  John  and  Mary  M. 
(Winn)  Mitchell.  His  parents  were  among  the  Canadian  settlers  of 
Ontario,  California.  His  father  was  of  Scotch  and  his  mother  of  English 
ancestry.  Archie  D.  Mitchell  was  reared  and  educated  at  Ontario,  grad- 
uated from  the  University  of  Southern  California  in  1912,  and  for  ten 
years   has  enjoyed   a   successful   practice.     For   four   years   he   was   city 


1192       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

attorney,  and  he  practices  in  the  District  Court  of  Appeals.  In  a  business 
way  he  is  identified  with  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Ontario,  the  Peerless 
Petroleum  Company,  and  the  Burton  Fruit  Products  Company,  and  also 
with  the  Ontario  Commercial  Aviation  Company.  Mr.  Mitchell  during 
the  war  was  in  the  naval  aviation  and  was  commissioned  chief  quarter- 
master. 

He  was  chairman  of  the  Democratic  County  Central  Committee  and  a 
leader  in  local  politics.  He  has  filled  various  chairs  in  the  Odd  Fellows 
and  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks 
fraternities,  is  a  member  of  the  El  Camino  Real  Club,  the  Los  Angeles 
Athletic  Club,  the  Brentwood  Country  Club,  and  the  Congregational 
Church.  In  1920,  at  Riverside,  Mr.  Mitchell  married  Miss  Frieda  Graet- 
tinger,  daughter  of  Alois  and  Mary  E.  Graettinger.  Her  father  was  one 
of  the  prominent  physicians  of  Wisconsin  until  he  retired  some  ten  years 
before  his  death. 

Charles  E.  Mead.  The  attractive  and  splendidly  equipped  drug  store 
of  Mr.  Mead  at  121  Euclid  Avenue  in  the  progressive  little  City  of 
Ontario,  San  Bernardino  County,  has  become  under  his  ownership  and 
management  the  leading  establishment  of  the  kind  in  the  city,  with  facilities 
and  service  of  metropolitan  order.  In  addition  to  having  developed  this 
substantial  business  enterprise  Mr.  Mead  is  also  treasurer  of  the  Peerless 
Petroleum  Company,  which  is  capitalized  for  $240,000  and  the  offices  of 
which  are  maintained  at  Ontario.  He  is  a  director  and  was  one  of  the 
organizers  of  the  Security  State  Bank  of  Ontario,  which  recently  opened 
its  doors  at  the  corner  of  Euclid  and  B  streets,  Ontario. 

Mr.  Mead  was  born  at  Lexington,  Missouri,  On  the  4th  of  January. 
1876,  and  is  a  son  of  Charles  V.  and  Anna  (Limerick)  Mead.  Mr.  Mead 
gained  his  preliminary  education  in  the  public  schools,  and  thereafter  con- 
tinued his  studies  in  the  State  Agricultural  College  of  New  Mexico,  at 
Las  Cruces,  in  which  he  was  graduated  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of 
Science.  After  coming  to  California  he  was  for  several  years  owner  of  the 
retail  drug  business  conducted  at  Colton.  San  Bernardino  County,  under 
the  title  of  the  Mission  Drug  Company.  He  then  transferred  his  interests 
to  Ontario,  where  his  success  as  a  reliable  and  progressive  business  man 
has  been  unequivocal  and  substantial,  his  initial  enterprise  at  Colton  hav- 
ing been  based  on  very  modest  capital. 

Mr.  Mead  served  as  first  lieutenant  in  a  New  Mexico  regiment  of 
volunteer  infantry  during  the  period  of  the  Spanish-American  war,  and 
he  is  thus  eligible  for  and  holds  membership  in  the  Spanish-American  War 
Veterans  Association.  In  the  period  of  the  World  war  Mr.  Mead  showed 
again  his  patriotism,  as  he  aided  in  the  various  campaigns  of  local  order 
in  support  of  the  Government  war-bond  issues,  Savings  Stamps,  Red 
Cross  service,  etc.,  and  made  his  individual  subscriptions  of  liberal  finan- 
cial order.  He  is  a  stanch  republican,  he  and  his  wife  hold  membership 
in  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic 
Fraternity,  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  the  Benevolent 
and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  in  each  of  which  he  has  passed  various 
official  chairs. 

At  El  Dorado  Springs,  Missouri,  on  the  23d  of  September,  1908,  was 
solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Mead  and  Miss  Rosa  Schmidt,  daughter  of 
William  F.  Schmidt,  she  having  come  to  California  in  the  year  1900.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Mead  have  no  children. 

The  Mead  family  was  founded  in  America  in  the  Colonial  period  of 
our  national  history,  and  the  subject  of  this  review  can  trace  his  lineage  in 
a  direct  way  back  to  Oliver  Cromwell. 


zJ^^^^    <U^co&U 


J   ■     e/\_  o-isdL^U^- — - 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1193 

Thomas  E.  Fentress. — Riverside  has  many  consistent  and  effective 
boosters,  but  no  one  is  more  enthusiastic  about  the  city  of  his  adoption 
than  Thomas  E.  Fentress,  one  of  the  solid  business  men  of  the  city,  and 
a  teaming  contractor  upon  an  extensive  scale.  He  located  here  because 
he  was  convinced  of  the  great  possibilities  of  this  region,  and  his  convic- 
tions have  become  strengthened  with  his  residence  here,  and  to  his  efforts 
in  its  behalf  Riverside  owes  a  strong  support  to  its  most  public-spirited 
movements.  He  was  born  near  Decatur,  Illinois,  May  26,  1857,  a  son  of 
Silas  and  Harriet  (Gilmore)  Fentress,  both  of  whom  are  now  deceased. 
Silas  Fentress  was  born  in  Kentucky,  but  later  moved  to  Illinois,  where 
he  continued  his  farming  operations.  The  Fentress  family  is  of  Revolu- 
tionary stock  and  English  descent.  Mrs.  Fentress  was  born  in  Indiana,  and 
her  family  is  also  of  Revolutionary  stock,  but  of  Irish  descent. 

Growing  up  in  Illinois,  Thomas  E.  Fentress  attended  the  public  schools 
near  Hillwood,  that  state,  and  then  became  a  farmer,  operating  land  in 
Illinois  until  1877,  when  he  went  on  a  farm  in  Southeastern  Kansas,  near 
Oswego,  and  remained  there  until  1888.  In  February  of  that  year  he  made 
a  trip  to  Riverside  in  response  to  letters  relatives  of  his  wife  had  written 
giving  such  glowing  accounts  of  the  city  and  county  that  he  felt  inclined 
to  investigate.  Not  only  was  he  fully  satisfied  that  these  accounts  were 
more  than  true,  but  he  was  embued  with  the  determination  to  participate  in 
the  enjoyment  of  these  advantages,  so,  returning  to  Kansas,  he  disposed 
of  his  holdings  there,  returned  to  Riverside  and  has  since  made  this  city 
his  home,  although  it  was  necessary  for  him  to  make  several  trips  back  to 
Kansas  before  he  fully  arranged  his  affairs.  His  first  investment  was  in 
an  orange  ranch  which  he  conducted  for  four  years,  and  then  traded  it 
for  town  property,  and  embarked  in  his  present  business  of  general  team- 
ing, which  he  has  since  expanded  to  large  proportions. 

On  December  31,  1882,  Mr.  Fentress  married  at  Labette  City.  Kansas. 
Josephine  A.  Webb,  a  native  of  Indiana,  and  a  daughter  of  William  J. 
Webb,  and  a  member  of  an  old  Delaware  family  of  English  descent.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Fentress  have  the  following  children:  George  E.,  who  is  asso- 
ciated with  the  General  Petroleum  Company  near  Placentia,  California; 
Pearl,  who  is  the  wife  of  Charles  Van  Decker,  of  the  Gudes  Bootery  of 
Los  Angeles,  California;  Maude  E.,  who  is  the  wife  of  Russell  Shedd,  a 
realtor  of  Phoenix,  Arizona ;  and  Daisy  May,  who  is  the  wife  of  Clifford 
Shigley,  a  civil  engineer  employed  by  the  Sierra  Power  Company.  Mr. 
Fentress  is  a  republican,  and  while  he  has  not  taken  a  particularly  active 
part  in  politics,  has  always  done  his  duty  as  a  good  citizen  by  earnestly 
supporting  those  measures  he  felt  would  be  beneficial  to  the  majority.  He 
finds  his  greatest  pleasure  in  his  home  circle  and  has  not  cared  to  connect 
himself  with  any  organizations  outside  of  his  membership  with  the  Fra- 
ternal Aid  Union.  He  and  his  wife  are  honored  members  of  the  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church,  and  can  be  depended  upon  to  do  their  part  in  all  of 
the  work  of  their  congregation.  Earnest,  hard-working  and  thrifty. 
Mr.  Fentress  has  forged  forward,  making  a  success  of  his  various  under- 
takings because  of  his  good  business  sense  and  his  sterling  honesty.  While 
he  has  achieved  a  material  success,  he  was  gained  something  of  still 
greater  value,  the  respect  and  good  will  of  his  fellow  men. 

Jean  Pierke  Loubet  was  a  young  man  when  Ik-  came  from  his 
native  France  to  the  Lhiited  States  and  established  his  residence  in  Cali- 
fornia, a  stranger  in  a  strange  land  and  dependent  entirely  upon  his 
own  resources  for  the  winning  of  success  and  independence.  His 
ability  and  energy  have  enabled  him  to  make  the  most  of  the  advan- 
tages that  have  here  been  afforded  him,  and  he  is  to-day  one  of  the 


1194       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

substantial  and  honored  citizens  of  San  Bernardino  County,  where 
his  fine  farm  home  is  situated  two  miles  west  of  Chino,  on  Edison 
Avenue. 

Mr.  Loubet  was  born  in  Montregeau,  Province  of  Haute  Garrone, 
France,  on  the  7th  of  February,  1874,  and  is  a  son  of  Joseph  and 
Antoinette  (Perrez)  Loubet.  His  father  was  lessee  of  a  public  abat- 
toire,  and  in  this  connection  the  son  learned  the  butchering  and  meat- 
cutting  trade,  his  early  education  having  been  gained  in  the  schools 
of  his  native  province.  In  1889  he  came  to  the  United  States  and 
made  his  way  forthwith  to  Los  Angeles,  where  he  entered  the  employ 
of  Sentous  Brothers,  wholesale  meat  dealers  and  operators  of  a  large 
abattoire.  In  1896  Mr.  Loubet  came  to  Chino  and  purchased  the 
meat  market  of  Richard  Gird.  This  initial  business  venture  on  his 
part  proved  very  successful,  and  in  1898  he  expanded  his  business  to 
include  wholesale  slaughtering  and  dealing.  He  developed  a  large 
and  prosperous  wholesale  trade,  and  continued  the  enterprise  until 
1906,  when  he  sold  the  plant  and  business  to  the  firm  of  Steel  & 
Dixon.  He  built  the  first  ice  plant  at  Chino,  with  a  daily  capacity 
for  the  production  of  five  tons  of  ice.  In  1905  Mr.  Loubet  made  his 
first  purchase  of  land,  by  acquiring  forty  acres  of  swamp  land,  which 
he  reclaimed  through  effective  tile  drainage.  With  increasing  suc- 
cess in  his  farming  enterprise  he  added  to  his  holdings,  and  he  now 
owns  ninety  acres  of  choice  and  well  improved  land  in  this  valley. 
In  1912  he  drilled  a  well,  and  the  same  has  since  given  adequate 
water  supply  for  effective  irrigation  of  his  land.  He  is  one  of  the 
successful  and  progressive  representatives  of  agricultural  and  live- 
stock enterprise  in  this  section,  and  since  1918  he  has  conducted  a 
prosperous  business  also  in  the  buying  and  selling  of  hay,  grain  and 
feed,  which  he  sells  in  the  cities  and  towns  of  Southern  California. 
He  has  become  also  a  successful  contractor  in  the  building  of  macad- 
emized  roads  in  San  Bernardino  County.  Mr.  Loubet  has  proved 
himself  a  man  of  action  and  has  won  success  worthy  of  the  name,  the 
while  he  has  secure  place  in  popular  confidence  and  esteem.  He  is  a. 
loyal  and  liberal  citizen  and  is  one  of  the  honored  pioneers  of  the 
Chino  district.  He  and  his  family  are  communicants  of  the  Catholic 
Church. 

February  11,  1904,  recorded  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Loubet  and  Miss 
Isabelle  Arroues,  who  was  born  in  the  town  of  Eysus,  Province  of 
Basse  Pyrennes,  France,  on  the  7th  of  June,  1883,  and  who  came  iii 
1903  to  the  United  States  and  joined  her  brothers  at  Los  Angeles, 
where  her  marriage  was  later  solemnized.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Loubet 
have  four  children,  whose  names  and  dates  of  birth  are  here  recorded : 
John  Louis,  November  13,  1904;  Bernard,  January  18,  1906;  and 
Marie  and  Antoinette,  twins,  September  4,  1912. 

Oscar  Ford  is  not  only  one  of  the  representative  contractors  engaged 
in  business  in  the  City  of  Riverside,  but  has  also  been  a  progressive  and 
influential  figure  in  civic  affairs  in  the  city  and  county.  He  gave  a  long 
period  of  effective  service  as  a  member  of  the  City  Council,  and  his 
administration  as  mayor  of  Riverside  was  marked  by  results  that  have 
proved  of  permanent  value. 

Mr.  Ford  was  born  at  Winterset,  Iowa,  on  the  17th  of  September,  1856, 
a  date  that  clearly  indicates  that  his  parents  were  pioneers  of  the  Hawkeye 
State.  His  father,  Jimmerson  T.  Ford,  was  born  in  Virginia,  but  was 
reared  and  educated  at  Warsaw,  Indiana.  He  became  one  of  the  pros- 
perous exponents  of  farm  industry  in  Iowa,  served  as  justice  of  the  peace 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 195 

and  was  a  popular  and  influential  citizen  of  his  community.  The  lineage 
of  the  Ford  family  traces  back  to  Welsh  origin,  and  representatives  of  the 
name  were  patriot  soldiers  in  the  War  of  the  American  Revolution.  Mrs. 
Lucretia  (Calkins)  Ford,  mother  of  Oscar  Ford,  was  born  in  the  State  of 
New  York  and  was  a  child  at  the  time  of  the  family  removal  to  Indiana, 
her  father,  Daniel  Calkins,  having  there  become  a  prosperous  farmer. 
The  Calkins  family  is  of  English  stock,  and  members  of  the  family  came 
to  America  in  the  Colonial  days,  besides  which  it  is  a  matter  of  record 
that  representatives  of  this  family  likewise  fought  for  national  inde- 
pendence in  the  Revolutionary  war. 

Oscar  Ford  was  reared  on  the  home  farm  in  Iowa,  early  gained 
practical  experience  in  connection  with  its  activities,  and  his  youthful 
education  was  gained  in  the  public  schools  of  the  locality,  which  he 
attended  principally  during  the  winter  months.  He  left  the  parental 
home  of  the  6th  of  December,  1875,  and  until  the  following  March  was 
employed  as  a  carpenter  for  the  Southern  Pacific  Railroad,  with  head- 
quarters at  Cabazon,  Riverside  County,  California.  He  then  found  em- 
ployment in  the  brick  yard  of  the  Sheldon  Brick  Company  at  Riverside 
during  the  summer,  and  in  1877  he  was  employed  by  P.  S.  Russell,  the 
pioneer  nurseryman,  with  whom  he  remained  three  years.  While  thus 
engaged  he  purchased  ten  acres  of  land  north  of  Riverside  and  planted  a 
citrus  orchard  on  the  tract.  After  leaving  the  employ  of  Mr.  Russell  he 
not  only  gave  attention  to  his  own  orchard,  but  also  to  those  of  other 
residents  of  this  locality,  and  after  retaining  his  original  orchard  about 
three  years  he  sold  the  same  and  purchased  twenty  acres  on  Central 
Avenue.  This  he  planted  to  raisen  grapes.  Later  he  bought  ten  acres  on 
Monroe  Street  and  planted  the  same  to  orange  and  apricots.  He  became 
the  owner  also  of  ten  acres  on  Center  and  Sedgwick  streets,  this  tract 
being  developed  with  an  orange  grove.  He  bought  and  sold  much  land  in 
and  about  Riverside,  and  at  all  times  had  in  his  charge  from  10  to  150 
acres  for  Eastern  owners.  He  has  developed  many  acres  of  orchard  and 
vineyard,  has  shipped  large  quantities  of  fruit  to  Eastern  markets  and 
has  made  valuable  contribution  to  the  industrial  development  of 
this  favored  section  of  California.  Mr.  Ford  had  a  large  amount  of 
nursery  stock  at  the  time  of  the  historic  freeze  of  1890,  in  which  he  met 
with  heavy  losses.  His  technical  and  executive  powers  came  into  effective 
play  in  the  management  of  the  properties  of  the  Worthley  &  Strong  Fruit 
Company  and  the  Spurance  Fruit  Company,  as  well  as  during  his  service 
as  local  manager  for  the  Producers  Fruit  Company. 

About  the  year  1904  Mr.  Ford  turned  his  attention  to  the  water- 
development  enterprise  in  the  district  beyond  Wineville,  where  he  secured 
770  acres  of  land,  300  acres  of  which  he  planted  to  alfalfa.  Later  he 
disposed  of  this  entire  property,  upon  which  he  had  made  excellent  im- 
provements, including  the  development  of  an  efifective  system  of  irrigation. 

A  stalwart  in  the  camp  of  the  republican  party,  Mr.  Ford  has  been 
active  and  influential  in  political  affairs  in  the  City  and  County  of  Riverside. 
He  served  on  both  the  city  committee  and  the  county  committee  of  his 
party,  has  attended  many  party  conventions  and  has  been  prominent  in 
the  councils  and  campaign  activities  of  his  party  in  this  section  of  the 
state.  About  the  year  1900  Mr.  Ford  was  elected  a  member  of  the  board 
of  trustees  of  Riverside,  before  the  present  city  charter  was  adopted.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  council  at  the  time  the  present  charter  was  obtained, 
and  his  entire  service  in  connection  with  municipal  office  in  Riverside 
covered  a  period  of  fully  fourteen  years,  his  continuous  re-elections  sig- 
nalizing his  secure  place  in  popular  confidence  and  esteem.     In  November, 


1196       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

1913,  he  was  elected  mayor  of  Riverside,  his  assumption  of  office  having 
occurred  on  the  5th  of  the  following  January  and  his  four  years'  adminis- 
tration having  been  marked  by  progressive  and  constructive  policies  that 
worked  greatly  to  the  advantage  of  the  city  and  its  people. 

Mr.  Ford  was  a  member  of  the  City  Council  at  the  time  when  the  local 
electric-light  department  was  in  its  infancy  and  under  the  direct  control 
of  the  council.  The  original  bond  issue  of  $40,000  was  wholely  inadequate 
for  the  purpose  for  which  it  was  intended,  and  thus  it  was  utilized  in  the 
construction  of  a  pole  electric  line  to  Santa  Ana  Canyon,  where  H.  H.  Sin- 
clair was  installing  a  power  plant.  A  contract  was  made  with  Sinclair 
to  provide  Riverside  with  power  for  twenty-five  years,  at  the  rate  of  three 
dollars  per  horse  power  a  month.  This  arrangement  was  thought  to  be 
favorable  for  the  city  until  it  was  discovered  to  provide  for  measurement 
of  power  on  the  peak  of  the  load,  even  if  only  for  a  few  moments,  meant 
the  carrying  the  heaviest  load  on  the  basis  of  measurement  for  the  entire 
twenty-four  hours.  Under  these  conditions  was  carried  through  another 
$40,000  bond  issue,  by  which  a  steam  power  plant  was  provided  and  the  city 
enabled  to  keep  the  peak-load  rate  down.  The  light  department  of  the 
city  was  in  debt  to  the  general  fund  in  the  amount  of  $32,000,  but  soon 
after  the  installation  of  the  steam  plant  the  department  began  to  show 
profits  in  operation,  with  the  result  that  it  was  enabled  to  pay  its  debt 
to  the  general  fund,  which  amount  was  utilized  in  road  building.  The 
revenue  from  the  electric-light  department  is  now  about  $350,000  annually. 

Mr.  Ford  has  been  since  1907  engaged  in  road  building,  and  is  one  of 
the  leading  contractors  in  this  line  in  this  section  of  the  state.  He  has 
constructed  many  of  the  important  paved  highways  of  this  part  of  Cali- 
fornia, including  the  Box  Springs  Road  from  Riverside  to  Perris ;  5  miles 
.  of  road  from  Corona  to  the  San  Bernardino  County  line ;  %l/2  miles  of 
road  leading  from  Santa  Ana  toward  Newport  Beach;  5  miles  of  road 
from  Garden  Grove  to  Westminster ;  5  miles  from  Olive,  in  Orange 
County,  leading  to  the  Riverside  County  line,  up  the  Santa  Ana  Canyon; 
8*/2  miles  in  Mint  Canyon,  Los  Angeles  County. 

Mr.  Ford  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  La  Mesa  Orange  Packing 
Association,  and  in  a  reminiscent  way  it  may  be  stated  that  in  1880  he 
was  a  member  of  the  vigilant  committee  which  took  matters  in  hand  when 
horse  stealing  became  all  too  prevalent  in  Riverside  County,  Dr.  John  Hall 
having  been  president  of  the  organization. 

Mr.  Ford  is  a  member  of  the  Riverside  Lodge  of  the  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  he  and  his  wife  are  active  members  of  the 
First  Christian  Church  in  their  home  city. 

At  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  on  the  6th  of  June,  1889,  Mr.  Ford  wedded 
Miss  Jennie  Hunt,  who  was  born  at  Jacksonville,  Illinois,  a  daughter  of 
Henry  Hunt,  who  served  as  postmaster  and  city  clerk  of  that  place,  the 
Hunt  family  being  of  Revolutionary  American  stock  and  of  English  origin. 
Mrs.  Ford  is  a  member  of  the  Woman's  Club  of  Riverside  and  is  a  popular 
figure  in  the  representative  social  activities  of  the  city.  In  the  concluding 
paragraph  of  this  review  is  given  brief  record  concerning  the  children  of 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ford. 

Albert  Hunt  Ford,  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  Southern  California, 
is  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Riverside  and  is  serving  as  deputy 
district  attorney.  Robert  O.  Ford,  who  is,  in  1921,  taking  a  course  in 
electrical  engineering  in  the  University  of  California,  enlisted  in  Company 
M  of  the  California  National  Guard  at  Riverside,  two  weeks  before  the 
United  States  became  involved  in  the  World  war,  he  having  been  at  the 
time  a  student  in  Junior  College.    He  was  later  sent  with  his  command  to 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1197 

France,  where  he  served  with  the  Fifth  Division  of  the  American  Expedi- 
tionary Forces  until  the  close  of  hostilities.  He  was  connected  with  the 
telephone  detachment  of  the  headquarters  company  and  was  in  active 
service  in  this  capacity  both  in  the  Argonne  and  St.  Mihiel  sectors,  besides 
having  been  with  the  boys  when  they  made  the  splendid  crossing  of  the 
Meuse  River.  Genevieve,  the  only  daughter,  is  the  wife  of  Malcolm  C. 
Ross,  a  florist  in  the  City  of  Los  Angeles,  and  they  have  one  daughter. 
Warren  H.  Ford,  the  youngest  of  the  children,  is  a  graduate  of  the  River- 
side High  School  and  remains  at  the  parental  home. 

J.  Wesley  Shrimp  is  one  of  the  fortunate  young  business  men  of 
California  whose  destiny  it  has  been  to  grow  up  and  find  his  interests  and 
activities  in  the  fair  City  of  Riverside.  He  is  one  of  the  officials  of 
Riverside's  great  industry,  the  Cresmer  Manufacturing  Company,  and  has 
been  liberal  with  his  time  and  helpful  co-operation  in  several  phases  of  the 
city's  advancement  and  welfare. 

He  was  born  at  Elsinore,  California,  July  12,  1890,  and  the  following 
year  his  parents  moved  to  Riverside,  where  his  widowed  mother  is  still 
living.  His  father,  Lawrence  C.  Shrimp,  who  was  of  an  old  English 
American  family  of  Revolutionary  stock,  was  born  in  Kentucky  and  was 
a  carpenter  by  trade,  moving  to  California  in  1885  and  living  at  Elsinore 
for  the  first  six  years. 

J.  Wesley  Shrimp  had  his  first  conscious  recollections  of  the  City  of 
Riverside  when  it  was  comparatively  new  and  in  the  earlier  period  of  its 
development.  The  first  home  in  which  he  lived  was  a  little  house  whose 
site  is  now  occupied  by  the  Riverside  Milling  &  Fuel  Company.  He 
attended  the  grammar  and  high  schools,  spent  one  year  in  Zinn's  Business 
College  and  on  leaving  school  his  first  regular  employment  was  with  the 
firm  of  Godfrey  &  Stewart  and  later  with  the  Miller  Planing  Mill.  In 
1906  he  entered  the  service  of  the  Cresmer  Manufacturing  Company  and 
since  January,  1917,  has  been  secretary  and  treasurer  of  that  industry, 
which  is  described  in  more  detail  on  other  pages. 

Mr.  Shrimp  is  also  manager  of  the  Riverside  Military  Band,  a  notable 
organization  in  the  life  of  the  city,  also  taken  up  in  an  appropriate  place 
elsewhere.  He  has  been  manager  of  the  band  for  seventeen  years,  and  is 
drummer  and  trap  man  in  the  organization. 

'  Mr.  Shrimp  has  copper  mining  interests  in  Riverside  County,  near 
Blythe,  and  is  secretary  and  treasurer  of  a  company  that  has  been  organ- 
ized to  develop  this  property.  Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  the  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and 
Woodmen  of  the  World  and  in  politics  is  a  republican.  He  and  his  family 
attend  the  First  Christian  Church. 

July  15,  1912,  Mr.  Shrimp  married  Miss  Grace  Carr,  who  was  born 
at  Grand  Terrace,  California,  daughter  of  E.  G.  Carr,  the  first  zonjero  of 
the  old  canal.     Mr.  and  Mrs.  Shrimp  have  one  daughter,  Dorothy  Louise. 

A.  G.  Armstrong,  superintendent  of  the  Santa  Fe  shops  at  San 
Bernardino,  is  a  veteran  in  the  mechanical  service  of  the  Santa  Fe  Com- 
pany, with  which  he  has  spent  nearly  twenty  years.  His  home  for  the 
greater  part  of  the  time  since  1906  has  been  at  San  Bernardino,  where  he 
enjoys  high  standing  in  business  and  social  circles  alike.  He  made  the 
choice  of  railroading  as  a  career  when  a  boy,  beginning  as  an  apprentice 
machinist,  and  his  personal  energy,  fidelity  and  experience  have  taken 
him  up  the  scale  of  promotion  to  that  of  superintendent. 

Mr.  Armstrong  was  born  at  Negaunee,  Michigan,  November  4,  1872, 
son  of  John  N.  and  Susan  (Eckels)  Armstrong,  now  deceased,  his  father 


1198       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

of  Scotch  ancestry  and  a  native  of  Canada,  while  his  mother  was  of  an 
English  family  and  horn  in  Wisconsin.  John  N.  Armstrong  was  an  ex- 
perienced mining  man  and  conducted  many  explorations  in  the  mineral 
regions  of  Michigan,  Wisconsin  and  Minnesota.  He  opened  up  one  of 
the  iron  mines  on  the  famous  Vermilion  Range  above  Duluth,  Minnesota. 

A.  G.  Armstrong  attended  grammar  and  high  schools  in  Wisconsin,  was 
a  student  in  the  University  of  Wisconsin,  and  began  his  railroad  work  as 
a  machinist  apprentice  to  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad  Company  at 
Brainerd,  Minnesota.  He  was  in  their  service  for  eleven  years  as  an 
apprentice  machinist  and  material  inspector,  and  he  represented  the  North- 
ern Pacific  as  inspector  of  the  new  power  building  of  the  Baldwin  Loco- 
motive Works  at  Philadelphia. 

Leaving  Brainerd  and  the  service  of  the  Northern  Pacific  in  January, 
1903,  Mr.  Armstrong  removed  to  Topeka,  Kansas,  where  he  was  in  the 
shops  of  the  Santa  Fe  as  a  machinist  until  the  following  July,  when  he 
was  selected  and  sent  to  the  Baldwin  Locomotive  Works,  representing  the 
Santa  Fe  Company  during  the  construction  of  between  300  and  400 
locomotives. 

When  Mr.  Armstrong  first  came  to  San  Bernardino  in  1906  it  was 
in  the  capacity  of  erecting  foreman.  In  March  of  the  following  year  he 
was  made  general  foreman.  In  December,  1911,  he  was  promoted  to 
division  foreman,  with  headquarters  at  Los  Angeles,  where  he  remained 
until  July,  1913,  when  he  was  promoted  to  master  mechanic  of  the  Arizona 
Division,  with  headquarters  at  Needles,  California.  In  March,  1917,  he 
returned  to  San  Bernardino  as  master  mechanic  of  the  Los  Angeles  Divi- 
sion and  on  April  1,  1918,  was  made  shop  superintendent  at  San  Ber- 
nardino. He  has  general  supervision  of  a  large  force,  there  having  been 
1900  car  and  locomotive  employes  under  his  jurisdiction  in  October,  1920. 

Mr.  Armstrong  is  a  director  of  the  San  Bernardino  Valley  Bank.  He 
is  a  republican  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Elks  Lodge.  At  Brainerd,  Minne- 
sota, July  26,  1898,  he  married  Miss  Mary  Ellen  Howe.  She  was  born  in 
Minneapolis,  Minnesota,  daughter  of  the  late  J.  J.  Howe,  and  is  of  Eng- 
lish-Irish descent.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Armstrong  have  two  sons,  John,  a  mem- 
ber of  the  class  of  1923,  and  Jerome,  of  the  class  of  1924,  in  the  San 
Bernardino  High  School. 

Charles  Price  Humphries — One  of  the  best  known  citizens  of  the 
Ontario  community  is  Charles  Price  Humphries.  His  friends  know 
him  as  a  man  of  ample  prosperity,  with  a  long  record  of  success  as  a 
fruit  rancher.  A  few  know  that  when  he  came  to  California  many 
years  ago  he  possessed  practically  no  capital  beyond  his  individual 
enterprise  and  energy. 

He  was  born  February  12,  1865,  at  Strathroy,  Ontario,  Canada,  son 
of  Samuel  and  Caroline  (Bowen)  Humphries.  His  maternal  grand- 
father. Arthur  William  Bowen,  was  a  major  in  the  English  Army,  and 
for  his  services  the  English  Government  gave  him  extended  conces- 
sions in  and  near  Hamilton,  Ontario.  Charles  Price  Humphries  was 
reared  and  educated  in  Strathroy,  and  at  the  age  of  sixteen  became 
a  clerk  in  a  mercantile  store  at  Wyoming,  Ontario.  A  few  years  later 
he  came  to  California  and  at  San  Jose  during  1884-85  worked  on  a 
ranch  to  learn  the  fruit  growing  business.  Subsequently  he  was  at 
San  Mateo  and  for  two  years  had  charge  of  the  famous  trotting  stal- 
lion, Guy  Wilkes,  which  held  the  Pacific  Coast  trotting  record  for  a 
number  of  years,  until  it  was  taken  away  by  another  celebrated  horse, 
Stamboul.  Mr.  Humphries  was  not  inclined  to  follow  racing  as  a 
permanent  business,  and  finally,  with  perhaps  a  hundred  dollars  in 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1 199 

capital,  he  started  in  a  small  way  the  growing  of  deciduous  fruit,  go- 
ing to  Cucamonga  in  January,  1887,  and  purchasing  five  acres  of  land 
at  two  hundred  dollars  an  acre.  In  March,  1894,  he  moved  to  On- 
tario, where  he  has  had  his  home  for  over  a  quarter  of  a  century  and 
where  from  the  first  he  engaged  in  the  deciduous  fruit  business  on  an 
extensive  scale.  Mr.  Humphries  now  has  thirty-seven  acres  planted 
to  peaches  and  apricots.  He  was  among  the  first  to  make  a  commer- 
cial success  of  deciduous  fruits  in  the  Ontario  district,  and  he  was  the 
very  first  man  of  that  section  to  market  direct  the  product  of  his 
orchard.  For  his  first  peaches  he  received  six  dollars  a  ton  and  eight 
dollars  a  ton  for  his  apricots.  The  crop  of  1920  he  sold  at  a  hundred 
dollars  a  ton  for  the  peaches  and  ninety  dollars  for  the  apricots. 

Through  many  years  of  determined  work  and  accumulating  inter- 
ests Mr.  Humphries  is  now  comfortably  prosperous,  and  has  an  in- 
come sufficient  for  his  needs  from  his  bonds  of  the  Edison  Electric 
Company  and  other  companies  and  the  rental  of  property  he  owns  in 
Los  Angeles  and  Glendale.  While  his  extensive  fruit  orchards  are  a 
business  that  he  could  play  with  provided  his  inclinations  ran  to 
radical  experiments.  For  several  years  he  was  a  director  in  the 
Cucamonga  Water  Company.  Mr.  Humphries  is  a  republican,  is  a 
past  noble  grand  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  past 
chief  patriarch  of  the  Encampment,  and  was  secretary  and  in  1919 
was  president  of  the  Pioneer  Society  of  Ontario.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  Methodist  Church.     His  fruit  ranch  is  a  mile  east  of  Ontario. 

At  San  Bernardino  November  23,  1887,  Mr.  Humphries  married 
Mary  Richards,  daughter  of  George  and  Lydia  (Powell)  Richards. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Humphries  have  three  children :  Leland  Richard  mar- 
ried Olive  M.  Wilcox,  and  they  have  two  children,  Billie  and  Donald 
Wilbur ;  Arthur  Emerson  married  Helen  Whitcher,  and  their  two 
children  are  Arthur  Wilbur  and  Ruth.  The  only  daughter,  Grace 
Winifred,  is  a  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Honolulu.  Mrs.  Humphries' 
father,  a  native  of  England,  came  to  Canada  at  the  age  of  four  years 
with  his  parents,  and  was  educated  in  Canada.  Later  he  was  inter- 
ested in  the  oil  business  at  Petrolia,  Ontario,  Canada.  Both  her  par- 
ents are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Humphries  visited  their  daugh- 
ter in  the  Hawaiian  Islands  in  the  winter  of  1920  and  1921,  and  while 
there  he  took  an  active  interest  in  the  working  of  the  oldest  Lodge 
of  Odd  Fellows  west  of  the  Rocky  Mountains.  An  American  ship 
captain  established  this  lodge  in  1847.  Its  charter  called  for  the  es- 
tablishment of  a  lodge  in  Oregon.  The  captain  of  the  vessel  sailed 
out  of  his  course,  and  while  in  the  Hawaiian  Islands  gathered  enough 
members  from  his  crew  to  establish  a  lodge  under  the  charter. 

Joshua  Clinton  Draper. — In  the  passing  of  Joshua  Clinton  Draper, 
November  6,  1918.  San  Bernardino  lost  a  citizen  who  was  a  valuable 
factor  in  both  the  business  and  social  life  of  the  city.  He  will  he  long 
remembered  not  alone  by  his  friends,  hut  by  his  business  associates,  for 
lie  was  one  of  the  few  men  who  seem  to  radiate  good  will  and  kindness, 
and  In-  made  life  brighter  and  happier  fur  all  with  whom  he  came  in 
contact.  To  know  him  was  to  be  his  friend,  and  his  friendships  he  kepi 
inviolate.  No  one,  either  in  the  professional  or  business  circles,  had  mure 
real,  sincere  friends  than  Mr.  Draper. 

In  business  he  stood  very  high  and  his  reputation  for  uprightness  and 
integrity  was  second  to  none.  The  traveling  men  were  all  his  friends 
also,  for  he  had  a  keen  sense  of  humor  and  the  rare  gift  of  being  able  to 
appreciate  a  joke  when  it  was  on  himself.     Thev  also  knew  that  he  lived 


1200      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

up  to  his  high  ideal  of  honor,  and  also  that  he  was  always  willing  to  lend  a 
helping  hand  to  any  one  who  needed  it. 

Mr.  Draper  was  born  in  Middletown,  New  York,  September  6,  1880, 
the  son  of  Edward  Holt  Draper,  of  New  York,  and  May  (Taylor) 
Draper,  also  a  native  of  New  York.  His  father  was  a  stock  dealer  who 
came  to  San  Bernardino  and  entered  into  the  garage  business  with  his 
son,  Joshua  Clinton  Draper.  He  died  in  San  Bernardino  in  1916,  his 
wife  having  passed  on  in  Arizona  in  1907. 

Joshua  Clinton  Draper  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  San 
Bernardino,  graduating  from  its  high  school  in  1899.  He  at  once  started 
to  learn  the  machinist  trade  in  the  Santa  Fe  Shops,  and  in  the  fall  of 
1906,  in  October,  he  started  the  garage  business,  which  he  conducted  until 
his  death  in  November,  1918.  He  had  the  Ford  agency  also  for  the  city, 
being  the  first  agent  here  for  the  Ford  car. 

Since  his  death  Mrs.  Draper  has  carried  on  the  garage  business  and 
has  given  it  her  personal  supervision.  She  certainly  has  qualified  as  a 
business  woman,  as  is  shown  by  the  success  that  has  attended  her 
management. 

Mr.  Draper  married  in  1906  Miss  Mabel  Murray,  a  daughter  of 
F.  A.  Murray,  of  Reno,  Nevada,  and  Delia  (Dolan)  Murray.  They 
became  the  parents  of  one  child,  Murray  Draper,  born  in  1907,  a  student 
in  the  San  Bernardino  High  School,  class  of  1924. 

Mr.  Draper  was  a  member  of  Phoenix  Lodge  No.  178,  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons;  of  San  Bernardino  Lodge  No.  836,  Benevolent 
and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  and  of  San  Bernardino  Aerie,  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles.  In  politics  he  was  a  republican,  and  he  was  affiliated 
with  the  Episcopal  Church. 

J.  F.  Montgomery,  who  was  born  September  6,  1843,  at  Middleboro, 
Massachusetts,  and  died  at  his  home  in  Redlands  June  5,  1918,  was  a  suc- 
cessful New  England  business  man  and  manufacturer,  and  one  of  many 
of  the  conservative  and  substantial  element  of  the  Eastern  monied  men 
who  early  realized  the  possibilities  of  the  magnificent  development  that 
has  taken  place  in  Southern  California  and  did  not  hesitate  to  put  their 
means  and  personal  energy  into  the  development  work.  Mr.  Montgomery 
was  a  careful  and  shrewd  investor  in  Redlands  property,  and  his  activities 
and  influence  serve  to  make  his  name  well  remembered  on  the  list  of 
pioneers. 

He  was  liberally  educated,  took  a  civil  engineering  course  in  the  Massa- 
chusetts Institute  of  Technology,  was  an  engineer  in  early  life  and  later 
was  a  stove  and  range  manufacturer  at  Taunton,  Massachusetts.  This 
business  gave  him  a  secure  financial  position  in  the  East. 

He  paid  his  first  visit  to  Redlands  with  a  party  of  Eastern  people  about 
1890.  The  women  members  of  the  party  remained  in  Redlands,  while 
the  men  traveled  by  burros  to  Bear  Valley  to  inspect  the  site  of  the  dam. 
Mr.  Montgomery  was  one  of  the  early  investors  in  the  original  Bear 
Valley  project,  which,  while  not  a  financial  success,  opened  the  way  for  the 
much  greater  work  that  has  since  taken  place  in  the  way  of  irrigation  and 
power  development.  Mr.  Montgomery  again  came  to  California  in  1899 
as  a  tourist,  and  then  purchased  his  first  orange  grove,  consisting  of  five 
acres,  bounded  by  Pacific,  Cedar,  Monterey  and  Crescent  streets  in  Red- 
lands.  The  property  is  still  owned  by  his  children.  Subsequently  his  son 
came  out  and  selected  a  property  in  Redlands,  and  Mr.  Montgomery  dur- 
ing the  winter  of  1902-03  bought  and  occupied  his  home  on  West  High- 
land Avenue  and  later  erected  the  splendid  residence  now  occupied  by  his 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1201 

daughter,  Mrs.  Folkiris  and  family.  These  were  only  a  few  of  the  for- 
tunate investments  Mr.  Montgomery  made  in  California.  He  eventually 
disposed  of  his  manufacturing  interests  in  the  East  and  concentrated  all 
his  holdings  in  California.  He  was  an  enthusiastic  worker  for  a  greater 
Redlands  of  the  future,  and  his  faith  in  the  country,  and  his  intimate  and 
not  exaggerated  descriptions  were  the  means  of  influencing  many  of  his 
old  time  neighbors  in  the  East  to  follow  him.  January  27,  1875,  at  Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts,  Mr.  Montgomery  married  Miss  Isadore  L.  Phillips, 
and  they  remained  residents  of  that  city  for  a  quarter  of  a  century.  Mrs. 
Montgomery  was  born  August  20,  1852,  at  Taunton,  and  died  at  Red- 
lands  April  29,  1916.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Montgomery  had  three  children, 
two  of  whom  survive. 

The  son,  Hugh  Montgomery,  who  was  born  January  4,  1879,  at  Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts,  was  educated  in  the  Chauncey  Hall  School  for  Boys 
at  Boston,  and  came  to  California  in  1901,  selecting  the  site  of  the  beautiful 
Montgomery  homestead,  and  after  informing  his  father  the  latter  wired 
him  to  purchase  the  property.  Hugh  Montgomery  married  Miss  Pearl 
Washburn  May  6,  1908.  She  is  a  member  of  a  prominent  Redlands  family. 
They  have  two  children:  John  Francis,  born  April  23,  1915,  and  Barbara, 
born  June  20,  1917.  Mr.  Hugh  Montgomery  lives  on  Palm  Avenue  and 
owns  individually  some  splendid  citrus  groves  in  this  district  and  is  also 
active  manager  for  the  joint  holdings  of  himself  and  sister,  comprising 
thirty-five  acres  of  orange  groves  and  a  400-acre  fruit  and  grain  ranch 
at  Banning. 

The  second  child,  Mary  P.  Montgomery,  was  born  at  Taunton,  Massa- 
chusetts, October  10,  1880,  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  gradu- 
ated A.  B.  in  1902  from  Wellesley  College  in  Massachusetts.  During  1912 
she  attended  Redlands  University  and  received  the  Bachelor  of  Music 
degree  and  was  a  teacher  in  the  music  department  of  the  local  university 
from  1912  until  February,  1915.  April  8,  1915,  she  became  the  wife  of 
Dr.  Frank  H.  Folkins,  of  Redlands.  Doctor  Folkins  was  born  at  Center 
Point,  Iowa,  May  8,  1884,  and  studied  medicine  in  the  Iowa  State  Uni- 
versity, receiving  his  degree  in  1910.  On  account  of  a  breakdown  in 
health  he  came  to  California  and  located  at  Redlands  in  the  spring  of 
1911,  and  in  November  of  that  year  resumed  active  practice.  In  the  fall 
of  1914  he  was  appointed  city  physician  of  Redlands,  and  gave  most 
of  his  time  to  the  duties  of  that  office  for  four  years.  In  the  spring  of 
1920,  after  a  special  course  in  San  Francisco,  he  began  confining  his  work 
to  X-Ray  diagnosis  and  examination.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Folkins  have  two 
children:  Richard  Wilson,  born  March  12,  1917,  and  Hugh  Montgomerv, 
born  August  20,  1920. 

Friend  Ives  Lombra,  chief  of  the  fire  department  of  Colton  and  head 
of  the  flourishing  transfer  business  he  established  at  Colton,  is  one  of 
the  best  examples  of  the  self-made  man  San  Bernardino  furnishes.  Dur- 
ing the  years  he  has  lived  at  Colton  he  has  not  only  acquired  large  means, 
but  has  also  won  and  retained  the  full  confidence  of  his  fellow  citizens, 
who  recognize  his  many  excellent  characteristics  and  are  proud  of  the 
record  he  has  made  both  in  office  and  as  a  business  man. 

The  birth  of  Mr.  Lombra  occurred  at  Wallingford,  Connecticut,  Octo- 
ber 23,  1881.  He  is  a  son  of  George  W.  and  Ella  E.  Lombra.  George 
W.  Lombra  was  one  of  the  original  workers  in  the  famous  old  box  factory- 
owned  by  Charles  Parker,  where  the  sanding  of  coffee  mills  and  similar 
products  was  first  done  by  machinery.  In  those  early  times  the  workers 
were  afforded  no  protection  from  the  injurious  effects  of  their  trade,  and 
George  W.  Lombra  died  at  the  age  of  forty-four  years  from  the  effects 


1202       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

of  constant  breathing  of  this  fine  sand  dust.  The  grandfather  of  George 
W.  Lombra  was  the  original  owner  by  a  grant  from  the  French  Govern- 
ment of  the  land  on  which  the  City  of  Montreal,  Canada,  now  stands. 
On  his  maternal  side  Chief  Lombra,  is  descended  from  a  passenger  of  the 
historic  Mayflower.  His  grandmother's  brother,  Ben  Robinson,  was  a 
flag-bearer  in  the  Union  Army  during  the  war  between  the  states,  and  his 
brother,  Charles  Robinson,  was  captured  and  for  three  years  confined  in 
Andersonville  Prison. 

Mr.  Lombra's  educational  training  was  received  in  his  native  town  of 
Wallingford,  and  was  completed  with  a  business  course  in  the  same  place. 
Deciding  then  to  branch  out  for  himself,  he  left  home  and  started  out  on 
what  was  then  the  long  trip  to  California,  arriving  at  Colton  September  12, 
1909,  practically  without  funds,  but  possessed  of  ambition  and  the  deter- 
mination to  conquer  circumstances.  Immediately  securing  employment, 
he  went  to  work  and  did  so  well  and  was  so  economical  that  within  a  year 
he  was  able  to  establish  himself  in  business  as  a  teamster.  From  time  to 
time  he  has  expanded  his  business  and  developed  it  into  one  of  the  leading 
transfer  companies  in  this  part  of  the  county.  While  he  has  not  striven 
for  political  honors  he  is  a  zealous  republican.  He  is  now  serving  his 
second  term  as  chief  of  the  fire  department  of  Colton,  and  is  one  of  the 
best  men  to  hold  this  office.  For  a  number  of  years  he  has  been  a  promin- 
ent Odd  Fellow,  inheriting  his  interest  in  that  order,  as  his  grandfather 
was  a  charter  member  of  Meridian  Lodge  No.  33,  Independent  Order  of 
Odd  Fellows,  one  of  the  earliest  lodges  of  Connecticut. 

After  coming  to  Colton  Mr.  Lombra  married  Miss  Carrie  E.  Tillen,  a 
member  of  one  of  the  old  families  of  the  North  and  one  prominent  in  the 
Union  cause  during  the  war  between  the  North  and  the  South.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Lombra  are  very  fine  people,  popular  with  a  wide  circle,  and  he  is 
recognized  as  worthy  the  full  confidence  of  his  fellow  townsmen. 

John  Batiste  Lafourcade  owns  and  conducts  one  of  the  largest 
vineyards  in  Southern  California  controlled  by  an  individual.  The 
Lafourcade  Packing  House  is  three  miles  east  of  Cucamonga,  on  Foot- 
hill Boulevard,  and  his  extensive  vineyards  are  in  the  Etiwanda  dis- 
trict. This  brief  article  can  barely  suggest  the  superhuman  energy, 
patience,  courage  and  resourcefulness  that  enabled  Mr.  Lafourcade  to 
achieve  his  place  of  preeminence  among  Southern  California  vine- 
yardists. 

He  was  born  April  26,  1871,  at  Lahontan  in  Southern  France,  son 
of  John  and  Jeanne  (Minvelle)  Lafourcade.  His  parents  were  natives 
of  Southern  France,  his  father  born  in  1840  and  his  mother  in  1843, 
and  his  father  was  a  grape  grower  and  wine  maker.  John  Batiste 
Lafourcade  had  the  advantage  of  school  only  one  year  between  the 
ages  of  nine  and  ten.  He  grew  up  in  a  vineyard,  learned  its  work  as 
rapidly  as  his  strength  developed,  and  he  became  well  qualified  in 
every  branch  of  viticulture  when  a  boy.  When  he  left  France  to  come 
to  America  he  carried  with  him  the  highest  credentials  as  to  character 
and  industry.  He  sailed  from  Bordeaux  August  26,  1888,  and  after  a 
tedious  voyage  landed  at  New  Orleans  and  thence  came  direct  to 
Pomona,  California.  For  five  years  Mr.  Lafourcade  was  at  Puente  as 
a  vaquero,  teamster  and  in  other  forms  of  hard  labor.  This  was  fol- 
lowed by  a  year  of  employment  in  the  Brookside  winery  near  Red- 
lands. 

Out  of  this  season  of  hard  labor  his  thrift  had  enabled  him  to  save 
about  twelve  hundred  dollars,  which  he  deposited  in  the  American 
National  Bank  of  Pomona.     In  the  meantime  the  Nesbit  Brothers  had 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1203 

cleared  land  and  planted  a  large  acreage  at  Etiwanda  to  prunes, 
peaches  and  apricots.  It  was  an  enterprise  that  came  to  disaster  and 
the  firm  failed,  owing  the  bank  at  Pomona  about  twelve  thousand 
dollars.  The  bank  held  the  land  as  security,  though  this  security  was 
regarded  as  practically  worthless. 

It  was  at  this  juncture  that  Mr.  Lafourcade  investigated  the  prop- 
osition, and  succeeded  in  making  arrangements  with  the  bank  to  at- 
tempt to  restore  the  property  to  usefulness.  The  contract  was  that 
he  was  to  receive  no  salary,  and  depend  on  results  for  his  compensa- 
tion. He  moved  into  an  old  house,  living  among  the  Chinamen  who 
were  working  on  the  land,  and  he  himself  worked  like  a  slave  for  a 
year.  In  this  time  he  had  spent  all  his  accumulated  twelve  hundred 
dollars  of  savings,  and  had  to  acknowledge  that  the  orchard  was  hope- 
less. The  only  encouraging  result  of  his  year's  labor  was  his  discov- 
ery that  the  soil  was  much  like  that  of  his  native  Southern  France, 
well  adapted  for  vines.  With  this  knowledge  he  went  to  the  bank 
and  after  explaining  how  he  had  spent  the  savings  of  his  years  and 
could  promise  no  results  along  the  lines  of  the  original  proposition, 
he  said  if  he  could  be  given  a  contract  of  sale  with  the  privilege  of 
destroying  the  deciduous  trees  and  planting  grapes  in  their  stead  he 
could  promise  a  thriving  industry  and  one  that  would  show  profit  in 
time.  The  president  of  the  American  National  Bank  of  Pomona  ac- 
cepted the  proposition.  Mr.  Lafourcade  assumed  the  heavy  obliga- 
tion, used  the  old  trees  for  fence  posts,  to  wire  the  rabbits  out  of  his 
vineyards,  and  he  was  also  accorded  the  privilege  of  a  checking  ac- 
count for  bare  expenses.  This  credit  was  granted  wholly  on  his 
good  name  and  the  confidence  inspired  by  him  in  the  banking  offi- 
cials. Having  this  contract  Mr.  Lafourcade  toiled  long  hours,  fought 
the  north  winds  and  drifting  sand,  and  for  the  first  two  years  there 
was  an  unprecedented  rainfall.  There  was  no  irrigation,  and  he  even 
hauled  domestic  water  the  first  two  years.  People  thought  him  in- 
sane and  ignorant  when  he  planted  grape  cuttings  in  the  bare  desert 
sand  without  water.  His  first  purchase  contract  covered  a  hundred 
and  fifty  acres,  and  for  this  he  went  in  debt  thirteen  thousand  dollars 
at  five  per  cent,  the  understanding  being  that  he  was  to  be  allowed 
to  draw  checks  if  he  was  able  to  show  satisfactory  results.  For  six- 
teen years  Mr.  Lafourcade  carried  on  the  struggle  involved  in  im- 
proving the  land  and  getting  his  vineyard  into  bearing.  On  Decem- 
ber 23,  1891,  his  loan  was  called.  At  that  time  the  debt  stood  at 
twenty-one  thousand  dollars.  In  the  meantime  he  had  increased  his 
holdings  to  three  hundred  acres.  He  insured  his  life  for  fifteen  thou- 
sand dollars,  and  with  this  and  his  real  estate  was  able  to  effect  a 
loan  of  twenty-one  thousand  dollars  to  pay  off  the  bank  in  full.  He 
thus  saved  the  institution  a  heavy  loss  and  at  last  was  on  his  feet 
financially.  Since  then  prosperity  has  come  with  undiminished  regu- 
larity and  mounting  in  volume  until  he  is  one  of  the  foremost  indi- 
vidual grape  growers  in  California,  having  780  acres,  with  110  acres 
in  wine  grapes  and  the  rest  in  raisin  and  table  grapes.  In  1918  he 
constructed  a  modern  dehydrating  plant  with  modern  raisin  storage 
and  packing  house,  and  also  has  a  complete  winery  with  a  capacity  of 
forty-five  thousand  gallons  annually.  Mr.  Lafourcade  was  the  first 
in  this  district  to  sink  a  deep  water  well.  This  well  is  630  feet  deep 
and  the  water  list  is  360  feet.  It  has  an  ample  flow  to  provide  suffi- 
cient irrigation  fur  his  entire  acreage,  from  80  to  100  inches  out  of  the 
well. 


1204      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

On  June  2,  1902,  Mr.  Lafourcade  married  Miss  Josephine  Lastiry, 
who  was  born  in  Southern  Spain,  of  pure  Castilian  stock,  in  June  24, 
1881.  She  came  to  America  a  short  time  before  her  marriage  and 
lived  at  West  Riverside.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lafourcade  have  a  fine  fam- 
ily of  seven  children :  Emma,  born  August  24,  1905 ;  Francisco  and 
John  Batiste,  twins,  born  August  8,  1908;  Marie  Louise,  born  No- 
vember 6,  1909;  Josephine,  born  December  16,  1910;  Pierre,  born 
September  4,  1914;  and  Marguerite,  born  May  18,  1919.  The  family 
are  devout  Catholics  and  Mr.   Lafourcade  is  a  republican  voter. 

The  vineyards  and  manufacturing  plant  owned  by  Mr.  Lafourcade 
speaks  for  themselves  as  one  of  California's  prominent  industries. 
But  the  chief  factors  in  making  these  possible  were  the  strenuous 
energy,  the  absolute  honesty  and  integrity  of  Mr.  Lafourcade  himself. 

Norman  S.  Hawes. — This  veteran  soldier  of  the  Union  has  been 
identified  with  the  citizenship  of  Riverside  more  than  thirty  years,  and 
the  business  which  he  founded  here  is  still  continued  by  one  of  his  sons. 

Mr.  Hawes  was  born  at  Reading,  Hillsdale  County.  Michigan,  October 
28,  1842.  His  family  name  was  written  in  the  record  of  births  as  Hause, 
and  it  is  said  that  when  he  was  a  boy  of  about  fifteen  he  proposed  to  his 
father  that  they  change  the  spelling  to  Hawes.  which  was  done,  though 
his  uncles  and  other  members  of  the  family  still  continue  the  old  spelling. 

The  record  of  the  Hause  family  runs  back  to  William  Hause,  who  was 
born  February  24,  1750.  He  married  Martha  Wood,  who  was  born 
May  4,  1753,  and  died  September  8,  1818.  Of  their  fourteen  children 
William  Hause,  Jr.,  was  born  November  22,  1781,  and  died  January  2, 
1825.  April  7,  1804,  he  married  Esther  Sanford,  who  was  born  Septem- 
ber 22,  1785.  They  were  the  parents  of  ten  children.  Of  these  Jesse  J. 
Hause  was  born  June  23,  1808,  and  married  Sally  Swarthout,  who  was 
born  September  2,  1S07.  Heman  C.  Hause,  a  brother  of  Jesse  J.  Hause, 
was  the  father  of  the  old  soldier  and  Riverside  resident.  Heman  C. 
Hause  was  born  May  13,  1813,  and  died  August  11,  1872.  On  November 
26,  1832,  he  married  Maria  Elvira  Bacon,  who  died  May  20,  1852.  The 
second  wife  of  Heman  Hause  was  Adaline  L.  Holt. 

Norman  S.  Hawes  was  the  fifth  in  a  family  of  seven  children.  His 
brother  Edward  R.  was  a  Union  soldier  and  died  in  the  service.  Another 
brother,  Andrew  J.,  enlisted  in  the  Eleventh  Michigan,  but  was  rejected 
on  account  of  age,  and  subsequently  enlisted  in  the  Seventeenth  Michigan 
Infantry  and  served  until  discharged  on  account  of  disability.  He  finally 
joined  Battery  D  of  the  First  Michigan  Light  Artillery,  and  was  in 
service  until  the  close  of  the  war. 

Norman  S.  Hawes  received  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Litchfield, 
Michigan,  and  the  country  schools  of  Branch  County,  and  was  identified 
with  the  work  of  his  father's  farm  until  he  joined  the  army  in  September. 
1861.  His  military  service  is  compiled  from  the  official  account  drawn 
up  by  the  Soldiers  and  Sailors  Historical  and  Benevolent  Society.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  famous  First  Regiment,  Michigan  Light  Artillery 
Battery  D,  under  command  of  Capt.  Josiah  W.  Church  and  known  as 
Church's  Battery.  Norman  Hawes  enlisted  September  17.  1861.  from 
Branch  County  to  serve  three  years.  He  was  mustered  in  at  White 
Pigeon,  Michigan,  September  17th  as  a  private  in  Battery  D,  commanded 
successively  by  Capt.  William  W.  Andrews,  Capt.  Alonza  F.  Bidwell 
and  Capt.  Josiah  W.  Church.  This  battery  was  organized  in  White 
Pigeon  and  mustered  in  September  17th  and  attached  to  the  Fourteenth 
Army  Corps.  It  was  on  duty  at  Camp  Robinson  and  Louisville.  Ken- 
tucky, until  January,  1862,  and  then  went  by  boat  down  the  Ohio  and  up 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1205 

the  Cumberland  to  Spring  Hill,  south  of  Nashville,  Tennessee.  Mr. 
Hawes  was  taken  ill  and  sent  home  on  a  discharged  furlough,  but  rejoined 
his  battery  after  the  battle  of  Stone  River  in  the  concluding  days  of  the 
year  1862.  The  battery  was  then  ordered  to  Triune,  where  it  remained 
several  months,  until  the  advance  of  Rosecrans  on  Chattanooga.  The 
first  engagement  on  his  return  was  at  Hoover's  Gap  and  then  at  Win- 
chester, Tennessee,  where  the  regiment  remained  a  few  weeks.  Then  cross- 
ing the  Tennessee  River  at  Stevenson,  Alabama,  it  advanced  over  Lookout 
Mountain  down  into  the  Chickamauga  Valley.  In  September,  1863,  the 
battery  was  assigned  to  the  First  Brigade,  Third  Division.  It  reached 
Growers  Ford  on  the  Chickamauga  September  18th  and  participated  in  the 
great  battle  of  that  name  on  the  following  day,  rendering  conspicuous  serv- 
ice, no  battery  in  that  memorable  battle  being  handled  more  skillfully  or 
doing  greater  execution.  The  battery  occupied  Fort  Negley  at  Chattanooga. 
In  November  following  the  battery  assisted  in  shelling  the  enemy  on 
Lookout  Mountain  when  General  Hooker  was  advancing  across  the  face 
of  the  mountain,  and  also  participated  in  the  assault  on  Missionary  Ridge 
November  25th.  From  March  until  December,  following  the  battery  was 
at  Murtreesboro,  Tennessee,  and  then  was  sent  back  to  Nashville,  Tennes- 
see, where  they  remained  in  camp  during  the  winter.  The  following 
spring  they  marched  to  Murfreesboro  and  occupied  Fort  Rosecrans  dur- 
ing the  remainder  of  the  war. 

Norman  S.  Hawes  was  in  all  the  engagements  of  his  battery  excepting 
the  time  he  was  in  the  hospital  and  at  home  and  was  always  at  his  post  of 
duty  and  achieved  a  gallant  record  for  meritorious  service  and  soldierlv 
conduct.  He  left  the  battery  at  Columbia,  Tennessee,  and  was  in  the 
hospital,  later  at  Nashville,  and  was  furloughed  home  and  after  recovering 
reported  at  Detroit  and  rejoined  the  battery  at  Murfreesboro.  At  Louis- 
ville, while  in  drill,  he  was  injured  when  a  team  fell  on  him,  causing 
injury  to  neck  and  spine  which  has  ever  since  affected  him.  For  a  time  he 
was  a  nurse  in  the  smallpox  hospital  at  Louisville.  His  certificate  of  hon- 
orable discharge  was  dated  at   Nashville,   September   17,   1864. 

After  leaving  the  army  Mr.  Hawes  returned  to  Butler,  Michigan,  and 
helped  his  uncle  complete  a  school  building.  A  teacher  being  needed  for 
the  school,  he  took  the  examination  and,  passing  the  highest  marks  of  all 
the  applicants,  was  given  the  school  and  at  the  end  of  the  year  was  com- 
plimented by  the  board  for  having  the  most  orderly  and  best  attended 
school  in  the  district.  Following  that  he  took  a  high  school  teacher's 
course  at  Coldwater,  and  following  that  was  given  a  school  in  Quincy 
Township  of  Branch  County.  His  pupils  stood  high  in  the  usual  branches 
and  he  was  especially  commended  for  his  classes  in  singing  and  debating. 
He  taught  another  term  at  Butler  and  then  went  on  the  road  as  a  sales- 
man selling  sewing  machines,  and  had  a  store  at  Hillsdale,  Michigan. 
Later  he  went  on  the  road  for  the  firm  of  Whitney  &  Currier  of  Toledo, 
Ohio,  selling  organs  and  pianos.  That  was  his  business  for  fifteen  years, 
and  in  1888  Mr.  Hawes  came  to  Riverside  and  opened  an  establishment 
of  his  own  in  the  Tetley  Hotel  Block,  selling  pianos  and  other  musical 
instruments,  sewing  machines  and  bicycles.  He  prospered,  and  with  in- 
creasing business  moved  his  quarters  to  the  Frederick  Block,  and  continued 
there  until  he  retired,  since  which  time  the  business  has  been  conducted  by 
his  son,  H.  W.  Hawes. 

Mr.  Hawes  is  an  honored  member  of  Riverside  Post  No.  118,  Depart- 
ment of  California  and  Nevada,  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  and  was 
elected  senior  vice  commander  of  his  post  for  1915  and  commander  in  1916. 
He  is  affiliated  with  the  Masonic  Order  and  the  Fraternal  Aid  Association. 


1206      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

In  Branch  County,  Michigan,  April  2,  1866,  Mr.  Hawes  married  Miss 
Sarah  A.  Dickerson.  Her  father,  Alonzo  Dickerson,  and  her  brothers, 
Joseph  and  Melvin  M.  Dickerson,  were  also  Union  soldiers  in  Michigan 
regiments.  Mrs.  Hawes  was  an  invalid  for  many  years  of  her  life,  passing 
away  December  19,  1920.  She  was  born  May' 31,  1849.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Hawes  had  four  children.  The  oldest,  Flora  Winifred,  was  born  March  6, 
1867,  and  died  November  5,  1888.  Harry  Wilford  Hawes,  successor  to  his 
father's  business,  was  born  December  20,  1868,  and  on  November  1,  1900, 
married  Minnie  L.  Stratton,  born  September  28,  1872.  Their  three  chil- 
dren are  named  Ethel  Winifred,  born  February  5,  1902;  Lillian  Josephine, 
born  March  6,  1905,  and  Harold  Wilford,  born  January  13,  1910. 

The  second  son  of  Mr.  Hawes  is  Frederick  Norman,  who  was  born 
April  17,  1872.  February  1,  1898,  he  married  Alice  Belle  Hersey,  who 
was  born  July  27,  1875.  They  are  the  parents  of  a  son,  James  Hersey 
Hawes,  born  October  24,  1908. 

The  youngest  son,  Roy  Currier  Hawes,  was  born  January  8,  1877.  and 
on  May  19,  1900,  married  Annabel  Allen,  who  was  born  January  28,  1877. 
Their  four  children  were:  Wilford  Allen,  born  March  31,  1901,  and  died 
August  25th  of  the  same  year;  Roland  Cyril,  born  October  4,  1908;  Sarah 
Elizabeth,  born  December  4,  1911,  and  Norman  Worth  Hawes,  born 
November  1,  1914. 

Pressbury  W.  Lord  has  been  a  Calif ornian  for  nearly  forty  years.  He 
was  born  at  Quebec,  Canada,  May  23,  1863,  being  a  son  of  Henry  Lewis 
Lord  and  Mary  Jane  (Cross)  Lord.  His  parents  were  also  natives  of 
Canada,  his  father  being  of  English  ancestry  and  his  mother's  people  from 
the  North  of  Ireland. 

His  early  years  were  spent  on  his  father's  farm.  He  enjoyed  the 
benefit  of  the  good  schools  of  the  country,  the  latter  two  years  being 
spent  at  Inverness  Academy.  At  the  age  of  twenty  he  and  his  brother, 
the  late  Loren  C.  Lord,  came  West  to  British  Columbia,  then  to  California, 
and  for  ten  years  they  engaged  in  mining  operations  in  Sierra  County, 
California.  Mr.  Lord  still  has  mining  interests  there.  From  Sierra  County 
he  moved  to  Los  Angeles  and  then  to  Pasadena,  where  he  was  engaged 
in  business  for  ten  years.  In  1902  he  came  to  Riverside,  where  he  was 
associated  with  William  Elliott  in  the  business  of  promoting  the 
"Elliott  Springs  Mineral  Water."  The  success  of  this  enterprise  led 
naturally  to  the  establishment  of  the  Riverside  Soda  Works,  which  he  and 
his  brother  developed  and  operated,  their  products  being  distributed  over 
all  Southern  California.  The  most  famous  of  these  beverages  is  the 
Rubidoux  brand  of  Ginger  Ale.  He  is  now  retired  from  active  business, 
but  still  retains  an  interest  in  the  business  at  Riverside.  Mr.  Lord  is  a 
republican.  He  has  worked  conscientiously  and  whole-heartedly  in  the  in- 
terests of  his  party  and  good  government.  In  November,  1918,  lie  was 
elected  to  represent  the  Fourth  Ward  in  the  City  Council,  which  office 
he  filled  satisfactorily  and  he  has  been  re-elected  for  another  term. 

On  May  28,  1902,  Mr.  Lord  was  united  in  marriage  with  Rebecca  M. 
Muir,  a  native  of  Nova  Scotia  and  a  daughter  of  Capt.  John  and  Mary 
Muir.  The  older  daughter,  Phyllis  Arline,  is  a  graduate  of  Pomona 
College  at  Claremont,  and  is  teaching  art  in  Pasadena.  Miss  Lilla  Dale, 
the  younger  daughter,  is  at  home  with  her  parents.  She  is  engaged  in 
secretarial  work  with  the  Pacific  Telephone  &  Telegraph  Company. 

On  July  6,  1921,  Phyllis  Lord  married  Kenneth  Morgan,  engaged  in 
electrical  engineering  with  the  Pacific  Telephone  &  Telegraph  Company 
of  Los  Angeles.  He  is  a  graduate  of  Pomona  College,  and  his  technical 
knowledge  was  acquired  at  the  Massachusetts  School  of  Technology. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1207 

San  Bernardino  Aerie  No.  506,  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles  has 
been  an  institution  of  growing  power  and  influence  in  the  city  for  eighteen 
years.  It  was  instituted  October  16,  1903,  with  a  charter  membership  of 
131.  The  first  meeting  was  held  in  Damron  Hall  at  541  Third  Street,  and 
of  the  officers  chosen  who  are  still  members  mention  is  made  of  Joseph 
Ingersoll,  past  worthy  president,  Harry  Groves,  worthy  president,  and 
R.  B.  Goodcell,  trustee.  The  second  meeting  was  held  in  Native  Sons 
Hall,  now  occupied  by  Chocolate  Palace.  The  Aerie  prospered  both  finan- 
cially and  numerically,  and  toward  the  end  of  1908  they  purchased  the  lease 
and  furniture  of  the  Elks  Club,  and  on  January  1,  1909,  held  their  first 
meeting  in  the  new  Eagles  Hall  in  the  Home  Telephone  Building.  The 
six  years  they  occupied  this  home  was  a  period  of  steady  growth  and 
prosperity,  and  in  November,  1917,  the  Brunn  property,  ground  and  build- 
ing, was  bought  and  on  a  portion  of  the  ground  the  new  building  erected. 
It  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  only  fraternal  building  in  the  city 
financed  without  the  sale  of  stock  or  shares  to  members.  This  building 
has  the  finest  auditorium  in  the  city.  To  satisfy  the  requirements  of  the 
immediate  future  plans  have  been  made,  with  the  clearing  away  of  the 
indebtedness  of  the  Aerie,  to  remove  the  old  portion  of  the  building  and 
cover  the  entire  site,  75  x  120  feet,  with  a  two-story  structure  to  be 
utilized  altogether  for  fraternal  purposes. 

This  Aerie  has  performed  its  functions  as  a  fraternal  institution,  and 
through  the  privileges  and  advantages  conferred  its  membership  has  had 
a  steady  increase.  Of  the  charter  list  of  131,  only  33  are  now  on  the 
rolls,  the  greater  part  of  the  remainder  having  been  called  by  death.  The 
present  membership  is  685.  During  the  World  war  forty-nine  from  this 
Aerie  answered  the  call  to  the  colors,  though  fortunately  none  made  the 
supreme  sacrifice.  During  the  war  the  auditorium  was  always  ready  and 
free  for  patriotic  movements.  A  familiar  expression  was  "If  you  want 
any  help,  a  place  to  meet,  the  use  of  dishes  or  tables,  go  to  the  Eagles." 
This  Aerie  bought  $3,000  in  Liberty  Bonds,  and  at  all  times  encouraged  the 
members  to  do  their  best.  During  the  influenza  epidemic  the  Aerie  lost 
twelve  of  its  members,  with  nearly  a  hundred  ill  with  that  disease,  but 
every  dollar  of  sick  and  death  benefit  was  promptly  paid.  The  records 
show  that  since  the  Aerie  was  instituted  over  $20,000  have  been  expended 
in  sick  and  funeral  benefits.  The  Aerie  motto  is:  "If  I  can't  speak  well 
of  a  man  I  wont  speak  ill  of  him."  The  aim  is :  "To  make  the  world  a 
better  place  for  men  and  women  to  live  in." 

The  present  list  of  officers  are :  Junior  past  worthy  president,  Frank 
T.  Bates;  worthy  president,  Charles  E.  Showalter ;  worthy  vice  president, 
Douglas  Shaw ;  worthy  chaplain,  M.  Firebaugh ;  treasurer,  A.  Mespelt 
since  1907;  secretary,  James  Cunnison  since  1912;  inside  guard,  C.  H. 
Cosner  ;  outside  guard,  John  Molnar  ;  conductor,  Lloyd  E.  Collins  ;  trustees, 
Harry  A.  Snyder,  W.  J.  Hanford.  James  C.  Amos;  physician,  Steele 
Forsythe.    Our  colors — Red-White-Blue. 

Clifford  M.  Huston  is  showing  in  a  significant  way  his  desire  to 
make  the  bank  of  which  he  is  the  cashier  a  medium  of  effective  serv- 
ice in  the  community,  and  under  his  careful  and  progressive  adminis- 
tration the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Rialto,  San  Bernardino  County, 
has  had  much  to  gain  and  nothing  to  lose. 

Mr.  Huston  was  born  at  Salem,  Indiana,  August  11,  1884,  gained 
his  early  education  in  the  public  schools  of  the  old  Hoosier  State  and 
thereafter  continued  his  studies  in  the  Indiana  State  Normal  School 
at  Marion,  he  having  depended  on  his  own  resources  in  meeting  the 
expenses  of  his  higher  education.     Ha  continued  his  association  with 


1208       SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

farm  enterprise  in  Indiana  until  he  decided  to  come  to  California. 
Upon  arriving  in  the  City  of  Chicago  he  found  that  the  railroad  fare 
to  California  was  much  in  excess  of  his  available  funds,  and  under 
these  conditions  he  invested  in  a  scalper's  ticket  to  Denver,  Colorado. 
His  depleted  finances  made  it  essential  for  him  to  replenish  the  same 
without  delay,  and  he  found  employment  in  a  Denver  hotel,  where  he 
received  one  dollar  a  day  and  his  board.  In  this  way  he  finally  saved 
enough  money  to  pay  his  railway  fare  to  California,  and  in  1904  he 
arrived  at  Rialto,  San  Bernardino  County,  with  a  full  supply  of  am- 
bition and  determination  but  with  his  cash  capital  reduced  to  twenty- 
six  cents,  besides  which  he  owed  $200,  which  sum  he  had  borrowed  to 
enable  him  to  complete  his  educational  course  in  the  normal  school. 
At  Rialto  he  first  found  employment  in  a  fruit-packing  house,  and  he 
soon  won  advancement  to  the  position  of  foreman  in  this  establish- 
ment, that  of  the  California  Citrus  Union.  After  saving  a  sufficient 
sum  to  justify  such  action  Mr.  Huston  purchased  ten  acres  of  unim- 
proved land  at  Rialto,  together  with  water  right,  this  property  being 
situated  on  South  Riverside  Avenue.  In  1913-14  he  planted  this 
tract  to  oranges,  and,  notwithstanding  that  he  was  in  debt  and  that 
freezing  weather  killed  many  of  his  trees  the  first  winter,  he  charac- 
teristically refused  to  be  discouraged  or  to  be  deflected  from  the 
course  to  which  he  had  set  himself.  He  has  shown  in  every  stage  of 
his  progressive  career  that  he  has  none  of  the  attributes  of  a  "quit- 
ter," and  self-reliance,  circumspection  and  determination  have  enabled 
him  to  win  out.  In  the  early  days  of  his  independent  enterprise  here 
he  frequently  drove  a  mule  team  by  day  and  irrigated  his  orange 
grove  at  night,  and  to-day  he  is  the  owner  of  one  of  the  finely  im- 
proved citrus  fruit  groves  of  this  section  of  the  state.  Mr.  Huston 
was  here  prior  to  the  opening  of  any  bank,  and  he  readily  discerned 
the  community  need  for  such  an  institution.  Though  he  was  offered 
the  position  of  manager  of  a  packing  house,  he  refused  this  proffer 
and  upon  the  organization  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Rialto  he 
was  early  selected  as  one  of  its  office  executives.  He  won  promotion 
to  the  position  of  assistant  cashier,  and  continued  his  efficient  service 
with  this  institution  for  a  period  of  twelve  years.  Thus  fortified  with 
thorough  knowledge  of  the  details  of  the  banking  business  and  from 
early  experience  realizing  the  large  part  a  properly  regulated  bank 
could  play  in  connection  with  industrial  advancement  and  stability, 
through  his  familiarity  with  farm  life  in  his  vouth  and  his  active 
identification  with  fruit  culture  in  California  he  began  to  consult 
ways  and  means  for  establishing  a  bank  that  should  be  equipped  to 
aid  those  who  needed  financial  support,  whether  rich  or  poor  and 
without  reference  to  social  caste.  After  a  thorough  survey  of  the 
situation  he  gained  the  co-operation  of  men  whose  standing-  was  such 
as  to  justify  their  selection,  and  in  November.  1920,  the  Citizens  Na- 
tional Bank  of  Rialto  opened  its  doors  for  business.  He  effected  the 
organization  and  incorporation  of  this  institution,  and  has  been  its 
cashier  from  the  beginning,  while  he  is  making  its  politics  conform  to 
his  ideas  as  to  the  nroper  functions  which  it  should  exercise  in  the 
community.  The  other  executive  officers  of  the  bank  are  as  here 
noted:  Wilmot  T.  Smith,  president;  H.  A.  Brimmer,  vice  president: 
John  Cox,  vice  president;  and  Lloyd  A.  Mills,  assistant  cashier.  In 
addition  to  the  president  and  vice  presidents  the  directorate  of  the 
institution  includes  also  T-  T.  Canaday,  C.  E.  McLaughlin,  W.  Mc- 
Kinley  and  W.  A.  Needham.  The  stockholders  are  seventy-five  in 
number,  and  most  of  them  are  residents  of  the  community  in  which 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1209 

the  bank  is  established,  its  operations  being  based  on  a  paid-up  cap- 
ital stock  of  $25,000.  The  total  resources  of  the  bank  on  the  day  of 
its  opening  were  $45,000,  and  at  the  end  of  the  fiscal  year  these  had 
been  increased  to  $142,000.  The  bank  is  admirably  serving  its  pa- 
trons, especially  in  connection  with  the  handling  and  marketing  of 
orchard  products  and  helping  onward  to  independence  many  whose 
financial  circumstances  make  such  interposition  temporarily  impera- 
tive. Founded  and  conducted  on  such  a  basis  of  practical  service,  the 
Citizens  National  Bank  is  destined  to  continue  a  power  for  good  in 
the  community  in  which  it  is  established.  Mr.  Huston  has  made  his 
own  way  toward  the  goal  of  worthy  success,  has  a  fine  sense  of  per- 
sonal stewardship  and  has  found  many  ways  in  which  to  exert  helpful 
influence  in  connection  with  civic  and  business  affairs  in  the  county 
and  state  of  his  adoption.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Mary 
E.  Foulke,  was  born  in  Kansas,  August  29,  1885,  and  is  a  daughter  of 
the  late  Morris  E.  Foulke,  to  whom  a  memoir  is  dedicated  in  the  follow- 
ing sketch.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Huston  have  one  child,  Lucille,  who  was  born 
January  22,  1917. 

Morris  E.  Foulke,  whose  death  occurred  July  1,  1917,  was  one  of 
the  honored  pioneer  exponents  of  civic  and  material  development  and 
progress  in  the  Rialto  district  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  was  a 
citizen  whose  sterling  character  and  worthy  achievement  entitle  him 
to  special  tribute  in  this  history. 

Mr.  Foulke  was  born  at  Chesterfield,  Ohio,  February  27,  1850, 
and  was  reared  to  manhood  in  the  old  Buckeye  State,  where  he  re- 
ceived good  educational  advantages,  as  is  indicated  by  the  fact  that 
he  became  when  a  young  man  a  successful  teacher  in  the  schools  of 
Ohio.  He  finally  migrated  to  Iowa  and  taught  school,  and  later  he 
removed  to  Kansas,  where  he  continued  his  active  alliance  with  agri- 
cultural industry.  At  Garnette,  that  state,  in  1877,  was  solemnized 
his  marriage  with  Miss  Anzanetta  Miles,  who  was  born  at  West 
Branch,  Ohio,  November  23,  1851,  and  who  survived  him  by  about 
four  years,  she  having  met  a  tragic  death  on  the  13th  of  November, 
1921,  when,  in  crossing  the  highway  near  her  home  at  Rialto,  she  was 
struck  by  an  automobile  and  received  injuries  that  resulted  in  her 
death  shortly  afterward.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Foulke  were  birthright  mem- 
bers of  the  Society  of  Friends,  and  exemplified  their  gentle  and  noble 
Christian  faith  in  their  every-day  lives.  They  became  the  parents  of 
five  children:  William  was  born  in  December,  1881,  and  died  eight 
months  later.  Lambert  J.  was  born  December  8,  1883,  and  died  in 
December,  1904.  Mary  E.,  who  was  born  at  the  old  home  in  Kansas, 
August  29,  1885.  was  about  two  years  old  at  the  time  of  the  family 
removal  to  California  and  was  reared  'in  San  Bernardino  County, 
where  she  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  in  the  City  of  San 
Bernardino,  after  which  she  was  graduated  from  the  State  Normal 
School  at  San  Diego.  She  taught  three  years  in  the  public  schools 
at  Fontana  and  one  year  at  Lapland,  and  she  is  now  the  wife  of  C.  M. 
Huston,  cashier  of  the  Citizens  National  Bank  of  Rialto  and  the  sub- 
ject of  the  personal  sketch  preceding  this.  Frances,  the  next  younger  of 
the  children,  was  born  at  Rialto,  in  1888,  and  died  at  the  age  of  eight 
months.  Charles,  who  was  born  at  West  Rialto,  in  1890,  was  gradu- 
ated from  the  San  Bernardino  High  School  and  later  from  Leland  Stan- 
ford, Jr.,  University,  from  which  he  received  the  degree  of  Civil  Engineer. 
He  is  now  engaged  in  the  practice  of  his  profession,  with  residence  at  San 


1210       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Bernardino.     He  married  Miss  Olive  Hill,  of  Highland,  this  state,  and 
they  have  one  child,  Eleanor,  born  November  24,  1917. 

Mr.  Foulke  continued  his  residence  in  Kansas  until  1887,  in  which 
year  he  came  with  his  family  to  California.  In  1890  he  purchased 
twenty  acres  of  barren  desert  land,  now  at  the  corner  of  Maple  Avenue 
and  Foothill  Boulevard,  at  Rialto,  instituted  the  reclamation  and  im- 
provement of  the  tract  and  after  erecting  a  house  on  the  place  he  and 
his  wife  there  established  their  home.  He  was  one  of  the  first  to 
institute  the  development  of  the  wild  and  forbidding  land  of  this  now 
opulent  and  beautiful  district  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  he  made 
his  land  into  one  of  the  valuable  orange  groves  of  the  county.  He 
there  maintained  his  home  until  his  death.  In  driving  from  Rialto  to 
his  land  in  the  early  days  he  told  his  companions  that  it  was  advis- 
able to  drive  in  a  straight  line,  as  some  day  the  course  would  become 
a  part  of  a  main  highway  to  Los  Angeles.  He  lived  to  see  the  im- 
provement of  this  now  important  boulevard,  and  it  was  while  at- 
tempting to  cross  the  same  that  his  widow  met  her  death,  as  noted  in 
a  preceding  paragraph.  Mr.  Foulke  was  an  uncompromising  oppo- 
nent of  the  liquor  traffic,  worked  earnestly  in  behalf  of  temperance 
and  was  a  staunch  supporter  of  the  principles  and  cause  of  the  pro- 
hibition party.  His  memory  and  that  of  his  gentle  and  noble  wife 
are  held  in  affectionate  regard  by  all  who  came  within  the  sphere  of 
their  benign  influence. 

Ralph  David  Bailey. — One  of  the  best  known  men  engaged  in  the 
insurance  and  brokerage  business  in  San  Bernardino  and  Riverside  coun- 
ties is  Ralph  David  Bailey,  whose  headquarters  are  located  at  Colton. 
His  connection  with  his  present  business  has  gained  him  a  wide  acquaint- 
ance, among  whom  his  genial  disposition,  his  loyalty  and  his  constant  in- 
clination to  be  helpful  to  his  fellows  have  made  him  a  general  favorite.  A 
peculiar  and  particular  genius  is  necessary  to  the  man  who  would  be 
successful  in  selling  insurance  and  in  acting  as  a  general  broker.  Many 
men  who  have  risen  to  prominence  in  other  lines  have  scored  naught  but 
failures  when  they  have  entered  the  insurance  and  brokerage  field.  Mr. 
Bailey,  however,  possesses  the  essential  qualities  of  acumen,  a  pleasing 
personality  and  a  thorough  knowledge  of  human  nature,  and  with  these  as 
his  stock  in  trade  has  achieved  an  enviable  success. 

Mr.  Bailey  comes  of  Scotch-Irish  and  English  descent,  and  was  born 
at  Marshalltown,  Iowa,  November  12,  1877,  a  son  of  Richard  H.  and 
Matilda  Bailey.  His  father,  born  in  Illinois,  was  a  merchant  at  Atlantic, 
Iowa,  for  thirty-five  years,  but  in  1917  retired  from  business  and  moved 
to  Los  Angeles,  California,  where  he  now  makes  his  home,  as  does  also 
Mrs.  Bailey,  who  is  a  native  of  Ohio.  Ralph  D.  Bailey  attended  the  public- 
schools  of  Atlantic,  Iowa,  where  he  was  graduated  from  the  high  school 
in  June,  1898,  and  in  June  of  the  following  year  completed  a  commercial 
course  in  a  business  college  in  that  city.  When  he  left  school  he  joined 
his  father  in  the  mercantile  business  at  Atlantic,  and  continued  to  be 
engaged  therein  from  1899  to  1901,  in  the  latter  year  becoming  book- 
keeper in  the  Atlantic  National  Bank.  In  1899  he  had  come  to  California 
to  spend  the  winter,  and  at  that  time  became  so  favorably  impressed  with 
the  state  that  he  resolved  to  return  at  a  future  date.  This  he  did  in  1902, 
when  he  resigned  as  bookkeeper  of  the  Atlantic  National  Bank  and  came 
to  Colton,  where  he  was  variously  employed  until  1905.  In  that  year  he 
was  made  assistant  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Colton,  and 
continued  in  that  capacity  for  seven  years.  He  entered  the  general  insur- 
ance and  brokerage  business  in   1912,  and  has  remained  therein  to  the 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1211 

present  time,  his  operations  covering  San  Bernardino  and  Riverside  coun- 
ties. Mr.  Bailey's  success  has  been  self-gained,  as  his  reputation  has  been 
self-built,  and  both  are  on  a  substantial  basis.  He  occupies  a  well-estab- 
lished place  in  the  confidence  of  those  with  whom  he  has  had  business 
transactions,  and  is  a  director  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Colton,  hav- 
ing held  a  position  on  that  directorate  since  1917.  Politically  he  is  a 
republican,  but  his  connection  with  politics  is  only  that  of  a  public-spirited 
citizen  interested  in  the  welfare  of  his  community.  Since  he  reached  his 
majority  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  Masons  and  the  Order  of  the 
Eastern  Star,  and  likewise  holds  membership  in  the  Benevolent  and  Protec- 
tive Order  of  Elks.  With  his  family  he  belongs  to  the  Congregational 
Church. 

On  September  14,  1909,  at  Redlands,  California,  Mr.  Bailey  was 
united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Ethel  M.  Webb,  a  daughter  of  Gilbert  and 
Kate  Webb,  of  Los  Angeles,  California,  where  Gilbert  Webb,  one  of  the 
early  settlers  of  the  city,  was  engaged  in  the  contracting  business  and  built 
the  first  street  railways.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bailey  there  have  come  two 
children  :   David  Webb,  born  in  1912,  and  Richard  Gilbert,  born  in  1916. 

Frederick  Thomas  Perris. — As  a  builder  and  developer  of  town 
and  country  it  is  but  exact  justice  that  the  name  of  Frederick  Thomas 
Perris  be  honored  for  all  time  in  San  Bernardino.  He  was  an  engineer 
by  profession,  accustomed  to  handling  large  constructive  projects,  and 
his  broad  vision  and  exalted  purpose  enabled  him  to  estimate  the  pos- 
sibilities of  the  future  and  identify  himself  most  unselfishly  with  those 
causes  and  undertakings  that  are  regarded  as  the  source  of  the 
wonderful  present  prosperity  for  this  valley. 

While  for  so  many  years  his  interests  were  identified  with  San 
Bernardino  and  vicinity,  Frederick  Thomas  Perris  was  in  another 
sense  a  man  of  the  world.  He  was  born  at  Gloucester,  England, 
January  21,  1837,  son  of  Thomas  and  Hannah  Rebecca  (Spiller) 
Perris.  When  he  was  about  twelve  years  of  age  he  and  his  mother 
went  to  Melbourne,  Australia,  and  he  completed  his  education  there, 
receiving  his  training  as  a  civil  engineer  at  Melbourne.  On  his  way 
to  Australia  he  stopped  at  San  Francisco,  seeing  America  for  the  first 
time  in  1849.  In  1853  the  family  returned  to  America,  and  Mr.  Perris 
was  employed  in  doing  a  large  amount  of  professional  work  on  the 
Pacific  Coast  for  the  United  States  Government  and  the  State  of 
California  in  the  capacity  of  deputy'  United  States  mineral  surveyor 
and  surveyor.  He  was  naturalized  at  Salt  Lake,  Utah,  August  30, 
1858,  by  W.  J.  Appleby,  clerk,  and  Curtis  E.  Bolton,  deputy. 
November  29,  1858,  he  departed  from  New  York  for  Liverpool  on  the 
steamship  Thornton,  Captain  Collins,  going  abroad  for  the  purpose 
of  marriage.     He  was  married  at  Cheltenham,  England,  May  5,  1859. 

After  his  return  to  America  with  his  wife  he  did  his  first  railroad 
work  in  the  early  '60s  on  the  Union  Pacific  during  its  construction, 
under  Samuel  B.  Reed.  October  12,  1863,  he  was  appointed  territorial 
surveyor  for  the  northeastern  portions  of  Utah  Territory  by  Jesse  W. 
Fox,  territorial  surveyor  general. 

Later  he  returned  to  England  to  settle  his  father's  estate,  and 
while  there  he  was  for  a  time  a  photographer.  Leaving  his  native 
country,  he  returned  to  Salt  Lake,  where  he  was  in  business  for  a 
number  of  years,  chiefly  as  a  dry  goods  merchant  and  as  a  printer. 

From  Salt  Lake  he  journeyed  by  ox  teams  to  San  Bernardino  in 
1874,  and  from  that  time  remained  a  resident  of  the  city  rntil  his 
death  on  May  12,  1916.     For  many  years  he  was  identified  with  this 


1212      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

section  of  California  both  in  a  professional  and  official  capacity.  He 
served  as  county  surveyor  and  deputy  United  States  mineral  sur- 
veyor from  1874  to  1879.  He  was  editor  of  the  first  newspaper  pub- 
lished in  San  Bernardino.  He  helped  survey  the  Rancho  San  Ber- 
nardino and  its  subdivisions,  and  acted  as  assistant  engineer  for  James 
D.  Schuyler  of  the  State  Engineering  Department  in  measuring  water 
in  the  valley  of  San  Bernardino  and  locating  the  reservoir  sites  of 
both  Big  and  Little  Bear  Valley.  He  also  laid  out  the  City  of  San 
Bernardino. 

December  1.  1880,  Mr.  Perris  entered  the  service  of  the  California 
Southern  Railway,  now  the  Santa  Fe,  at  San  Diego,  as  assistant  engi- 
neer to  Joseph  O.  Osgood.  The  previous  year,  in  1879,  when  it 
became  known  that  G.  B.  Wilber  and  L.  G.  Pratt  of  Boston  were 
to  visit  Southern  California  as  representatives  of  eastern  capitalists 
in  railroad  matters,  San  Bernardino  citizens  called  a  mass  meeting 
and  appointed  Mr.  Perris  and  John  Isaacs  for  the  purpose  of  visit- 
ing San  Diego  and  interesting  visitors  in  the  advantages  afforded 
by  the  San  Bernardino  Valley.  As  a  result  of  this  conference,  Wilber 
and  Pratt  visited  San  Bernardino,  carefully  inspected  the  country,  and 
decided  on  the  Cajon  route  from  San  Diego  to  San  Bernardino.  Then, 
as  noted,  Mr.  Perris  was  engaged  as  assistant  engineer  and  super- 
vised the  construction  of  the  Southern  California  road  to  San  Ber- 
nardino and  also  from  San  Bernardino  to  Barstow,  and  as  a  result 
of  this  early  effort  on  his  part  and  local  citizens  San  Bernardino  has 
for  many  years  had  the  asset  of  the  railroad  shops  and  extensive  rail- 
road facilities.  While  in  the  employ  of  the  railroad  company  he  built 
practically  all  the  lines  comprising  the  Los  Angeles  Division.  During 
the  latter  part  of  1882  he  was  appointed  chief  engineer  of  the  Cali- 
fornia Southern,  now  the  Los  Angeles  Division.  September  13,  1883, 
he  drove  the  first  passenger  train  into  San  Bernardino  from  Los 
Angeles  and  sounded  the  first  locomotive  whistle  to  be  heard  in 
San  Bernardino.  In  1900  he  was  made  manager  of  the  Santa  Fe's 
oil  properties,  and  during  his  work  as  chief  engineer  the  change  in 
fuel  for  locomotives  was  made,  the  working  plans  and  designs 
necessary  to  accomplish  this  almost  revolutionary  method  of  fueling 
locomotives  being  prepared  in  his  office  about  1894.  Mr.  Perris  was 
retired  from  the  active  service  of  the  Santa  Fe  on  a  pension  October  1, 
1914,  less  than  two  years  before  his  death. 

In  the  forty  years  he  lived  here  his  public  spirit  was  a  constant 
source  of  good  to  the  community,  which  he  loved  and  which  he  was 
ready  to  serve  to  the  utmost.  In  1889  he  was  a  member  of  the 
Board  of  Trustees  and  in  the  early  '90s  was  connected  with  the 
Arrowhead  Reservoir  and  Power  Company  as  consulting  engineer. 
He  was  a  member  of  the  first  Board  of  Water  Commissioners,  and 
all  his  earnings  in  that  capacity  were  donated  to  the  various  churches 
of  the  city  in  an  absolutely  non-sectarian  manner,  not  a  dollar  being 
used  for  personal  use.  Through  his  efforts  the  city  is  largely  indebted 
for  the  present  Carnegie  Library.  He  took  up  the  matter  with  Mr. 
Carnegie  through  prominent  Santa  Fe  officials  in  the  East  and  suc- 
ceeded in  securing  a  larger  appropriation  than  was  originally  intended. 

Mr.  Perris  was  a  director  and  stockholder  in  the  Farmers  and 
Merchants  Bank  of  San  Bernardino  and  a  stockholder  and  director 
in  the  San  Bernardino  Valley  Bank.  Considering  all  his  activities 
and  the  influences  that  emanated  from  him  no  individual  name  could  be 
more  justly  chosen  for  designation  of  local  geography.  He  is  honored  by 
the  Town  of  Perris,  Perris  Hill  and  Perris  Avenue. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1213 

May  5,  1859,  at  Cheltenham,  England,  lie  married  Mary  Annette 
Edwards,  daughter  of  George  and  Anne  Vizor  (Millwater)  Edwards. 
The  children  of  this  marriage  were:  Oscar  W.,  who  married  Gertrude 
Heap;  Walter  F.,  unmarried;  Arthur  E.,  who  married  Maude  Tinkle- 
paugh  ;  Cora  A.,  who  became  the  wife  of  Samuel  Leffen ;  Florence  M., 
wife  of  B.  F.  Levet;  and  Maude  I.,  who  was  married  to  Harvey 
Carpenter. 

Henry  C.  McAllister. — There  is  no  doubt  but  that  unusual  oppor- 
tunities for  advancement  are  offered  in  the  West,  but  it  is  equally 
true  that  only  exceptional  men  are  able  to  take  advantage  of  them 
and  through  them  reach  positions  of  weight  in  their  communities. 
The  fact  that  they  do  see  and  embrace  these  openings  proves  that 
they  have  abilities  above  the  ordinary,  or  they,  like  their  associates, 
would  not  recognize  that  the  chance  was  at  hand  for  their  taking. 
There  is  no  such  thing  as  blind  luck.  Every  promotion,  each 
advance,  is  the  natural  result  of  carefully  directed  effort,  conscientious 
work  and  intelligent  forethought.  Especially  is  this  true  with  refer- 
ence to  the  positions  connected  with  the  great  corporations  of  any 
city.  Merit  alone  wins;  there  are  no  favorites.  The  stockholders 
have  to  be  shown  a  certain  amount  of  profit  as  a  just  return  on  their 
investment,  and  the  directors  place  in  charge  of  the  affairs  of  the 
company  men  of  proved  ability.  When  the  directors  of  the  Southern 
California  Gas  Company  selected  Henry  C.  McAllister  for  the  position 
of  division  manager  they  chose  the  very  best  man  for  it,  and  one  who 
had  been  connected  with  this  concern,  through  its  various  changes, 
for  over  twelve  years,  and  steadily  risen  through  successive  promo- 
tions until  he  was  the  logical  candidate  and  one  who  had  the  entire 
details  at  his  disposal. 

Henry  C.  McAllister  was  born  at  Sutton,  New  Hampshire, 
February  18,  1873,  and  comes  of  Scotch  ancestry.  He  is  a  son  of 
C.  W.  and  Adalaide  (Kendrick)  McAllister,  who  was  born  at  Toronto, 
Canada,  on  February  22,  1876.  After  he  had  completed  the  grammar 
and  high  school  courses  of  Warner,  New  Hampshire,  Henry  C. 
McAllister  entered  the  employ  of  the  Northern  Railroad  Company  at 
Concord,  New  Hampshire,  and  remained  in  railroad  work  until  1909, 
when  he  came  West,  locating  at  San  Bernardino,  which  has  since 
continued  to  be  his  place  of  residence.  For  a  short  time  after  his 
arrival  in  this  city  he  was  a  clerk  for  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  Company, 
and  then  entered  the  old  San  Bernardino  Gas  and  Electric  Company, 
remaining  with  it  when  it  was  sold  to  the  Pacific  Light  &  Power 
Company,  and  with  the  present  corporation,  the  Southern  California 
Gas  Company,  when  it  purchased  the  gas  interests. 

Mr.  McAllister  married  Beatrice  Winstanley  Bell,  September  27, 
1898.  Mr.  McAllister  and  his  wife  have  a  daughter,  Mildred,  who 
was  born  September  11,  1899,  at  Worcester,  Massachusetts.  She  was 
married  to  Virgil  S.  Rucker  June  20,  1921,  at  San  Bernardino. 

Naturally  a  public  spirited  man,  Mr.  McAllister  has  long  been 
a  member  of  the  San  Bernardino  Chamber  of  Commerce,  and  is  now 
a  member  of  its  Board  of  Directors.  For  several  years  he  has  served 
as  a  member  of  the  National  Orange  Show  Association,  and  is  a 
director  of  the  San  Bernardino  Valley  Bank.  Fraternally  he  has  long 
maintained  membership  with  the  Masons,  Odd  Fellows  and  Elks,  and 
is  very  popular  in  these  orders.  Mr.  McAllister  is  proud  of  his  record 
as  a  republican,  for  ever  since  he  cast  his  first  vote  he  has  given  his 
support  to  the  candidates  of  his  party,   and   is   in   thorough  accord 


1214       SAN  BERXARD1XO  AXD  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

with  its  principles.  While  not  a  member  of  any  religious  organiza- 
tion, he  attends  the  services  of  the  Congregational  Church.  A  level 
headed  man  of  affairs.  Mr.  McAllister  deserves  the  position  he 
occupies  with  his  company  and  in  his  community,  and  is  one  of  the 
best  examples  of  the  substantial  business  man  San  Bernardino  County 
affords. 

William  Babel — There  was  a  time,  and  not  so  far  in  the  past,  when 
none  but  the  foreign  health  resorts  were  recognized  as  being  of  great 
value  in  the  treatment  of  certain  diseases.  One  of  the  results  of  the 
great  war  has  been  the  recognition  by  the  American  people  of  the 
natural  resources  of  their  own  country  and  the  appreciation  of  the 
real  virtue  of  the  waters  of  some  of  the  springs,  especially  those  in  the 
West.  Within  recent  years  Harlem  Springs  has  come  into  its  own, 
and  is  now  conceded  to  be  a  strong  factor,  among  the  many  others, 
in  bringing  San  Bernardino  before  the  favorable  notice  of  the  coun- 
try, if  not  of  the  world.  These  springs  are  now  operated  by  a  cor- 
poration known  as  the  Harlem  Resort  Company,  but  the  medicinal 
properties  of  the  water  and  mud  and  the  air  and  healthful  surround- 
ings were  recognized  by  William  Babel,  the  efficient  and  capable 
president  of  the  company. 

William  Babel  was  born  near  Buffalo,  New  York,  May  9,  1875,  a 
son  of  Philip  and  Christiana  Babel,  natives  of  New  York  State,  and 
farming  people.  They  had  three  children,  namely :  Lydia,  who  is  now 
deceased ;  Albert,  who  is  a  prosperous  fruit  grower  of  Fresno,  Cali- 
fornia ;  and  William,  who  is  the  youngest. 

In  1883  William  Babel  was  brought  to  California  by  his  parents, 
who  then  migrated  from  New  York  to  Contra  Costa  County,  and  it 
was  in  that  region  that  the  lad  was  reared  and  attended  its  schools 
through  the  grammer  grades,  then  becoming  a  student  of  the  San 
Francisco  High  Schools,  from  which  he  was  graduated.  He  was  a 
chemist  and  assayer,  and  was  employed  with  his  father  for  a  time  in 
agricultural  work,  but  in  1897  went  to  Alaska,  during  the  early  gold 
rush  to  that  territory.  Reaching  Alaska,  he  followed  the  Yukon 
River  from  its  headwaters  to  the  sea,  packing  on  his  back  all  of  his 
supplies  over  mountain  ranges.  For  the  subsequent  three  years  he 
was  engaged  in  prospecting  and  mining,  and  met  with  the  usual 
miner's  luck,  making  and  losing,  coming  out  about  even.  However,  he 
did  gain  one  thing,  an  experience  he  will  never  forget,  and  which 
could  hardly  have  be^en  acquired  in  any  other  way,  and  he  does  not 
regard  that  time  as  lost.  He  also  learned  the  value  of  determination 
and  diligence,  and  the  willingness  to  work  and  endure  hardships  has 
not  left  him,  nor  is  it  likely  to  do  so  during  the  rest  of  his  life,  and 
this  accounts  for  much  of  his  subsequent  success.  When  he  decided 
to  return  to  his  old  home,  he  made  his  own  boat  and  came  down  the 
Yukon  River,  a  dangerous  trip  which  resulted  in  shipwreck  near  the 
ford  of  the  Yukon.  In  spite  of  all  his  hardships  and  constant  expo- 
sure he  returned  in  rugged  health,  and  after  a  short  period  spent  at 
home  went  to  Nevada  as  an  expert  and  assayer  for  the  mother  lode 
and  in  the  Gaudaloupe  quicksilver  mines.  Later  he  was  with  the 
mines  in  Humboldt  County,  California,  and  there  it  was  that  he  began 
to  make  mining  a  business  and  not  a  venture,  and  in  this  way  acquired 
a  comfortable  sum  of  money.  For  fifteen  years  thereafter  he  was 
engaged  in  mining,  and  was  a  man  of  large  means  when,  in  1908, 
he  went  to  Los  Angeles,  and  for  five  years  was  engaged  in  con- 
crete construction  work.     Leaving  Los  Angeles,  he  came  South  to 


s&r  sg<^£ 


SAN  BERNARDIN* )  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1215 

Riverside  and  purchased  orange  and  lemon  groves  and  also  superin- 
tended over  100  acres  of  outside  orchards.  In  this  connection  he  devel- 
oped into  an  authority  on  citrus  culture,  and  added  to  his  wealth. 
However,  Mr.  Bahel  is  a  man  who  loves  the  excitement  of  new 
enterprises,  and  although  he  could  scarcely  have  been  more  successful 
in  the  citrus  industry  than  he  was,  he  disposed  of  his  interests  and 
secured  an  option  on  Harlem  Springs,  organized  a  corporation  January 
21,  1921,  and  now  has  an  undertaking  worthy  of  his  enterprise,  effi- 
ciency and  experience.  The  Harlem  Resort  Company  is  capitalized 
at  $240,000,  and  Mr.  Babel  is  president  and  general  manager  of  it. 
This  remarkable  natural  phenomena  was  first  known  to  the  Indians, 
who  long  made  pilgrimages  to  these  hot  springs  and  sought  relief 
from  their  ailments  in  mud  baths.  The  white  man  has  followed  the 
Indian,  but  he  has  erected  a  bath  house  and  plunge,  and  provided 
every  facility  for  furnishing  the  guests  with  comforts  and  luxuries. 
Geologists  assert  that  this  water  is  the  same  strata  as  the  famous 
Arrowhead  Hot  Springs.  The  water  of  the  Harlem  Springs,  covering 
seventeen  acres,  ranges  from  cold  to  eighty  and  118  degrees  hot.  It 
is  the  purpose  of  the  present  corporation  to  erect  a  modern  hotel  and 
bungalow  combined,  with  outside  plunge,  private  baths  of  both  hot 
water  and  mud,  and  mineral  baths.  This  is  a  wonderful  resort,  easy 
of  access  to  the  people  from  all  over  the  world,  and  here  may  be  com- 
bined pleasure  with  the  restoration  of  health. 

Mr.  Babel  married  June  17,  1912,  Miss  Margaret  Spinks,  a  daugh- 
ter of  English-born  parents,  who  came  to  California  when  she  was  a 
child.  She  was  educated  in  the  schools  of  Humboldt  County,  and 
was  a  popular  teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  California  prior  to  her 
marriage.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Babel  have  had  three  children,  namely 
Byron,  who  was  born  in  Los  Angeles  January  13,  1915;  Kenneth 
who  was  born  at  Riverside,  January  16,  1919,  and  died  October  12. 
1919 ;  and  Owen,  who  was  born  September  24,  1920,  at  Riverside. 

Personally  Mr.  Babel  is  a  delightful  person,  well  educated,  thor- 
oughly informed  on  many  subjects,  and  one  who  has  learned  much  in 
his  various  travels.  He  is  an  ideal  host,  as  well  as  fine  business  man, 
and  under  his  energetic  and  capable  management  his  resort  is  becom- 
ing the  wonder  of  this  region.  He  has  seen  nature  under  many  aspects, 
but  in  all  of  them  found  them  engaging,  and  it  is  when  dealing  direct 
with  the  natural  resources  that  he  is  at  his  best.  Possessing  as  he 
does  the  utmost  faith  in  the  properties  of  the  water  and  mud  of  his 
springs,  he  is  anxious  to  attract  to  them  those  who  need  the  help 
their  medicinal  properties  are  certain  to  render,  and  will  leave  nothing 
undone  to  make  this  one  of  the  most  famous  health  resorts  in  the 
world.  In  this  commendable  work  he  has  the  support  of  some  of  the 
leading  men  of  San  Bernardino  County,  for  he  has  already  won  from 
the  people  of  this  locality  an  unquestioning  confidence  in  his  sincerity 
and  ability,  and  ample  means  of  his  own,  as  well  as  additional  capital, 
are  at  his  command  for  making  all  the  improvements  he  deems  neces- 
sary. With  conditions  as  they  are,  it  is  not  difficult  to  appreciate 
what  a  dominating  force  this  enterprise  is  and  will  be,  nor  to  under- 
stand the  pride  the  people  of  this  region  in  Harlem  Springs  and  its 
efficient  promoter,  William  Babel. 

William  C.  Seccombe. — While  San  Bernardino  is  indissolubly  con- 
nected with  the  growth  and  development  of  the  citrus  industry,  this 
city  is  remarkable  in  other  ways,  for  its  varied  population  and  many 
interests   have   afforded    unexcelled   opportunities   for    the   establish- 


1216       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

merit  and  maintenance  of  sound  business  concerns,  many  of  which 
are  still  in  existence  although  founded  a  long  while  ago.  These 
opportunities  have  developed  an  alert  class  of  men.  who,  while  acquir- 
ing a  fortune,  have  not  lost  their  strong  sense  of  civic  duty  nor 
neglected  the  claims  upon  them  of  the  unfortunate,  but  have  grown 
in  constructive  citizenship  and  humanitarianism  as  they  have  in  com- 
mercial importance.  One  of  these  representative  citizens  is  William 
C.  Seccombe.  who  for  many  years  was  connected  with  the  retail  drug 
trade  of  San  Bernardino,  and  is  still  one  of  the  honored  lesidents  of 
the  city. 

William  C.  Seccombe  was  born  at  Waverly,  Nova  Scotia,  Canada, 
May  21,  1873,  a  son  of  Canadian  parents  who  came  to  San  Bernardino 
in  1883,  and  here  he  was  reared.  After  completing  his  studies  in  the 
public  schools  of  San  Bernardino  he  became  a  student  of  the  old 
Sturgess  Academy,  which  until  the  establishment  of  the  high  schools 
gave  the  youth  of  this  community  the  equivalent  of  a  high  school 
training.  After  these  schools  were  opened,  however,  the  academy 
died  a  natural  death,  although  it  is  still  remembered  by  those  of 
Mr.  Seccombe's  generation  with  kindly  affection. 

With  the  completion  of  his  educational  training  Mr.  Seccombe 
sought  an  opportunity  to  acquire  one  of  a  still  more  practical  nature, 
and  found  it  in  the  drug  store  of  Ernest  E.  McGibbon  and  later  that  of 
John  A.  Lamb,  remaining  with  these  two  concerns  the  decade  between 
1885  and  1895.  By  this  time  he  had  acquired  a  working  knowledge 
of  the  business,  and  decided  to  acquire  a  store  of  his  own.  With 
F.  N.  Towne  and  M.  D.  Allison  he  founded  the  firm  of  Towne, 
Seccombe  &  Allison,  their  first  location  being  the  old  store  of  Frank 
M.  Towne,  remodeled,  at  406  Second  Street.  Under  the  new  manage- 
ment the  business  grew  so  rapidly  that  expansion  became  necessary, 
and  the  partners  then  established  their  second  store,  at  576  Third 
Street,  in  1909.  In  1912  the  Dragon  Pharmacy  was  acquired  and 
added  to  the  business  of  the  other  two  flourishing  stores.  For  twelve 
years  Mr.  Seccombe  was  secretary,  treasurer  and  active  manager, 
but  retired  from  the  concern  in  March,  1919.  That  the  company  had 
been  properly  and  successfully  managed  is  evidenced  by  the  fact  that 
at  the  time  Mr.  Seccombe  retired  the  company  was  operating  three 
stores  and  doing  a  business  many  times  greater  than  when  it  was 
established. 

Mr.  Seccombe  has  been  active  in  many  directions,  for  from  1907 
to  1919  he  was  one  of  the  energetic  members  of  the  Board  of  Educa- 
tion, and  during  the  last  six  years  was  president  of  the  board.  During 
that  six  years  the  beautiful  Polytechnic  High  School  group  was 
built,  and  when  it  was  dedicated  he  delivered  the  address.  From 
1891  to  1904  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  California  National  Guard, 
and  from  April  9  to  December  2,  1898,  was  in  the  service  during  the 
Spanish-American  war,  holding  the  rank  of  first  lieutenant  of  Com- 
pany K,  Seventh  Infantry.  In  1900  he  received  commission  as  major 
of  the  Seventh  Regiment,  California  National  Guard,  and  continued 
to  serve  as  such  for  four  years.  The  National  Guard  was  re-organized 
after  the  return  of  its  members,  who  had  volunteered  for  service  during 
the  Spanish-American  war. 

For  many  years  he  has  been  prominent  in  Masonry,  and  he  also 
belongs  to  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elk's,  in  which  he 
holds  a  life  membership,  and  he  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Rotary 
Club.  His  family  attend  the  Congregational  Church,  in  which 
Mrs.  Seccombe  is  an  active  worker. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1217 

On  December  25.  1897,  Mr.  Seccombe  married  Miss  Margaret  Lee 
Perdew,  a  daughter  of  G.  F.  R.  B.  and  Jeanette  (Woodworthj  Perdew. 
Mr.  Perdew  was  a  pioneer  of  California,  coming  here  from  Texas  in 
1862  by  ox  team  and  settling  at  San  Bernardino.  His  death  occurred 
in  this  city  in  November,  1900.  Mrs.  Seccombe  was  born  at  San 
Bernardino,  February  20,  1874.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Seccombe  have  two 
sons,  namely  William  Lyle,  who  was  born  May  21,  1902,  was  gradu- 
ated from  the  San  Bernardino  High  School,  and  is  now  attending 
the  Oregon  Agricultural  College  at  Corvallis,  Oregon,  and  taking 
the  civil  and  structural  engineering  course;  and  Gordon  Herbert, 
who  was  born  June  20,  1911,  is  attending  the  public  schools  of  San 
Bernardino.  Having  released  himself  from  the  confining  responsi- 
bilities of  an  engrossing  business,  Mr.  Seccombe  is  now  free  to  give 
expression  to  some  of  his  ideas  relative  to  outside  matters,  and  is 
studying  some  of  the  problems  of  the  day.  Always  a  friend  of  the 
public  schools  he,  while  no  longer  officially  connected  with  their  man- 
agement, is  looked  upon  as  an  authority  emeritus,  and  his  advice  is 
oftentimes  sought  by  members  of  the  board  of  educators.  His  benevo- 
lences, which  are  many  and  varied,  are  seldom  made  public,  but  are 
distributed  as  he  feels  they  are  needed.  Having  spent  all  but  ten 
years  of  his  life  at  San  Bernardino,  it  is  but  natural  that  his  interests 
should  center  here,  and  that  he  should  do  everything  within  his  power 
to  aid  in  the  further  development  of  his  adopted  city. 

Alva  B.  Cowgill.— While  not  one  of  the  pioneers  of  the  Redlands 
coioriy,  Alva  B.  Cowgill  has  done  pioneer  work  in  the  past  twenty 
years,  particularly  in  the  development  of  the  citrus  growing  interests 
and,  more  important  still,  in  the  marketing  problems  affecting  himself 
and  associated  growers  in  this  vicinity. 

Mr.  Cowgill  was  born  at  Spencer's  Station  in  Guernsey  County, 
Ohio,  February  9,  1856,  and  his  parents,  P.  C.  and  Ellen  (Spencer) 
Cowgill.  were  also  natives  of  the  same  state.  His  father  was  a 
merchant.  Their  four  children  were  Alva,  Charles,  Ella  and  Grant, 
all  living  but  Grant,  who  died  at  Oskaloosa,  Iowa. 

Alva  B.  Cowgill  has  lived  a  busy  life  practically  from  the  time 
that  he  can  recollect  his  environment.  When  he  went  to  school  he 
attended  to  the  opening  of  his  father's  store  in  the  morning,  then  put 
in  the  regular  hours  at  his  studies,  and  afterward  clerked  until  closing 
time.  Later  for  three  years  he  was  clerk  and  assistant  in  his  father's 
business,  and  then  for  five  years  was  ticket  and  freight  agent  with 
the  Baltimore  and  Ohio  Railway.  In  1879  Mr.  Cowgill,  after  finishing 
a  course  in  a  business  college,  entered  the  old  firm  of  Graham,  Bailey 
&  Company,  wholesale  and  retail  druggists  at  Zanesville,  Ohio.  He 
became  an  accountant  at  $40.00  a  month.  He  learned  the  business 
as  well  as  the  routine  of  its  accounting  system,  and  at  the  end  of 
three  years  had  become  a  part  owner.  About  that  time  the  business 
was  incorporated  as  the  Bailey  Drug  Company.  Mr.  Cowgill  for 
eight  years  was  the  head  traveling  representative,  and  was  then 
called  back  to  the  general  offices  and  made  manager  and  treasurer. 
Mr.  Bailey  in  the  meantime  had  accumulated  extensive  banking 
interests  and  turned  over  practically  the  entire  executive  management 
of  the  business  to  Mr.  Cowgill.  His  judgment  was  well  placed,  since 
the  house  expanded  and  increased  in  prosperity  under  this  manage- 
ment. Mr.  Cowgill  for  eleven  years  devoted  himself  wholely  to  the 
interests  and  welfare  of  the  business,  and  at  the  end  of  that  time 
found  his  health  so  impaired  that  it  was  imperative  he  seek  outdoor 


1218       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

employment.  In  the  meantime  he  had  achieved  a  financial  compe- 
tence, represented  in  his  holdings  of  stock  in  this  prosperous  drug 
house. 

Selling  out  his  business  at  Zanesville,  Ohio,  Mr.  Cowgill  came  to 
Los  Angeles  in  1901  and  spent  some  time  in  investigating  the  various 
districts  of  Southern  California.  His  first  purchase  was  a  20-acre 
orange  grove  in  the  Redlands  district,  and  later  he  bought  16  acres 
of  unimproved  land,  10  acres  of  which  he  set  to  Washington  Navels 
and  6  acres  to  grape  fruit.  For  five  years  he  lived  on  this  land  and 
worked  outside  in  cultivating,  planting,  pruning  and  caring  for  his 
trees.  He  had  his  groves  in  a  most  satisfactory  condition  and,  even 
better,  his  health  and  strength  were  completely  restored.  He  then 
sought  an  opportunity  again  to  connect  himself  with  some  of  the 
broader  commercial  work  for  which  his  previous  training  had  so 
well  qualified  him.  He  therefore  became  one  of  the  organizers  of  the 
Redlands  Mutual  Orange  Company  in  1906,  and  since  its  organization 
he  has  been  secretary  and  general  manager.  This  is  one  of  the  leading 
growers'  marketing  organization  in  the  Redlands  district.  In  1906 
was  also  organized  the  Mutual  Orange  Distributors,  a  co-operative 
selling  organization,  and  Mr.  Cowgill  has  since  served  as  its  secretary 
and  director.  In  no  small  degree  the  strength  and  efficiency  of  these 
organizations  has  depended  upon  Mr.  Cowgill,  who  has  recognized 
here  an  important  opportunity  for  a  public  spirited  service  to  his 
associated  growers,  and  he  has  done  much  to  improve  the  marketing 
and  distributing  facilities  now  available  to  the  producers  in  the  Red- 
lands  section.  At  the  same  time  he  has  acquired  interests  in  several 
irrigation  companies  that  bring  water  to  an  increased  area  of  citrus 
land,  and  in  twenty  years  he  has  had  impressed  on  his  memory  a  vivid 
picture  of  the  splendid  development  of  this  section  of  Southern 
California. 

In  1880  Mr.  Cowgill  married  Miss  Nellie  Broomhall.  She  was 
born  in  Quaker  City,  Ohio,  August  12,  1858,  daughter  of  W.  P.  and 
Rachel  (Redd)  Broomhall,  natives  of  Ohio.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cowgill's 
four  children  were  all  born  at  Zanesville,  Ohio.  Ethel  M.,  born 
June  23,  1882,  was  married  May  24,  1911,  to  Fred  C.  Knapp,  a  con- 
tractor and  builder  of  Los  Angeles.  They  have  a  daughter,  Kathryn 
Claire  Knapp,  born  in  Los  Angeles  July  11,  1912. 

The  second  child,  Claire  Cowgill,  was  born  June  25,  1886,  and 
graduated  from  the  Redlands  High  School  and  from  Smith  College 
at  Northampton,  Massachusetts,  with  the  degree  A.  B. 

Chester  B.  Cowgill,  born  April  14,  1890,  was  educated  in  the  Red- 
lands  High  School,  spent  four  years  in  the  University  of  California 
at  Berkeley,  and  is  now  in  business  in  Los  Angeles.  March  19,  1918, 
he  enlisted  from  Redlands,  and  was  sworn  into  military  service  at 
Rockwell  Aviation  Field  at  San  Diego  March  23d,  being  assigned  to 
Squadron  C.  He  was  transferred  to  March  Aviation  Field  at  River- 
side in  August,  1918,  was  promoted  to  private  first  class  and  acted  as 
sergeant  in  charge  of  power  plants,  and  November  13,  1918,  was 
transferred  to  the  Field  Artillery  Officers  Training  School  at  Camp 
Zachary  Taylor,  Louisville,  Kentucky,  being  assigned  to  the  Seven- 
teenth Observational  Battery.  He  received  his  honorable  discharge 
December  7,  1918. 

August  27,  1917,  C.  B.  Cowgill  married  Gladys  Ingersoll,  of  Los 
Angeles,  who  is  also  a  graduate  of  the  Redlands  High  School,  the 
California  State  Normal   School,  is  a  very   talented   musician,   both 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1219 

vocal  and  instrumental,  and  before  her  marriage  was  a  teacher  in  the 
public  schools  of  Los  Angeles. 

The  fourth  child,  Ralph  Cowgill,  was  born  February  6,  1894, 
graduated  from  the  Redlands  High  School,  attended  the  State  Univer- 
sity and  a  business  college,  and  is  now  connected  with  the  refinery 
of  the  Standard  Oil  Company  at  Bakersfield.  He  married  Miss  Ruth 
E.  Swan  at  Redlands  December  23,  1916.  She  is  a  graduate  of  the 
Redlands  High  School.  He  joined  the  Naval  Reserves  for  a  period 
of  four  years,  and  was  on  active  duty  until  released  after  the  signing 
of  the  armistice.  Both  these  brothers  were  married  and  held  good 
positions,  yet  they  waived  all  claims  for  exemption  when  they  were 
called  to  the  colors. 

This  sketch  tells  in  brief  the  story  of  a  busy  life  and  is  a  record  of 
usefulness  and  honor.  Mr.  Cowgill  is  truly  one  of  the  men  who  have 
been  instrumental  in  making  the  country  around  Redlands  bloom  and 
blossom  as  the  rose. 


Arthur  T.  Gage,  M.  D. — A  specialist  of  the  eye,  ear  and  throat,  to 
which  his  practice  is  limited,  Doctor  Gage  has  brought  special  re- 
sources and  facilities  to  the  medical  profession  at  Redlands,  where 
he  began  his  work  several  years  ago.  Doctor  Gage  represents  solid 
old  New  England  stock,  and  was  a  successful  physician  and  surgeon 
in  Massachusetts  before  coming  to  California. 

He  was  born  at  Somerville,  Massachusetts,  November  25,  1883. 
His  father,  Charles  F.  Gage,  has  given  fifty-four  years  of  his  business 
life  to  the  service  of  the  Boston  &  Maine  Railroad,  most  of  the  time 
as  general  claim  agent.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Congregational 
Church.  Charles  F.  Gage,  who  lives  at  Winchester,  Massachusetts, 
married  Martha  A.  Adams,  of  the  historic  Adams  family  of  New 
England,  and  a  direct  descendant  of  Priscilla  Alden.  Charles  F.  Gage 
and  wife  had  four  sons:  Frederick  A.,  John  H.,  Edward  C.  and 
Arthur  T. 

Arthur  T.  Gage  graduated  from  the  high  school  at  Winchester, 
Massachusetts,  in  1902.  For  four  years,  1902-06,  he  attended  Tufts 
Medical  College,  and  by  reason  of  his  high  qualifications  when  he 
entered  and  by  the  hard  work  he  devoted  to  his  studies  he  graduated 
with  the  M.  D.  degree.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Phi  Chi  fraternity. 
His  college  course  was  followed  by  an  experience  presenting  some 
of  the  finest  opportunities  to  a  young  medical  graduate.  From  June, 
1906,  to  October,  1907,  he  was  an  interne  in  the  Boston  City  Hospital, 
a  great  institution  with  1,200  beds  and  48  house  officers.  From  1908  to 
1918  Dr.  Gage  practiced  at  Melrose.  Massachusetts,  and  in  the  latter  year 
moved  to  Redlands,  succeeding  Dr.  B.  F.  Church  in  practice. 

At  Melrose,  Massachusetts,  September  4,  1916,  Doctor  Gage  mar- 
ried Miss  Ruth  Greenleaf,  of  a  prominent  family  of  Melrose.  She 
is  a  graduate  of  the  Melrose  High  School.  Her  parents  were  born 
in  Massachusetts  and  she  was  a  child  when  her  father  died.  For 
years  he  has  conducted  an  old  established  book  store  in  Massachusetts. 
Her  mother  is  still  living  in  Melrose.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Gage  have 
two  children:  Howard  Alden  Gage,  born  January  7,  1918;  and 
Priscilla  Gage,  born  June  13.  1920.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Gage  attend  the 
Congregational  Church.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Rotary  Club  and 
Chamber  of  Commerce  of  Redlands  and  is  affiliated  with   the   Elks 


1220       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Raymond  Clyde  Gerber  is  all  but  a  native  Californian,  a  chemist 
by  profession,  was  in  the  chemical  warfare  division  during  the  World 
war,  came  out  of  hospital  practically  an  invalid,  and  in  two  years  has 
perfected  and  carried  out  the  careful  plans  laid  during  his  convales- 
cence and  now  has  one  of  the  thoroughly  organized  and  systematic 
dairy  establishments  in  Southern  California,  supplying  a  high-grade 
of  milk  to  several  of  the  cities  of  San  Bernardino  County. 

Mr.  Gerber,  whose  home  is  at  East  Highlands,  was  born  at  Worth- 
ing, South  Dakota,  July  6,  1889,  and  a  few  months  later  his  parents 
came  to  California.  He  is  a  son  of  Gotlieb  and  Mary  A.  Gerber,  the 
former  a  native  of  Switzerland  and  the  latter  of  Wisconsin.  His 
father  was  a  merchant.  Both  parents  are  now  deceased.  There  were 
seven  children :  Henry  G.,  who  married  Grace  Jones  and  whose  chil- 
dren are  Neal,  Loris  and  Lorna ;  Mrs.  Louisa  A.  Leavitt,  whose  three 
children  are  Rossiter  J.,  Donald  and  Mary  Louise ;  Mrs.  May  Moore, 
who  died  leaving  a  son,  Dalton  Moore;  Mrs.  Ida  B.  Spradling,  who 
has  one  child,  Frankie ;  Herbert  J.;  Mrs.  Alyda  R.  Pollard,  whose 
two  sons  are  Robert  G.  and  Raymond  C. ;  and  Raymond  Clyde  Ger- 
ber. the  seventh  and  youngest  of  the  family. 

Mr.  Gerber  was  educated  in  the  Redlands  public  schools,  gradu- 
ated from  the  University  of  Redlands  in  1913,  and  after  obtaining  a 
high  school  teacher's  certificate  at  the  University  of  Southern  Cali- 
fornia at  Los  Angeles  went  to  the  Philippine  Islands  and  taught  high 
school  there  during  the  years  1914-15-16.  On  returning  to  the  United 
States  he  reentered  the  University  of  California,  working  toward  the 
Master's  degree  and  specializing  in  chemistry.  In  1917  he  became 
principal  of  the  high  school  at  Nogales,  Arizona,  and  while  there  on 
December  14,  1917,  volunteered  in  the  Hospital  Corps,  was  trans- 
ferred as  a  chemist  to  the  Sanitary  Corps,  and  later  entered  the  same 
branch  as  chemist  with  the  Engineers  Corps.  Later  he  was  made  a 
chemist  in  the  Chemical  Warfare  Service,  Gas  Division.  After  a  period 
at  Nogales  Mr.  Gerber  was  on  duty  for  nine  months  at  Washing- 
ton, D.  C,  then  was  sent  to  the  army  gas  school  at  Camp  Humphrey 
and  was  engaged  in  training  gas  officers.  While  in  the  line  of  duty 
a  gas  bomb  exploded  and  being  seriously  injured,  was  sent  to  the 
hospital  at  Camp  Humphrey,  and  later  to  the  Walter  Reid  at  Wash- 
ington, where  he  remained  from  September  13,  1918,  until  discharged 
from  hospital  and  resumed  civilian  life  April  26,  1919. 

Mr.  Gerber  had  steadily  cherished  a  purpose  even  before  going 
into  the  army  and  had  drawn  up  plans  for  a  model  dairy.  Almost 
immediately  on  his  return  from  the  army  he  set  about  to  erect  and 
equip  such  a  dairy  and  ranch.  His  business  is  known  as  the  Gerber 
Certified  Dairy.  This  establishment,  at  the  end  of  Orange  Street,  has 
thirty  acres  of  land,  planted  to  alfalfa  and  oranges,  but  the  most 
interesting  feature  is  the  equipment  and  planning  of  the  dairy  itself. 
Mr.  Gerber  as  a  chemist  has  worked  out  to  the  utmost  detail  every 
feature  that  would  insure  the  sanitary  production  and  handling  of 
milk.  His  certified  milk  department  is  the  last  word  in  that  new  and 
modern  art  of  food  production.  In  1921  his  plant  stood  second  in 
raw  milk  production  in  average  per  cow  and  also  in  average  per  herd. 
In  two  years  his  business  has  increased  six-fold  over  the  original 
volume.  He  now  furnishes  Grade  A  raw  milk  to  Redlands,  San 
Bernardino,  Highland  and  East  Highland,  and  certified  milk  to  Red- 
lands,  Colton,  San  Bernardino,  Highland  and  the  dining  service  of  the 
Salt  Lake  Railway.  Mr.  Gerber  is  practical  manager  of  the  entire 
business,  the  ownership  of  which  is  vested  in  the  Gerber  estate. 


£?<^^v^u- 


SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1221 

Fkank  H.  Benedict. — In  considering  the  great  interests  involved  in 
the  building  industry,  which  concerns  the  health  and  comfort  of  a 
community  as  well  as  business  expansion  and  commercial  progress, 
the  building  contractor  occupies  a  place  of  great  public  responsibility. 
In  lesser  rank,  the  workman  follows  instructions,  but  it  is  the  con- 
tractor who  must  bear  the  responsibility  of  success  or  failure,  who 
must  provide  for  every  possible  contingency.  It  is  but  a  small  part  of 
his  work  to  watch  supplies,  men,  material,  transportation  and  ex- 
pense, and  not  every  well  trained  and  naturally  skilled  artisan  can 
do  all  this.  It  needs  much  more  than  mechanical  ability,  including 
as  it  does,  personal  qualities  of  a  high  order,  this  explaining,  perhaps, 
why  this  vocation  is  not  an  unduly  crowded  one.  A  building  con- 
tractor who,  at  the  present  time,  can  successfully  meet  the  demands 
of  a  modern  city  like  Riverside  in  the  way  of  beautiful  and  dignified 
structures  must  be  accounted  very  competent,  and  one  whose  satis- 
factory work  is  seen  in  different  parts  of  the  city  is  Frank  H.  Benedict, 
who  has  been  a  resident  of  California  since  1908. 

Frank  H.  Benedict  was  born  June  26,  1858,  in  Lenawee  County, 
Michigan.  His  parents  were  John  W.  and  Laurinda  (Wolcott)  Bene- 
dict, both  of  whom  were  born  in  the  State  of  New  York,  and  both 
families  were  of  English  descent  and  of  Revolutionary  stock.  In 
earlier  days  the  Benedicts  were  farming  people,  but  in  John  W.  Bene- 
dict the  mechanical  impulse  became  the  stronger  and  he  became  a 
carpenter  and  later  a  contractor.  He  was  a  man  of  peace,  but  when 
the  Civil  war  came  on  was  anxious  to  do  his  part  and  show  his  devo- 
tion to  the  Union.  Prevented  from  entering  the  army  because  he 
was  the  sole  support  of  his  aged  parents,  he  paid  three  substitutes 
to  serve  in  his  place.  He  married  Laurinda  Wolcott,  who  survived 
him,  passing  the  declining  years  of  her  life  at  Riverside,  where  she 
passed  away  in  her  eighty-seventh  year. 

Frank  H.  Benedict  had  educational  privileges  in  the  public  schools 
and  then  learned  the  carpenter  trade  under  his  father.  He  was 
twenty-one  years  old  when  he  went  to  Detroit,  Michigan,  where  he 
became  a  contracting  carpenter  and  remained  until  1908,  in  which 
year,  attracted  by  building  activity  at  Los  Angeles.  California,  he 
removed  to  that  city.  He  continued  in  business  there  until  1913,  and 
then  came  to  Riverside,  which  place  proved  so  attractive  that  he  soon 
determined  to  make  it  his  permanent  home.  Soon  after  his  arrival 
he  built  a  striking  and  beautiful  Swiss  chalet  type  of  residence  at 
170  Fairfax  Avenue,  which  he  afterward  sold.  Subsequently  Mr.  Bene- 
dict purchased  his  present  handsome  residence  at  230  Terracino  Drive, 
the  D.  D.  Gage  home,  which  had  been  built  by  Judge  Richard   North. 

Mr.  Benedict  married  at  Weston.  Michigan,  Miss  Sarah  H. 
Withington,  a  native  of  Michigan  and  a  daughter  of  D.  E.  Withington, 
a  lumber  man  and  sawmill  owner  in  Michigan.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Benedict 
have  one  daughter.  Holly,  the  wife  of  O.  C.  Cofer,  who  is  in  the  insur- 
ance business  at  Riverside.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cofer  have  two  children: 
Marcia  and  Janet.  Mr.  Benedict  and  his  family  belong  to  Calvary 
Presbyterian  Church.  In  his  political  attitude  he  is  somewhat 
independent,  never  having  formed  unbreakable  party  ties  and  never 
feeling  desirous  of  holding  a  political  office.  His  own  affairs  have 
demanded  close  attention  and  he  has  never  felt  justified  in  accepting 
a  public  responsibility  to  which  he  would  have  to  give  a  divided 
mind.  He  belongs  to  the  Masonic  fraternity,  being  a  member  of  the 
Blue  Pudge,  Chapter  and  Council  at  Detroit,  Michigan.     Mr.  Benedict 


1222       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

has  a  wide  acquaintance  in  business  circles,  and  in  every  way  stands 
deservedly  high  as  a  citizen  and  social  factor. 

Judge  E.  Barry  lived  a  life  which  was  in  many  respects  as  fascinating 
as  a  romance,  for  he  left  his  home  and  family  in  the  "Sunny  South" 
to  join  the  picturesque  "Klondike  rush,"  and  he  accomplished  more 
than  any  other  gold  seeker,  not  financially  but  in  the  things  worth 
while,  the  spiritual.  Many  men  are  living  today  good  lives  because 
Judge  Barry  made  that  journey.  A  descendant  of  old  southern 
families  on  both  sides  of  the  family,  he  upheld  the  best  traditions  of 
his  ancestry,  he  had  all  the  courtesy  of  their  school,  kinder  than  the 
kindest,  with  always  time  for  the  considerate  word,  he  yet  was  always 
fighting  for  the  imperishable  moral  treasures  more  than  for  material 
gain.  His  rare  personal  qualities  attracted  friends,  whom  he  held 
always,  for  with  Judge  Barry  once  a  friend,  always  a  friend.  His 
unusual  intellectual  gifts  and  high  character  would  have  given  him 
place  and  power,  but  he  never  sought  these  things  and  honors  had 
to  be  forced  upon  him. 

His  life  record  is  the  more  remarkable  when  it  is  remembered  that 
that  he  was,  owing  to  unexpected  and  untoward  circumstances,  de- 
prived of  an  education  until  he  had  nearly  reached  his  majority.  In  a 
short  space  of  time  he  secured  the  best  of  educations,  and  to  this  he 
added  an  unlimited  fund  of  knowledge  gathered  from  wide  experience. 
Always  he  kept  a  steady  equipoise  of  soul  and  the  determination  to 
make  the  world  the  better  for  his  having  lived  in  it.  This  he  did,  and 
when  his  passing  was  made  known  no  word  could  voice  the  grief 
of  his  legion  of  friends  throughout  the  United  States.  Although  he 
had  been  in  Redlands  a  brief  period  of  time  he  had  made  many 
warm  friends  and  he  went  into  eternity  loved  and  loving  as  few  men 
are.  A  kind  and  loving  father  and  devoted  husband,  a  loyal  friend, 
a  worth  while  neighbor.  Judge  Barry  will  long  be  remembered.  There 
was,  there  is,  no  kinder,  manlier  man. 

Judge  E.  Barry  was  born  in  Sumner  County,  Tennessee,  November 
15,  1849,  the  son  of  Jackson  Barry  and  Sina  (Minter)  Barry,  his 
father  a  native  of  Rockingham,  North  Carolina,  and  his  mother  of 
Sumner  County,  Tennessee.  Jackson  Barry  was  a  noted  civil  engi- 
neer, following  that  occupation  all  his  life. 

When  Judge  Barry  was  six  years  old  his  parents  moved  to 
Marshall  County,  Kentucky,  and  he  received  the  meager  education 
obtainable  in  those  days  in  that  locality,  but  he  attended  the  little 
country  schools  when  in  session  and  his  opportunity  for  study  came 
when  he  was  nineteen  years  of  age,  and  he  studied  so  assiduously 
that  he  made  up  lost  time  and  graduated  from  the  best  county  high 
school  and  was,  moreover,  the  valedictorian  of  his  class.  He  soon 
obtained  a  diploma  and  commenced  teaching,  occupying  himself  in 
that  line  of  w:ork,  scholastic  work,  for  two  years.  Then  for  eight 
years  he  was  county  school  commissioner,  a  position  filled  with  re- 
sponsibility, for  upon  him  devolved  the  engaging  of  all  teachers. 
Judge  Barry  was  always  an  earnest  and  ardent  advocate  of  temper- 
ance, and  he  would  never  employ  a  teacher  who  drank. 

Later  Judge  Barry  was  elected  county  judge,  and  served  faithfully 
and  well,  his  record  sending  him  to  the  Kentucky  Legislature,  where 
he  made  a  success  of  everything  he  undertook,  serving  his  consti- 
tuency brilliantly. 

Then  the  great  Klondike  excitement  came  on  and  everyone  wanted 
to  join  the  rush  of  gold  seekers,  and  every  man  who  could  did.    Judge 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1223 

Barry  went  and  passed  through  all  the  trials  and  perils  incident  to 
such  an  expedition.  He  passed  in  over  the  Chilkoot  Pass  through  the 
most  dangerous  rapids,  prospecting  on  Nisutlin  River.  He  made 
practically  nothing  as  far  as  the  securing  of  gold  went,  but  he  gained 
an  infinitude  of  experience  and  a  knowledge  of  men  in  the  rough,  and 
learned  how  quickly  men  revert  back  to  almost  primitiveness.  He 
remained  there  twenty  months  in  all. 

All  through  the  long  cold  winter  Judge  Barry  was  in  camp  with 
the  world's  most  venturesome  men,  and  he  took  advantage  of  the 
opportunity  given  him  and  organized  a  Sunday  school,  a  fact  that 
has  since  been  used  in  both  songs  and  stories  of  that  most  strenuous 
life.  One  can  imagine  against  what  odds  he  fought,  and  yet  before 
the  winter  was  over  he  had  the  entire  camp  enrolled  and  deeply 
interested.  For  years  afterward  he  would  meet  men  who  been  in  that 
class  of  his  in  the  far  North,  and  men  who  still  clung  to  his  teachings. 
For  forty  years  Judge  Barry  was  a  member  of  the  Christian  Church. 
When  he  was  twenty-one  Judge  Barry  became  a  member  of  the 
Masonic  Order,  and  was  a  member  for  nearly  fifty  years. 

After  returning  from  Alaska  Judge  Barry  entered  the  journalistic 
field  by  the  purchase  of  the  Tribune  and  the  Democrat  of  Benton, 
Kentucky,  which  he  at  once  consolidated,  naming  his  paper  "The 
Tribune-Democrat."  It  was,  of  course,  democratic  in  principles. 
While  he  made  it  an  unqualified  success  he  decided  to  sell  it  in  1910 
and  did  so,  moving  out  west  to  Texas.  There  he  purchased  the 
Colorado  Citizen,  a  democratic  paper.  He  scored  another  success, 
but  owing  to  the  ill  health  of  his  daughter  he  was  forced  to  sell  out 
again,  and  he  did  so,  moving  this  time  to  Fort  Stockton,  Texas.  Here 
he  purchased  another  paper,  the  Fort  Stockton  Pioneer.  He  put  this 
paper  in  a  flourishing  condition. 

He  was  appointed  postmaster  of  the  city  in  1912,  and  he  held  the 
position  until  forced  to  resign,  owing  to  ill  health.  He  had  other 
interests,  among  them  a  large  acreage  of  alfalfa,  which  he  had  tc 
dispose  of  in  order  to  come  out  to  California  and  not  be  bothered  with 
business  cares.  He  came  to  the  Golden  State  in  1919,  locating  in 
Redlands  in  August  of  that  year.  He  invested  in  an  orange  grove 
and  practically  retired  to  enjoy  the  beautiful  Southland.  But  he  was 
not  to  enjoy  it  for  long,  for  on  October  23,  1920,  he  entered  into  life 
eternal. 

Judge  Barry  was  united  in  marriage  on  August  22,  1877,  with 
Laura  Paine,  a  daughter  of  Thomas  and  Mary  (Cassidy)  Paine,  of 
Paducah,  Kentucky.  She  was  born  on  the  Cumberland  River  at 
Eddyville.  Her  parents  were  prominent  Methodists.  Her  father  was 
a  well  known  tobacco  dealer.  Judge  and  Mrs.  Barry  were  the  parents 
of  three  children  :  Blanche  is  now  Mrs.  J.  L.  Mitchell,  of  Fort  Stockton, 
Texas.  The  second  child  died  in  infancy,  and  the  third  child  died  at 
the  age  of  six,  when  the  father  was  in  far  off  Alaska. 

The  wife  of  Judge  Barry  is  living  now  in  Redlands. 

Alfred  L.  Woodill  was  born  at  Halifax,  Nova  Scotia,  was  brought 
to  California  when  three  years  of  age,  received  his  education  in  River- 
side, and  in  after  years  has  been  prominently  identified  with  the 
great  local  industry  of  growing  and  packing  oranges.  He  is  now 
owner  of  the  California  Mutual  Packing  Company  of  Riverside. 

Local  history  will  always  give  credit  for  many  distinctions  to  the 
life  and  character  of  his  father,  Dr.  Alfred  H.  Woodill,  who  during  his 
residence   here   was   an    inspiration    to    the    Riverside    community,    a 


1224       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

capable  and  kindly  physician,  a  loved  citizen,  and  possessed  a  sturdy 
practical  idealism  whose  benefits  can  hardly  be  measured. 

Doctor  Woodill  was  a  native  of  Nova  Scotia,  practiced  medicine 
there  until  1879,  when  he  came  to  Riverside,  and  here  resumed  his 
professional  work.  His  death  on  March  30,  1888,  was  acknowledged 
as  a  great  public  loss,  every  bank  and  business  house  in  the  city  clos- 
ing its  doors  as  an  expression  of  sorrow  on  the  day  of  his  funeral. 
It  was  the  first  time  in  the  history  of  Riverside  that  such  a  general 
tribute  was  paid  to  the  memory  of  any  resident.  Doctor  Woodill 
was  claimed  as  a  friend  by  all  prominent  pioneers  of  Riverside.  His 
charities  were  many,  and  owing  to  his  scholarly  attainments  and 
wide  general  knowledge  his  advice  was  in  constant  demand.  He 
enjoyed  generous  means  earned  by  his  long  devotion  to  his  profession, 
and  had  the  invaluable  characteristic  of  constructive  imagination 
which  always  dominated  his  public  spirited  efforts.  When  Matthew 
Gage  outlined  to  Doctor  Woodill  the  project  of  putting  thousands  of 
acres  of  land  under  irrigation,  the  Doctor  understood  the  implications 
and  vast  possibilities  of  the  project  fully  as  well  as  its  originator.  He 
supplied  Mr.  Gage  with  the  money  necessary  for  the  preliminary 
survey.  Thus  was  instituted  what  later  developed  into  the  Gage 
Canal,  the  first  definite  act  towards  the  realization  of  a  constructive 
undertaking  whose  subsequent  benefit  to  the  people  of  Riverside  is 
beyond  all  calculation.  While  Doctor  Woodill  died  more  than  thirty 
years  ago,  he  was  in  his  life  time  able  to  visualize  a  picture  of  the 
Riverside  of  the  future,  a  great  landscape  of  beautiful  and  productive 
orange  groves,  with  a  contented  people  living  in  the  fairest  and  most 
favored  spot  on  earth.  That  the  vision  materialized  in  all  its  essential 
details  is  a  story  that  can  never  be  told  without  some  reference  to  the 
part  played  by  Doctor  Woodill.  Doctor  Woodill  and  Mr.  Gage  were 
close  friends,  the  latter  depending  upon  and  following  the  former's 
suggestions  until  the  last. 

Doctor  Woodill  married  Sarah  Elizabeth  Blanchard,  a  native  of 
Prince  Edward  Island  and  of  English  descent.  She  died  at  Los 
Angeles  in  1917,  but  was  laid  to  rest  beside  her  husband  at  Riverside.  Her 
father,  Judge  Hiram  Blanchard,  was  a  member  of  the  High  Court  of 
Canada  and  was  the  first  member  from  Nova  Scotia  in  the  Dominion 
Parliament. 

Alfred  L.  W'oodill  attended  the  grammar  and  high  schools  of 
Riverside.  He  was  still  a  boy  when  his  father  died,  and  after  that  he 
spent  two  years  in  Halifax.  Since  his  return  to  Riverside  his  work 
has  largely  been  in  orange  packing,  and  he  has  been  one  of  the  promi- 
nent growers  as  well,  at  one  time  owning  150  acres  distributed  in 
several  groves.  For  two  years  he  was  employed  by  the  firm  of  Boyd  & 
Devine,  and  was  with  the  California  Fruit  Growers  Exchange  the 
first  two  years  of  its  organization. 

In  1910  Mr.  Woodill  started  in  the  packing  house  business  for 
himself,  owning  the  Perm  Fruit  Company.  Finding  this  unprofitable, 
he  disposed  of  the  business  and  for  several  years  following  represented 
various  Eastern  packing  houses.  In  1916  he  took  over  the  California 
Mutual  Packing  Company,  an  incorporated  company,  and  has  since 
been  its  sole  owner.  Through  this  company  he  packs  from  250  to  300 
cars  annually.  The  plant  of  the  California  Mutual  Packing  Company- 
is  regarded  as  the  most  modern  and  best  equipped  in  the  district. 

Mr.  Woodill  is  a  member  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  and  the 
Farm  Bureau,  the  Pioneer  Society,  and  is  a  past  exalted  ruler  of 
Riverside  Lodge  No.  643,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.    He  is 


(^P.*<'    ^%4^L&<~++**~> 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1225 

an  independent  republican  and  has  served  as  a  member  of  the  County 
Central  Committee. 

At  Galesburg,  Illinois,  Mr.  Woodill  married  Miss  Florence  May 
Brown,  a  native  of  that  state.  A  sketch  of  her  father,  James  E.  Brown, 
of  Riverside,  appears  in  the  following  sketch.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Woodill  have 
one  son,  Chesney  E.  Woodill,  now  in  the  class  of  1924  at  the  University 
of  California.  He  served  a  season  at  Camp  Kearney  as  a  member 
of  the  Reserve  Officers  Training  Corps,  which  work  he  is  now  follow- 
ing at  Berkeley,  in  addition  to  his  other  studies. 

James  E.  Brown  lived  for  sixty  years  in  Illinois,  where  he  was  a 
farmer  and  manufacturer,  and  for  the  past  quarter  of  a  century  has 
effectively  employed  his  capital  and  enterprise  in  the  productive  end 
of  the  citrus  fruit  industry  in  Riverside  County,  where  he  is  one  of 
the  old  and  honored  residents. 

Mr.  Brown  was  born  in  Illinois,  April  2,  1837.  His  grandfather, 
who  died  about  1817,  participated  in  the  War  of  the  Revolution  and 
also  in  the  second  war  with  Great  Britain.  George  W.  Brown,  father 
of  James  E.,  was  a  native  of  New  York  state.  He  was  an  early  settler 
in  Northern  Illinois,  and  was  the  patentee  of  the  first  corn  planter, 
which  was  known  as  the  Brown  corn  planter.  He  served  at  one 
time  as  mayor  of  Galesburg,  and  being  too  old  for  active  duty  he 
nevertheless  contributed  most  liberally  of  money  and  influence  for 
the  Union  cause  during  the  Civil  war.  George  W.  Brown  married 
Maria  T.  Terpenning,  also  a  native  of  New  York  state,  and  of  Dutch 
and  English  parentage. 

James  E.  Brown  acquired  a  district  school  education  in  Illinois. 
He  worked  on  his  father's  farm  until  the  latter  engaged  in  manufac- 
turing, and  from  1862  until  1874  he  farmed  on  his  own  account  near 
Galesburg.  In  1874  he  joined  the  manufacturing  business  of  his 
father,  and  when  the  company  was  incorporated  in  1880  he  became 
treasurer,  an  office  he  continued  to  hold  and  the  duties  of  which  he 
performed  until  the  death  of  his  father  in  1895. 

It  was  in  January,  1896,  that  Mr.  Brown  came  to  California,  and 
he  has  since  acquired  many  active  interests  in  the  business  of  growing 
and  handling  fruit.  He  owns  six  10  acre  groves,  three  on  East  Eighth 
Street  and  three  on  Linden  Street.  He  is  a  director  in  the  East 
Riverside  Water  Company  and  has  been  a  director  of  the  Monte  Vista 
Fruit  Association  since  it  was  formed  and  was  one  of  the  original 
members  of  the  La  Mesa  Fruit  Company.  He  was  formerly  a  stock- 
holder and  also  a  director  in  the  Orange  Growers  Bank,  the  Citizens 
Bank  and  the  Riverside  National  Bank.  Mr.  Brown  votes  as  an  inde- 
pendent republican.  His  home  at  590  Fourteenth  Street  was  built  of 
cement  blocks  in  1906,  and  is  one  of  the  substantial  and  attractive 
residences  of  the  city. 

May  2,  1859,  Mr.  Brown  married  Miss  Mary  Eleanor  Musser,  a 
native  of  Ohio.  She  died  at  Galesburg,  Illinois,  in  1910.  Of  their 
three  children  only  one  survives.  Jennie  Elizabeth  was  the  wife  of 
M.  J.  Daugherty,  and  is  survived  by  a  son,  Edwin  M.  Daughertv. 
The  son,  George  Edwin  Brown,  died  in  1892.  Florence  May,  the 
surviving  daughter,  is  the  wife  of  A.  L.  Woodill. 

Edward  L.  Williamson.— Eighteen  years  ago  Mr.  Williamson  was 
assistant  engineer  for  the  Chicago.  Rock  Island  &  Pacific  Railroad 
Company.  During  a  leave  of- absence  he  visited  California.  A  lew 
days  at  Riverside  convinced  him  that  no  other  locality  could  heme- 


1226      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

forth  claim  his  complete  allegiance  as  a  home.  In  the  years  that  have 
since  elapsed  his  name  has  become  an  accepted  synonym  of  the  larger 
enterprise  in  the  horticultural  and  agricultural  development  of  this 
section,  and  in  commercial  and  civic  affairs  as  well. 

Mr.  Williamson  was  born  at  Janesville.  Wisconsin,  March  29, 
1879,  son  of  Lucius  N.  and  Alice  (Hawes)  Williamson,  both  deceased 
and  both  of  English  ancestry.  His  father  was  born  in  Vermont  and 
lus  mother  in  Canada.  Lucius  Williamson  for  a  number  of  years  was 
connected  with  the  manufacturing  interests  of  Janesville,  Wisconsin, 
and  subsequently  for  a  long  period  represented  the  house  of 
M.  D.  Wells  of  Chicago  as  a  traveling  salesman. 

In  the  City  of  Janesville  Edward  L.  Williamson  spent  his  youth. 
He  attended  public  school  there,  and  in  1900  graduated  from  the 
University  of  Wisconsin  with  the  degree  of  Bachelor  of  Science  in  civil 
engineering.  The  first  year  after  leaving  university  he  was  an  in- 
spector with  the  Milwaukee  Gas  Light  Company.  Then  for  three 
years  he  was  an  assistant  engineer  on  the  engineering  staff  of  the 
Rock  Island  Railroad. 

The  leave  of  absence  which  he  spent  in  California  came  in  1904. 
His  first  undertaking  in  Riverside  was  the  establishment  of  a  poultry 
plant  on  Bandini  Avenue.  Six  months  later  his  technical  services  as 
an  engineer  were  engaged  in  the  Gage  Canal  Company  and  the  River- 
side Trust  Company,  with  which  he  remained  until  December,   1909. 

At  that  date  Mr.  Williamson  took  charge  as  engineer  and  superin- 
tendent of  the  West  Riverside  holdings  of  the  Ennis  Brothers' 
property,  consisting  of  a  1,000  acres  of  raw  land.  He  still  has  charge 
of  the  Sunny  Slope  Rancho,  as  it  is  known,  and  has  about  450  acres 
under  cultivation,  with  375  acres  devoted  to  citrus  fruits  80  acres 
in  alfalfa.  This  alone  constitutes  one  of  the  largest  undertakings 
in  horticultural  development  in  this  section  of  the  state  in  recent  years. 

In  1916,  when  the  flood  waters  wiped  out  the  north  end  of  the 
Jurupa  Canal,  which  supplies  water  for  all  the  West  Riverside 
property,  Mr.  Williamson  became  chairman  of  the  committee  of 
reconstruction  and  reorganization  of  the  affairs  of  the  canal,  and  has 
since  been  president  and  manager  of  the  West  Riverside  Canal 
Company.  Since  1913  he  has  been  a  part  owner  and  manager  of  the 
Ennis  and  Williamson  Dairy  Ranch  of  San  Bernardino  County.  This 
ranch  has  a  herd  of  150  producing  cows  and  150  head  of  young 
stock.  Mr.  Williamson  is  manager  and  director  of  the  Jurupa 
Water  Company,  and  vice  president  and  director  of  the  La  Sierra 
Water  Company.  Individually  he  owns  a  12  acre  orange  grove 
at  388  Bandini  Avenue,  which  is  his  home  address.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  Riverside  Heights  Packing  Association  No.  10.  He  has  re- 
cently extended  his  field  of  operations,  and  on  May  1,  1921,  bought 
an  interest  in  the  Riverside  Implement  Company,  the  name  of  which 
has  since  been  changed  to  the  Riverside  Motor  Sales  Company,  of 
which  he  is  vice  president  and  assistant  manager,  the  president  and 
manager  being  C.  W.  Cell. 

Mr.  Williamson  is  a  member  of  the  Tri-County  Reforestation 
Committee,  and  until  recently  was  a  member  of  the  Farm  Bureau. 
He  is  a  republican  voter,  had  two  years  of  military  training  while 
in  the  University  of  Wisconsin,  was  a  member  of  the  Phi  Kappa  Psi 
fraternity  there  and  is  a  member  of  the  Present  Day  Club  and  the 
Riverside  Rotary  Club. 


(um^jyi 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1227 

Charles  W.  Cell. — While  a  farmer  and  business  man  in  Kansas 
Charles  W.  Cell  made  a  visit  to  California,  which  turned  all  the 
destinies  and  enthusiasm  of  his  life  in  this  direction  and  for  the  past 
ten  years  he  has  been  rapidly  climbing  to  and  achieving  success  in 
Riverside,  where  he  is  president  and  active  head  of  the  Riverside 
Motor  Sales  Company,  an  extensive  business  that  grew  out  of  a 
hardware  and  implement  house. 

Mr.  Cell  was  born  in  Franklin  County,  Pennsylvania,  February  23, 
1878,  but  from  early  infancy  was  reared  in  Kansas.  The  Cell  family 
is  an  old  and  historical  one  both  in  America  and  in  Germany.  There 
was  a  Matthew  Cell  named  as  a  contemporary  in  the  Reformation 
with  Martin  Luther.  Members  of  the  family  came  to  the  American 
Colonies  in  early  days.  The  great-great-grandfather  of  Charles  W. 
Cell  was  a  soldier  of  the  Revolution  and  was  with  Washington  when 
the  latter,  at  the  head  of  his  troops,  crossed  the  Delaware.  The  late 
John  F.  Cell,  father  of  Charles  W.,  served  three  years  as  a  Union 
soldier  with  a  Pennsylvania  Regiment,  was  with  the  Army  of  the 
Potomac  and  also  with  Sherman  on  the  march  from  Atlanta  to  the 
sea.  On  leaving  Pennsylvania  he  moved  out  to  Kansas,  first  settled 
in  Marion  County,  where  his  efforts  were  afflicted  by  the  plague 
of  grasshoppers  and  drought,  and  from  there  he  removed  to  Osage 
County.  His  widow,  Mary  (Croft)  Cell,  was  born  in  Franklin 
County,  Pennsylvania,  of  an  old  American  family  of  German  descent, 
and  is  now  living  at  Topeka,  Kansas.  She  had  brothers  who  were 
Union  soldiers.  Her  eight  living  children  are:  John  F.,  a  practicing 
lawyer  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  who  married  Florence  Musson  and 
has  five  children ;  George  Croft,  who  holds  the  chair  of  theology  in 
Boston  University,  married  Miss  Ella  Clark  and  has  three  children  ; 
Charles  W.  is  the  third  in  age ;  Miss  Lottie  is  a  high  school  teacher  in 
Illinois;  Martin  Luther  is  a  well  known  newspaper  man  at  Redlands, 
California,  and  is  married  and  has  two  children  ;  Mary  is  the  wife  of 
Sherman  Shoup,  a  musician  in  Chicago,  and  they  have  a  family  of 
five ;  Christian  is  an  ex-service  man  who  was  in  France ;  and  Samuel 
is  a  clerk  in  the  Chicago  mail  order  house  of  Montgomery  Ward  &  Co., 
and  is  married  and  has  one  child. 

Charles  W.  Cell  was  reared  in  Osage  County,  Kansas,  attending 
public  schools  there  and  working  on  his  father's  farm.  At  the  age 
of  twenty-one  he  bought  land  of  his  own,  and  his  interests  were  those 
of  a  Kansas  farmer  until  he  was  twenty-eight  years  of  age.  He  then 
engaged  in  the  grain  and  elevator  business  at  Wakarusa  in  Shawnee 
County,  Kansas,  operating  as  a  grain  dealer  there  for  three  years. 
Just  before  he  entered  the  grain  business  he  made  the  trip  to  California 
that  decided  him  in  the  choice  of  a  permanent  home  environment. 
As  soon  as  he  disposed  of  his  grain  business  he  returned  to  California, 
becoming  a  resident  of  Riverside  in  1911.  Here  with  limited  capital 
he  acquired  some  stock  in  the  firm  of  Davenport,  Wheeler,  Allen 
Company,  successors  to  what  was  known  as  the  old  Stewart  Imple- 
ment and  Hardware  business  at  446  West  Eighth  Street.  Mr.  Cell  as 
a  member  of  the  company  became  active  manager  of  the  business, 
and  as  this  enterprise  prospered  he  eventually  became  sole  owner.  In 
the  meantime  he  moved  his  location  to  301  West  Eighth  Street, 
where  the  name  was  changed  to  the  Riverside  Implement  Company. 
Recently  change  has  been  made  to  the  Riverside  Motor  Sales  Com- 
pany, of  which  Mr.  Cell  is  president  and  manager.  The  first  change 
of  name  was  due  to  the  transfer  of  the  stock  to  new  ownership  and 
the  last  change  came  when  the  company  abandoned   its  implement 


1228      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

department  and  confined  its  attention  entirely  to  auto  vehicles.  The 
company  has  the  agencies  of  the  Hudson  and  Essex  motor  cars  and 
the  Moreland  trucks,  Reo  speed  wagons  and  utility  trailers,  both  of  the 
latter  being  manufactured  at  Los  Angeles  and  consequently  a  Cali- 
fornia product  which  Mr.  Cell  always  favors  in  advance  of  others. 
Mr.  Cell  now  has  the  largest  motor  sales  agencies  in  Riverside  County. 
A  large  block  of  the  treasury  stock  has  been  purchased  by  E.  L. 
Williamson,  who  is  vice  president  and  assistant  manager  of  the 
company.  Another  stockholder  is  Miss  Martha  Simpson,  who  has 
kept  the  books  of  the  firm  for  four  years  and  is  head  bookkeeper  and 
accountant.  Mr.  Cell  and  Mr.  Williamson  are  interested  financially 
in  the  Monte  Belle  and  Richfield  United  Oil  Wells,  where  some  profit- 
able properties  have  been  developed. 

So  far  as  his  businss  obligations  permit  Mr.  Cell  has  taken  a 
deep  and  active  interest  in  the  welfare  of  his  home  city.  For  the 
past  five  years  he  has  been  superintendent  of  the  First  Methodist 
Episcopal  Sunday  School,  giving  much  time  to  church  work.  He  has 
been  a  director  for  ten  years  in  the  Riverside  Young  Men's  Christian 
Association,  and  is  especially  interested  in  the  athletic  department  of 
that  organization.  He  is  a  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Chamber  of 
Commerce  and  of  the  Kiwanis  and  Present  Day  clubs.  March  1,  1899, 
he  married  Miss  Ada  Burk,  a  native  of  Kansas.  Her  father,  Homer 
Burk,  was  a  pioneer  of  that  state  and  of  an  old  American  family  of 
English  descent.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cell  have  a  daughter,  Mary  Ellen, 
member  of  the  class  of  1922  in  the  Riverside  High  School. 

John  H.  Urquhart,  president  and  manager  of  the  Sierra  Vista 
Packing  Association,  is  known  personally  or  by  name  in  all  the  large 
citrus  purchasing  centers  in  the  United  States,  and  his  name  is 
accepted  as  a  guarantee  for  all  citrus  products  that  pass  through 
his  packing  house.  A  resident  of  Riverside  for  more  than  thirty 
years,  Mr.  Urquhart's  experience  has  led  him  through  every  phase 
of  citrus  production,  packing  and  marketing.  In  citizenship  in  the 
community  his  name  stands  equally  high. 

Mr.  Urquhart  was  born  in  Nova  Scotia,  September  17,  1856,  and 
on  both  sides  represents  sturdy  Scotch  ancestry.  His  parents  were 
William  and  Barbara  (MacKenzie)  Urquhart.  His  mother  was  born 
in  Nova  Scotia  of  Scotch  parentage.  His  father,  a  native  of  Scotland, 
went  to  Nova  Scotia  when  twenty-one  years  of  age,  and  the  rest 
of  his  life  was  spent  in  mercantile  business. 

John  H.  Urquhart  acquired  a  good  education  in  public  schools 
and  an  academy  in  Nova  Scotia.  At  the  age  of  fifteen  he  was  working 
in  his  father's  store.  His  father  also  operated  a  400  acre  ranch. 
At  the  age  of  seventeen  John  was  given  full  charge  of  this  property, 
owing  to  the  death  of  his  older  brother.  It  was  a  big  undertaking,  but 
he  handled  it  with  a  resourcefulness  that  seems  fundamental  in  his 
character.  He  continued  its  management  seven  years,  and  later 
found  time  to  take  an  extended  trip  through  Canada  and  the  Middle 
West  of  the  United  States.  After  returning  home  he  engaged  in  the 
dry  goods  and  grocery  business  for  himself,  and  was  active  in  that 
line  for  seven  years. 

The  severe  climate  of  Eastern  Canada  made  Mr.  Urquhart  a 
sufferer  from  chronic  asthma,  and  in  searching  for  relief  his  mind  was 
turned  in  the  direction  of  California.  A  friend  who  had  spent  much 
time  in  Riverside  furnished  him  his  first  direct  knowledge  of  this 
perfect  environment.    The  friend,  returning  to  Nova  Scotia  to  dispose 


SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1229 

of  his  remaining  interests  in  order  to  make  California  his  permanent 
home,  gave  such  an  impetus  to  the  growing  desire  of  Mr.  Urquhart 
that  he,  too,  sold  out  and  came  to  Riverside.  He  has  never  had 
occasion  to  regret  that  move,  though  he  arrived  here  just  after  the 
boom,  when  ever  business  was  at  low  ebb. 

While  possessing  some  means,  it  was  not  in  accordance  with  his 
character  to  remain  idle  and  enjoy  it  long.  He  was  soon  working 
in  one  of  the  packing  houses,  and  through  the  actual  contact  of  work- 
ing experience  gained  his  thorough  knowledge  and  understanding  of 
the  great  industry  in  which  he  is  now  one  of  the  accepted  leaders. 
For  twelve  years  Mr.  Urquhart  was  connected  with  the  La  Mesa 
Packing  Company,  much  of  the  time  as  its  floor  superintendent.  He 
was  for  two  years  with  the  Arlington  Heights  Fruit  Company  and  a 
like  period  of  time  with  the  Alta  Cresta  Fruit  Company.  During 
1909-10  he  organized  the  Sierra  Vista  Packing  Association,  and  has 
since  been  its  president  and  manager.  From  the  time  of  his  arrival 
up  to  about  1912-13  Mr.  Urquhart  bought,  sold  and  planted  various 
orange  groves  in  the  Riverside  district.  He  disposed  of  all  these 
holdings  in  order  to  be  free  to  devote  his  entire  time  to  the  interests 
of  the  Packing  Association.  He  is  also  president  and  a  director  of  the 
Cresmer  Manufacturing  Company,  whose  planing  mills  and  industrial 
organizations  comprise  one  of  the  biggest  establishments  of  Riverside. 
Mr.  Urquhart  is  a  member  of  the  Kiwanis  and  Present  Day  Clubs. 
While  a  resident  of  Canada  he  was  a  member  of  the  local  militia  and 
quite  active  in  local  elections.  Since  coming  to  California  he  has 
been  naturalized  as  an  American  citizen  and  is  a  republican  voter. 
He  and  Mrs.  Urquhart  are  members  of  the  Calvary  Presbyterian 
Church,  and  both  are  active  in  that  church,  for  which  for  many  years 
he  served  as  an  elder.  Mrs.  Urquhart  is  a  member  of  the  Red  Cross 
and  devoted  much  of  her  time  and  energies  to  the  local  chapter  during 
the  World  war. 

In  Nova  Scotia  December  3,  1889,  Mr.  Urquhart  married  Miss 
Emma  M.  Cunningham,  native  of  Nova  Scotia,  daughter  of  Francis  S. 
Cunningham,  a  contractor  and  builder,  and  of  Scotch-Irish  descent. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Urquhart's  only  son,  William  Francis  Urquhart,  died 
in  infancy.  Their  one  daughter  is  Miss  Jean  Graham  Urquhart,  at 
home. 

John  B.  Odell. — The  name  of  John  B.  Odell  is  closely  associated 
wlh  the  development  of  the  orange  industry  of  Riverside,  and  also 
with  the  general  business  life  of  this  region,  for  he  is  a  man  whose 
energies  have  led  him  to  take  a  dominating  part  in  the  various  legiti- 
mate enterprises  of  the  city  with  which  he  cast  his  lot  in  1913,  and 
prior  to  that  date  was  a  well-known  figure  in  several  of  the  large 
centers  of  industry  of  the  country. 

John  B.  Odell  was  born  in  Cleveland,  Ohio,  April  8,  1848,  a  son  of 
John  and  Lydia  (Cody)  Odell,  both  of  whom  are  now  deceased. 
John  Odell  was  born  in  Connecticut,  and  during  his  early  life  he 
was  a  teacher  in  Toronto,  Ontario,  Canada.  Later  he  was  a  general 
merchant  of  Twinsburg,  Ohio,  where  he  became  a  prominent  man. 
The  family  is  of  Revolutionary  stock  and  Scotch-Irish  descent. 
Mrs.  Odell  was  born  in  Toronto,  Ontario,  Canada,  and  belonged  to 
an  old  family  of  Scotch-Irish  descent,  the  same  one  to  which  Col.  W.  F. 
Cody  (Buffalo  Bill)  belonged. 

After  attending  the  public  schools  of  Cleveland,  Ohio,  John  B. 
(  idell  became  a  telegrapher,  and  worked  as  such  and  as  a  bookkeeper 


1230      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

at  Cleveland,  Ohio,  and  Galesburg,  Illinois.  Subsequently  he  became 
train  dispatcher  for  the  Chicago,  Burlington  &  Quincy  Railroad, 
which  position  he  held  for  fourteen  years,  and  then  went  to  Chicago, 
Illinois,  where  he  was  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  electrical  sup- 
plies, and  was  closely  connected  with  the  Western  Union  Telegraph 
Company,  supplying  it  with  a  number  of  manufactured  articles.  For 
fifty  years  he  was  connected  with  this  company  in  different  capacities. 
For  a  number  of  years  he  had  charge  of  the  telegraphic  department  at 
the  republican  national  conventions,  a  position  of  great  responsibility, 
and  one  which  required  a  man  with  a  thorough  knowledge  of  the 
business.  He  was  telegraph  manager  for  the  Associated  Press  at 
Chicago,  and  was  the  first  operator  for  the  Chicago  American  of  that 
city,  when  that  paper  made  its  first  appearance.  While  too  young  to 
serve  during  the  war  between  the  two  sections  of  the  country, 
Mr.  Odell  had  three  brothers  in  the  service.  Delos  Odell,  who  is  now 
deceased ;  Joseph  Odell,  who  is  trust  officer  of  the  Lincoln  Bank  of 
Cleveland,  Ohio;  and  Theodore  Odell,  who  is  now  a  consulting  rail- 
road president  of  New  York  City,  New  York.  He  was  general  super- 
intendent of  the  Northern  Pacific  Railroad ;  general  superintendent  of 
the  Baltimore  &  Ohio  Railroad ;  president  of  the  Pittsburgh  &  Erie 
Railroad  ;  and  president  of  the  Orient  lines  from  Kansas  City,  Mis- 
souri, and  is  recognized  to  be  one  of  the  most  experienced  railroad 
men  in  the  country. 

In  1913  John  B.  Odell  came  to  Riverside  and  purchased  the  old 
Colson  place  of  15  acres  at  429  Indiana  Avenue,  and  has  so  im- 
proved it  that  it  is  now  one  of  the  show  places  of  the  city.  The 
house  originally  was  of  the  Scotch  style  of  architecture,  but  he  had 
added  many  improvements,  including  pergolas,  and  the  whole  is 
covered  by  a  profusion  of  beautiful  flowers  and  vines.  He  erected  a 
large  fountain  and  a  sunken  fountain  for  water  lilies  and  gold  fish  in 
the  grounds.  The  exquisite  beds  of  flowers  stretch  away  into  groves 
of  deciduous  and  citrus  trees,  which  include  walnuts,  grape  fruit  and 
six  or  seven  varities  of  oranges.  It  is  an  ideal  home,  and  here 
Mr.  Odell  now  spends  a  great  deal  of  his  time,  further  beautifying  his 
property.  While  he  has  passed  the  age  of  three  score  years  and  ten, 
he  is  as  active  as  a  young  man,  and  finds  pleasure  in  operating  a 
tractor,  or  doing  any  of  the  other  kinds  of  work  inseparably  con- 
nected with  the  culture  of  oranges. 

Mr.  Odell  was  a  director  of  the  Peoples  Trust  &  Savings  Bank, 
of  which  his  son,  John  Clayton  Odell,  was  president,  and  when  that 
institution  become  insolvent  Mr.  Odell  and  other  members  of  his 
family  voluntarily  crippled  themselves  financially  by  putting  up  large 
securities  so  as  to  safeguard  the  depositors  from  loss,  which  honorable 
conduct  gained  him  the  approval  of  his  fellow  citizens  in  no  un- 
measured degree.  Mr.  Odell  is  one  of  the  directors  and  was  president 
of  the  Loring  Opera  House  Company,  which  owns  the  Loring  Block 
at  the  corner  of  Main  and  Seventh  streets.  He  is  also  the  owner  of 
a  10  acre  grove  at  Corona,  California.  During  his  younger  years 
he  was  a  member  of  the  Odd  Fellows. 

On  October  25,  1871,  Mr.  Odell  married  at  Galesburg,  Illinois, 
Miss  Flora  Lee,  a  native  of  Illinois,  and  a  daughter  of  Joel  Lee,  who 
came  of  Revolutionary  stock  and  English  descent,  and  was  born  in 
New  York  State.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Odell  have  three  children,  namely : 
John  Clayton  Odell,  who  married  Deidre  Flemming,  a  native  of 
Iowa,  and  a  daughter  of  John  Flemming,  a  lumber  dealer  of  McGregor, 
Iowa.    They  have  two  children,  namely:   Geoffrey,  who  is  a  business 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1231 

man  of  Los  Angeles;  and  Gertrude,  who  is  a  student  of  the  Riverside 
public  schools.  Rosemary,  the  second  child  of  John  B.  Odell  and  his 
wife,  married  Carl  A.  Ross,  an  attorney  of  South  Bend,  Indiana,  and 
they  have  three  children,  namely:  Jane,  Helen  and  Betsy,  all  of  whom 
are  attending  school  at  South  Bend,  Indiana.  Florence,  the  youngest 
of  the  Odell  family,  is  the  widow  of  Gilbert  Hamilton  Hoxie,  and  is 
living  at  El  Mirasol,  Santa  Barbara,  California.  She  has  one  son. 
Hamilton  Hoxie,  who  is  attending  Thacher's  School  in  the  Ojai 
Valley,  class  of  1921.  Following  the  completion  of  his  studies  in  that 
institution  he  will  matriculate  at  Yale  University. 

Mrs.  Odell  was  a  member  of  the  executive  board  of  the  war 
Council  of  Defense  during  the  World  war.  She  is  much  interested  in 
current  matters,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Wednesday  Club.  Having 
joined  the  Presbyterian  Church  at  Chicago,  she  still  retains  her  mem- 
bership with  that  congregation.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Odell  stand  very 
high  in  social  circles  at  Riverside.  Their  lavish  hospitality  at  their 
beautiful  home  is  proverbial.  At  the  same  time  their  charities  are 
numerous,  and  their  names  are  held  in  grateful  remembrance  by  the 
many  who  have  benefited  by  their  generosity.  In  all  matters  of  public 
moment  Mr.  Odell  has  always  shown  a  commendable  interest,  and  he 
takes  a  deep  pride  in  the  progress  of  the  city,  and  has  great  faith  in 
its  continued  and  increased  prosperity. 

W.  S.  Button — California  seems  to  have  a  call  for  easterners  and 
Riverside  especially  seems  to  draw  its  share  of  business  men,  not  only 
men  wishing  to  retire,  but  also  young  men  with  ability  and  activity  to 
push  ahead  and  build  from  the  ground  floor  up,  and  connect  themselves 
on  a  large  scale  with  the  industries  and  activities  most  adapted  to  this 
part  of  the  country. 

One  who  is  noteworthy  in  this  connection  is  W.  Stewart  Button, 
distributor  for  Chevrolet  automobiles  in  Riverside  County  and  also  con- 
nected with  the  Riverside  Sheet  Metal  Works,  and  other  growing  interests. 
He  is  also  a  public  spirited  man. 

W.  Stewart  Button  was  born  in  Teeswater,  Ontario,  Canada,  on  Janu- 
ary 11,  1884,  son  of  William  Button,  native  of  Canada.  A  complete 
sketch  of  the  "Button"  family  is  given  elsewhere  in  this  book.  Living 
for  a  number  of  years  in  his  native  province  he  received  a  public  school 
and  high  school  education,  attending  the  Collegiate  Institute  at  Clinton, 
Ontario,  took  a  business  course  at  Chatham,  Ontario,  and  also  attended 
college  at  Toronto.  He  also  took  an  active  part  in  sports  and  played  on 
the  different  teams  in  his  home  town  and  at  high  school  and  college, 
helping  to  hold  the  "cup"  for  the  full  time  while  at  high  school.  After 
completing  his  studies  he  engaged  in  the  lumber  business  with  his  father 
for  five  years  in  Toronto,  Canada,  and  New  York  and  Pennsylvania 
States,  manufacturing  lumber  and  mangle  rollers,  which  they  exported 
to  Europe.  He  was  also  engaged  in  the  hardware  business  for  a  short 
time  in  Shelburne,  Canada,  but  his  activities  were  transferred  to  the 
Canadian  West  and  great  prairie  provinces  and  for  a  time  was  in  the  real 
estate  business  at  Edmonton,  Alberta. 

He  spent  one  winter  in  California,  and  going  back  to  the  Canadian 
West  again  soon  found  that  he  could  not  forget  the  California  climate 
and  came  back  to  stay  after  his  marriage,  bringing  his  wife  with  him. 

On  arriving  at  Riverside  in  December,  1912,  Mr.  Button  became 
interested  with  his  brother  and  father  in  the  sheet  metal  business,  their 
specialties  being  the  manufacture  of  "orchard  heaters"  ovens  and  can- 
teens.    During  eight  months  in  1914-15  this  firm  manufactured   155,000 


1232       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

orchard  heaters,  and  W.  Stewart  Button  having  full  management  of  the 
factory.  He  also  possesses  the  inventive  faculties,  and  his  ingenuity 
has  resulted  in  several  profitable  devices.  A  special  mouthpiece  on 
canteens  was  patented  by  him  which  is  being  put  on  the  market  today, 
also  a  patent  on  a  "spring  cushion  skate."  For  nine  months  he  was 
at  Buffalo,  New  York,  manufacturing  this  spring  cushion  skate,  finally 
selling  his  patent  rights. 

In  1916  he  returned  to  Riverside  and  he  and  his  brother  took  the 
agency  for  the  Chevrolet  .automobile  in  Riverside  County,  W.  Stewart 
Button  having  managership  of  the  business. 

In  1919  the  Scripps-Booth  was  added  to  the  agency.  They  were  the 
second  firm  to  handle  the  Chevrolet  car  in  Riverside  Countv  and  have 
distributed  nearly  seven  hundred  cars  here ;  for  this  business  Mr.  Button 
built  a  fine  garage  and  show  room  at  1045  Main  Street. 

Mr.  Button  was  one  of  the  first  in  this  section  to  become  interested 
in  the  date  growing  industry  and  helped  to  organize,  first,  the  Thermal 
Date  Company  and  finally  re-organized  into  the  Arabia  Date  Company, 
Incorporated,  and  was  secretary  and  treasurer  of  both  companies.  The 
company  bought  110  acres  in  Coachella  Valley  and  set  out  forty  acres 
in  dates  and  in  time  will  have  full  acreage  set  out  in  dates.  These  dates 
started  to  bear  lightly  in  1921,  in  a  couple  of  years  will  be  bearing  heavilv. 

Mr.  Button  is  also  interested  in  business  property  in  the  Citv  of 
Edmonton,  Canada.  Mr.  Button  is  a  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  River- 
side Chapter.  He  also  served  as  a  member  of  the  Home  Guard.  He 
is  also  a  member  and  an  official  of  the  board  of  the  First  Methodist 
Church. 

December  4,  1912,  Mr.  Button  married  Miss  Sadie  Montgomery,  a 
native  of  Edmonton,  Alberta,  Canada,  and  daughter  of  Alexander  Mont- 
gomery. The  Montgomery  family  was  identified  with  the  pioneer  period 
in  both  eastern  and  western  provinces  of  Canada.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Button 
have  four  children :  William  Bruce,  Ruth  Elizabeth.  Phyllis  Irene,  and 
Stewart  Dever  Button. 

John  Harvey  Ellis. — It  is  not  given  to  every  man  to  succeed  in 
handling  real  estate  and  insurance,  for  all  do  not  possess  those  character- 
istics so  essential  to  success.  To  begin  with,  the  operator  in  these  lines 
must  be  a  real  salesman,  and  be  absolutely  convinced  of  the  desirability 
of  the  investments  he  presents  to  others.  In  other  words,  he  must  first 
"sell  himself."  To  do  this  he  must  possess  the  essential  qualities  of  hon- 
esty, singleness  of  purpose  and  sincerity,  be  clear  and  logical  in  his  presen- 
tation of  facts,  and  understand  human  nature  to  such  an  extent  that  he  is 
able  to  recognize  the  right  moment  to  make  a  sale.  Such  a  man,  naturally, 
would  become  prosperous  in  any  line  he  cared  to  enter,  for  these  qualities 
make  for  success  anywhere,  but  when  he  does  devote  himself  to  developing 
property  interests  and  safeguarding  men  and  their  holdings  through  legiti- 
mate insurance  he  is  rendering  a  service  not  easily  over-estimated,  and 
proving  his  worth  to  his  community  as  a  good  citizen.  John  Harvey  Ellis 
is  one  of  the  best  qualified  men  in  the  business  to  be  found  at  Riverside  or 
in  this  part  of  California.  During  his  long  career  as  a  realtor  he  has  dem- 
onstrated his  peculiar  fitness  for  his  work,  and  has  to  his  credit  some  of 
the  most  constructive  developments  of  any  man  in  his  line. 

John  Harvey  Ellis  was  born  at  Urbana,  Champaign  Countv,  Ohio, 
October  13,  1862,  a  son  of  James  William  and  Ann  F.  (Neer)  Ellis,  both 
of  whom  are  now  deceased.  James  William  Ellis  was  born  in  Virginia, 
a  son  of  Abraham  Ellis,  grandson  of  Jacob  Ellis,  and  great-grandson  of 
Johan  Jacob  Alles,  as  the  name  was  then   spelled,  a  native  of  Alsace- 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1233 

Lorraine,  France.  Jacob  Ellis,  or  Alles,  was  a  fifer  from  Lancaster 
County,  Pennsylvania,  during  the  American  Revolution,  and  served  in  the 
Sixth  Battalion.  Later  the  family  was  established  in  Virginia.  Although 
born  in  the  Old  Dominion,  James  William  Ellis  remained  firm  in  his 
allegiance  to  the  Union  when  war  was  declared  between  the  North  and  the 
South,  and  enlisted  in  the  One  Hundred  and  Thirty-fourth  Ohio  Volunteer 
Infantry,  in  which  he  served  as  a  non-commissioned  officer.  He  was 
with  the  Army  of  Virginia  and  participated  in  the  engagement  at  Wilson 
Creek  and  others  in  Virginia,  and  was  a  brave  soldier  and  efficient  officer. 
Returning  home,  he  resumed  his  peaceful  occupaton  of  farming.  His 
wife  was  born  in  Champaign  County,  Ohio,  and  she  belonged  to  an  old 
American  family  established  in  this  country  prior  to  the  American  Revolu- 
tion by  ancestors  from  Holland. 

Growing  up  on  his  father's  farm,  John  Harvey  Ellis  acquired  his 
educational  training  in  the  public  schools  of  his  locality,  so  firmly  ground- 
ing himself  in  the  fundamentals  that  he  had  no  difficulty  when  he  left  the 
farm  in  securing  the  necessary  certificate  for  teaching  school  in  Allen  and 
Harper  counties  of  that  state.  Leaving  the  educational  field,  Mr.  Ellis 
went  to  Attica,  Kansas,  where  he  pre-empted  and  proved  up  a  quarter 
section  of  land,  and  then  for  two  years  was  employed  in  a  mercantile 
establishment.  Following  that  experience  he  went  to  Stevens  County, 
Kansas,  where  he  took  up  a  homestead,  and  opened  a  real  estate  office  at 
Woodsdale,  a  town  founded  by  Col.  Sam  Woods.  During  his  residence 
at  Woodsdale  he  passed  through  some  very  exciting  times,  for  this  was 
before  the  permanent  establishment  of  law  and  order  in  Southwestern 
Kansas,  and  warring  municipalities,  as  well  as  individuals,  settled  their 
disputes  with  firearms  rather  than  through  the  slower  processes  of  the 
courts. 

Leaving  Woodsdale,  Mr.  Ellis  went  to  Pueblo,  Colorado,  and  there 
continued  his  realty  operations  in  conjunction  with  the  firm  of  Hard  & 
McCIees,  the  junior  member  of  which,  N.  C.  McClees,  later  became  secre- 
tary of  state  for  Colorado.  After  about  eighteen  months  Mr.  Ellis  was 
employed  by  the  Henkel-Duke  Mercantile  Company,  wholesale  grocers, 
with  which  he  remained  for  six  years.  He  then  went  with  the  Iron  City 
Manufacturing  Company,  machinery  manufacturers  of  Pueblo,  and  his 
connection  with  it  lasted  for  eighteen  months.  Resigning  his  position,  Mr. 
Ellis  then  returned  East  to  Toledo,  Ohio,  and  for  two  years  was  with 
the  Toledo  Moulding  Company,  manufacturers  of  picture  frames  and 
jobbers  in  art  goods. 

California  next  attracted  him.  and  on  Christmas  Day,  1899,  he  arrived 
at  Corona,  this  state,  and  remained  in  that  city  for  six  months.  In  the 
meanwhile  he  bought  a  small  ranch  at  Arlington,  to  which  he  moved  in 
June,  1900.  Arlington  is  within  the  city  limits  of  Riverside,  and  from 
1900  Mr.  Ellis  has  been  a  resident  of  this  municipality.  For  eleven  and 
one-half  years  he  was  accountant  for  the  Riverside  Fruit  Exchange,  and 
then,  in  June,  1912,  he  went  into  the  real-estate  business  for  himself,  first 
having  Frank  D.  Troth  as  his  partner.  Two  years  later  he  bought  out 
Mr.  Troth  and  took  his  son,  Ralph  C.  Ellis,  into  the  business.  Later, 
upon  the  retirement  of  the  younger  man,  he  continued  alone  until  he  sold 
his  business  to  W.  J.  Russell,  of  Canadaigua,  New  York,  in  August,  1919. 
On  March  1,  1920,  he  bought  back  the  business,  and  took  W.  J.  Batten- 
field  as  his  partner.  On  December  1,  1920,  Mr.  Battenfield  sold  his  inter- 
est to  J.  G.  Smith,  of  Bartlesville,  Oklahoma,  who  on  April  1,  1921,  sold 
his  interest  to  Mr.  Ellis. 

Mr.  Ellis  has  always  been  active  as  a  republican,  and  for  several  years 
has  been  a  member  of  the  County  Central  Committee  of  his  party,  and  has 


1234       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

several  times  served  as  a  delegate  to  the  county  conventions.  For  some 
years  he  has  been  engaged  in  orange  growing,  and  has  a  fine  grove  of 
them  on  his  home  place  at  401  Grand  Avenue.  In  addition  to  all  of  his 
other  business  interests  he  is  a  director  of  the  Riverside  Water  Company. 

On  May  30.  1890,  Mr.  Ellis  married  in  Southwestern  Kansas  Miss 
Mary  S.  Plantz,  a  native  of  Wood  County,  Ohio,  and  a  daughter  of  the 
late  Joseph  Franklin  Plantz,  a  native  of  Ohio  who  spent  his  declining 
years  at  Riverside.  During  the  war  between  th  states  he  served  as  a 
Union  soldier.  His  wife  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Mary  Carmelia  Smart. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ellis  became  the  parents  of  two  children,  Ralph  Clifford 
Ellis,  born  April  15,  1891,  at  Pueblo,  Colorado,  and  Ruth  Genevieve  Ellis. 
The  son  is  a  statistician  with  the  rating  department  of  the  Pacific  Tele- 
phone and  Telegraph  Company  in  San  Francisco,  California.  He  married 
Miss  Ada  Cone,  a  native  of  California,  and  they  have  one  son,  Robert 
Clifford,  who  was  born  in  August,  1918.  The  daughter  was  born  on  the 
ranch  in  Arlington,  August  28,  1903,  and  is  now  a  student  of  the  River- 
side High  School. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ellis  are  members  of  the  First  Christian  Church  of 
Riverside,  of  which  Mr.  Ellis  has  been  a  deacon  since  1900,  and  for  ten 
or  twelve  years  he  served  the  church  as  treasurer.  At  present  he  is  chair- 
man of  the  Board  of  Trustees.  A  Mason,  he  is  a  past  worshipful  master 
of  Evergreen  Lodge  No.  259,  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons;  is  a 
member  of  Riverside  Chapter  No.  67,  Royal  Arch  Masons,  and  Riverside 
Commandery  No.  28,  Knights  Templar,  and  also  of  the  Southern  Cali- 
fornia Past  Masters'  Association  and  of  the  Eastern  Star.  He  belongs  to 
Riverside  Lodge  No.  282,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows;  to  the 
Woodmen  of  the  World ;'  Sons  of  Veterans  of  the  Civil  war,  and  of  the 
Sons  of  the  American  Revolution.  In  every  relation  of  life  Mr.  Ellis 
has  proven  his  capabilities,  and  made  a  success  of  his  undertakings.  His 
interest  in  Riverside  is  deep  and  lasting,  and  finds  practical  expression 
in  an  earnest  and  sincere  devotion  to  the  best  movements  for  the  advance- 
ment of  the  municipality.  He  is  a  great  believer  in  constructive  effort, 
and  knows  through  experience  in  different  sections  of  the  country  how 
much  can  be  accomplished  through  concerted  effort  on  the  part  of  the 
most  representative  people.  Through  the  medium  of  his  business  he  has 
been  able  to  stimulate  interest  on  the  part  of  outsiders,  as  well  as  of  his 
fellow  citizens,  in  different  local  projects,  and  has  brought  here  a  large 
amount  of  additional  capital  which  has  been  profitably  invested.  Such 
men  are  necessary  to  the  proper  expansion  of  any  locality,  and  much  of 
the  present  prosperity  of  Riverside  may  be  justly  attributed  to  Mr.  Ellis 
and  his  associates  in  their  public-spirited  attempts  to  make  of  it  one  of  the 
most  desirable  and  flourishing  cities  of  the  Golden  State. 

Kate  McIntyre  Boyd  (Mrs.  W.  E.  Beale). — According  to  ancient 
accounts  the  Boyd  family  has  been  one  that  was  always  doing  things. 
When  there  was  nothing  doing  in  a  public  way  they  seem  (as  was  the 
custom  of  the  time)  to  have  put  the  time  in  very  diligently  in  private 
quarrels  among  neighboring  factions.  This  by  way  of  keeping  their  hands 
in.  Fighting  was  in  those  times  a  gentlemanly  occupation,  and  about 
the  only  one  in  which  they  could  amuse  and  divert  themselves.  Kilmar- 
nock, in  other  words  the  cell  of  St.  Marnock,  was  the  headquarters  of  the 
Boyd  family.  Like  all  others  of  their  time  they  had  to  have  their  castle, 
named  Dean  Castle,  to  which  they  could  retire  as  a  protection  from  their 
enemies  when  besieged.  Tradition  does  not  say  how  those  mighty  lords 
were  supported,  but  as  feudalism  was  the  existing  condition  the  serf  fur- 
nished the  living  while  the  lord  exercised  his  lordly  privilege  of  fighting 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1235 

with  his  neighbors  when  he  had  nothing  else  to  do  and  of  leading  the  serf 
when  danger  threatened  the  nation. 

The  first  authentic  account  of  the  Boyds  dates  back  to  1205,  in  which 
Dominus  Robertus  de  Boyd  (in  other  words  Lord  Robert  Boyd)  appears 
as  a  witness  to  a  contract  between  Bryce  de  Eglingstoun  on  the  one  part 
and  the  village  of  Irvine. 

The  name  was  said  to  have  been  given  to  the  first  Boyd  because  of  his 
fair  complexion,  the  word  Boidh  in  the  Celtic  language  signifying  fair  or 
yellow.  Be  that  as  it  may,  the  Boyds  have  never  been  blonds,  but  have 
always  been  fair  or  yellow,  and  a  black  Boyd  even  to  this  day  is  as  rare  as 
a  white  blackbird. 

The  first  authentic  account  of  the  Boyds  as  fighters  is  at  the  battle 
of  Largs  in  Ayrshire  in  1263,  where  Haco  or  Aco,  King  of  Norway,  with  a 
numerous  army,  was  put  to  flight.  Sir  Robert  Boyd,  as  he  is  sometimes 
called,  was  a  person  of  singular  bravery  and  nobly  distinguished  himself 
and  was  rewarded  by  Alexander  the  Third  with  "grants  of  several  lands 
in  Cunningham"  in  Ayrshire.  Tradition  maintains  that  Sir  Robert,  with 
the  aid  of  the  party  he  commanded  at  that  engagement,  threw  into  con- 
fusion and  finally  defeated  a  strong  detachment  of  Norwegians  at  a  place 
called  Goldberry  Hill.  The  words  Gold  Berry,  which  sometimes  appear 
on  the  lower  scroll  of  the  prints  of  the  Kilmarnock  coat  of  arms,  were 
probably  adopted  in  commemoration  of  this  feat  of  Sir  Robert.  As  a 
curiosity  a  few  words  descriptive  of  the  battle  of  Largs  may  be  inserted 
here  in  this  year  of  Our  Lord  1921. 

"Acho  King  of  Norroway  landit  at  air  (Ayr)  wt  160  schipps  and  twen- 
tie  thousand  men  of  warre  and  ye  caus  of  his  cuming  was  because  Macbethe 
had  promissit  to  his  predessores  some  yles  (isles)  qlk  ye  had  not  gotten 
viz  Boote,  arrane  wt  ye  tus  cumbrais  having  tane  arrane  and  Boote  he 
come  to  the  lairges  in  Cunynghame  qr  Alexr  foirfather  to  the  first  Stewart 
yt  was  King,  discomfeit  ym  and  slue  16000  of  his  men.  He  Acho  died 
throw  sorrow  yr  war  slain  of  ye  Scots  5000." 

Before  the  century  was  out  the  English  had  overrun  Scotland  and  com- 
pelled the  nobles  to  swear  fealty  to  England.  The  Boyds  again  took  a 
leading  part  under  Wallace  and  Robert  Bruce  in  driving  the  English  out  of 
Scotland.  In  Kilmarnock  there  is  a  monument  in  commemoration  of  the 
killing  of  a  Lord  Soulis,  an  Englishman,  but  whether  it  is  in  commemora- 
tion of  Lord  Soulis  or  of  the  Boyd  who  killed  him  tradition  seems  to  be 
rather  doubtful.  Tradition  has  it,  however,  that  the  particular  party  this 
Lord  Soulis  commanded  was  discovered  lurking  in  the  vicinity  of  the 
Dean  Castle. 

This  intelligence  being  communicated  to  the  particular  Lord  Boyd  in 
question,  he  immediately  armed  himself  with  his  trusty  cross  bow  and  went 
in  search  of  his  quarry.  On  discovery  "With  deadly  aim  he  drew  his 
cross  bow  and  its  arrow  instantly  pierced  the  heart  of  the  ill-fated  Soulis." 
This  was  long  before  we  ever  heard  of  Paddy's  gun  that  would  shoot 
round  corners  or  of  the  noted  gun  reported  to  have  carried  seventy-five 
miles  to  Paris  doing  destruction  there,  and  before  we  heard  of  guns  that 
would  hit  objects  invisible  to  the  naked  eye,  and  prior  to  the  time,  some- 
what, when  at  Gallipoli  the  British  fleet  fired  over  the  hill  causing  a  hasty 
change  of  anchorage  of  men  of  war  to  prevent  destruction. 

The  Boyds  were  active  all  down  through  the  history  of  Scotland,  some- 
times in  near  relation  to  Royalty,  latterly  as  Earls  of  Kilmarnock  and 
Earls  of  Arran.  They  overflowed  to  Ireland  and  made  themselves  so 
much  at  home  there  that  some  thought  they  had  originated  there. 


1236      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

But  "Farewell !  A  long  farewell  to  all  my  greatness"  was  pronounced 
by  great  men  before  now,  and  it  too  came  to  the  noble  ( ?)  family  of 
Boyd,  for  the  last  Earl  got  on  the  side  of  Prince  Charles  the  "Pretender" 
to  the  English  throne  in  his  conflict  with  King  George,  got  caught  and 
was  sentenced  to  be  hung,  drawn  and  quartered  at  the  Tower  of  London 
in  1746,  along  with  some  others  for  high  treason,  the  last  executions  at  the 
Tower  until  in  recent  German  war  times. 

It's  a  "far  cry"  from  the  twelfth  century  to  Riverside  and  a  great 
change,  but  it  may  partly  answer  the  question  that  may  be  raised  in 
modern  parlance  "Why  is  Boyd."  It  will  at  least  show  that  the  Boyds 
have  been  in  the  habit  of  doing  things.  The  writer  has  no  family  tree 
tracing  descent  from  any  nobility,  but  wishes  to  say  that  all  that  he  knows 
about  his  ancestors  is  that  they  were  millers  in  Rowallan  Mill  for  five 
generations  and  that  he  was  born  within  three  miles  of  Dean  Castle  and  has 
been  doing  things  himself  ever  since  he  was  able,  and  this  may  be  rather 
a  long  introduction  to  the  history  of  a  native  daughter  of  Riverside,  and 
that  she  came  to  her  inheritance  of  hard  labor  legitimately.  Hers  is  not 
an  isolated  case,  but  is  introduced  because  it  is  more  familiar  than  some 
others  just  as  noteworthy.  Miss  Kate  Boyd  has  united  within  her  the 
two  branches  of  the  Scotch  nationality.  While  her  father  was  pure  Low- 
land away  back  from  time  immemorial,  her  mother  was  just  as  much  High- 
land from  as  far  back  and  belonged  with  the  "Clan  Donnochie." 

Modern  methods  of  travel  and  intercommunication  between  various 
races  has  produced  a  strange  intermixture  of  races  until  the  native  born 
American  can  hardly  say  to  what  race  he  belongs.  About  all  he  can  say 
is  "I  am  an  American,"  which  means  that  he  belongs  to  the  race  that  can 
take  the  best  of  every  race  with  which  he  comes  in  contact  without  any 
risk  of  carrying  over  the  evil.  Thus  the  American  of  today,  pronounced 
the  greatest  people  and  nation  on  the  face  of  the  earth.  Already  the 
writer's  grandchildren  have  the  blood  of  five  races  coursing  through  their 
veins. 

And  so  Miss  Kate  Boyd  came  to  Riverside  with  all  that  lineage  behind 
her.  Bareheaded  and  barefooted  and  almost  naked  in  the  summertime, 
she  passed  her  childhood  eating  fruit  and  living  simply  and  naturally  until 
school  age,  when  a  walk  of  two  miles  to  school  gave  her  some  physical 
exercise  while  training  the  mental.  Nothing  extraordinary  occurred 
during  school  years.  There  was  generally  some  outing  during  the  sum- 
mer vacation — to  the  mountains,  the  seashore  or  some  distant  part — all 
by  wagon  and  team,  for  the  auto  was  as  yet  a  thing  of  the  future.  Health 
physically  and  mentally  were  thus  maintained  and  no  difficulty  was  encoun- 
tered in  passing  through  the  various  departments  of  school,  finishing  with 
the  high  school,  with  an  after  course  in  the  State  Normal,  with  a  grammar 
grade  certificate  as  a  teacher.  Teaching  first  at  Palm  Springs  away  out  on 
the  desert,  with  half  her  pupils  pure  Indian  (who  were  so  wild  that  they 
would  run  out  of  school  and  hide  in  the  brush  if  a  stranger  came  to  visit  the 
school),  her  success  was  assured  from  the  start.  Later  on  the  schools  of 
Riverside  claimed  her  attention  until  marriage.  Even  after  that  she  did 
not  altogether  retire  from  teaching,  for  the  Grand  Terrace  School  still 
retained  her  services.  An  orange  grove  on  the  terrace  overlooking  the 
Santa  Ana  River  at  a  time  when  the  marketing  of  oranges  was  far  from 
being  a  settled  problem  showed  her  and  her  husband  that  the  owner  of  an 
orange  grove  was  not  the  millionaire  he  was  reputed  to  be  at  that  time 
in  the  development  of  the  orange  industry.  A  survey  of  the  situation  and 
the  news  from  the  new  country  in  the  basin  of  the  Gulf  of  California  below 
the  sea  level,  the  "terra  caliente"  of  the  Mexicans,  the  hot  Colorado  desert 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1237 

away  off  one  hundred  and  fifty  miles,  the  most  unforbidden  looking  place 
imaginable  and  in  reality  with  as  bad  a  reputation  as  could  possibly  be 
from  former  explorers,  claimed  their  attention,  and  away  they  went  to  the 
promising  land  by  team  overland. 

Eighty  acres  of  a  homestead  was  more  than  they  could  handle  alone, 
and  mother  and  sister  (Mrs.  Andrews)  were  called  on  to  assist  in  founding 
and  establishing  the  homestead.  It  cost  money  then,  as  now,  to  get  estab- 
lished in  the  Imperial  Valley.  Imperial  County  and  Valley  were  an  after- 
thought, the  "Colorado  desert"  was  ample  to  describe  it.  There  was  first 
of  all  the  little  home  to  be  established  as  a  base  of  operations,  and  that 
could  only  be  done  in  the  cooler  part  of  the  year,  as  it  was  impossible  to 
live  there  without  shade  or  water  with  the  temperature  130°  or  even  140° 
without  any  shade. 

First  of  all  came  levelling,  at  times  not  a  small  job,  with  every  small 
shrub  and  larger  desert  brush  a  base  for  a  hillock  of  drifted  sand,  and 
some  large  ones  where  the  mesquite  had  been  a  base  for  the  accumulations 
of  years,  each  of  these  the  home  of  the  rattlesnake  or  his  brother,  the  little 
"side  winder,"  just  as  deadly.  The  coyote  was  but  a  very  casual  visitor, 
for  as  yet  the  jack  rabbit  was  not. 

The  levelling,  bordering,  ditch  building,  putting  in  of  supply  ditches, 
measuring  gates  and  bridges,  not  to  speak  of  bringing  the  water  sometimes 
quite  a  long  ways  to  get  it  to  the  place  (for  this  was  in  the  early  days),  all 
fell  on  the  settler.  More  essential  of  all  was  the  purchase  of  water  stock, 
paying  assessments  for  water,  taxes,  etc.,  and  twenty-five  dollars  per  acre 
was  a  moderate  price  before  a  homestead  could  be  gotten  and  water  put 
on  every  acre.  While  all  this  was  going  on  by  the  husband,  the  wife  was 
again  teaching  school  for  the  two  or  three  years  required  to  put  this  work 
on  the  place,  and  a  trip  of  twenty  miles  on  horseback  was  necessary  to 
get  to  school  each  week,  week  ends  being  spent  on  the  new  home. 

When  everything  was  ready  for  occupancy  and  the  fenced  alfalfa 
fields  green  and  flourishing,  a  "string"  of  cows  was  the  next  thing,  a 
carload  of  which  the  writer  bought  and  took  out  to  El  Centro,  arriving 
there  with  them  on  hand  bright  and  early  Monday  morning,  without  the 
least  idea  as  to  where  the  new  home  was  in  the  new  and  desert  land. 
Fortune  favored,  for  while  making  inquiries  as  to  the  location  who  should 
come  along  but  Miss  Kate  herself  on  horseback  on  her  way  to  commence 
her  week's  teaching,  and  all  was  well. 

The  "string"  of  cows  was  profitable,  the  cream  checks  large,  and  teach- 
ing was  abandoned  for  the  time  being  for  milking  cows  and  farm  labor, 
and  everything  flourished  for  a  few  years,  with  an  outing  to  the  cooler 
coast  regions  in  the  hottest  months.  A  brand  new  baby  came  to  help 
make  and  gladden  the  home,  but,  alas,  as  has  happened  in  some  other 
cases,  unfortunately  on  a  visit  to  the  cooler  coast  regions,  when  about  two 
years  old,  the  little  toddler  walked  into  the  canal  and  it  took  toll  of  the  life 
of  the  little  one,  although  there  were  four  watchers  and  a  peremptory 
order  never  to  let  the  little  one  out  of  sight.  But  she  was  a  typical  Calif  or- 
nian  and  loved  the  sunshine  and  the  fresh  air.  It  seemed  that  the  thing 
that  was  dreaded  most  (the  water)  was  the  final  enemy  and  the  fate  could 
not  be  averted.  Well,  there  is  the  one  consolation  left  by  the  time  we  get 
ready  to  pass  over  we  will  have  so  many  treasures  over  there  that  we  will 
be  anxious  to  go  home  and  possess  them,  and  nothing  that  is  good  is  ever 
lost,  only  the  evil  finally  disappears. 

Time  works  wonders  in  a  new  country,  and  more  land  was  accumulated, 
renting  was  resorted  to.  a  city  life  was  chosen,  a  new  home  was  built  in 
lloltville,  and  the  daily  grind  of  the  cows,  Sunday,  holidays  and  all,  alian- 


1238       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

doned.  Not  a  day's  respite  could  be  had,  for  cows  have  to  be  milked  and 
the  new  occupation  taken  up  by  the  husband,  and  again  the  school  teacher 
goes  forth  to  the  daily  "delightful  task,"  and  cotton  was  king  for  a  year 
or  two  with  the  same  disaster  that  overtook  the  cantaloupe  grower  years 
before,  but  you  can't  keep  down  a  new  country  and  a  young  and  vigorous 
people  in  possibly  the  richest  county  in  California  in  resources  and  so  a 
typical  native  daughter  is  at  home  in  that  land  that  is  warm  enough  to 
mature  the  date  palm  and  is  still  doing  something  to  make  the  world  better 
and  more  beautiful  while  passing  through  it. 

Katie  Boyd  is  now  Mrs.  W.  E.  Beale  of  Holtville,  Imperial  County, 
that  warm  place  below  sea  level.  After  pioneering  there  almost  from  the 
first,  teaching  school,  helping  on  the  farm,  etc.,  they  have  brought  under 
cultivation  nearly  200  acres  on  that  originally  dreary  desert,  which  is  now 
rented.  They  have  built  a  comfortable  home  in  Holtville,  and  while  Mr. 
Beale  attends  to  business  in  town  Mrs.  Beale  is,  after  an  interval,  again 
teaching  school. 

John  Raymond  Gabbert— Like  so  many  men  of  power  and  influ- 
ence in  Southern  California,  John  Raymond  Gabbert  claims  Iowa  as  his 
native  state.  Of  that  state  he  has  no  particular  recollection,  since  he 
was  brought  to  Southern  California  when  a  child  of  two  years,  and 
here  he  grew  up  and  here  he  has  played  a  useful  part  as  a  newspaper 
man.  Many  undertakings  in  Riverside  and  vicinity  are  credited  to 
him  because  of  his  business  as  editor  and  publisher  of  the  Riverside 
Enterprise. 

John  Raymond  Gabbert  was  born  in  Iowa,  June  5,  1881,  and  rep- 
resents an  old  American  family.  His  great -great-grand  father  fought 
in  the  Revolutionary  war  and  was  at  the  surrender  of  Cornwallis. 
Mr.  Gabbert's  father  is  Thomas  Gavin  Gabbert.  who  has  been 
a  resident  of  Ventura  County,  California,  for  thirty-six  years,  and 
for  the  past  twelve  years  has  lived  in  Ventura  City.  His  active 
career  was  spent  largely  as  a  farmer  and  for  a  number  of  years  he 
was  on  the  Limoneria  Ranch.  He  now  conducts  a  real  estate  busi- 
ness at  Ventura  and  owns  property  in  different  parts  of  that  county. 
He  was  elected  and  served  as  a  member  of  the  California  Legislature 
in  1912-13,  and  has  been  on  the  Board  of  County  Supervisors  four- 
teen years,  being  chairman  of  the  board  five  years,  a  position  to  which 
he  was  recently  reelected.  He  was  president  of  the  Chamber  of  Com- 
merce when  it  initiated  and  sponsored  the  good  roads  program  in  Ven- 
tura County.  Among  leading  men  of  affairs  in  Ventura  County  none 
is  better  known  than  Thomas  G.  Gabbert.  He  married  Ella  Peters. 
Her  father,  Anson  Peters,  who  is  now  living  at  Pasadena,  came  around 
the  Horn  in  1849,  his  ship  being  wrecked  on  the  South  American 
coast.  He  was  rescued  and  joined  the  pioneer  gold  seekers  in  Cali- 
fornia, and  laid  the  basis  of  a  substantial  fortune  in  the  gold  mines. 
He  afterward  returned  to  Iowa,  but  in  1883  came  back  to  California, 
lived  four  years  at  Saticoy,  then  at  Fallbrook  until  1912,  and  for  the 
past  six  years  his  home  has  been  at  Pasadena  and  Glendora.  Anson 
Peters  was  a  Captain  of  Home  Guards  in  Iowa  during  the  Civil  War. 
He  is  now  ninety-four  years  of  age. 

John  Raymond  Gabbert  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of 
Ventura  County,  graduating  from  high  school  in  1899.  The  following 
four  years  he  was  with  a  newspaper  published  at  Oxnard.  He  then 
entered  the  University  of  California  and  graduated  Bachelor  of  Science 
from  the  College  of  Commerce  in  1907.  While  at  the  university  he  was 
editor  of  the  Daily  Californian  and  also  of  the  College  Annual,  Blue 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1239 

and  Gold.  The  printing  plant  printing  the  Blue  and  Gold  was  destroyed 
by  fire  at  the  time  of  the  big  earthquake  in  1906.  The  night  before 
that  calamity  Mr.  Gabbert  returned  to  his  office  and  took  up  a  number 
of  spoiled  sheets  and  carried  them  home.  These  are  all  the  University 
has  preserved  of  that  issue,  and  they  are  carefully  kept  at  the  uni- 
versity library.  Mr.  Gabbert  was  so  loath  to  lose  the  annual  that 
he  ran  in  to  fight  fire  with  the  Marines  and  was  a  volunteer  in  the 
fire  fighting  service  for  nearly  a  day,  until  completely  exhausted. 
While  at  University  Mr.  Gabbert  was  a  member  of  the  junior  honor 
society  Winged  Helmet,  senior  society  Golden  Bear,  and  also  of  the 
Skull  and  Keys  Society.     He  is  a  member  of  the  Chi  Psi  fraternity. 

Immediately  after  leaving  University  Mr.  Gabbert  bought  the 
Oxnard  Courier,  and  during  five  years  made  that  a  very  successful 
newspaper  plant,  changing  it  from  a  weekly  to  a  city  daily.  He  sold 
out  in  1912,  and  coming  to  Riverside  acquired  a  half  interest  in  the 
Riverside  Enterprise  with  an  option  on  the  other  half.  Later,  with 
his  father,  he  acquired  this  half,  and  is  in  full  control  of  the  editorial 
and  business  management.  The  Enterprise  is  published  by  the  Mis- 
sion Publishing  Company  as  a  morning  daily,  and  is  one  of  the  most 
successful  and  influential  daily  papers  in  this  part  of  the  state.  As 
a  supplement  to  the  Riverside  Enterprise  Mr.  Gabbert  established 
the  California  Citograph  in  1915.  This  paper  is  now  published  at 
Los  Angeles,  with  Mr.  Gabbert  president  of  the  publishing  company. 

Associated  with  one  of  his  employes,  Mr.  Gabbert  has  invented 
a  printer's  chase  called  the  Rousseau  Chase.  It  reduces  the  margins 
on  country  dailies,  thus  saving  white  paper,  and  is  being  manufactured 
and  sold  by  other  concerns  all  over  the  United  States,  Manila  and 
Canada. 

As  a  newspaper  man  Mr.  Gabbert  has  been  much  in  politics  and 
public  affairs.  He  was  for  four  years  secretary  of  the  County  Republican 
Central  Committee  of  Ventura  County  and  has  also  served  on  the 
Riverside  County  Central  Committee.  He  is  representative  for  the 
Associated  Press  and  California  newspapers  in  Riverside,  and  was 
one  of  the  two  California  editors  representing  the  state's  Republican 
newspapers  sent  to  Marion,  Ohio,  to  meet  Senator  Harding,  president- 
elect, and  wrote  the  news  stories  sent  to  all  parts  of  the  United 
States  during  that  trip.  Mr.  Gabbert  has  contributed  original  ideas 
and  has  used  his  personal  and  newspaper  power  to  insure  the  success 
of  a  number  of  movements  in  Riverside.  He  was  the  first  to  advocate 
work  for  the  establishment  of  a  Farm  Bureau,  and  partly  through 
his  influence  may  be  credited  the  location  here  of  the  Citrus  Station 
and  the  proposed  University  Farm  School.  He  is  president  of 
the  Riverside  Rotiry  Club,  a  member  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce 
and  Business  Men's  Association,  served  as  president  of  the  Chamber 
of  Commerce  in  1917-18  and  was  the  same  year  president  of  the 
Present  Day  Club.  Fraternally  he  is  affiliated  with  Riverside  Lodge 
of  Masons,  Oxnard  Royal  Arch  Chapter,  Independent  Order  of  Odd 
Fellows  and  Riverside  Elks. 

At  Oxnard  June  25,  1908.  Mr.  Gabbert  married  Miss  Elizabeth 
Gordon.  She  was  born  in  New  York.  Her  mother  is  Mrs.  A.  F. 
Gordon,  of  Caledonia,  New  York.  Mrs.  Gabbert  is  a  descendant  of 
Elder  William  Brewster  of  the  Pilgrim  Colony,  and  is  eligible  to 
membership  in  the  Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution  and  Colonial 
Dames.  She  is  active  in  the  Presbyterian  Riverside  Church.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Gabbert  have  two  children  :  John  Gordon  and  Jane  Elizabeth. 


12 JO       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Albert  Lee  Treloae.  While  it  is  certainly  true  that  there  are  won- 
derful opportunities  for  advancement  in  Southern  California,  it  is  a  well- 
established  fact  that  here,  as  elsewhere,  no  real  advancement  comes  with- 
out actual  effort  and  earnest,  purposeful  labor,  either  of  the  brains  or 
brawn,  and  oftentimes  of  both.  The  progress  observed  on  every  side  did 
not  come  naturally,  but  is  the  outcome  of  the  concerted  as  well  as  individual 
efforts  of  many.  Each  orange  grove  had  to  be  planted,  developed,  and  now 
requires  constant  and  expert  care.  The  beautiful  roadways  have  been 
developed  ;  the  thriving  industrial  plants  have  been  built  up  from  sometimes 
very  small  beginnings ;  and  each  enterprise  has  been  worked  up  into  a 
paying  form  or  it  would  not  exist  today,  for  westerners  are  practical,  and, 
while  enjoying  to  the  utmost  the  natural  advantages,  have  no  time  or 
patience  for  anything  that  is  not  useful  and  worth-while  in  business. 
Therefore,  here,  as  everywhere,  when  a  man  succeeds  it  means  something. 
It  is  proof  positive  that  he  has  had  the  grit,  the  determination  and  perse- 
verance to  work  hard  and  to  use  every  resource  to  get  ahead,  and  his  victory 
over  obstacles  is  another  triumph  for  his  community.  Such  a  man  is 
Albert  Lee  Treloar,  owner  of  one  of  the  valuable  orange  groves  of  High- 
land, who  has  passed  through  some  trying  experiences,  but  is  now  able  to 
enjoy  his  good  fortune,  and  to  regard  with  pride  the  sum  of  his  accom- 
plishments. 

Albert  Lee  Treloar  was  born  at  Forest  City,  Sierra  County,  California, 
March  21,  1872,  a  son  of  Samuel  and  Elizabeth  Treloar.  Samuel  Treloar 
was  a  native  of  England,  but  when  he  was  two  years  old  his  parents 
brought  him  to  the  United  States,  settling  in  Wisconsin.  In  1848  Samuel 
Treloar,  with  his  uncle,  John  Treloar,  left  Wisconsin  for  California,  travel- 
ing across  the  country  in  covered  wagons  drawn  by  oxen,  and  arrived  in  the 
midst  of  the  gold  excitement,  so  proceeded  at  once  to  Sierra  County. 
Samuel  Treloar  was  a  man  of  strong  religious  convictions,  a  temperance 
advocate,  and  a  peacemaker,  and  his  services  were  often  called  into  requisi- 
tion in  the  rough  and  tempestuous  days  when  the  lawless  element  had  the 
upper  hand.  Even  during  the  long  and  dangerous  trip  overland  he  found 
his  natural  talents  as  a  peacemaker  of  avail  with  the  savage  Indians,  and 
managed  to  get  his  party  through  without  trouble.  In  fact,  he  gained  the 
friendship  of  the  Indians,  and  upon  one  occasion,  when  by  accident  he 
nearly  severed  a  finger,  the  savages  displayed  what  in  another  race  would 
have  been  termed  Christian  virtues,  and  doctored  the  injury  with  an  oint- 
ment so  healing  that  the  finger  regained  its  normal  strength  and  scarcely 
a  scar  remained. 

Samuel  Treloar  was  engaged  in  mining  for  some  years,  but  after  his 
marriage  at  Forest  City,  California,  in  1863,  with  Elizabeth  Lee,  of  English 
parentage,  but  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  he  returned  to  Wisconsin,  and 
resided  there  for  seven  years.  Returning  to  California,  he  settled  sixteen 
miles  from  Forest  City  and  went  into  the  cattle  business,  in  which  he  con- 
tinued until  1898,  in  that  year  moving  to  Santa  Barbara,  where  he  bought 
a  ranch.  Subsequently  he  sold  this  ranch  and  bought  a  home  in  Santa 
Barbara,  where  he  died  on  Christmas  Day,  1915.  His  widow  survives 
him  and  lives  in  this  beautiful  home.  He  continued  his  interest  in  religious 
work  all  his  life,  and  was  a  zealous  church  member  and  Sunday  School 
superintendent.  Possessing  a  well-trained  voice,  he  was  active  in  the 
choir,  and  always  was  glad  to  render  any  service  within  his  power.  Nine 
children  were  born  to  him  and  his  wife,  namely:  Elizabeth,  who  is  Mrs. 
Jeffry;  Benjamin;  Albert  Lee;  William;  Carrie,  who  is  Mrs.  Martin; 
Forest ;  Charles ;  Stella,  who  is  Mrs.  Dane  ;  and  Myrtle,  who  is  Mrs.  Ogam. 

Until  he  reached  his  majority  Albert  Lee  Treloar  worked  for  his  father, 
and  was  given  a  limited  education.     As  soon  as  he  was  twentv-one  he 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1241 

went  out  into  the  world  for  himself.  He  rented  a  farm  in  Carpenteria 
Valley,  having  hauled  wood  in  order  to  earn  the  money  to  get  a  start,  and 
began  raising  beans  and  other  farm  produce.  For  a  time  he  speculated  in 
farm  land,  buying  and  selling  land  in  Kings  and  San  Luis  Obispo  counties, 
and  always  worked  hard.  He  and  his  father-in-law  bought  2,040  acres 
of  land  at  Paso  Robles,  and  stocked  it  with  2,000  head  of  Angora  goats, 
for  which  they  paid  $6.00  per  head.  The  coyotes  and  wildcats  so  reduced 
this  herd  in  numbers  and  condition  that  the  remnant  of  200  only  brought 
$2.00  each  in  the  Imperial  Valley,  and  this  disastrous  venture  practically 
wiped  out  his  resources. 

Mr.  Treloar  purchased  11  1/3  acres  of  citrus  fruits  on  Baseline  and 
Palm  avenues  in  1912,  paying  $20,000  for  the  property.  The  following 
year  was  the  time  of  the  big  freeze  that  wholly  destroyed  his  crop.  He 
has  since  continued  in  citrus  growing,  in  which  he  has  been  successful. 
This  highly  improved  property  has  since  continued  to  be  his  home.  In 
1915  he  bought  forty  acres  at  Owensmouth,  paying  $450  per  acre  for  it. 
He  placed  a  $5,000  mortgage  on  it,  erected  a  house,  and  set  out  the  entire 
forty  acres  to  walnut  trees.  In  order  to  provide  an  adequate  water  supply 
he  rented  horses  and  tools  and  laid  down  an  irrigation  system.  It  took 
considerable  nerve  to  carry  through  such  an  undertaking,  and  the  first 
year  he  lost  $1,500  in  sugar  beets,  as  well  as  his  own  labor.  The  second 
year  he  raised  beans  and  sold  them  at  Al/2  cents  a  pound ;  his  beans  sold  for 
10  cents  the  third  year;  for  7  the  fourth,  and  for  \2]/^  cents  the  fifth  year. 
In  1919  he  sold  this  land  at  $750  per  acre,  not  only  clearing  off  all  of  his 
indebtedness,  but  making  money,  but  he  had  to  work  sixteen  hours  a  day 
to  reach  these  desirable  results.  He  is  entirely  a  self-made  man,  coura- 
geous, resourceful  and  venturesome.  His  success  proves  that  a  man  can 
accomplish  much,  but,  as  before  stated,  he  must  be  willing  to  work,  and 
work  hard. 

On  July  4,  1908,  Mr.  Treloar  married  Bertha  Foster,  a  daughter  of 
William  and  Catherine  Foster.  Her  mother,  after  the  death  of  her  first 
husband,  took  her  four  children  and  drove  overland  from  Michigan  to 
California,  and  was  forced  to  stay  in  Nevada  all  winter  on  account  of  the 
heavy  snows.  Early  spring  found  her  on  her  way,  but  with  very  few 
supplies.  She  met  a  man  with  a  flock  of  sheep,  and,  without  asking  him, 
she  killed  one,  and  although  he  remonstrated,  she  went  on  her  way,  feeling 
that  her  children  were  entitled  to  what  she  could  provide  for  them.  Sub- 
sequently, after  her  marriage  to  Mr.  Foster,  she  walked  and  helped  drive 
a  band  of  goats  from  San  Luis  Obispo  to  the  Imperial  Valley,  being  at  the 
time  she  performed  this  feat  sixty-five  years  of  age.  Mrs.  Treloar  is  a 
worthy  daughter  of  a  most  remarkable  mother,  and  a  native  Calif ornian. 
She  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Santa  Maria,  and  traveled  all 
over  the  state  in  a  wagon  with  her  parents,  and  early  learned  to  make 
camp,  fish  and  enjoy  an  outdoor  life.  She  is  equally  at  home  in  social 
circles,  and  yet  knows  how  to  manage  her  household  expertly,  and,  like 
her  husband,  is  not  afraid  of  any  kind  of  work.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Foster 
became  the  parents  of  four  children,  of  whom  Mrs.  Treloar  was  the  young- 
est. There  are  three  children  in  the  family  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Treloar, 
namely:  Herbert  Simms,  who  was  born  at  Carpinteria,  California,  De- 
cember 1,  1910;  Zelda  Alberta,  who  was  also  born  at  Carpinteria,  January 
11,  1912;  and  William  Lee,  who  was  born  at  Highland,  June  4,  1914. 

Earl  F.  Van  Luven,  veteran  orange  grower  of  Colton,  officially 
identified  with  fruit  exchanges  and  other  packing  and  marketing  organiza- 
tions for  nearly  thirty  years,  is  the  father  of  two  enterprising  San  Ber- 


1242      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

nardino  business  men,  Donald  Earl  and  Jed  S.  Van  Luven,  proprietors  of 
the  San  Bernardino  Implement  Company. 

Earl  F.  Van  Luven  was  born  in  Ontario,  Canada,  January  13,  1861, 
son  of  Zara  and  Martha  (Potter)  Van  Luven.  He  acquired  his  early 
education  in  the  common  schools  and  a  business  college  in  Canada,  and 
from  his  father,  who  was  a  successful  merchant,  gained  a  thorough  and 
practical  training.  Earl  Van  Luven  came  out  to  California  and  located  at 
Colton  in  1888.  He  invested  in  property  on  the  celebrated  Colton  Ter- 
race, where  he  made  extensive  plantings  of  citrus  fruit.  He  now  has  one 
of  the  oldest  and  best  producing  groves  in  that  noted  district.  From  his 
own  groves  he  has  packed  and  shipped  many  thousands  of  carloads  of 
oranges  and  lemons,  and  it  would  be  difficult  to  refer  to  a  man  whose 
experience  covers  a  longer  period  of  time  and  a  broader  range  of  all  the 
important  phases  of  citrus  growing  and  marketing.  He  has  for  many  years 
been  associated  with  the  Southern  California  Fruit  Exchange,  the  California 
Fruit  Growers  Exchange,  of  which  he  is  a  director,  the  San  Bernardino 
County  Fruit  Exchange,  of  which  for  years  he  was  secretary  and  manager, 
and  he  joined  his  individual  effort  and  support  to  these  various  organiza- 
tions to  solve  the  fruit  marketing  problems  practically  at  their  beginning, 
about  1893.  He  was  a  charter  member  of  the  Colton  Fruit  Exchange 
when  it  was  organized,  and  until  1902  was  its  secretary.  He  resigned 
because  of  the  pressure  of  other  business  interests,  but  continued  as  vice 
president  and  as  a  director. 

In  1891  Earl  F.  Van  Luven  married  Miss  Helen  Edith  Shepardson, 
daughter  of  Jed  B.  and  Julia  (Bucklen)  Shepardson.  Her  father  was  a 
well  known  banker  at  Marble  Rock,  Iowa,  but  for  many  years  spent  his 
winters  in  Colton.  Jed  B.  Shepardson  was  a  son  of  William  and  Hannah 
Shepardson,  while  Julia  D.  Bucklen  was  a  daughter  of  Willard  and  Doris 
Bucklen.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Earl  Van  Luven  have  two  sons,  Jed  S.  and 
Donald  E. 

Jed  S.  Van  Luven  was  born  at  Santa  Monica  July  7,  1892,  and 
acquired  his  early  education  in  the  schools  of  Colton,  Los  Angeles  and  San 
Bernardino.  His  principal  business  has  been  as  a  dealer  in  farm  imple- 
ments, and  the  San  Bernardino  Implement  Company,  of  which  he  is  senior 
member,  now  conducts  the  largest  retail  establishment  of  the  kind  in  this 
county.  He  is  a  member  of  Phoenix  Lodge  No.  178,  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons ;  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the 
Native  Sons  of  the  Golden  West.     He  is  a  republican  in  politics. 

Jed  Van  Luven  married  at  Corona  Beulah  Meacham,  a  native  of  San 
Bernardino  and  a  daughter  of  R.  M.  Meacham,  a  pioneer  of  this  city. 
They  have  two  children,  Jack  and  Barbara,  the  former  attending  kinder- 
garten. 

Donald  Earl  Van  Luven,  the  younger  son,  was  born  at  Santa  Monica, 
California.  September  1,  1899.  He  graduated  from  the  Colton  High 
School  in  1917,  and  attended  the  Oregon  Agricultural  College  until  1919. 
He  expects  to  return  and  complete  his  studies  there  in  the  near  future. 
During  the  war  he  spent  four  months  in  a  training  camp  in  Oregon,  being 
honorably  discharged  at  the  close  of  the  war.  He  is  a  co-partner  in  the 
San  Bernardino  Implement  Company,  and  is  also  owner  of  a  small  orange 
grove  at  Colton.  He  is  a  republican,  a  member  of  the  Native  Sons  of  the 
Golden  West,  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles,  belongs  to  the  college  fra- 
ternity Kappa  Theta  Rho,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
Church  at  Colton. 

C.  C.  Miller  was  one  of  the  earliest  settlers  under  the  management 
of  Mr.  Evans  and  the  Riverside  Land  and  Irrigating  Company,  and 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1243 

as  engineer  in  the  construction  of  what  was  known  as  the  lower  canal 
and  the  founder  of  the  Glenwood  Mission  Inn  and  also  engineer  for 
the  Gage  Canal,  he  deserves  more  than  a  passing  notice. 

C._C.  Miller  was  born  in  Oneida  County,  New  York,  in  1824,  where 
his  grandfather  was  one  of  the  pioneer  settlers.  He  received  a  good 
education  in  the  public  schools  of  his  native  state  and  in  the  higher 
lines  of  college  work  in  Ohio,  where  he  graduated  from  Cleveland 
University  as  a  civil  engineer  in  1852,  follownig  that  profession  during 
the  rest  of  his  life. 

He  was  engaged  in  railway  work,  among  others  the  Chicago  and 
Northwestern  and  Milwaukee  and  St.  Paul,  where  he  held  high  rank 
in  his  profession  until  the  Civil  war,  when  he  enlisted  for  service  and 
was  commissioned  as  captain  of  Company  M.  Forty-ninth  Volunteer 
Infantry,  from  Wisconsin.  His  regiment  was  assigned  to  duty  in 
Missouri  under  General  Dodge.  His  engineering  skill  soon  became 
known  and  he  was  called  into  service  as  chief  engineer  of  that  district. 
He  served  until  the  close  of  the  war  and  was  honorably  discharged 
in  1865,  after  which  he  returned  to  civil  pursuits.  He  followed  rail- 
road work,  being  chief  engineer  of  the  Wabash  and  Lake  Superior 
Railroad. 

Ill  health  on  the  part  of  his  wife  made  necessary  a  change  of 
climate,  and  in  1873  he  located  in  Los  Angeles.  In  June  of  that  year 
he  came  to  Riverside  as  chief  engineer  and  superintendent  of  the 
El  Sobrante  de  San  Jacinto  Rancho.  When  the  Riverside  Land  & 
Irrigating  Company  built  the  lower  canal  he  was  engineer  superin- 
tending construction,  aided  by  his  son-in-law,  G.  O.  Newman. 

He  bought  the  block  on  which  the  Glenwood  Mission  Inn  is  now 
located  and  commenced  to  build  a  residence,  which  was  to  be  a  two- 
story  adobe  building.  The  writer  put  the  first  team  work  on  the 
block,  which  was  leveling,  preparatory  to  building.  Mr.  Miller's  son, 
Frank  A.,  helped  make  the  adobes  or  unburned  clay  bricks  with  which 
the  building  was  constructed.  It  was  also  used  as  a  hotel,  in  1881 
being  sold  to  his  son  Frank  A.  Miller,  who  is  now  master  of  the 
Mission  Inn  as  it  now  stands. 

C.  C.  Miller  was  also  the  chief  engineer  in  the  construction  of 
the  Gage  Canal  and  later  on  out  at  Blythe  on  the  Colorado  River  in 
further  irrigation  and  land  surveying  enterprises. 

His  was  a  busy  life,  and  he  died  in  February,  1890,  full  of  years 
and  honors. 

His  wife,  who  was  a  Miss  Mary  Clark,  and  who  died  in  August, 
1895,  was  sixty-six  years  of  age,  was  a  daughter  of  an  Ohio  physician. 
She  was  a  woman  of  refinement,  and  she  transmitted  some  of  these 
qualities  to  her  son  Frank,  now  master  of  the  Mission  Inn. 

Ralph  Emerson  Swing — The  subject  of  this  sketch  is  one  of  the 
most  astute  and  resourceful  attorneys  practicing  at  the  San  Bernardino 
bar.  He  is  a  native  of  California  and  was  educated  in  the  schools  of 
his  native  state. 

Mr.  Swing  entered  upon  the  pratice  of  law  in  the  year  1907,  with 
his  office  in  the  City  of  San  Bernardino,  where  he  has  ever  since 
followed  his  profession.  He  has  been  connected  with  much  of  the 
important  litigation  growing  out  of  the  many  complicated  and  in- 
tricate legal  questions  involved  in  the  adjustment  of  water,  property 
and  mining  rights  necessarily  arising  from  the  development  of  the 
resources  of  Southern  California.  He  is  an  admitted  authority  upon 
the  law  governing  the  questions  above  mentioned,  as  well  as  upon 


1244       SAX  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

the  law  governing  municipalities  and  involved  in  municipal  legal 
questions.  He  is  much  sought  as  a  counselor  upon  such  subjects  and 
as  an  attorney  in  matters  involving  such  questions. 

That  Mr.  Swing  has  made  a  success  is  evidenced  by  the  fact 
that  he  stands  at  the  top  of  his  profession  and  is  conceded  to  be  one 
of  the  foremost  lawyers  in  the  southern  part  of  his  native  state. 
The  reason  for  that  success  is  largely  due  to  the  energy  exerted 
in  behalf  of  and  his  loyalty  to  his  clients.  It  is  said  of  Mr.  Swing 
that  he  never  takes  a  case  that  cannot  conscientiously  and  sincerely 
advocate  to  the  court,  or  in  which  he  does  not  believe  his  client  to  be 
in  the  right.  As  a  result  of  such  action  he  has  gained  and  retains 
the  confidence  and  respect  of  the  courts  and  of  his  fellow  attorneys. 

Aside  from  following  his  profession  Mr.  Swing  has  taken  a 
great  interest  in  the  citrus  industry  and  its  development,  and  in 
civic  affairs,  and  has  done  much  toward  the  development  of  a  proper 
civic  spirit  in  his  home  community.  Being  a  native  of  San  Bernardino, 
one  of  the  principal  objects  of  Mr.  Swing  has  been  to  bring  the 
financial,  civic  and  moral  standing  of  his  home  city  to  the  highest  possible 
standard. 

While  Mr.  Swing  has  been  honored  with  a  few  public  positions 
he  has  never  actually  entered  politics,  but  has  contented  himself  with 
the  exercising  of  the  electoral  franchise  in  an  effort  to  secure  the 
election  of  honest,  competent  and  capable  men  and  woman  to  office, 
and  in  an  effort  to  adopt  such  public  policies  as  he  deemed  best  for  his 
community  and  state. 

Mr.  Swing's  prominence  in  public  affairs,  combined  with  his 
ability  as  a  lawyer  and  his  dependability  as  a  man,  have  made  him  one 
of  the  best-known  figures  in  San  Bernardino  County,  and  won  for 
him  the  approval  of  all  with  whom  he  is  brought  into  contact. 

W.  H.  Backus.  There  are  many  who  struggled  and  won,  held  an 
important  place  in  the  annals  of  Riverside,  did  much  to  advance  and 
put  it  in  the  position  it  now  occupies  who  are  in  a  great  measure  for- 
gotten except  by  their  contemporaries  who  lived,  achieved  and  won. 
Among  those  none  are  more  worthy  of  mention  than  W.  H.  Backus. 
Mr.  Backus  came  to  Riverside  from  Ohio  in  1882  with  his  father, 
Orrin  Backus.  Like  so  many  others  of  the  earlier  settlers  of  River- 
side, he  came  here  for  his  health,  having  been  engaged  in  clerical 
work  in  his  Eastern  home.  Here,  again  like  so  many  others,  his 
puritan  ancestry  showed  in  his  activity  in  colony  lines.  He  was  a 
descendant  in  a  direct  line  from  John  Alden  of  Mayflower  fame,  who 
has  been  better  known  than  any  of  his  compatriots  on  account  of 
his  fame  in  the  courting  by  proxy  of  Priscilla  on  behalf  of  Miles 
Standish  and  marrying  the  lady  himself.  Mr.  Backus,  however, 
did  his  own  courting  and  brought  his  wife  along  with  him.  He  and 
his  father  bought  13  acres  on  what  was  known  at  that  time  as  the 
Government  tract,  and  proceeded  to  improve  it  by  planting  to  raisin 
grapes  and  oranges.  Mr.  Backus,  the  elder,  did  not  survive  for  very 
many  years,  but  lived  with  his  son  and  family  until  he  died. 

From  the  very  first  Mr.  Backus  was  a  success,  having  good  taste 
in  the  arrangement  of  his  fruit  at  all  the  fairs  and  exhibitions  from 
the  time  he  had  any  for  exhibition.  His  vineyard  came  into  full 
vigor  about  the  time  Riverside  was  at  the  height  of  her  fame  in  raisin 
production  and  much  the  largest  producer  of  raisins  in  the  state. 
His  raisins  carried  off  at  all  the  fairs  and  exhibits  in  Riverside  and 
Los  Angeles  most  of  the  blue  ribbons  and  first  premiums.     It  seems 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES      1245 

strange  at  this  late  day  to  look  back  and  find  that  Riverside  took  such 
a  large  part  in  raisin  development  in  the  state,  and  to  know  that  River- 
side does  not  now  produce  a  single  pound  of  raisins  in  a  commercial 
way.  In  addition  to  being  a  leading  exhibitor  of  fruit  he  was  fre- 
quently one  of  the  committee  on  judging  fruit  and  awarding  premiums. 
Southern  California  in  the  early  days  was  the  only  place  in  which  fruit 
fairs  were  held  in  the  state,  with  the  exception  of  the  State  Fair  at 
Sacramento. 

The  first  fair  at  which  Mr.  Backus  obtained  distinction  was  at 
Los  Angeles  at  the  Twenty-eighth  District  Fair  in  Hazards  Pavilion, 
February  10-19,  1890,  where  he  took  five  first  premiums,  one  second 
and  one  fourth,  in  addition  to  which  he  took  $137.50  in  money.  This 
seemed  quite  a  transition  in  the  short  space  of  nine  years  from  book- 
keeper in  a  bank  in  Cleveland  to  a  fruit  ranch  in  Riverside,  California. 
The  reverses  experienced  in  the  raisin  business  on  account  of  meager 
returns  for  fruit  from  middlemen,  coupled  with  the  greater  returns 
promised  from  oranges,  drove  Mr.  Backus,  as  it  did  everybody  else, 
from  the  raisin  business  to  that  of  orange  growing.  His  proximity 
to  the  two  original  Navel  trees  gave  him  excellent  opportunity  for 
obtaining  first  class  trees,  which  in  a  measure  accounted  for  the 
success  he  made  as  a  grower  and  his  exhibition  of  first  class  fruit. 

At  all  the  fairs  in  California  and  at  New  Orleans,  when  Riverside 
established  her  reputation  as  grower  of  the  finest  fruit  in  the  world, 
Mr.  Backus  was  at  all  times  ready  with  his  exhibit  (and  on  one 
occasion  he  was  about  the  sole  exhibitor),  he  always  came  out  ahead. 
His  family  has  now  preserved  in  a  scrap  book  about  fifty  blue  ribbons 
and  records  of  his  success  at  fairs. 

In  his  later  years  he  was  very  much  handicapped  by  ill  health  and 
unable  to  devote  the  time  and  attention  his  grove  required,  and  be- 
tween that,  public  street  improvements  and  the  demand  for  building 
lots  the  grove  has  vanished  and  what  now  remains  of  it  is  devoted 
to  alfalfa. 

Mr.  Backus  died  in  1919,  but  his  family,  consisting  of  wife  and  two 
daughters,  still  occupy  the  comfortable  home.  One  son  occupies  a 
grove  in  the  northern  portion  of  Riverside. 

In  addition  to  being  a  successful  horticulturist  Mr.  Backus  had  a 
"fad"  for  the  study  of  the  natural  history  of  the  rattlesnake  (Crotalus 
Durissus),  and  probably  knew  about  as  much  of  the  rattlesnake  and 
left  about  as  good  a  selection  of  photographs,  rattles,  etc.,  as  any  amateur 
in  the  country. 

David  Hiram  Roddick  is  the  son  of  an  honored  pioneer  of  the  High- 
land district  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  while  educated  for  a  profes- 
sion he  has  found  more  congenial  work  in  the  fundamental  industry  of  this 
section,  citrus  fruit  growing. 

He  was  born  at  South  Highland  July  19,  1890,  son  of  Samuel  Donald 
and  Ellen  (Hume)  Roddick.  His  parents  were  born  in  Picton  County, 
Nova  Scotia,  where  Samuel  Roddick  followed  farming.  In  1887  he 
brought  his  family  to  South  Highland,  and  without  capital  to  secure  a 
stake  in  the  country  he  resorted  to  ranch  labor  for  Cunningham  &  Stone 
for  twelve  years.  Out  of  his  savings  he  purchased  fifteen  acres,  and 
attempted  to  grow  fruit  without  irrigation.  He  started  the  entire  tract  to 
peaches  and  also  erected  a  dryer.  There  followed  a  succession  of  dry 
years  and  failure  of  water,  which  destroyed  the  orchard  and  the  land 
reverted  to  the  desert.  With  a  faith  in  the  ultimate  destiny  of  the  country 
that  knew  no  permanent  obstacle  he  bought  in  1906  a  thirteen  and  a  half 


1246       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

acre  producing  grove  on  Highland  Avenue  from  the  banker,  Ed  Roberts. 
The  purchase  price  was  $21,000,  and  he  gave  Mr.  Roberts  notes  in  pay- 
ment. These  notes  were  all  discharged  in  four  years.  A  stimulating 
example  of  industry  and  persistence  was  that  set  by  Samuel  D.  Roddick. 
He  frequently  worked  ten  hours  a  day  digging  cactus  at  $1.50  a  day,  and 
all  the  children  old  enough  aided  him  in  paying  off  the  debt.  Later  he 
bought  ten  acres  on  Atlantic  Avenue,  and  that  was  his  home  at  the  time 
of  his  death  on  March  17,  1916.  He  was  a  pioneer  in  Highland,  came 
here  when  the  country  was  largely  undeveloped,  and  his  extreme  energy 
and  economy  brought  him  a  generous  estate.  No  road  was  too  hard  and 
no  day  too  long,  and  he  steadily  went  his  way  and  succeeded  in  establishing 
himself  and  family  financially  and  also  in  the  estimation  of  the  com- 
munity. His  widow  survives.  They  reared  six  children  to  maturity : 
James  Robert,  the  oldest,  now  a  druggist  at  Muskogee,  Oklahoma;  Wil- 
liam Henry,  an  orange  grower  at  Highland ;  Mrs.  Will  Painter,  wife  of  a 
San  Bernardino  dairyman ;  George  Melville,  a  clerk  at  Highland ;  David 
Hiram,  and  Howard  Russell,  who  had  an  interesting  record  of  service  in 
the  World  war.  He  volunteered  at  the  first  call  in  the  Ambulance  Corps 
as  an  ambulance  driver  with  the  Medical  Corps,  was  trained  at  Fort  Riley, 
Kansas,  was  overseas  eighteen  months,  and  was  in  the  thick  of  danger 
along  the  battlefront  for  a  hundred  days  at  Chateau  Thierry,  the  Argonne, 
St.  Mihiel,  and  finally  proceeded  with  the  Army  of  Occupation  to  Coblenz. 
He  escaped  unwounded. 

David  Hiram  Roddick  acquired  a  good  education,  his  father  having 
passed  the  critical  affairs  in  his  financial  affairs  by  the  time  he  was  pre- 
pared for  school.  He  graduated  from  the  San  Bernardino  High  School 
and  in  1913  received  a  degree  as  a  pharmacist  from  the  University  of 
Southern  California.  Instead  of  following  his  profession  he  took  up 
orange  growing  and  in  1917  bought  sixteen  acres  on  Boulder  Avenue  in 
Highland,  this  tract  being  planted  to  Yalencias,  Navels  and  also  the  grape 
fruit.     It  is  a  high  class  ranch  with  a  modern  home. 

Mr.  Roddick  married  Miss  Lida  Garrett,  of  Los  Angeles.  She  was 
born  in  Colorado  in  1894,  but  is  a  graduate  of  the  Long  Beach  High 
School.  She  is  retiring  president  of  the  Highland  Woman's  Club. 
Mr.  Roddick  is  chancellor  commander  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias.  They 
have  one  son,  Keith  Garrett  Roddick,  born  March  21,  1921.  The  family 
are  members  of  the  Highland  Congregational  Church. 

Herbert  Poppett. — In  his  hard  working  career  in  San  Bernardino 
County  Herbert  Poppett  has  gone  over  a  span  of  nearly  forty  years,  and 
while  he  is  still  active  and  by  no  means  aged,  he  has  an  abundance  of 
prosperity  permitting  him  to  take  life  leisurely. 

Mr.  Poppett  and  his  parents  were  natives  of  England.  He  was  born 
in  Shropshire  July  14,  1865,  son  of  John  and  Martha  Poppett  and  was  the 
third  of  their  four  sons  and  three  daughters.  As  a  boy  he  had  little  oppor- 
tunity to  attend  school,  a  deficiency  supplied  in  later  years  by  reading, 
study  and  observation.  At  the  age  of  twelve  he  began  making  his  own 
living,  and  while  working  out  in  service  in  England  his  compensation 
consisted  of  board,  clothes  and  $30.00  a  year. 

In  1881,  at  the  age  of  sixteen,  he  came  to  America,  traveled  by  emigrant 
train  from  New  York  to  San  Francisco  in  twenty  days,  and  thence  to  San 
Bernardino,  where  he  joined  his  uncle,  Robert  Poppett.  His  first  employ- 
ment here  was  with  a  threshing  machine.  The  following  spring  he  found 
work  out  on  the  desert,  but  in  1885  returned  to  the  valley.  For  about  ten 
years  he  depended  upon  the  earnings  of  his  manual  toil,  but  in  1893 
bought  from  James  Fleming  and  Tyler  Brothers  ten  acres  of  unimproved 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1247 

land  on  LaPraix  Street  in  Highland.  He  did  all  the  work  of  a  pioneer 
on  this  tract,  cultivating  it  and  setting  it  to  citrus  fruits.  This  is  the  site 
of  his  modern  home  overlooking  the  valley  and  with  a  full  view  of  the 
mountains  on  the  north.  Subsequently,  as  his  prosperity  justified  it,  he 
bought  two  other  ten-acre  tracts  at  Harlem  Springs.  When  Mr.  Poppett 
came  into  the  valley  only  a  beginning  had  been  made  of  citrus  culture. 
His  present  home  and  grove  was  then  used  as  an  ox  pasture.  Mr.  Poppett 
knew  nearly  all  the  first  settlers,  most  of  whom  have  now  passed  away. 

He  married  Miss  Eva  McReynolds,  a  native  of  Missouri.  Five  chil- 
dren have  been  born  to  their  union.  The  oldest,  Stanley  Llewelyn  Poppett, 
is  a  graduate  of  the  San  Bernardino  High  School,  was  in  the  United 
States  Navy  during  the  World  war  until  the  signing  of  the  armistice,  and 
is  now  a  clerk  in  the  offices  of  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  at  San  Bernardino. 
The  second  child,  Frances  Willard,  born  in  April,  1899,  is  a  graduate  of 
the  San  Bernardino  High  School,  a  young  woman  of  exceptional  talents, 
and  was  married  June  19,  1921,  to  Leo  McCrary,  of  Redlands.  The  third 
child,  Herbert  Milton,  born  in  1902,  graduated  in  1921  from  the  San 
Bernardino  High  School  and  is  now  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  under 
the  name  of  Hooker  &  Poppett  in  Highland.  The  two  youngest  children 
are  John  Roy  Poppett,  born  in  1909,  who  will  graduate  from  the  high 
school  in  1926,  and  Frederick  Robert  Poppett,  born  in  1911,  a  student  in 
the  grammar  school. 

Mr.  Poppett  in  his  life  has  exemplified  some  of  the  best  traits  of 
Americanism.  He  has  been  reliable,  thrifty,  industrious,  has  improved  his 
holdings  from  wild,  unproductive  waste  lands  to  abundant  fruiting,  has  a 
family  about  him  of  well  educated,  useful  young  citizens,  and  while  he 
has  worked  hard  he  has  enjoyed  living  and  living  right  and  is  one  of  the 
county's  best  citizens. 

William  Lindenberg. — His  life  in  Redlands  and  his  association  with 
its  development  for  a  period  of  time  covering  nearly  forty  years  surely 
entitles  William  Lindenberg  to  rank  with  the  early  pioneers  of  that  county. 
When  he  passed  away  the  city  lost  one  of  its  best  citizens,  one  who  had 
from  the  first  a  vital  interest  in  its  material  growth  and  adornment,  one 
who  sought  to  maintain  the  high  character  of  its  citizenship  and  who  left 
visible  monuments  of  his  love  for  the  beautiful  in  which  the  esthetic  and 
the  practical  were  so  deftly  blended.  Land  which  was  covered  with 
greasewood  and  sage  brush  under  his  careful  supervision  gave  way  to 
orange  groves,  fruit  orchards  and  beautiful  drives,  and  today  tourists 
share  with  the  citizens  much  that  his  work,  supervision  and  care  gave  to 
Redlands. 

Mr.  Lindenberg  was  a  pioneer  orange  grower  in  his  district  and  also 
was  considered  an  authority  on  all  citrus  fruits.  He  not  only  developed, 
but  he  saved  from  extinction  many  groves,  and  his  advice  was  always 
followed  and  he  was  sought  by  not  only  the  new  growers,  but  those  of 
long  experience. 

It  was  not  alone  as  a  grower  that  Mr.  Lindenberg  will  be  long  remem- 
bered by  the  generation  which  was  his  in  the  city  of  his  adoption,  for  he 
was  one  of  the  most  public  spirited  citizens  Redlands  has  ever  known. 
In  the  early  days  level  headed,  broad  minded  men  were  needed,  men  who 
had  the  vision  to  see  what  the  future  held  if  they  were  only  wise  enough 
and  courageous  enough  to  grasp  the  opportunity.  He  was  consulted  on 
many  of  the  early  problems  of  the  city,  and  his  advice  was  accepted  always, 
the  result  being  success  in  all  such  undertakings.  His  honest,  upright 
principles  and  charities  made  him  early  known  as  a  worth-while  citizen, 
and  in  his  long  life  he  stood  out  as  one  of  Redland's  most  dependable, 


1248       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

reliable  and  prominent  men.  He  is  today  cited  as  an  example  of  what  a 
man  may  become  if  he  is  blessed  with  the  perseverance,  intellect,  moral 
courage  and  hearty  will  possessed  by  Mr.  Lindenberg,  but  unfortunately, 
such  men  are  rare.  He  passed  into  eternity  loved  by  his  family  and 
friends,  respected  and  honored  by  the  city  he  had  served  so  long,  so 
freely  and  so  well. 

William  Lindenberg  was  born  in  Hildesheim,  Germany,  January  21, 
1845.  and  attended  school  there  until  he  reached  the  age  of  fourteen,  when 
a  combination  of  circumstances  ended  his  education  as  far  as  a  school  room 
went.  He  was,  however,  helped  by  his  friends  and  people,  and  he  suc- 
ceeded in  securing  a  good  practical  education  through  study  and  travel. 

He  decided  to  come  to  America  when  nineteen  years  old,  and  he  reached 
America  in  1864,  joining  an  older  brother  who  was  living  in  St.  Louis 
Missouri,  Frederick  Lindenberg.  He  lived  in  the  East  until  1876,  when 
he  came  to  California,  locating  in  Los  Angeles,  but  a  year  later  he  made 
San  Bernardino  a  temporary  home.  He  engaged  at  first  in  farming,  but  he 
moved  to  the  Lugonia  District,  Redlands,  in  1880,  where  he  purchased 
twenty  acres  of  land,  determined  to  make  it  his  permanent  home  This 
land  was  partially  set  to  deciduous  fruit  and  the  remainder  he  at  once 
planted  to  oranges. 

To  him  also  is  given  the  credit  for  the  planting  of  many  of  the  orange 
groves  of  this  rarely  productive  section.  He  also  worked  as  a  recon- 
structionist,  for  he  later  bought  groves  which  had  been  neglected  and  run 
down,  and  no  matter  how  bad  a  condition  they  were  in,  by  his  excellent 
constant  care  he  always  brought  them  up  *to  normal  and  then  he  fold 
them.  He  also  superintended  the  planting  and  care  of  a  100-acre  travt 
on  San  Bernardino  Avenue. 

After  a  period  of  time  Mr.  Lindenberg  moved  to  the  Williams  Traot. 
leaving  flourishing  groves  of  oranges  on  the  Lugonia  tract.  As  soon  as 
he  moved  he  set  out  a  grove  and  then  built  a  modern  residence,  where  he 
lived  for  ten  years.  He  then  purchased  a  lot  on  The  Terrace,  a  beautiful 
residential  district  of  Redlands,  and  he  put  it  in  fine  condition,  building  a 
beautiful  home  and  in  1903  he  occupied  it  with  his  family.  The  grounds 
are  most  artistic  and  beautiful.  Here  he  lived  until  his  death  on  December 
13,  1913.     Financial  success  had  rewarded  him. 

Mr.  Lindenberg  was  a  member  of  the  Congregational  Church.  In  Mis- 
souri he  married  on  February  6,  1873,  Elvira  McCollough,  who  was  of 
Scotch  descent.  They  had  three  children :  Christine,  a  graduate  of  the 
Redlands  High  School  and  an  accomplished  musician;  Henry,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  eighteen,  and  Beatrice,  who  was  also  educated  in  Redlands. 

Denver  Chaffee,  one  of  the  successful  orange  growers  of  San  Bern- 
ardino County,  has  a  well  improved  orange  grove  at  Bloomington, 
where  he  is  also  a  director  of  the  Citizens  Land  &  Water  Company, 
his  modern  and  attractive  residence  being  at  the  corner  of  Slover 
and  Linden  avenues. 

The  consistency  of  the  personal  or  Christian  name  of  Mr.  Chaffee 
becomes  apparent  when  it  is  stated  that  he  was  born  at  Denver, 
Colorado,  March  22,  1876,  prior  to  the  admission  of  that  state  to 
the  Union.  He  is  a  scion  of  the  staunchest  of  American  stock,  his 
ancestors  having  established  residence  in  this  country  in  the  early 
colonial  period  and  representatives  of  the  line  having  been  found  as 
patriot  soldiers  in  every  war  in  which  the  nation  has  been  involved. 
Mr.  Chaffee  is  eligible  for  affiliation  with  the  Society  of  the  Sons  of 
the  American  Revolution,  John  Medberry,  his  great-grandfather, 
having  served  under  General  Washington  and  having  been  with  his 


John  M.,  .Mrs.  Chaffee,  Dorotha  L. 
Robert  ])..  Richard  I-..  Denver  Chafft 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1249 

great  commander  in  the  historic  crossing  uf  the  Delaware  River  in 
an  open  boat,  on  a  Christmas  night.  George  and  Charles  A.  Chaffee, 
uncles  of  Denver  Chaffee,  were  gallant  soldiers  of  the  Union  in  the 
Civil  war,  George  having  been  a  sharpshooter  in  his  regiment,  and 
both  were  held  captives  in  infamous  old  Andersonville  Prison. 

Air.  Chaffee  is  a  son  of  John  M.  and  Charlotte  (Culver)  Chaffee, 
the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  Susquehanna  County,  Pennsylvania, 
March  17,  1830,  and  the  latter  was  born  at  Athens,  Athens  County, 
Ohio,  September  6,  1834,  her  death  having  occurred  at  Ontario, 
California,  April  4,  1914,  and  her  husband  having  passed  the  closing 
period  of  his  life  in  the  home  of  his  son  Denver,  at  Bloomington, 
where  his  death  occurred  February  29,  1920. 

John  M.  Chaffee  became  a  pioneer  settler  in  Iowa,  developed  one 
of  the  fine  farm  estates  of  Pope  County,  that  state,  and  was  one  of 
the  most  honored  and  influential  citizens  of  the  county,  as  a  member 
of  whose  board  of  supervisors  he  did  much  to  enable  the  county  to 
free  itself  from  debt.  He  was  a  staunch  republican  in  politics  and 
in  the  Scottish  Rite  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  he  received  the  thirty- 
second  degree  and  was  also  a  member  of  the  Shrine.  Mr.  Chaffee 
passed  two  years  in  traveling  about  the  western  states  with  team 
and  wagon,  and  in  1903  he  established  his  home  at  Ontario,  Cali- 
fornia, and  both  he  and  his  wife  passed  the  remainder  of  their  lives 
in  San  Bernardino  County.  Fannie,  (Mrs.  McClain)  eldest  of  their 
four  children,  is  resident  of  Des  Moines,  Iowa;  Ira  resides  at  Alham- 
bra,  California;  Jennie  M.  died  in  1921,  in  the  City  of  Los  Angeles; 
and  Denver,  of  this  sketch,  is  the  youngest  of  the  four. 

After  having  received  the  advantages  of  the  public  schools  of 
Iowa,  Denver  Chaffee  there  pursued  a  higher  course  of  study,  in 
Drake  University,  at  Des  Moines.  At  the  age  of  twenty-one  years 
he  returned  to  his  native  state,  Colorado,  and  for  eight  years  he 
was  in  the  employ  of  the  Chicago,  Burlington  &  Quincy  Railroad, 
first  as  fireman  and  thereafter  as  engineer.  He  resigned  his  position 
as  engineer  to  become  a  melter  in  the  United  States  mint  at  Denver, 
where  he  was  employed  four  years.  While  on  a  furlough  from  the 
mint  he  entered  the  temporary  employ  of  Sterns,  Rogers  &  Company, 
of  Denver,  and  while  thus  engaged  he  met  with  an  injury  that  led, 
upon  his  physician's  orders,  to  his  coming  to  California.  Here  he 
made  permanent  settlement  in  the  autumn  of  1911.  He  purchased 
twenty  acres  of  land  in  the  Bloomington  district,  and  here  he  has 
developed  and  improved  his  fine  home  and  orange  grove,  the  latter 
receiving  his  personal  supervision. 

At  Denver,  Colorado,  on  the  8th  of  June,  1901,  Mr.  Chaffee  wedded 
Miss  Cora  M.  Cunningham,  who  was  born  at  Trenton,  Missouri, 
January  16,  1876.  a  daughter  of  Samuel  B.  and  Anna  (Roberts)  Cun- 
ningham, likewise  natives  of  Missouri.  Mrs.  Chaffee  was  but  four 
years  of  age  at  the  time  of  her  mother's  death,  her  father  having 
been  at  the  time  a  contractor  and  builder  in  the  city  of  Denver 
and  having  later  become  a  farmer  in  Weld  County,  Colorado.  Mrs. 
Chaffee  attended  Denver  University,  and  prior  to  her  marriage  was 
for  five  years  a  successful  teacher  in  the  schools  of  Denver.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Chaffee  have  four  children  :  Dorothy  Lucile,  who  was  born 
in  Denver,  February  7,  1903,  was  graduated  in  the  San  Bernardino 
High  School  in  1920,  attended  the  Junior  College  at  Riverside  one 
year  and  in  1922  is  a  student  of  art  and  domestic  science  in  the  State 
Agricultural  College  of  Oregon.  John  Matthew,  born  at  Denver  on 
the  8th  of  December,  1906,  is  a  member  of  the  class  of  1924  in  the 


1250       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Colton  High  School.  Robert  Denver,  born  at  Denver,  July  28,  1910, 
is  attending  public  schools  at  Bloomington.  Richard  Franklin,  born 
at  San  Bernardino,  January  12,  1915,  is  likewise  attending  the  home 
schools.  Mrs.  Chaffee  was  for  three  years  president  of  the  Parents- 
Teachers  Association  of  Bloomington  and  is  now  president  of  the 
Woman's  Club  of  this  place.  Mr.  Chaffee  is  a  stalwart  republican 
and  while  he  has  had  no  desire  for  public  office  his  civic  loyalty 
has  been  shown  in  his  effective  service  as  a  member  of  the  Board 
of  Education  at  Bloomington,  of  which  he  has  been  secretarv  since 
1919. 

Grant  Holcomb. — In  the  history  of  San  Bernardino  County  pub- 
lished herewith  several  references  are  made  to  that  California  pioneer  Wil- 
liam F.  Holcomb,  discoverer  of  Holcomb  Valley,  a  spot  in  the  San  Bernar- 
dino Mountains  now  known  for  its  picturesque  character  and  setting.  A 
grandson  of  that  pioneer  gold  miner  is  Grant  Holcomb,  a  prominent  young 
attorney  and  citizen  of  San  Bernardino. 

William  F.  Holcomb  crossed  the  plains  to  California  in  1849.  He  was 
a  fine  type  of  the  frontiersman,  one  accustomed  to  the  hardships  of  a 
lonely  mountain  in  the  lonely  desert  and  pursuing  fortune  for  the  sake  of 
the  adventure  rather  than  the  money  itself.  When  he  uncovered  the  placer 
gold  deposits  in  the  valley  that  now  bears  his  name  he  did  more  than 
anything  else  to  attract  people  to  San  Bernardino  County.  Within  six 
months  after  his  discovery  there  were  2,000  men  in  the  valley.  This  valley 
lies  in  the  adjacent  mountains,  just  north  of  Bear  Valley,  now  the  great 
summer  resort  of  Southern  California.  William  F.  Holcomb  in  his  adven- 
tures as  a  hunter  and  miner  prospected  over  nearly  all  the  country  from 
Vancouver,  British  Columbia,  to  Arizona.  He  was  one  of  the  discoverers 
of  the  famous  Vulture  Mine  in  Arizona,  from  which  more  than  $8,000,000 
were  taken.  He  sold  a  third  interest  in  this  property  for  $1,000, 
and  afterward,  in  telling  the  experience,  he  referred  with  a  quiet  humor 
rather  than  any  bitterness  to  the  fact  that  he  was  cheated  out  of  half  the 
amount  of  the  sale.  His  partner  at  the  time  was  Dick  Gird,  discoverer  of 
the  mines  at  Tombstone,  Arizona.  William  F.  Holcomb  after  the  discovery 
of  gold  in  Holcomb  Valley  worked  successfully  at  mining  for  several 
years.  He  was  then  elected  county  clerk,  treasurer  and  assessor.  This 
office  he  filled  for  several  terms.  He  was  a  type  of  official  who  was  not 
hampered  by  traditions  or  precedents,  and  he  was  guided  first  of  all  by 
the  necessity  of  getting  the  thing  done  required  by  his  official  duty.  Among 
other  duties  he  had  to  levy  and  collect  the  personal  tax.  He  levied  a  tax 
on  the  Santa  Fe  personal  property.  When  the  railroad  refused  to  pay, 
this  man  of  action  secured  some  logging  chains  and,  accompanied  by  a 
number  of  deputy  sheriffs,  went  to  the  Santa  Fe  depot  and  proceeded  to 
make  an  attachment.  The  most  available  property  was  a  locomotive  stand- 
ing on  the  main  track  in  front  of  the  depot.  The  wheels  were  secured 
with  the  chains  and  he  placed  padlocks  on  them  and  then  left  the  deputies 
in  charge  until  the  law  should  be  complied  with.  This  summary  action 
naturally  caused  great  excitement  among  railroad  officials,  and  there  was  a 
tremendous  buzzing  of  telegraph  wires  until  the  necessary  orders  could  be 
complied  with  for  paying  off  the  tax.  This  incident  was  in  a  manner 
characteristic  of  the  West,  and  especially  of  the  upright  and  straightfor- 
ward character  of  William  F.  Holcomb. 

This  splendid  old  pioneer  died  about  1909.  He  married  Nancy  Stewart 
at  San  Bernardino.  She  had  come  across  the  plains  with  her  father 
from  Utah. 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1251 

Their  son  William  Winfield  Holcomb  is  also  a  native  of  California, 
born  in  San  Bernardino,  where  he  was  educated  in  the  public  schools.  He 
served  as  a  deputy  clerk  under  his  father,  later  engaged  in  the  lumber 
business,  and  following  that  for  many  years  was  a  feed  and  fuel  merchant. 
He  then  resumed  an  official  routine  as  deputy  sheriff. 

William  W.  Holcomb  married  at  Santa  Maria  Miss  Isabella  Grant,  a 
native  of  San  Bernardino  and  daughter  of  John  and  Margaret  (Nish) 
Grant,  farmers  and  cattle  raisers  of  that  section. 

Grant  Holcomb,  only  child  of  his  parents,  was  born  at  San  Bernardino 
and  was  carefully  educated  in  the  grammar  and  high  schools  of  that  city, 
graduating  from  high  school  in  1907.  He  soon  afterward  entered  Stan- 
ford University,  from  which  he  received  his  A.  B.  degree  in  1911,  and  in 
1913  graduated  with  the  degree  J.  D.  He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  the 
same  year,  and  for  nearly  ten  years  has  been  active  in  the  legal  profession 
at  San  Bernardino.  He  does  a  general  practice,  though  with  special  call 
for  his  abilities  in  Probate  work.  He  is  attorney  for  the  San  Bernardino 
Auto  Trades  Association,  and  has  his  offices  in  the  Garner  Building  at 
E  and  Court  streets.  Mr.  Holcomb  is  a  director  of  the  California  State 
Bank  and  of  the  Gill  Storage  Battery  Company.  He  is  a  charter  member 
of  the  Rotary  Club  and  has  served  that  club  as  a  director,  is  a  director 
of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  and  a  member  of  the  Young  Men's  Chris- 
tian Association,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  Independent 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and  Delta  Chi  college  fraternity.  For  three  years 
while  in  high  school  he  was  a  member  of  the  San  Bernardino  National 
Guard.  He  is  treasurer  of  the  Baptist  Church,  and  has  been  deeply  in- 
terested in  politics,  though  not  as  an  office  seeker.  For  two  terms  he  was 
a  member  of  the  Republican  County  Central  Committee. 

On  June  15,  1916,  at  San  Francisco,  Mr.  Grant  Holcomb  married 
Miss  Eleanor  Frances  Burkham,  a  native  of  California  and  daughter  of 
S.  B.  and  M.  L.  Burkham,  of  Bodie,  California.  S.  B.  Burkham  was  a 
prominent  participant  in  the  rich  and  aried  historical  scenes  that  made 
Bodie  one  of  the  most  famous  towns  of  the  great  West.  In  the  early 
days  he  owned  the  stage  line  and  the  general  store  at  Bodie,  and  operated 
a  stage  between  Bodie  and  Carson  City,  Nevada,  when  the  transportation 
of  passengers  and  mails  was  constantly  beset  by  dangers  of  highwaymen. 
Mrs.  Holcomb  is  also  a  graduate  of  Stanford  University,  receiving  her 
A.  B.  degree  in  1914.  She  is  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Directors  of  the 
Woman's  Club  of  San  Bernardino  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Young 
Women's  Christian  Association.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Holcomb  have  two  chil- 
dren, Grant,  Jr.,  and  Kathryn  Lee. 

Richard  Harrison  Garland  was  one  of  the  original  Chicago  asso- 
ciation that  founded  the  original  colony  properly  regarded  historically  as 
the  beginning  of  the  modern  city  of  Redlands.  He  gave  a  whole-souled 
devotion  to  every  item  in  the  welfare  of  the  settlement  during  the  years 
he  lived  here,  and  his  memory  is  properly  treasured  as  a  pioneer. 

Mr.  Garland  was  born  at  Zanesville,  Ohio,  July  22,  1842.  His  father, 
Andrew  Garland,  was  a  stone  mason  by  trade.  Andrew  Garland  superin- 
tended the  building  of  historic  Fort  Sumter  in  Charleston  Harbor,  the 
capture  of  which  was  the  first  open  act  of  hostility  at  the  beginning  of  the 
Civil  war.  His  son  Richard  H.  was  a  soldier  in  that  war,  and  helped  restore 
the  union  broken  by  the  fall  of  Fort  Sumter.  From  Zanesville  Andrew 
Garland  moved  to  Mount  Vernon,  Ohio,  and  was  a  farmer  and  stock 
raiser  there  until  his  death  in  1873. 

Richard  Harrison  Garland  grew  up  in  Ohio,  and  at  the  beginning  of  the 
Civil  war  enlisted  in  Company  A  of  the  Sixty-fifth  Ohio  Infantry.     He 


1252       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

participated  in  the  battles  of  Shiloh,  Corinth,  Perryville,  Stone  River, 
Chickamauga,  Lookout  Mountain,  Missionary  Ridge,  and  at  Missionary 
Ridge  his  brigade  captured  the  batteries  in  front  of  General  Bragg's  head- 
quarters and  turned  the  guns  on  the  enemy.  Through  partial  disablement 
about  that  time  Mr.  Garland  was  assigned  to  the  Eastern  Army,  in  the 
Quartermaster's  Corps.  At  the  close  of  the  war  he  remained  in  the  service 
of  the  army  department  in  the  Freedman's  Bureau  engaged  in  distributing 
supplies  and  establishing  free  schools  for  the  negroes  in  the  South.  Later 
he  was  transferred  to  the  Pacific  Coast  with  the  staff  of  General  Thomas, 
and  was  present  at  the  death  of  that  great  leader  at  San  Francisco.  When 
he  resumed  civilian  life  in  1870  he  removed  to  Chicago,  where  he  became 
a  manufacturer  of  art  furniture  and  interior  decorations. 

It  was  in  1886  that  a  group  of  Chicago  people  formed  the  association 
and  planned  the  founding  of  a  town  and  community  in  Southern  Cali- 
fornia. Mr.  Garland  was  one  of  the  most  active  promoters  of  this  project. 
An  investigating  committee  was  sent  out  and  selected  440  acres,  divided 
among  the  forty  members  of  the  association.  Seventeen  acres  was  set 
aside  as  a  townsite  and  is  now  the  business  portion  of  Redlands.  Mr. 
Garland  came  to  Redlands  in  1886,  and  with  characteristic  energy  began 
the  development  of  his  own  lands  and  worked  with  his  fellow  citizens  in 
matters  of  general  improvement.  His  tract  of  some  thirty  acres  was 
situated  on  Citrus  Avenue  in  East  Redlands,  and  he  began  its  develop- 
ment as  an  orange  plantation.  He  also  received  his  lot  on  the  townsite  on 
West  State  Street.  He  deeded  this  to  his  wife,  and  seven  months  later 
she  sold  it  for  $1,400.  The  original  cost  was  $25.00.  The  main  property 
located  by  Mr.  Garland  is  still  owned  by  the  family.  During  the  twelve 
active  years  he  spent  here  he  made  improvements  that  reclaimed  a  sage 
brush  tract  into  a  profitable  plantation.  He  levelled  the  land  and  filled  up 
the  ditches,  installed  irrigation,  and  by  his  planting  started  the  develop- 
ment which  is  now  represented  by  one  of  the  most  beautiful  places  at  Red- 
lands.  The  substantial  home  still  in  use  was  erected  from  materials  he 
transported  by  team  and  wagon  from  San  Bernardino,  there  being  no 
railroad  to  Redlands.  Mr.  Garland  was  one  of  the  early  directors  of  the 
local  Chamber  of  Commerce,  and  was  for  four  years  a  member  of  the 
Board  of  City  Trustees.  His  death  on  May  27,  1898,  removed  one  of  the 
strongest  and  best  men  from  local  citizenship.  He  did  the  work  of  a 
pioneer,  work  that  continues  cumulative  benefit  to  all  subsequent  genera- 
tions. He  was  a  stanch  republican  in  politics,  though  not  interested  in 
politics  as  a  source  of  personal  honor.     He  was  a  Scottish  Rite  Mason. 

In  1872  Mr.  Garland  married  Miss  Margaret  McGovern,  a  native  of 
New  Haven.  Connecticut,  who  as  a  child  moved  with  her  parents  to  Chi- 
cago in  1864.  She  was  the  fifth  in  a  family  of  nine  children.  Her  brother 
John  served  throughout  the  Civil  war  and  was  killed  at  Atlanta  by  a 
sharpshooter  just  at  the  very  close  of  the  war.  Mrs.  Garland  died  October 
27,  1918,  at  Redlands.  She  retained  her  vigor  to  old  age  and  her  appear- 
ance was  that  of  a  woman  many  years  her  junior.  Of  her  children  two 
survive :    Sanford  S.  and  Maud  M.  Garland. 

The  death  of  Mr.  Garland  in  1898  occurred  at  a  time  when,  owing  to 
the  water  shortages,  the  orange  growers  faced  a  crisis.  Mrs.  Garland 
showed  the  strength  of  her  character  by  courageously  taking  up  the  burden, 
and  by  her  personal  resources  and  prudence  and  foresight  maintaining 
the  Garland  orchard  under  difficulties  so  that  in  a  large  degree  she  was 
personally  responsible  for  the  beauty  and  productiveness  of  the  tract  today. 
She  met  every  obligation  scrupulously,  and  succeeded  in  rearing  her  chil- 
dren and.  moveover.  was  a  kind  neighbor  and  loyal  friend,  so  that  many 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1253 

outside  her  family  circle  had  reason  to  be  grateful  for  her  numerous  acts 
of  generosity  and  kindness. 

F.  P.  Morrison. — A  native  son  of  California,  and  a  member  of  one 
of  the  pioneer  families  of  the  state,  F.  P.  Morrison  has  lived  in  and 
about  Redlands  nearly  forty  years,  and  his  energy  and  efforts  have 
forged  a  strong  link  in  the  community's  progress.  He  was  actively 
identified  with  some  of  the  important  early  constructive  developments, 
and  for  many  years  has  been  a  leading  banker  of  Redlands. 

Mr.  Morrison  was  born  at  San  Francisco  August  31,  1859,  son  of 
A.  L.  Sarah  (Pease)  Morrison,  the  former  a  native  of  Ohio  and  the 
latter  of  Michigan.  The  father  was  in  business  in  Ohio  until  he  came 
to  California  in  the  early  days,  and  here  took  up  the  work  of  pioneer 
development  of  the  water  resources  in  the  northern  part  of  the  state. 
Of  four  children,  two  sons  and  two  daughters,  F.  P.  Morrison  was  the 
oldest,  and  was  only  a  child  when  his  parents  died.  He  acquired  a 
liberal  education,  attending  school  at  San  Francisco  and  San  Jose  and 
then  went  East  to  pursue  a  technical  course  in  the  Sheffield  Scientific 
School  at  Yale  University.  He  left  University  in  1878,  at  the  end  of 
his  junior  year,  on  account  of  ill  health.  To  regain  health  and  strength 
he  spent  three  years  in  the  Hawaiian  Islands,  and  in  December.  18S2, 
came  to  Riverside  and  the  following  year  moved  to  Redlands.  He  was 
attracted  here  partly  by  the  climate  and  scenery,  but  also  by  the  wonder- 
ful possibilities  for  development  of  a  country  which  was  then  mainly 
unproductive.  His  first  purchase  of  land  was  on  Palm  Avenue.  Prac- 
tically all  of  it  was  unimproved,  but  later  he  set  it  to  and  developed  a 
splendid  grove  of  oranges,  and  on  it  eventually  he  erected  the  handsome 
home  he  now  enjoys.  Mr.  Morrison  became  one  of  the  stockholders  in 
Bear  Valley  Dam,  owning  1,000  shares  of  the  original  3,600.  He  sold 
his  stock  before  this  great  pioneer  project  of  irrigation  was  completed. 
He  joined  other  undertakings  projected  for  the  general  improvement  of 
this  section.  However,  to  an  increasing  degree  his  financial  abilities 
brought  him  into  prominence,  and  as  such  he  was  instrumental  in  the 
establishment  of  what  is  now  the  First  National  Bank  of  Redlands. 
This  was  established  March  5,  1887,  as  the  Bank  of  East  San  Ber- 
nardino Valley,  being  opened  for  business  on  the  4th  of  April  of  that 
year.  Mr.  Morrison  was  the  first  president,  and  remained  president 
through  subsequent  changes  until  ill  health  demanded  his  resignation 
about  six  years  ago.  This  bank  started  with  a  stock  of  $25,000,  and 
was  first  opened  in  the  Cook  Building  at  the  corner  of  Colton  Avenue 
and  Orange  Street.  It  was  soon  moved  to  the  Wilson  and  Berry  Block, 
opposite,  and  in  1892  to  its  present  location  at  the  southwest  corner  of 
Orange  and  State  streets.  This  modern  banking  house  is  now  the  home 
of  both  the  First  National  Bank  of  Redlands  and  the  Savings  Bank  of 
Redlands,  which  was  incorporated  June  25,  1891.  Mr.  Morrison  was 
also  "the  first  president  of  the  Savings  Bank. 

As  a  banker  noted  for  his  conservative  judgment  Mr.  Morrison  has 
been,  nevertheless,  progressive  in  every  direction  where  the  permanent 
and  true  welfare  of  the  city  and  surrounding  district  was  concerned.  At 
the  first  election  under  the  city  charter  he  was  chosen  city  treasurer,  an 
office  he  held  until  recent  years.  He  is  a  Knight  Templar  and  thirty- 
second  degree  Scottish  Rite  Mason. 

Mr.  Morrison  married  Miss  Mabel  Stillman,  daughter  of  Dr.  J.  D.  B. 
Stillman.  Mr.  Morrison  has  four  children,  and  derives  the  highest  sense 
of  patriotic  satisfaction  in  the  war  record  of  his  three  sons.     The  oldest 


1254       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

child,  Laurence  Stillman  Morrison,  born  at  Redlands  May  28,  1888, 
graduated  from  high  school,  and,  like  the  other  sons,  was  sent  East  for 
his  higher  education.  He  graduated  from  the  Phillips  Andover  Academy 
of  Massachusetts  in  1907,  received  his  A.  B.  degree  from  Yale  Univer- 
sity in  1911,  and  during  the  World  war  was  in  the  Medical  Corps  with 
the  One  Hundred  and  Sixty-Third  Field  Hospital,  seeing  active  service 
overseas  in  France  from  December,  1917,  to  April,  1919.  He  was 
mustered  out  May  24,  1919,  and  was  assistant  cashier  of  the  Savings  Bank 
of  Redlands.  The  second  son,  Stanley  Morrison,  was  born  June  4,  1892, 
graduated  from  Phillips  Andover  Academy  in  1911,  from  Yale  Univer- 
sity with  the  A.  B.  degree  in  1915,  and  from  Harvard  Law  School  with 
the  LL.B.  degree.  In  August,  1917,  he  enlisted,  was  assigned  to  the 
One  Hundred  and  Forty-fourth  Field  Artillery,  was  trained  at  Camp 
Kearney,  and  while  there  received  a  commission  as  second  lieutenant,  was 
sent  to  the  School  of  Fire  at  Fort  Sill,  becoming  an  instructor  while 
there,  and  as  an  instructor  remained  at  Fort  Sill  until  the  close  of  the 
war.  He  was  promoted  to  first  lieutenant.  He  is  now  engaged  in  law 
practice  at  San  Francisco.  The  third  of  the  family  is  Amy,  Mrs.  H.  O. 
Philips,  of  Pasadena.  The  youngest,  William  Pease  Morrison,  born 
May  7,  1895,  at  Redlands,  attended  local  schools,  graduated  from  Phillips 
Andover  Academy  in  1914,  spent  one  year  in  the  Sheffield  Scientific  School 
at  Yale,  and  two  years  in  the  University  of  California.  He  left  university 
to  enlist  in  the  ambulance  corps,  and  was  assigned  to  a  camp  at  Allen- 
town,  Pennsylvania,  subsequently  attending  the  Officers  Training  School 
at  Camp  Meade,  Maryland,  and  was  commissioned  a  second  lieutenant. 
He  was  on  duty  at  Camp  Upton,  Long  Island,  as  acting  battalion  adjutant 
in  the  Depot  Brigade,  and  remained  there  until  after  the  signing  of  the 
armistice,  when  he  was  released  from  service.  He  is  now  managing  one 
of  his  father's  ranches  in  the  San  Joaquin  Valley. 

Herman  Rudolph  Hertel — Both  as  a  merchant  and  as  a  public 
spirited  citizen  Herman  Rudolph  Hertel  set  a  standard  of  conduct 
and  character  that  Southern  Californians  will  do  well  to  cherish  in 
grateful  memory.  His  home  and  business  interests  were  at  Pasadena 
though  his  influence  was  not  confined  altogether  to  that  city. 

He  was  a  native  son,  born  at  Healdsburg,  California,  in  1862. 
As  a  young  man  in  1887  he  came  to  Pasadena,  and  founded  in  that 
young  city  the  Bon  Accord,  the  first  large  dry  goods  store  of  Pasa- 
dena. To  that  business  he  devoted  his  time  and  energies  the  re- 
maining years  of  his  life,  and  he  kept  the  store  apace  with  the  growth 
of  the  city.  The  best  tribute  to  his  career  as  a  business  man  is  found 
in  resolutions  adapted  by  the  Pasadena  Merchants'  Association,  from 
which  the  following  paragraph  is  taken : 

"Pasadena  is  again  called  upon  to  pay  tribute  to  a  good  man.  It 
mourns  its  loss,  but  consoles  itself  with  the  reflections  that  the 
souls  of  the  truly  good  live  beyond  the  grave.  Herman  R.  Hertel, 
was  such  a  man.  Honored  by  being  called  to  many  public  offices, 
which  he  filled  not  only  with  distinction  to  himself,  but  with  great 
credit  to  our  city,  he  was  a  merchant  of  the  type  that  stands  for 
high  ideals,  one  who  constantly  endeavors  to  help  those  who  were 
in  need,  yet  his  benefactions  were  bestowed  in  such  a  manner  as 
not  to  provoke  praise.  As  president  of  our  Merchants'  Association, 
he  gave  his  best,  and  that  was  good.  In  all  the  transactions  of  life 
Herman  R.  Hertel  was  the  soul  of  honor,  and  was  often  entrusted 
with  important  affairs  with  implicit  confidence,  and  he  never  failed 
to  render  a  satisfactory  account  of  his  stewardship.     He  was  held 


Ierman  R.  Hertel 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1255 

in  the  highest  esteem,  and  his  loss  is  deeply  deplored  by  the  com- 
munity at  large." 

He  had  in  later  years  extensive  financial  and  investment  interests 
besides  his  dry  goods  store.  He  was  a  director  in  the  Pasadena 
National  Bank,  served  as  president  of  the  Pasadena  Chamber  of 
Commerce,  president  of  the  Rose  Tournament  Association,  president 
of  the  Merchants  and  Manufacturers  Association  and  as  a  director 
in  several  corporations.  He  is  remembered  in  Pasadena  also  for 
his  liberal  philanthropy,  particularly  in  behalf  of  educational  insti- 
tutions. When  Bob  Burdette  resigned  from  the  Board  of  Park, 
Police  and  Fire  Commissioners  on  March  7,  1908,  Mr.  Hertel  con- 
sented to  become  his  successor,  though  these  official  duties  were 
necessarily  in  the  nature  of  a  sacrifice  of  his  business,  since  the 
office  was  not  one  of  remuneration.  He  devoted  himself  to  work 
with  the  same  zeal  he  showed  in  his  own  business.  After  finishing 
out  Doctor  Burdette's  term  in  May,  1911,  he  was  reappointed  by 
Mayor  Thum,  and  served  until  Pasadena  adopted  the  commission 
form  of  government.  As  member  of  the  Board  of  Police,  Fire  and 
Park  Commissioners  he  was  looked  upon  as  head  of  the  fire  depart- 
ment. It  was  at  his  suggestion  that  the  first  change  was  made  from 
horse  drawn  to  motor  propelled  vehicles. 

Herman  Rudolph  Hertel,  who  died  at  his  home  in  Pasadena 
June  16,  1915,  was  a  member  of  the  Overland  and  Altadena  Country 
clubs,  was  a  Presbyterian,  a  Scottish  Rite  Mason,  and  was  regarded 
as  one  of  the  leading  whist  players  of  Southern  California.  He  was 
a  republican  in  politics.  He  married  Emma  Westerfeld,  a  native 
of  San  Francisco.  She  survives  him  at  Pasadena  and  their  five 
children  consist  of  two  daughters  and  three  sons:  Anita  of  New 
York  City ;  Elmer  L.  of  Hemet ;  Mina,  at  home ;  Herbert  associated 
with  his  brother  Elmer  in  business ;  and  Francis  of  Ventura. 

Elmer  L.  Hertel,  a  son  of  the  Pasadena  merchant  and  citizen  the 
late  Herman  Rudolph  Hertel,  is  one  of  the  prominent  young  ranchers 
and  business  men  of  the  Riverside  community  in  the  district  ad- 
joining Hemet. 

He  was  born  at  Pasadena  June  16,  1889,  and  was  liberally  educated, 
attending  the  grammar  and  high  schools  of  his  native  city.  He  grad- 
uated A.  B.  from  Leland  Stanford  University  with  the  class  of 
1911.  For  about  a  year  after  leaving  university  he  was  in  the 
Coalinga  oil  field  and  spent  a  similar  time  as  a  rancher  in  the  San 
Fernando  Valley.  Mr.  Hertel  established  himself  at  Hemet  in  the 
spring  of  1914,  when  he  bought  his  ranch  of  forty  acres  on  the 
northern  limits  of  the  town.  To  this  he  has  since  added  seventy 
acres,  and  he  and  his  brother  Herbert  jointly  own  a  ranch  of  225 
acres.  They  do  a  large  business,  their  diversified  industry  being 
represented  by  fruit,  alfalfa  and  hogs.  Individually  Mr.  Hertel's 
chief  distinction  in  the  agriculture  and  horticulture  of  Riverside 
County  rests  upon  his  peach  orchards.  He  sells  and  ships  the 
peaches  from  these  groves  all  over  Southern  California,  and  a  large 
number  of  nursery  men  have  budded  their  young  stock  from  the 
Hertel  trees,  because  of  the  large  yield  and  fine  quality  of  the  fruit 
produced  by  the  Hertel  orchards.  The  entire  ranch  property  owned 
and  occupied  by  Mr.  Hertel  is  another  example  of  the  profitable 
development  of  land  from  a  desert  condition  to  a  degree  of  pro- 
ductiveness that  none  of  the  choicest  agricultural  lands  in  the  world 
can  rival. 


1256       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Outside  of  his  ranch  Mr.  Hertel  is  a  director  in  the  Riverside 
Mutual  Fire  Insurance  Company  and  is  one  of  the  influential  members 
of  the  Hemet  Chamber  of  Commerce,  the  California  Fruit  Growers 
Association,  the  California  Alfalfa  Association  and  the  California 
Prune  and  Apricot  Association.  He  is  unmarried,  is  an  independent 
in  politics  and  is  affiliated  with  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows, Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles,  and  the  Zeta  Psi  college  fraternity. 

Sumner  A.  Worthing,  who  is  now  living  virtually  retired  in  the 
City  of  Redlands,  San  Bernardino  County,  has  the  distinction  of  having 
been  one  of  the  pioneer  business  men  of  this  place,  and  he  has  the  satis- 
faction of  having  contributed  his  quota  to  the  development  and  up- 
building of  the  beautiful  little  city  which  he  still  claims  as  his  home  and 
in  which  his  circle  of  friends  is  coincident  with  that  of  his  acquaintances. 

Sumner  Augustus  Worthing  was  born  at  Plattesville,  Illinois,  on  the 
8th  of  August,  1853,  and  is  a  son  of  Augustus  and  Mary  Worthing,  the 
former  a  native  of  the  State  of  New  York  and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  The 
parents  early  established  their  residence  in  Illinois,  and  there  they  passed 
the  remainder  of  their  lives,  the  father  having  been  a  farmer  by  vocation 
during  the  major  part  of  his  active  career.  In  the  family  were  three 
sons  and  four  daughters,  and  of  the  number  the  subject  of  this  review 
was  the  fourth  in  order  of  birth.  The  public  schools  of  his  native  state 
afforded  Mr.  Worthing  his  youthful  educational  advantages,  and  after 
leaving  school  he  there  served  a  thorough  apprenticeship  at  the  trades  of 
tinsmith  and  plumber,  in  both  of  which  he  became  a  skilled  workman 
For  a  long  period  of  years  he  was  employed  by  P.  W.  Worth,  one  of  the 
ieading  business  men  of  Plattesville,  Illinois. 

At  Buckingham,  Illinois,  on  the  15th  of  January,  1876,  Mr.  Worthing 
wedded  Miss  Mary  E.  Watson.  Mrs.  Worthing  died  on  the  5th  of 
January,  1885,  and  is  survived  by  two  children.  Charles,  the  elder  of  the 
two,  was  born  August  25.  1878,  and  is  a  plumber  by  trade.  He  is  a  leading 
dealer  in  plumbers'  supplies  at  Redlands,  California,  and  is  one  of  the 
substantial  business  men  of  this  city.  August  2,  1904,  recorded  the  mar- 
riage of  Charles  Worthing  and  Miss  Emma  Riddle,  and  they  have  three 
children — Emma,  Charlotte  and  Leroy.  Robert,  the  younger  son  of 
Sumner  A.  and  Mary  E.  (Watson)  Worthing,  was  born  November  20, 
1880,  and  he  is  now  engaged  in  the  plumbing  and  tinning  business  at 
Lankershim,  Los  Angeles  County.  He  anticipated  his  elder  brother  by  a 
few  months  in  appearing  at  the  hymeneal  altar,  for  on  March  12,  1904, 
he  married  Miss  Bertha  Woodruff,  their  three  children  being  Emma,  Velma 
May,  and   Marion. 

On  the  15th  of  January,  1886.  Sumner  A.  Worthing  was  united  in 
marriage  with  Miss  Sadie  Watson,  a  sister  of  his  first  wife  and  a  resi- 
dent of  Buckingham,  Illinois.  Mrs.  Worthing  is  a  daughter  of  J.  K.  and 
Caroline  (Nickol)  Watson,  who  were  born  in  Canada,  whither  the  former's 
father  immigrated  from  Picadilly,  near  London,  England,  the  latter's 
father,  John  Watson,  having  married  a  cousin  of  the  English  member  of 
the  celebrated  Rothschild  family,  the  great  European  capitalists  and 
financiers.  From  Canada  the  parents  of  Mrs.  Worthing  removed  to  the 
United  States  and  settled  in  Illinois,  where  they  passed  the  remainder  of 
their  lives.  Their  children  were  nine  in  number.  To  Sumner  A.  and 
Sadie  (Watson)  Worthing  were  born  four  children,  concerning  whom 
brief  record  is  here  entered:  Leonard  Augustus,  who  was  born  July  31, 
1887,  is  a  sheet-metal  workman  and  is  employed  at  his  trade  in  the  City 
of  Los  Angeles.  February  10,  1905,  he  married  Miss  Myrtle  Holcomb, 
a  native  of  the  State  of  New  York,  and  they  have  two  children,  Albert 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1257 

Augustus  and  Howard.  Lillie  Mattie,  the  second  child,  was  born  Novem- 
ber 4,  1889,  and  her  marriage  to  Louis  Kelly  occurred  September  30, 
1906.  The  one  child  of  this  union  is  a  daughter,  Jessie  May.  On  the 
27th  of  September,  1911,  Mrs.  Lillie  M.  Kelly  contracted  a  second  mar- 
riage, when  she  became  the  wife  of  Pearl  Bunnell.  They  reside  in  San 
Bernardino  and  have  one  child,  Ruth  Naomi.  Fannie  Alice,  the  third 
child,  was  born  June  7,  1892,  and  on  the  16th  of  July,  1911,  she  became 
the  wife  of  Thomas  Rowe,  who  is  engaged  in  the  bakery  business  at 
Venice,  Los  Angeles  County,  their  one  child  being  a  son,  Theodore. 
Caroline  May,  the  fourth  child,  was  born  August  16,  1896,  and  March  5, 
1915,  recorded  her  marriage  to  John  L.  Welsh,  of  Redlands.  They  have 
two  children,  John  Lawrence.  Jr.,  and  Elizabeth  Jane. 

Sumner  A.  Worthing  came  with  his  family  to  California  in  1889,  his 
arrival  in  the  state  having  occurred  on  the  13th  of  June.  Thereafter  he 
was  employed  in  various  plumbing  establishments  until  1894,  when  he 
purchased  the  interest  of  the  junior  partner  of  the  firm  of  Brock  &  Osier, 
engaged  in  the  plumbing  and  tinning  business  at  Redlands.  The  firm  of 
Brock  &  Worthing  successfully  continued  the  business  for  the  ensuing 
ten  years,  at  the  expiration  of  which  Mr.  Worthing  purchased  the  interest 
of  his  partner  and  assumed  full  control  of  the  enterprise,  which  he  there- 
after conducted  under  the  firm  name  of  S.  A.  Worthing  &  Company, 
with  his  two  eldest  sons  as  silent  partners.  In  1916  he  sold  the  business 
to  his  eldest  son,  who  has  since  continued  to  maintain  the  same  at  the 
high  standard  set  by  the  father,  the  latter  having  lived  retired  since  dis- 
posing of  this  business.  Mr.  Worthing  is  a  veritable  pioneer  of  Redlands 
and  has  witnessed  and  aided  in  the  transformation  of  a  barren  desert 
tract  into  one  of  the  beautiful  cities  that  give  far-flung  fame  to  Southern 
California,  while  the  entire  district  that  was  but  a  desert  waste  of  sage- 
brush when  he  here  established  his  home  is  now  resplendant  with  fine 
gardens  and  orange  groves  and  beautiful  homes.  Mr.  Worthing  is  a  life 
member  of  Redlands  Lodge  No.  585,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of 
Elks;  is  a  charter  member  of  the  local  organization  of  the  Fraternal 
Brotherhood,  and  in  the  community  which  he  has  helped  to  develop  and 
build  he  commands  inviolable  place  in  popular  confidence  and  esteem. 

Peter  Arth,  Sr.,  had  been  a  pioneer  in  South  Dakota  prior  to  estab- 
lishing his  residence  in  California  in  1891,  and  San  Bernardino  County 
gained  much  when  he  here  turned  his  attention  to  development  work  and 
productive  industry  in  connection  with  fruit  culture.  He  became  one  of 
the  substantial  fruit-growers  and  honored  citizens  of  the  Redlands  dis- 
trict, had  much  to  do  with  constructive  enterprise  in  connection  with  other 
properties  than  those  which  he  himself  owned,  and  he  proved  resourceful 
and  far-sighted  as  a  business  man,  achieved  success  through  his  own 
well  directed  efforts  and  ever  commanded  high  place  in  popular  con- 
fidence and  good  will.  He  was  born  at  Port  Washington,  Ohio,  in  1859, 
and  his  death  occurred  at  Redlands,  California,  on  the  11th  of  October, 
1910. 

Mr.  Arth  was  reared  and  educated  in  the  old  Buckeye  State  and  early 
gained  practical  experience  in  connection  with  farm  industry.  He  con- 
tinued his  residence  in  Ohio  until  1882,  when,  as  a  sturdy  and  ambitious 
young  man  of  twenty-three  years,  he  made  his  way  to  South  Dakota  and 
filed  entry  on  a  homestead  in  Potter  County,  his  marriage  having  there 
occurred  somewhat  later.  He  gave  himself  vigorously  to  the  develop- 
ment and  cultivation  of  his  land,  which  he  reclaimed  from  the  raw  prairie, 
and  he  made  on  the  farm  the  best  improvements  consonant  with  his  some- 
what limited  financial  resources.     Mr.  Arth  continued  his  residence  on  his 


1258       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

South  Dakota  farm  until  1891,  when  he  sold  the  property  and  came  with 
his  family  to  Redlands,  California.  The  day  after  his  arrival  he  pur- 
chased ten  acres  of  land  on  Pioneer  Street,  between  Texas  and  Orange 
streets,  and  for  this  now  splendidly  improved  and  valuable  property  he  paid 
$2,500.  On  the  tract  he  proceeded  to  plant  olive  and  apricot  trees,  but 
these  he  later  removed,  to  utilize  the  ground  for  the  propagation  of  Navel 
oranges.  On  the  day  which  marked  his  purchase  of  this  property 
Mr.  Arth  also  bought  lumber  and  other  materials  for  the  construction 
of  a  modest  house  on  the  place,  as  well  as  for  the  building  of  a  small 
barn  and  shed,  the  latter  structures  being  used  as  a  temporary  habitation 
for  the  family  until  the  house  could  be  completed,  and  only  one  night 
having  been  passed  in  a  hotel.  Later  Mr.  Arth  erected  on  the  place  the 
attractive  modern  house  which  continues  the  residence  of  his  widow,  who 
proved  his  devoted  companion  and  helpmeet  in  his  earnest  labors  to 
establish  a  home  and  win  a  position  of  independence.  With  increasing 
financial  resources  Mr.  Arth  gradually  added  to  the  area  of  his  land  hold- 
ings and  continued  to  plant  more  orange  trees.  After  setting  out  six 
acres  to  oranges  he  became  impressed  with  the  thought  that  the  orange- 
growing  industry  might  be  overdone  in  this  section,  and  he  ceased  increas- 
ing the  area  of  his  orchard.  He  soon  discovered  that  the  supply  of 
California  oranges  did  not  meet  the  trade  demands,  and  he  therefore 
proceeded  to  plant  the  remainder  of  his  land  to  oranges.  He  was  a  con- 
servative but  very  successful  grower,  and  make  close  study  of  the  best 
methods  and  policies  for  insuring  maximum  yields. 

In  the  earlier  period  of  his  residence  in  San  Bernardino  County  Mr. 
Arth  added  materially  to  his  income  by  acting  as  caretaker  of  orchards 
owned  by  others,  and  this  enabled  him  to  finance  his  individual  operations. 
In  this  way  he  had  charge  of  the  Hinckley  olive  grove  of  140  acres,  and 
for  a  term  of  years  he  had  charge  of  the  Brockman  ranch  of  150  acres, 
which  he  operated  on  shares,  this  place  having  been  devoted  principally  to 
the  raising  of  peaches  and  apricots  at  that  time,  but  he  later  set  out  for  the 
Brockman  Company  an  eighty-acre  orange  grove,  in  the  supervision  of 
which  he  continued  several  years.  In  these  years  he  added  to  his  own 
holdings,  but  scrupulously  avoided  the  incurring  of  heavy  indebtedness  and 
refused  to  speculate  in  any  degree.  Mr.  Arth  was  essentially  loyal  and 
public-spirited  and  served  effectively  as  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Trus- 
tees of  the  village  of  Redlands  prior  to  the  securing  of  a  city  charter. 
He  was  independent  in  politics,  was  affiliated  with  the  Knights  of  Pythias, 
and  was  an  active  member  of  the  Congregational  Church,  as  are  also  his 
widow  and  children. 

In  the  year  1883,  in  Potter  County,  South  Dakota,  was  solemnized  the 
marriage  of  Mr.  Arth  and  Miss  Elizabeth  C.  Rausch,  who  likewise  is  a 
native  of  Port  Washington,  Ohio,  where  she  was  born  November  11,  1861. 
Mrs.  Arth  has  a  wide  circle  of  loyal  friends  in  San  Bernardino  County, 
is  a  zealous  member  of  the  Congregational  Church,  as  previously  noted, 
and  she  was  formerly  an  active  member  of  the  Pythian  Sisters.  In  con- 
clusion of  this  memoir  is  entered  brief  record  concerning  the  children  of 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Arth. 

Peter  Arth,  Jr.,  eldest  of  the  four  children,  was  born  in  Potter 
County,  South  Dakota,  June  25,  1885,  and  was  reared  and  educated  at 
Redlands,  California,  he  being  now  one  of  the  prosperous  orange-growers 
of  this  district  and  a  director  of  the  Redlands  Co-operative  Fruit  Associa- 
tion. He  is  affiliated  with  Redlands  Lodge  No.  186,  Knights  of  Pythias, 
and  Redlands  Lodge  No.  583,  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 
He  is  not  only  a  substantial  producer  of  oranges  on  his  own  land,  but 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       1259 

has  also  conducted  numerous  speculative  transactions  in  the  buying  and 
selling  of  orange  groves,  and  is  a  liberal  citizen  and  progressive  business 
man.  On  the  14th  of  June,  1911,  he  wedded  Miss  Alice  Bloomberg,  who 
was  born  in  the  State  of  Kansas,  March  19,  1889,  and  who  was  three  years 
of  age  when  her  parents  came  to  California  and  established  their  home  at 
Redlands.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peter  Arth  have  four  children,  whose  names 
and  respective  dates  of  birth  are  as  follows:  Leona  Elizabeth,  June  17, 
1913;  Helen  Christine,  Mav  19,  1916;  Barbara  Edna,  Julv  16,  1918;  and 
Peter  (III),  March  19,  1920. 

Fred  Arth,  the  second  son,  was  born  in  Potter  County,  South  Dakota, 
February  20,  1887,  and  after  the  removal  to  California  he  continued  his 
studies  in  the  Redlands  school  until  his  graduation  in  the  high  school. 
He  has  been  closely  associated  with  orange-growing  from  his  boyhood 
days,  and  his  first  independent  venture  was  the  purchase  of  eighteen 
acres  of  land  on  Pioneer  Street,  for  a  consideration  of  $2,500.  He 
set  this  to  orange  trees,  and  to  finance  his  enterprise  he  raised  vegetables 
between  the  rows  of  young  trees  and  by  the  sale  of  the  same  added  mater- 
ially to  his  income.  He  constructed  his  own  irrigating  flume,  in  the  build- 
ing of  which  he  hauled  rock  from  the  river.  He  has  been  a  successful 
speculator  in  orange  groves,  in  which  he  and  his  brother  Peter  have  main- 
tained effective  partnership  relations.  One  of  their  early  speculations  was 
the  buying  of  a  ten-acre  grove  for  $7,000,  their  cash  payment  having  been 
only  $500,  and  on  the  subsequent  sale  of  this  property  they  netted  $2,000 
each,  the  sale  having  been  made  for  $11,000,  a  crop  having  been  taken  off, 
which  paid  all  expenses  for  the  ten  months  the  place  was  owned  by  the 
brothers.  In  1912  Fred  Arth  had  twenty  acres  of  orange  trees  one  and 
two  years  old,  and  three  acres  of  seven-year-old  trees.  He  bought  an 
additional  ten  acres,  but  in  the  big  freeze  of  1913  fully  two-thirds  of  the 
young  trees  froze  to  the  ground,  which  loss  was  augmented  by  the  destruc- 
tion of  the  entire  crop  by  the  frost.  Before  the  next  crop  was  ready  for 
the  market  Fred  Arth  expended  fully  $5,000  in  the  work  of  retrieving 
these  orange  groves,  as  his  faith  in  the  orange  industry  remaining  unim- 
paired. Fred  Arth  utterly  refused  to  consider  or  entertain  a  feeling  of 
discouragement  when  other  growers  viewed  the  outlook  with  alarm.  Thus 
he  purchased  during  a  season  when  many  others  were  discouraged.  In 
1917  after  the  heat  had  ruined  the  orange  crop  of  the  district,  he  purchased 
ten  acres  for  $11,000,  and  from  this  grove  a  single  crop  later  sold  for 
$9,000.  On  this  place  is  a  house  valued  at  $11,000,  and  yet  local  banks 
refused  to  extend  a  loan  on  the  security  thus  offered  in  a  certain  hot  year 
that  menaced  production,  a  policy  which  the  banks  followed  also  in  cold 
years.  Mr.  Arth  and  his  brother  had  confidence  in  the  future,  and  in  their 
operations  in  connection  with  orange  culture  they  have  met  with  substantial 
and  gratifying  success.  At  this  present  writing  Fred  Arth  is  the 
owner  of  100  acres  of  oranges,  and  is  a  director  and  vice  president  of  the 
Crown  Jewel  Packing  House.  He  married  Miss  Katherine  Yost,  who 
was  born  December  15,  1888,  and  who  is  a  daughter  of  Charles  Yost,  of 
whom  individual  mention  is  made  on  other  pages  of  this  work.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Arth  have  four  children:  Russell  Frederick,  born  September  13, 
1916;  Donald  Peter,  born  June  12,  1918;  Charles  Robert,  born  Januarv 
31,  1920,  and  the  baby,  born  February  12,  1922. 

Minnie,  the  elder  daughter  of  the  honored  subject  of  this  memoir, 
was  born  January  30,  1889,  and  is  a  graduate  of  the  Redlands  High  School. 
On  June  25,  1914,  she  became  the  wife  of  Dr.  Howard  G.  Hill,  who  was 
born  in  London,  England,  and  who  is  a  representative  young  physician 
and  surgeon  at  Redlands.     Dr.  and  Mrs.  Hill  were  members  of  a  party 


1260      SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

that  set  forth  to  make  a  trip  around  the  world,  and  they  were  in  Germany 
at  the  outbreak  of  the  great  World  war.  It  was  only  by  resorting  to  all 
manner  of  expedients  and  making  utmost  haste  that  the  party  were  able 
to  escape  from  Germany  before  its  borders  were  closed,  two  days  after 
the  company  passed  out  of  that  country.  It  was  on  this  trip  that  the 
marriage  of  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Hill  occurred,  in  the  City  of  London,  England. 
They  have  four  children:  Howard  Arth,  Ruth  Gail,  Harold  Merrill 
and  Herbert. 

Edna,  the  youngest  of  the  children  of  the  late  Peter  Arth,  Sr.,  was 
born  at  Redlands,  November  4,  1891,  and  is  a  graduate  of  the  Redlands 
High  School.  She  was  a  member  of  the  same  party  as  her  sister  in  essay- 
ing the  trip  around  the  world,  as  noted  above,  and  encountered  the  same 
harrowing  experiences  in  fleeing  from  Germany  and  returning  to  the 
United  States  only  a  short  time  before  the  war  put  a  stop  to  passenger 
traffic  across  the  Atlantic.  On  the  6th  of  November,  1919,  Miss  Edna 
Arth  became  the  wife  of  Edward  G.  Gleitsman,  of  Dover,  Ohio,  and  they 
now  reside  in  Redlands,  Mr.  Gleitsman  being  a  successful  orange-grower 
in  this  district.  Mrs.  Gleitsman  and  her  sister  are  popular  factors  in  the 
social  life  of  Redlands,  and  the  former  is  an  active  member  of  the  local 
Contemporary  Club. 

Rufus  E.  Longmire.  Those  who  now  come  to  San  Bernardino  County 
can  have  no  real  idea  of  the  conditions  prevailing  when  the  pioneers,  among 
whom  were  Rufus  E.  Longmire  and  his  family,  located  amid  what  was 
then  practically  a  sterile  wilderness.  Irrigation  was  practically  unknown 
in  its  present  high  state  of  development,  dirt  ditches  being  the  only  means 
of  watering  the  soil,  and  the  walls  of  these  frequently  broke  through, 
resulting  in  a  loss  of  the  moisture  so  sorely  needed.  Citrus  culture  was 
then  in  its  infancy,  and  had  to  be  carefully  studied  and  experimented  upon. 
The  results  were  so  doubtful  that  it  took  one  with  great  faith  in  the  locality 
and  industry  to  dare  to  risk  all  in  these  experimentations,  but  because  there 
were  these  brave  souls,  willing  to  work  and  endure,  this  region  has  been 
made  into  one  of  the  finest  and  most  productive  portions  of  the  Golden 
State. 

Rufus  E.  Longmire,  for  so  many  years  connected  with  the  citrus 
industry  of  San  Bernardino  County,  and  for  a  long  period  an  honored 
resident  of  Highland,  was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1843,  and  died  at  High- 
land, California,  February  15,  1919.  In  1868  he  married  Miss  Mary  E. 
Shanlever,  who  was  born  in  Tennessee  in  1844,  and  they  settled  on  a  farm 
in  the  vicinity  of  Clinton,  Anderson  County,  Tennessee,  and  made  it  their 
home  until  1882,  and  there  their  five  daughters  and  two  sons  were  born. 
In  that  year  a  brother  of  Mr.  Longmire  returned  from  the  West  with  such 
glowing  accounts  of  California  and  its  possibilities  and  opportunities  that 
these  hard-working  and  watchful  parents  decided  to  make  the  long  trip 
to  the  Land  of  Promise,  being  willing  to  endure  much  in  the  hope  of 
obtaining  advantages  for  their  offspring. 

Therefore,  filled  with  hope  for  the  future  and  imbued  with  the  deter- 
mination to  succeed  no  matter  what  the  hardships  might  be,  Rufus  E. 
Longmire  and  his  devoted  wife  set  out  for  California.  They  arrived  at 
East  Highland  in  the  fall  of  1882,  and  rented  land  from  the  Van  Leuven 
ranch,  and  lived  on  it  for  five  years.  At  that  time  the  region  was  but  little 
improved,  and  father,  mother  and  children  had  to  work  very  hard  to  get 
a  foothold  in  the  new  home.  Scattered  citrus  orchards  and  grapes  were 
to  be  found,  but  there  was  no  concerted  movement  toward  the  establish- 
ment of  a  sound  industry.  However,  the  Longmire  family  were  united  in 
a  harmonious  whole  and  worked  with  a  definite  object  in  view,  that  of 


SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES       12bl 

owning  their  home,  and  this  they  were  able  to  bring  about  after  five  years 
of  unremitting  toil  and  the  closest  of  economy.  Mr.  Longmire  bought  ten 
acres  on  Base  Line,  now  known  as  the  Parsons  place,  and  this  he  and  his 
family  set  to  orange  trees.  Theirs  was  one  of  the  early  orchards  of  this 
region,  and  they  lived  on  the  place  until  the  orchard  was  well  grown,  and 
then  sold  to  advantage  and  bought  ten  acres  on  Highland  Avenue,  at 
Boulder  Avenue.  Once  more  they  set  out  the  trees  that  had  been  raised 
on  the  Base  Line  property,  where  he  had  maintained  a  nursery  with  profit. 
The  second  orchard  flourished  and  was  sold,  again  at  a  handsome  profit, 
in  1912,  following  which  Mr.  Longmire  retired  from  active  participation 
in  business,  bought  a  comfortable  home  at  Highland,  where  the  remainder 
of  his  life  was  spent,  and  here  Mrs.  Longmire  is  still  residing.  She  also 
owns  a  grove  at  Rialto,  California.  They  came  to  San  Bernardino  County 
poor  people,  with  their  way  in  life  still  to  make,  and  when  Mr.  Longmire 
retired  they  were  possessed  of  ample  means,  and  Mrs.  Longmire  is  sur- 
rounded today  with  not  only  the  comforts  of  life,  but  also  many  of  the 
luxuries,  all  of  which  have  been  earned  through  the  toil  and  good  manage- 
ment of  the  Longmire  family. 

When  the  Longmires  came  to  California  the  eldest  child  was  fourteen 
years  of  age,  she  being  Ida,  who  was  born  in  October,  1868.  She  married 
Charles  Hidden  in  1892.  and  they  have  two  children:  Lloyd,  who  was 
born  January  21,  1894,  is  a  veteran  of  the  World  war,  having  served  as 
an  enlisted  man  in  the  artillery ;  and  Gertrude,  who  is  with  her  parents. 
The  second  child  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Longmire,  Lassie,  was  born  April  3, 
1870,  and  died  August  18,  1889.  Mattie,  the  third  child,  was  born  August 
13,  1871,  and  she  was  married  to  John  P.  Coy,  inspector  of  horticulture, 
and  they  became  the  parents  of  three  children:  Clifford,  who  was  born 
December  1,  1898,  is  a  veteran  of  the  World  war,  in  which  he  served  in 
the  aviation  branch;  Blanche,  who  was  born  November  17,  1899;  and 
John,  who  was  born  May  9,  1916.  Charles,  who  was  born  May  30,  1873, 
lives  at  Santa  Ana,  California,  and  is  a  real-estate  man.  He  is  married 
and  has  two  children:  Lucille,  who  was  born  April  1,  1904;  and  Rufus. 
who  was  born  February  14,  1907.  Kitty,  the  fifth  child  in  the  Longmire 
family,  was  born  December  1.  1874.  She  was  married  to  Frank  Cram,  a 
prominent  citrus  grower  of  Highland,  and  they  have  two  children :  Fred, 
who  was  born  July  1,  1896,  was  in  the  aviation  service  during  the  World 
war ;  and  Mary  Elizabeth,  who  was  born  May  27,  1900.  Maggie,  the  sixth 
child  in  the  Longmire  family,  was  born  April  25,  1877,  and  died  February 
9,  1896.  James  Longmire,  the  youngest  in  the  family,  was  born  February 
9,  1878.  He  lives  at  Highland,  is  married,  and  has  two  children :  Donald, 
who  was  born  January  30,  1916;  and  Merritt,  who  was  born  February  16, 
1921.  His  eldest  child,  Gerald,  who  was  born  November  11,  1914,  died  in 
infancy.  Mrs.  Longmire  is  very  proud  of  her  children  and  grandchildren, 
as  she  has  every  reason  to  be,  for  they  are  fine  people.  The  sons  and 
daughters  are  numhered  among  the  substantial  residents  of  the  several 
communities  in  which  they  are  located,  and  the  grandchildren  are  showing 
forth  in  their  lives  the  results  of  careful  training  and  the  good  stock  from 
which  they  have  sprung.  When  their  country  hail  need  of  them  the  voung 
men  went  forth  to  battle  for  it,  and  made  records  as  soldiers  which  will 
be  cherished  by  future  generations. 

George  A.  Klusman — Whatever  its  natural  origin  and  previous  train- 
ing, there  is  a  type  of  citizenship  that  represents  good  service  and 
usefulness  in  any  environment,  and  a  splendid  illustration  of  such 
type  is  in  the  person  of  George  A.  Klusman  of  Cucamonga. 


1262       SAN  BERNARDINO  AND  RIVERSIDE  COUNTIES 

Mr.  Klusman  was  born  in  Oldenburg,  Germany,  November  20, 
1879,  son  of  William  and  Johanna  (Stulken)  Klusman.  William 
Klusman  owned  a  good  farm  in  Germany  and  for  seven  years  lived 
in  America,  but  then  returned  to  his  native  land,  where  he  died  at 
the  age  of  eighty-two.  His  wife,  Johanna,  had  died  at  the  age  of 
forty.  They  had  six  sons :  William,  the  oldest,  now  chief  engineer 
of  the  Union  Tool  Works  at  Torrens  in  Los  Angeles ;  John  and 
Henry,  whose  careers  also  belong  within  the  province  of  this  pub- 
lication ;  Charles,  who  served  as  a  commission  officer  in  the  World 
war  and  still  lives  in  Germany ;  George  A.,  and  August,  who  died  at 
the  age  of  eight  years.  Four  of  these  brothers  became  Americans, 
and  they  came  to  this  country  not  only  to  enjoy  the  advantages 
of  the  new  world  but  to  make  themselves  in  every  sense  American 
citizens,  and  all  of  them  became  naturalized  as  soon  as  possible. 

George  A.  Klusman  acquired  a  good  education  in  Germany. 
During  1900-01  he  was  enlisted  in  the  Regular  German  Army  in 
the  91st  Division  of  Infantry.  He  served  six  months  in  Germany 
and  for  eighteen  months  was  abroad  in  China,  participating  in  the 
allied  expedition  to  quell  the  Boxer  rebellion.  His  pay  while  a 
German  soldier  was  five  cents  a  day.  He  went  back  home,  was 
mustered  out  and  for  one  year  was  employed  in  the  railway  service. 
He  resigned  in  order  to  follow  his  brothers  to  America,  and  he 
reached  Cucamonga  November  16,  1903.  He  came  here  a  hundred 
fifty  dollars  in  debt  to  his  brother  John,  having  borrowed  that  sum 
in  order  to  pay  the  expenses  of  his  voyage.  He  at  once  went  to 
work  for  his  brother  John  at  twenty-five  dollars  a  month  and  board. 
The  next  three  years  were  years  of  hard  labor,  during  which  he  paid 
back  the  hundred  and  fifty  dollars  and  also  saved  enough  to  buy 
a  team  of  horses.  He  then  leased  some  land,  and  since  then  has  been 
actively  identified  with  agriculture  and  horticulture,  but  his  big 
crop  and  the  specialty  by  which  he  is  widely  known  throughout  this 
section  is  potatoes.  There  is  probably  no  man  in  Southern  Cali- 
fornia who  understands  potato  culture  better  than  George  A.  Klus- 
man. In  1917,  when  the  Government  was  clamoring  for  increased 
food  production,  his  cr